STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

COUNCIL FOR JEWISH ELDERLY: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
COUNCIL FOR JEWISH ELDERLY (EIN 36-2727597)
Tax period
2019-07-01 to 2020-06-30
Filed
2021-05-07
IRS object ID
202111279349300406
Schema version
2019v5.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-05-07T07:34:44-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN420714325PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RSM US LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line130 S Wacker Drive Ste 3300AddressLine1Txt
CityChicagoCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60606ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN362727597EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Council for Jewish ElderlyBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCOUNBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8476747210PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13003 West Touhy AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityChicagoCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60645ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonThomas LockwoodPersonNm
Person TitleVice President/CFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone7735081000PhoneNum
Signature2021-05-06SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonRebekuh EleyPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01247672PTIN
Phone3126343400PhoneNum
Preparation2021-05-06PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CJE SeniorLifeBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDaniel FaginPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13003 West Touhy AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityChicagoCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60645ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$67,897,011GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.CJE.netWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1972FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSee Schedule OActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body47VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent47VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee781TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers1642TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$5,966NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$10,429,681PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$11,486,721CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$52,342,749PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$54,644,910CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$861,446PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,093,688CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$91,042PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$107,577CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$63,724,918PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$67,332,896CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$32,245,047PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$33,889,190CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$380,975CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$31,324,354PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$31,712,186CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$63,569,401PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$65,601,376CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$155,517PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$1,731,520CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$64,588,161TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$65,504,074TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$73,554,685TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$73,821,550TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY-$8,966,524NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY-$8,317,476NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionSee Schedule OMissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$24,056,327ExpenseAmt
Revenue$20,813,910RevenueAmt
DescCJE SeniorLife's Lieberman Center for Health and Rehabilitation(See Schedule O for continuation)Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$17,023,635ExpenseAmt
Revenue$14,366,458RevenueAmt
DescCJE SeniorLife(See Schedule O for continuation)Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$12,109,641ExpenseAmt
Revenue$13,483,523RevenueAmt
DescCJE SeniorLife's Weinberg Community for Senior Living(See Schedule O for continuation)Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$5,144,887ExpenseAmt
Revenue$5,981,019RevenueAmt
DescCJE Independent Housing is for seniors who can live independently. Four apartment buildings (Krasnow Residence, Swartzberg House, Village Center, and Robineau Residence) are HUD funded. A fifth apartment building, Levy House offers below market rate rents partially funded by the Chicago Housing Trust.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$5,144,887TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$5,981,019TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$58,334,490TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (1)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document118IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee781EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members47GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member47IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VentureYes (1)InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Written Policy Or ProcedureYes (1)WrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldILStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Thomas LockwoodBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone7735081000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13003 West Touhy AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityChicagoCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60645ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (55 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
Mr Dan Fagin
President & CEO38.00Yes (X)$381,949$0$30,337
Mr Thomas Lockwood
Vice President & CFO38.00Yes (X)$267,586$0$43,286
Ms Laura Prohov
VP Community Services38.00$216,105$0$64,611Yes (X)
Mr Ronald Roman
VP Human Resources38.00$176,591$0$47,626Yes (X)
Ms Carole Klein-Alexander
Vice President Marketing38.00$170,110$0$35,815Yes (X)
Ms Andrea Lebovits
VP Community Services38.00$151,958$0$39,192Yes (X)
Ms Stephanie Smerling
VP of Resource Development38.00$142,393$0$17,064Yes (X)
Ms Virginija Davis
Nurse Supervisor38.00$151,083$0$7,985Yes (X)
Mr Marc L Berman
Chair2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Charles M Bley
Vice Chair2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr James M Feldman
Treasurer2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ms Terri Freeman
Secretary2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr John Pomeranz
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ms Julia Bikbova
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mrs Eve Biller
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Sam Brilliant
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Dennis J Carlin
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Alan M Ellenby
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Vern Gideon
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr William I Goldberg
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Allan Goldstein
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Dr Jeff Graff
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Alan I Greene
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ms Nicole Katz
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Mike Koen
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ms Sondra F Kraff
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Robert E Landsman
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ms Sandye Lerner
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Steve Levine
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr David Macknin
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Paul Miller
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr James C Mills
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ms Sylvia Novick
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ms Vicki E Pines
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ms Susan Reese
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Carl Resnick
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Carey Rothbardt
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ms Mally Z Rutkoff
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Michael Saltzman
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Stephen Sandler
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Robert L Schlossberg
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Joel C Schneider
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Michael Schultz
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ms Susan Segal
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ms Marci Shapiro
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ms Judy L Smith
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr John Sobel
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ms Leslie Markman-Stern
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Kyle Stone
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Abbe Temkin
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Don Trossman
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ms Sarah Warren
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Kalman Wenig
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mr Leonard A Worsek
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Dr Ned Zallik
Director1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,657,775TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$285,916TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K27IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Morrison Management Specialists
4721 Morrison Dr Suite 300MobileAL36609Food Services$3,858,341
Health Pro Rehabilitation
536 Old Howell RoadGreenvilleSC29615Therapy Services$1,291,608
Joint & Neuro Rehab Assoc of Chicago
10400 W Higgins RoadRosemontIL60018Therapy Servces$824,827
Aramark Services Inc
27310 Network PlaceChicagoIL60673Facilities Management Services$594,205
Medline Industries Inc
Department CH 14400PalatineIL60055Medical Supplies$456,134
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K11CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$620,572FundraisingAmt
Government Grants$1,143,810GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$9,722,339AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$120,494NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$11,486,721TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Lieberman Center623000$20,813,910$20,813,910
CJE Senior Life Programs623000$14,366,458$14,366,458
Weinberg Community623000$13,483,523$13,483,523
CJE Independent Housing623000$5,981,019$5,981,019
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$54,644,910TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$21,287TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$21,287ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,480,159SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$407,758SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,072,401SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,072,401TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,072,401ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$163,850FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$620,572ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$156,357FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$7,493TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$7,493ExclusionAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$100,084TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$100,084ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$100,084OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$67,332,896TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$54,644,910RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,201,265ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$865,640TotalAmt
Management And General$865,640ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$26,751,206TotalAmt
Program Services$24,270,048ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,212,897ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$268,261FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,383,774TotalAmt
Program Services$3,610,566ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$722,547ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$50,661FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,888,570TotalAmt
Program Services$1,611,628ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$256,936ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$20,006FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$237,752TotalAmt
Program Services$130,382ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$107,370ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$164,629TotalAmt
Management And General$164,629ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,216TotalAmt
Management And General$25,216ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$86,494TotalAmt
Management And General$86,494ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,295,268TotalAmt
Program Services$3,155,437ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$124,852ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$14,979FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,492,802TotalAmt
Program Services$4,996,701ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$484,980ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$11,121FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,856,184TotalAmt
Program Services$2,762,501ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,092,733ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$950FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,637,162TotalAmt
Program Services$1,304,512ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$332,650ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,160,955TotalAmt
Program Services$2,877,166ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$283,789ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,397,276TotalAmt
Program Services$1,324,544ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$72,732ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Holocaust Survivor Serv$7,299,943$7,299,943
Food Service Costs$3,484,227$3,484,227
Repairs & Maintenance$797,917$783,395$14,522
Illinois Provider tax$562,663$562,663

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$213,698TotalAmt
Program Services$160,777ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$37,924ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$14,997FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$65,601,376TotalAmt
Program Services$58,334,490ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,885,911ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$380,975FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$127,785BOYAmt
EOY$102,647EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$280,596BOYAmt
EOY$215,991EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,293,984BOYAmt
EOY$254,859EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,968,825BOYAmt
EOY$10,069,318EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$481,820BOYAmt
EOY$492,613EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$745,743BOYAmt
EOY$697,263EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$65,236,888LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$39,404,106LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$25,972,083BOYAmt
EOY$25,832,782EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,393,878BOYAmt
EOY$23,631,582EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,323,447BOYAmt
EOY$4,207,019EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$64,588,161BOYAmt
EOY$65,504,074EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,059,309BOYAmt
EOY$9,950,717EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,382,133BOYAmt
EOY$19,074,221EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,228,133BOYAmt
EOY$940,587EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,154,544BOYAmt
EOY$20,949,446EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,730,566BOYAmt
EOY$22,906,579EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$73,554,685BOYAmt
EOY$73,821,550EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY-$11,246,711BOYAmt
EOY-$10,632,123EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,280,187BOYAmt
EOY$2,314,647EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY-$8,966,524BOYAmt
EOY-$8,317,476EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$64,588,161BOYAmt
EOY$65,504,074EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$1,731,520ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$150,333NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$932,139OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$11,691,106CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$10,649,294CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$11,896,242CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$10,429,681CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$11,486,721CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$56,153,044TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$11,691,106CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$10,649,294CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$11,896,242CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$10,429,681CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$11,486,721CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$56,153,044TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total170$56,153,044PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$8,117CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$13,685CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$10,562CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$9,155CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$21,287CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$62,806TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$7,097CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$15,882CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$7,493CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$30,472TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$51,434CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$75,160CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$100,084CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$226,678TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$56,473,000TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$249,538,102GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.99430PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.99000PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
VolunteersYes (1)VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or ManagementYes (1)PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings MembersYes (1)MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other Organizations0GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact LegislatorsYes (1)DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies Demonstrations0RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesYes (1)OtherActivitiesInd
Other Activities$25,216OtherActivitiesAmt
Total Lobbying Expenditures$25,216TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart II-B, Line 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationLobbying expenses of $6,708 for a Washington lobbyist and $18,508 for a Springfield lobbyist were paid during the year. No trips were made to Springfield or Washington due to Covid restrictions.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$21,086,579BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$191,414ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$925,786InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,120,117OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$86,495AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$20,997,167EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$20,613,102BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,199,398ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$752,976InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,400,629OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$78,268AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$21,086,579EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$19,064,529BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,352,945ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,479,865InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,201,324OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$82,913AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$20,613,102EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$19,141,043BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$165,103ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,634,139InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,875,756OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$19,064,529EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$21,531,366BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,052,646ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$774,785InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$2,668,184OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$19,141,043EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.93110BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.00000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.06890TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgYes (1)EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd
Related Org List Sch RYes (1)RelatedOrgListSchRInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,880,203OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,880,203BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$55,970,659OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$33,999,552DepreciationAmt
Book Value$21,971,107BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,319,742OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$4,489,748DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,829,994BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,066,284OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$914,806DepreciationAmt
Book Value$151,478BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$25,832,782TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
Board Designated - Pooled Fund Investments$1,328,375F
Endowment Foundation Pooled Fund Investments$20,997,167F
Bond Indenture$1,306,040F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$23,631,582TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Deferred Mortgage and Other Assets$442,363
Caring Communities Capital$376,606
Assets Held for Sale$3,313,050
Joint Venture Investment$75,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$4,207,019TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Bond Interest Rate Swap Liability$3,798,491
Due to JFMC Facilities Corporation$12,524,355
Accrued Interest$87,617
Liabilities Associated with Assets Held for Sale$6,496,116
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$22,906,579TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$66,250,424TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$150,333NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$932,139OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$1,082,472RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$67,332,896RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$67,332,896TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$65,601,376TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$65,601,376ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$65,601,376TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part IV, Line 2b:CJE collects and holds refundable security deposits from its residents to cover expenses of any repairs or damages to the premises greater than normal "wear and tear." In addition, CJE holds and manages spending funds for some of its residents.
Part V, Line 4:The endowment funds, which includes both Board designated and temporarily restricted funds, were established over a period of many years via donations and bequests received from donors' estates. Distributions are made from the endowment funds on an annual basis and transferred to CJE SeniorLife's undesignated fund to support operations and capital improvements. The endowment fund distributions are computed using a formal spending policy that has been approved by the Board of Directors.
Part X, Line 2:CJE, an Illinois not-for-profit corporation, and its controlled affiliates are exempt from income taxes under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and applicable state law. CJE files a Form 990, Return of Organization Exempt from Income Tax, annually. When this return is filed, it is highly certain that some positions taken would be sustained upon examination by the taxing authorities, while others are subject to uncertainty about the merits of the position taken or the amount of the position that would ultimately be sustained. The benefit of a tax position is recognized in the consolidated financial statements in the period during which, based on all available evidence, management believes that it is more likely than not that the position will be sustained upon examination, including the resolution of appeals or litigation processes, if any. Tax positions are not offset or aggregated with other positions. Tax positions that meet the "more likely than not" recognition threshold are measured as the largest amount of tax benefit that is more than 50% likely to be realized on settlement with the applicable taxing authority. The portion of the benefits associated with tax positions taken that exceeds the amount measured as described above is reflected as a liability for unrecognized tax benefits in the accompanying consolidated statements of financial position along with any associated interest and penalties that would be payable to the taxing authorities upon examination. As of and during the years ended June 30, 2020 and 2019, there were no unrecognized tax benefits identified and recorded as liabilities. Forms 990 filed by CJE are subject to examination by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) up to three years from the extended due date of each return. Forms 990 filed by CJE are no longer subject to examination for the years ended June 30, 2016, and prior.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Net Change in Fair Value of Interest Rate Swaps -932,139.

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1Annual Dinner EventEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$784,422GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$620,572CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$163,850GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$107,567FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Entertainment Event1$20,160EntertainmentEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$28,630OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Total$784,422GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$620,572CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$163,850GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$107,567FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Entertainment Total Events$20,160EntertainmentTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$28,630OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$156,357DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary$7,493NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Mr Dan Fagin
President & CEO$341,932$0$0$0$40,017$0$5,628$0$24,709$0$412,286$0$0$0
Mr Thomas Lockwood
Vice President & CFO$257,798$0$0$0$9,788$0$28,936$0$14,350$0$310,872$0$0$0
Ms Laura Prohov
VP Community Services$199,546$0$0$0$16,559$0$43,813$0$20,798$0$280,716$0$0$0
Mr Ronald Roman
VP Human Resources$174,324$0$0$0$2,267$0$38,971$0$8,655$0$224,217$0$0$0
Ms Carole Klein-Alexander
Vice President Marketing$164,558$0$0$0$5,552$0$26,945$0$8,870$0$205,925$0$0$0
Ms Andrea Lebovits
VP Community Services$150,907$0$0$0$1,051$0$30,037$0$9,155$0$191,150$0$0$0
Ms Stephanie Smerling
VP of Resource Development$139,102$0$0$0$3,291$0$5,500$0$11,564$0$159,457$0$0$0
Ms Virginija Davis
Nurse Supervisor$151,083$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$7,985$0$159,068$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 1aFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationLaura Prohov, Ronald Roman, Carole Klein-Alexander, Thomas Lockwood, Daniel Fagin, Andrea Lebovits and Stephanie Smerling received the following taxable benefit: Tax gross-up paymentsExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
Colorado Educational and Cultural Facilities
A840896727NoneAvail2010-01-12$7,500,000Refinance IDHA Series 2004 Multifamily Housing000
Colorado Educational and Cultural Facilities
B84089672719645RQS42012-01-01$23,555,000Refinance prior bonds issued000
Colorado Educational and Cultural Facilities
C840896727NoneAvail2014-10-01$13,712,188Refinance prior bonds issued000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtWorking Capital ExpendituresWorkingCapitalExpendituresAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$290,000$7,500,000$150,000$695,753$6,654,2472010Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$855,000$23,555,000$60,000$23,495,0002012Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)
C$341,992$13,712,188$105,594$13,606,5942014Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A000000Yes (1)
B000000Yes (1)
C000000Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndTerm Of HedgeTermOfHedgePctSuperintegrated HedgeSuperintegratedHedgeIndHedge TerminatedHedgeTerminatedIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsIndBusiness Name Line2HedgeProviderName/BusinessNameLine2Txt
Wells Fargo & Co
A000Yes (1)Yes (1)Yes (1)21.0000000000000000Yes (1)
JP Morgan Chase
B0Yes (1)00Yes (1)Yes (1)14.0000000000000000Yes (1)Bank NA
JP Morgan Chase
C0Yes (1)00Yes (1)Yes (1)25.0000000000000000Yes (1)Bank NA

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
BYes (1)
CYes (1)

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceDate Rebate Computation PerformedFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationIssuer Name: Colorado Educational and Cultural Facilities Date the Rebate Computation was Performed: 01/12/2015ExplanationTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Cars And Other Vehicles CarsAndOtherVehiclesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution2ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$120,494NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received0Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC Gifts0ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Column (b):FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe organization is reporting the number of items received.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part I, Line 1 and Part III, Line 1The mission of CJE SeniorLife is to enhance quality of life and facilitate independence of older adults. CJE SeniorLife Values Statement "The test of a people is how it behaves toward the old." --Rabbi Abraham Joshua Heschel At CJE SeniorLife, we fulfill our mission and realize our vision for and on behalf of our Clients, our Clients' families, our Staff, our Board Members and our Volunteers by striving for excellence through Respect, Advocacy, Compassion, Intention, Innovation and Accountability. Respect - Kavod We recognize, honor and acknowledge the inherent value of each person, for their wisdom, their culture, their background and their unique history. Advocacy - Timicha We give voice to our clients' needs and facilitate positive actions on their behalf. We engage state and federal officials to advocate the adoption, preservation and/or modification of governmental programs and practices which benefit our community and clients. Compassion - Chesed We treat everyone with caring, sensitivity, understanding and supportive responsiveness. Intention - Kavanah We approach our work and each task with mindful consideration as to what we are doing and why we are doing it, as individuals and as an agency. Innovation - Chidushim We advance our knowledge and evaluate, develop and implement new and advanced programming and models of care to bring benefits to our clients, community and broader older adult/health care environment. Accountability - Arevut We are responsible individually and as an organization for ethical, accurate work and interaction with others. We plan strategically and provide quality care with measurable outcomes and fiscal soundness. CJE SeniorLife Vision Statement CJE SeniorLife will be recognized as a leading provider of programs and services for older adults, including their families and support network. CJE will be responsive to changing community needs throughout the continuum of care. CJE SeniorLife is dedicated to collaborating with the Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago, health care providers and payors and the larger medical community, other older adult organizations, government agencies, funders and other community organizations. Our work will be enhanced through grants, research and public policy activities. By continually evaluating and improving our operations, CJE SeniorLife will be fiscally sound with balanced social and economic objectives. CJE SeniorLife is committed to attracting, retaining and developing Management, Staff, Board Members and Volunteers who are engaged in fulfilling our Mission. CJE SeniorLife will strive to be the preferred provider for the Jewish community of Metropolitan Chicago.
Form 990, Part III, Line 4a:CJE SeniorLife's Lieberman Center for Health and Rehabilitation is a skilled nursing care residence (accepting Medicaid, Medicare and Private Pay) offering long-term care, Alzheimer's Special Care Unit, short-term rehabilitation, and hospice/end of life care. In the past year, Lieberman provided person-focused skilled nursing care to more than 600 elderly residents (average age: 89) while also providing life enrichment opportunities. Most notable are its award-winning creative art therapies that focus on building personal connections and improving communication skills. Lieberman's Haag Pavilion for short-term rehabilitation annually serves 270 individuals recovering from an acute illness, injury or exacerbation of a disease. At an average stay of 4 weeks, Haag Pavilion exceeds the standard for returning patients (with increasing medical complexity due to their more advanced age) to their prior level of functioning before the illness or injury. Lieberman's payer mix for the year was 72% Medicaid, 8% private pay, 19% Medicare and 1% insurance. Lieberman closely monitors its outcomes through a variety of measures to ensure that it meets or exceeds the regional and national averages of re-hospitalization rates, improved functional abilities, falls data, and house acquired pressure ulcers.
Form 990, Part III, Line 4b:CJE SeniorLife offers community-based services to alleviate the difficulties that may arise when someone chooses to "age in place." Primary services include Care Management, Senior Transportation, Home-Delivered Meals, Adult Day Services, and Consumer Assistance with obtaining supportive resources and affordable housing, and solving problems including those related to health insurance, Medicare and Medicaid. The Community Engagement department offers online (Cyber Club) and in-person programming and workshops for community older adults on lifelong learning topics such as how to age well and stay connected in order to prevent isolation.
Form 990, Part III, Line 4c:CJE SeniorLife's Weinberg Community for Senior Living is home to 220 older adults at either Gidwitz Place for Assisted Living or The Friend Center for Memory Care, one of the first licensed and largest assisted living residences in the state. The Weinberg Community provides a safe, stimulating environment for older adults who need additional assistance with everyday tasks like medication reminders, bathing or housekeeping. Residents also have many opportunities to participate in socialization and life enrichment activities. Though primarily for a private pay population, approximately 30% of residents receive some type of financial assistance through a CJE-sponsored scholarship program, donor funds or state government subsidy.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6Every person who is a member of the Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago shall be a member.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aAt each election of Elected Directors, each member shall have one vote for as many persons as there are Elected Directors to be elected.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bCompleted sections of the IRS Form 990 were first reviewed by the Administrative, Compensation and Governance Committees. A subsequent final review of the entire return was made by the Audit Committee. Recommended committee revisions were made if necessary and the Form 990 was sent to the entire board for approval prior to filing.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cA conflict of interest questionnaire is circulated to all Board members and key employees on an annual basis. This process is managed by CJE's President and CEO and Vice President of Human Resources who ensures all questionnaires are completed. The completed questionnaires are reviewed by management and any conflicts are disclosed to the Board of Directors. If a Director does have a conflict or business relationship with CJE, he or she is required to refrain from any vote or active participation in any matter in which such Key Individual or any member of his or her family may have a financial interest.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15CJE has a Compensation Committee that approves compensation for the President & CEO and Vice President & CFO which is comprised of the Board Chair, Past Chair, Vice Chair, and up to three other appointed Directors. The Committee uses comparable data from other aging non-profit organizations to ensure compensation for the President & CEO and Vice President & CFO is consistent with the market, including but not limited to annual surveys from the Association of Jewish Aging Services (AJAS) and LeadingAge. CJE also has a staff Compensation Committee that approves compensation for all other Officers and Key Employees which is comprised of the President & CEO, Vice President & CFO, and Vice President of Human Resources and Learning. The Committee uses comparable data from other aging non-profit organizations to ensure compensation for all other Officers and Key Employees is consistent with the market, including but not limited to annual surveys from Leading Age and LeadingAge Illinois.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The organization's Form 990, governing documents, conflict of interest policy and audited financial statements are made available to all volunteer members of the Board of Directors. With regards to the general public, the organization provides these documents upon request for the same period of time as set forth in IRC section 6104(d).
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Net Change in Fair Value of Interest Rate Swaps -932,139.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Swartzberg HouseBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13003 West TouhyAddressLine1Txt
CityChicagoCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60645ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN043630309EIN
Primary ActivitiesSenior HousingPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$333,631TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$8,072,776EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Council for Jewish ElderlyBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Council for Jewish Elderly Endowment FoundationBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line130 South Wells Suite 4049AddressLine1Txt
CityChicagoCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60606ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN364310834EIN
Primary ActivitiesEndowmentPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(c)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity StatusLine 12a, IPublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Council for Jewish ElderlyBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgYes (1)TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Council for Jewish Elderly Endowment FoundationBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transaction TypeSTransactionTypeTxt
Involved$1,120,117InvolvedAmt
Method Of Amount DeterminationCashMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt