KAUFFMAN CENTER FOR THE PERFORMING ARTS: Form 990, tax year 2019
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- KAUFFMAN CENTER FOR THE PERFORMING ARTS (EIN 43-1866550)
- Tax period
- 2019-07-01 to 2020-06-30
- Filed
- 2021-05-10
- IRS object ID
- 202141309349302179
- Schema version
- 2019v5.2
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
- Return header
- Form 990
- Schedule A
- Schedule B
- Schedule D
- Schedule G
- Schedule I
- Schedule J
- Schedule K
- Schedule O
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2021-05-10T14:24:02-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2020-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 341874260 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CBIZ MHM LLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 700 WEST 47TH STREET SUITE 1100 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | KANSAS CITY | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 64112 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2019-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 431866550 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | KAUFFMAN CENTER FOR THE PERFORMING ARTS | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | KAUF | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 8169947200 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1601 BROADWAY BLVD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | KANSAS CITY | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 64108 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | COLBY JONES | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CFO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 8169947200 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2021-05-07 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | LISA BURKE | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00220718 | PTIN |
| Phone | 8169455500 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2021-05-07 | PreparationDt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2019 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2022-09-23 18:48:47Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | COLBY JONES | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1601 BROADWAY BLVD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | KANSAS CITY | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 64108 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $17,084,854 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | WWW.KAUFFMANCENTER.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1999 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | MO | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | SEE SCHEDULE O | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 8 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 8 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 71 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 532 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $338,291 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $5,734,442 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $6,871,558 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $7,303,167 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $3,232,085 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $4,584,933 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $2,851,724 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $59,563 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $1,573,023 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $17,682,105 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $14,528,390 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $137,135 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $77,783 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $3,403,541 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $3,583,976 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $43,370 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $16,733 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $857,212 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $19,068,290 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $17,746,772 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $22,652,336 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $21,425,264 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$4,970,231 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | -$6,896,874 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $434,524,524 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $420,338,908 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $105,370,919 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $103,722,311 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $329,153,605 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $316,616,597 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | SEE SCHEDULE O. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $18,647,494 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $77,783 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $4,466,817 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | SEE SCHEDULE O. | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $18,647,494 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | 0 | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | Yes (1) | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | 0 | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | Yes (1) | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (1) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | Yes (1) | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Invest Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | InvestTaxExemptBondsInd |
| Escrow Account | 0 | EscrowAccountInd |
| On Behalf Of Issuer | 0 | OnBehalfOfIssuerInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 44 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 71 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | Yes (1) | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contri Discl | Yes (1) | QuidProQuoContriDisclInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 8 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 8 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | MO | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Other Website | Yes (X) | OtherWebsiteInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | COLBY T JONES CFO | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 8169947225 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1601 BROADWAY BLVD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | KANSAS CITY | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 64108 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (14 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | OfficerOfficerInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JULIA IRENE KAUFFMAN | |||||||
