SOUTHEASTERN INDIANA RURAL ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION: Form 990, tax year 2020
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- SOUTHEASTERN INDIANA RURAL ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION (EIN 35-0672337)
- Tax period
- 2020-01-01 to 2020-12-31
- Filed
- 2021-12-09
- IRS object ID
- 202113439349300426
- Schema version
- 2020v4.1
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2021-12-09T10:29:01-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2020-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2020-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 350672337 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Southeastern Indiana Rural Electric | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Business Name Line2 | Membership Corporation | BusinessNameLine2Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | SOUT | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 8126894111 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 712 South Buckeye Street | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Osgood | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 47037 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | Bryan K Mathews | PersonNm |
| Person Title | General Manager | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 8126894111 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2021-12-02 | SignatureDt |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | Bryan | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | Mathews | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | Brian D Cherry | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P01355823 | PTIN |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 0 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2020 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2022-09-23 18:48:47Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | Bryan K Mathews | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 712 South Buckeye Street | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Osgood | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 47037 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $68,663,733 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | www.seiremc.com | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1939 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | IN | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | To provide elctric service to members. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 9 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 9 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 80 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 0 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $323,330 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $1,527,065 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $973,608 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $826,956 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $564,172 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $26,638,824 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $27,014,220 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $28,992,845 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $28,552,000 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $3,946,393 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $3,033,840 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $5,241,626 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $5,655,280 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $19,804,826 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $19,862,880 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $28,992,845 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $28,552,000 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $0 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $0 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $150,216,859 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $159,543,964 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $65,585,840 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $74,279,207 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $84,631,019 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $85,264,757 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | The corporate purpose of Southeastern Indiana REMC shall be to render service(s) to it's members. No person shall become or remain a member of the cooperative unless such a person shall purchase electric supplied by the cooperative and shall have complied with the terms and conditions of membership contained in the Bylaws. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $28,552,000 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $28,552,000 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | THE SALE AND DISTRIBUTION OF ELECTRICITY | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $28,552,000 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | 0 | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | Yes (1) | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | 0 | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | Yes (1) | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | Yes (1) | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 18 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Employee | 80 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Members And Shr Gross Income | $28,228,670 | MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt |
| Other Sources Gross Income | $323,330 | OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 9 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 9 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (1) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | IN | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Bryan K Mathews | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 8126894111 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 712 South Buckeye Street | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Osgood | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 47037 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (16 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | OfficerOfficerInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jesse McClure | |||||||
| Director | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $16,450 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Michawel Thieman | |||||||
| Vice President | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $16,100 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Bradley Bentle | |||||||
| Treasurer | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $15,050 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Casey Menchhofer | |||||||
| Director | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $15,050 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Melissa Menchhofer | |||||||
| Director | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $15,050 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Bonnie Boggs | |||||||
| Director | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $14,700 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Darrell Smith | |||||||
| President | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $14,700 | $0 | $0 | ||
| David W Smith | |||||||
| Director | 7.00 | Yes (X) | $14,350 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Vince Moster | |||||||
| Secretary | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $14,000 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Bryan K Mathews | |||||||
| General Manager | 55.00 | $225,985 | $0 | $234,923 | Yes (X) | ||
| James Buhler | |||||||
| Director of Finance & Accounting | 45.00 | $117,092 | $0 | $75,343 | Yes (X) | ||
| Barry Lauber | |||||||
| Director of Marketing & Key Accounts | 43.00 | $128,020 | $0 | $53,278 | Yes (X) | ||
| Brandon Linville | |||||||
| Director of Operations | 50.00 | $127,980 | $0 | $68,564 | Yes (X) | ||
| Michael Summers | |||||||
| Director of Staking & Engineering | 47.00 | $126,257 | $0 | $61,667 | Yes (X) | ||
| Jordan Ice | |||||||
| Lineman, Journeyman | 50.00 | $122,939 | $0 | $32,171 | Yes (X) | ||
| Bryan Miller | |||||||
| Director of Office Services | 45.00 | $119,708 | $0 | $66,516 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $1,103,431 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $592,462 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 19 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| H & L Tree Trimming INC | |||||
| PO Box 982 | North Vernon | IN | 47265 | Right-Of-Way Contractor | $2,722,760 |
| Townsend Tree Service INC | |||||
| PO Box 128 | Parker City | IN | 47368 | Right-Of-Way Contractor | $2,385,282 |
| Asplundh | |||||
| PO Box 827464 | Philadelphia | PA | 19182 | Right-Of-Way Contractor | $1,576,639 |
| Delta Services LLC | |||||
| 4676 Jennings Lane | Louisville | KY | 40218 | Electric Constr. & Repair | $1,260,528 |
| Matt Comer Excavating INC | |||||
| 4942 W CR 500 N | Osgood | IN | 47037 | Right-Of-Way Contractor | $1,070,176 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 13 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Generation & Transmission Patrona | Desc |
| Business | 221000 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $973,608 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $973,608 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $973,608 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $564,172 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $564,172 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Sales Of Inventory | $66,802,623 | GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt |
| Cost Of Goods Sold | $40,111,733 | CostOfGoodsSoldAmt |
Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $26,690,890 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $26,690,890 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Generator - Demand Management | Desc |
| Business | 221000 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $323,330 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $323,330 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $323,330 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $28,552,000 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $1,537,780 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $323,330 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $26,690,890 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part IX | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd |
Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,033,840 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,033,840 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,570,289 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,570,289 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,493,926 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,493,926 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $724,425 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $724,425 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $577,672 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $577,672 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $288,968 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $288,968 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $90,233 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $90,233 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $89,855 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $89,855 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $9,245,742 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $9,245,742 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $141,321 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $141,321 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $808,581 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $808,581 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $373,954 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $373,954 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $631,668 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $631,668 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $14,863 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $14,863 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,101,016 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,101,016 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $195,508 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $195,508 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,515,065 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,515,065 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $13,534 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $13,534 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt |
|---|---|---|
| Utility Receipts Tax | $936,150 | $936,150 |
| Property Tax | $426,250 | $426,250 |
| Miscellaneous | $279,140 | $279,140 |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $28,552,000 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $28,552,000 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $0 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,747,122 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $10,625,979 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,425,571 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,767,593 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,230,129 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,279,977 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $507,408 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $302,587 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $145,254,982 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $38,323,027 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $101,802,970 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $106,931,955 | EOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $32,503,659 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $31,635,873 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $150,216,859 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $159,543,964 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $12,122,305 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $16,017,447 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,137,838 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,076,536 | EOYAmt |
Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $47,040,844 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $51,553,770 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,284,853 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,631,454 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $65,585,840 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $74,279,207 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Org Does Not Follow FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind |
Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $84,631,019 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $85,264,757 | EOYAmt |
Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $84,631,019 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $85,264,757 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $150,216,859 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $159,543,964 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $0 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $633,738 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | 0 | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Political Expenditures | $2,000 | PoliticalExpendituresAmt |
| Form1120 POL Filed | Yes (1) | Form1120POLFiledInd |
Section527 Political Org Section527PoliticalOrgGrp
Organization Business Name OrganizationBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Indiana FORE | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 8888 Keystone Crossing Ste 1600 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Indianapolis | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 46240 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 351998087 | EIN |
| Paid Internal Funds | $2,000 | PaidInternalFundsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $36,008 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $36,008 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $2,771,429 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,179,367 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $1,592,062 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $6,592,858 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $4,109,169 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $2,483,689 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $135,854,687 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $33,034,491 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $102,820,196 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $106,931,955 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt | Method ValuationMethodValuationCd |
|---|---|---|
| Patronage Capital from Associated Orginizations | $30,213,993 | C |
| Capital Term Certificates | $1,421,880 | C |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Program Rltd | $31,635,873 | TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Accumulated Post Retirement Benefits | Desc |
| Amt | $5,631,454 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $5,631,454 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $28,012,643 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $0 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $28,012,643 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $539,357 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $539,357 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $28,552,000 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $25,183,555 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $25,183,555 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $3,368,445 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $3,368,445 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $28,552,000 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Part X, Line 2: | No provisions income tax has been included in these statements since the REMC operates as a not-for profit organization as provided for in Section 501(c)(12) of the Internal Revenue Service Code, and therefore is exempt from income taxes. THe REMC is subject to tax on unrelated business income. The REMC has open tax years 2020, 2019, 2018 for Federal and State filings. No interest or penalties for income taxes have been included in these financial statements. |
| Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments: | Generac Revenues - Tax Accounting |
| Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments: | Patronage Capital Allocation |
| Schedule D Part X Line 2 | No provisions income tax has been included in these statements since the REMC operates as a not-for profit organization as provided for in Section 501(c)(12) of the Internal Revenue Service Code, and therefore is exempt from income taxes. THe REMC is subject to tax on unrelated business income. The REMC has open tax years 2020, 2019, 2018 for Federal and State filings. No interest or penalties for income taxes have been included in these financial statements. |
| Schedule D Part XI Line 4b | Revenue from our generac program follows prescibed tax accounting but not GAAP. |
| Schedule D Part XII Line 4b | Patronage Capital allocated pursuant to obligation to pay credits to a capital account for each member all amounts in excess of operating cost. Also, expenses for our generac program follows prescribed tax accounting but not GAAP. |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bryan K Mathews | ||||||||||||||
| General Manager | $221,620 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $4,365 | $0 | $204,762 | $0 | $30,161 | $0 | $460,908 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Brandon Linville | ||||||||||||||
| Director of Operations | $124,923 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $3,057 | $0 | $41,833 | $0 | $26,731 | $0 | $196,544 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| James Buhler | ||||||||||||||
| Director of Finance & Accounting | $114,725 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $2,367 | $0 | $44,512 | $0 | $30,831 | $0 | $192,435 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Michael Summers | ||||||||||||||
| Director of Staking & Engineering | $123,173 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $3,084 | $0 | $32,086 | $0 | $29,581 | $0 | $187,924 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Bryan Miller | ||||||||||||||
| Director of Office Services | $117,358 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $2,350 | $0 | $39,785 | $0 | $26,731 | $0 | $186,224 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Barry Lauber | ||||||||||||||
| Director of Marketing & Key Accounts | $125,621 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $2,399 | $0 | $29,995 | $0 | $23,283 | $0 | $181,298 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Jordan Ice | ||||||||||||||
| Lineman, Journeyman | $121,103 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $1,836 | $0 | $8,074 | $0 | $24,097 | $0 | $155,110 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6 | Any natural persons, firm, association, corporation, business trust, partenership, limited liability company, state or state political subdivision, the United States of America or federal ploitical subdivision, or other body politic (collectively, "Person") will become a member in the cooperative upon receipt of electric service from the Cooperative, provided that the applicant has first: a. Signed a written application for membership, b.Agreed to purchase electric energy from the Cooperative, c. Paid the membership fee and any security deposit as determined by the Cooperative, d. Agree to comply with and be bound by the Articles of Incorporation and the Bylaws of the Cooperative and the Rules and Regulations as may be adopted by the Board of Directors, e. Been accepted into membership by action of the Board of Directors. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7a | The Annual Meeting of the members shall be held between the 1st day of March and the 31st day of May on the date or dates as the Board of Directors shall determine each year, and be held at a place as shall be designated in the notice of the meeting for the purpose of electing Directors, passing upon reports covering the previous fiscal year and transacting the other business properly before the meeting. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7b | The Annual Meeting of the members shall be held between the 1st day of March and the 31st day of May on the date or dates as the Board of Directors shall determine each year, and be held at a place as shall be designated in the notice of the meeting for the purpose of electing Directors, passing upon reports covering the previous fiscal year and transacting the other business properly before the meeting. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11b | Review placed on the Board Meeting agenda. General Manager and Director of Finance and Accounting review 990 using iPads to discuss the 990 form to be filed. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12c | Annual review of Conflict of Interest Policy with Board. Policy Review Form signed annually after policy review by Directors. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15 | Wage and Salary Plan developed by Wage and Salary Consultant and updated annually for non-bargaining unit employees. The Board reviews in September for following year. Wage and Salary Consultant uses NRECA and other national databases to determine market value for each position based on 5 criteria of position responsibility. Board determines where to place coop Wage and Salary Plan. On average, for the non-bargaining unit employess the renumeration is 95.04% of the current fair market value fo the vocerd positions. The salary of the General Manager is set by the Board on an annual basis using the comparable fair market value for the purpose as determined by the Wage and Salary Consultant. The General Manager is currently compensated at 93.56% of the average fair market compensation as determined by the Wage and Salary Consultant. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19 | Coop Articles of Incorporation are filed with the State of Indiana and available for public inspection. Coop Bylaws are given to new members or available on request by any member. Policies are generally not made available to the public bt are accessible on the network to any Employee or Director. End of year Financial Statements are published in Annual Report and published on www.seiremc.com. Audited and Unadited end of year Financial Statements are sent to the U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Utility Service annually and are subject to the Freedom of Information Act. |
| Form 990, Part IX, line 11g | Right-Of-Way: Program service expenses 8,313,174. Management and general expenses 0. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 8,313,174. Operations & Maintenance - Overhead and Undergound : Program service expenses 932,568. Management and general expenses 0. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 932,568. |
| Form 990, Part XI, line 9: | Patronage Capital Allocated 3,001,022. Reeassignment of Patronage Capital from previous years 683,203. Unrealized Net Periodic Post-Retirement Benefit cost -819,914. Patronage Capital Retired -2,230,573. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp
Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Southeastern Indiana REMC Community Fund INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 712 South Buckeye Street | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Osgood | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 47037 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Primary Activities | Operation Round-Up | PrimaryActivitiesTxt |
| Legal Domicile State | IN | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| End Of Year Assets | $84,212 | EndOfYearAssetsAmt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I (1) | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Southeastern INdiana REMC Community Fund, INC is a program our members participate to "round-up" their monthly bill to the next whole dollar. These funds are then distributed two times per year to qualified 501(c) organizations selected by the Community Fund Board of Directors. These funds are held as a liability on Southeastern Indiana REMC's books. | ExplanationTxt |