STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

HENDRICKS COMMUNITY HOSPITAL ASSN & RETIREMENT HOME: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
HENDRICKS COMMUNITY HOSPITAL ASSN & RETIREMENT HOME (EIN 41-0307617)
Tax period
2019-07-01 to 2020-06-30
Filed
2021-01-19
IRS object ID
202110199349300316
Schema version
2019v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-01-19T12:53:30-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Eide Bailly LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1800 Nicollet Mall Ste 1300AddressLine1Txt
CityMinneapolisCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP554027033ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN410307617EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Hendricks Community Hospital AssnBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2& Retirement HomeBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlHENDBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5072753134PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 106AddressLine1Txt
CityHendricksCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP56136ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJeff GollaherPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone5072753134PhoneNum
Signature2021-01-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonKim Hunwardsen CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00484560PTIN
Phone6122536500PhoneNum
Preparation2021-01-15PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJeff GollaherPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 106AddressLine1Txt
CityHendricksCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP56136ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$13,786,217GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.hendrickshosp.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1941FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMNLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionProvision of healthcareActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee204TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers75TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$122,318PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$299,008CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$13,589,977PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$13,406,309CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$46,676PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$39,481CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$68,744PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$38,514CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$13,827,715PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$13,783,312CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$11,335PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$4,065CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,465,563PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,897,375CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$6,800,251PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$6,670,984CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$14,277,149PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$14,572,424CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$449,434PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$789,112CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$20,969,153TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$25,272,526TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$6,552,550TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$11,624,282TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$14,416,603NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$13,648,244NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionHendricks Community Hospital Assn & Retirement Home strives to provide the highest quality health and residential care in a Christian environment.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$13,666,862ExpenseAmt
Grant$4,065GrantAmt
Revenue$13,406,309RevenueAmt
DescHendricks Community Hospital, a 24-bed hospital, 48-bed long-term care facility, 16-unit senior rental housing facility, and home health agency promotes health of the community by providing a variety of health care services. The facility had 60 acute, 63 swing bed, 34 transitional bed and 38 long-term care facility admissions for the year ended June 30, 2020; 419 visits to the Emergency Room; and 65 surgical cases (including ambulatory).The hospital provides care to patients who meet certain criteria under its charity care policy without charge or at amounts less than established rates. Because the hospital does not pursue collection of amounts determined to qualify as charity care, they are not reported as patient and resident service revenue. The amount of charges foregone for services provided under the Hospital's charity care policy were approximately $61,273 for the year ended June 30, 2020. The estimated cost of providing these services was $49,630 for the year ended June 30, 2020 based on average ratio of cost to gross charges.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$13,666,862TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalYes (1)OperateHospitalInd
Audited Financial Stmt AttYes (1)AuditedFinancialStmtAttInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document59IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee204EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Julie HogieBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5072753134PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 106AddressLine1Txt
CityHendricksCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP56136ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (15 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
Tabb McCluskey DO
Physician40.00Yes (X)$292,101$0$47,942
Grant Eyjolfson MD
Physician40.00Yes (X)$263,718$0$47,086
Tomasz Lis MD
Physician40.00Yes (X)$256,204$0$51,844
Jeff Gollaher
CEO40.00$170,075$0$21,392Yes (X)
Kathryn Christensen NP
Nurse Practitioner40.00Yes (X)$124,001$0$6,049
Julie Hogie
Business Office Manager40.00$69,695$0$15,002Yes (X)
Vince Robinson
Treasurer2.00$1,190$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Norris Patrick
Director2.00$1,040$0$0Yes (X)
Allen Molascon
President3.00$950$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Dean Nielsen
Director2.00$950$0$0Yes (X)
James Ness
Director2.00$950$0$0Yes (X)
Mark VanEck
Vice President2.00$870$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
John Engels
Secretary2.00$720$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Dawn Popowski
Director2.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Miriam Iverson
Director2.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,182,464TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$189,315TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K5IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Wapiti Medical Group LLC
107 Flynn DrMilbankSD57252Locum/ER Providers$571,009
Elior Inc
300 S Tryon StCharlotteNC28202Contracted Dietary Services$365,968
Fusion Medical Staffing LLC
PO Box 82674LincolnNE685012674Contracted Nursing Service$100,731
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$4,864FundraisingAmt
Government Grants$259,251GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$34,893AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$299,008TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescNet patient & resident service reDesc
Business622110BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$13,289,713TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$13,289,713RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$116,596TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$116,596RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$13,406,309TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$16,481TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$16,481ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$5,842RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$5,842RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$5,842TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$5,842ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$23,000OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$23,000OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$23,000TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$23,000ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$2,620FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$4,864ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$562FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,058TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,058ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$32,957GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$2,343CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$30,614TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$30,614ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$13,783,312TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$13,406,309RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$77,995ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,065TotalAmt
Program Services$4,065ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$288,495TotalAmt
Management And General$288,495ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$52,531TotalAmt
Program Services$52,531ProgramServicesAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,126,609TotalAmt
Program Services$5,957,965ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$168,644ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$159,633TotalAmt
Program Services$158,957ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$676ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$839,920TotalAmt
Program Services$809,600ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$30,320ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$430,187TotalAmt
Program Services$402,621ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$27,566ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$73,385TotalAmt
Management And General$73,385ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,404,945TotalAmt
Program Services$2,404,487ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$458ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$29,775TotalAmt
Program Services$29,775ProgramServicesAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$211,427TotalAmt
Program Services$206,506ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,921ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,238TotalAmt
Program Services$15,238ProgramServicesAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$306,920TotalAmt
Program Services$306,920ProgramServicesAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$75,098TotalAmt
Program Services$68,661ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,437ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,215TotalAmt
Program Services$21,225ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,990ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$201,563TotalAmt
Program Services$184,108ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$17,455ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,111,271TotalAmt
Program Services$1,066,649ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$44,622ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$236,834TotalAmt
Program Services$216,325ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$20,509ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Medical Supplies$825,809$825,809
Repairs and Maintenance$780,756$749,099$31,657
MN Care Tax$80,679$80,679

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$294,069TotalAmt
Program Services$105,642ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$188,427ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,572,424TotalAmt
Program Services$13,666,862ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$905,562ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,888,874BOYAmt
EOY$9,209,769EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,266,238BOYAmt
EOY$1,635,702EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$129,594BOYAmt
EOY$70,259EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$215,722BOYAmt
EOY$229,760EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$59,906BOYAmt
EOY$61,235EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$26,485,601LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$14,792,470LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,360,573BOYAmt
EOY$11,693,131EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,027,818BOYAmt
EOY$2,368,293EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,428BOYAmt
EOY$4,377EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,969,153BOYAmt
EOY$25,272,526EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,279,423BOYAmt
EOY$1,027,925EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,542BOYAmt
EOY$28,042EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,155,074BOYAmt
EOY$5,029,272EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$1,431,800EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$90,511BOYAmt
EOY$4,107,243EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,552,550BOYAmt
EOY$11,624,282EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,416,603BOYAmt
EOY$13,648,244EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,416,603BOYAmt
EOY$13,648,244EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,969,153BOYAmt
EOY$25,272,526EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$789,112ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$14,121NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$34,874OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
HospitalYes (X)HospitalInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Volunteers0VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or Management0PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings Members0MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other Organizations0GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact Legislators0DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies Demonstrations0RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesYes (1)OtherActivitiesInd
Other Activities$251OtherActivitiesAmt
Total Lobbying Expenditures$251TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart II-B, Line 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationMN Hospital Association dues for FYE 2020 were $8,089 of which 3.1% is related to lobbying activities; total attributed to lobbying is $250.76.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee EtcYes (1)AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Beginning Balance$80,559BeginningBalanceAmt
Additions During Year$36,273AdditionsDuringYearAmt
Distributions During Year$71,147DistributionsDuringYearAmt
Ending Balance$45,685EndingBalanceAmt
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$19,500InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$91,512OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$111,012BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$15,439,102OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$8,690,024DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,749,078BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,859,270OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$6,102,446DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,756,824BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$76,217OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$76,217BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$11,693,131TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Estimated third-party payor settlements$134,895
Insurance Loss Liability$64,000
Refundable Advance$3,908,348
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$4,107,243TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$13,803,208TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$14,121NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$64,740OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$50,619RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$13,752,589RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$30,723OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$30,723RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$13,783,312TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$14,571,567TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$14,571,567ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$857OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$857ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$14,572,424TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part IV, Line 1b:The assets of Hendricks Hospital Auxiliary are held by Hendricks Community Hospital Association. The Auxiliary uses the EIN of the Hospital, therefore the activity is reported on Form 990 of the Hospital. The ending balance for the Auxiliary was $44,509. In addition, the Hospital holds funds on behalf of its residents. The amount held at the end of the year for residents was $1,176.
Part IV, Line 2b:The organization holds security deposits.
Part X, Line 2:The Association believes it has appropriate support for any tax positions taken affecting its annual filing requirements, and, as such, does not have any uncertain tax positions that are material to the financial statements. The Association would recognize future accrued interest and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits and liabilities in income tax expense if such interest and penalties are incurred.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Elimination of auxiliary donations to the hospital 64,740.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Auxiliary revenue not included in financial statements 33,066. Auxiliary thrift shop expenses reported in revenue on Form 990 -2,343.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Auxiliary expenses not included in financial statements 562. Resident fund expenses not included in financial statements 295.

Schedule H IRS990ScheduleH

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Financial Assistance PolicyYes (1)FinancialAssistancePolicyInd
Written PolicyYes (1)WrittenPolicyInd
All Hospitals PolicyYes (X)AllHospitalsPolicyInd
FPG Reference Free CareYes (1)FPGReferenceFreeCareInd
Percent100Yes (X)Percent100Ind
FPG Reference Discounted CareYes (1)FPGReferenceDiscountedCareInd

Discounted Care Oth Percentage DiscountedCareOthPercentageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
OtherYes (X)OtherInd
Discounted Care Other125.000000000000DiscountedCareOtherPct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Free Care Medically IndigentYes (1)FreeCareMedicallyIndigentInd
Financial Assistance BudgetYes (1)FinancialAssistanceBudgetInd
Expenses Exceed Budget0ExpensesExceedBudgetInd
Annual Community Bnft ReportYes (1)AnnualCommunityBnftReportInd
Report Publically AvailableYes (1)ReportPublicallyAvailableInd

Financial Assistance At Cost Typ FinancialAssistanceAtCostTyp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$12,000TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$12,000NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00080TotalExpensePct

Unreimbursed Medicaid UnreimbursedMedicaidGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$2,991,810TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$2,840,166DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$151,644NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.01040TotalExpensePct

Total Financial Assistance Typ TotalFinancialAssistanceTyp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$3,003,810TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$2,840,166DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$163,644NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.01120TotalExpensePct

Community Health Services CommunityHealthServicesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$10,605TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$10,605NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00070TotalExpensePct

Health Professions Education HealthProfessionsEducationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$49,904TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$49,904NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00340TotalExpensePct

Subsidized Health Services SubsidizedHealthServicesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$4,939,319TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$2,522,426DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$2,416,893NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.16590TotalExpensePct

Cash And In Kind Contributions CashAndInKindContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$4,065TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$4,065NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00030TotalExpensePct

Total Other Benefits TotalOtherBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$5,003,893TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$2,522,426DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$2,481,467NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.17030TotalExpensePct

Total Community Benefits TotalCommunityBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$8,007,703TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$5,362,592DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$2,645,111NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.18150TotalExpensePct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bad Debt Expense ReportedYes (1)BadDebtExpenseReportedInd
Bad Debt Expense$86,075BadDebtExpenseAmt
Bad Debt Expense Attributable$12,000BadDebtExpenseAttributableAmt
Reimbursed By Medicare$3,067,145ReimbursedByMedicareAmt
Cost Of Care Reimbursed By Medcr$3,084,052CostOfCareReimbursedByMedcrAmt
Medicare Surplus Or Shortfall-$16,907MedicareSurplusOrShortfallAmt

Costing Methodology Used CostingMethodologyUsedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
OtherYes (X)OtherInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Debt Collection PolicyYes (1)WrittenDebtCollectionPolicyInd
Financial Assistance PrvsnYes (1)FinancialAssistancePrvsnInd
Hospital Facilities1HospitalFacilitiesCnt

Hospital Facilities HospitalFacilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility1FacilityNum

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Hendricks Community Hospital AssociationBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1503 East LincolnAddressLine1Txt
CityHendricksCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP56136ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Website Addresswww.hendrickshosp.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
State License00340StateLicenseNum
Licensed HospitalYes (X)LicensedHospitalInd
General Medical And SurgicalYes (X)GeneralMedicalAndSurgicalInd
Critical Access HospitalYes (X)CriticalAccessHospitalInd
Emergency Room24 HrsYes (X)EmergencyRoom24HrsInd
Other2 provider based RHCsOtherDesc

Hospital Fclty Policies Prctc HospitalFcltyPoliciesPrctcGrp

Hospital Facility Name HospitalFacilityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Hendricks Community Hospital AssociationBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility1FacilityNum
First Licensed CY Or PY0FirstLicensedCYOrPYInd
Tax Exempt Hospital CY Or PY0TaxExemptHospitalCYOrPYInd
CHNA ConductedYes (1)CHNAConductedInd
Community DefinitionYes (X)CommunityDefinitionInd
Community DemographicsYes (X)CommunityDemographicsInd
Existing ResourcesYes (X)ExistingResourcesInd
How Data ObtainedYes (X)HowDataObtainedInd
Community Health NeedsYes (X)CommunityHealthNeedsInd
Other Health IssuesYes (X)OtherHealthIssuesInd
Community Hlth Needs Id ProcessYes (X)CommunityHlthNeedsIdProcessInd
Consulting ProcessYes (X)ConsultingProcessInd
Prior CHNA ImpactYes (X)PriorCHNAImpactInd
CHNA Conducted18CHNAConductedYr
Take Into Account Others InputYes (1)TakeIntoAccountOthersInputInd
CHNA Conducted With Other Fclts0CHNAConductedWithOtherFcltsInd
CHNA Conducted With Non Fclts0CHNAConductedWithNonFcltsInd
CHNA Report Widely AvailableYes (1)CHNAReportWidelyAvailableInd
Rpt Available On Own WebsiteYes (X)RptAvailableOnOwnWebsiteInd
Own Website URLwww.hendrickshosp.orgOwnWebsiteURLTxt
Paper Copy Public InspectionYes (X)PaperCopyPublicInspectionInd
Implementation Strategy AdoptYes (1)ImplementationStrategyAdoptInd
Implementation Strategy Adpt18ImplementationStrategyAdptYr
Strategy Posted WebsiteYes (1)StrategyPostedWebsiteInd
Strategy Website URLwww.hendrickshosp.orgStrategyWebsiteURLTxt
Organization Incur Excise Tax0OrganizationIncurExciseTaxInd
Elig Criteria ExplainedYes (1)EligCriteriaExplainedInd
FPG Family Incm Lmt Free DscntYes (X)FPGFamilyIncmLmtFreeDscntInd
FPG Family Incm Lmt Free Care100.000000000000FPGFamilyIncmLmtFreeCarePct
FPG Family Incm Lmt Dscnt Care125.000000000000FPGFamilyIncmLmtDscntCarePct
Asset Level CriteriaYes (X)AssetLevelCriteriaInd
Medical Indigency CriteriaYes (X)MedicalIndigencyCriteriaInd
Insurance Status CriteriaYes (X)InsuranceStatusCriteriaInd
Other CriteriaYes (X)OtherCriteriaInd
Explained BasisYes (1)ExplainedBasisInd
App Financial Asst ExplnYes (1)AppFinancialAsstExplnInd
Described InfoYes (X)DescribedInfoInd
Described Suprt DocYes (X)DescribedSuprtDocInd
Provided Hospital ContactYes (X)ProvidedHospitalContactInd
Includes Publicity MeasuresYes (1)IncludesPublicityMeasuresInd
FAP Available On WebsiteYes (X)FAPAvailableOnWebsiteInd
FAP Available On Website URLwww.hendrickshosp.org/patientinfo.htmlFAPAvailableOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP App Available On WebsiteYes (X)FAPAppAvailableOnWebsiteInd
FAP App Available On Website URLwww.hendrickshosp.org/patientinfo.htmlFAPAppAvailableOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP Summary On WebsiteYes (X)FAPSummaryOnWebsiteInd
FAP Summary On Website URLwww.hendrickshosp.org/patientinfo.htmlFAPSummaryOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP Avlbl On Request No ChargeYes (X)FAPAvlblOnRequestNoChargeInd
FAP App Avlbl On Request No ChrgYes (X)FAPAppAvlblOnRequestNoChrgInd
FAP Sum Avlbl On Request No ChrgYes (X)FAPSumAvlblOnRequestNoChrgInd
Notified FAP Copy Bill DisplayYes (X)NotifiedFAPCopyBillDisplayInd
Communtity Notified FAPYes (X)CommuntityNotifiedFAPInd
Other PublicityYes (X)OtherPublicityInd
FAP Actions On NonpaymentYes (1)FAPActionsOnNonpaymentInd
Permit No ActionsYes (X)PermitNoActionsInd
Collection Activities0CollectionActivitiesInd
Provided Written NoticeYes (X)ProvidedWrittenNoticeInd
Made Effort Orally NotifyYes (X)MadeEffortOrallyNotifyInd
Processed FAP ApplicationYes (X)ProcessedFAPApplicationInd
Made Presumptive Elig DetermYes (X)MadePresumptiveEligDetermInd
Nondis Emergency Care PolicyYes (1)NondisEmergencyCarePolicyInd
Look Back MedicareYes (X)LookBackMedicareInd
Amounts Generally Billed0AmountsGenerallyBilledInd
Gross Charges0GrossChargesInd

Supplemental Information SupplementalInformationGrp (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Hendricks Community Hospital AssociationPart V, Section B, Line 5: A community survey was distributed to all households in the HCHA service area & on-line completion was offered. A focus group meeting was held in March, 2019. Approximately 2,900 surveys were distributed with 284 returned for a rate of just under 10%. A total of 10 individuals participated in the focus group. Additional interviews were conducted for some community leaders that were unable to attend the focus group.
Hendricks Community Hospital AssociationPart V, Section B, Line 11: Based on the Community Health Needs Assessment completed in June, 2019, the hospital governing board and facility leadership team identified the following as priority community health needs:1) Communication and Education - including awareness of services; health and wellness2) Mental HealthBoth of these needs are being addressed with an Implementation Strategy Action Plan developed in June, 2019 to be implemented during 2019-2021.The projected impact of communication and education is to increase understanding of services offered thru HCHA, and the goal established would be to expand outreach and education efforts in the community to positively impact the health and wellbeing of residents. A task force has been established to implement these efforts during the implementation period stated above.The projected impact of behavioral and mental health access is to increase awareness of resources available for those in need of mental health services, with a goal of providing a platform for members of the community to better understand mental health services and to participate in activities which improve mental health. A committee has also been established to implement these efforts during the implementation period stated above.There were no needs identified that are not being addressed. During the current year, the task force related to communication and education continues to meet to establish and proceed forward with improved communication and education for the community. The mental health committee continues in their efforts to improve access to mental health services.
Hendricks Community Hospital AssociationPart V, Section B, Line 13h: Discounted care eligibility is determined by utilizing asset and ability to pay information obtained from the patient or responsible party. Discounted care portion of the account is determined based on the patient's financial status and ability to pay the account.
Hendricks Community Hospital AssociationPart V, Section B, Line 16j: Summaries of the financial assistance policy are posted in the hospital/clinic facilities, as well as waiting rooms and admission area. Billing statements to potentially eligible clients also include summary and contact information for obtaining the appropriate application.
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility2FacilityNum

Oth Hlth Care Fclts Not Hospital OthHlthCareFcltsNotHospitalGrp

Oth Hlth Care Fclts OthHlthCareFcltsGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdFacilityFacilityTxt
1 - Hendricks Nursing Home
503 E Lincoln StHendricksMN56136Long-term Care
2 - Lincoln Lane Villa
500 E Lincoln StHendricksMN56136Senior Housing

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 3c:Discounted care eligibility is determined by utilizing asset and ability to pay information obtained from the patient or responsible party. Discounted care portion of the account is determined based on the patient's financial status and ability to pay the account.
Part I, Line 7:Charity care is based on an overall cost to charge ratio addressing all patient segments. Community health improvement services, health professions education, and cash and in-kind contributions for community benefit expenses are based on actual expenses recorded to the general ledger. Subsidized health services are reported according to costs allocated to the relevant cost centers on the Medicare Cost Report.
Part III, Line 2:The amount reported on line 2 represents implicit price concessions. The Association determines its estimate of implicit price concessions based on its historical collection experience with this class of patients and residents. A payment on an account previously written off reduces the implicit price concessions in the current year.
Part III, Line 3:Implicit price concessions are determined based on a patient's payment history as well as current known financial status. Such expense is determined by a patient's non-payment status and non-probability of payment.
Part III, Line 4:The footnote to the organization's financial statements addressing implicit price concessions may be found on page 10 and 11 of the attached audited financial statements.
Part III, Line 8:The Hospital provides services to Medicare patients because access to healthcare and patient's health is important to the Hospital. Total revenue received from Medicare is the gross reimbursement plus settlement. Both total revenue received from Medicare and the Medicare allowable costs are reported from the Medicare Cost Report. The Medicare Cost Report is completed based on the rules and regulations set forth by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
Part III, Line 9b:Patients are classified in the poverty level utilizing the Federal poverty guidelines as also referenced in our facility collection policy. The guidelines are referenced when a patient fails to complete payment of his/her account in a timely manner. Prior to being turned over to a collection agency, a patient is offered 120 days to complete a charity care application, thereby allowing staff time to determine the income level of the patient and their qualification as a poverty level individual. If they so chose to not complete an application, their account will be referred to a collection agency. The hospital allows an additional 120 days for a patient to apply for financial assistance. If the patient is determined to be eligible for financial assistance, collection activities will cease.
Part VI, Line 2:We are consistently addressing the additional services needs as voiced though the physicians who serve our clientele, as well as the clientele themselves.The recently completed community health needs assessment and implementation strategy has been established and is available on our website www.hendrickshosp.org
Part VI, Line 3:Patient's insurance information is obtained upon admission, and those patients not having current third party coverage are informed of the ability to apply for medical assistance funding or visit with our business office staff and social service staff regarding alternative payments and the charity care options. In addition, the patient statements provide information related to contacting our business office personnel to complete alternative payment arrangements, i.e. charity care, Medicaid or planned payment schedule. Patients are offered an option of setting an appointment to meet with staff to complete such arrangements. These procedures are also detailed in our financial assistance/charity care policy.
Part VI, Line 4:Hendricks Community Hospital serves a primarily rural population within a 30-mile radius of the community of Hendricks. The facility is located in Lincoln County, Minnesota, which is slated as one of the highest elderly population counties in the State. The average medican income for the county is $51,102 with the highst portion of the population being over 65 years of age. However, because of the high elderly population, many of those constituents are insured through federal government programs and do not necessarily relate to increased Medicaid levels. There is one other acute care facility in the county approximately 30 miles away. Our facility is also located within one mile of the South Dakota border, and a good margin of population served is located in that state. During the fiscal year ending 6/30/20, it was noted approximately 21% of our patients were insured through Medical Assistance programs, and approximately 10% were un-insured.
Part VI, Line 5:The nine members of the association's Board of Directors represent varying communities within the 30-mile service area. The board members provide valuable input of the health care needs of the area served.Medical staff privileges are extended to qualified physicians within the service area as well as outlying areas to provide the optimum level of care for our constituents. These privileges are granted to several specialty physicians to eliminate the need for additional travel for our patients.The Association continually allocates funds to the improvement of the facilities and equipment utilized to provide the optimum service to our patients. Surplus funds are also provided to enhance community services with donations to service organizations who offer additional health-enhancing services to the residents of the area. The rural health clinics in the Hendricks community and neighboring Ivanhoe community provide for improved community access. Particularily in the Ivanhoe community it has proved beneficial to be able to offer services in their primary dwelling location.Emergency room services are available 24/7, and are offered regardless of payment source or ability to pay.The facility also participates in the Minnesota SAGE and South Dakota All Women County programs which offer women yearly physical exams, including mammograms and pap smears at no cost to the patient.Facility staff is involved in community economic planning groups as well as community service organizations.Many area residents are involved as volunteers within our organization and participate on a daily basis enhancing the lives of the residents and patients in our facility.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Tabb McCluskey DO
Physician$292,101$0$0$0$0$0$11,200$0$36,742$0$340,043$0$0$0
Grant Eyjolfson MD
Physician$263,718$0$0$0$0$0$10,983$0$36,103$0$310,804$0$0$0
Tomasz Lis MD
Physician$256,204$0$0$0$0$0$10,877$0$40,967$0$308,048$0$0$0
Jeff Gollaher
CEO$170,075$0$0$0$0$0$6,930$0$14,462$0$191,467$0$0$0

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp (3 entries)

Relationship With OrgRelationshipWithOrgTxtLoan PurposeLoanPurposeTxtLoan From OrganizationLoanFromOrganizationIndOriginal PrincipalOriginalPrincipalAmtBalance DueBalanceDueAmtDefaultDefaultIndBoard Or Committee ApprovalBoardOrCommitteeApprovalIndWritten AgreementWrittenAgreementInd
Grant Eyjolfson
EmployeePhysician RecruitmentYes (X)$50,000$25,0000Yes (1)Yes (1)
Kathryn Christensen
EmployeeNurse Practioner RecruitmentYes (X)$45,000$20,2590Yes (1)Yes (1)
Tomasz Lis
EmployeePhysician RecruitmentYes (X)$50,000$25,0000Yes (1)Yes (1)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$70,259TotalBalanceDueAmt

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (2 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
Katie Wendinger
Family member of board member Dean Nielsen$39,835Employee Compensation0
Betty Johnson
Family member of board member Dean Nielsen$12,696Employee Compensation0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1The Executive Committee is composed of the President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer of the governing board. Responsibilities include: A. General management and control of the affairs of the corporation. In addition to formal meetings, the committee has informal conferences about corporation activities. B. Shall have the power to transact all regular business of the hospital during the interim between the meetings of the Board of Directors provided any action taken shall not conflict with the policies and expressed wishes of the Board of Directors, and that it shall refer all matters of major importance to the Board of Directors. C. It shall cause to be prepared and submit to the Board of Directors at its last meeting before the end of the fiscal year, a budget showing the expected receipts and income and expense for the ensuing year. It shall be the further duty of the Executive Committee to examine the monthly financial reports and to require an explanation from the Administrator for any material variation from the budget. D. The Executive Committee shall evaluate in April annually or as deemed necessary, the Chief Executive Officer's performance and recommend his/her remuneration to the full Board of Directors. This committee shall meet as necessary.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6There is one class of membership. Membership is open to any natural person who is of legal voting age and a voting resident within the organization's primary service area.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aEach member receives one vote.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe return is reviewed by the Business Office Manager and CEO, then by the Board of Directors before it is filed.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cThe policy covers all officers, directors, and key employees. A conflict of interest form is signed upon orientation to the Board of Directors. The form is reviewed by the CEO and any potential conflicts are reviewed with the Board of Directors. If a conflict exists, the person with the conflict is restricted from voting on related matters. Conflict of interest forms are completed annually by board of directors and key employees. These are reviewed by the HR director, and compliance report submitted to the governing board.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15aThe Executive Committee reviews the CEO's compensation annually and compares to similar positions at other hospitals of similar size and geographic location. The Board of Directors reviews and approves the recommendations of the Executive Committee. The compensation of other officers is determined by the CEO. The officers and directors of the board receive a stipend for attending meetings. The fee structure is based on meetings attended. This compensation process is determined by board members and the fee schedule is discussed by the board annually.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The Organization makes its governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements available to the public upon request.
Form 990, Part IX, line 11gContracted services: Program service expenses 1,043,767. Management and general expenses 0. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 1,043,767. Medical fees: Program service expenses 766,939. Management and general expenses 0. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 766,939. Purchased services: Program service expenses 538,625. Management and general expenses 458. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 539,083. Collection fees: Program service expenses 5,252. Management and general expenses 0. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 5,252. Recruitment: Program service expenses 49,904. Management and general expenses 0. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 49,904.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Change in net assets for Hendricks Hospital Auxiliary 34,579. Change in net assets for resident funds 295.