STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

NATIONAL CERTIFICATION BOARD FOR ACUPUNCTURE AND HERBAL MEDICINE: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
NATIONAL CERTIFICATION BOARD FOR ACUPUNCTURE AND HERBAL MEDICINE (EIN 11-2760706)
Tax period
2020-01-01 to 2020-12-31
Filed
2021-11-02
IRS object ID
202103069349301995
Schema version
2020v4.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-11-02T16:47:41-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN521392008PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1GELMAN ROSENBERG & FREEDMANBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14550 MONTGOMERY AVE SUITE 800NAddressLine1Txt
CityBETHESDACityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP208142930ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN112760706EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NATIONAL CERTIFICATION COMMISSION FORBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2ACUPUNCTURE AND ORIENTAL MEDICINEBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlNATIBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2023811114PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12001 K STREET NW 3RD FLOOR NORTHAddressLine1Txt
CityWASHINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationDCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20006ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMINA LARSONPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone2023811114PhoneNum
Signature2021-11-02SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstMINAPersonFirstNm
Person LastLARSONPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonRICHARD J LOCASTRO CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00288314PTIN
Phone3019519090PhoneNum

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMINA LARSONPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12001 K STREET NW 3RD FLOOR NORTHAddressLine1Txt
CityWASHINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationDCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20006ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$4,651,557GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.NCCAOM.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1982FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateDCLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSEE PART III, LINE 1.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body11VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent11VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee10TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers25TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$2,776TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$4,275,776PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$4,451,998CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income-$37,465PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$14,672CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$14,557PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$4,445CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$4,252,868PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$4,471,115CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$2,500PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,494,625PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,178,536CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$2,848,227PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$2,630,945CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$4,345,352PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$3,809,481CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$92,484PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$661,634CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$4,168,787TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$5,275,855TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$785,840TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$1,100,252TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$3,382,947NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$4,175,603NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTO ASSURE THE SAFETY AND WELL-BEING OF THE PUBLIC AND TO ADVANCE THE PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE OF ACUPUNCTURE AND ORIENTAL MEDICINE BY ESTABLISHING AND PROMOTING NATIONAL EVIDENCE-BASED STANDARDS OF COMPETENCE AND CREDENTIALING.