STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

THE ALFRED AND ADELE DAVIS ACADEMY INC: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
THE ALFRED AND ADELE DAVIS ACADEMY INC (EIN 58-1970181)
Tax period
2019-07-01 to 2020-06-30
Filed
2021-03-23
IRS object ID
202120829349300222
Schema version
2019v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-03-23T12:30:36-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SMITH & HOWARD PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1271 17TH STREET NW SUITE 1600AddressLine1Txt
CityATLANTACityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30363ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN581970181EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE ALFRED AND ADELE DAVIS ACADEMY INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% KIM RICHInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlALFRBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7706710085PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18105 ROBERTS DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityATLANTACityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30350ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonAMY SHAFRONPersonNm
Person TitleHEAD OF SCHOOLPersonTitleTxt
Phone7706710085PhoneNum
Signature2021-05-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonSABRE J LINAHANPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01372980PTIN
Phone4048746244PhoneNum
Preparation2021-05-15PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerAMY SHAFRONPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18105 ROBERTS DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityATLANTACityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30350ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$25,814,288GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.DAVISACADEMY.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1992FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateGALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE AN ACADEMICALLY CHALLENGING ENVIRONMENT WITH ENRICHED CURRICULA, INTEGRATING GENERAL ACADEMICS AND JUDAIC STUDIES FROM MECHINA KINDERGARTEN PREP THROUGH EIGHTH GRADE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body36VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent35VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee162TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers300TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$1,215,163PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$1,168,494CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$12,357,094PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$12,360,796CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,290,376PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$188,726CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue-$24,470PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$16,493CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$14,838,163PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$13,701,523CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$1,718,541PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$1,692,703CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,284,782PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,521,875CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$568,552CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$4,288,485PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$4,396,661CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$13,291,808PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$13,611,239CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,546,355PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$90,284CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$55,794,544TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$56,656,826TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$13,640,978TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$13,832,164TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$42,153,566NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$42,824,662NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTO PROVIDE AN ACADEMICALLY CHALLENGING ENVIRONMENT WITH ENRICHED CURRICULA, INTEGRATING GENERAL ACADEMICS AND JUDAIC STUDIES FROM MECHINA KINDERGARTEN PREP THROUGH EIGHTH GRADE IN A NURTURING, SECURE ENVIRONMENT, INSTRUCTED BY A FACULTY DEDICATED TO EXCELLENCE, CHILDREN ARE ENCOURAGED TO REACH THEIR HIGHEST POTENTIAL. THE DAVIS ACADEMY STRIVES TO CREATE A COMMUNITY IN WHICH CHILDREN DEVELOP A LIFE-LONG LOVE FOR LEARNING AND A COMMITMENT TO JEWISH LIFE FOUNDED ON MORALS, VALUES, AND ETHICS, GROUNDED IN TORAH.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$9,487,022ExpenseAmt
Grant$1,692,703GrantAmt
Revenue$12,360,796RevenueAmt
DescTHE CORPORATION OPERATED AS A NON-PROFIT PRE-K THROUGH EIGHTH GRADE PRIVATE SCHOOL WITH 477 STUDENTS IN ATTENDANCE.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$9,487,022TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (true)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document20IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee162EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members36GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member35IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (true)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldGAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKIM RICHPersonNm
Phone7706710085PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18105 ROBERTS DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityATLANTACityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30350ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (53 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
Amy Shafron
Head of School40.00.0Yes (X)$359,900$0$43,176
Drew Frank
Principal / Associate Head of40.00.0$185,217$0$50,560Yes (X)
Bonnie Vavra
Chief Financial Officer40.00.0Yes (X)$194,286$0$19,862
Jeffrey Rothstein
Assistant Principal40.00.0$136,954$0$38,698Yes (X)
Elisa Prager
Director of Institutional Adva40.00.0$145,674$0$18,740Yes (X)
Micah Lapidus
School Rabbi/Director of Jewis40.00.0$125,566$0$32,663Yes (X)
Karl Altmann
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Dean Benamy
Past President - Non-Voting1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mara Berman
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
William Bremen z'l
Trustee for Life - Non-Voting1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ann Davis
Vice President1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Jay Davis
Trustee for Life - Non-Voting1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mark Edelstein
Treasurer1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Jan Epstein
Past President - Non-Voting1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Bryan Fields
Past President - Non-Voting1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Lisa Freedman
Vice President1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Billie Greenberg
Past President1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Lisa Haynor
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Jeff Hopkins
Vice President1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Hope Kaufman
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Sid Kirschner
Trustee for Life - Non-Voting1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Jami Kohn
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mark Kopkin
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Debbie Kurzweil
Past President1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Jonathan Leven
Immediate Past President1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Kevin Levingston
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Brian Mand
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Carol Nemo
Past President - Non-Voting1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Dulcy Davis Rosenberg
Trustee for Life - Non-Voting1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Bill Rothschild
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Carol Rubin
Secretary1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Tonia Sellers
Past President - Non-Voting1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Benjamin Sillins
Past President - Non-Voting1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Stanley Sonenshine
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Evan Toporek
President1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Sam Tuck
Past President1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Harriet Zoller
Past President - Non-Voting1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Abby Bechler-Karsch
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Dana Bernath
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Scott Bohrer
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Russell Falkenstein
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
David Goldberg
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ronnie Goldman
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Micah Goldstein
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Bobbi Perlstein
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Michelle Rosenberg
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Dan Russotto
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Linda Selig
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Murray Solomon
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Jason Tessler
Board Member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Vanessa Frank
BOARD MEMBER1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Bennett Kaplan
board member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Stacey Rothberg
board member1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,147,597TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$203,699TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K6IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
SAGE DINING SERVICES
3687 MCELROY ROADATLANTAGA30340FOOD SERVICE$562,554
Samson Trailways
po boX 1870FAYETTEVILLEGA30214Buses$179,837
CLEANSTAR NATIONAL INC
540 Collins RoadMARIETTAGA30066Janitorial/Cleaning$257,336
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$2,000FundraisingAmt
All Other Contributions$1,166,494AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$1,168,494TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION AND FEES$12,354,065$12,354,065
MISC PROGRAM SERVICE REVENUE$6,256$6,256
YEARBOOK REVENUE$475$475
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$12,360,796TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$620,720TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$620,720ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$38,285RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$55,028RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real-$16,743RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$16,743TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$16,743ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$11,624,378SecuritiesAmt
Other$1,365OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$12,057,737SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$433,359SecuritiesAmt
Other$1,365OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$431,994TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,365RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion-$433,359ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$250FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$2,000ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$0FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$250TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$250ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$0GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$0GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$0GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$0CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$0OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$13,701,523TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$12,362,161RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$170,868ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,692,703TotalAmt
Program Services$1,692,703ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$621,590TotalAmt
Management And General$498,397ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$123,193FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,566,859TotalAmt
Program Services$4,164,216ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,079,780ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$322,863FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$198,114TotalAmt
Program Services$164,512ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$23,372ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$10,230FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,135,312TotalAmt
Program Services$843,173ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$239,706ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$52,433FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,533TotalAmt
Management And General$13,533ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$54,050TotalAmt
Management And General$54,050ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$133,350TotalAmt
Management And General$133,350ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$183,042TotalAmt
Management And General$174,515ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$8,527FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$65,313TotalAmt
Program Services$852ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$64,461ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$122,309TotalAmt
Program Services$13,747ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$108,562ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$213,540TotalAmt
Program Services$149,479ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$64,061ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$26,735TotalAmt
Program Services$23,534ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,201ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$193,588TotalAmt
Program Services$135,512ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$58,076ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,149,419TotalAmt
Program Services$804,594ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$344,825ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$142,753TotalAmt
Program Services$99,928ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$42,825ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
REPAIRS & MAINTENANCE$485,510$375,933$109,577
DINING SERVICE$480,137$480,137
EDUCATIONAL SUPPLIES$434,941$313,085$112,913$8,943
CLEANING SERVICE CONTRACT$235,562$235,562

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$462,879TotalAmt
Program Services$225,617ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$194,899ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$42,363FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,611,239TotalAmt
Program Services$9,487,022ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,555,665ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$568,552FundraisingAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXInd

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,913,288BOYAmt
EOY$2,736,558EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,574,602BOYAmt
EOY$9,134,434EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,472,664BOYAmt
EOY$1,166,130EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$60,954BOYAmt
EOY$169,782EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$286,486BOYAmt
EOY$393,464EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$35,571,392LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$15,250,932LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,783,251BOYAmt
EOY$20,320,460EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,664,278BOYAmt
EOY$5,485,735EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,896,877BOYAmt
EOY$17,123,913EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$142,144BOYAmt
EOY$126,350EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$55,794,544BOYAmt
EOY$56,656,826EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$750,434BOYAmt
EOY$914,069EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,173,046BOYAmt
EOY$4,699,538EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,826,008BOYAmt
EOY$6,142,008EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$891,490BOYAmt
EOY$2,076,549EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,640,978BOYAmt
EOY$13,832,164EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$38,593,182BOYAmt
EOY$39,174,802EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,560,384BOYAmt
EOY$3,649,860EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$42,153,566BOYAmt
EOY$42,824,662EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$55,794,544BOYAmt
EOY$56,656,826EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$90,284ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$557,975NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$22,837OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,682,382CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,666,291CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,600,742CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,215,163CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,168,494CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$8,333,072TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,682,382CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,666,291CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,600,742CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,215,163CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,168,494CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$8,333,072TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$840,051SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$7,493,021PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$658,733CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$683,815CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$707,899CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$887,106CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$659,005CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$3,596,558TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$11,929,630TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$62,788,475GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.62810PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.75027PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$8,832,137BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$128,326ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$91,096InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$45,750AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$8,823,617EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$8,426,517BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$112,551ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$340,248InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$47,179AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$8,832,137EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$7,783,221BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$237,481ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$452,511InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$46,696AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$8,426,517EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$6,702,416BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$104,018ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$936,634InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures-$82,515OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$42,362AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$7,783,221EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$6,781,851BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$134,027ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$92,093InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$82,515OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$38,854AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$6,702,416EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.70300BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.20170PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.09530TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,226,200OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,226,200BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$27,880,023OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$11,023,513DepreciationAmt
Book Value$16,856,510BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Leasehold ImprovementsLeaseholdImprovementsGrp

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,972,740OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,302,733DepreciationAmt
Book Value$670,007BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,492,429OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,924,686DepreciationAmt
Book Value$567,743BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$20,320,460TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Financial DerivativesFinancialDerivativesGrp
Closely Held Equity InterestsCloselyHeldEquityInterestsGrp

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
ENDOWMENTS$8,823,617F
MUTUAL FUNDS$8,300,296F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$17,123,913TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescTAXABLE BOND PAYABLEDesc
Amt$2,076,549Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,076,549TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$12,292,471TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$557,975NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$55,028OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$613,003RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$11,679,468RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$133,351InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$1,888,704OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$2,022,055RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$13,701,523TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$11,621,375TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$55,028OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$55,028ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$11,566,347ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$133,351InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$1,911,541OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$2,044,892ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$13,611,239TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part V, Line 4Endowment assets include those assets of donor restricted funds the the academy must hold in perpetuity or for a donor-specified period(s) as well as board-designated funds. The Academy's endowments are invested in pooled funds through the Jewish Federation of Greater Atlanta ("JFGA"). The Academy adopted its investment policy for the endowment accounts using a moderate investment model provided by JFGA. JFGA's investment objective is to earn a long-term rate of return that is approximately 4.5% greater than the rate of inflation as measured by the CPI. The investment policy's risk parameters minimize downside volatility while maximizing return at an acceptable risk level through diversification of assets. The investment policy also contains specifications as to which types of investments will be permitted. The Academy has adopted a spending policy under which spending of income earned by the unrestricted endowment accounts is discretionary, based on the needs of the Academy and the approval of the Academy's Board of Trustees. Endowment funds created through restricted gifts from donors are to be managed according to the wishes of the donors. However, only up to 3% of annual gains will be distributed. Unless otherwise stipulated by the donors, all principal is to be kept intact, and only the earnings are to be used for the restricted purpose of the fund. The Academy considers a fund to be underwater if the fair value of the fund is less than the sum of (a) the original value of initial and subsequent gift amounts donated to the fund and (b) any accumulations to the fund that are required to be maintained in perpetuity in accordance with the direction of the applicable donor gift instrument. The Academy has complied with UPMIFA to permit spending from an underwater endowment.
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2The Academy qualifies as a tax-exempt organization under Section 501(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and, therefore, has no provision for income taxes. However, income from certain activities not directly related to the Academy's tax exempt purpose is subject to taxation as unrelated business income. During the years ended June 30, 2020 and 2019, the Academy incurred no income tax expense related to unrelated business income. The Academy qualifies for the charitable contribution deduction under Section 170(b)(1)(A) and has been classified as an organization that is not a private foundation under Section 509(a)(2). The Academy annually evaluates all federal and state income tax positions. This process includes an analysis of whether these income tax positions the Academy takes meet the definition of an uncertain tax position under the Income Taxes Topic of the Financial Accounting Standards Codification. In the normal course of business, the Academy is subject to examination by the federal and state taxing authorities. In general, the Academy is no longer subject to tax examinations for tax years ending before June 30, 2017.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 2DDirect Rental Expenses: $55,028
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4B1,692,703 + Tuition Assistance 196,001 + Marketing Expenses, netted with Revenue for Audit Purposes -------------------------- 1,888,704 =
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 2DDirect Rental Expenses: $55,028
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4B1,692,703 + Tuition Assistance 196,001 + Marketing Expenses, netted with Revenue for Audit Purposes 22,837 + Bad Debt Recovery -------------------------- 1,911,541 =

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSch E Part 1, Line 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationPolicy is publicized on application materials which is provided along with an information package for all interested parties.ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDescNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceDescCash GrantCashGrantAmt
Financial Assistance as Reduction in Tuition185$961,983Amount of TuitionReduction in Tuition
Financial Aid for Students107Cash$730,720

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationFinancial aid is need based. Each applicant fills out a standard form annually awards are decided annually by a committee of the board.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (true)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Drew Frank
Principal / Associate Head of$150,464$10,000$24,753$7,808$42,969$235,994
Micah Lapidus
School Rabbi/Director of Jewis$106,273$19,293$5,697$27,174$158,437
Elisa Prager
Director of Institutional Adva$140,979$4,695$6,579$12,378$164,631
Jeffrey Rothstein
Assistant Principal$113,639$195$23,120$5,827$33,082$175,863
Bonnie Vavra
Chief Financial Officer$179,786$14,500$9,069$11,010$214,365
Amy Shafron
Head of School$329,171$30,729$14,000$31,754$405,654

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart 1, Line 7FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationBonus payments are paid annually based on performance.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1City of Sandy Springs Development AuthorityBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN261580939BondIssuerEIN
CUSIP000000000CUSIPNum
Bond Issued2013-06-20BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$10,590,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeTo Refinance the Cost of AcquiringPurposeDesc
DefeasedfalseDefeasedInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool FinancingfalsePoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$4,447,992RetiredAmt
Bond Defeased$0BondDefeasedAmt
Total Proceeds$10,590,000TotalProceedsAmt
In Reserve Fund$0InReserveFundAmt
Capitalized Interest$0CapitalizedInterestAmt
Refunding Escrow$0RefundingEscrowAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$0IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Credit Enhancement$0CreditEnhancementAmt
Working Capital Expenditures$0WorkingCapitalExpendituresAmt
Capital Expenditures$0CapitalExpendituresAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$0OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Unspent$0UnspentAmt
Refunding Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable BondsfalseRefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (true)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (true)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed PropertyfalseOwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease ArrangementsfalseAnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropfalseMgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research AgreementsfalseAnyResearchAgreementsInd
Private Bus Use By Others0PrivateBusUseByOthersPct
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestfalseBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed PropfalseChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Remedial Action TakenfalseRemedialActionTakenInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (true)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T FiledfalseForm8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due YetYes (true)RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To RebatefalseExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate DuefalseNoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate IssuefalseVariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And RecfalseHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd

Hedge Provider Name HedgeProviderName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line10BusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Proceeds Invested In GICfalseGrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd

GIC Provider Name GICProviderName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line10BusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Proceeds InvestedfalseGrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsYes (true)WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (true)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Column FTo refinance the cost of acquiring, constructing, renovating, and installing.
Part IV, Line 2cThe Rebate Computation date is N/A

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personjill rosenbluthPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionFamily Member of Billie Greenberg (Board Member)RelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$47,086TransactionAmt
TransactionCOMPENSATIONTransactionDesc
Sharing Of RevenuesfalseSharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Question 2Jay Davis and Ann Davis both serve as board members on The Alfred and Adele Davis Academy, Inc. and they are married. Dulcy Rosenberg is a board member of the Academy. Michelle Rosenberg is the daughter of Dulcy and serves as a member of the board.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11The Head of School and CFO review the return in detail prior to filing and a copy of the return is available for all board members to review as requested.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12CThe organization has board members and officers read and sign an acknowledgement that they have read the policies and procedures and that no conflicts exist. Should conflicts arise, the issues are discussed and resolved by an independent committee of the board.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15CEO COMPENSATION IS DETERMINED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, CFO COMPENSATION BY CEO IN CONSULTATION WITH THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, AND KEY EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION DETERMINED BY THE CEO AND CFO IN CONSULTATION WITH THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 18THESE ITEMS ARE MADE AVAILABLE AT THE ORGANIZATION OFFICES UPON REQUEST.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19Available upon request.
Form 990, Part XI, Line 8Bad Debt Recovery - 22,837
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2CAUDIT COMMITTEE MEETS ANNUALLY WITH AUDITORS, REVIEWS FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, MAKES ANY RECOMMENDATIONS NECESSARY TO BOARD, AND THE BOARD VOTES TO ACCEPT AUDIT AND/OR APPROVES AUDIT COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS.