STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

WOODMEN OF THE WORLD LIFE INSURANCE SOCIETY: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
WOODMEN OF THE WORLD LIFE INSURANCE SOCIETY (EIN 47-0339250)
Tax period
2020-01-01 to 2020-12-31
Filed
2021-11-15
IRS object ID
202113199349312781
Schema version
2020v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-11-15T13:00:32-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN470339250EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WOODMEN OF THE WORLD LIFE INSURANCEBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2SOCIETYBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlWOODBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4023421890PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11700 FARNAM STREET SUITE 2200AddressLine1Txt
CityOMAHACityNm
State AbbreviationNEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP681022025ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonANNETTE M DEVINEPersonNm
Person TitleVP, ACCOUNTING SERVIPersonTitleTxt
Phone4023421890PhoneNum
Signature2021-11-15SignatureDt

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstANNETTEPersonFirstNm
Person LastDEVINEPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WOODMENLIFEBusinessNameLine1Txt

Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PATRICK L DEESBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12331 S 218TH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityELKHORNCityNm
State AbbreviationNEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP68022ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$2,552,286,549GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWOODMENLIFE.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1890FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNELegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionUNITING HARDWORKING AMERICANS TO SECURE THEIR FINANCIAL FUTURE WHILE STRENGTHENING OUR COMMUNITIES AND COUNTRY.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body13VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent10VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee2390TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers9885TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$890,505TotalGrossUBIAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$794,841,418PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$615,576,978CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$454,142,993PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$388,704,609CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$6,888,294PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$8,009,627CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$1,255,872,705PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$1,012,291,214CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$926,171PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$1,519,872CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$916,236,461PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$777,163,134CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$79,809,132PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$77,408,269CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$148,851,211PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$143,762,177CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$1,145,822,975PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$999,853,452CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$110,049,730PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$12,437,762CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$11,101,466,158TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$11,227,563,368TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$9,535,959,919TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$9,612,974,637TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$1,565,506,239NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$1,614,588,731NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionUNITING HARDWORKING AMERICANS TO SECURE THEIR FINANCIAL FUTURE WHILE STRENGTHENING OUR COMMUNITIES AND COUNTRY.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