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescAS A PART OF ITS MISSION, THE NCCAOM IS DEDICATED TO PROMOTING NATIONALLY ACCREDITED CERTIFICATION PROGRAMS AND CERTIFIED PRACTITIONERS (DIPLOMATES) TO CONSUMERS AND THE PUBLIC. NCCAOM ACCOMPLISHES THIS BY ADVOCATING FOR DIPLOMATES AND BY CONTINUOUSLY OFFERING CUSTOMIZED SERVICES FOR DIPLOMATES TO PROMOTE THEIR CERTIFICATION, SUCH AS MARKETING AND CONSUMER BROCHURES, PRESS PACKETS, STATISTICS ABOUT THE PROFESSION AND ONLINE CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES. THESE TOOLS EMPOWER DIPLOMATES TO BETTER INFORM CONSUMERS ABOUT THE BENEFITS OF CHOOSING AN NCCAOM CERTIFIED PRACTITIONER. IN RECENT YEARS, THE NCCAOM HAS ALSO WORKED DIRECTLY WITH FEDERAL GOVERNMENT AGENCIES TO ESTABLISH RECOGNITION OF ITS CERTIFICATION PROGRAMS AND ITS DIPLOMATES IN THE FEDERAL (CONTINUED ON SCHEDULE O) AREA, A VERY IMPORTANT ASPECT OF ITS MISSION. THIS INCLUDES PROVIDING SUPPORTING DATA TO THE BUREAU OF LABOR AND STATISTICS FOR THE CREATION OF A DISTINCT JOB CLASSIFICATION CODE FOR ACUPUNCTURISTS IN THE OCCUPATION OUTLOOK HANDBOOK. NCCAOM IS THE ONLY NATIONAL ORGANIZATION THAT PROVIDES ENTRY CERTIFICATION FOR THE PRACTICE OF ACUPUNCTURE AND ORIENTAL MEDICINE. NCCAOM CERTIFICATION AND/OR THE PASSING OF THE NCCAOM CERTIFICATION EXAMINATION(S) ARE RECOGNIZED FOR LICENSURE BY 47 STATES, INCLUDING THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, (WHICH REPRESENTS 98 PERCENT OF THE STATES THAT REGULATE ACUPUNCTURE). THE NCCAOM ISSUES CERTIFICATES IN ACUPUNCTURE, ORIENTAL MEDICINE, CHINESE HERBOLOGY AND ASIAN BODYWORK THERAPY.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document33IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee10EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members11GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member11IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDANIEL CASTROPersonNm
Phone2023811114PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12001 K STREET NW 3RD FLOOR NORTHAddressLine1Txt
CityWASHINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationDCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20006ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (18 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
FRANCES AFUA BROMLEY
TREASURER (FROM 2/2020)25.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$2,550$0$0
DANIEL JIAO
VICE CHAIR10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$2,025$0$0
ZONGLAN XU
COMMISSIONER10.00Yes (X)$1,300$0$0
JAYNE TSUCHIYAMA
COMMISSIONER10.00Yes (X)$1,025$0$0
NICK DOUGHERTY
COMMISSIONER10.00Yes (X)$900$0$0
JANET ZAND
COMMISSIONER10.00Yes (X)$850$0$0
STEVEN KAZMIERCZAK
TREASURER (UNTIL 2/2020)20.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$600$0$0
IMAN MAJD
CHAIR10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MATTHEW STANLEY
SECRETARY10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
DIVYA PARIKH
COMMISSIONER10.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BEVERLY BLACK
COMMISSIONER10.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID CANZONE
COMMISSIONER10.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MINA LARSON
CEO40.00Yes (X)$236,593$0$35,298
OLGA COX
DIR., COMM. & CUSTOMER RELATIONS40.00$146,895$0$22,599Yes (X)
PAMELA FROMMELT
SPECIALIST, CERT. EXAM DEV'L & ASMT40.00$121,101$0$32,028Yes (X)
JAMES MCHUGH
DIRECTOR OF IT40.00$116,402$0$20,925Yes (X)
IRENE BASORE
DIRECTOR OF GOVERNANCE40.00$127,424$0$17,296Yes (X)
YVONNE SANDERS
DIRECTOR40.00$110,498$0$15,835Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$868,163TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$143,981TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K6IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmtAddress Line1ContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/CityNmCountryContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/CountryCdForeign PostalContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/ForeignPostalCd
SMITHBUCKLIN CORPORATION
330 NORTH WABASH AVE SUITE 2000CHICAGOIL60611MANAGEMENT SERVICES$1,158,811
CYZAP
PO BOX 6388GOODYEARAZ85338AMS SYSTEM$285,629
LOGICDEER
IT$114,142TARAKARAMA NAGAR 4 LINE 2771/1 GUNTANDRHRAPRADESHIN522006
DAVID QUACKENBUSH
7678 MANON WAYSACRAMENTOCA95823CONSULTING$110,509
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K4CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
EXAM AND RELATED FEES611430$4,183,152$4,183,152
PROFESSIONAL DVLPT611430$242,581$242,581
PRACTICE TEST900099$21,490$21,490
PERFORMANCE REPORTS900099$4,775$4,775
