STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

NORTH CAROLINA ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
NORTH CAROLINA ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION (EIN 56-0995910)
Tax period
2020-01-01 to 2020-12-31
Filed
2021-05-15
IRS object ID
202141359349300934
Schema version
2020v4.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-05-15T08:02:38-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN861065772PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DELOITTE TAX LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1191 PEACHTREE STREET NE SUITE 2000AddressLine1Txt
CityATLANTACityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP303031943ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN560995910EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NORTH CAROLINA ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIPBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2CORPORATIONBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlNORTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9198720800PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13400 SUMNER BOULEVARDAddressLine1Txt
CityRALEIGHCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP27616ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonRICHARD M FEATHERSPersonNm
Person TitleSENIOR VP, GENERAL COUNSELPersonTitleTxt
Phone9198720800PhoneNum
Signature2021-05-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstRICHARDPersonFirstNm
Person LastFEATHERSPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonBRIAN GAREAUPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00847877PTIN
Phone4042202000PhoneNum

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJOSEPH P BRANNANPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13400 SUMNER BOULEVARDAddressLine1Txt
CityRALEIGHCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP27616ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$1,331,865,930GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.NCEMCS.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1949FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNCLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSALE OF ELECTRIC POWER TO NC DISTRIBUTION MEMBER COOPERATIVES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body50VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent49VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee180TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$364,538TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$1,187,850,241PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$1,092,154,822CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$31,216,187PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$16,786,514CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$36,600PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$364,538CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$1,219,103,028PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$1,109,305,874CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$671,335PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$681,187CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$42,347,370PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$44,738,586CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$1,146,084,323PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$1,033,886,101CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$1,189,103,028PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$1,079,305,874CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$30,000,000PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$30,000,000CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$2,180,228,388TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$2,174,728,007TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$1,920,806,761TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$1,885,954,288TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$259,421,627NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$288,773,719NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionSALE OF ELECTRIC POWER TO NC DISTRIBUTION MEMBER COOPERATIVES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescNORTH CAROLINA ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION PROVIDES WHOLESALE ELECTRIC GENERATION AND TRANSMISSION SERVICES TO 25 MEMBER ELECTRIC DISTRIBUTION COOPERATIVES THAT PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO OVER ONE MILLION HOMES, FARMS, AND BUSINESSES IN NORTH CAROLINA.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document38IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee180EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$978,290,851MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$95,999,214OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtYes (1)SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members50GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member49IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldARStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldAZStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldGAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldINStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMDStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMSStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1LARK S JAMESBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone9198720800PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13400 SUMNER BOULEVARDAddressLine1Txt
CityRALEIGHCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP27616ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (61 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
JOSEPH P BRANNAN
EXECUTIVE VP & CEO34.006.00Yes (X)$1,109,006$0$307,224
LARK S JAMES
SENIOR VP, FINANCE & CFO34.006.00Yes (X)$482,404$0$155,397
MICHAEL W BURNETTE
SENIOR VP & COO40.00$433,727$0$130,053Yes (X)
RICHARD M FEATHERS
SENIOR VP, GENERAL COUNSEL34.006.00Yes (X)$372,702$0$127,995
NELLE P HOTCHKISS
SENIOR VP & COO, NCAEC10.0030.00$345,455$0$123,201Yes (X)
CHRISTOPHER W VANLOKEREN
CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER34.006.00$307,405$0$92,055Yes (X)
LEE S RAGSDALE
SENIOR VP, GRID INFRASTRUCTURE & COMPLIANCE40.00$266,976$0$105,218Yes (X)
DOUGLAS R BROWNE
VICE PRESIDENT, FINANCE & ACCOUNTING34.006.00$252,698$0$99,978Yes (X)
DIANE C HUIS
SENIOR VP, INNOVATION & BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT40.000.00$245,525$0$98,157Yes (X)
CHARLES E BAYLESS
ASSISTANT SECRETARY/TREASURER34.006.00Yes (X)$223,932$0$77,637
MICHAEL D YOUTH
ASSISTANT SECRETARY/TREASURER34.006.00Yes (X)$189,715$0$54,478
PAUL SPRUILL
PRESIDENT4.002.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
W GREG PUCKETT
VICE PRESIDENT4.002.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
SUSAN E FLYTHE
SECRETARY/TREASURER4.002.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
GARY W RAY
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
JOHN W SPENCE
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
DOUGLAS W JOHNSON
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
DAVID EGGERS
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
JOSH WINSLOW
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
FREDERICK TEDDER
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
RICHARD A MIDGETT
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
JACOB JOPLIN
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
DELORIA IRBY
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
EDDIE OLDHAM
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
REBECCA P COGAN
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
WINSTON HOWELL
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
ELBERT RAY PITT JR
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
H WAYNE WILKINS
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
W MAX WALSER
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
MITCHELL L KEEL
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
S FRANKLIN WILLIAMS
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
CHARLES H GUERRY
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
MORRELL JONES JR
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
TOM BATCHELOR
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
ROY STAMEY
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
JEFF CLARK
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
JOHN L PIERCE
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
SHAWN HUNT
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
SPENCER LOCKEAR
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
DONALD H SPIVEY
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
BENJAMIN R LYBRAND
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
STEVE HAMLIN
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
BILL R BARBER
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
MARK A SUGGS
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
JEFFREY N LETCHWORTH
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
DALE F LAMBERT
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
JERRY BOWMAN
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
CURTIS WYNN
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
ALLEN W SPELLER
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
S DIRK BURLESON
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
J DEAN CARPENTER
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
CHRISTOPHER SPEARS
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
KELLY HARRINGTON
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
LV TOBY SPEAKS
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
J DOUGLAS BRINSON
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
J MICHAEL DAVIS
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
CARL W KORNEGAY JR
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
GREG ANDRESS
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
LEE ROY KIRK JR
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
JAMES E MANGUM JR
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
MIKE DICKERSON
DIRECTOR2.002.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$4,229,545TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$1,371,393TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K89IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
ACES POWER MARKETING
4140 WEST 99TH STREETCARMELIN460327731POWER MANAGEMENT SERVICES$3,140,233
MCCARTER & ENGLISH LLP
100 MULBERRY STREETNEWARKNJ071020652LEGAL SERVICES$915,537
MORNINGSTAR LAW GROUP
421 FAYETVILLE STREET SUITE 530RALEIGHNC276011792LEGAL SERVICES$286,717
GRANT THORTON LLP
4140 PARKLAKE AVE SUITE 130RALEIGHNC27612ACCOUNTING SERVICES$134,216
POYNER SPRUILL
PO BOX 746773ATLANTAGA303746773LEGAL SERVICES$119,686
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K7CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPROVIDE ELECTRIC POWERDesc
Total Revenue Column$1,092,154,822TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,092,154,822RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$1,092,154,822TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$9,994,448TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$9,994,448ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$174,480RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$174,480RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$174,480TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$174,480UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$229,352,122SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$222,269,337SecuritiesAmt