DescWOODMENLIFE EXTRAS: WOODMENLIFE OFFERS A VARIETY OF EXCLUSIVE BENEFITS AND DISCOUNTS TO OUR MEMBERS AT NO EXTRA COST, JUST FOR DOING BUSINESS WITH US. SOME OF THE NON-CONTRACTUAL BENEFITS AVAILABLE TO ELIGIBLE WOODMENLIFE MEMBERS INCLUDE: "FIRST RESPONDERS BENEFIT - WOODMENLIFE WILL PAY A 25,000 BENEFIT IF A GOOD-STANDING MEMBER IS KILLED WHILE PERFORMING HIS/HER DUTIES AS A NON- MILITARY FIRST RESPONDER. FIRST RESPONDERS MAY INCLUDE FIREFIGHTERS, EMTS AND PARAMEDICS, POLICE, OR A PERSON PERFORMING A SUPPORTING ROLE TO SUCH INDIVIDUALS. "ORPHAN'S CARE BENEFIT - WOODMENLIFE OFFERS 1,000 PER MONTH FOR THE CARE OF MEMBERS' CHILDREN IF THEY ARE ORPHANED. "NEWBORN BENEFIT - QUALIFIED MEMBERS CAN RECEIVE A 10,000 BENEFIT IF THEIR NEWBORN INFANT DIES BETWEEN THE AGES OF 48 HOURS AND SIX MONTHS. DURING THAT SAME PERIOD, A 10,000 GUARANTEED-ISSUE LIFE INSURANCE CERTIFICATE CAN BE PURCHASED AT STANDARD RATES, REGARDLESS OF THE BABY'S HEALTH. "NATURAL DISASTER BENEFIT - QUALIFIED MEMBERS WHOSE HOMES ARE DAMAGED OR DESTROYED BY NATURAL DISASTERS, SUCH AS HURRICANES, TORNADOES, FLOODS, WILD/FOREST FIRES, OR EARTHQUAKES, MAY BE ELIGIBLE FOR UP TO 1,000 TO HELP WITH HOME REPAIR COSTS. "LIFE'S PERKS - THIS EASY-TO-USE MEMBER DISCOUNT PROGRAM OFFERS SAVINGS ON BRAND-NAME ITEMS FROM MORE THAN 30,000 LOCAL AND NATIONAL RETAILERS. MEMBERS CAN SAVE MONEY ON EVERYDAY ITEMS LIKE CELL PHONES, RESTAURANTS AND WHOLESALE CLUB MEMBERSHIPS, AND ON MAJOR PURCHASES LIKE AUTOMOBILES, HOMES AND FURNITURE. "WOODMENLIFE FOCUS FORWARD SCHOLARSHIP - THROUGH THE WOODMENLIFE FOCUS FORWARD SCHOLARSHIP, 3,593 SCHOLARSHIPS WORTH ALMOST 2.1 MILLION HAVE BEEN AWARDED TO HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATES SINCE 2017. SCHOLARSHIPS MAY BE USED AT COLLEGES, UNIVERSITIES AND TRADE SCHOOLS, AND SCHOLARSHIP MONEY CAN BE USED FOR EDUCATION-RELATED EXPENSES, WHICH INCLUDE TUITION, FEES, BOOKS, SUPPLIES AND ROOM AND BOARD. "STUDENT LOAN RELIEF - EVERY YEAR, WOODMENLIFE GIVES UP TO 200 1,000 AWARDS TO ELIGIBLE MEMBERS. RECIPIENTS ARE SELECTED BASED ON COMMUNITY SERVICE, PATRIOTISM AND LOAN STATEMENTS. "COMMUNITY IMPROVEMENT FUNDS - WOODMENLIFE ALLOCATES FUNDS TO LOCAL CHAPTERS AND COMMUNITIES THAT SUPPORT OUR SHARED COMMITMENT TO FAMILY, COMMUNITY AND COUNTRY. THESE FUNDS HELP MEMBERS PROVIDE FOR LOCAL NEEDS AND GIVE MEMBERS A VOICE IN DECIDING WHICH CAUSES MATTER MOST TO THEM.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPATRIOTIC PROGRAM: WOODMENLIFE'S PATRIOTIC PROGRAM WAS LAUNCHED MORE THAN 70 YEARS AGO IN SUPPORT OF THE ORGANIZATION'S COMMON BOND FOCUS ON OUR COUNTRY. WOODMENLIFE PROVIDES AMERICAN AND STATE FLAGS TO LOCAL CHAPTERS FOR PRESENTATION TO NONPROFIT CIVIC AND YOUTH GROUPS, SCHOOLS, CHURCHES, AND COMMUNITY CENTERS. SINCE 1947, THE ORGANIZATION HAS DONATED MORE THAN 3.5 MILLION FLAGS TO NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS, SCHOOLS AND COMMUNITIES. WOODMENLIFE IS THE SECOND LARGEST PURCHASER OF AMERICAN FLAGS BEHIND THE UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT. AS PART OF THE PATRIOTIC PROGRAM, CHAPTERS ARE ENCOURAGED TO PLAN AND PARTICIPATE IN FLAGS ACROSS AMERICA PROJECTS ON JUNE 14 AND IN HONOR AND REMEMBRANCE CEREMONIES ON SEPTEMBER 11. THEY ALSO PLAN COMMUNITY SERVICE PROJECTS FOR VETERANS DAY, MEMORIAL DAY AND INDEPENDENCE DAY.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescFIGHTING HUNGER - WOODMENLIFE MADE FIGHTING HUNGER ITS NATIONAL COMMUNITY FOCUS IN 2015. THIS FOCUS UNITES MEMBERS OF THE WOODMENLIFE FAMILY, AS WELL AS OUR SALES REPRESENTATIVES AND HOME OFFICE ASSOCIATES. HUNGER-FIGHTING EFFORTS INCLUDE COMMUNITY FOOD DRIVES, BACKPACK STUFFING EVENTS, SORTING DONATIONS AT LOCAL FOOD BANKS, SERVING MEALS AT COMMUNITY KITCHENS, AND HOLDING COOKING FUNDRAISERS. WOODMENLIFE ALSO SUPPORTS THIS EFFORT THROUGH ITS CORPORATE GIVING. SINCE 2015, WOODMENLIFE AND ITS MEMBERS HAVE COLLECTED MORE THAN 1 MILLION POUNDS OF FOOD AND DONATED MORE THAN 3 MILLION DOLLARS.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyYes (true)PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsfalseDonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (true)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document198934IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee2390EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtYes (true)SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members13GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member10IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (true)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (true)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonANNETTE DEVINEPersonNm
Phone4023421890PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11700 FARNAM STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityOMAHACityNm
State AbbreviationNEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP68102ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (34 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndBusiness Name Line2BusinessName/BusinessNameLine2Txt
PATRICK L DEES
PRESIDENT &50.001.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$1,510,061$0$311,184
DENISE M MCCAULEY
EXEC VP, SEC50.001.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$861,079$0$98,650
SPENCER T OWEN
REGIONAL DIR50.000.00$596,127$0$181,579Yes (X)
CYNTHIA S BENGTSON
VP, INVESTME50.000.00Yes (X)$460,572$0$251,510
STEPHEN K MCMAHAN
EXEC VP CHIE50.003.00Yes (X)$526,425$0$173,741
ANTHONY ANGERETT
SALES REPRES50.000.00$475,757$0$220,392Yes (X)
ROBERT T MAHER
BOD, FORMER5.001.00Yes (X)$525,038$0$81,030SEE NQSP SHEET-NOT INCLUDED IN TOTAL
LEE A JANECEK
VP, CORE OPS50.000.00Yes (X)$290,453$0$273,975
LYNN ESPELAND
SVP GEN COUN50.002.00Yes (X)$363,570$0$170,503
RANDALL P ROTSCHAFER
VP, CHIEF RI50.000.00Yes (X)$258,598$0$264,674
JON AERNI
EXEC VP, CHI50.002.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$450,976$0$57,071
RAYMOND G SMOLINSKI
VP, BUSINESS50.000.00Yes (X)$371,533$0$118,849
PASQUALE FRAPPAMPINA
SR VP, NAT S50.001.00Yes (X)$341,411$0$144,817
GREGORY D ROBERTSON
REGIONAL DIR50.000.00$392,737$0$86,132Yes (X)
J CRAIG WALTERS
RECRUTING SA50.000.00$354,693$0$118,729Yes (X)
KARLA J GOCHENOUR
VP, HUMAN RE50.000.00Yes (X)$291,318$0$155,413
ANNETTE M DEVINE
VP, ACCOUNTI50.003.00Yes (X)$281,432$0$129,430
PENNY MC GUFFEE
SALES REPRES50.000.00$356,202$0$53,373Yes (X)
DANIEL W RICE III
BOARD OF DIR5.000.00Yes (X)$98,950$0$293,381SEE NQSP SHEET-NOT INCLUDED IN TOTAL
BLAKE WARNEKE
VP ACTUARY &50.000.00Yes (X)$276,237$0$115,677
JAMES W BOSLER III
BOARD OF DIR5.001.00Yes (X)$75,589$0$293,301SEE NQSP SHEET-NOT INCLUDED IN TOTAL
DONALD L MOLINEU JR
VP, FRATERNA50.001.00Yes (X)$230,487$0$121,670
CHARLES R DRIFFILL
VP, SALES50.000.00Yes (X)$275,964$0$57,080
JAMES W SHAVER
BOARD OF DIR5.000.00Yes (X)$79,740$0$250,055SEE NQSP SHEET-NOT INCLUDED IN TOTAL
WESLEY A DODD JR
BOARD OF DIR5.000.00Yes (X)$98,847$0$219,036SEE NQSP SHEET-NOT INCLUDED IN TOTAL
MICHAEL C SHEALY
BOARD OF DIR5.001.00Yes (X)$76,896$0$225,870SEE NQSP SHEET-NOT INCLUDED IN TOTAL
PAULA S MAU
VP, SECURITY50.000.00Yes (X)$232,781$0$38,266
LORI HOWARD
VP, MARKETIN50.000.00Yes (X)$194,509$0$44,272
PAMELA MORTENSON
VP, STRATEGI50.000.00Yes (X)$169,056$0$27,583HIRED 3/9/2020
DWAYNE H TUCKER
BOARD OF DIR5.001.00Yes (X)$78,894$0$19,500
DARYL J DOISE
BOARD OF DIR5.002.00Yes (X)$78,812$0$19,500
DANNY E CUMMINS
DIR, FORMER5.000.00Yes (X)$77,374$0$19,500
RONALD H ALDRIDGE
BOARD OF DIR5.000.00Yes (X)$59,756$0$19,500
CATHRYN MOBLEY
BOARD OF DIR5.000.00Yes (X)$15,833$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$10,827,707TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$4,655,243TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K290IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtAddress Line2ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine2TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
LIDP CONSULTING SERVICES INC
101 W VENICE AVESUITE 22VENICEFL34285SFTWR DEVELOP.$4,437,263
CENTRO INC
11 E MADISON ST 6TH FLRCHICAGOIL60602ADVERTISING SVS$1,979,385
SHI INTERNATIONAL CORP
PO BOX 952121DALLASTX753952121SOFTWARE$1,947,420
CONTENT CRITICAL SOLUTIONS INC
121 MOONACHIE AVEMOONACHIENJ07074PRINTING SRVCS$1,275,437
CLIENT RESOURCES
2120 S 72ND STSTE 1300OMAHANE68124CONSULTING$1,134,973
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K91CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
PREMIUM INCOME524113$598,914,426$598,914,426
FRATERNAL INCOME524113$10,774,489$10,774,489
SUPPLEMENTARY CONTRACTS524113$5,888,063$5,888,063
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$615,576,978TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$384,223,680TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$384,223,680ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$21,038,181RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$13,919,059RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$7,119,122RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$7,119,122TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$7,119,122ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,348,451,691SecuritiesAmt
Other$182,105,514OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,344,819,794SecuritiesAmt
Other$181,256,482OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$3,631,897SecuritiesAmt