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$4,451,998TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$58,451TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$58,451ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,826TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$50RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$2,776UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$136,663SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$180,442SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$43,779SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$43,779TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$43,779ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMISCELLANEOUSDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$1,619TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,619ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,619OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,471,115TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$4,452,048RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$2,776UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$16,291ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$281,141TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$705,915TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$54,445TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$57,124TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$79,911TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,667TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$174,562TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,439TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,414,831TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$20,282TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$163,954TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$170,582TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,741TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$66,453TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,569TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$486,653TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$48,229TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
C.C. PROCESSING FEES$34,689
DUES & SUBSCRIPTIONS$16,873
MISCELLANEOUS$2,362
TAXES AND LICENSES$2,059

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,809,481TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXInd

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$260,080BOYAmt
EOY$977,627EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,472,909BOYAmt
EOY$59,860EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$292,377BOYAmt
EOY$553,569EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,341BOYAmt
EOY$1,489EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$1,001,635LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$260,572LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$641,833BOYAmt
EOY$741,063EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$115,246BOYAmt
EOY$1,668,438EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,381,001BOYAmt
EOY$1,273,809EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,168,787BOYAmt
EOY$5,275,855EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$486,380BOYAmt
EOY$342,578EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$299,460BOYAmt
EOY$497,860EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$259,814EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$785,840BOYAmt
EOY$1,100,252EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,382,947BOYAmt
EOY$4,175,603EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,382,947BOYAmt
EOY$4,175,603EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,168,787BOYAmt
EOY$5,275,855EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$661,634ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$131,022NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,001,635OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$260,572DepreciationAmt
Book Value$741,063BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$741,063TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescCAPITALIZED EXAM DEVELOPMENT COSTSDesc
Book Value$1,273,809BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$1,273,809TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$4,595,698TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$131,022NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$131,022RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$4,464,676RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$6,439InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$6,439RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$4,471,115TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$3,803,042TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$3,803,042ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$6,439InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$6,439ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$3,809,481TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART X, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationFOR THE YEARS ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2020 AND 2019, THE COMMISSION HAS DOCUMENTED ITS CONSIDERATION OF FASB ASC 740-10, INCOME TAXES, THAT PROVIDES GUIDANCE FOR REPORTING UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES AND HAS DETERMINED THAT NO MATERIAL UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS QUALIFY FOR EITHER RECOGNITION OR DISCLOSURE IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
MINA LARSON
CEO$236,593$0$0$0$0$0$14,550$0$20,748$0$271,891$0$0$0
OLGA COX
DIR., COMM. & CUSTOMER RELATIONS$146,895$0$0$0$0$0$8,739$0$13,860$0$169,494$0$0$0
PAMELA FROMMELT
SPECIALIST, CERT. EXAM DEV'L & ASMT$121,101$0$0$0$0$0$7,574$0$24,454$0$153,129$0$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BAN OUTSIDE CPA FIRM PREPARES THE FORM 990. THE CEO AND DIRECTOR OF FINANCE & ADMINISTRATION THEN REVIEW THE DRAFT. A COPY OF THE DRAFT IS ALSO PLACED ON A SECURE WEBSITE FOR ALL OFFICERS AND COMMISSIONERS TO REVIEW AS PART OF THE AGENDA FOR THE NEXT BOARD MEETING. THE BOARD VOTES ON THE APPROVAL OF THE FORM 990 AS IS OR WITH EDITS. THE OUTSIDE CPA FIRM MAKES CHANGES, AS NEEDED, AND PROVIDES THE FINAL FORM 990 TO THE CEO TO SIGN AND FILE WITH THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE ORGANIZATION CONDUCTS ANNUAL REVIEWS IN WHICH POTENTIAL CONFLICTS ARE REFERRED TO THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. IF A CONFLICT OF INTEREST EXISTS, THE COMMISSIONER IS REQUESTED TO EITHER TERMINATE THE RELATIONSHIP OR STEP DOWN AS COMMISSIONER.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15ATHE COMPENSATION OF THE CEO IS NEGOTIATED BY AND BETWEEN THE CEO AND THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS. IT IS BASED ON PERFORMANCE AND COMPARATIVE PAY RATES FOR SIMILAR POSITIONS IN THE INDUSTRY. THE CURRENT CEO WAS HIRED IN JULY 2019 AND HER CONTRACT AUTOMATICALLY RENEWED ON JANUARY 1, 2020 AND CONTINUES FOR THREE YEARS. THE BOARD REVIEWS PUBLISHED COMPENSATION SURVEYS, OUTSIDE BENCHMARKS, AND FACTORS IN OTHER INFORMATION, SUCH AS EXPERIENCE IN THE INDUSTRY AND ADDITIONAL QUALIFICATIONS. THE BOARD APPROVES AN ANNUAL BUDGET THAT INCLUDES A LINE ITEM FOR TOTAL STAFF SALARIES, WHICH INCLUDES COMPENSATION FOR THE CEO. THE MOST RECENT COMPENSATION REVIEW WAS COMPLETED IN OCTOBER 2020. THE COMPENSATION FOR KEY EMPLOYEES IS SET BY THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER (CEO) WITH INPUT FROM AN OUTSIDE HRO. SALARIES ARE BASED ON ANNUAL PERFORMANCE REVIEWS, BENCHMARKING TO INDUSTRY STANDARDS USING PUBLISHED COMPENSATION SURVEYS, AND RELEVANT INDUSTRY DATA FOR COMPARISON. THE BOARD APPROVES COMPENSATION AMOUNTS BY APPROVING AN ANNUAL BUDGET WHICH INCLUDES A LINE ITEM FOR TOTAL STAFF SALARIES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19NCCAOM MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. THE AUDITED STATEMENT OF ACTIVITIES ARE PUBLISHED IN THE ANNUAL REPORT OF THE DIPLOMATE NEWSLETTER, WHICH IS AVAILABLE TO ALL DIPLOMATES AND POSTED ON THE NCCAOM WEBSITE FOR PUBLIC VIEWING.
FORM 990, PART VII, SECTION A:DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS ARE COMPENSATED (PAID HONORARIA) FOR THE DAYS IN WHICH THEY REPRESENTED NCCAOM AT A MEETING OR FUNCTION. COMPENSATION AMOUNTS ARE DETERMINED BY THE NCCAOM'S HONORARIUM POLICY. EMPLOYEES' COMPENSATION REPRESENTS SALARIES PAID AS EMPLOYEES OF NCCAOM.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 11GEXAM ADMINISTRATION SERVICES 359,956. CUSTOMER SERVICES 573,513. GOVERNMENT RELATIONS 120,000. OTHER INDEPENDENT CONTRACTORS 361,362.
FORM 990, PART X, LINE 24:THE COMMISSION RECEIVED LOAN PROCEEDS IN THE AMOUNT OF $249,814 UNDER THE PAYCHECK PROTECTION PROGRAM. THE PROMISSORY NOTE CALLS FOR MONTHLY PRINCIPAL AND INTEREST PAYMENTS AMORTIZED OVER THE TERM OF THE PROMISSORY NOTE WITH A DEFERRAL OF PAYMENTS FOR THE FIRST SIX MONTHS. UNDER THE CORONAVIRUS AID, RELIEF, AND ECONOMIC SECURITY ACT (CARES ACT), THE PROMISSORY NOTE MAY BE FORGIVEN BY THE SMALL BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION IN WHOLE OR IN PART. THE COMMISSION INTENDS TO USE THE PROCEEDS FOR PURPOSES CONSISTENT WITH THE PAYCHECK PROTECTION PROGRAM AND BELIEVES THAT ITS USE OF THE LOAN PROCEEDS WILL MEET THE CONDITIONS FOR FORGIVENESS OF THE LOAN. THE COMMISSION INTENDS TO APPLY FOR FORGIVENESS AFTER COMPLETING THE 24-WEEK PERIOD. IF FORGIVENESS IS GRANTED, THE COMMISSION WILL RECORD REVENUE FROM DEBT EXTINGUISHMENT DURING THE PERIOD THAT FORGIVENESS IS APPROVED.