STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

UNITED HOSPITAL DISTRICT INC: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UNITED HOSPITAL DISTRICT INC (EIN 45-4165628)
Tax period
2020-01-01 to 2020-12-31
Filed
2021-11-05
IRS object ID
202103099349303895
Schema version
2020v4.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-11-05T15:08:50-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Eide Bailly LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1800 Nicollet Mall Ste 1300AddressLine1Txt
CityMinneapolisCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP554027033ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN454165628EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1United Hospital District IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlUNITBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5075263273PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1515 S Moore StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBlue EarthCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP56013ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonRichard AshPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone5075263273PhoneNum
Signature2021-10-28SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstRichardPersonFirstNm
Person LastAshPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonKim Hunwardsen CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00484560PTIN
Phone6122536500PhoneNum
Preparation2021-10-28PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerRichard AshPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1515 S Moore StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBlue EarthCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP56013ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$38,674,943GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.uhd.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2011FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMNLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionProvision of health care servicesActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body10VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent8VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee279TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers9TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$139,277PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$5,221,308CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$38,638,556PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$33,093,718CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$226,673PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income-$1,221,699CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$710PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$210CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$39,005,216PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$37,093,537CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$20,341,135PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$20,007,746CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$16,537,061PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$16,102,550CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$36,878,196PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$36,110,296CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$2,127,020PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$983,241CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$44,335,314TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$50,772,048TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$12,192,052TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$17,645,545TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$32,143,262NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$33,126,503NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionAt United Hospital District, we exist to provide and promote appropriate health care services to the communities we serve, doing so in a safe and healing environment which supports our patient-centered care philosophy.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangeYes (1)SignificantChangeInd
Expense$30,003,905ExpenseAmt
Revenue$33,093,718RevenueAmt
DescUnited Hospital District, Inc. operates a 25-bed critical access hospital in Blue Earth, Minnesota. The Hospital also operates medical clinics in Blue Earth, Wells, Winnebago and Fairmont, Minnesota. A 24-bed adolescent treatment center had been operated in Winnebago, Minnesota but ceased operations in April 2020. The building and grounds have also been sold. The Hospital provides health care services to patients who meet certain criteria under its charity care policy without charge or at amounts less than established rates. The estimated cost of providing these services was $398,000 for the year ended December 31, 2020, calculated by multiplying the ratio of cost to gross charges for the Hospital by the gross uncompensated charges associated with providing charity care to its patients.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$30,003,905TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalYes (1)OperateHospitalInd
Audited Financial Stmt AttYes (1)AuditedFinancialStmtAttInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document72IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee279EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members10GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member8IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Patrick JustinBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5075267908PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1515 S Moore StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBlue EarthCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP56013ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (17 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Wyatt Rollenhagen