Other$849,032OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,480,929TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$4,480,929RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
INCOME/(LOSS) FROM PSHIPS900099$464,014$464,014
PARKING LOTS AND GARAGES812930$426,491$426,491
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$890,505OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,012,291,214TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$620,057,907RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$890,505UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$391,342,802ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$982,242TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$537,630TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$777,163,134TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,827,708TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$48,585,451TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total-$2,167,421TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,170,637TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,991,894TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,482,410TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$454,730TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$176,198TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,899,164TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,786,527TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,787,696TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,417,459TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$139,322TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total-$171,500TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,098,047TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$411,064TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
COMMISSIONS$48,617,974
TRANSFER TO SEPARATE ACCO$22,753,391
SALES EXPENSES$14,210,516
FRATERNAL CHAPTER FUNDING$5,866,760

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,832,419TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$999,853,452TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$46,285,735BOYAmt
EOY-$8,331,004EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$154,220,914BOYAmt
EOY$278,987,443EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$436,776EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$221,696,597LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$151,547,842LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$73,054,806BOYAmt
EOY$70,148,755EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,996,093,662BOYAmt
EOY$7,804,972,145EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,203,892,525BOYAmt
EOY$2,346,576,207EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$627,918,516BOYAmt
EOY$734,773,046EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,101,466,158BOYAmt
EOY$11,227,563,368EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$85,189,742BOYAmt
EOY$55,820,752EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,450,770,177BOYAmt
EOY$9,557,153,885EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,535,959,919BOYAmt
EOY$9,612,974,637EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,565,506,239BOYAmt
EOY$1,614,588,731EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,565,506,239BOYAmt
EOY$1,614,588,731EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,101,466,158BOYAmt
EOY$11,227,563,368EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$12,437,762ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$74,775,273NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$38,130,543OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting OtherYes (X)MethodOfAccountingOtherInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Political Expenditures$11,000PoliticalExpendituresAmt
Form1120 POL FiledfalseForm1120POLFiledInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE C, PART IVFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationWOODMENLIFE MADE STATE AND LOCAL CONTRIBUTIONS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$109,867,034InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$99,684,861OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$140,422,889DepreciationAmt
Book Value$69,129,006BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$12,144,702OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$11,124,953DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,019,749BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$70,148,755TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (9 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
