STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF COLLEGES OF NURSING: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF COLLEGES OF NURSING (EIN 52-0971333)
Tax period
2019-07-01 to 2020-06-30
Filed
2021-02-10
IRS object ID
202130419349301353
Schema version
2019v5.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-02-10T13:40:40-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN521711839PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1COUNCILOR BUCHANAN & MITCHELL PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17910 WOODMONT AVE STE 500AddressLine1Txt
CityBETHESDACityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20814ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN520971333EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF COLLEGES OFBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2NURSINGBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlAMERBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2024636930PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1655 K STREET NW NO 750AddressLine1Txt
CityWASHINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationDCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20001ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDEBORAH E TRAUTMANPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENT & CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone2024636930PhoneNum
Signature2021-02-08SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonHOLLY CAPORALEPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00235685PTIN
Phone3019860600PhoneNum
Preparation2021-02-08PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDEBORAH E TRAUTMANPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1655 K STREET NW NO 750AddressLine1Txt
CityWASHINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationDCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20001ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$22,128,529GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.AACNNURSING.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1969FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateDCLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionAS THE COLLECTIVE VOICE FOR ACADEMIC NURSING, AACN SERVES AS THE CATALYST FOR EXCELLENCE AND INNOVATION IN NURSING EDUCATION, RESEARCH, AND PRACTICE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body14VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent14VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee77TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers1099TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$846,630TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$251,590NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$5,401,520PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$5,569,631CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$8,211,331PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$7,472,406CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$982,302PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$87,467CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$2,471,017PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$2,579,884CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$17,066,170PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$15,709,388CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$474,282PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$149,856CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$6,908,466PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,196,041CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$83,183CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$7,870,246PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$7,352,521CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$15,252,994PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$14,698,418CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,813,176PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$1,010,970CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$30,486,549TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$32,242,011TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$6,838,372TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$7,736,909TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$23,648,177NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$24,505,102NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionAS THE COLLECTIVE VOICE FOR ACADEMIC NURSING, AACN SERVES AS THE CATALYST FOR EXCELLENCE AND INNOVATION IN NURSING EDUCATION, RESEARCH, AND PRACTICE.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$3,342,002ExpenseAmt
Revenue$4,126,207RevenueAmt
DescACCREDITATION: THE COMMISSION ON COLLEGIATE NURSING EDUCATION (CCNE), AN AUTONOMOUS ARM OF AACN, ACCREDITS BACCALAUREATE AND GRADUATE NURSING EDUCATION PROGRAMS, AS WELL AS ENTRY-TO-PRACTICE NURSE RESIDENCY PROGRAMS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$1,760,493ExpenseAmt
Revenue$1,200,545RevenueAmt
DescCONFERENCES:NATIONAL CONFERENCES FOCUS ON EMERGING ISSUES OF INTEREST TO A VARIETY OF CONSTITUENT GROUPS WITHIN SCHOOLS OF NURSING.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$1,663,952ExpenseAmt
Revenue$351,347RevenueAmt
DescACADEMIC NURSING: THIS PROGRAM AREA CONSISTS OF MULTIPLE INITIATIVES AND ACTIVITIES RELATED TO ACADEMIC NURSING, INCLUDING THE ESTABLISHMENT OF CURRICULAR STANDARDS, QUALITY INDICATORS FOR NURSING PROGRAMS, ACADEMIC-PRACTICE PARTNERSHIPS, AND INTERPROFESSIONAL ENGAGEMENT.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp (11 entries)

ExpenseExpenseAmtGrantGrantAmtRevenueRevenueAmtDescDesc
$802,390$124,356$101,963GRANTS & CONTRACTS:THESE PROGRAMS ADVANCE NURSING EDUCATION, RESEARCH, AND PRACTICE AND INCLUDE PROJECTS FUNDED BY THE JONAS PHILANTHROPIES, THE BECKMAN RESEARCH INSTITUTE OF CITY OF HOPE, CENTERS FOR DISEASE CONTROL AND PREVENTION, NATIONAL INSTITUTES OF HEALTH (ALL OF US RESEARCH), SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAMS, AND OTHERS.
