STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

JOHN COOPER SCHOOL: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
JOHN COOPER SCHOOL (EIN 76-0150423)
Tax period
2019-07-01 to 2020-06-30
Filed
2021-01-21
IRS object ID
202120219349300347
Schema version
2019v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-01-21T15:48:07-08:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN760269860PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Blazek & VetterlingBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12900 Weslayan Suite 200AddressLine1Txt
CityHoustonCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP77027ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN760150423EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1The John Cooper SchoolBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlJOHNBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2813670900PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11 John Cooper DriveAddressLine1Txt
CityThe WoodlandsCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP77381ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonChris PattersonPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Signature2021-01-21SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonBarbara MurphyPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01386215PTIN
Phone7134395739PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMichael F MaherPrincipalOfficerNm
Gross Receipts$43,129,534GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.johncooper.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1988FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionThe John Cooper School is an independent, co-educational primary and secondary school located in The Woodlands, TX. Enrollment during the 2019 tax year included approximately 1,281 students in grades Pre-kindergarten through twelfth.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body15VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent15VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee473TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers225TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$1,527,869PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$1,223,106CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$33,529,128PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$35,327,302CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$500,766PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,115,971CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$99,515PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$93,993CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$35,657,278PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$37,760,372CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$2,004,080PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$2,100,487CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$21,670,128PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$22,161,098CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$952,400CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$11,254,767PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$11,206,266CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$34,928,975PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$35,467,851CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$728,303PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,292,521CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$104,091,008TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$102,900,214TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$60,905,090TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$57,321,230TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$43,185,918NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$45,578,984NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionThe mission of The John Cooper School is to provide a challenging education in a caring environment to a diverse group of select students, enabling them to become critical & creative thinkers, effective communicators, responsible citizens and leaders, and lifetime learners.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$32,169,098ExpenseAmt
Grant$2,100,487GrantAmt
Revenue$35,357,807RevenueAmt
DescThe John Cooper School is an independent, co-educational primary and secondary school located in The Woodlands, TX. Enrollment during the 2019 tax year included approximately 1,281 students in grades Pre-kindergarten through twelfth. Financial aid is awarded to students on the basis of need.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$32,169,098TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (true)CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (true)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document62IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G1IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee473EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Form8282 Filed0Form8282FiledCnt
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Form8899 FiledindfalseForm8899Filedind
Form1098 C FiledfalseForm1098CFiledInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members15GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member15IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonChris PattersonPersonNm
Phone2813670900PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11 John Cooper DriveAddressLine1Txt
CityThe WoodlandsCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP77381ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (23 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
Michael Maher
Head of School60.000.00Yes (X)$538,355$0$89,372
Chris Patterson
CFO50.000.00Yes (X)$210,266$0$17,291
Stephen Popp
Upper School Head50.000.00$162,036$0$21,139
Elizabeth DeMonico
Dance Faculty50.000.00$154,168$0$13,026
John Hoye
Athletic Director50.000.00$145,209$0$19,699
Troye Skipworth
Advancement Dir50.000.00$143,367$0$20,158
Laura Schroeder
Counseling Dir50.000.00$140,791$0$19,309
Teresa Robson
Lower School Head50.000.00$131,910$0$18,600
Gerald Glenn
Board Chair4.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Beth Griffith
Vice Chair4.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Cole Pate
Secretary2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Brian Petrauskas
Treasurer2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Yvette Aquino
Trustee2.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Becky Bayless
Trustee2.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Stacey Bourque
Trustee2.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Bryan Brown
Trustee2.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Lindsey Cooksen
Trustee2.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Johnna Edone
Trustee2.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mike Minarovic
Trustee2.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Rod Pitts
Trustee2.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Carlos Ramirez
Trustee2.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Doug Rock
Trustee2.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Pat Shea
Trustee2.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,626,102TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$218,594TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K23IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Mesa Mechanical
3514 PinemontHoustonTX77018HVAC$437,185
CopperTree Interests
2211 Rayford RdSpringTX77386AV/Construction$155,058
Big State Electric
11312 Windfern RdHoustonTX77064Electrical/Construction$125,603
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$214,751FundraisingAmt
All Other Contributions$1,008,355AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$204,337NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$1,223,106TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Extended Day / Other611710$334,792$334,792
Food Service Revenue721000$684,949$684,949
Summer School Tuition611710$12,185$12,185
Tuition and Fees611600$34,295,376$34,295,376
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$35,327,302TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,096,434TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,096,434ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$4,980,512SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$4,960,975SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$19,537SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$19,537TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$19,537ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$282,956FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$214,751ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$219,468FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$63,488TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$63,488ExclusionAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$219,224GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$188,719CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$30,505TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$30,505RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$0OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$37,760,372TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$35,357,807RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$1,179,459ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,100,487TotalAmt
Program Services$2,100,487ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$756,700TotalAmt
Program Services$454,755ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$237,860ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$64,085FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$16,741,914TotalAmt
Program Services$15,392,721ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$882,458ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$466,735FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,236,126TotalAmt
Program Services$1,119,487ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$79,141ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$37,498FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,175,600TotalAmt
Program Services$1,970,314ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$139,289ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$65,997FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,250,758TotalAmt
Program Services$1,134,671ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$79,198ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$36,889FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$36,655TotalAmt
Management And General$36,655ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$56,469TotalAmt
Management And General$56,469ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,799TotalAmt
Management And General$13,799ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$627,221TotalAmt
Program Services$456,276ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$145,322ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$25,623FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$151,619TotalAmt
Management And General$151,619ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$557,296TotalAmt
Program Services$218,759ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$232,693ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$105,844FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$606,864TotalAmt
Program Services$511,115ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$70,126ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$25,623FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,697,112TotalAmt
Program Services$1,670,580ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$20,361ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,171FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$202,856TotalAmt
Program Services$199,570ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,522ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$764FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,115,016TotalAmt
Program Services$1,096,950ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$13,864ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,202FundraisingAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,262,970TotalAmt
Program Services$3,210,102ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$40,572ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$12,296FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$256,420TotalAmt
Program Services$252,266ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,188ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$966FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Food services$807,196$807,196
Instructional activities$603,976$603,976
Student Programs & Activities$503,382$503,382
Equipment purchases$268,261$248,463$10,492$9,306

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$439,154TotalAmt
Program Services$218,028ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$130,725ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$90,401FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$35,467,851TotalAmt
Program Services$32,169,098ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,346,353ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$952,400FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,295,109BOYAmt
EOY$1,489,620EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,406,323BOYAmt
EOY$14,058,697EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,881,787BOYAmt
EOY$2,063,387EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$376,445BOYAmt
EOY$275,101EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$55,447BOYAmt
EOY$18,931EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$84,007,385LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$30,358,237LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$56,151,883BOYAmt
EOY$53,649,148EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,924,014BOYAmt
EOY$31,345,330EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$104,091,008BOYAmt
EOY$102,900,214EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,327,600BOYAmt
EOY$1,883,902EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,858,425BOYAmt
EOY$16,267,600EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$37,218,672BOYAmt
EOY$36,060,285EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$904,396BOYAmt
EOY$882,772EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,595,997BOYAmt
EOY$2,226,671EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$60,905,090BOYAmt
EOY$57,321,230EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$38,733,396BOYAmt
EOY$40,851,502EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,452,522BOYAmt
EOY$4,727,482EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,185,918BOYAmt
EOY$45,578,984EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$104,091,008BOYAmt
EOY$102,900,214EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,292,521ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$731,219NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$630,674OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$5,448,101CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,076,963CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,624,869CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,527,869CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,223,106CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$11,900,908TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$5,448,101CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,076,963CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,624,869CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,527,869CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,223,106CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$11,900,908TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$1,215,400SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$10,685,508PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$60,076CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$110,166CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$164,144CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$500,766CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,096,434CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,931,586TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$13,832,494TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$160,396,555GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.77250PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.63870PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I: Additional InformationFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe John Cooper School is classified as a School under IRC Section 170(b)(1)(A)(ii). As such, it is not required to complete the Schedule A Part II Support Schedule for Organizations Described in Sections 170(b)(1)(A)(vi). The School is voluntarily including Schedule A Part II. For Schedule B Schedule of Contributors, the School meets the 33 1/3% support test of the regulations under sections 509(a)(1) and 170(b)(1)(A)(vi) and is reporting under the Special Rule.ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee EtcfalseAgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (true)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$10,665,050BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$537,854ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$903,680InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$114,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$11,992,584EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$9,622,296BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$575,870ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$566,383InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$99,499OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$10,665,050EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$8,767,266BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$552,721ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$373,809InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$71,500OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$9,622,296EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$7,918,401BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$547,990ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$352,375InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$51,500OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$8,767,266EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$7,314,584BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$536,033ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$68,784InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$7,918,401EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.61180BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.25810PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.13010TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd
Related Org List Sch RfalseRelatedOrgListSchRInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,296,315OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,296,315BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$72,354,374OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$25,459,582DepreciationAmt
Book Value$46,894,792BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$9,274,219OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$4,898,655DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,375,564BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$82,477OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$82,477BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$53,649,148TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescFair value of derivative agreementDesc
Amt$2,226,671Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,226,671TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$36,566,024TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$731,219NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$188,719OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$919,938RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$35,646,086RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$13,799InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$2,100,487OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$2,114,286RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$37,760,372TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$33,542,284TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$188,719OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$188,719ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$33,353,565ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$13,799InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$2,100,487OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$2,114,286ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$35,467,851TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part IV, Line 2b: Explanation of escrow account liabilityThe School holds funds for several related school groups. The School has limited discretion over the use of these funds. Funds held for others are included in the Schools cash and as a liability of the School.
Part V, Line 4: Intended uses of the endowment fund.Endowment funds are used for the enrichment of educational programs and operational activities.
Part XI, Line 2d: Other revenue amounts included in F/S but not included on form 990Bookstore cost of goods sold $188719
Part XI, Line 4b: Other revenue amounts included on 990 but not included in F/SFinancial Aid/Tuition $2100487
Part XII, Line 2d: Other expenses and losses per audited F/SBookstore cost of goods sold $188719
Part XII, Line 4b: Other revenue amounts included on 990 but not included in F/SFinancial Aid/Tuition $2100487

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Line 3 - Racially Nondiscriminatory Policy PublicizedThe school's nondiscrimination policy is contained on each application and enrollment contract as well as in the informational brochures made available to the public. Additionally, notice of the policy is located on the School's website.
Schedule E, Line 4 - Explanation of Records and Materials Not Maintained
Schedule E, Line 5 - Explanation of Organization Discrimination by Race

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agrmt Prof Fundraising ActyfalseAgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1GalaEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$409,989GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$173,153CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$236,836GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$186,398OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Event2Golf Tourn.Event2Nm
Gross Receipts Event2$87,718GrossReceiptsEvent2Amt
Charitable Contri Event2$41,598CharitableContriEvent2Amt
Gross Revenue Event2$46,120GrossRevenueEvent2Amt
Non Cash Prizes Event2$2,025NonCashPrizesEvent2Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event2$21,812RentFacilityCostsEvent2Amt
Food And Beverage Event2$8,651FoodAndBeverageEvent2Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event2$582OtherDirectExpensesEvent2Amt
Gross Receipts Total$497,707GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$214,751CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$282,956GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Non Cash Prizes Total Events$2,025NonCashPrizesTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$21,812RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$8,651FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$186,980OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$219,468DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary$63,488NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd
Total501c3 Org0Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeFinancial aid to studentsGrantTypeTxt
Recipient153RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$2,100,487CashGrantAmt
Non Cash AssistanceTuition reductionNonCashAssistanceDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceGrantmaker's Description of How Grants are UsedFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe John Cooper School awards scholarships each year based on the demonstrated financial need of the family regardless of race, color, nationality, or ethnic origin. These scholarship awards do not require repayment. The scholarship committee relies on the School Scholarship Service of Princeton, New Jersey to determine which families qualify for scholarship aid.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (true)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Chris Patterson
CFO$210,266$8,411$8,880$227,557
Elizabeth DeMonico
Dance Faculty$69,981$5,598$7,428$167,194$84,187
John Hoye
Athletic Director$145,209$11,617$8,082$164,908
Laura Schroeder
Counseling Dir$140,791$11,263$8,046$160,100
Michael Maher
Head of School$538,355$42,400$46,972$627,727
Stephen Popp
Upper School Head$162,036$12,963$8,176$183,175
Teresa Robson
Lower School Head$131,910$10,553$8,047$150,510
Troye Skipworth
Advancement Dir$143,367$11,469$8,689$163,525

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1a: Relevant information in regards to selections on 1a.Mike Maher's compensation includes a housing allowance of $18,000 per year and a car allowance of $9,600 per year.
Part I, Line 7: Non-Fixed payments not listed aboveElizabeth DeMonico conducts extracurricular acting, dance and aerial arts classes. She receives additional compensation based on the revenue generated by these classes.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Newark Cultural EducationBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN263769964BondIssuerEIN
Bond Issued2015-06-01BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$45,000,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeConstruction of new facilitiesPurposeDesc
DefeasedfalseDefeasedInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool FinancingfalsePoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$8,602,561RetiredAmt
Total Proceeds$45,000,000TotalProceedsAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$497,463IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Capital Expenditures$44,502,537CapitalExpendituresAmt
Substantial Completion2018SubstantialCompletionYr
Refunding Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable BondsfalseRefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (true)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (true)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed PropertyfalseOwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease ArrangementsfalseAnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropfalseMgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research AgreementsfalseAnyResearchAgreementsInd
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestfalseBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed PropfalseChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (true)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T FiledYes (true)Form8038TFiledInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And RecYes (true)HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd

Hedge Provider Name HedgeProviderName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Morgan StanleyBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Term Of Hedge15.0000TermOfHedgePct
Superintegrated HedgefalseSuperintegratedHedgeInd
Hedge TerminatedfalseHedgeTerminatedInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GICfalseGrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds InvestedfalseGrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsYes (true)WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (true)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution7ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$31,184NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesNYSEMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
DescAuction itemsDesc
Contribution241ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$173,153NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedfalseThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 1a: Explanation of Delegated Broad Authority to CommitteeThe Executive Committee of the Board is made up of the Officers of the Board: Chair, Vice-Chair, Treasurer & Secretary. The Committee has all authority of the Board to manage the business & affairs of the School between Board meetings, except where action of the Board is required by law, the Articles of Incorporation or the current Bylaws. All actions of the Executive Committee are subject to ratification by the full Board.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b: Form 990 Review ProcessForm 990 is reviewed in detail by the CFO and Audit Committee. A copy of Form 990 is provided to each Board member prior to filing. Any questions the Board may have in regards to the Form are addressed prior to filing with the IRS.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c: Explanation of Monitoring and Enforcement of ConflictsA conflict of interest/relationship questionnaire is provided to each Board member annually for disclosure purposes. The completed questionnaires are reviewed by the Head of School who discusses any potential conflicts of interest with the Board Chair.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a: Compensation Review & Approval Process - CEO, Top ManagementA Compensation Committee consisting of the Executive Committee of the Board reviews and recommends the annual compensation for the Head of School, which is then approved by the entire Board.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15b: Compensation Review and Approval Process for Officers and Key EmployeesCompensation data is obtained and analyzed from comparable schools and used extensively along with performance reviews.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19: Other Organization Documents Publicly AvailableDocuments are available for review upon request. Because these documents are not required to be made publicly available by law, each request is reviewed and either approved or denied on an individual basis.
Other Changes In Net Assets Or Fund Balances - Other DecreasesChange in value of derivative agreement = -$630674