Chairman1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$1,223$0$0
Ryan Milbrandt
Vice Chair1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$1,050$0$0
Melanie Humburg
Secretary1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$1,420$0$0
Doug Johanson
Treasurer1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$1,284$0$0
Larry Anderson
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$1,387$0$0
Chase Brandt
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$900$0$0
Joanne Hoffman
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$712$0$0
Aaron Johnson MD
Board Member40.00Yes (X)$266,656$0$25,300
Bob Karp MD
Board Member40.00Yes (X)$397,055$0$45,143
Justin Miller
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$700$0$0
Richard Ash
CEO40.00Yes (X)$243,307$0$42,870
Patrick Justin
CFO40.00Yes (X)$150,045$0$18,595
Alex Wong MD
Surgeon40.00$557,956$0$43,779Yes (X)
Christopher Gran MD
Physician40.00$472,728$0$26,848Yes (X)
Joseph Montanaro MD
Physician40.00$379,669$0$36,731Yes (X)
Laraine Klunder
CRNA40.00$243,853$0$42,410Yes (X)
Mary Trites MD
Physician40.00$225,991$0$20,599Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,945,936TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$302,275TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K24IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Acute Care Inc
1609 N Ankeny BlvdAnkenyIA50023ED MD Coverage$1,515,841
Orthopaedic & Fracture Clinic
1431 Premier DriveMankatoMN56001Ortho MD's$424,862
CMDI
525 10th St NEMilacaMN56353CT Services$307,234
Cloudwave
100 Crowley DrMarlboroughMA01752Computer host$203,607
Kraus Anderson Construction
501 South Eighth StreetMinneapolisMN55404Construction$202,882
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K7CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$5,022,609GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$198,699AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$25,000NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$5,221,308TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Patient Service Revenue621110$31,700,525$31,700,525
340B Program Revenue621110$1,132,459$1,132,459
Equity earnings in CDMI900099$137,196$137,196
Supporting Revenue900099$123,538$123,538
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$33,093,718TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$153,830TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$153,830ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$210RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$210RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$210TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$210ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$105,877SecuritiesAmt
Other$100,000OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$1,581,406OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$105,877SecuritiesAmt
Other-$1,481,406OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$1,375,529TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$1,375,529ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$37,093,537TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$33,093,718RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion-$1,221,489ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,203,356TotalAmt
Program Services$723,221ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$480,135ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,068,379TotalAmt
Program Services$12,550,353ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,518,026ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$821,447TotalAmt
Program Services$731,805ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$89,642ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,923,199TotalAmt
Program Services$2,568,696ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$354,503ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$991,365TotalAmt
Program Services$864,042ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$127,323ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$99,320TotalAmt
Management And General$99,320ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$65,207TotalAmt
Management And General$65,207ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,555,001TotalAmt
Program Services$4,010,427ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$544,574ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$188,849TotalAmt
Management And General$188,849ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,033,974TotalAmt
Program Services$599,628ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$434,346ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$833,390TotalAmt
Program Services$11,417ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$821,973ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$638,534TotalAmt
Program Services$513,942ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$124,592ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$183,994TotalAmt
Program Services$164,990ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$19,004ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$61,961TotalAmt
Program Services$44,863ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$17,098ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$350,339TotalAmt
Program Services$300,077ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$50,262ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,247,069TotalAmt
Program Services$1,924,691ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$322,378ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$180,099TotalAmt
Management And General$180,099ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Medical Supplies$3,533,764$3,408,670$125,094
Equipment Rental/Repair$1,199,346$740,224$459,122
MN Care Tax$577,601$577,601
Licenses/Dues$104,466$49,401$55,065