| BOARD CHAIR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| SHIRLEY BUSH HELZBERG | |||||||
| TREASURER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| KEN DWORAK | |||||||
| SECRETARY | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DAVID LADY | |||||||
| VICE CHAIR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| LOUIS SMITH | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| PEGGY DUNN | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JANICE KREAMER | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| SHARON BLICKENSDERFER | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| PAUL SCHOFER | |||||||
| CEO, PRESIDENT | 50.00 | $328,189 | $0 | $12,853 | Yes (X) | ||
| COLBY JONES | |||||||
| CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | 50.00 | $110,000 | $0 | $4,750 | Yes (X) | ||
| PATRICK DONNELLY | |||||||
| DIRECTOR OF THEATER OPERAT | 50.00 | $155,423 | $0 | $7,781 | Yes (X) | ||
| BILL MILLER | |||||||
| VP OF OPERATIONS | 50.00 | $149,654 | $0 | $7,483 | Yes (X) | ||
| LISA VOSS | |||||||
| DIRECTOR OF SALES - SPECIAL EVENTS | 50.00 | $159,034 | $0 | $8,220 | Yes (X) | ||
| JANET MARK | |||||||
| DIRECTOR OF DEVELOPMENT | 50.00 | $161,366 | $0 | $8,267 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $1,063,666 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $49,354 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 6 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MYRON GREEN CORPORATION | |||||
| 8500 SHAWNEE MISSION PKWY | MERRIAM | KS | 66202 | CATERING | $1,706,847 |
| HARVEST PRODUCTIONS | |||||
| 1340 BURLINGTON | NORTH KANSAS CITY | MO | 64116 | PRODUCTION LABOR AND EQUIPMENT | $390,537 |
| P1 GROUP | |||||
| 16210 W 108TH STREET | LENEXA | KS | 66219 | ENGINEERING | $378,014 |
| BLUE CROSS BLUE SHIELD | |||||
| PO BOX 801714 | KANSAS CITY | MO | 64180 | INSURANCE CARRIER | $362,717 |
| EVOLV TECHNOLOGIES | |||||
| 200 WEST ST | WALTHAM | MA | 02451 | SECURITY EQUIPMENT | $346,195 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 26 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Info In Schedule O Part VIII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd |
| Government Grants | $16,529 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $6,855,029 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $6,871,558 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TICKET SALES | 711190 | $1,998,808 | $1,998,808 | |
| OTHER PRODUCTION REVENUE | 711190 | $570,114 | $570,114 | |
| CATERING & FOOD SERVICE | 711190 | $338,291 | $338,291 | |
| SPONSORSHIP | 711190 | $324,872 | $324,872 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $3,232,085 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $3,088,490 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $3,088,490 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $1,532,519 | RealAmt |
Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $0 | RealAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $1,532,519 | RealAmt |
Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $1,532,519 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $1,532,519 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $2,280,648 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $2,517,414 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | -$236,766 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | -$236,766 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | -$236,766 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Sales Of Inventory | $79,554 | GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt |
| Cost Of Goods Sold | $39,050 | CostOfGoodsSoldAmt |
Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $40,504 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $40,504 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $14,528,390 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $4,466,817 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $338,291 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $2,851,724 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $77,783 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $77,783 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $403,940 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $210,560 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $124,083 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $69,297 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,369,885 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,235,342 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $727,984 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $406,559 | FundraisingAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $89,211 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $46,503 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $27,404 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $15,304 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $515,182 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $268,547 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $158,254 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $88,381 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $205,758 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $107,255 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $63,205 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $35,298 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $6,774 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,493 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,474 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $807 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $37,705 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $25,008 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $8,203 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $4,494 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $16,733 | TotalAmt |
| Fundraising | $16,733 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $170,472 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $114,552 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $43,999 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $11,921 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $191,625 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $133,858 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $46,068 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $11,699 | FundraisingAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $386,268 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $385,124 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Fundraising | $1,144 | FundraisingAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $113,699 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $66,990 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $22,851 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $23,858 | FundraisingAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $364,361 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $218,617 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $109,308 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $36,436 | FundraisingAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $386,451 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $374,889 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $6,731 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $4,831 | FundraisingAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $121,492 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $43,664 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $49,040 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $28,788 | FundraisingAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,131,547 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,120,889 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $6,395 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $4,263 | FundraisingAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $9,941,094 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $9,891,389 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $29,823 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $19,882 | FundraisingAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $311,855 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $252,150 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $43,900 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $15,805 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt | FundraisingFundraisingAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| REPAIRS & MAINTENANCE | $1,474,928 | $1,436,432 | $22,456 | $16,040 |
| PROGRAMMING & PRODUCT. | $1,103,317 | $1,076,462 | $26,855 | |
| SECURITY | $402,637 | $390,558 | $7,046 | $5,033 |
| BANK FEES | $375,245 | $375,245 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $227,302 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $166,429 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $47,089 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $13,784 | FundraisingAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $21,425,264 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $18,647,494 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,920,558 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $857,212 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,803,433 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,611,645 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $79,615,082 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $80,316,099 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $833,838 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $297,110 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $75,063 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $86,069 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $168,678 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $245,274 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $338,866,906 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $89,535,956 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $258,683,768 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $249,330,950 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $84,938,188 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $78,092,849 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,300,731 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,206,473 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $105,743 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $152,439 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $434,524,524 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $420,338,908 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,465,355 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,276,817 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,409,383 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,775,665 | EOYAmt |
Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $102,496,181 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $100,669,829 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $105,370,919 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $103,722,311 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $249,004,529 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $235,508,268 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $80,149,076 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $81,108,329 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $329,153,605 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $316,616,597 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $434,524,524 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $420,338,908 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | -$6,896,874 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | -$5,640,134 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Organization170 | Yes (X) | PublicOrganization170Ind |
Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $8,951,961 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $17,825,119 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $13,285,121 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $5,734,442 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $6,871,558 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $52,668,201 | TotalAmt |
Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $8,951,961 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $17,825,119 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $13,285,121 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $5,734,442 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $6,871,558 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $52,668,201 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Substantial Contributors Tot | $21,851,464 | SubstantialContributorsTotAmt |
| Public Support Total170 | $30,816,737 | PublicSupportTotal170Amt |
Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $1,433,066 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $5,149,764 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $1,656,729 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $2,138,454 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $3,088,490 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $13,466,503 | TotalAmt |
Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $240,272 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $285,143 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $297,443 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Total | $822,858 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Support | $66,957,562 | TotalSupportAmt |
| Gross Receipts Rltd Activities | $28,829,392 | GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt |
| Public Support CY170 | 0.46020 | PublicSupportCY170Pct |
| Public Support PY170 | 0.58950 | PublicSupportPY170Pct |
| Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170 | Yes (X) | ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $66,404,260 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $1,605,059 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $1,161,881 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $1,417,486 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $160,653 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $64,382,944 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $65,924,602 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $194,956 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $454,043 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $1,889 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $167,452 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $66,404,260 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $56,162,875 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $6,537,386 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $3,518,222 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $199,256 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $94,625 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $65,924,602 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $40,208,005 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $10,491,883 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $6,000,068 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $382,674 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $154,407 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $56,162,875 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $40,912,868 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $1,261,140 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$1,811,619 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $154,384 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $40,208,005 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Board Designated Balance EOY | 1.00000 | BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct |
| Endowments Held Unrelated Org | Yes (1) | EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd |
| Endowments Held Related Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd |
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $539,801 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $539,801 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $327,525,255 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $82,634,918 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $244,890,337 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $10,285,750 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $6,414,449 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $3,871,301 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $516,100 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $486,589 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $29,511 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $249,330,950 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $9,069,632 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | -$5,640,134 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Donated Services And Use Fclts | $105,607 | DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | -$5,534,527 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $14,604,159 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $170,472 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | -$246,241 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | -$75,769 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $14,528,390 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $21,606,640 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Donated Services Use Fclts | $105,607 | DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $246,241 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $351,848 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $21,254,792 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $170,472 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $170,472 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $21,425,264 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART V, LINE 4: | THE KAUFFMAN CENTER'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS HAS INVESTED FUNDS TO ESTABLISH A QUASI-ENDOWMENT TO PROVIDE A STREAM OF INCOME TO SUPPORT OPERATIONS. INVESTMENT AND SPENDING POLICIES HAVE BEEN ADOPTED IN ORDER TO PROVIDE A PREDICTABLE STREAM OF FUNDING TO PROGRAMS WHILE SEEKING TO MAINTAIN THE PRINCIPAL OF THE ASSETS. THIS INCOME IS USED TO AUGMENT EARNED INCOME. |
| PART X, LINE 2: | ACCOUNTING STANDARDS CODIFICATION ("ASC") TOPIC 740, INCOME TAXES, PRESCRIBES A RECOGNITION THRESHOLD AND MEASUREMENT ATTRIBUTE FOR THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT RECOGNITION AND MEASUREMENT OF A TAX POSITION TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN IN A TAX RETURN, AND PROVIDES GUIDANCE ON DERECOGNITION, CLASSIFICATION, INTEREST AND PENALTIES, DISCLOSURE, AND TRANSITION. MANAGEMENT BELIEVES THAT NO MATERIAL UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS EXIST FOR THE CENTER AS OF JUNE 30, 2020 OR 2019. |
| PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | COST OF SALES INCLUDED WITH EXPENSES ON AUDITED FINANCIALS -246,241. |
| PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | COST OF SALES INCLUDED WITH REVENUES ON FORM 990 246,241. |
Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Mail Solicitations | Yes (X) | MailSolicitationsInd |
| Email Solicitations | Yes (X) | EmailSolicitationsInd |
| Phone Solicitations | Yes (X) | PhoneSolicitationsInd |
| In Person Solicitations | Yes (X) | InPersonSolicitationsInd |
| Solicitation Of Non Govt Grants | Yes (X) | SolicitationOfNonGovtGrantsInd |
| Solicitation Of Govt Grants | Yes (X) | SolicitationOfGovtGrantsInd |
| Agrmt Prof Fundraising Acty | Yes (1) | AgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd |
Fundraiser Activity Info FundraiserActivityInfoGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | JOAN ISRAELITE | PersonNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1601 BROADWAY BLVD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | KANSAS CITY | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 64108 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Activity | FUNDRAISING | ActivityTxt |
| Fundraiser Control Of Funds | 0 | FundraiserControlOfFundsInd |
| Gross Receipts | $334 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Retained By Contractor | $16,733 | RetainedByContractorAmt |
| Net To Organization | -$16,399 | NetToOrganizationAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Gross Receipts | $334 | TotalGrossReceiptsAmt |
| Total Retained By Contractors | $16,733 | TotalRetainedByContractorsAmt |
| Total Net To Organization | -$16,399 | TotalNetToOrganizationAmt |
| Licensed States | MO | LicensedStatesCd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE G, PART I, LINE 2(V) | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | DUE TO JOAN'S DECREASED WORK SCHEDULE AND COVID-19, GROSS RECEIPTS DROPPED TO $334 IN FY20. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Form990 Of Other Organizations | Yes (X) | Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | 0 | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (5 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PAUL SCHOFER | ||||||||||||||
| CEO, PRESIDENT | $298,189 | $0 | $30,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $12,853 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $341,042 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| PATRICK DONNELLY | ||||||||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF THEATER OPERAT | $145,423 | $0 | $10,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $7,781 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $163,204 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| BILL MILLER | ||||||||||||||
| VP OF OPERATIONS | $149,654 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $7,483 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $157,137 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| LISA VOSS | ||||||||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF SALES - SPECIAL EVENTS | $159,034 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $8,220 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $167,254 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JANET MARK | ||||||||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF DEVELOPMENT | $151,366 | $0 | $10,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $8,267 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $169,633 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK
Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)
| Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCd | Bond Issuer EINBondIssuerEIN | CUSIPCUSIPNum | Bond IssuedBondIssuedDt | Issue PriceIssuePriceAmt | PurposePurposeDesc | DefeasedDefeasedInd | On Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerInd | Pool FinancingPoolFinancingInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MISSOURI DEVELOPMENT FINANCE BOARD | ||||||||
| A | 431387649 | 606037AW9 | 2007-06-27 | $159,998,870 | SEE PART VI | Yes (1) | 0 | 0 |
| MISSOURI DEVELOPMENT FINANCE BOARD | ||||||||
| B | 431387649 | 000000000 | 2015-03-26 | $77,000,000 | SEE PART VI | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)
| Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCd | RetiredRetiredAmt | Total ProceedsTotalProceedsAmt | Capitalized InterestCapitalizedInterestAmt | Issuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt | Credit EnhancementCreditEnhancementAmt | Capital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmt | Substantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYr | Refunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsInd | Refunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsInd | Final Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeInd | Adequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A | $134,435,000 | $167,694,314 | $38,715 | $1,091,826 | $2,484,075 | $164,079,699 | 2012 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) | Yes (1) |
| B | $78,129,899 | $678,210 | $77,451,689 | 2012 | 0 | Yes (1) | Yes (1) | Yes (1) |
Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)
| Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCd | Owning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyInd | Any Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsInd | Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropInd | Any Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsInd | Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd | Change In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd | Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) |
| B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)
| Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCd | Form8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledInd | Rebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetInd | Exception To RebateExceptionToRebateInd | No Rebate DueNoRebateDueInd | Variable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueInd | Hedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd | Gross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd | Term Of GICTermOfGICPct | Regulatory Safe Harbor StsfdRegulatorySafeHarborStsfdInd | Written Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd | Gross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SEE PART VI | |||||||||||
| A | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) | 0 | Yes (1) | 0 | Yes (1) | 1.600000000000 | Yes (1) | Yes (1) | |
| (no name) | |||||||||||
| B | 0 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) | Yes (1) | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) | Yes (1) | ||
Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)
| Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCd | Procedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd |
|---|---|
| A | Yes (1) |
| B | Yes (1) |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART II, COLUMN B, LINE 3: | AMOUNT DOES NOT EQUAL ISSUE PRICE DUE TO INVESTMENT EARNINGS EARNED ON BOND PROCEEDS DURING THE PROJECT PERIOD. |
| PART I, LINE A, COLUMN F: | CONSTRUCTION OF A NEW PERFORMING ARTS CENTER. |
| PART I, LINE B, COLUMN F: | REFUND THE SERIES 2007B BONDS ORIGINALY ISSED ON JUNE 27, 2007. |
| PART II, COLUMN A, LINE 3: | AMOUNT DOES NOT EQUAL ISSUE PRICE DUE TO INVESTMENT EARNINGS EARNED ON BOND PROCEEDS IN THE ESCROW FUND THROUGH JUNE 30, 2017. |
| PART II, COLUMN B, LINE 11: | THE AMOUNT OF $77,426,875 OF BOND PROCEEDS WAS DEPOSITED INTO THE ESCROW FUND AND USED TO REFUND THE SERIES 2007B BONDS. IN ADDITION, $24,814 OF REMAINING BOND PROCEEDS WAS USED TO PAY INTEREST ON THE BONDS. |
| PART IV, COLUMN B, LINE 6: | GROSS PROCEEDS WERE HELD IN A YIELD-RESTRICTED ADVANCE REFUNDING ESCROW AND INVESTED BELOW BOND YIELD. |
| PART IV COLUMN A, LINE 5A AND LINE 5B | THE PROJECT FUND WAS INVESTED IN A MASTER REPURCHASE AGREEMENT WITH HYPO PUBLIC FINANCE BANK, WHICH AGREEMENT MATURED ON FEBRUARY 2, 2009. |
| PART IV, COLUMN B, LINE 2C: | ARBITRAGE ANALYSIS DATED MARCH 1, 2020. |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART I AND III, LINE 1 | THE KAUFFMAN CENTER FOR THE PERFORMING ARTS WILL PROVIDE EXTRAORDINARY EXPERIENCES THROUGH: -PROGRAMS - SHOWCASE A VARIETY OF HIGH QUALITY PROGRAMS THROUGH RESIDENT COMPANIES AND COMMUNITY PARTNERSHIPS, AS WELL AS NATIONAL AND INTERNATIONAL ARTISTS AND PRODUCTIONS. -CUSTOMER SERVICE - CREATE DEVOTED CONSTITUENTS AND ENHANCE THE SATISFACTION FOR ALL WHO COME INTO THE VENUE. -EDUCATION - NURTURE LOVE OF THE ARTS FOR PRESENT AND FUTURE GENERATIONS. |
| FORM 990, PART III, LINE 4A | IN 2020, COVID-19 IMPACTED THE KAUFFMAN CENTER'S ABILITY TO DELIVER PERFORMANCES TO THE COMMUNITY. ALTHOUGH THE FIRST HALF OF THE YEAR BOASTED SUCCESSFUL PERFORMANCES SUCH AS JANE FONDA, THE KINGDOM CHOIR, THE WHITE ALBUM AND IDIGO GIRLS, OPERATIONS WERE STOPPED DUE TO MAYOR LUCAS ORDERS ON MARCH 13, 2020. SINCE THEN, THE ORGANIZATION HAS WORKED TO CONNECT AUDIENCES, DONORS AND SUPPORTERS THROUGH VARIOUS VIRTUAL AND DIGITAL WAYS INCLUDING: - SOCIAL MEDIA CAMPAIGNS, A FILMED ORGAN SERIES, KAUFFMAN CENTER SPOTIFY PLAYLISTS, COMMUNITY COLLABORATIONS WITH LOCAL ORGANIZATIONS LIKE THE KC ZOO, SCRAPSKC AND MESNER PUPPET THEATRE, VIRTUAL TRIVIA NIGHTS AND MORE. OUR OPEN DOORS COMMUNITY OUTREACH PROGRAMMING HAS TAKEN CENTER STAGE AS THE KAUFFMAN CENTER HAS ENGAGED THE COMMUNITY THROUGH PROGRAMS INCLUDING: - VIRTUAL FUTURE STAGES FESTIVAL, AN EVENT THAT BROUGHT 3,658 CUMULATIVE ONLINE VIEWS ON JUNE 14, 2020, AND OVER 6,269 SINCE JULY OF 2020 - DEVELOPMENT OF A BACKSTAGE INTENSIVE PORTAL FOR TECHNICAL THEATER CLASSROOMS INCLUDING STUDENT ACTIVITIES AND VIDEOS FOR IN-CLASSROOM LEARNING. KAUFFMAN CENTER'S COMMITMENT TO SERVING EVERYONE IN THE COMMUNITY IS EVIDENT FROM THE WIDE RANGE OF FREE OR LOW-COST PROGRAMMING. THE ABOVE INITIATIVES HAVE ALL BEEN OFFERED FREE TO THE COMMUNITY. IN ADDITION FREE SCHOOL MATINEES HAVE BEEN OFFERED FROM ARTISTS LIKE BLACK VIOLIN AND THE POPULAR NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC SERIES-PART OF KAUFFMAN CENTER PRESENTS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE 990 RETURN IS PREPARED BY AN INDEPENDENT CPA FIRM AND PROVIDED TO THE MEMBERS OF THE FINANCE COMMITTEE VIA EMAIL FOR COMMENTS PRIOR TO FILING. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS REVIEWED ANNUALLY BY MANAGEMENT, AND ANY CHANGES MUST BE APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THE FINAL VERSION OF THE POLICY IS GIVEN TO EACH EMPLOYEE AND MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BOARD, AND ALL ARE REQUIRED TO SIGN A COMPLIANCE FORM ANNUALLY. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE MEETS AS NEEDED TO REVIEW ALL COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS FOR ALL EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING THE CEO AND CFO. THE COMMITTEE UTILIZES BENCHMARKING THROUGH COMPENSATION SURVEYS, STUDIES AND PEER AND REGIONAL ORGANIZATION INFORMATION IN ORDER TO DETERMINE THAT COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS ARE FAIR AND REASONABLE. ANNUAL REVIEWS ARE CONDUCTED BY SUPERVISORS FOR ALL STAFF AND COMPENSATION IS APPROVED BY MANAGEMENT, WITH DIRECTION FROM THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS REVIEW AND SET MERIT INCREASES FOR THE FISCAL PERIOD DURING THE BUDGET APPROVAL PROCESS. COMPENSATION FOR THE CEO AND ANY BONUSES ARE APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | THE ALL GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICTS OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. IN ADDITION, THE ORGANIZATION'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE THROUGH THE GREATER KANSAS CITY FOUNDATION WEBSITE, AND GOVERNING DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE ON THE MISSOURI SECRETARY OF STATE WEBSITE. |
| FORM 990, PART VII | ON JULY 1, 2018, THE CENTER ADOPTED FINANCIAL ACCOUNTING STANDARDS BOARD (FASB) ACCOUNTING STANDARDS UPDATE (ASU) 2014-09, REVENUE FROM CONTRACTS WITH CUSTOMERS (TOPIC 606) AND FASB ASU 2018-08, NOT-FOR-PROFIT ENTITIES (TOPIC 958): CLARIFYING THE SCOPE AND THE ACCOUNTING GUIDANCE FOR CONTRIBUTIONS RECEIVED AND CONTRIBUTIONS MADE. THESE TWO ASUS WERE ADOPTED TOGETHER AS OF JULY 1, 2018, BECAUSE THEY BOTH ESTABLISH STANDARDS FOR CHARACTERIZING SUPPORT AND REVENUE AS EITHER EXCHANGE TRANSACTIONS OR CONTRIBUTIONS. ADOPTING ONE ASU WITHOUT THE OTHER WOULD LEAVE THE ACCOUNTING FOR SOME ONGOING GRANTS AND CONTRACTS UNRESOLVED. ASU 2014-09 WAS ADOPTED RETROSPECTIVELY ONLY TO SPONSORSHIP AGREEMENTS AND SPOTLIGHT MEMBERSHIPS THAT WERE NOT COMPLETED AT JULY 1, 2018. THE ADJUSTMENT RELATED TO ALL OTHER REVENUE STREAMS WAS DEEMED IMMATERIAL TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TAKEN AS A WHOLE. ASU 2018-08 AND ASU 2014-09 WERE APPLIED ON A MODIFIED PROSPECTIVE BASIS TO AGREEMENTS THAT WERE NOT COMPLETED AT JULY 1, 2018, OR THAT WERE ENTERED INTO AFTER THAT DATE. |