STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

New Hampshire Higher Education: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
New Hampshire Higher Education (EIN 02-6007687)
Tax period
2019-10-01 to 2020-09-30
Filed
2021-02-14
IRS object ID
202100459349300400
Schema version
2019v5.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-02-14T08:24:20-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-09-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN010494526PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Baker Newman & NoyesBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 507AddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04112ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-10-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN026007687EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1New Hampshire Higher EducationBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2Assistance FoundationBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlNEWHBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6032256612PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14 Barrell Court PO Box 877AddressLine1Txt
CityConcordCityNm
State AbbreviationNHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP033020877ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonChristiana ThorntonPersonNm
Person TitlePresident & CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6032256612PhoneNum
Signature2021-02-10SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonNicholas E PortoPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01310283PTIN
Phone2078792100PhoneNum
Preparation2021-02-10PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerChristiana ThorntonPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14 Barrell Court PO Box 877AddressLine1Txt
CityConcordCityNm
State AbbreviationNHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP033020877ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$5,670,970GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.nhheaf.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1962FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNHLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionStudent loan guarantorActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body6VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent6VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers6TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$1,148,202PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$1,401,885CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$631,438PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,018,574CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,612PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$992CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$1,781,252PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$2,421,451CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$358,700CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$1,435,712PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$1,568,614CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$1,435,712PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$1,927,314CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$345,540PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$494,137CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$26,317,500TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$27,465,523TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$10,927,610TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$11,407,503TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$15,389,890NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$16,058,020NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionStudent loan guarantorMissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcYes (1)SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$1,585,624ExpenseAmt
Grant$358,700GrantAmt
Revenue$1,402,877RevenueAmt
DescAdministrating agent and guarantor in New Hampshire for the Federal Family Education Loan Program, which provides long-term, low interest educational loans by financial institutions to students attending college or technical schools.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$1,585,624TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building Equipment0ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document646IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members6GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member6IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesYes (1)DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsYes (1)ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEO0CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Linda CrumpBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6032255867PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14 Barrell CourtAddressLine1Txt
CityConcordCityNm
State AbbreviationNHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP033020877ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (12 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerInd
Rene A Drouin
Former President & CEO0.000.00Yes (X)$0$1,197,220$24,895
Christiana Thornton
President & CEO10.0030.00$0$392,578$32,650Yes (X)Yes (X)
John Gennetti
Trustee (end 4/20)0.200.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Susan Huard
Trustee0.200.20$0$0$0Yes (X)
Linda Normandin
Trustee0.200.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Deborah Scire
Trustee (end 4/20)0.200.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Rick Elwell
Chair (begin 4/20)0.200.20$0$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Michael DeBlasi
Chair (end 4/20)0.200.00$0$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Sandy Tracy
Vice Chair & Secretary (begin 4/20)0.200.20$0$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Todd Emmons
Vice Chair (end 4/20)0.200.00$0$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Carol Houle
Treasurer0.200.00$0$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
David Bellman
Treasurer & Secretary (end 4/20)0.200.00$0$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$0TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$1,589,798TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$57,545TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K0CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Loan Rehabilitation Fees522291$640,060$640,060
Consolidation Fees522291$304,250$304,250
Government Fees & Contracts522291$287,591$287,591
Loan Default Recovery522291$169,984$169,984
