STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

TEXAS MEDICAL CENTER CENTRAL HEAT AND COOLING SERVICES CORP: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
TEXAS MEDICAL CENTER CENTRAL HEAT AND COOLING SERVICES CORP (EIN 94-3425643)
Tax period
2019-09-01 to 2020-08-31
Filed
2021-07-15
IRS object ID
202111969349302121
Schema version
2019v5.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-07-15T10:08:28-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-08-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BKD LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12700 Post Oak Blvd Ste 1500AddressLine1Txt
CityHOUSTONCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP77056ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-09-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN943425643EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TEXAS MEDICAL CENTER CENTRAL HEATING ANDBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2COOLING SERVICES CORPORATIONBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% THERMAL ENERGY CORPORATIONInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlTEXABusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7137916700PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11615 BRAESWOODAddressLine1Txt
CityHOUSTONCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP770303903ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCAROLYN LUOMALAPersonNm
Person TitleVP FINANCE/TREASURERPersonTitleTxt
Phone7134994600PhoneNum
Signature2021-01-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonAmanda MayaPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01067777PTIN
Phone7134994600PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THERMAL ENERGY CORPORATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerSTEPHEN K SWINSONPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11615 BRAESWOODAddressLine1Txt
CityHOUSTONCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP770303903ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$139,241,535GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.TECOTHERMALENERGY.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2002FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionOPERATING A CENTRAL HEATING AND COOLING SERVICES FACILITY SOLELY FOR THE BENEFIT OF GOVERNMENTAL AND NOT-FOR-PROFIT ORGANIZATIONS IN THE TEXAS MEDICAL CENTER.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent2VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee117TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers9TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$80,829,913PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$73,558,456CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,225,971PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,378,958CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$3,770,229PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$504,639CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$85,826,113PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$75,442,053CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$14,138,657PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$14,482,667CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$54,246,750PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$57,811,465CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$68,385,407PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$72,294,132CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$17,440,706PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$3,147,921CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$527,592,386TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$515,744,330TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$387,611,240TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$374,296,569TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$139,981,146NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$141,447,761NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionOPERATING A CENTRAL HEATING AND COOLING SERVICES FACILITY SOLELY FOR THE BENEFIT OF GOVERNMENTAL AND NOT-FOR-PROFIT ORGANIZATIONS IN THE TEXAS MEDICAL CENTER.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$64,667,454ExpenseAmt
Revenue$71,935,630RevenueAmt