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$249,636TotalAmt
Program Services$219,857ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$29,779ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$36,110,296TotalAmt
Program Services$30,003,905ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,106,391ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,741,217BOYAmt
EOY$17,534,080EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,249,617BOYAmt
EOY$4,093,779EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$93,269BOYAmt
EOY$68,269EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$420,648BOYAmt
EOY$703,251EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$787,509BOYAmt
EOY$838,100EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,727BOYAmt
EOY$363,633EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$49,676,670LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$28,916,420LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,085,140BOYAmt
EOY$20,760,250EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,066,005BOYAmt
EOY$4,847,170EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$333,107BOYAmt
EOY$357,380EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$531,075BOYAmt
EOY$1,206,136EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$44,335,314BOYAmt
EOY$50,772,048EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,040,393BOYAmt
EOY$3,190,195EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$3,690,866EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,710,015BOYAmt
EOY$7,908,529EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$100,683BOYAmt
EOY$58,108EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$2,797,847EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$340,961BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,192,052BOYAmt
EOY$17,645,545EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$32,143,262BOYAmt
EOY$33,126,503EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$32,143,262BOYAmt
EOY$33,126,503EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$44,335,314BOYAmt
EOY$50,772,048EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$983,241ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
HospitalYes (X)HospitalInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$612,000OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$612,000BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$34,104,492OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$17,205,052DepreciationAmt
Book Value$16,899,440BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,004,353OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$637,192DepreciationAmt
Book Value$367,161BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$13,924,306OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$11,074,176DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,850,130BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$31,519OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$31,519BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$20,760,250TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$38,578,499TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$38,578,499RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$1,484,962OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$1,484,962RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$37,093,537TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$37,595,258TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$1,484,962OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$1,484,962ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$36,110,296ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$36,110,296TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part X, Line 2:The Hospital believes that it has appropriate support for any tax positions taken affecting its annual filing requirements, and as such, does not have any uncertain tax positions that are material to the financial statements. The Hospital would recognize future accrued interest and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits and liabilities in income tax expense if such interest and penalties are incurred.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Loss on Sale of Adolescent Treatment Center -1,484,962.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Loss on Sale of Adolescent Treatment Center 1,484,962.