MORTGAGE LOANS - COST$2,165,560,012C
CTF LOANS-LEGACY$124,238,535C
OTHER SCHEDULE BA-COST$17,197,176C
CALL OPTIONS&WARRANTS-MKT ADJ$13,616,791F
CTF LOANS-INGENIUM$9,760,500C
ACCELERATED BENEFIT LIENS$1,147,943C
OTHER SCHEDULE BA-MKT VAL ADJ$813,647F
CTF LOANS IN PROCESS$570,834C
CTF LOANS-NONADMITTED-$1,038,269C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$2,346,576,207TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
SEPARATE ACCOUNTS$673,513,938
INVESTMENT INCOME DUE & ACCRUED$61,212,181
REINSURANCE AMOUNTS RECOVERABLE$850,843
PREMIUMS & CONSIDERATIONS-$803,916
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$734,773,046TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (9 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
LIFE RESERVES$7,566,863,071
DEPOSIT CONTRACTS LIABILITY$864,407,822
SEPARATE ACCOUNT$665,132,054
MISC LIABILITIES$220,488,397
CONTRACT CLAIMS$72,646,695
AGGREGATE WRITE-INS$65,940,465
A&H RESERVES$58,905,277
PROVISION FOR REFUNDS PAYABLE$28,855,000
BENEFIT LIABILITIES$13,915,104
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$9,557,153,885TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$1,000,458,843TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$13,919,059OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$13,919,059RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$986,539,784RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$25,751,430OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$25,751,430RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$1,012,291,214TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$988,021,081TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$13,919,059OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$13,919,059ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$974,102,022ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$25,751,430OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$25,751,430ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$999,853,452TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 2DEXPENSES RELATED TO RENTAL INCOME 13,919,059
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 4BEXPENSES RELATED TO INVESTMENT INCOME 21,270,501 NET GAIN SALE OF ASSETS 4,480,929
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 2DEXPENSES RELATED TO RENTAL INCOME 13,919,059
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 4BEXPENSES RELATED TO INVESTMENT INCOME 21,270,501 NET GAIN SALE OF ASSETS 4,480,929 BOOK / TAX DEPRECIATION DIFFERENCE 18,017,106

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedfalseGrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionCENTRAL AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEANRegionTxt
Type Of Activities ConductedINVESTMENTSTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Region Total Expenditures$33,146,619RegionTotalExpendituresAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Spent$33,146,619SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$33,146,619TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (true)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipYes (true)ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CoYes (true)PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipfalseForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE F, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCENTRAL AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN 0 33,146,619ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (18 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxtAddress Line2USAddress/AddressLine2Txt
GARY SINISE FOUNDATION
2029 CENTURY PARK EAST NO 1500LOS ANGELESCA90067800587086501C3$500,000GENERAL SUPPORT
AMERICAN HEART ASSOCIATION
7272 GREENVILLE AVENUEDALLASTX75231135613797501C3$12,125GENERAL SUPPORT
FOOD BANK FOR THE HEARTLAND
10525 J STREETOMAHANE68127470637701501C3$76,815GENERAL SUPPORT
GREATER OMAHA CHAMBER OF COMMERCE
1301 HARNEY STREETOMAHANE68102470258610501C6$108,225GENERAL SUPPORT
HABITAT FOR HUMANITY
1701 NORTH 24TH STREETOMAHANE68110363283625501C3$12,500GENERAL SUPPORT
JUNIOR ACHIEVEMENT
11248 DAVENPORT STREETOMAHANE68154470468426501C3$5,075GENERAL SUPPORTSUITE 100
OMAHA COMMUNITY PLAYHOUSE
6915 CASS STREETOMAHANE68102470399856501C3$16,099GENERAL SUPPORT
OMAHA SYMPHONY ASSOCIATION
1905 HARNEY STREETOMAHANE68102476039304501C3$15,000GENERAL SUPPORTSUITE 400