DescOPERATING A CENTRAL HEATING AND COOLING SERVICES FACILITY SOLELY FOR THE BENEFIT OF GOVERNMENT INSTITUTIONS AND NOT-FOR-PROFIT ORGANIZATIONS LOCATED IN THE TEXAS MEDICAL CENTER. ELIGIBLE INSTITUTIONS INCLUDE: CHI ST. LUKE'S HEALTH, TEXAS CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL, THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SYSTEM, THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER, THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS HEALTH SCIENCE CENTER AT HOUSTON, TEXAS MEDICAL CENTER, TEXAS WOMAN'S UNIVERSITY, MEMORIAL HERMANN HOSPITAL SYSTEM, THE TEXAS A AND M UNIVERSITY SYSTEM, HOUSTON ACADEMY OF MEDICINE, CITY OF HOUSTON, TX, UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON, USDA CHILDREN'S NUTRITIONAL RESEARCH CENTER, MEMORIAL HERMANN/TIRR, SHRINERS HOSPITALS FOR CHILDREN, HOUSTON COMMUNITY COLLEGE SYSTEM, BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE, HOUSTON METHODIST, HARRIS COUNTY, TEXAS, HARRIS COUNTY HOSPITAL DISTRICT, AND HOUSTON INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$64,667,454TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsfalseDonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntYes (true)BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document52IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee117EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member2IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTHERMAL ENERGY CORPORATIONPersonNm
Phone7137916700PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11615 BRAESWOODAddressLine1Txt
CityHOUSTONCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP77030ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (20 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
STEPHEN SWINSON
PRESIDENT AND CEO40.00.0Yes (X)$824,886$0$68,473
JASON BERRIO
VP OPERATIONS, ASSISTANT SECR40.00.0Yes (X)$251,643$0$55,830
MICHAEL MANOUCHERI
VP ENG AND MNT, ASSISTANT SECR40.00.0Yes (X)$230,446$0$24,699
KEVIN GIBLIN
CONTROLLER40.00.0$182,534$0$53,329Yes (X)
MYCAH JEWELL
MAINTENANCE MANAGER40.00.0$183,534$0$50,627Yes (X)
JOSE GARCIA
OPERATIONS MANAGER40.00.0$181,507$0$49,445Yes (X)
JESS HARPER
SUPV SR. PROJECT ENGINEER40.00.0$171,576$0$52,768Yes (X)
RODOLFO LOPEZ
OPERATIONS SUPERVISOR40.00.0$167,958$0$20,039Yes (X)
CLARISSA BREWSTER
VP HUMAN RESOURCES, ASST SECR40.00.0Yes (X)$155,343$0$16,386
CAROLYN LUOMALA
VP FINANCE, TREASURER40.00.0Yes (X)$152,823$0$17,268
BRAD HOWELL
CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD0.050.0Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
DAN SHARPHORN
DIRECTOR0.050.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
DONALD DEWALCH
VICE CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD0.050.0Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
KEVIN DILLON
DIRECTOR0.050.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
RUSS KORCUSKA
DIRECTOR0.050.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
BEN MELSON
DIRECTOR0.050.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
DR BARRY NELSON
DIRECTOR0.050.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
HOWARD TELLEPSEN
DIRECTOR0.050.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
ROB RAMIREZ
DIRECTOR0.050.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
DENISE CASTILLO-RHODES
SECRETARY0.050.0Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,502,250TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$408,864TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K37IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
TELLEPSEN INDUSTRIAL LLC
777 BENMAR SUITE 400HOUSTONTX77060CONSTRUCTION SVCS$6,139,643
GOWAN INC
5550 AIRLINE DRIVEHOUSTONTX770764998GENERAL CONTRACTOR$565,549
JEBCO INC
3608 BERKLEYHOUSTONTX77087GENERAL CONTRACTOR$460,285
JOHNSON CONTROLS INC
5757 NORTH GREENBAY AVEMILWAUKEEWI53201GENERAL CONTRACTOR$465,666
CLEAVER-BROOKS SALES SERVICE INC
1965 SINGLETON BLVDDALLASTX75212GENERAL CONTRACTOR$336,932
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K50CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Total Contributions$0TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Service Revenue900099$70,106,491$70,106,491
New Service Connection Fee Income900099$2,324,861$2,324,861
Fuel Revenue900099$618,928$618,928
UT RESEARCH PARK900099$508,176$508,176
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$73,558,456TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,380,809TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,380,809ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$63,797,631SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$63,785,380SecuritiesAmt
Other$14,102OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$12,251SecuritiesAmt
Other-$14,102OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$1,851TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$1,851ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$0FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$0FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$0GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$0GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$0GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$0CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Gain on Early Extinguishment of Debt900099$426,983$426,983
HURRICANE RELIEF ASSISTANCE900099$45,825$45,825
MISCELLANEOUS REVENUE900099$31,831$31,831
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$504,639OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$75,442,053TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$73,558,456RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$1,883,597ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,000,374TotalAmt
Program Services$1,275,988ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$724,386ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,740,991TotalAmt
Program Services$5,435,645ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,305,346ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$655,290TotalAmt
Program Services$438,931ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$216,359ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,350,010TotalAmt
Program Services$1,748,582ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$601,428ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$736,002TotalAmt
Program Services$501,421ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$234,581ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$133,940TotalAmt
Management And General$133,940ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$131,456TotalAmt
Management And General$131,456ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$153,665TotalAmt
Management And General$153,665ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,861,271TotalAmt
Program Services$673,951ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,187,320ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$229,496TotalAmt
Program Services$107,912ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$121,584ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$331,992TotalAmt
Management And General$331,992ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,002TotalAmt
Management And General$11,002ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,487TotalAmt
Management And General$6,487ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,344,213TotalAmt
Program Services$9,136,481ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$207,732ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$20,029,650TotalAmt
Program Services$20,029,650ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,438,470TotalAmt
Program Services$1,342,984ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$95,486ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
Direct Production Costs$15,450,308$15,450,308
Plant and Equipment$6,183,036$6,183,036
Chemicals$1,935,411$1,935,411
Training & Education$249,736$249,736

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$321,332TotalAmt
Program Services$157,418ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$163,914ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$72,294,132TotalAmt
Program Services$64,667,454ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,626,678ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,459,009BOYAmt
EOY$4,287,973EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$61,381,544BOYAmt
EOY$60,159,643EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,929,147BOYAmt
EOY$10,587,421EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,176,578BOYAmt
EOY$4,668,484EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,088,948BOYAmt
EOY$1,059,050EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$690,069,110LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$276,129,324LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$421,917,212BOYAmt
EOY$413,939,786EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$37,756BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,602,192BOYAmt
EOY$21,041,973EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$527,592,386BOYAmt
EOY$515,744,330EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,966,277BOYAmt
EOY$20,207,281EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$44,571,570BOYAmt
EOY$42,411,715EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$326,440,726BOYAmt
EOY$311,241,076EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$632,667BOYAmt
EOY$436,497EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$387,611,240BOYAmt
EOY$374,296,569EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$139,981,146BOYAmt
EOY$141,447,761EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$139,981,146BOYAmt
EOY$141,447,761EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$527,592,386BOYAmt
EOY$515,744,330EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$3,147,921ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$1,168,628NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$2,849,934OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supporting Organization509a3Yes (X)SupportingOrganization509a3Ind
Supporting Org Type1Yes (X)SupportingOrgType1Ind
Supported Organizations21SupportedOrganizationsCnt

Supported Org Information SupportedOrgInformationGrp (21 entries)

EINEINOrganization TypeOrganizationTypeCdGoverning Document ListedGoverningDocumentListedIndSupportSupportAmtOther SupportOtherSupportAmt
THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SYSTEM
7460002032false$0$0
THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS HEALTH SCIENCE CENTER AT HOUSTON
7417613092false$0$0
THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS MD ANDERSON CANCER CENTER
7460011183false$0$0
MEMORIAL HERMANN HOSPITAL SYSTEM
7411525973false$0$0
ST LUKE'S HEALTH SYSTEM
7411619383false$0$0
TEXAS CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL
7411005553false$0$0
TEXAS WOMAN'S UNIVERSITY
7560026182false$0$0
THE TEXAS AANDM UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCE CENTER
7460005312false$0$0
TEXAS MEDICAL CENTER
7410307884false$0$0
CITY OF HOUSTON TEXAS
7460011646false$0$0
UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON
7460013992false$0$0
USDA CHILDREN'S NUTRITIONAL RESEARCH CENTER
7205648344false$0$0
HOUSTON ACADEMY OF MEDICINE
7412776572false$0$0
SHRINERS HOSPITALS FOR CHILDREN
3621936083false$0$0
MEMORIAL HERMANNTIRR
7413346783false$0$0
HOUSTON COMMUNITY COLLEGE SYSTEM
7417091522false$0$0
BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE
7416138782false$0$0
HOUSTON METHODIST
7411801553false$0$0
HARRIS COUNTY HEALTH SYSTEM
7415369366false$0$0
HARRIS COUNTY FORENSIC SCIENCE CENTER
7604545146false$0$0
HOUSTON INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT
7460012552false$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supported Organizations Total21SupportedOrganizationsTotalCnt

Form990 Sch A Supporting Org Form990SchASupportingOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Listed By Name Governing DocfalseListedByNameGoverningDocInd
Suprt Org No IRS DeterminationfalseSuprtOrgNoIRSDeterminationInd
Supported Org Section C456falseSupportedOrgSectionC456Ind
Supported Org Not Organized USfalseSupportedOrgNotOrganizedUSInd
Organization Change Suprt OrgfalseOrganizationChangeSuprtOrgInd
Support Non Supported OrgfalseSupportNonSupportedOrgInd
Payment Substantial ContribtrfalsePaymentSubstantialContribtrInd
Loan Disqualified PersonfalseLoanDisqualifiedPersonInd
Controlled Disqualified PrsnfalseControlledDisqualifiedPrsnInd
Disqualified Prsn Controll IntfalseDisqualifiedPrsnControllIntInd
Disqualified Prsn Ownr IntfalseDisqualifiedPrsnOwnrIntInd
Excess Business Holdings RulesfalseExcessBusinessHoldingsRulesInd
Contribution ControllerfalseContributionControllerInd
Contribution FamilyfalseContributionFamilyInd
Contribution35 ControlledfalseContribution35ControlledInd

Form990 Sch A Type1 Suprt Org Form990SchAType1SuprtOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Power Appoint Majority Dir TrstYes (true)PowerAppointMajorityDirTrstInd
Operate Benefit Non Suprt OrgYes (true)OperateBenefitNonSuprtOrgInd

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE A, PART IV, SECTION A, LINE 1THE ORGANIZATION WAS INCORPORATED AS A TEXAS NOT-FOR-PROFIT CORPORATION FOR THE PURPOSE OF OPERATING A CENTRAL HEATING AND COOLING SERVICES FACILITY ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS SOLELY FOR THE BENEFIT OF ELIGIBLE INSTITUTIONS. ELIGIBLE INSTITUTIONS INCLUDE GOVERNMENT INSTITUTIONS AND NOT-FOR-PROFIT ORGANIZATIONS LOCATED IN THE TEXAS MEDICAL CENTER. THE ORGANIZATION SUPPORTS ALL ELIGIBLE INSTITUTIONS. THE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS LIMIT THE VOTING MEMBERS OF THE BOARD TO NINE. AS SUCH, NINE OF THE ELIGIBLE INSTITUTIONS HAVE REPRESENTATIVES ON THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THESE ELIGIBLE INSTITUTIONS ARE CONSIDERED MEMBER ORGANIZATIONS. ELIGIBLE INSTITUTIONS THAT DO NOT HAVE A REPRESENTATIVE ON THE BOARD ARE CONSIDERED NON-MEMBER ORGANIZATIONS. THE NINE MEMBER ORGANIZATIONS PROVIDE HEALTHCARE SERVICES TO THE COMMUNITY. THE NON-MEMBER ORGANIZATIONS PROVIDE OR SUPPORT HEALTHCARE SERVICES IN THE COMMUNITY SERVED BY THE ORGANIZATION.
SCHEDULE A, PART IV, SECTION B, LINE 2THE SERVICES OF THE ORGANIZATION ARE AN INTEGRAL PART OF THE HEALTHCARE DELIVERY SYSTEM AT THE TEXAS MEDICAL CENTER. THE NINE MEMBER ORGANIZATIONS THAT OPERATE, SUPERVISE, AND CONTROL THE SUPPORTING ORGANIZATION PROVIDE HEALTHCARE SERVICES IN THE TEXAS MEDICAL CENTER FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COMMUNITY. THE NON-VOTING MEMBER ORGANIZATIONS ALSO PROVIDE HEALTHCARE AND HEALTHCARE RELATED SERVICES IN THE TEXAS MEDICAL CENTER FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COMMUNITY. BY PROVIDING SERVICES TO THE NONVOTING MEMBER ORGANIZATIONS, THE VOTING MEMBER ORGANIZATIONS ARE BETTER ABLE TO FURTHER THEIR EXEMPT PURPOSE OF PROVIDING HEALTHCARE SERVICES TO THE COMMUNITY SERVED BY BOTH TYPES OF ELIGIBLE INSTITUTIONS.

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$16,711,959OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$16,711,959BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BuildingsBuildingsGrp

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,183,789OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,230,399DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,953,390BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$661,411,055OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$274,898,925DepreciationAmt
Book Value$386,512,130BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$8,762,307OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$0DepreciationAmt
Book Value$8,762,307BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$413,939,786TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescUnearned Lease IncomeDesc
Amt$436,497Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$436,497TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$76,121,184TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$1,168,628NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$1,168,628RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$74,952,556RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$153,665InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$335,832OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$489,497RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$75,442,053TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$72,154,569TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$14,102OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$14,102ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$72,140,467ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$153,665InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$153,665ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$72,294,132TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 4BRECONCILIATION OF AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO FORM 990 REVENUE ON BOOKS, NOT ON RETURN: INTEREST RATE SWAP $ 349,934 LOSS ON DISPOSAL OF ASSETS $ (14,102) ---------------- TOTAL REVENUE ON BOOKS, NOT ON RETURN $ 335,832
SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 2DRECONCILIATION OF AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO FORM 990 EXPENSE ON BOOKS, NOT ON RETURN: LOSS ON DISPOSAL OF ASSETS $ 14,102
SCHEDULE D, PART X, LINE 2TECO IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND IS CLASSIFIED AS A SUPPORTING ORGANIZATION AS DESCRIBED IN SECTION 509(A)(3). HOWEVER, TECO IS SUBJECT TO FEDERAL INCOME TAX ON ANY UNRELATED BUSINESS TAXABLE INCOME. TECO FILES TAX RETURNS IN THE U.S. FEDERAL JURISDICTION.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (10 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt
STEPHEN SWINSON
PRESIDENT AND CEO$556,772$0$139,242$0$128,872$0$157,919$0$68,473$0$1,051,278$0$128,682
JASON BERRIO
VP OPERATIONS, ASSISTANT SECR$251,478$0$0$0$165$0$14,032$0$55,830$0$321,505$0
MICHAEL MANOUCHERI
VP ENG AND MNT, ASSISTANT SECR$230,341$0$0$0$105$0$12,788$0$24,699$0$267,933$0
CAROLYN LUOMALA
VP FINANCE, TREASURER$152,758$0$0$0$65$0$9,111$0$17,268$0$179,202$0
CLARISSA BREWSTER
VP HUMAN RESOURCES, ASST SECR$155,178$0$0$0$165$0$8,727$0$16,386$0$180,456$0
JOSE GARCIA
OPERATIONS MANAGER$181,342$0$0$0$165$0$10,136$0$49,445$0$241,088$0
KEVIN GIBLIN
CONTROLLER$182,344$0$0$0$190$0$10,319$0$53,329$0$246,182$0
RODOLFO LOPEZ
OPERATIONS SUPERVISOR$166,268$0$0$0$1,690$0$9,173$0$20,039$0$197,170$0
MYCAH JEWELL
MAINTENANCE MANAGER$183,269$0$0$0$265$0$7,763$0$50,627$0$241,924$0
JESS HARPER
SUPV SR. PROJECT ENGINEER$171,411$0$0$0$165$0$9,987$0$52,768$0$234,331$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 4BFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationPARTICIPATION IN OR PAYMENT FROM SUPPLEMENTAL NONQUALIFIED RETIREMENT AMOUNTS ARE DEFERRED ANNUALLY AS OF THE LAST DAY OF THE FISCAL YEAR. DEFERRALS FULLY VEST WITH NO RISK OF FORFEITURE AFTER FOUR YEARS. PAYMENTS ARE MADE ANNUALLY WHEN DEFERRALS BECOME FULLY VESTED. AMOUNTS NOT VESTED ARE FORFEITED UPON TERMINATION OF EMPLOYMENT FOR ANY REASON OTHER THAN DEATH OR DISABILITY. PLAN PARTICIPANTS IN 457(F) REPORTED IN W-2 DEF. COMP -------------------------- --------------- --------- STEPHEN SWINSON 128,682 133,519ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
HARRIS CO CULTURAL EDU FACILITIES FINANCE CORP
A76033788541401PCU52017-12-19$242,888,174REFUND SERIES 2008 AND 2009A BONDSfalsefalsefalse
HARRIS CO CULTURAL EDU FACILITIES FINANCE CORP
B7603378850000000002020-03-12$35,920,000REFUNDING OF SERIES 2012 BONDSfalsefalsefalse
HARRIS CO CULTURAL EDU FACILITIES FINANCE CORP
C7603378850000000002020-08-18$44,315,000REFUNDING OF SERIES 2010 BONDSfalsefalsefalse

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtBond DefeasedBondDefeasedAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtCapitalized InterestCapitalizedInterestAmtRefunding EscrowRefundingEscrowAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCredit EnhancementCreditEnhancementAmtWorking Capital ExpendituresWorkingCapitalExpendituresAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtUnspentUnspentAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$3,770,000$0$242,888,174$0$0$0$1,747,071$0$0$0$241,141,103$02017falseYes (true)Yes (true)Yes (true)
B$0$0$35,920,000$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$35,920,000$02020Yes (true)falseYes (true)Yes (true)
C$0$0$44,315,000$0$0$44,315,000$0$0$0$0$0$02020Yes (true)falseYes (true)Yes (true)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndRemedial Action TakenRemedialActionTakenIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdIndPrivate Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePct
Afalsefalsefalsefalse0falsefalsefalseYes (true)
Bfalsefalsefalsefalse0falsefalsefalseYes (true)
Cfalsefalsefalsefalse0.00000falsefalsefalseYes (true)0.000000.00000

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndBusiness Name Line1GICProviderName/BusinessNameLine1TxtGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
0
AfalseYes (true)falsefalsefalse0falseYes (true)
0
BfalseYes (true)falsefalsefalse0falseYes (true)
0
CfalseYes (true)falsefalsefalse0falseYes (true)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (true)
BYes (true)
CYes (true)

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE A, COLUMN (F)REFUNDED BONDS WERE ISSUED ON 4/8/2008 AND 9/2/2009.
PART I, LINE B, COLUMN (F)REFUNDED BONDS WERE ISSUED ON 8/6/2012.
PART I, LINE C, COLUMN (F)REFUNDED BONDS WERE ISSUED ON 10/26/2010.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTELLEPSEN INDUSTRIAL LLCPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionCHAIRMAN IS HOWARD TELLEPSEN, BOARD MEMBERRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$4,609,126TransactionAmt
TransactionCONSTRUCTION SERVICESTransactionDesc
Sharing Of RevenuesfalseSharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE ORGANIZATION HAS ONE CLASS WITH 9 MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE ORGANIZATION'S CONTROLLER PERFORMS A DETAILED REVIEW OF THE FORM 990 AFTER IT IS PREPARED BY AN INDEPENDENT CPA FIRM. A COPY OF THE FORM IS PROVIDED BY EMAIL TO ALL BOARD MEMBERS FOR REVIEW PRIOR TO FILING. THE ORGANIZATION'S VP OF FINANCE THEN PERFORMS A FINAL REVIEW BEFORE SIGNING THE 990.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE BOARD REVIEWS AND RESOLVES, IF NECESSARY, ANY ISSUES AS THEY ARISE THROUGHOUT THE YEAR. A CONFLICT OF INTEREST QUESTIONNAIRE IS COMPLETED BY EACH BOARD MEMBER ANNUALLY. IF A CONFLICT ARISES, THE ORGANIZATION'S PRESIDENT DISCUSSES THE ISSUE WITH THE BOARD CHAIR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINES 15A & 15BCOMPENSATION FOR THE PRESIDENT AND CEO IS APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ANNUALLY BASED UPON COMPARABILITY DATA OBTAINED FROM AN INDEPENDENT THIRD PARTY. COMPENSATION FOR ALL OTHER POSITIONS IS APPROVED ANNUALLY BY THE PRESIDENT AND CEO BASED UPON COMPARABILITY DATA OBTAINED FROM COMPENSATION SURVEYS FROM AN INDEPENDENT THIRD PARTY. THE TOTAL ANNUAL COMPENSATION BUDGET IS ACCEPTED BY THE COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS COMMITTEE, FINANCE AND AUDIT COMMITTEE, AND IS RATIFIED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THE ORGANIZATION'S MOST RECENT REVIEW WAS CONDUCTED DURING 2020 BY WILLIS TOWERS WATSON.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST. THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE ON THE GUIDESTAR WEBSITE AS WELL.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9OTHER CHANGES IN NET ASSETS BUYBACK OF UNRESTRICTED PATRONS' EQUITY $ (2,500,000) CHANGE IN FV OF INTEREST RATE SWAP $ (349,934) ------------ $ (2,849,934)
BOARD OF DIRECTORS RELATED COMPENSATIONTHE ORGANIZATION OPERATES A CENTRAL HEATING AND COOLING SERVICE FACILITY SOLELY FOR THE BENEFIT OF GOVERNMENTAL INSTITUTIONS AND NOT-FOR-PROFIT ENTITIES IN THE TEXAS MEDICAL CENTER. THE ORGANIZATION IS ORGANIZED AS A SUPPORT ORGANIZATION PROVIDING SUPPORT IN THE FORM OF HEATING AND COOLING SERVICES TO QUALIFYING ENTITIES. AS SUCH, NINE OF THE PARTICIPATING/SUPPORTED ORGANIZATIONS ARE REPRESENTED ON THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE ORGANIZATION VIA BOARD MEMBERSHIP. EACH OF THE NINE ORGANIZATIONS APPOINTS A DIRECTOR TO SIT ON THE GOVERNING BOARD OF THE ORGANIZATION. MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY ARE NOT COMPENSATED FOR THEIR SERVICES TO THE ORGANIZATION. COMPENSATION EARNED BY MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY FROM THEIR RESPECTIVE SUPPORTED ORGANIZATION IS FOR SERVICES IN THEIR CAPACITY AS AN EMPLOYEE OF THE SUPPORTED ORGANIZATION AND IS NOT IN ANY WAY TIED TO THE SERVICES OR OPERATIONS OF THE ORGANIZATION. BASED ON THE INSTRUCTIONS TO FORM 990, THE SUPPORTING/SUPPORTED RELATIONSHIP MEETS THE DEFINITION OF A RELATED ENTITY FOR PURPOSES OF COMPENSATION AND OTHER REPORTING ITEMS. WHILE THE ORGANIZATION DOES NOT FEEL THE SUPPORTED ORGANIZATIONS ARE RELATED UNDER THE INTENT OF THE IRS DISCLOSURE RULES, THE SUPPORTED ORGANIZATIONS DO QUALIFY AS RELATED BASED ON THE LITERAL READING OF THE INSTRUCTIONS. ACCORDINGLY, THE ORGANIZATION HAS MADE REASONABLE EFFORTS TO OBTAIN COMPENSATION INFORMATION FROM BOARD MEMBERS WHO ARE EMPLOYED BY THEIR RESPECTIVE SUPPORTED ORGANIZATIONS. IN ADDITION, THE COMPENSATION TO MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY RECEIVED IN THEIR CAPACITY AS AN EMPLOYEE OF THE SUPPORTED ORGANIZATION CREATES AN INDEPENDENCE ISSUE FOR PURPOSES OF ANSWERING PART VI, QUESTION 1B. WHILE THE ORGANIZATION STRONGLY FEELS ALL MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY ARE INDEPENDENT BASED ON THE FACTS AND CIRCUMSTANCES, A LITERAL READING OF THE IRS DEFINITION OF AN INDEPENDENT BOARD MEMBER CAUSES THE ORGANIZATION TO ONLY INCLUDE BOARD MEMBERS WHO ARE NOT COMPENSATED BY THEIR RESPECTIVE SUPPORTED ORGANIZATION. AGAIN, THE ORGANIZATION BELIEVES THIS RESULT IS NOT WHAT THE IRS INTENDED, BUT IN AN EFFORT TO COMPLY WITH THE INSTRUCTIONS, THE ORGANIZATION HAS REPORTED THE NUMBER OF INDEPENDENT BOARD MEMBERS BASED ON A LITERAL READING OF THE IRS INSTRUCTIONS.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (21 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SYSTEM
601 COLORADOAUSTINTX78701746000203EDUCATIONTXCOLLEGECOLLEGENAfalse
THE UNIV OF TEXAS HEALTH SCIENCE CENTER
7000 FANNIN STE 1200HOUSTONTX77030741761309EDUCATIONTX501(C)(3)2NAfalse
THE UNIV OF TX MD ANDERSON CANCER CTR
PO BOX 4486HOUSTONTX77210746000203HEALTHCARETX501(C)(3)3NAfalse
MEMORIAL HERMANN HOSPITAL SYSTEM
9301 SOUTHWEST FWY STE 600HOUSTONTX77074741152597HEALTHCARETX501(C)(3)3NAfalse
ST LUKE'S HEALTH SYSTEM
6624 FANNIN STHOUSTONTX77030741161938HEALTHCARETX501(C)(3)3NAfalse
TEXAS CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL
PO BOX 300630HOUSTONTX77230741100555HEALTHCARETX501(C)(3)3NAfalse
TEXAS WOMAN'S UNIVERSITY
PO BOX 425739DENTONTX76204756002618EDUCATIONTX501(C)(3)2NAfalse
THE TEXAS AANDM UNIV SYSTEM HEALTH SCIEN
200 TECHNOLOGY WAYCOLLEGE STATIONTX77845746000531EDUCATIONTXCOLLEGE2NAfalse
TEXAS MEDICAL CENTER
2450 HOLCOMBE BLVD STE 1HOUSTONTX77021741030788HEALTHCARETX501(C)(3)9NAfalse
CITY OF HOUSTON TEXAS
8000 NORTH STADIUM DRIVEHOUSTONTX77054746001164EDUCATIONTXGOVERNMENT2NAfalse
UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON
4800 CALHOUN ROADHOUSTONTX77004746001399EDUCATIONTXCOLLEGE2NAfalse
USDA CHILDREN'S NUTRITIONAL RESEARCH CTR
1100 BATES STHOUSTONTX77030720564834HEALTHCARETX501(C)(3)2NAfalse
HOUSTON ACADEMY OF MEDICINE
1133 JOHN FREEMANHOUSTONTX77030741277657EDUCATIONTX501(C)(3)2NAfalse
SHRINERS HOSPITALS FOR CHILDREN
6977 MAIN STREETHOUSTONTX77030362193608HEALTHCARETX501(C)(3)3NAfalse
MEMORIAL HERMANNTIRR
9301 SOUTHWEST FWY STE 600HOUSTONTX77074741334678HEALTHCARETX501(C)(3)3NAfalse
HOUSTON COMMUNITY COLLEGE SYSTEM
3100 MAIN STREETHOUSTONTX76515741709152EDUCATIONTXCOLLEGE3NAfalse
BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE
ONE BAYLOR PLAZAHOUSTONTX77030741613878EDUCATIONTX501(C)(3)2NAfalse
HOUSTON METHODIST
6565 FANNIN STHOUSTONTX77030741180155HEALTHCARETX501(C)(3)3NAfalse
HARRIS COUNTY FORENSIC SCIENCE CENTER
1885 OLD SPANISH TRAILHOUSTONTX77054760454514HEALTHCARETXGOVERNMENT2NAfalse
HARRIS COUNTY HEALTH SYSTEM
2525 HOLLY HALLHOUSTONTX77054741536936HEALTHCARETX170(C)(1)NAfalse
HOUSTON INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT
4400 WEST 18TH STREETHOUSTONTX77092746001255EDUCATIONTXSCHOOL DIST2NAfalse
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesfalseSharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingfalsePaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd