KOHLER CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2020
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- KOHLER CREDIT UNION (EIN 39-0402815)
- Tax period
- 2020-01-01 to 2020-12-31
- Filed
- 2021-11-03
- IRS object ID
- 202103079349303250
- Schema version
- 2020v4.1
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2021-11-03T16:23:09-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2020-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 410746749 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 109 N MAIN STREET SUITE 200 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | AUSTIN | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 55912 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2020-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 390402815 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | KOHLER CREDIT UNION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | KOHL | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 8885282595 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 5727 SUPERIOR AVE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SHEBOYGAN | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | WI | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 53083 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | GREG DANIELS | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CFO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 8885282595 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2021-11-02 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | GREG | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | DANIELS | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | TANYA MEDGAARDEN | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P01717240 | PTIN |
| Phone | 5074347000 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2021-11-02 | PreparationDt |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 2 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2020 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2022-09-23 18:48:47Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | TONY KLOCKOW | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 5727 SUPERIOR AVE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SHEBOYGAN | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | WI | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 53083 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $21,579,142 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | WWW.KOHLERCU.COM | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Other | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationOtherInd |
| Other Organization Dsc | CU | OtherOrganizationDsc |
| Formation | 1938 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | WI | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | TO ENCOURAGE THRIFT AMONG MEMBERS; TO CREATE A SOURCE OF CREDIT AT A FAIR AND REASONABLE COST; TO PROVIDE AN OPPORTUNITY FOR EACH MEMBER TO IMPROVE THEIR RESPECTIVE ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL CONDITIONS; AND TO PERFORM THE FUNCTIONS AND EXERCISE THE POWERS DESIGNATED FOR CREDIT UNIONS UNDER APPLICABLE LAW. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 9 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 9 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 199 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 9 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $52,846 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $20,784,457 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $21,177,419 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $932,413 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $400,760 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $0 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $0 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $21,716,870 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $21,578,179 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $42,767 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $45,720 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $2,055,970 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $1,598,727 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $8,644,205 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $8,667,706 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $8,017,124 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $8,800,278 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $18,760,066 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $19,112,431 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $2,956,804 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $2,465,748 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $429,077,315 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $525,069,105 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $391,505,513 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $484,877,747 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $37,571,802 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $40,191,358 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | TO ENCOURAGE THRIFT AMONG MEMBERS; TO CREATE A SOURCE OF CREDIT AT A FAIR AND REASONABLE COST; TO PROVIDE AN OPPORTUNITY FOR EACH MEMBER TO IMPROVE THEIR RESPECTIVE ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL CONDITIONS; AND TO PERFORM THE FUNCTIONS AND EXERCISE THE POWERS DESIGNATED FOR CREDIT UNIONS UNDER APPLICABLE LAW. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Desc | MORE THAN $217 MILLION IN NEW LOANS WERE ORIGINATED AND OVER $384 MILLION IN LOAN BALANCES WERE SERVICED FOR MEMBER/OWNERS. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | MORE THAN $481 MILLION IN DEPOSIT ACCOUNTS WERE MAINTAINED AND OVER $1.6 MILLION IN DIVIDENDS WERE PAID ON DEPOSIT ACCOUNTS TO MORE THAN 41,900 MEMBER/OWNERS IN 2020. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | DATA PROCESSING COSTS EXCEEDING $1.7 MILLION WERE INCURRED TO RECORD MEMBER ACCOUNT ACTIVITY AND PROVIDE MEMBERS ACCESS TO THEIR ACCOUNTS VIA HOME BANKING, ATM NETWORKS AND IN PERSON AT THE CREDIT UNION. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | 0 | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | 0 | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | Yes (1) | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 7070 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Employee | 199 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 9 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 9 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (1) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | 0 | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | GREG DANIELS | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 8885282595 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 5727 SUPERIOR AVE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SHEBOYGAN | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | WI | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 53083 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (19 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CHRIS LACEY | |||||||
| CHAIRMAN | 2.50 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| TODD ULLMAN | |||||||
| VICE CHAIRMAN | 2.50 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| DENISS MAKEJENKO | |||||||
| SECRETARY | 2.50 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| BRIAN POST | |||||||
| TREASURER | 2.50 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| DAN GRUENLOH | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JOSEPH VIRANT | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| LAURIE LINDOW | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| STEVEN GERNER | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| RHONDA LUTZKE | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| TONY KLOCKOW | |||||||
| PRESIDENT | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $372,091 | $0 | $7,803 | ||
| AMY GRINNA | |||||||
| CIO/SVP | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $214,206 | $0 | $4,817 | ||
| DALE LIVINGSTON | |||||||
| SVP LENDING | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $175,170 | $0 | $0 | ||
| RICHARD LARSON | |||||||
| CFO/SVP FINANCE | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $125,355 | $0 | $3,600 | ||
| JOHN EHMANN | |||||||
| CFO/SVP FINANCE | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $64,955 | $0 | $350 | ||
| REBECCA HUBBELL | |||||||
| MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR | 40.00 | $276,042 | $0 | $7,985 | Yes (X) | ||
| DAN BODART | |||||||
| MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR | 40.00 | $219,521 | $0 | $5,457 | Yes (X) | ||
| MELISSA DOEBERT | |||||||
| SVP HUMAN RESOURCES | 50.00 | $122,587 | $0 | $4,913 | Yes (X) | ||
| LAURA GABRIELSE | |||||||
| SVP COMMUNICATIONS | 50.00 | $112,497 | $0 | $7,973 | Yes (X) | ||
| SUSAN VANDERMEUSE | |||||||
| VP INTERNAL AUDIT | 50.00 | $115,015 | $0 | $4,257 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $1,797,439 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $47,155 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 9 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LA MACCHIA GROUP LLC | |||||
| 157 N MILWAUKEE ST | MILWAUKEE | WI | 53202 | CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTOR | $5,416,679 |
| FIS | |||||
| 4900 W BROWN DEER RD | BROWN DEER | WI | 53223 | DEBIT CARD PROCESSING | $642,863 |
| Q2 SOFTWARE INC | |||||
| Q2EBANKING PO BOX 205970 | DALLAS | TX | 75320 | SOFTWARE PROVIDER | $526,499 |
| FISERV | |||||
| PO BOX 934057 | ATLANTA | GA | 60675 | DATA PROCESSING | $314,476 |
| HERITAGE VALUATION SERVICES LLC | |||||
| 1351 W TOWNE SQUARE RD | MEQUON | WI | 53092 | PROPERTY APPRAISALS | $256,110 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 12 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LOAN INTEREST | 900099 | $14,545,530 | $14,545,530 | |
| OTHER INCOME | 524298 | $4,615,574 | $4,610,263 | $5,311 |
| FEE INCOME | 522100 | $2,016,315 | $1,968,780 | $47,535 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $21,177,419 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $401,723 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $401,723 | ExclusionAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $963 | OtherAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | -$963 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | -$963 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | -$963 | ExclusionAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $21,578,179 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $21,124,573 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $52,846 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $400,760 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $45,720 | TotalAmt |
Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,598,727 | TotalAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $968,347 | TotalAmt |
Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $6,156,000 | TotalAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $463,180 | TotalAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $579,906 | TotalAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $500,273 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $21,701 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $93,600 | TotalAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,402,124 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $874,280 | TotalAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $339,235 | TotalAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $35 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $941,799 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt |
|---|---|
| PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS | $984,605 |
| LOAN SERVICING EXPENSE | $473,267 |
| EDUCATIONAL AND PROMOTI | $441,779 |
| MISCELLANEOUS OPERATING | $157,042 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $70,811 | TotalAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $19,112,431 | TotalAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,597,815 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,619,881 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $17,851,627 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $72,251,963 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $211,634 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $504,850 | EOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $361,247,428 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $384,942,812 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $784,646 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $974,410 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $38,133,398 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $11,591,154 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $19,255,195 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $26,542,244 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,871,205 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $12,644,778 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $697,200 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $708,100 | EOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,100,190 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,100,190 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $14,460,375 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $17,779,877 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $429,077,315 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $525,069,105 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,915,517 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,602,136 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $388,589,996 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $481,275,611 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $391,505,513 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $484,877,747 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Org Does Not Follow FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind |
Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $37,571,802 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $40,191,358 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $37,571,802 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $40,191,358 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $429,077,315 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $525,069,105 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $2,465,748 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $86,842 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $66,966 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $5,018,388 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $5,018,388 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $22,168,450 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $5,375,545 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $16,792,905 | BookValueAmt |
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,461,587 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $207,957 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $1,253,630 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $9,048,592 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $6,007,652 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $3,040,940 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $436,381 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $436,381 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $26,542,244 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | MEMBER DEPOSITS | Desc |
| Amt | $481,275,611 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $481,275,611 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $21,579,144 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Revenue | $965 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $965 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $21,578,179 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $21,578,179 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $19,113,396 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $965 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $965 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $19,112,431 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $19,112,431 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART X, LINE 2: | THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT, UNDER IRC 501(C)(14), FROM FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES. THE CREDIT UNION HAS FILED TAX RETURNS THROUGH 2019 FOR ACTIVITIES IT HAS DEEMED TAXABLE AND HAS A NET OPERATING LOSS CARRYFORWARD AS OF THE 2019 CALENDAR YEAR. THE TAXING AUTHORITIES HAVE THE ABILITY TO ASSESS TAXES, PENALTIES, AND INTEREST FOR ANY YEARS FOR WHICH NO TAX RETURN WAS FILED. IN THE OPINION OF MANAGEMENT, ANY LIABILITY RESULTING FROM TAXING AUTHORITIES IMPOSING INCOME TAXES ON THE NET TAXABLE INCOME FROM ACTIVITIES POTENTIALLY DEEMED TO BE UNRELATED TO THE CREDIT UNION'S EXEMPT PURPOSE IS NOT EXPECTED TO HAVE A MATERIAL EFFECT ON THE CREDIT UNION'S FINANCIAL POSITION OR RESULTS OF OPERATION. THE CREDIT UNION EVALUATED ITS TAX POSITION AND DETERMINED NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS EXIST AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2020 AND 2019. THE CREDIT UNION'S 2017 THROUGH 2019 TAX YEARS ARE OPEN FOR EXAMINATION BY FEDERAL AND STATE TAXING AUTHORITIES. |
| PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | ROUNDING 1. NET LOSS ON SALE OF ASSET 964. |
| PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | NET LOSS ON SALE OF ASSET 964. ROUNDING 1. |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Type | SCHOLARSHIPS | GrantTypeTxt |
| Recipient | 17 | RecipientCnt |
| Cash Grant | $42,500 | CashGrantAmt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | STUDENT, OR PARENTS, MUST BE A CREDIT UNION MEMBER, HAVE A CUMULATIVE GRADE POINT AVERAGE OF 3.25 OR BETTER, PLAN TO ATTEND A 4-YEAR WISCONSIN INSTITUTION AND HAVE A HIGH SCHOOL RECORD OF ACHIEVEMENT IN SCHOLARSHIP, CHARACTER, LEADERSHIP, CITIZENSHIP AND INVOLVEMENT. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Club Dues Or Fees | Yes (X) | ClubDuesOrFeesInd |
| Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss | Yes (1) | WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd |
| Substantiation Required | Yes (1) | SubstantiationRequiredInd |
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (5 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TONY KLOCKOW | ||||||||||||||
| PRESIDENT | $291,629 | $0 | $37,747 | $0 | $42,715 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $7,803 | $0 | $379,894 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| REBECCA HUBBELL | ||||||||||||||
| MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR | $25,405 | $0 | $250,637 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $7,985 | $0 | $284,027 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| DAN BODART | ||||||||||||||
| MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR | $28,261 | $0 | $191,260 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $5,457 | $0 | $224,978 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| AMY GRINNA | ||||||||||||||
| CIO/SVP | $174,270 | $0 | $20,436 | $0 | $19,500 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $4,817 | $0 | $219,023 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| DALE LIVINGSTON | ||||||||||||||
| SVP LENDING | $156,740 | $0 | $18,430 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $175,170 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 1A | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | HEALTH CLUB BENEFITS OF $1,250 FOR TONY KLOCKOW - INCLUDED IN TAXABLE COMPENSATION. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6 | THE CREDIT UNION IS COMPRISED OF 41,913 MEMBER/OWNERS, EACH OF WHOM HAS EQUAL RIGHTS IN OWNERSHIP, GOVERANCE AND VOTING AT THE ANNUAL MEETINGS, WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE MEMBER/OWNERS WHO ARE ELECTED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. MEMBERSHIP IN THE CREDIT UNION IS OPEN TO THOSE WHO LIVE OR WORK IN SHEBOYGAN, CALUMET, FOND DU LAC, MANITOWOC, OZAUKEE, WASHINGTON, MILWAUKEE OR WAUKESHA COUNTIES IN WISCONSIN. ADDITIONALLY, ALL EMPLOYEES AND RETIREES OF KOHLER COMPANY, POLAR WARE, CURT JOA, AND PLYMOUTH FOAM ARE ELIGIBLE FOR MEMBERSHIP. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7A | THE MEMBER/OWNERS OF THE CREDIT UNION HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO ELECT THE MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR 3-YEAR TERMS ON A ROTATING BASIS. CANDIDATES ARE ELECTED BY A SIMPLE PLURALITY VOTE. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTS A NOMINATION COMMITTEE CONSISTING OF NOT FEWER THAN THREE MEMBERS, WHO SHALL NOMINATE ONE OR MORE MEMBERS FOR EACH VACANCY ON THE BOARD. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7B | BYLAWS MAY BE AMENDED BY A THREE-FOURTHS MAJORITY VOTE OF THE MEMBERS PRESENT AT ANY ANNUAL OR SPECIAL MEETING OF THE MEMBERS, IF ALL NOTICE AND OTHER REQUIREMENTS APPLICABLE TO AMENDMENT OF BYLAWS ARE SATISFIED. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | PRIOR TO BEING FILED WITH THE IRS, A COPY OF THE IRS FORM 990 AND RELATED SCHEDULES ARE REVIEWED BY THE PRESIDENT AND CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, INCLUDING A CONFIRMATION OF ACCURACY OF EVERY ANSWER AND OVERSIGHT OF APPROPRIATE CHANGES. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | CONFLICT OF INTEREST REQUIREMENTS ARE PART OF THE PERSONNEL POLICY WHICH IS REQUIRED TO BE REVIEWED ANNUALLY BY DIRECTORS AND EMPLOYEES. ALSO, AT EACH MONTHLY BOARD MEETING DIRECTORS ARE ASKED IF THEY HAVE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST WITH REGARDS TO ANY AGENDA ITEM. IF A CONFLICT OF INTEREST IS IDENTIFIED , THE BOARD MEMBER IS RECUSED FROM VOTING ON THAT ITEM. ALSO, AT EACH LOAN COMMITTEE MEETING, LOAN COMMITTEE MEMBERS ARE REQUIRED TO DISCLOSE ANY CONFLICTS OF INTEREST WITH RESPECT TO ANY LOAN BROUGHT BEFORE THE COMMITTEE, AND ARE RECUSED FROM VOTING ON APPROVAL OF THE RELATED LOAN. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | SALARY SURVEY IS COMPLETED BY AN INDEPENDENT CPA FIRM. SALARY IS SET BY THE BOARD COMPENSATION COMMITTEE. MINUTES OF THE COMMITTEE MEETINGS ARE RECORDED. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE POSTED IN THE CREDIT UNION'S LOBBIES. OTHER DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9: | SFAS NO. 158 IMPLEMENTATION RELATED TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 66,964. ROUNDING 2. |
| FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C: | THIS PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM PRIOR YEAR. |