OPEN DOOR MISSION
2828 NORTH 23RD STREET EASTOMAHANE68110470411375501C3$5,975GENERAL SUPPORT
UNITED WAY OF THE MIDLANDS
1805 HARNEY STREETOMAHANE68102470376605501C3$12,000GENERAL SUPPORT
MICAH HOUSE
1415 AVE JCOUNCIL BLUFFSIA51501421292393501C3$5,475GENERAL SUPPORT
THE PARTNERSHIP FOR OUR KIDS
1004 FARNAM ST SUITE 200OMAHANE68102470762798501C3$8,750GENERAL SUPPORT
CRESCENT FOOD PANTRY
720 OLD LINCOLN HWYCRESCENTIA51526472459792501C3$8,750GENERAL SUPPORT
FIRST RESPONDERS FOUNDATION
2900 SOUTH 110TH CTOMAHANE68114263499345501C3$12,500GENERAL SUPPORT
BUSINESS ETHICS ALLIANCE
2500 CALIFORNIA PLAZAOMAHANE68178743244900501C3$5,500GENERAL SUPPORT
FEEDING AMERICA
161 NORTH CLARK STCHICAGOIL60601363673599501C3$20,015GENERAL SUPPORT
NATIONAL SEPTEMBER 11 MUSEUM
200 LIBERTY ST 16THNEW YORKNY10281611745872509A2$10,000GENERAL SUPPORT
ABIDE NETWORK
3223 N 45TH STOMAHANE68104470655246501C3$7,000GENERAL SUPPORT
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org16Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org2TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeSCHOLARSHIPGrantTypeTxt
Recipient627RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$537,630CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE I, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationWOODMENLIFE APPOINTS A CORPORATE SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY COMMITTEE ANNUALLY. THIS COMMITTEE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR COORDINATING EFFORTS TO RECEIVE, CONSIDER, APPROVE, DENY AND DISBURSE CONTRIBUTIONS REQUESTED.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Discretionary Spending AcctYes (X)DiscretionarySpendingAcctInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (29 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtBusiness Name Line2BusinessName/BusinessNameLine2Txt
PATRICK L DEES
PRESIDENT & CEO$775,455$649,767$84,839$278,627$32,557$1,821,245
DENISE M MCCAULEY
EXEC VP, SECR, COO$469,318$296,845$94,916$70,665$27,985$959,729
SPENCER T OWEN
REGIONAL DIRECTOR$475,030$117,059$4,038$150,551$31,028$777,706
CYNTHIA S BENGTSON
VP, INVESTMENT$251,961$160,689$47,922$229,706$21,804$712,082
STEPHEN K MCMAHAN
EXEC VP CHIEF MKTG$338,460$110,644$77,321$142,991$30,750$700,166
ANTHONY ANGERETT
SALES REPRESENTATIVE$456,327$13,407$6,023$207,643$12,749$696,149
ROBERT T MAHER
BOD, FORMER EXEC VP,$79,171$244,000$201,867$81,030$606,068SEE NQSP SHEET-NOT INCLUDED IN TOTAL
LEE A JANECEK
VP, CORE OPS & CF UN$218,789$68,000$3,664$234,979$38,996$564,428
LYNN ESPELAND
SVP GEN COUNSEL$294,034$62,489$7,047$140,855$29,648$534,073
RANDALL P ROTSCHAFER
VP, CHIEF RISK OFFIC$189,603$51,000$17,995$228,704$35,970$523,272
JON AERNI
EXEC VP, CHIEF FINAN$370,838$54,189$25,949$22,780$34,291$508,047
RAYMOND G SMOLINSKI
VP, BUSINESS TECHNOL$288,037$83,000$496$95,389$23,460$490,382
PASQUALE FRAPPAMPINA
SR VP, NAT SALES MGR$302,761$4,543$34,107$110,238$34,579$486,228
GREGORY D ROBERTSON
REGIONAL DIRECTOR$286,413$73,429$32,895$64,180$21,952$478,869
J CRAIG WALTERS
RECRUTING SALES MANA$280,802$70,284$3,607$88,445$30,284$473,422
KARLA J GOCHENOUR
VP, HUMAN RESOURCES$208,383$58,460$24,475$118,509$36,904$446,731
ANNETTE M DEVINE
VP, ACCOUNTING SERVI$192,833$62,812$25,787$97,349$32,081$410,862
PENNY MC GUFFEE
SALES REPRESENTATIVE$191,631$159,815$4,756$31,350$22,023$409,575
DANIEL W RICE III
BOARD OF DIRECTOR$97,500$1,450$293,381$392,331SEE NQSP SHEET-NOT INCLUDED IN TOTAL
BLAKE WARNEKE
VP ACTUARY & CHIEF A$199,204$50,367$26,666$106,515$9,162$391,914
JAMES W BOSLER III
BOARD OF DIRECTOR$75,500$89$293,301$368,890SEE NQSP SHEET-NOT INCLUDED IN TOTAL
DONALD L MOLINEU JR
VP, FRATERNAL$167,492$45,520$17,475$88,774$32,896$352,157
CHARLES R DRIFFILL
VP, SALES$204,113$70,403$1,448$27,058$30,022$333,044
JAMES W SHAVER
BOARD OF DIRECTOR$79,450$290$250,055$329,795SEE NQSP SHEET-NOT INCLUDED IN TOTAL
WESLEY A DODD JR
BOARD OF DIRECTOR$97,650$1,197$219,036$317,883SEE NQSP SHEET-NOT INCLUDED IN TOTAL
MICHAEL C SHEALY
BOARD OF DIRECTOR$75,946$950$225,870$302,766SEE NQSP SHEET-NOT INCLUDED IN TOTAL
PAULA S MAU
VP, SECURITY OFFICIA$155,381$50,000$27,400$15,466$22,800$271,047
LORI HOWARD
VP, MARKETING$131,471$39,607$23,431$16,328$27,944$238,781
PAMELA MORTENSON
VP, STRATEGIC INITIA$159,628$9,428$8,146$19,437$196,639HIRED 3/9/2020

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE J, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 1ATRAVEL FOR COMPANIONS THAT MEETS SPECIFIC GUIDELINES IS REIMBURSED AND INCLUDED IN TAXABLE INCOME. A LIMITED GROSS UP IS PROVIDED FOR THOSE PAYMENTS. DISCRETIONARY SPENDING ACCOUNTS ARE EXTENDED TO EXECUTIVE OFFICERS.
SCHEDULE J, PART IIIWOODMENLIFE ESTABLISHED NONQUALIFIED SUPPLEMENTAL PLANS FOR THE PURPOSE OF PROVIDING A NONQUALIFIED RETIREMENT BENEFIT TO ELIGIBLE PARTICIPANTS. THE PLANS COMPLY WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF SECTION 409A OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND REGULATIONS PROMULGATED THEREUNDER. THE SUPPLEMENTAL PLANS WERE CLOSED TO NEW PARTICIPANTS ON DECEMBER 31, 2012. IN 2020, WOODMENLIFE MADE BENEFIT PAYMENTS TO ROBERT MAHER IN THE AMOUNT OF 3,562,924, DANIEL RICE IN THE AMOUNT OF 665,447, JAMES BOSLER IN THE AMOUNT OF 433,508, JAMES SHAVER IN THE AMOUNT 397,699, MICHAEL SHEALY IN THE AMOUNT OF 316,879 AND WESLEY DODD IN THE AMOUNT OF 304,909. PAYMENTS MADE UNDER THE SUPPLEMENTAL PLANS MAY NOT HAVE BEEN PREVIOUSLY INCLUDED IN PART II SCHEDULE J AS THE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS UNDER THIS SCHEDULE WERE NOT IN PLACE FOR ALL PRIOR YEARS THAT THE ELIGIBLE PARTICIPANTS ACCRUED DEFERRED COMPENSATION UNDER A SUPPLEMENTAL PLAN. SINCE THERE WERE NO SUCH REPORTING REQUIREMENTS UNDER THE FORM 990 FOR PRIOR YEARS, INCLUDING SUCH PAYMENTS IN PART II SCHEDULE J WOULD CREATE A MISLEADING REPORT SINCE IT WOULD NOT ACCURATELY DISCLOSE THAT MOST OF THE DEFERRED COMPENSATION PAYMENT HAD ACTUALLY OCCURRED IN PRIOR YEARS. THE WOODMENLIFE NONQUALIFIED CONTRIBUTION BENEFIT PLAN ("CONTRIBUTION PLAN") WAS ESTABLISHED DECEMBER 31, 2012 TO PROVIDE A NONQUALIFIED DEFINED CONTRIBUTION BENEFIT PLAN TO ANY NEWLY ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES AND WOODMENLIFE REPRESENTATIVES WHO HAD NOT PREVIOUSLY BEEN PROVIDED A BENEFIT UNDER A SUPPLEMENTAL PLAN. THIS CONTRIBUTION PLAN COMPLIES WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF SECTION 409A OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND REGULATIONS PROMULGATED THEREUNDER.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (12 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PAGE 1, ITEM CWOODMENLIFE
FORM 990, PAGE 2, PART III, LINE 4AWOODMENLIFE EXTRAS: WOODMENLIFE OFFERS A VARIETY OF EXCLUSIVE BENEFITS AND DISCOUNTS TO OUR MEMBERS AT NO EXTRA COST, JUST FOR DOING BUSINESS WITH US. SOME OF THE NON-CONTRACTUAL BENEFITS AVAILABLE TO ELIGIBLE WOODMENLIFE MEMBERS INCLUDE: "FIRST RESPONDERS BENEFIT - WOODMENLIFE WILL PAY A 25,000 BENEFIT IF A GOOD-STANDING MEMBER IS KILLED WHILE PERFORMING HIS/HER DUTIES AS A NON- MILITARY FIRST RESPONDER. FIRST RESPONDERS MAY INCLUDE FIREFIGHTERS, EMTS AND PARAMEDICS, POLICE, OR A PERSON PERFORMING A SUPPORTING ROLE TO SUCH INDIVIDUALS. "ORPHAN'S CARE BENEFIT - WOODMENLIFE OFFERS 1,000 PER MONTH FOR THE CARE OF MEMBERS' CHILDREN IF THEY ARE ORPHANED. "NEWBORN BENEFIT - QUALIFIED MEMBERS CAN RECEIVE A 10,000 BENEFIT IF THEIR NEWBORN INFANT DIES BETWEEN THE AGES OF 48 HOURS AND SIX MONTHS. DURING THAT SAME PERIOD, A 10,000 GUARANTEED-ISSUE LIFE INSURANCE CERTIFICATE CAN BE PURCHASED AT STANDARD RATES, REGARDLESS OF THE BABY'S HEALTH. "NATURAL DISASTER BENEFIT - QUALIFIED MEMBERS WHOSE HOMES ARE DAMAGED OR DESTROYED BY NATURAL DISASTERS, SUCH AS HURRICANES, TORNADOES, FLOODS, WILD/FOREST FIRES, OR EARTHQUAKES, MAY BE ELIGIBLE FOR UP TO 1,000 TO HELP WITH HOME REPAIR COSTS. "LIFE'S PERKS - THIS EASY-TO-USE MEMBER DISCOUNT PROGRAM OFFERS SAVINGS ON BRAND-NAME ITEMS FROM MORE THAN 30,000 LOCAL AND NATIONAL RETAILERS. MEMBERS CAN SAVE MONEY ON EVERYDAY ITEMS LIKE CELL PHONES, RESTAURANTS AND WHOLESALE CLUB MEMBERSHIPS, AND ON MAJOR PURCHASES LIKE AUTOMOBILES, HOMES AND FURNITURE. "WOODMENLIFE FOCUS FORWARD SCHOLARSHIP - THROUGH THE WOODMENLIFE FOCUS FORWARD SCHOLARSHIP, 3,593 SCHOLARSHIPS WORTH ALMOST 2.1 MILLION HAVE BEEN AWARDED TO HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATES SINCE 2017. SCHOLARSHIPS MAY BE USED AT COLLEGES, UNIVERSITIES AND TRADE SCHOOLS, AND SCHOLARSHIP MONEY CAN BE USED FOR EDUCATION-RELATED EXPENSES, WHICH INCLUDE TUITION, FEES, BOOKS, SUPPLIES AND ROOM AND BOARD. "STUDENT LOAN RELIEF - EVERY YEAR, WOODMENLIFE GIVES UP TO 200 1,000 AWARDS TO ELIGIBLE MEMBERS. RECIPIENTS ARE SELECTED BASED ON COMMUNITY SERVICE, PATRIOTISM AND LOAN STATEMENTS. "COMMUNITY IMPROVEMENT FUNDS - WOODMENLIFE ALLOCATES FUNDS TO LOCAL CHAPTERS AND COMMUNITIES THAT SUPPORT OUR SHARED COMMITMENT TO FAMILY, COMMUNITY AND COUNTRY. THESE FUNDS HELP MEMBERS PROVIDE FOR LOCAL NEEDS AND GIVE MEMBERS A VOICE IN DECIDING WHICH CAUSES MATTER MOST TO THEM.
FORM 990, PAGE 2, PART III, LINE 4BPATRIOTIC PROGRAM: WOODMENLIFE'S PATRIOTIC PROGRAM WAS LAUNCHED MORE THAN 70 YEARS AGO IN SUPPORT OF THE ORGANIZATION'S COMMON BOND FOCUS ON OUR COUNTRY. WOODMENLIFE PROVIDES AMERICAN AND STATE FLAGS TO LOCAL CHAPTERS FOR PRESENTATION TO NONPROFIT CIVIC AND YOUTH GROUPS, SCHOOLS, CHURCHES, AND COMMUNITY CENTERS. SINCE 1947, THE ORGANIZATION HAS DONATED MORE THAN 3.5 MILLION FLAGS TO NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS, SCHOOLS AND COMMUNITIES. WOODMENLIFE IS THE SECOND LARGEST PURCHASER OF AMERICAN FLAGS BEHIND THE UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT. AS PART OF THE PATRIOTIC PROGRAM, CHAPTERS ARE ENCOURAGED TO PLAN AND PARTICIPATE IN FLAGS ACROSS AMERICA PROJECTS ON JUNE 14 AND IN HONOR AND REMEMBRANCE CEREMONIES ON SEPTEMBER 11. THEY ALSO PLAN COMMUNITY SERVICE PROJECTS FOR VETERANS DAY, MEMORIAL DAY AND INDEPENDENCE DAY.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 6WOODMEN OF THE WORLD LIFE INSURANCE SOCIETY IS COMPRISED OF ITS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERS ELECT THE OFFICERS AND DIRECTORS EVERY FOUR YEARS.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7BTHE EXECUTIVE OFFICERS AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS ARE SUBJECT TO APPROVAL OF THE MEMBERSHIP.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 IS PREPARED AND REVIEWED BY PROFESSIONAL INTERNAL STAFF. THE FORM 990 IS THEN FORWARDED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR REVIEW PRIOR TO FINAL SIGNATURE AND FILING OF THE RETURN.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12CAN ANNUAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST QUESTIONNAIRE IS PROVIDED BY AND SUBSEQUENTLY RETAINED BY THE LEGAL DEPARTMENT.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15APERIODICALLY EXTERNAL RESEARCH IS CONDUCTED TO ASSESS THE COMPETITIVENESS OF EXECUTIVE-LEVEL COMPENSATION. IF EXTERNAL DATA SUPPORTS A CHANGE, A RECOMMENDATION IS MADE BY HR TO THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE (SUBSET OF BOARD OF DIRECTORS) FOR APPROVAL.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15BPERIODICALLY EXTERNAL RESEARCH IS CONDUCTED TO ASSESS THE COMPETITIVENESS OF EXECUTIVE-LEVEL COMPENSATION. IF EXTERNAL DATA SUPPORTS A CHANGE, A RECOMMENDATION IS MADE BY HR TO THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE (SUBSET OF BOARD OF DIRECTORS) FOR APPROVAL.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19THE CONSTITUTION AND BYLAWS ARE AVAILABLE ON OUR WEBSITE, WOODMEN.ORG. THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9MINIMUM PENSION OBLIGATIONS -45,316,529 CHANGE IN RESERVE ON ACCT -4,803,356 CHANGE IN NON-ADMITTED ASSETS 23,998,030 CHANGE IN ASSET VALUATION RESERVE -12,008,688 TOTAL -38,130,543

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WOODMENLIFE OUTREACH FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11700 FARNAM STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityOMAHACityNm
State AbbreviationNEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP68102ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN844477207EIN
Primary ActivitiesCHARITABLEPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateNELegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501C3ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity StatusPFPublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WOODMEN OFBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationfalseControlledOrganizationInd

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtEntity TypeEntityTypeTxtShare Of Total IncomeShareOfTotalIncomeAmtShare Of EOY AssetsShareOfEOYAssetsAmtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
WFS HOLDINGS INC
1700 FARNAM STREETOMAHANE68102223828160HOLDING CONEWOODMEN OFC CORP-$19,059$17,441,145Yes (true)
WOODMEN FINANCIAL SERVICES INC
1700 FARNAM STREETOMAHANE68102223828171FINANCIALNEWFS HOLDINC CORP-$187,319$1,596,994Yes (true)
WOODMEN INSURANCE AGENCY INC
1700 FARNAM STREETOMAHANE68102010785572INSURANCENEWFS HOLDINC CORP-$157,780$135,470Yes (true)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (3 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
WOODMEN FINANCIAL SERVICES INC
Q$1,064,514CASH PAID
WOODMEN INSURANCE AGENCY INC
Q$491,840CASH PAID
WOODMEN FINANCIAL SERVICES INC
J$60,720CASH PAID