Schedule H IRS990ScheduleH

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Financial Assistance PolicyYes (1)FinancialAssistancePolicyInd
Written PolicyYes (1)WrittenPolicyInd
All Hospitals PolicyYes (X)AllHospitalsPolicyInd
FPG Reference Free CareYes (1)FPGReferenceFreeCareInd

Free Care Oth Percentage FreeCareOthPercentageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
OtherYes (X)OtherInd
Free Care Other225.000000000000FreeCareOtherPct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
FPG Reference Discounted CareYes (1)FPGReferenceDiscountedCareInd

Discounted Care Oth Percentage DiscountedCareOthPercentageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
OtherYes (X)OtherInd
Discounted Care Other275.000000000000DiscountedCareOtherPct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Free Care Medically Indigent0FreeCareMedicallyIndigentInd
Financial Assistance BudgetYes (1)FinancialAssistanceBudgetInd
Expenses Exceed BudgetYes (1)ExpensesExceedBudgetInd
Unable To Provide Care0UnableToProvideCareInd
Annual Community Bnft Report0AnnualCommunityBnftReportInd

Financial Assistance At Cost Typ FinancialAssistanceAtCostTyp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$398,000TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$398,000NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.01100TotalExpensePct

Unreimbursed Medicaid UnreimbursedMedicaidGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$7,120,643TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$4,182,755DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$2,937,888NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.08140TotalExpensePct

Total Financial Assistance Typ TotalFinancialAssistanceTyp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$7,518,643TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$4,182,755DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$3,335,888NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.09240TotalExpensePct

Subsidized Health Services SubsidizedHealthServicesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$4,874,894TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$2,514,413DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$2,360,481NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.06540TotalExpensePct

Total Other Benefits TotalOtherBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$4,874,894TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$2,514,413DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$2,360,481NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.06540TotalExpensePct

Total Community Benefits TotalCommunityBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$12,393,537TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$6,697,168DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$5,696,369NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.15780TotalExpensePct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bad Debt Expense ReportedYes (1)BadDebtExpenseReportedInd
Bad Debt Expense$1,857,112BadDebtExpenseAmt
Bad Debt Expense Attributable$464,278BadDebtExpenseAttributableAmt
Reimbursed By Medicare$7,202,988ReimbursedByMedicareAmt
Cost Of Care Reimbursed By Medcr$7,157,871CostOfCareReimbursedByMedcrAmt
Medicare Surplus Or Shortfall$45,117MedicareSurplusOrShortfallAmt

Costing Methodology Used CostingMethodologyUsedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
OtherYes (X)OtherInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Debt Collection PolicyYes (1)WrittenDebtCollectionPolicyInd
Financial Assistance PrvsnYes (1)FinancialAssistancePrvsnInd
Hospital Facilities1HospitalFacilitiesCnt

Hospital Facilities HospitalFacilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility1FacilityNum

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1United Hospital DistrictBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1515 S Moore StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBlue EarthCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP56013ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Website Addresswww.uhd.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
State License375736StateLicenseNum
Licensed HospitalYes (X)LicensedHospitalInd
Critical Access HospitalYes (X)CriticalAccessHospitalInd
Emergency Room24 HrsYes (X)EmergencyRoom24HrsInd
Other3 Provider based clinics, 1 Fee for service clinicOtherDesc

Hospital Fclty Policies Prctc HospitalFcltyPoliciesPrctcGrp

Hospital Facility Name HospitalFacilityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1United Hospital DistrictBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility1FacilityNum
First Licensed CY Or PY0FirstLicensedCYOrPYInd
Tax Exempt Hospital CY Or PY0TaxExemptHospitalCYOrPYInd
CHNA ConductedYes (1)CHNAConductedInd
Community DefinitionYes (X)CommunityDefinitionInd
Community DemographicsYes (X)CommunityDemographicsInd
Existing ResourcesYes (X)ExistingResourcesInd
How Data ObtainedYes (X)HowDataObtainedInd
Community Health NeedsYes (X)CommunityHealthNeedsInd
Other Health IssuesYes (X)OtherHealthIssuesInd
Community Hlth Needs Id ProcessYes (X)CommunityHlthNeedsIdProcessInd
Consulting ProcessYes (X)ConsultingProcessInd
Prior CHNA ImpactYes (X)PriorCHNAImpactInd
CHNA Conducted20CHNAConductedYr
Take Into Account Others InputYes (1)TakeIntoAccountOthersInputInd
CHNA Conducted With Other Fclts0CHNAConductedWithOtherFcltsInd
CHNA Conducted With Non Fclts0CHNAConductedWithNonFcltsInd
CHNA Report Widely AvailableYes (1)CHNAReportWidelyAvailableInd
Rpt Available On Own WebsiteYes (X)RptAvailableOnOwnWebsiteInd
Own Website URLSee Part V, Page 8OwnWebsiteURLTxt
Paper Copy Public InspectionYes (X)PaperCopyPublicInspectionInd
Implementation Strategy AdoptYes (1)ImplementationStrategyAdoptInd
Implementation Strategy Adpt20ImplementationStrategyAdptYr
Strategy Posted Website0StrategyPostedWebsiteInd
Strategy AttachedYes (1)StrategyAttachedInd
Organization Incur Excise Tax0OrganizationIncurExciseTaxInd
Elig Criteria ExplainedYes (1)EligCriteriaExplainedInd
FPG Family Incm Lmt Free DscntYes (X)FPGFamilyIncmLmtFreeDscntInd
FPG Family Incm Lmt Free Care225.000000000000FPGFamilyIncmLmtFreeCarePct
FPG Family Incm Lmt Dscnt Care275.000000000000FPGFamilyIncmLmtDscntCarePct
Other CriteriaYes (X)OtherCriteriaInd
Explained BasisYes (1)ExplainedBasisInd
App Financial Asst ExplnYes (1)AppFinancialAsstExplnInd
Described InfoYes (X)DescribedInfoInd
Described Suprt DocYes (X)DescribedSuprtDocInd
Provided Hospital ContactYes (X)ProvidedHospitalContactInd
Provided Nonprofit ContactYes (X)ProvidedNonprofitContactInd
Other MethodYes (X)OtherMethodInd
Includes Publicity MeasuresYes (1)IncludesPublicityMeasuresInd
FAP Available On WebsiteYes (X)FAPAvailableOnWebsiteInd
FAP Available On Website URLhttp://www.uhd.org/index.php/formsFAPAvailableOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP App Available On WebsiteYes (X)FAPAppAvailableOnWebsiteInd
FAP App Available On Website URLhttp://www.uhd.org/index.php/formsFAPAppAvailableOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP Summary On WebsiteYes (X)FAPSummaryOnWebsiteInd
FAP Summary On Website URLhttp://www.uhd.org/index.php/formsFAPSummaryOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP Avlbl On Request No ChargeYes (X)FAPAvlblOnRequestNoChargeInd
FAP App Avlbl On Request No ChrgYes (X)FAPAppAvlblOnRequestNoChrgInd
FAP Sum Avlbl On Request No ChrgYes (X)FAPSumAvlblOnRequestNoChrgInd
Notified FAP Copy Bill DisplayYes (X)NotifiedFAPCopyBillDisplayInd
Communtity Notified FAPYes (X)CommuntityNotifiedFAPInd
FAP Actions On NonpaymentYes (1)FAPActionsOnNonpaymentInd
Permit No ActionsYes (X)PermitNoActionsInd
Collection Activities0CollectionActivitiesInd
Provided Written NoticeYes (X)ProvidedWrittenNoticeInd
Made Effort Orally NotifyYes (X)MadeEffortOrallyNotifyInd
Processed FAP ApplicationYes (X)ProcessedFAPApplicationInd
Made Presumptive Elig DetermYes (X)MadePresumptiveEligDetermInd
Nondis Emergency Care PolicyYes (1)NondisEmergencyCarePolicyInd
Look Back MedicareYes (X)LookBackMedicareInd
Amounts Generally Billed0AmountsGenerallyBilledInd
Gross Charges0GrossChargesInd

Supplemental Information SupplementalInformationGrp (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
United Hospital DistrictPart V, Section B, Line 5: In November 2020, the CHNA, a cover letter on UHD's letterhead, and a postage paid reply envelope were mailed first class to 800 randomly selected residents in the targeted region (fifteen zip codes). A press release was sent to local newspapers prior to the survey distribution announcing that UHD would conduct a CHNA throughout the region, in cooperation with The National Rural Health Resouce Center (The Center). The announcement was also shared on UHD's Facebook page. To assist with the assessment, UHD contracted with the National Rural Health Resource Center, headquartered in Duluth, Minnesota. The Center is a nonprofit organization dedicated to sustaining and improving health care in rural communities. The Center conducted demographic analysis and statistical research and surveys for the focus groups and key community stakeholder interviews were developed.Due to COVID-19 restrictions the focus groups were held virtually and included residents from several different communities in UHD's service area and represented young parents, seniors, veterans, schools, businesses, healthcare consumers, and social services. The key stakeholder meetings were one-on-one 60-minute interviews and included representatives of education, law enforcement, local business, faith leaders, and other community and elected leaders.
United Hospital DistrictPart V, Section B, Line 11: The priorities identified in the most recently conducted CHNA by the CHNA teams are as follows: 1. Provide and Promote Education Information and Opportunities to the Communities We Serve. *Goal-Provide Education on UHD service and education on wellness topics.2. Match the Scope of Services with the Needs of the Communities We Serve. *Goal-Investigate adding Community Paramedicine staff.3. Promote, Partner, and Enhance Mental Health Services *Goals-Increase MH service on UHD website, Collaborate with schools, nursing homes, veterans services to identify and connect to services; tele-psych out-patient servicesDue to the timing of the completion of the most recent CHNA, we have not been able to address these most recent goals. UHD continued to address the goals of the 2017 CHNA in the following ways:**Goal 1: Raise awareness of healthcare and healthcare-related services currently provided by UHD. We have been able to meet this goal in 2020.*Action Item A: Review and update existing print and online materials, both available to the public and distributed internally to UHD staff and partners***A communications position was created and filled in August of 2018. Responsibilities of the position include updating existing informational material and creating/distributing improved healthcare services information internally and more intensively externally to the communities we serve. The UHD website rebuild was started in early 2018 and it went live in early 2019. The site was redesigned to provide improved access to healthcare services information and availability. In 2020 the below activities were undertaken to meet our CHNA goal #1:-Staff continues to improve and update the website to provide the public with the most applicable and accurate healthcare information. -Advertising activities (billboards, newspaper, Facebook) are continually evaluated and updated to educate the communities we serve on what services are available to them. -Feedback cards were provided and encouraged at community events (County Fairs, Festival Parades) to learn from the community what services they know are available and the perception of those services.*Action Item B: Assess and expand public education and public information activities specifically related to:a) smoking cessation, specifically including smoking cessation options for pregnant womenb) weight loss/weight controlc) healthy dietsd) exercise/activitye) moderation in alcohol consumption***During 2020 action Item B was addressed in the following ways:-On the first Friday of each month at our local AM radio station, one of UHD's providers discussed one relevant health topic related to smoking cessation, weight loss/weight control, and healthy diets or other areas of public health concern. **Goal 2: Service collaboration and coordination with external community partners. We have been able to meet this goal in 2020.*Action Item A: Develop outreach activities based on the CHNA report of findings and other available resources to solicit interest in, and partners for, a more formalized system of multiorganizational community support for community residents. As the hospital's identified single point of contact for community relations and collaborations, the CEO should lead this effort.*Action Item B: Based on (A) above, UHD should actively participate in the implementation of a coordinated community support information and referral service. This includes participation in service coordination activities led by other agencies serving UHD's service area.***To help address Action Items A and B, UHD is part of the core leadership group of a newly formed Faribault and Martin Counties Community Health Collaborative. The representatives of the collaborative are from Mayo Clinic Hospital, Fairmont, United Hospital District, Blue Earth, Martin and Faribault county public health and human services, Blue Earth and Fairmont schools and several community-based organizations and service clubs. Three action planning teams have been created to address the following: Access to Care, Chronic Disease and Community Resiliency.1.) Highlights from Healthier Together Action Team:-Expediting assistance of community member meal deliveries during the COVID-19 response. The team was able to deliver 150-200 meals or packages per week at zero charge to the community.-Healthier Together has formed a partnership with USC (United South Central) High School and BEA (Blue Earth Area) High School to host WIC (Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, Children) baby cafe sites. This program promotes and supports breastfeeding for pregnant and breastfeeding parents.-Affiliate with local substance abuse prevention coalitions to distribute substance cessation resources through meal delivery programs.-During COVID-19 pandemic resources have been shared with the community to promote an active school day at home and the importance of movement for mental health2.) Highlights from Access to Care Team-UHD and Fairmont - Mayo Clinic Health System have formed a tentative partnership to collaborate with Prairie Lakes Transit to provide free healthcare transportation within Faribault and Martin Counties. This transportation service would cover Medical, Dental, Mental, Vision, and Hearing services.**Goal 3: Operational feasibility planning to address potential service additions. We have been able to meet this goal in 2020.*Action Item A: Based on the information contained in the CHNA report of findings and other available information, develop an inventory of service gaps and personnel needs.-UHD has applied for and received approval of HPSA (Health Professional Shortage Area) which will allow UHD to apply to become a NHSC (National Health Service Corps) site.*Action Item B: Develop potential financial and operational plans to address the identified service gaps and personnel needs.-Becoming a NHSC site will allow UHD to apply to become a RHC (Rural Health Clinic) allowing for improved Medicare and Medicaid reimbursement.
United Hospital DistrictPart V, Section B, Line 13h: Documents that may be reviewed include completed application, recent tax statements, bank denial and MA denial. The Organization also follows the state agreement.
United Hospital DistrictPart V, Section B, Line 15e: We have certified staff who assist with the MN State Exchange and MA. They also provide guidance with every patient's insurance carrier where needed.
Schedule H, Part V, Line 7a:https://uhd.org/media/attachments/2021/01/14/chna.pdf
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility2FacilityNum

Oth Hlth Care Fclts Not Hospital OthHlthCareFcltsNotHospitalGrp

Oth Hlth Care Fclts OthHlthCareFcltsGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdFacilityFacilityTxt
1 - UHD Home Health and Hospice
125 South Main StreetBlue EarthMN56013Comprehensive Home Care & Hospice Program
2 - Adolescent Treatment Center
620 1st Avenue SWWinnebagoMN56098Children's Residential, Supervised Living, Chemical Dependency Treatment

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 3c:In addition to the Federal Poverty Guidelines, documents that may be reviewed include completed application, recent tax statements, bank denial and MA denial. The Organization also follows the state agreement.
Part I, Line 7:Charity care expense was converted to cost on line 7a based on an overall cost-to-charge ratio addressing all patient segments. Unreimbursed Medicaid on line 7b and subsidized health services on line 7g were determined using the costing methods to prepare the cost reports.
Part III, Line 2:The amount reported on line 2 represents implicit price concessions. The Hospital determines its estimate of implicit price concessions based on its historical collection experience with this class of patients.
Part III, Line 3:The Organization estimates that 25% of its implicit price concessions are attributable to patients eligible for financial assistance under the financial assistance policy. We estimate that 25% of those who should have completed financial assistance forms and applications could have qualified for financial assistance had they applied.
Part III, Line 4:The footnote to the organization's financial statements addressing implicit price concessions may be found on pages 11 and 12 of the attached audited financial statements.
Part III, Line 8:Medicare allowable costs were obtained from the 2020 Medicare cost report. The Medicare Cost Report is completed based on the rules and regulations set forth by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
Part III, Line 9b:Within 7 days after an insurance payment, the patient will start receiving monthly billings. Statements are sent on a monthly cycle basis. If no payment is received 30 days after the statement went out, the patient is contacted by phone. If no payment is received for 90 days, the patient is contacted by letter to advise him or her of further collection actions to be taken. When agreed upon amounts are not paid off, arrangements can be made for a series of payments to fulfill a patient's obligation. Each account is reviewed by a business office staff member before placing with a collection agency. A financial assistance application submitted by a patient will be processed for at least 240 days following their first post discharge billing statement. If an individual submits a financial assistance application after collection actions have started, collection actions will be suspended until financial assistance eligibility is determined. If an individual is determined to be eligible for financial assistance, no further collection actions will be taken. If an individual is determined to be eligible for financial assistance after collection actions have started, the collection actions will be reversed.
Part VI, Line 2:UHD has standing advisory committees with representation from our communities for Home Health/Hospice and ATCW. Input from the members helps set the strategies and initiatives for improvement. We've also had Focus Groups to address Obstetrical services and another for Orthopedic services. Our patient satisfaction survey incorporates a comments section which gives our patients a voice to make suggestions.
Part VI, Line 3:Whether in person or on our web-site, UHD provides the following information for financial assistance: (1) posts its charity care policy, or a summary thereof, and financial assistance contact information in admissions areas, emergency rooms, and other areas of the organization's facilities in which eligible patients are likely to be present; (2) provides a copy of the policy, or a summary thereof, and financial assistance contact information to patients as part of the intake process; (3) provides a copy of the policy, or a summary thereof, and financial assistance contact information to patients with discharge materials; (4) includes the policy, or a summary thereof, along with financial assistance contact information, in patient bills; and/or (5) discusses with the patient the availability of various government benefits, such as Medicaid or state programs, and assists the patient with qualification for such programs, where applicable. In addition, the Business Office has several certified individuals to assist with applications for both State and Federal insurance plans.
Part VI, Line 4:UHD is located in Blue Earth, Minnesota, a community of approximately 3,400 situated in the west central end of Faribault County. The county borders Martin County to the west, Freeborn County to the east, Blue Earth County to the north, and two Iowa counties, Kossuth and Winnebago, to the south.UHD is the only hospital serving Faribault County and the northern Iowa adjacent counties. Faribault County comprises 82% of UHD outpatient admissions while the remaining adjacent counties comprises 95% of all outpatient encounters. The population within a 10-mile radius of Blue Earth is about 9,000 and within a 20-mile radius is about 30,000.The closet full-service hospitals are in:Fairmont, MN - Mayo Clinic Health Systems - 22 miles westAlbert Lea, MN - Mayo Clinic Health Systems - 42 miles east (Albert Lea Hospital closed its inpatient services effective 10/30/19.)Mankato, MN - Mayo Clinic Health Systems - 45 miles northEmmetsburg, IA - Palo Alto County Hospital - 66 miles southwest
Part VI, Line 5:United Hospital District's current board members reside in the service area. Medical staff privileges for physicians are provided to all qualified care providers who also primarily reside in the service area. The Hospital also has relationships for certain specialists who provide their medical care in our clinics and hospital. All surplus funds are reinvested in the program areas for the hospital and clinics.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Alex Wong MD
Surgeon$557,854$0$102$0$0$0$14,250$0$31,183$0$603,389$0$0$0
Christopher Gran MD
Physician$472,626$0$102$0$0$0$14,000$0$14,796$0$501,524$0$0$0
Bob Karp MD
Board Member$368,135$0$28,920$0$0$0$14,250$0$33,053$0$444,358$0$0$0
Joseph Montanaro MD
Physician$379,567$0$102$0$0$0$14,250$0$24,556$0$418,475$0$0$0
Aaron Johnson MD
Board Member$266,554$0$102$0$0$0$0$0$26,966$0$293,622$0$0$0
Laraine Klunder
CRNA$243,751$0$102$0$0$0$12,681$0$31,336$0$287,870$0$0$0
Richard Ash
CEO$243,205$0$102$0$0$0$12,343$0$31,655$0$287,305$0$0$0
Mary Trites MD
Physician$225,889$0$102$0$0$0$11,250$0$10,375$0$247,616$0$0$0
Patrick Justin
CFO$149,944$0$101$0$0$0$7,625$0$11,725$0$169,395$0$0$0

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1City of Frost MinnesotaBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN416005176BondIssuerEIN
Bond Issued2018-10-18BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$9,428,450IssuePriceAmt
PurposeRefinance District's debt and remodel ER, lobby and other spacesPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$1,328,974RetiredAmt
Total Proceeds$9,428,450TotalProceedsAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$188,569IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Working Capital Expenditures$3,053,221WorkingCapitalExpendituresAmt
Substantial Completion2019SubstantialCompletionYr
Refunding Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable Bonds0RefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (1)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop0MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Private Bus Use By Others0.00000PrivateBusUseByOthersPct
Private Bus Concerning UBI0.00000PrivateBusConcerningUBIPct
Total Private Business Use0.00000TotalPrivateBusinessUsePct
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (1)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due Yet0RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To Rebate0ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate Due0NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate Issue0VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsYes (1)WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (1)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBob Karp MDPersonNm
Relationship With OrgMedical ProviderRelationshipWithOrgTxt
Loan PurposeSigning IncentiveLoanPurposeTxt
Loan From OrganizationYes (X)LoanFromOrganizationInd
Original Principal$125,000OriginalPrincipalAmt
Balance Due$68,269BalanceDueAmt
Default0DefaultInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (1)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Written AgreementYes (1)WrittenAgreementInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$68,269TotalBalanceDueAmt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part III, line 3A 24-bed adolescent treatment center had been operated in Winnebago, Minnesota but ceased operations in April 2020. The building and grounds have also been sold.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1The Organization has an Executive Committee consisting of the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary and Treasurer. In addition, the CEO is an ex-officio, non-voting member of the Executive Committee. The Chair of the Board of Directors is the Chair of the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee has the authority of the Board of Directors in the management of the business of the Organization in intervals between meetings of the Board of Directors.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aThe Board of Directors consists of no fewer than seven and no more than fifteen members. Three "District Directors" are appointed by the United Hospital District Board of Directors. There can be up to two "At-Large Directors" who are elected by the Board of Directors but need not be residents of the Geographic Service Area. There is one Ex Officio director, who is the physician serving as the Chief of Medical Staff of the hospital. The remaining members of the Board of Directors are "Area Directors" who are elected by the Board of Directors of this corporation and must be residents of the Geographic Service Area. The Geographic Service Area means all of the cities and townships comprising the District, plus any additional area contained within the lowest number of contiguous zip codes from which the hospital drew at least 75 percent of its inpatients during the previous fiscal year.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe CFO reviews the Form 990 and a copy is provided to the board members prior to filing with the IRS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cThe organization has a conflict of interest policy in place which covers the officers and board members of the organization. Potential conflicts are reviewed and determined by the CEO and board chair. If an individual has a conflict of interest, they are asked to abstain from voting on the conflicting issue.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15aCEO: The Executive Committee of the Board reviews salary surveys from the Minnesota Hospital Association in determining the salary for the CEO. Other officers: Similarly to the CEO, the results of the salary survey from the Minnesota Hospital Association is used in determining the salary for the remaining officers. The CEO approves these increases in compensation.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The governing documents, conflict of interest policy and financial statements are not made available to the public
Form 990, Part IX, line 11gOutside Consultants/Purchased Srvcs: Program service expenses 3,780,127. Management and general expenses 206,038. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 3,986,165. Other Fees: Program service expenses 230,300. Management and general expenses 338,536. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 568,836.