STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

COOS-CURRY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
COOS-CURRY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 93-0146827)
Tax period
2020-01-01 to 2020-12-31
Filed
2021-11-03
IRS object ID
202133079349302103
Schema version
2020v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-11-03T09:47:56-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN260152208PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DECORIA BLAIR & TEAGUE PSBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17307 N DIVISION ST STE 222AddressLine1Txt
CitySPOKANECityNm
State AbbreviationWAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP99208ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN930146827EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Coos-Curry Electric Cooperative IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCOOSBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5413323931PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 1268AddressLine1Txt
CityPort OrfordCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP97465ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBrent BischoffPersonNm
Person TitleCEO/General MgrPersonTitleTxt
Signature2021-11-01SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstBrentPersonFirstNm
Person LastBischoffPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonBrandon J BlairPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01966667PTIN
Phone5093282229PhoneNum

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
Federated Assurance LevelFAL1FederatedAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerBrent BischoffPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 1268AddressLine1Txt
CityPort OrfordCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP97465ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$39,008,397GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website Addresswww.ccec.coopWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1939FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateORLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionDistribution and sale of electric energy to its members located in substantially all of Curry County, Oregon & portions of Coos County & Douglas County, Oregon. Revenues are substantially derived from the cooperative's residential, commercial and industrial customers.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body7VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee71TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Gross UBI$239,270TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$54,107NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$37,802,126PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$38,338,878CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$502,373PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$430,249CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$241,423PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$239,270CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$38,545,922PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$39,008,397CYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$3,413,969PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$3,675,403CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$6,501,055PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,224,664CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$28,630,898PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$27,108,330CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$38,545,922PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$39,008,397CYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$0CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$106,840,089TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$107,037,676TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$47,928,887TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$46,478,381TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$58,911,202NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$60,559,295NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionThe Cooperative, organized in 1939, is engaged in the distribution and sale of electric energy to its members located in substantially all of Curry County, Oregon & portions of Coos County & Douglas County, Oregon. Substantially all revenues are derived from the sale of electric power to residential, commercial and industrial customers. The Cooperative serves approximately 14,700 members and 18,800 meters.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
DescDistribution and sale of electric energy to approximately 14,700 cooperative members.Desc
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsfalseDonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (true)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingYes (true)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (true)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntYes (true)BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document60IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee71EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$38,087,632MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$1,056,147OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members7GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPaul Keeler CFOPersonNm
Phone5413323931PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 1268AddressLine1Txt
CityPort OrfordCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP97465ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (18 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
Matthew Mjelde
Engineering Manager43.000.00$186,182$0$168,064
Randy McDonald
Operations Manager43.000.00$177,563$0$166,875
Brent Bischoff
CEO/General Mgr44.000.00$249,564$0$85,048Yes (X)
Frank Corrales Jr
CFO43.000.00$178,858$0$85,308Yes (X)
Timothy Hawkins
Line Foreman55.000.00$153,769$0$108,468
Jacob Knudsen
Marketing & Member Serv Mgr43.000.00$179,448$0$73,956
Scott Adams
Asst. Oper. Mgr.45.000.00$146,322$0$96,848
Daniel Springer
CIO42.000.00$179,064$0$56,436Yes (X)
Scott Elliott
Line Foreman59.000.00$172,392$0$59,099
Thomas Gastonguay
Journeyman Lineman56.000.00$154,867$0$65,002
Donald Alexander
Line Foreman54.000.00$150,991$0$67,264
Peter C Radabaugh
Director7.000.00$7,663$0$0Yes (X)
Daniel Loshbaugh
Director8.000.00$6,650$0$0Yes (X)
Daryl C Robison
Director8.000.00$6,000$0$0Yes (X)
Georgia A Cockerham
Vice President7.000.00$5,800$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Jim Kolen
Secretary/Treas8.000.00$4,900$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Cheryl McMahan
Director6.000.00$4,900$0$0Yes (X)
John G Herzog
President9.000.00$4,750$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,969,683TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$1,032,368TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K37IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Jensens Tree Service Inc
PO Box 610WinstonOR97496Right-of-way clearin$1,322,181
Western Pacific Tree Service
PO Box 998BrookingsOR97415Right-of-way clearin$1,165,187
Meridian Cooperative Inc
100 Ashford Center North Suite 500AtlantaGA30338Computer software service$354,096
Sporthaven Inc
PO Box 2096BrookingsOR97415Construction$181,087
DGI Development Group Inc
32880 Collections Ctr DrChicagoIL60693Computer Support$154,200
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K6CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Total Contributions$0TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Electric energy sales221000$38,087,898$38,087,898
Pole rentals221000$250,980$250,980
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$38,338,878TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$422,249TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$327,738RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$94,511ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$8,000OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$8,000OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$8,000TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$8,000RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescIT Mgmt ServicesDesc
Business541519BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$239,270TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$239,270UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$239,270OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$39,008,397TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$38,423,636RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$239,270UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$345,491ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,675,403TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,827,029TotalAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,618,507TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$705,928TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,677,245TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$395,955TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$34,785TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,500TotalAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$32,122TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$62,209TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$373,940TotalAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$145,337TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$53,651TotalAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,050,681TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$97,532TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,202,259TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$219,853TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
Purchased power$13,772,366
Distribution - O&M$3,620,169
Taxes$1,071,047
Admin & General$599,089

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$757,790TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$39,008,397TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$884,164BOYAmt
EOY$1,515,482EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,374,663BOYAmt
EOY$1,318,934EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,916,208BOYAmt
EOY$5,303,657EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$287,061EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,492,668BOYAmt
EOY$1,738,291EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,604,398BOYAmt
EOY$2,260,561EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$144,117,014LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$55,586,275LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$87,374,858BOYAmt
EOY$88,530,739EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,193,130BOYAmt
EOY$6,082,951EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$106,840,089BOYAmt
EOY$107,037,676EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,914,342BOYAmt
EOY$3,900,193EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,623,965BOYAmt
EOY$39,085,924EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,390,580BOYAmt
EOY$3,492,264EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$47,928,887BOYAmt
EOY$46,478,381EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$72,755BOYAmt
EOY$73,420EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,108,253BOYAmt
EOY$55,697,718EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,730,194BOYAmt
EOY$4,788,157EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$58,911,202BOYAmt
EOY$60,559,295EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$106,840,089BOYAmt
EOY$107,037,676EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$0ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$1,648,093OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,828,790OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,828,790BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,785,605OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,329,565DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,456,040BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,140,820OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$8,238,959DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,901,861BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$126,361,799OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$44,017,751DepreciationAmt
Book Value$82,344,048BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$88,530,739TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Total Book Value Program Rltd$6,082,951TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Consumer deposits$1,107,874
Deferred credits$705,074
Postretirement benefit obligation$1,679,316
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$3,492,264TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$38,531,132TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue-$280,039OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$280,039RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$38,811,171RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$197,226OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$197,226RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$39,008,397TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$35,130,861TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$35,130,861ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$3,877,536OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$3,877,536ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$39,008,397TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part X : FIN48 FootnoteThe Cooperative is generally exempt from federal income tax under Section 501(c)(12) of the Internal Revenue Code. An exemption from the State of Oregon corporation excise tax is provided by Oregon Revised Statutes 317.080. However, the Cooperative is subject to Federal and Oregon unrelated business income tax. The Cooperative had unrelated business income totaling $44,621 and $40,209 during 2020 and 2019, respectively.The Cooperative has adopted ASC Topic 740-10, Income Taxes, relating to accounting for uncertain tax positions. The Cooperative has not identified any uncertain income tax positions that would jeopardize its tax-exempt status. The Cooperative's income tax returns are subject to review and examination by federal authorities. With few exceptions, the tax returns essentially remain open for possible examination for a period of three years after the respective filing deadlines of those returns.
Part XI, Line 4b: Other revenue amounts included on 990 but not included in F/SNon-operating expenses - IT Services $179388 Non-operating expenses - other $2577 IT Services income tax estimate $15261
Part XII, Line 4b: Other revenue amounts included on 990 but not included in F/SPatronage capital to be allocated $3675403 Non-operating expenses - IT services $179388 Non-operating expenses - other $7484 IT Services income tax estimate $15261

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (11 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Brent Bischoff
CEO/General Mgr$247,944$1,620$49,448$35,600$334,612
Daniel Springer
CIO$178,744$320$21,488$34,948$235,500
Donald Alexander
Line Foreman$150,478$513$32,694$34,570$218,255
Frank Corrales Jr
CFO$172,251$6,607$58,320$26,988$264,166
Jacob Knudsen
Marketing & Member Serv Mgr$175,664$3,784$46,983$26,973$253,404
Matthew Mjelde
Engineering Manager$177,854$8,328$141,091$26,973$354,246
Randy McDonald
Operations Manager$174,884$2,679$140,121$26,754$344,438
Scott Adams
Asst. Oper. Mgr.$142,660$3,662$62,108$34,740$243,170
Scott Elliott
Line Foreman$172,106$286$24,529$34,570$231,491
Thomas Gastonguay
Journeyman Lineman$154,032$835$30,538$34,464$219,869
Timothy Hawkins
Line Foreman$149,051$4,718$73,898$34,570$262,237

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Beacon Broadband IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship With Org100% sub.RelationshipWithOrgTxt
Loan PurposeOper./Cap.LoanPurposeTxt
Loan From OrganizationYes (X)LoanFromOrganizationInd
Balance Due$287,061BalanceDueAmt
DefaultfalseDefaultInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (true)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Written AgreementfalseWrittenAgreementInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$287,061TotalBalanceDueAmt

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (2 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
Brent Bischoff
PNGC Director$13,768,907Purchased power-PNGCfalse
Mitch McDonald
Son of Oper Mgr$180,971Wages & benefitsfalse

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (16 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 6: Explanation of Classes of Members or ShareholderThe organization is a Cooperative formed to provide electric service to its members. The members elect the governing body and approve changes in the by-laws. Members receive a share of the Cooperatives annual margins through the allocation of margins to each member's account, based on each member's patronage or use of electric service.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7a: How Members or Shareholders Elect Governing BodyThere is one class of membership for all members. A member is entitled to one vote to elect directors and revisions to the by-laws.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b: Form 990 Review ProcessThe Board of Directors reviews the Form 990 prior to submission.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c: Explanation of Monitoring and Enforcement of ConflictsThe Board of Directors and employees undersign to the fact that they have received, read and understand the conflict of interest policy. The policy is reviewed annually by the Board members, and supervisors review the policy with employees.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15b: Compensation Review and Approval Process for Officers and Key EmployeesThe Board of Directors evaluate the CEO's performance. An independent compensation consultant is retained every third year to assist the Board in determining the CEO's compensation package. Supervisors of other key employees (all employees) set annual goals and assess each employee's performance on a regular basis. The methodology of developing a wage scale range for job positions within the organization is approved by the Board of Directors using an established compensation policy. All changes to compensation of key employees (all employees) must be approved in writing by the CEO.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19: Other Organization Documents Publicly AvailableDocuments and information legally required to be provided are done so upon request. Financial statements are provided to all members through publication of the annual meeting materials, and other member communications.
Other Changes In Net Assets Or Fund Balances - Other DecreasesCapital credit retirement = -$2138089
Other Changes In Net Assets Or Fund Balances - Other DecreasesDecrease in memberships = -$0
Other Changes In Net Assets Or Fund Balances - Other IncreasesDiscount on early retirement of cap credits = $97834
Other Changes In Net Assets Or Fund Balances - Other IncreasesIncrease in memberships = $665
Other Changes In Net Assets Or Fund Balances - Other DecreasesNet loss from subsidiary = -$275132
Other Changes In Net Assets Or Fund Balances - Other IncreasesOther comprehensive income = $8000
Other Changes In Net Assets Or Fund Balances - Other DecreasesOther net activity = -$47871
Other Changes In Net Assets Or Fund Balances - Other IncreasesPatronage capital to be allocated = $3675403
Other Changes In Net Assets Or Fund Balances - Other IncreasesUnclaimed patronage capital activity = $327283
Form 990, Part IX, Line 4 - Explanation of Benefits Paid to MembersThe IRS instructions clarify that patronage dividends paid by 501(c)(12) organizations should be reported in the statement of functional expenses on line 4. The Cooperative has allocated 100% of its current year margins as patronage dividends to its members and reported this amount on line 4. The Cooperative's accounting system follows generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP) which do not report patronage dividends as an expense; as such, the current year margins are also recorded as a reconciling item on Schedule D Part XIII of the Form 990.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Coos-Curry Electric Charitable FoundatioBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 1268AddressLine1Txt
CityPort OrfordCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP97465ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN825227031EIN
Primary ActivitiesSupport charitable programsPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateORLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(c)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity Status170(b)(1)(A)(vi)PublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Coos-Curry Electric Cooperative IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (true)ControlledOrganizationInd

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Beacon Broadband IncBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 1268AddressLine1Txt
CityPort OrfordCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP97465ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN851481326EIN
Primary ActivitiesFiber BroadbandPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateORLegalDomicileStateCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CC Elec CoopBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Entity TypeC CorpEntityTypeTxt
Share Of Total Income$2,145ShareOfTotalIncomeAmt
Share Of EOY Assets$292,464ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt
Ownership1.00000OwnershipPct
Controlled OrganizationYes (true)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsYes (true)ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgYes (true)LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
Beacon Broadband Inc
d$287,061EOY balance
Beacon Broadband Inc
o$162,292Cost