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$1,401,885TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$535,403TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$535,403ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$3,732,690SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$3,249,519SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$483,171SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$483,171TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$483,171ExclusionAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$992TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$992RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$992OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,421,451TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,402,877RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,018,574ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$358,700TotalAmt
Program Services$358,700ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,061,500TotalAmt
Program Services$885,317ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$176,183ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$67,104TotalAmt
Management And General$67,104ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$55,100TotalAmt
Management And General$55,100ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$35,883TotalAmt
Program Services$35,883ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,503TotalAmt
Management And General$25,503ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$299,407TotalAmt
Program Services$299,407ProgramServicesAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,233TotalAmt
Program Services$5,233ProgramServicesAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,084TotalAmt
Program Services$1,084ProgramServicesAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescSubscriptions & DuesDesc
Total$17,800TotalAmt
Management And General$17,800ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,927,314TotalAmt
Program Services$1,585,624ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$341,690ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,617,882BOYAmt
EOY$3,231,738EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$285,913BOYAmt
EOY$58,697EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,365,120BOYAmt
EOY$24,128,179EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$48,585BOYAmt
EOY$46,909EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,317,500BOYAmt
EOY$27,465,523EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$66,528BOYAmt
EOY$299,684EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,085,082BOYAmt
EOY$10,394,819EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$776,000BOYAmt
EOY$713,000EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,927,610BOYAmt
EOY$11,407,503EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,389,890BOYAmt
EOY$16,058,020EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,389,890BOYAmt
EOY$16,058,020EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,317,500BOYAmt
EOY$27,465,523EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$494,137ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$173,993NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consol And Sep Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,623,067CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,913,826CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,627,836CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,149,814CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,402,877CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$8,717,420TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,623,067CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,913,826CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,627,836CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,149,814CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,402,877CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$8,717,420TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$8,717,420PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$381,629CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$366,067CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$462,855CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$595,564CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$535,403CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,341,518TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$381,629CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$366,067CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$462,855CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$595,564CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$535,403CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,341,518TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,004,696CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,279,893CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,090,691CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,745,378CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,938,280CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$11,058,938TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.78830PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.81720PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.21170InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.18280InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Volunteers0VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or Management0PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings Members0MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Grants Other Organizations$35,883GrantsOtherOrganizationsAmt
Direct Contact Legislators0DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies Demonstrations0RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other Activities0OtherActivitiesInd
Total Lobbying Expenditures$35,883TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart II-B, Line 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Organization paid $32,550 to Thompson & Coburn, a K Street Washington, DC law firm and $3,333 to Gallagher, Callahan & Gartrell, a Concord, NH law firm, in part for services related to lobbying activities and information on pending legislation that may impact the Organization.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$0TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$2,569,941TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$173,993NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$173,993RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$2,395,948RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$25,503InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$25,503RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$2,421,451TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$1,901,811TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$1,901,811ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$25,503InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$25,503ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$1,927,314TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart X, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Foundation has received a determination letter from the Internal Revenue Service stating that it qualifies for tax-exempt status under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Accordingly, no provision for income taxes has been included in the financial statements. Tax-exempt organizations could be required to record an obligation for income taxes as the result of a tax position they have historically taken on various tax exposure items including unrelated business income or tax status. Under guidance issued by the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB), assets and liabilities are established for uncertain tax positions taken or positions expected to be taken in income tax returns when such positions are judged to not meet the "more-likely-than-not" threshold, based upon the technical merits of the position. Estimated interest and penalties, if applicable, related to uncertain tax positions are included as a component of income tax expense. The Foundation has evaluated the positions taken on its filed tax returns. The Foundation has concluded no uncertain income tax positions exist at September 30, 2020 or 2019.ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (18 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
Colby-Sawyer College
541 Main StreetNew LondonNH03257020222120501(c)(3)$1,250Tuition assistance for students affected by COVID-19
Dartmouth College
6024 McNutt HallHanoverNH03755364767215501(c)(3)$5,000Tuition assistance for students affected by COVID-19
Franklin Pierce University
40 University DriveRindgeNH03461020263136501(c)(3)$17,500Tuition assistance for students affected by COVID-19
Granite State College
25 Hall StreetConcordNH03301Government$12,500Tuition assistance for students affected by COVID-19
Great Bay Community College
320 Corporate DrivePortsmouthNH03801Government$19,500Tuition assistance for students affected by COVID-19
Keene State College
229 Main StreetKeeneNH03435Government$31,250Tuition assistance for students affected by COVID-19
Lakes Region Community College
379 Belmont RoadLaconiaNH03246Government$17,550Tuition assistance for students affected by COVID-19
Manchester Community College
1066 Front StreetManchesterNH03102Government$19,500Tuition assistance for students affected by COVID-19
Nashua Community College
505 Amherst StreetNashuaNH03063Government$19,500Tuition assistance for students affected by COVID-19
New England College
98 Bridge StreetHennikerNH03242020223955501(c)(3)$6,250Tuition assistance for students affected by COVID-19
New Hampshire Technical Institute
31 College DriveConcordNH03301Government$19,500Tuition assistance for students affected by COVID-19
Plymouth State University
17 High StreetPlymouthNH03264Government$31,250Tuition assistance for students affected by COVID-19
River Valley Community College
1 College PlaceClaremontNH03743Government$19,500Tuition assistance for students affected by COVID-19
Rivier University
420 South Maine StreetNashuaNH03060020223339501(c)(3)$13,750Tuition assistance for students affected by COVID-19
Saint Anselm College
100 Saint Anselm DriveManchesterNH03102020222182501(c)(3)$17,500Tuition assistance for students affected by COVID-19
Southern New Hampshire University
2500 North River RoadManchesterNH03106020274509501(c)(3)$31,250Tuition assistance for students affected by COVID-19
University of New Hampshire
105 Main StreetDurhamNH03824Government$62,500Tuition assistance for students affected by COVID-19
White Mountain Community College
2020 Riverside DriveBerlinNH03570Government$13,650Tuition assistance for students affected by COVID-19
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org18Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe filing organization awarded COVID-19 related emergency grants to Title IV institutions in the State of New Hampshire during the filing period. All funds were used to support mini-grants providing tuition assistance for eligible students identified by the recipient organizations according to standardized guidelines. All recipient insitutions were required to submit a report outlining student eligibility and how funds were used.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (2 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Rene A Drouin
Former President & CEO$0$74,279$0$0$0$1,122,941$0$1,688$0$23,207$0$1,222,115$0$109,747
Christiana Thornton
President & CEO$0$302,308$0$90,000$0$270$0$1,431$0$31,219$0$425,228$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 3During calendar year 2019, the Organization's President & CEO was compensated through a related organization, Granite State Management & Resources; that organization used a compensation committee, Form 990 of other organizations, a compensation study, and board/compensation committee approval to establish the President & CEO's compensation.
Part I, Line 4bNew Hampshire Higher Education Loan Corporation maintained a 457(f) nonqualified deferred compensation plan for the benefit of Rene Drouin, who retired from the organization in October 2018. A final payout of $507,058 was made to Mr. Drouin in calendar year 2019. An amount of $109,747 has been reported in Schedule J, Part II, Column F to report amounts contributed by the Organization into Mr. Drouin's plan that were reported on previous Form 990 filings. Additionally, Mr. Drouin received a payment of $29,939 of accrued vacation time and $482,060 of accrued sick time earned over his tenure with the Organization. This amount has been reported in Schedule J, Part II, Column B(iii).

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part III, line 2The filing organization awarded COVID-19 related emergency grants to Title IV institutions in the State of New Hampshire during the filing period. All funds were used to support mini-grants providing tuition assistance for eligible students identified by the recipient organizations according to standardized guidelines. All recipient insitutions were required to submit a report outlining student eligibility and how funds were used.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 3The organization contracted with Granite State Management & Resources and New Hampshire Higher Education Loan Corporation, related entities, for its management services.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 4As of March 31, 2020, the New Hampshire Higher Education Assistance Foundation (NHHEAF) became a subsidiary of a related organization, the New Hampshire Higher Education Loan Corporation (NHHELCO). As part of this reorganization, NHHEAF made the following changes to the their bylaws: 1. NHHELCO became the sole member of NHHEAF with all powers of the corporation. Under the previous bylaws the Board Of Trustees of NHHEAF exercised all control and authority. 2. The number of Trustees was increased from a minimum of three (3) to not less than five (5) and no more than seven (7). The sole member will nominate and elect two (2) trustees, the Corporation's President/CEO will serve as an ex officio trustee with full voting rights, and the remaining trustees will be nominated by the Governance Committee of the Board of Trustees. 3. The previous bylaws gave the Governer of New Hampshire an ex officio seat on the Board. The revised bylaws removed this provision. 4. The previous bylaws limited trustees to four (4) three-year terms. The revised bylaws limit trustees to no more than three (3) three-year terms. 5. The previous bylaws required the board to meet semi-annually. The revised bylaws require meetings every two (2) months. 6. The previous bylaws gave officers three-year terms and limited officers to no more than two (2) three-year terms. The revised bylaws require officers to be elected annually, and limit them to no more than three (3) consecutive one year terms.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6New Hampshire Higher Education Loan Corporation, a New Hampshire nonprofit voluntary corporation, is the sole corporate member of the Organization.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aThe sole member will nominate and elect two (2) trustees of the Organization.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7bThe Member will have the power to take the following actions with respect to the Organization: (a) Establish and require adherence by the Organization to an integrated strategic plan and objectives for the Member, the Organization, and any other applicable subsidiaries; (b) Adopt, monitor and enforce financial principles, guidelines and performance goals with which the Organization will comply; (c) Mandate participation by the Organization in any program or initiative that will benefit the Organization, the Member, and any applicable subsidiaries, such as (but not limited to) compliance programs, information technology integration, group purchasing and shared corporate services; (d) Request funding, whether in the form of a loan or capital contribution, from unrestricted, available assets of the Organization to further the integrated strategic objectives of the Member and its subsidiaries, which request will be considered promptly by the Organization's Board of Trustees; and, (e) Following consultation with the Organization's Chair of the Board, hire, evaluate, compensate and/or terminate the President/Chief Executive Officer and Chief Financial Officer of the Organization, which individuals may also serve as president/chief executive officer and chief financial officer, respectively, of the Member and/or any of its other subsidiaries. Additionally, each of the following actions voted upon by the Organization's Board of Trustees must be approved by the Member before it becomes effective: (a) Election or removal of a Trustee of the Organization; (b) Final adoption of, and any approval of a material deviation from, the annual and any revised operating and capital budgets of the Organization; (c) Any single incurrence, or cumulative incurrences in any twelve (12) month period, of unbudgeted indebtedness by the Organization in excess of Fifty Thousand Dollars ($50,000.00); (d) Sale, lease or exchange outside the ordinary course of business of any material portion of the assets of, or the statutory merger, consolidation, corporate division, dissolution, or liquidation of, the Organization; (e) Appointment of a firm of independent public accountants to conduct an independent audit of the Organization's financial statements or a special project which materially impacts assets, revenues or operations; (f) The participation by the Organization in a key strategic relationship; (g) Elimination or addition of any material service or program by the Organization; and, (h) The amendment of the Articles of Agreement, Bylaws or other governing documents of the Organization where such proposed amendment would (i) impact the powers reserved to the Member in these Bylaws, (ii) reasonably be expected to have any material strategic, competitive or financial impact on the Member or on the Member and its subsidiaries collectively, or (iii) impact the obligations of the Organization and/or the Member or any subsidiary under any agreement between or among them.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bA copy of the form 990 was emailed to the board before filing. Board members had the opportunity to review the form and ask questions or for clarifications.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cAny conflicts of interest revealed in the annual survey or at any time throughout the year are addressed promptly and appropriately.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15An on-going internal review of salaries is conducted by Human Resources Management of NHHELCO using salary surveys from local and national resources to compare salaries for positions in the organization to local market data. The compensation structure is adjusted based on the results of these reviews. An independent consultant completed the Affirmative Action Plan, which included a review of salary and hiring practices to ensure nondiscrimination. The Organization's internal review of market data for staff and executive salaries includes executive salaries for organizations of comparable size, structure, geographical location, operations and asset composition to NHHELCO. Based on this comparative market data, the Chairman of the Board of NHHELCO and the Chairman of its Compensation Committee review the proposed CEO and other senior officer compensation packages for reasonableness and fairness. In August 2020, an independent consultant was retained by the Board to provide an Executive Compensation Analysis Report. The purpose of the report was to ensure the Board met its fiduciary responsibilities as it relates to determining a reasonable market rate of compensation for the position of President and CEO. The report utilized multiple data sources to ensure a robust market assessment and to establish a rebuttable presumption of reasonableness for each member of the authorized body.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The Organization will provide its governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements available to the public upon request.
Form 990, Part IX, line 11gCollection Agency Fees: Program service expenses 299,407. Management and general expenses 0. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 299,407.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
Granite State Management & Resources
4 Barrell CourtConcordNH03302020404239Administrator/servicer of student loansNH501(c)(3)Line 10N/A0
New Hampshire Higher Education Loan Corporation
4 Barrell CourtConcordNH03302020368776Financial assistance to eligible borrowersNH501(c)(3)Line 10N/A0
NHHEAF Network Educational Foundation
4 Barrell CourtConcordNH03302300289044Grants and scholarshipsNH501(c)(3)PF0New Hampshire Higher Education Loan Corporation
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd