STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

VILLAGE SHALOM INC: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
VILLAGE SHALOM INC (EIN 48-1199065)
Tax period
2020-01-01 to 2020-12-31
Filed
2021-10-15
IRS object ID
202102889349302755
Schema version
2020v4.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-10-15T17:56:41-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN390859910PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BAKER TILLY US LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11570 FRUITVILLE PIKE SUITE 400AddressLine1Txt
CityLANCASTERCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP17601ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN481199065EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1VILLAGE SHALOM INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlVILLBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9133172600PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line15500 WEST 123RD STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityOVERLAND PARKCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP66209ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMATTHEW E LEWISPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENT & CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone9133172600PhoneNum
Signature2021-10-13SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstMATTHEWPersonFirstNm
Person LastLEWISPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSNXXX-XX-XXXXSSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonKERRI N BOGDA CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00760402PTIN
Phone7177404863PhoneNum
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMATTHEW E LEWISPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line15500 WEST 123RD STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityOVERLAND PARKCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP66209ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$21,108,534GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.VILLAGESHALOM.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1996FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateKSLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionHIGH QUALITY RESIDENT CARE TO SENIORS TO SUPPORT THEIR HIGHEST LEVEL OF INDEPENDENCE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body25VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent25VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee347TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers95TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$2,633,199PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$4,579,593CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$14,272,143PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$14,122,276CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$290,179PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income-$132,979CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$117,942PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$33,239CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$17,313,463PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$18,602,129CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$163,962PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$228,659CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,677,365PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$9,078,602CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$36,298PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$239,246CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$10,216,636PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$14,346,244CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$19,094,261PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$23,653,505CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$1,780,798PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$5,051,376CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$112,833,277TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$103,191,704TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$101,339,518TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$95,897,884TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$11,493,759NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$7,293,820NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionOUR MISSION IS TO NURTURE THE PHYSICAL, EMOTIONAL, SOCIAL AND SPIRITUAL WELL-BEING OF EVERY INDIVIDUAL WHOM WE ARE PRIVILEGED TO SERVE, INSPIRED BY OUR HERITAGE AS A JEWISH-SPONSORED CONTINUING-CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITY.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$18,764,102ExpenseAmt
Grant$228,659GrantAmt
Revenue$14,122,276RevenueAmt
DescACROSS THE SPECTRUM OF OUR PROGRAMS AND SERVICES, VILLAGE SHALOM IS COMMITTED TO A PHILOSOPHY OF PROVIDING CARE THAT SUPPORTS THE HIGHEST LEVEL OF INDEPENDENCE FOR AN INDIVIDUAL. MOREOVER, WE ARE COMMITTED TO PROVIDING SENIORS WITH THE HIGHEST QUALITY CARE REGARDLESS OF THEIR LEVEL OF NEED, FROM BASIC RETIREMENT LIVING TO FULL NURSING CARE, AND REGARDLESS OF THEIR ABILITY TO PAY. FOR OVER 100 YEARS, VILLAGE SHALOM HAS PROVIDED EXCEPTIONAL LONG-TERM CARE FOR SENIORS IN THE GREATER KANSAS CITY AREA. WE ARE PLEASED TO BE ABLE TO OFFER TAILORED PROGRAMS AND SERVICES TO SENIORS IN AN AWARD-WINNING INNOVATIVE ENVIRONMENT THAT PROVIDES MAXIMUM INDEPENDENCE TO OUR RESIDENTS. VILLAGE SHALOM IS, AND REMAINS, A LEADER WITHIN THE SENIOR LIVING CARE INDUSTRY. VILLAGE SHALOM COMMITS TIME AND RESOURCES AND RETAINS OUTSTANDING PROFESSIONALS DEVOTED TO DEVELOPING NEW AND INNOVATIVE SERVICES THAT ENRICH THE LIVES OF SENIORS REGARDLESS OF ECONOMIC RESOURCES. NEARLY ONE FOURTH OF THE RESIDENTS ON VILLAGE SHALOM'S MAIN CAMPUS ARE RECIPIENTS OF MORE THAN $1.3 MILLION IN FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE. ALL RESIDENTS RECEIVING FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE ARE PROVIDED WITH THE SAME HIGH-QUALITY CARE AND SERVICES AS ANY OTHER VILLAGE SHALOM RESIDENT. THEIR DIGNITY, PRIVACY, AND LONG-TERM CARE ARE OUR PRIMARY CONCERN. THE ORGANIZATION PROVIDES SERVICES TO RESIDENTS WHO MEET CERTAIN CRITERIA UNDER ITS BENEVOLENT CARE POLICY AT AMOUNTS LESS THAN ITS ESTABLISHED RATES. BECAUSE THE ORGANIZATION DOES NOT PURSUE COLLECTION OF AMOUNTS DETERMINED TO QUALIFY AS BENEVOLENT CARE, THEY ARE NOT REPORTED AS REVENUE.THE ORGANIZATION MAINTAINS RECORDS TO IDENTIFY AND MONITOR THE LEVEL OF BENEVOLENT CARE IT PROVIDES. CHARGES FORGONE, BASED ON ESTABLISHED RATES FOR SERVICES RENDERED AND SUPPLIES FURNISHED, WERE APPROXIMATELY $229,000 IN 2020 AND $164,000 IN 2019. THESE AMOUNTS ARE NOT MATERIALLY DIFFERENT THAN THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE COST OF PROVIDING SERVICES TO RESIDENTS THAT QUALIFIED FOR BENEVOLENT CARE AND THE AMOUNTS THESE RESIDENTS PAID FOR SERVICES RENDERED.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$18,764,102TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document55IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee347EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members25GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member25IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldKSStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMATTHEW LEWIS PRESIDENT CEOPersonNm
Phone9132668400PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line15500 WEST 123RD STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityOVERLAND PARKCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP66209ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (32 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
MATTHEW LEWIS
PRESIDENT/CEO40.00Yes (X)$327,072$0$29,267
NICOLE ANTHONY
CFO40.00Yes (X)$156,565$0$28,148
JILL ALLIN
DIRECTOR OF SALES & MARKETING40.00$149,626$0$27,431Yes (X)
ANGELA WHEELER
VP OF HEALTHCARE SERVICES40.00$127,677$0$29,026Yes (X)
PAUL HERDER
VP OF HOSPITALITY40.00$118,986$0$8,603Yes (X)
EDWARD SALINAS
MAINTENANCE40.00$108,519$0$16,853Yes (X)
LORA BAUGHER
DIRECTOR OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY40.00$114,015$0$11,300Yes (X)
FRANK LIPSMAN
DIRECTOR/CHAIR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
BOB GERSHON
DIRECTOR/VICE CHAIR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
DAVID SPIZMAN
DIRECTOR/TREASURER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
ALLISON BEREY
DIRECTOR/SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
ALANA MULLER
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
BARRY FINK
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
BRUCE KERSHENBAUM
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
HOWARD ROSENTHAL MD
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
JAMES KLEIN
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
JOSEPH HIERSTEINER
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
KAREN GLICKSTEIN
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
MICHAEL ABRAMS
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
RODNEY MINKIN
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
SHIRLEY HELZBERG
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
TRACY SHAFTON
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
IRENE BETTINGER
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
RACHEL KRANTZ
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
STEVE RUBEN
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
TODD STETNER
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
STEWART STEIN
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
LESLIE MARKS
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
SIMON ABRAHMS
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
ROBERT BARAN
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
NEAL SCHWARTZ
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
ROSANNE ROSEN
DIRECTOR1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,102,460TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$150,628TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K8IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
PARIC CORPORATION
PO BOX 790100ST LOUISMO63179GENERAL CONTRACTOR$19,039,227
MORRISON SENIOR LIVING
5801 PEACHTREE DUNWOODY ROADATLANTAGA30342DINING SERVICES$2,665,628
HARKRADER CONSTRUCTION
1001 NW CHIPMAN ROADLEES SUMMITMO64081GENERAL CONTRACTOR$450,972
HERMES COMPANY INC
13030 W 87TH STREET PARKWAYLENEXAKS66215LANDSCAPING$371,054
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K15CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$2,842,930GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$1,736,663AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$4,579,593TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescRESIDENT CARE REVENUEDesc
Business623000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$14,122,276TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$14,122,276RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$14,122,276TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$58,849TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$58,849ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,104TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,104ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,314,577SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,501,239SecuritiesAmt
Other$5,166OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$186,662SecuritiesAmt
Other-$5,166OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$191,828TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$191,828ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
MEALS623000$14,859$14,859
WELLNESS CENTER623000$10,177$10,177
SALON REVENUE623000$2,800$2,800

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,299TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$3,299ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$31,135OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$18,602,129TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$14,122,276RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion-$99,740ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$228,659TotalAmt
Program Services$228,659ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$541,052TotalAmt
Program Services$386,965ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$141,259ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$12,828FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,928,607TotalAmt
Program Services$4,955,401ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,808,933ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$164,273FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$73,863TotalAmt
Program Services$51,494ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$20,685ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,684FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$900,007TotalAmt
Program Services$627,401ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$252,095ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$20,511FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$635,073TotalAmt
Program Services$443,357ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$177,210ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$14,506FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$84,460TotalAmt
Program Services$84,460ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$142,952TotalAmt
Management And General$142,952ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$91,898TotalAmt
Management And General$91,898ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,764TotalAmt
Management And General$1,764ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,448,593TotalAmt
Program Services$3,154,668ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$291,304ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,621FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$123,252TotalAmt
Program Services$227ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$123,025ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$592,387TotalAmt
Program Services$257,815ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$312,773ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$21,799FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$252,766TotalAmt
Program Services$6,960ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$245,806ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,420,814TotalAmt
Program Services$1,309,950ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$110,864ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,902TotalAmt
Program Services$10,902ProgramServicesAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$488TotalAmt
Management And General$488ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,096,057TotalAmt
Program Services$2,096,057ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,869,122TotalAmt
Program Services$3,869,122ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$364,465TotalAmt
Management And General$364,465ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
DIETARY$769,705$769,705
EMPLOYEE RECOGNITION$296,472$7,968$288,504
COVID EXPENSES$238,314$233,192$5,122
RECRUITMENT$113,072$1,379$111,693

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$428,761TotalAmt
Program Services$268,420ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$159,317ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,024FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,653,505TotalAmt
Program Services$18,764,102ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,650,157ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$239,246FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,029BOYAmt
EOY$15,497EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$956,889BOYAmt
EOY$4,524,682EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,492,174BOYAmt
EOY$4,013,678EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$413,547BOYAmt
EOY$287,976EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,535BOYAmt
EOY$106,581EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$813,914BOYAmt
EOY$486,206EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$121,037,844LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$40,410,360LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$67,194,466BOYAmt
EOY$80,627,484EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$36,847,889BOYAmt
EOY$11,975,327EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,051,834BOYAmt
EOY$1,154,273EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$112,833,277BOYAmt
EOY$103,191,704EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,298,810BOYAmt
EOY$2,513,381EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,353,235BOYAmt
EOY$35,226,682EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$68,449,734BOYAmt
EOY$58,067,770EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$237,739BOYAmt
EOY$90,051EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$101,339,518BOYAmt
EOY$95,897,884EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY-$1,907,765BOYAmt
EOY$4,075,441EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,401,524BOYAmt
EOY$3,218,379EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,493,759BOYAmt
EOY$7,293,820EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$112,833,277BOYAmt
EOY$103,191,704EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$5,051,376ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$617,410NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$234,027OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,997,568CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,715,642CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$9,011,334CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,633,199CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,579,593CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$21,937,336TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$16,219,116CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$16,161,844CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$14,670,492CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$14,272,143CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$14,122,276CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$75,445,871TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$19,216,684CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$18,877,486CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$23,681,826CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$16,905,342CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$18,701,869CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$97,383,207TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$41,551CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$69,480CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,666,890CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year$206,544CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$4,984,465TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,162,698CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,203,687CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,564,367CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,052,581CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$8,234,242CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$15,217,575TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,204,249CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,273,167CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$7,231,257CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,052,581CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$8,440,786CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$20,202,040TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$77,181,167PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$163,886CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$79,946CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$116,411CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$219,042CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$60,953CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$640,238TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$163,886CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$79,946CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$116,411CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$219,042CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$60,953CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$640,238TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$9,725CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$19,329CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$107,418CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$112,204CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$31,135CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$279,811TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$19,390,295CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$18,976,761CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$23,905,655CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$17,236,588CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$18,793,957CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$98,303,256TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.78510PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.85500PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.00650InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.00600InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE A, PART III, LINE 12, EXPLANATION OF OTHER INCOME:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationOTHER INCOME - 2016 AMOUNT: $ 9,725. 2017 AMOUNT: $ 19,329. 2018 AMOUNT: $ 4,982. 2019 AMOUNT: $ 2,177. 2020 AMOUNT: $ 775. WELLNESS CENTER - 2018 AMOUNT: $ 53,630. 2019 AMOUNT: $ 49,040. 2020 AMOUNT: $ 10,177. SALON REVENUE - 2018 AMOUNT: $ 6,676. 2019 AMOUNT: $ 6,695. 2020 AMOUNT: $ 2,800. MEALS - 2018 AMOUNT: $ 42,130. 2019 AMOUNT: $ 48,292. 2020 AMOUNT: $ 14,859. DEPOSITS - 2019 AMOUNT: $ 6,000. SETTLEMENT CLAIMS - 2020 AMOUNT: $ 984. FINANCE CHARGE REVENUE - 2020 AMOUNT: $ 805. MEDICAL RECORDS - 2020 AMOUNT: $ 375. RESIDENT INTEREST - 2020 AMOUNT: $ 360.ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Volunteers0VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or Management0PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings Members0MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other Organizations0GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact Legislators0DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies Demonstrations0RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesYes (1)OtherActivitiesInd
Other Activities$1,764OtherActivitiesAmt
Total Lobbying Expenditures$1,764TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II-B, LINE 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationFOR 2020, $1,764 OF DUES PAID TO LEADINGAGE KANSAS AND LEADINGAGE NATIONAL WERE USED FOR LOBBYING/ADVOCACY EXPENDITURES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,836,330BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$200,756InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$62,565OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$1,974,521EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,652,322BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$215,354InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$31,346OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$1,836,330EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,771,492BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$50,000ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$110,231InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$58,939OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$1,652,322EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,605,654BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$50,000ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$165,385InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$42,336OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$7,211AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$1,771,492EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,487,889BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$50,000ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$97,822InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$28,215OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$1,842AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$1,605,654EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.00000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.83140PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.16860TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,252,860OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,252,860BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$90,207,805OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$23,546,815DepreciationAmt
Book Value$66,660,990BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$21,500,502OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$14,717,413DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,783,089BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$7,076,677OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,146,132DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,930,545BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$80,627,484TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$19,224,907TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$617,410NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$5,368OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$622,778RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$18,602,129RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$18,602,129TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$23,424,846TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$23,424,846ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$228,659OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$228,659ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$23,653,505TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART V, LINE 4:EARNINGS FROM THE ENDOWMENT FUNDS ARE TO BE USED FOR RESIDENT ACTIVITIES, FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE, EMPLOYEE RECOGNITION, STAFF DEVELOPMENT AND TRAINING.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:CHANGE IN VALUE OF BENEFICIAL INTEREST IN PERPETUAL TRUSTS 31,327. CHANGE IN VALUE OF PLEDGES RECEIVABLE 202,700. GRANTS/OTHER ASSISTANCE TO INDIVIDUALS -228,659.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:GRANTS/OTHER ASSISTANCE TO INDIVIDUALS 228,659.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeFINANCIAL ASSISTANCEGrantTypeTxt
Recipient4RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$228,659CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationVILLAGE SHALOM, INC. PROVIDES FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE TO INDIVIDUALS WHO DO NOT HAVE THE RESOURCES TO PAY FOR THEIR CARE. INDIVIDUALS AND FAMILIES MUST COMPLETE AN APPLICATION INDICATING THEIR NEED FOR FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE. THE ORGANIZATION'S STAFF REVIEWS THE INDIVIDUAL AND FAMILY APPLICATIONS THROUGH THE ESTABLISHED CRITERIA OF THE ASSISTANCE PLAN. INDIVIDUALS AND FAMILIES ARE REQUIRED TO PROVIDE INCOME AND ASSET VERIFICATION AS WELL AS ANNUALLY DISCLOSING THEIR FINANCIAL INFORMATION THROUGH THEIR CONTINUATION WITHIN THE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
MATTHEW LEWIS
PRESIDENT/CEO$325,822$0$1,250$0$0$0$0$0$29,267$0$356,339$0$0$0
NICOLE ANTHONY
CFO$155,315$0$1,250$0$0$0$4,103$0$24,045$0$184,713$0$0$0
JILL ALLIN
DIRECTOR OF SALES & MARKETING$109,196$0$40,430$0$0$0$3,182$0$24,249$0$177,057$0$0$0
ANGELA WHEELER
VP OF HEALTHCARE SERVICES$127,177$0$500$0$0$0$3,438$0$25,588$0$156,703$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 7FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationBONUSES ARE BASED ON A NUMBER OF FACTORS INCLUDING EXCEPTIONAL PERFORMANCE, OPERATIONAL AND ORGANIZATION-BASED GOALS, AND FINANCIAL AND FUNDRAISING GOALS. BONUSES ARE TIED TO KEY ANNUAL STRATEGIC GOALS THAT SUPPORT THE MISSION, THE ACHIEVEMENT OF THE ORGANIZATION'S MISSION, AND THE ANNUAL REVIEW PROCESS. SALARIES OF COMPARABLE POSITIONS AT ORGANIZATIONS OF SIMILAR SIZES AND MISSION ARE EVALUATED AS PART OF THE PROCESS AS WELL. THE BOARD HAS SOLE DISCRETION TO REDUCE OR REVOKE THE BONUS AMOUNT.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingIndCUSIPCUSIPNum
KANSAS DEVELOPMENT FINANCE AUTHORITY
A4810665892013-05-29$12,155,000NOTE IN PART VI000
KANSAS DEVELOPMENT FINANCE AUTHORITY
B4810665892018-07-16$59,841,375NOTE IN PART VI00048542RCB8

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintIndIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtCapitalized InterestCapitalizedInterestAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtUnspentUnspentAmt
A$5,304,208$12,155,000$12,155,0002002Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$7,290,000$61,340,6182021000Yes (1)$3,778,009$6,878,312$1,183,985$48,693,790$806,523

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndEngage Bond Counsel ContractsEngageBondCounselContractsIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctPrivate Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A00Yes (1)Yes (1)00.000000.000000.0000000Yes (1)
B00Yes (1)Yes (1)00.000000.000000.0000000Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
A00Yes (1)0Yes (1)000Yes (1)
B0Yes (1)000000Yes (1)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
BYes (1)

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE A, COLUMN (F):REFUND 1998AA BONDS (ORIGINALLY ISSUED 12/2/1998).
PART I, LINE B, COLUMN (F):CONSTRUCTION AND IMPROVEMENT TO THE INSTITUTION'S CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITY.
PART II, COLUMN A, LINE 11:THIS AMOUNT WAS USED TO CURRENT REFUND THE 1998AA BONDS ON THE ISSUE DATE.
PART II, COLUMN B, LINE 3:TOTAL PROCEEDS DO NOT EQUAL ISSUE PRICE LISTED IN PART I, COLUMN (E) DUE TO INVESTMENT EARNINGS EARNED DURING THE PROJECT PERIOD. .
PART II, COLUMN B, LINE 12:UNSPENT PROCEEDS ARE COMPRISED OF $705,978.52 ON DEPOSIT IN THE PROJECT FUND AND $100,544.34 ON DEPOSIT IN THE FUNDED INTEREST FUND.
PART II, COLUMN B, LINE 16:ALL PROJECTS TO BE FINANCED BY THE BONDS WERE NOT COMPLETED AS OF THE 2020 FISCAL YEAR END. HOWEVER, THE INSTITUTION EXPECTS TO COMPLETE A FINAL WRITTEN ALLOCATION PRIOR TO FILING ITS RETURN FOR THE 2021 FISCAL YEAR END.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE 990 IS COMPILED/COMPLETED BY AN INDEPENDENT CPA FIRM, BAKER TILLY US, LLP (BAKER TILLY). BAKER TILLY ALSO CONDUCTS THE ANNUAL INDEPENDENT AUDIT OF VILLAGE SHALOM, INC. THE 990 IS COMPLETED IN COOPERATION WITH THE DIRECTOR OF FINANCE AND PRESIDENT OF VILLAGE SHALOM. PRIOR TO THE MAILING TO THE VILLAGE SHALOM BOARD, THE DIRECTOR OF FINANCE AND PRESIDENT REVIEW THE 990 AND RELATED SCHEDULES WITH BAKER TILLY. THE 990 DRAFT IS E-MAILED TO ALL VOTING MEMBERS OF THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING BOARD PRIOR TO THE FILING WITH THE IRS. THE 990 IS A TOPIC AT THE FINANCE COMMITTEE MEETING AND THE REGULARLY SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING PRIOR TO THE FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CVILLAGE SHALOM HAS A WRITTEN COMPLIANCE PLAN. THE COMPLIANCE PLAN IS REVIEWED WITH EVERY EMPLOYEE AT ORIENTATION, AND EVERY BOARD MEMBER WHEN THEY ARE INSTALLED. A CODE OF CONDUCT IS SIGNED BY EVERY EMPLOYEE AND BOARD MEMBER AT ORIENTATION (UPON HIRE OR INSTALLATION). ANNUALLY, EVERY EMPLOYEE MEMBER COMPLETES AN IN-SERVICE/UPDATE ON THE CODE OF CONDUCT/COMPLIANCE PLAN. ANNUALLY, EVERY BOARD MEMBER REVIEWS THE CODE OF CONDUCT AND SIGNS AN UPDATED CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. FAMILY AND BUSINESS RELATIONSHIPS ARE EXPRESSLY MENTIONED IN THE POLICY. THE CODE OF CONDUCT AND COMPLIANCE PLAN LAY THE FOUNDATION FOR A COMPLIANT CULTURE AND AN ATMOSPHERE FOR SELF-DISCLOSURE. VILLAGE SHALOM IS DEDICATED TO THE HIGHEST ETHICAL PRACTICES AND MAKES EVERY EFFORT TO CONDUCT RELATIONSHIPS WITH THIS BUSINESS CULTURE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15VILLAGE SHALOM HAS A DESIGNATED COMPENSATION COMMITTEE APPOINTED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THE COMMITTEE REVIEWS SALARY DATA FOR THE INDUSTRY. THE SALARY DATA INCLUDES BOTH LOCAL AND REGIONAL COMPARATIVE DATA. THE COMMITTEE REVIEWS THE COMPENSATION PACKAGE AS A WHOLE, INCLUDING BOTH SALARY AND BENEFIT STRUCTURE. THE COMMITTEE MAINTAINS DOCUMENTATION RELATING TO DATES MET, TOPICS DISCUSSED, AND PROCESSES UNDERTAKEN AND CONCLUSIONS FOR COMPENSATION PACKAGES. THE BOARD ONLY REVIEWS THE CEO/PRESIDENT SALARY - ALL MANAGEMENT POSITIONS ARE REVIEWED BY THE CEO. THE CEO REVIEWS AVAILABLE COMPARABLE SALARY DATA FROM LOCAL AND REGIONAL SOURCES, INCLUDING LEADINGAGE, TO ENSURE ALL COMPENSATION IS WITHIN FAIR MARKET VALUE FOR THE INDUSTRY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 11GCONSULTING FEES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 5,299. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 118,516. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 123,815. CONTRACTED SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 1,079,940. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 107,486. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 1,187,426. CONTRACTED THERAPY SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 304,869. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 0. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 304,869. OTHER PROFESSIONAL FEES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 1,658,005. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 65,302. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 2,621. TOTAL EXPENSES 1,725,928. PHARMACY SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 106,555. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 0. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 106,555.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:CHANGE IN VALUE OF BENEFICIAL INTEREST IN PERPETUAL TRUSTS 31,327. CHANGE IN VALUE OF PLEDGES RECEIVABLE 202,700.