$415,925$73,511DATA/RESEARCH:AACN'S INSTITUTIONAL DATA SYSTEMS AND RESEARCH CENTER (IDS) PROVIDES ESSENTIAL DATA ON TRENDS IMPACTING ACADEMIC NURSING AND THE HEALTHCARE WORKFORCE.
$932,480$26,722GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS/POLICY:THESE PROGRAMS PROMOTE AND SPEARHEAD ADVOCACY FOR NURSING EDUCATION AND RESEARCH THROUGHOUT THE FEDERAL LEGISLATIVE AND REGULATORY PROCESS.
$1,055,005$37,758COMMUNICATIONS:AACN'S COMMUNICATIONS INITIATIVES ESTABLISH THE ASSOCIATION AS AN AUTHORITATIVE SOURCE FOR INFORMATION ON BACCALAUREATE AND GRADUATE NURSING EDUCATION BY GENERATING INCREASED VISIBILITY WITHIN AND OUTSIDE NURSING. PUBLICATIONS INCLUDE THE JOURNAL OF PROFESSIONAL NURSING, SYLLABUS NEWSLETTER, AND THE WEEKLY AACN NEWS WATCH, AMONG OTHERS.
$610,641$330,769LEADERSHIP PROGRAMS: AACN'S PORTFOLIO OF LEADERSHIP DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMS ARE DESIGNED FOR ALL INDIVIDUALS ALONG THE LEADERSHIP CONTINUUM, FROM NOVICE FACULTY TO SEASONED ADMINISTRATOR.
$168,231$531STUDENT INITIATIVES:STUDENT INITIATIVES PROVIDE TOOLS, EDUCATION, AND RESOURCES THAT ADDRESS THE PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT NEEDS OF GRADUATE STUDENTS OF AACN MEMBER SCHOOLS.
$442,343$410,617DIVERSITY:AACN OFFERS A PORTFOLIO OF PROGRAMS RELATED TO DIVERSITY, INCLUSION, AND EQUITY, INCLUDING A SPECIAL FOCUS ON HOLISTIC ADMISSIONS REVIEW.
$298,969$32,500NURSINGCAS:THIS NATIONAL CENTRALIZED APPLICATION SERVICE ALLOWS PROSPECTIVE STUDENTS TO RESEARCH AND APPLY TO MULTIPLE NURSING PROGRAMS USING ONE ELECTRONIC APPLICATION.
$512,624$12,025CERTIFICATION:THE COMMISSION ON NURSE CERTIFICATION (CNC) OFFERS CERTIFICATION TO GRADUATES OF CNL PROGRAMS WHO MEET THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS ESTABLISHED BY CNC.
$238,106$65,032NETWORK PROGRAMS:LEADERSHIP NETWORKS PROVIDE INFORMATION, NETWORKING, AND PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT FOR NURSING SCHOOL FACULTY AND STAFF.
$50,269$25,500$84,939FOUNDATION:THE FOUNDATION FOR ACADEMIC NURSING IS A PHILANTHROPIC DIVISION OF AACN WHICH RAISES FUNDS TO ADVANCE ACADEMIC NURSING, INCREASE THE IMPACT OF AACN'S VISION AND MISSION, AND SUPPORT MEMBERS' GOALS THAT ALIGN WITH AACN PRIORITIES. INITIATIVES INCLUDE THE FACULTY SCHOLARS GRANT PROGRAM AND THE COVID-19 NURSING STUDENT SUPPORT FUND.
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$5,526,983TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$149,856TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$1,176,367TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$12,293,430TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document61IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee77EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members14GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member14IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldDCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HEATHER SHELFORDBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2024636930PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1655 K STREET NW NO 750AddressLine1Txt
CityWASHINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationDCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20001ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (25 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
ANN CARY
CHAIR (UNTIL 3/23/20)10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
SUSAN BAKEWELL-SACHS
CHAIR (FROM 3/23/20)10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
CYNTHIA MCCURREN
CHAIR-ELECT (FROM 3/23/20)7.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEAN LEUNER
SECRETARY2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LIN ZHAN
TREASURER2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LEPAINE SHARP-MCHENRY
MEMBER AT LARGE (UNTIL 3/23/20)2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHRISTIE SHELTON
MEMBER AT LARGE (UNTIL 10/1/19)2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KRISTEN SWANSON
MEMBER AT LARGE (UNTIL 3/23/20)2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TERRI WEAVER
MEMBER AT LARGE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEAN GIDDENS
MEMBER AT LARGE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JUDITH KARSHMER
MEMBER AT LARGE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JULIE SANFORD
MEMBER AT LARGE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JERRY MANSFIELD
MEMBER AT LARGE (FROM 3/23/20)2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
VICTORIA NIEDERHAUSER
MEMBER AT LARGE (FROM 3/23/20)2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RANDOLPH RASCH
MEMBER AT LARGE (FROM 3/23/20)2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAN STROM
MEMBER AT LARGE (FROM 3/23/20)2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARJORIE WIGGINS
MEMBER AT LARGE (FROM 3/23/20)2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JENNIFER AHEARN
CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER38.00Yes (X)$273,845$0$53,424
JENNIFER BUTLIN
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF CCNE38.00Yes (X)$216,306$0$54,276
DEBORAH E TRAUTMAN
PRESIDENT & CEO38.00Yes (X)$486,089$0$63,367
ROBERT ROSSETER
CHIEF COMMUNICATIONS OFFICER38.00$229,588$0$34,595Yes (X)
JOAN STANLEY
CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER38.00$233,588$0$53,424Yes (X)
RACHEL STEVENSON
DIRECTOR OF GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS38.00$143,974$0$25,489Yes (X)
KATHLEEN MCGUINN
DIR. OF INTERPROFESSIONAL EDUCATION & PRACTICE PAR38.00$169,135$0$32,428Yes (X)
HEATHER SHELFORD
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE & ADMIN38.00$155,897$0$26,927Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,908,422TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$343,930TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K18IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
POLSINELLI PC
1401 EYE STREET NW SUITE 800WASHINGTONDC20005LOBBYING CONSULTANT$193,277
OPTIMAL NETWORKS
15201 DIAMONDBACK DR SUITE 220ROCKVILLEMD20850IT CONSULTANT$160,376
HBP
952 FREDERICK STREETHAGERSTOWNMD21740PRINTING/DESIGN$107,885
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Membership Dues$4,788,240MembershipDuesAmt
Government Grants$426,941GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$354,450AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$5,569,631TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
APPLICATION & EVALUATION FEES541900$4,094,407$4,094,407
REGISTRATION FEES541900$2,326,037$2,326,037
CERTIFICATIONS541900$602,343$602,343
PUBLICATIONS SALES541900$347,656$103,369$244,287
PROFESSIONAL SERVICES541900$101,963$101,963
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$7,472,406TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,031,861TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,031,861ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,351,194TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,351,194ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,474,747SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$6,419,141SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$944,394SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$944,394TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$944,394ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
OTHER REVENUE541900$220,490$220,490
MAILING LIST SALES541900$7,900$7,900
STAFF HONORARIA541900$300$300
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$228,690OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$15,709,388TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$6,854,466RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$846,630UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,438,661ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$53,356TotalAmt
Program Services$53,356ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$96,500TotalAmt
Program Services$96,500ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,055,996TotalAmt
Program Services$584,191ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$441,054ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$30,751FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,687,714TotalAmt
Program Services$4,040,665ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$607,579ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$39,470FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$414,746TotalAmt
Program Services$376,929ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$37,817ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$621,470TotalAmt
Program Services$477,585ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$138,876ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,009FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$416,115TotalAmt
Program Services$337,413ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$73,732ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,970FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$48,754TotalAmt
Program Services$37,425ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$11,329ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$41,029TotalAmt
Program Services$16,307ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$24,722ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$218,169TotalAmt
Program Services$218,169ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$102,176TotalAmt
Program Services$36,447ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$65,729ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$864,048TotalAmt
Program Services$700,034ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$164,014ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$756,871TotalAmt
Program Services$611,525ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$145,346ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$431,906TotalAmt
Program Services$292,746ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$139,160ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$676,164TotalAmt
Program Services$543,674ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$132,490ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,232,605TotalAmt
Program Services$1,180,823ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$51,782ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$487,351TotalAmt
Program Services$346,090ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$141,261ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,351TotalAmt
Program Services$1,098ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,253ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$248,763TotalAmt
Program Services$207,046ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$38,734ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,983FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$68,343TotalAmt
Program Services$27,647ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$40,696ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
CATERING & AUDIO VISUAL$1,480,291$1,477,529$2,762
OTHER$453,674$441,948$11,726
DUES & SUBSCRIPTIONS$110,296$68,353$41,943
TAXES$72,751$72,751

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$54,979TotalAmt
Program Services$47,179ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,800ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,698,418TotalAmt
Program Services$12,293,430ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,321,805ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$83,183FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,801,599BOYAmt
EOY$5,924,188EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,168,588BOYAmt
EOY$3,049,873EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$175,009BOYAmt
EOY$82,197EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$638,355BOYAmt
EOY$824,908EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$572,697BOYAmt
EOY$642,962EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$2,560,337LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$1,168,314LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,930,625BOYAmt
EOY$1,392,023EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,137,336BOYAmt
EOY$20,263,520EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$62,340BOYAmt
EOY$62,340EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,486,549BOYAmt
EOY$32,242,011EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$707,984BOYAmt
EOY$650,300EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,062,703BOYAmt
EOY$3,963,827EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,067,685BOYAmt
EOY$3,122,782EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,838,372BOYAmt
EOY$7,736,909EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,171,566BOYAmt
EOY$24,131,683EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$476,611BOYAmt
EOY$373,419EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,648,177BOYAmt
EOY$24,505,102EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,486,549BOYAmt
EOY$32,242,011EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$1,010,970ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$154,045NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$10,344,758CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,129,509CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$5,624,990CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$5,401,520CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$5,569,631CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$32,070,408TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$10,344,758CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,129,509CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$5,624,990CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$5,401,520CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$5,569,631CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$32,070,408TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$4,406,822SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$27,663,586PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,264,944CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,211,698CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,812,700CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,139,496CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,383,055CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$13,811,893TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$187,278CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$217,490CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$156,563CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$277,782CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$252,869CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,091,982TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$147,866CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$170,460CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$226,363CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$212,530CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$243,751CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,000,970TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$47,975,253TotalSupportAmt
Public Support CY1700.57660PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.57990PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE A, PART II, LINE 10, EXPLANATION OF OTHER INCOME:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationOTHER INCOME - 2015 AMOUNT: $ 147,866. 2016 AMOUNT: $ 170,460. 2017 AMOUNT: $ 226,363. 2018 AMOUNT: $ 212,530. 2019 AMOUNT: $ 243,751.ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

Total Grassroots Lobbying TotalGrassrootsLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$6,679FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Total Direct Lobbying TotalDirectLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$211,490FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Total Lobbying Expend TotalLobbyingExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$218,169FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Other Exempt Purpose Expend OtherExemptPurposeExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$14,480,249FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Total Exempt Purpose Expend TotalExemptPurposeExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$14,698,418FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Lobbying Nontaxable Amount LobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$884,921FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Grassroots Nontaxable GrassrootsNontaxableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$221,230FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Tot Lbbyng Grassroot Mns Non Tx TotLbbyngGrassrootMnsNonTxGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Tot Lbby Expend Mns Lbbyng Non Tx TotLbbyExpendMnsLbbyngNonTxGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Avg Lobbying Nontaxable Amount AvgLobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$926,280CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$927,298CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$912,650CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$884,921CurrentYearAmt
Total$3,651,149TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Lobbying Ceiling$5,476,724LobbyingCeilingAmt

Avg Total Lobbying Expend AvgTotalLobbyingExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$191,769CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$203,024CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$254,698CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$218,169CurrentYearAmt
Total$867,660TotalAmt

Avg Grassroots Nontaxable AvgGrassrootsNontaxableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$231,570CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$231,825CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$228,163CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$221,230CurrentYearAmt
Total$912,788TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grassroots Ceiling$1,369,182GrassrootsCeilingAmt

Avg Grassroots Lobbying Expend AvgGrassrootsLobbyingExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$28,219CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$23,560CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$7,041CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$6,679CurrentYearAmt
Total$65,499TotalAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$113,294BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$274InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$3,070OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$110,498EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$111,052BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$5,316InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$3,074OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$113,294EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$109,367BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,913InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,228OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$111,052EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$108,525BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,345InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$503OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$109,367EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$107,231BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,998InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$2,704OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$108,525EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.79820PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.20180TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,282,723OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$325,628DepreciationAmt
Book Value$957,095BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$705,883OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$385,532DepreciationAmt
Book Value$320,351BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$571,731OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$457,154DepreciationAmt
Book Value$114,577BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$1,392,023TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
DEFERRED RENT$1,796,640
OBLIGATION UNDER CAPITAL LEASE$36,847
DEFERRED COMPENSATION PAYABLE$143,320
REFUNDABLE ADVANCES$1,145,975
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$3,122,782TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$15,453,167TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$154,045NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$154,045RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$15,607,212RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$102,176InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$102,176RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$15,709,388TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$14,596,242TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$14,596,242ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$102,176InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$102,176ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$14,698,418TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART V, LINE 4:THE INVESTMENT INCOME FROM THE ENDOWMENT FUND IS TO BE USED TO FUND STIPENDS AND LECTURE AWARDS FOR OUTSTANDING MEMBERS OF THE HEALTHCARE FIELD.
PART X, LINE 2:AACN REQUIRES THAT A TAX POSITION BE RECOGNIZED OR DERECOGNIZED BASED ON A "MORE-LIKELY-THAN-NOT" THRESHOLD. THIS APPLIES TO POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN IN A TAX RETURN. AACN DOES NOT BELIEVE ITS FINANCIAL STATEMENTS INCLUDE, OR REFLECT, ANY UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS. AACN'S FORMS 990, 990-T, AND D-20 ARE SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION BY THE TAXING AUTHORITIES FOR THREE YEARS AFTER FILING.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (4 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
NORTHWESTERN STATE UNIVERSITY
1800 LINE AVESHREVEPORTLA71101726000783501(C)(3)$5,000NIH ALL OF US GRANT
PACE UNIVERSITY
100 SUMMIT LAKE DRVALHALLANY10595135562314501(C)(3)$13,333NIH ALL OF US GRANT
HOWARD UNIVERSITY
2041 GEORGIA AVE NWWASHINGTONDC20059530204707501(C)(3)$6,667NIH ALL OF US GRANT
UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS HSC HOUSTON
SCHOOL OF NURSING 6901 BERTNER AVEHOUSTONTX77030741761309501(C)(3)$6,667NIH ALL OF US GRANT
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org4Total501c3OrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (5 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
NIDA MENTORED TRAINING AWARD3$11,000
FOUNDATION COVID-19 NURSING STUDENT SUPPORT FUND SCHOLARSHIP51$25,500
AFTERCOLLEGE SCHOLARSHIPS3$7,500
CASTLEBRANCH SCHOLARSHIPS12$50,000
UNIFORM ADVANTAGE SCHOLARSHIPS1$2,500

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 2:GRANTEES' EXPENDITURES AND ACTIVITIES ARE MONITORED BY PROGRAM STAFF ON A PERIODIC BASIS.
PART II:AACN ADMINISTERS THE NATIONAL INSTITUTES OF HEALTH (NIH) ALL OF US RESEARCH MINI-GRANTS PROGRAM. AACN'S HEALTH POLICY ADVISORY COMMITTEE (HPAC) EVALUATES APPLICATIONS AND SELECTS AWARDEES. PERIODIC/FINAL PROGRESS REPORTS ARE REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTIONS OF GRANT FUNDING.
PART III:AACN ADMINISTERS THE NATIONAL INSTITUTE ON DRUG ABUSE (NIDA) MENTORED TRAINING AWARD. AN ADVISORY COUNCIL SELECTS THE AWARDEE AND PERIODIC PROGRESS REPORTS ARE REQUIRED. THE AWARDEE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR A FINAL PROJECT WHICH IS DISSEMINATED AT AN AACN MEETING. AFTERCOLLEGE, CASTLEBRANCH, UNIFORM ADVANTAGE, AND COVID-19 NURSING STUDENT SUPPORT FUND SCHOLARSHIPS: AACN DISTRIBUTES SCHOLARSHIP FUNDS TO ELIGIBLE NURSING STUDENTS ON A ONE-TIME ONLY BASIS, SCHOLARSHIP APPLICANTS MUST COMPLETE AN APPLICATION FORM AND ESSAY FOR AWARD CONSIDERATION. AACN STAFF DETERMINE IF ALL ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS ARE MET, SELECT WINNERS, AND CONFIRM APPLICATION INFORMATION BEFORE AWARDS ARE FINALIZED AND ANNOUNCED. NO STUDENT FOLLOW-UP IS CONDUCTED AFTER SCHOLARSHIP MONIES ARE DISBURSED.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JENNIFER AHEARN
CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER$273,845$0$0$0$0$0$25,515$0$27,909$0$327,269$0$0$0
JENNIFER BUTLIN
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF CCNE$216,306$0$0$0$0$0$21,377$0$32,899$0$270,582$0$0$0
DEBORAH E TRAUTMAN
PRESIDENT & CEO$464,871$0$21,218$0$0$0$28,000$0$35,367$0$549,456$0$0$0
ROBERT ROSSETER
CHIEF COMMUNICATIONS OFFICER$229,588$0$0$0$0$0$21,008$0$13,587$0$264,183$0$0$0
JOAN STANLEY
CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER$233,588$0$0$0$0$0$21,294$0$32,130$0$287,012$0$0$0
RACHEL STEVENSON
DIRECTOR OF GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS$143,974$0$0$0$0$0$13,703$0$11,786$0$169,463$0$0$0
KATHLEEN MCGUINN
DIR. OF INTERPROFESSIONAL EDUCATION$169,135$0$0$0$0$0$15,993$0$16,435$0$201,563$0$0$0
HEATHER SHELFORD
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE & ADMIN$155,897$0$0$0$0$0$13,740$0$13,187$0$182,824$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 7FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationD. TRAUTMAN WAS PAID A PERFORMANCE BASED BONUS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THERE ARE FOUR CLASSES OF MEMBERSHIP: INSTITUTIONAL (VOTING), PROVISIONAL INSTITUTIONAL (NON-VOTING), EMERITUS (NON-VOTING), AND HONORARY/HONORARY ASSOCIATE (NON-VOTING).
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERSHIP VOTES ON THE ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND NOMINATING COMMITTEE, BYLAWS REVISIONS, POSITION STATEMENTS AND ANY OTHER MATTERS BROUGHT FORWARD AT THE BUSINESS MEETING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE MEMBERSHIP VOTES ON THE ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND NOMINATING COMMITTEE, BYLAWS REVISIONS, POSITION STATEMENTS AND ANY OTHER MATTERS BROUGHT FORWARD AT THE BUSINESS MEETING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 IS PREPARED BY AN INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTING FIRM AND REVIEWED BY THE DIRECTOR OF FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION, THE CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER, AND THE PRESIDENT & CEO. THE ACCOUNTING FIRM REVIEWS THE FORM 990 WITH THE AUDIT COMMITTEE AFTER WHICH THE FORM 990 IS POSTED TO A RESTRICTED ACCESS WEBSITE AND THE BOARD IS NOTIFIED THAT THE 990 IS AVAILABLE FOR REVIEW. THEY ARE GIVEN A DEADLINE FOR QUESTIONS AND CONCERNS AND THE CONTACT INFORMATION OF THE INDIVIDUAL RESPONSIBLE FOR RESPONDING TO QUESTIONS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE BOARD MEMBERS, NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEMBERS, PRESIDENT & CEO AND ALL DIRECTORS SIGN CONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENTS ANNUALLY. THE BOARD CHAIR REVIEWS THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS' STATEMENTS. IN ADDITION, BOARD MEMBERS ARE ASKED TO ORALLY CONFIRM THAT THERE ARE NO CONFLICTS AT EACH QUARTERLY BOARD MEETING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15ACOMPENSATION FOR THE PRESIDENT & CEO IS DETERMINED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION REPORT IS DEVELOPED BASED ON MARKET BENCHMARKS. THE SALARY FOR OTHER POSITIONS IS DETERMINED BY THE PRESIDENT & CEO BASED ON SIMILAR DATA REPORTS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19VARIOUS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS ARE ON THE AACN WEBSITE. FINANCIAL REPORTS ARE MADE TO THE MEMBERSHIP TWICE A YEAR DURING THE ASSOCIATION'S SEMIANNUAL BUSINESS MEETINGS.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CTHE AUDIT COMMITTEE ASSUMES RESPONSIBILITY FOR OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT AND SELECTION OF AN INDEPENDENT AUDITOR.