MAINE COMMUNITY HEALTH OPTIONS: Form 990, tax year 2020
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- MAINE COMMUNITY HEALTH OPTIONS (EIN 45-3416923)
- Tax period
- 2020-01-01 to 2020-12-31
- Filed
- 2021-11-15
- IRS object ID
- 202123199349327867
- Schema version
- 2020v4.1
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2021-11-15T18:01:28-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2020-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 135565207 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | KPMG LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 60 SOUTH STREET TWO FINANCIAL | AddressLine1Txt |
| Address Line2 | CENTER | AddressLine2Txt |
| City | BOSTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 02111 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2020-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 453416923 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | MAINE COMMUNITY HEALTH OPTIONS | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | MAIN | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 2074023330 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 150 MILL STREET THIRD FLOOR | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | LEWISTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | ME | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 04240 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | JOANNE LAUTERBACH | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 2073302390 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2021-11-15 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | JOANNE | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | LAUTERBACH | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | STEPHANIE LONCZAK | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P01880207 | PTIN |
| Phone | 6179881000 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2021-11-15 | PreparationDt |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 3 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2020 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2022-09-23 18:48:47Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | KEVIN LEWIS | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 150 MILL STREET THIRD FLOOR | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | LEWISTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | ME | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 04240 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $230,534,833 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | WWW.HEALTHOPTIONS.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 2011 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | ME | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | SEE SCHEDULE O | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 17 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 17 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 190 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 17 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $17,054 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $13,380 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $314,606,284 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $228,677,518 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $3,559,190 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $1,857,315 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $0 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $0 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $318,165,474 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $230,534,833 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $500,000 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $5,000 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $249,484,693 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $126,374,419 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $21,532,012 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $19,582,760 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $21,461,925 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $28,070,189 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $292,978,630 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $174,032,368 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $25,186,844 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $56,502,465 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $182,400,877 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $218,975,407 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $98,211,956 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $78,835,404 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $84,188,921 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $140,140,003 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | ESTABLISHING AND OPERATING A CONSUMER OPERATED AND ORIENTED PLAN ("CO-OP") IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE PROVISIONS OF SECTION 1322 OF THE PATIENT PROTECTION AND AFFORDABLE CARE ACT. AS A CONSUMER - GOVERNED NONPROFIT HEALTH INSURANCE ISSUER THAT WILL PROMOTE INTEGRATED MODELS OF CARE AND ENHANCE COMPETITION BY OFFERING ONE OR MORE QUALIFIED HEALTH PLANS IN THE AFFORDABLE INSURANCE EXCHANGES. CREATING AND DEVELOPING INNOVATIVE FORMS OF HEALTHCARE DELIVERY FOR THE PURPOSE OF CREATING BETTER HEALTHCARE VALUE THROUGH IMPROVED HEALTH OUTCOMES AT LOWER COSTS. PROMOTING THE HEALTH OF THE PEOPLE OF MAINE AND NEW HAMPSHIRE AND EDUCATING THE PUBLIC ABOUT HEALTH, HEALTH CARE AND RELATED TOPICS.FORM 990, PART V, LINE 13MCHO IS LICENSED TO ISSUE QUALIFIED HEALTH PLANS IN THE FOLLOWING STATES:ME, NHMCHO MAINTAINS AND REPORTS THE FULL AMOUNT OF RESERVES REQUIRED BY MAINE AND NEW HAMPSHIRE STATE LAW OF $100,000 AND $0, RESPECTIVELY. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Desc | ESTABLISHING AND OPERATING A CONSUMER OPERATED AND ORIENTED PLAN ("CO-OP") IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE PROVISIONS OF THE SECTION 1322 OF THE PATIENT PROTECTION AND AFFORDABLE CARE ACT. AS A CONSUMER-GOVERNED NONPROFIT HEALTH INSURANCE ISSUER THAT WILL PROMOTE INTEGRATED MODELS OF CARE AND ENHANCE COMPETITION BY OFFERING ONE OR MORE QUALIFIED HEALTH PLANS IN THE AFFORDABLE INSURANCE EXCHANGES. PROMOTING THE HEALTH OF THE PEOPLE OF MAINE AND EDUCATING THE PUBLIC ABOUT HEALTH, HEALTH CARE AND RELATED TOPICS. | Desc |
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | 0 | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | 0 | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | 0 | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | Yes (1) | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | Yes (1) | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part V | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVInd |
| IRP Document | 1883 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 190 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Licensed More Than One State | Yes (1) | LicensedMoreThanOneStateInd |
| State Required Reserves | $100,000 | StateRequiredReservesAmt |
| Reserves Maintained | $100,000 | ReservesMaintainedAmt |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 17 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 17 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (1) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | ME | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | NH | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | JOANNE LAUTERBACH | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 2073302390 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 150 MILL STREET THIRD FLOOR | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | LEWISTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | ME | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 04240 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (28 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | OfficerOfficerInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| REBECCA CONRAD | |||||||
| DIRECTOR (AS OF 1/1/2020) | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| FREDERIC C GRAIGIE JR | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| SARAH HINES | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| HOLLY KORDA | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ASHER KRAMER | |||||||
| DIRECTOR (AS OF 1/1/2020) | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ROBERT LORENZO | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| HEIDI LUKAS | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ROCELL MARCELLINO | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JEFF NORRIS | |||||||
| PRESIDENT | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MICHAEL POULIN | |||||||
| DIRECTOR (1/1/20 - 7/16/20) | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| SHARON REISHUS | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DAVID SHIPMAN | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DAVID SHULTZ | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JUDIANN FERRETTI SMITH | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MITCHELL STEIN | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| LISA TAPERT | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| RHONDA WESTON | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DOUGLAS WILSON | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| KEVIN LEWIS | |||||||
| CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER | 40.00 | $470,170 | $0 | $25,626 | Yes (X) | ||
| WILLIAM KILBRETH | |||||||
| CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER | 40.00 | $283,842 | $0 | $38,256 | Yes (X) | ||
| EDWARD VOZZO | |||||||
| CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER (THRU AUG 2020) | 40.00 | $229,472 | $0 | $6,717 | Yes (X) | ||
| ROBERT HILLMAN | |||||||
| CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER | 40.00 | $398,212 | $0 | $35,926 | Yes (X) | ||
| JOANNE LAUTERBACH | |||||||
| CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | 40.00 | $170,953 | $0 | $6,343 | Yes (X) | ||
| MARGARET KELLEY | |||||||
| AVP OF MEDICAL SERVICES | 40.00 | $264,262 | $0 | $34,728 | Yes (X) | ||
| NANCY JOHNSON | |||||||
| AVP COMPLIANCE & REG. AFFAIRS | 40.00 | $164,062 | $0 | $31,817 | Yes (X) | ||
| GRAYSON STUNTZ | |||||||
| DIRECTOR OF INFO. TECHNOLOGY | 40.00 | $157,306 | $0 | $34,313 | Yes (X) | ||
| JANE CARIELLO | |||||||
| AVP SERVICE OPERATIONS | 40.00 | $155,073 | $0 | $29,893 | Yes (X) | ||
| KIRK MIKLAVIC | |||||||
| VP OF HUMAN RESOURCES | 40.00 | $166,269 | $0 | $32,239 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $2,459,621 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $275,858 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 31 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UST GLOBAL INC | |||||
| PO BOX 31001-1967 | PASADENA | CA | 911101967 | CLAIMS PLATFORM VEND | $3,118,751 |
| EVICORE | |||||
| 400 BUCKWATER PLACE BLVD | BLUFFTON | SC | 29910 | UTILITZATION MGMT | $2,381,662 |
| FREEPORT METRICS INC | |||||
| 15 FRANKLIN STREET 2ND FLOOR | PORTLAND | ME | 04101 | SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT | $1,261,635 |
| MILLIMAN | |||||
| ATTN ANNA ORTIZ 80 LAMBERTON RD | WINDSOR | CT | 06095 | PRINT/MAIL VENDOR | $856,529 |
| SUMMIT REINSURANCE SERVICES INC | |||||
| 7030 POINTE INVERNESS WAY STE 350 | FORT WAYNE | IN | 46804 | REINSURANCE PREM. | $781,092 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 52 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | PREMIUM REVENUE | Desc |
| Business | 900099 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $228,677,518 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $228,677,518 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $228,677,518 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $1,857,315 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $17,054 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,840,261 | ExclusionAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $230,534,833 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $228,677,518 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $17,054 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,840,261 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $5,000 | TotalAmt |
Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $126,374,419 | TotalAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,735,474 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $13,804,620 | TotalAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $345,680 | TotalAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,837,943 | TotalAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $859,043 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $9,387,378 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $547,795 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $50,200 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $259,212 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,494,077 | TotalAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $537,560 | TotalAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $724,383 | TotalAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,734,613 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $401,992 | TotalAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $32,801 | TotalAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $23,630 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $514,181 | TotalAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $383,450 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt |
|---|---|
| GOVERNMENT MANDATED FEE | $7,792,652 |
| DUES, ASSOC. AND MEMBER | $186,265 |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $174,032,368 | TotalAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,109,643 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $61,990,275 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $103,777,257 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $77,646,032 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,626,942 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,892,800 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $0 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $51,384,627 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $68,950,865 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $12,502,408 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,495,435 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $182,400,877 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $218,975,407 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $68,295,297 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $54,115,719 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $450,565 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $324,702 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $29,466,094 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $24,394,983 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $98,211,956 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $78,835,404 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $84,188,921 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $140,140,003 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $84,188,921 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $140,140,003 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $182,400,877 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $218,975,407 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $56,502,465 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | -$551,383 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Other | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingOtherInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Performed | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $0 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| UNPAID CLAIMS AND LOSS | $20,459,204 |
| UNEARNED PREMIUMS | $3,935,779 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $24,394,983 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $244,824,808 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Revenue | $51,605,864 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $51,605,864 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $193,218,944 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $259,212 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $37,056,677 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $37,315,889 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $230,534,833 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $188,322,343 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | -$37,056,677 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | -$37,056,677 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $225,379,020 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $259,212 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | -$51,605,864 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | -$51,346,652 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $174,032,368 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART X, LINE 2: | EXPLANATION: MAINE COMMUNITY HEALTH OPTIONS HAS BEEN RECOGNIZED BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE AS AN ORGANIZATION DESCRIBED IN INTERNAL REVENUE CODE SECTION 501(C)(29) AND IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501(A) OF THE CODE. ACCORDINGLY NO PROVISION FOR INCOME TAXES HAS BEEN MADE IN THE ACCOMPANYING FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE ORGANIZATION FOLLOWS THE PROVISIONS OF ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES AS PROVIDED FOR IN THE INCOME TAXES TOPIC OF THE FASB ACCOUNTING STANDARDS CODIFICATION, WHICH CLARIFIES THE CRITERIA THAT AN INDIVIDUAL TAX POSITION MUST BE RECOGNIZED IN AN ENTITY'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. IT ALSO PRESCRIBES A RECOGNITION THRESHOLD OF MORE LIKELY THAN NOT, AND A MEASUREMENT ATTRIBUTE FOR ALL TAX POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN ON A TAX RETURN, IN ORDER FOR THOSE TAX POSITIONS TO BE RECOGNIZED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THERE WAS NO CUMULATIVE EFFECT ON THE ORGANIZATION'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS RELATED TO FOLLOWING THESE PROVISIONS, AND NO INTEREST OR PENALTIES RELATED TO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS WERE ACCRUED. THE ORGANIZATION IS CURRENTLY OPEN TO AUDIT UNDER THE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE AND STATE TAXING AUTHORITIES FOR THE YEARS ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2017 THROUGH 2019. |
| PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | CONTRA-PREMIUMS AND REINSURANCE PREMIUMS |
| PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | OTHER REIMBURSEMENTS AND REBATES |
| PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | OTHER REIMBURSEMENTS AND REBATES |
| PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | CONTRA-PREMIUMS AND REINSURANCE PREMIUMS |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | Yes (1) | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (10 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KEVIN LEWIS | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER | $379,568 | $0 | $90,602 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $7,631 | $0 | $17,995 | $0 | $495,796 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| ROBERT HILLMAN | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER | $320,519 | $0 | $77,693 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $8,167 | $0 | $27,759 | $0 | $434,138 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| WILLIAM KILBRETH | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER | $228,899 | $0 | $54,943 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $8,008 | $0 | $30,248 | $0 | $322,098 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MARGARET KELLEY | ||||||||||||||
| AVP OF MEDICAL SERVICES | $230,277 | $0 | $33,985 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $9,465 | $0 | $25,263 | $0 | $298,990 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| EDWARD VOZZO | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER (THRU AUG 20 | $168,445 | $0 | $61,027 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $6,717 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $236,189 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| KIRK MIKLAVIC | ||||||||||||||
| VP OF HUMAN RESOURCES | $166,269 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $6,690 | $0 | $25,549 | $0 | $198,508 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| NANCY JOHNSON | ||||||||||||||
| AVP COMPLIANCE & REG. AFFAIRS | $164,062 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $6,651 | $0 | $25,166 | $0 | $195,879 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| GRAYSON STUNTZ | ||||||||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF INFO. TECHNOLOGY | $157,306 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $5,921 | $0 | $28,392 | $0 | $191,619 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JANE CARIELLO | ||||||||||||||
| AVP SERVICE OPERATIONS | $155,073 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $6,292 | $0 | $23,601 | $0 | $184,966 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JOANNE LAUTERBACH | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | $170,953 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $3,367 | $0 | $2,976 | $0 | $177,296 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 7 | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | CERTAIN INDIVIDUALS RECEIVED A NON-FIXED BONUS PAYMENT. THESE PAYMENTS WERE DISCRETIONARY AND REQUIRED BOARD APPROVAL. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL
Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp
Name Of Interested NameOfInterested
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | DFD RUSSELL MEDICAL CENTER | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Relationship Description | KEVIN LEWIS, CEO OF MCHO | RelationshipDescriptionTxt |
| Transaction | $56,376 | TransactionAmt |
| Transaction | CLAIMS PAID | TransactionDesc |
| Sharing Of Revenues | Yes (1) | SharingOfRevenuesInd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE L, PART IV | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | KEVIN LEWIS, CEO OF ORGANIZATION'S WIFE IS CEO OF DFD RUSSELL MEDICAL. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART I, LINE 1: | TO PARTNER WITH MAINE PEOPLE, BUSINESSES AND HEALTH PROFESSIONALS TO PROVIDE AFFORDABLE, HIGH QUALITY BENEFITS THAT PROMOTE HEALTH AND WELL BEING. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6 | EXPLANATION: THIS CORPORATION HAS ONE CLASS OF MEMBERS CONSISTING OF ALL INDIVIDUALS COVERED UNDER HEALTH INSURANCE POLICIES ISSUED BY THE CORPORATION. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7A | EXPLANATION: EACH MEMBER 18 YEARS AND OLDER SHALL HAVE A SINGLE VOTE. ALL DECISIONS OF THE MEMBERS SHALL BE BY A MAJORITY VOTE. THE MEMBERS SHALL BE LISTED ON A SCHEDULE THAT SHALL BE MAINTAINED WITH THIS CORPORATION'S OTHER BOOKS AND RECORDS. THE MEMBERS SHALL HAVE THE SOLE AND EXCLUSIVE POWER AND AUTHORITY: TO AMEND THIS CORPORATION'S ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION; TO ELECT OR REMOVE DIRECTORS OF THIS CORPORATION; AND TO APPROVE THE MERGER, CONSOLIDATION, DISSOLUTION, OR SALE OF ALL OR SUBSTANTIALLY ALL OF THE ASSETS OF THIS CORPORATION. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7B | EXPLANATION: EACH MEMBER 18 YEARS AND OLDER SHALL HAVE A SINGLE VOTE. ALL DECISIONS OF THE MEMBERS SHALL BE BY A MAJORITY VOTE. THE MEMBERS SHALL BE LISTED ON A SCHEDULE THAT SHALL BE MAINTAINED WITH THIS CORPORATION'S OTHER BOOKS AND RECORDS. THE MEMBERS SHALL HAVE THE SOLE AND EXCLUSIVE POWER AND AUTHORITY: TO AMEND THIS CORPORATION'S ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION; TO ELECT OR REMOVE DIRECTORS OF THIS CORPORATION; AND TO APPROVE THE MERGER, CONSOLIDATION, DISSOLUTION, OR SALE OF ALL OR SUBSTANTIALLY ALL OF THE ASSETS OF THIS CORPORATION. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | EXPLANATION: A COPY OF THE FORM 990 IS PROVIDED TO BOARD MEMBERS FOR REVIEW AND APPROVAL PRIOR TO FILING. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | EXPLANATION: WHEN OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS START, THEY ARE REQUIRED TO SIGN A STATEMENT INDICATING THAT THEY DO NOT HAVE ANY CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. THEY ARE THEN REQUIRED TO RECERTIFY ANNUALLY THAT THEY DO NOT HAVE ANY CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | EXPLANATION: NUMEROUS LEVELS OF OVERSIGHT WERE INVOLVED IN SETTING BOTH CEO AND OFFICERS' COMPENSATION FOR MAINE COMMUNITY HEALTH OPTIONS. FIRST AND FOREMOST, THE FORMATION BOARD OF MCHO WAS CRITICALLY INVOLVED IN THE DECISION ABOUT THE COMPENSATION OF THE CEO. SALARIES OF CEOS OF OTHER NON-PROFIT INSURANCE ORGANIZATIONS WERE PROVIDED TO THE BOARD AND THE CEO SALARY WAS APPROVED. ONCE APPROVED BY THE BOARD, CMS REVIEWED THE SALARY FOR REASONABLENESS AND ADEQUATE COMPARABILITY PRIOR TO EXECUTION OF THE LETTER OF AGREEMENT. TO DETERMINE SALARIES FOR THE REMAINING OFFICERS OF MCHO, THE CEO AND THE CHRO UTILIZED THE 2011 ACAP SURVEY TO UNDERSTAND COMPARABLE SALARIES BASED ON WHAT WOULD BE PAID FOR SERVICES PERFORMED BY AN OFFICER FOR LIKE ENTERPRISES UNDER LIKE CIRCUMSTANCES. ONCE A SALARY WAS DETERMINED, THE CEO PROVIDED THE CONTRACT AND SALARY TO CMS TO ENSURE OVERSIGHT, COMPARABILITY AND REASONABLENESS. ONCE CMS APPROVED THE CONTRACT AND SALARY, THE CONTRACT WAS EXECUTED. ALL COMPENSATION DECISIONS ARE DOCUMENTED. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | EXPLANATION: MCHO WILL MAKE ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICIES AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC IN PRINT UPON REQUEST. MCHO'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE MADE PUBLIC WITH THE MAINE BUREAU OF INSURANCE AND THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF INSURANCE COMMISSIONERS AS WELL AS THROUGH FORM 990. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9: | CHANGE IN NONADMITTED ASSETS -551,383. |
| FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 1 | MAINE COMMUNITY HEALTH OPTIONS PREPARED ITS 2020 AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS USING THE STATUTORY BASIS, WHICH IS A COMPREHENSIVE METHOD OTHER THAN U.S. GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES (GAAP). |
| FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C: | EXPLANATION: THIS PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp
Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | COMMUNITY OPTIONS LLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO BOX 1121 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | LEWISTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | ME | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 04243 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 301244131 | EIN |
| Primary Activities | LICENSED RESIDENT PRODUCER AGENCY | PrimaryActivitiesTxt |
| Legal Domicile State | ME | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Total Income | $0 | TotalIncomeAmt |
| End Of Year Assets | $0 | EndOfYearAssetsAmt |
Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | MAINE COMMUNITY HEALTH OPTIONS | BusinessNameLine1Txt |