Other$290,719OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$7,082,785SecuritiesAmt
Other-$290,719OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$6,792,066TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$6,792,066ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
MISCELLANEOUS INCOME561000$190,000$190,000
INTEREST INCOME561000$58$58
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$190,058OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,109,305,874TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,092,154,822RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$364,538UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$16,786,514ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$681,187TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,600,937TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$38,070,079TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,001,713TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$76,350TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total-$10,493TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,475,732TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$317,316TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$117,813TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$924,723TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$126,878TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$46,272,635TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$70,956,278TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$105,459TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER$660,154,761
TRANSMISSION & ANCILLAR$73,203,513
POWER GENERATION EXPENS$71,576,532
FUEL USED IN GENERATION$56,074,473

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$52,579,988TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,079,305,874TotalAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$284,658,348BOYAmt
EOY$207,842,867EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$102,583,256BOYAmt
EOY$96,372,927EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,447,022BOYAmt
EOY$5,233,618EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,322,868BOYAmt
EOY$26,861,705EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,063,255BOYAmt
EOY$4,049,140EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$2,679,687,474LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$1,500,893,813LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,198,216,152BOYAmt
EOY$1,178,793,661EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$358,150,254BOYAmt
EOY$419,709,273EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,812,600BOYAmt
EOY$57,839,003EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$187,974,633BOYAmt
EOY$178,025,813EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,180,228,388BOYAmt
EOY$2,174,728,007EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$179,120,333BOYAmt
EOY$166,230,101EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,291,849,575BOYAmt
EOY$1,206,683,877EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$449,836,853BOYAmt
EOY$513,040,310EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,920,806,761BOYAmt
EOY$1,885,954,288EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$625BOYAmt
EOY$625EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$259,421,002BOYAmt
EOY$288,773,094EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$259,421,627BOYAmt
EOY$288,773,719EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,180,228,388BOYAmt
EOY$2,174,728,007EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$30,000,000ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$647,908OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$204,173OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$204,173BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$29,820,167OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$10,085,406DepreciationAmt
Book Value$19,734,761BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$702,403OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$395,362DepreciationAmt
Book Value$307,041BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$108,032,721OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$19,126,934DepreciationAmt
Book Value$88,905,787BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,540,928,010OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,471,286,111DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,069,641,899BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$1,178,793,661TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
CONSTRUCTION WORK IN PROCESS$51,062,338
DEFERRED DECOMMISSIONING COSTS$6,417,591
OTHER DEFERRED COSTS$115,571,216
LOSS ON REFINANCING$4,974,668
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$178,025,813TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
DECOMMISSIONING ASSET RETIREMENT OBLIGATION$304,852,243
POSTRETIREMENT/POST EMPLOYMENT BENEFITS OBLIGATION$14,898,923
REGULATORY LIABILITIES$66,966,085
CAPITAL LEASE OBLIGATIONS$3,809,286
UNREALIZED GAINS & LOSSES$122,513,773
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$513,040,310TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$1,110,418,145TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$1,110,418,145RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$1,112,271OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$1,112,271RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$1,109,305,874TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$1,080,418,145TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$1,080,418,145ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included-$1,112,271OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt-$1,112,271ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$1,079,305,874TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:REVENUE RECLASS
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:EXPENSE RECLASS

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (58 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxtAddress Line2USAddress/AddressLine2Txt
ENERGYUNITED
PO BOX 1831STATESVILLENC28687562097218501(C)(12)$35,334EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
NRECA INTERNATIONAL FOUNDATION
PO BOX 75472BALTIMOREMD21275521387851501(C)(3)$25,000CONTRIBUTION
UNC CHARLOTTE
8700 PHILLIPS ROADCHARLOTTENC28223560791228501(C)(3)$25,000EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT PARTNERSHIP
15000 WESTON PARKWAYCARYNC27513464840814501(C)(3)$25,000ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ASSISTANCE
UNC PEMBROKE
1 UNIVERSITY DRIVEPEMBROKENC28372566000805501(C)(3)$25,000EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
NC BUSINESS LEADERS FOR EDUCATION
2826 LAZY LNWINSTON SALEMNC27106462988453501(C)(3)$20,000EDUCATIONAL CONTRIBUTION
NC STATE UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION
1210 VARSITY DRIVE SUITE 202RALEIGHNC27606566049503501(C)(3)$18,500EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
NC AGRICULTURAL FOUNDATION
CAMPUS BOX 7645 NC STATE UNIVERSARYRALEIGHNC27695566049304501(C)(3)$18,250AGRICULTURAL ASSISTANCECAMPUS
NC AGRICULTURAL FOUNDATION
CAMPUS BOX 7645 NC STATE UNIVERSARYRALEIGHNC27695566049304501(C)(3)$18,250AGRICULTURAL ASSISTANCECAMPUS
NC AGRICULTURAL FOUNDATION
CAMPUS BOX 7645 NC STATE UNIVERSARYRALEIGHNC27695566049304501(C)(3)$18,250AGRICULTURAL ASSISTANCECAMPUS
NC AGRICULTURAL FOUNDATION
CAMPUS BOX 7645 NC STATE UNIVERSARYRALEIGHNC27695566049304501(C)(3)$18,250AGRICULTURAL ASSISTANCECAMPUS
BLUE RIDGE EMC
PO BOX 250LENOIRNC27502560160075501(C)(12)$16,821EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
INSTITUTE FOR EMERGING ISSUES
CENTENNIAL CAMPUS BOX 7406RALEIGHNC27695566000756501(C)(3)$16,050EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
BRUNSWICK EMC
PO BOX 826SHALLOTTENC27261560154512501(C)(12)$15,796EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
RUTHERFORD EMC
PO BOX 1569FOREST CITYNC27546560386171501(C)(12)$15,101EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
FOUR COUNTY EMC
PO BOX 667BURGAWNC28458560227152501(C)(12)$15,000EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
FOUR COUNTY EMC
PO BOX 667BURGAWNC28458560227152501(C)(12)$15,000EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
RURAL ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT CENTER INC
4021 CARYA DRRALEIGHNC27610561552375501(C)(3)$15,000ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ASSISTANCE
LEADERSHIP NORTH CAROLINA
2700 WYCLIFF RD STE 402RALEIGHNC27607561757109501(C)(3)$15,000CONTRIBUTION
UNION POWER COOPERATIVE
PO BOX 5014MONROENC28111560435549501(C)(12)$13,835EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE
PO BOX 900002RALEIGHNC27675560686338501(C)(3)$12,500EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
NC JAYCEE BURN CENTER
101 MANNING DRCHAPEL HILLNC27514566001393501(C)(3)$12,500CONTRIBUTION
JONES ONSLOW EMC
259 WESTERN BLVDJACKSONVILLENC28546560283268501(C)(12)$12,422EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
WAKE EMC
PO BOX 1060HILLSBOROUGHNC27894560440935501(C)(12)$11,487EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
LUMBEE RIVER EMC
PO BOX 830RED SPRINGSNC27560560305124501(C)(12)$11,312EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
SOUTH RIVER EMC
PO BOX 931DUNNNC27702560405464501(C)(12)$10,200EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
DEMOCRATIC GOVERNORS' ASSOC
1225 EYE ST NW STE 1100WASHINGTONDC20005521304889527$10,000POLITICAL LEADERSHIP
LEUKEMIA & LYMPHOMA SOCIETY
401 HARRISON OAKS BLVDCARYNC27513135644916501(C)(3)$10,000MEDICAL DONATION
NORTH CAROLINA COMMUNITY FOUNDATION
3737 GLENWOOD AVE 460RALEIGHNC27612581661700501(C)(3)$10,000ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ASSISTANCE
OCCONEECHEE COUNCIL
3231 ATLANTIC AVERALEIGHNC27604560529984501(C)(3)$10,000CIVIC DONATION
CAROLINA COMMON ENTERPRISE
PO BOX 2241DURHAMNC27702460568407501(C)(3)$10,000CONTRIBUTION
CAROLINA PARTNERSHIP FOR REFOR
9660-138 FALLS OF NEUSE RD RALEIGHRALEIGHNC27615462332524501(C)(4)$10,000ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ASSISTANCENC 27615
NCEDA FOUNDATION INC
PO BOX 30934RALEIGHNC214682624566093438501(C)(3)$10,000ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ASSISTANCE
PIEDMONT EMC
PO DRAWER 1179HILLSBOROUGHNC27278560358446501(C)(12)$9,328EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
CARTERET CRAVEN EC
PO BOX 1490NEWPORTNC28802560168825501(C)(12)$9,316EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
HAYWOOD EMC
376 GRINDSTONE RDWAYNESVILLENC28785560193499501(C)(12)$8,732EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
TOBACCO FARM LIFE MUSEUM INC
PO BOX 88KENLYNC28115581544798501(C)(3)$8,000AGRICULTURAL ASSISTANCE
NC AGRIBUSINESS COUNCIL INC
2500 REGENCY PKWYCARYNC27518561029240501(C)(3)$7,500AGRICULTURAL ASSISTANCE
NC AGRIBUSINESS COUNCIL INC
2500 REGENCY PKWYCARYNC27518561029240501(C)(3)$7,500AGRICULTURAL ASSISTANCE
NC AGRICULTURAL FOUNDATION
CAMPUS BOX 7645 NC STATE UNIVERSARYRALEIGHNC27695566049304501(C)(3)$7,500AGRICULTURAL ASSISTANCECAMPUS
FOUR COUNTY EMC
PO BOX 667BURGAWNC28458560227152501(C)(12)$7,360EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
RANDOLPH EMC
PO BOX 40ASHEBORONC28042560371555501(C)(12)$7,316EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
SURRY YADKIN EMC
PO BOX 305DOBSONNC27505560421795501(C)(12)$6,250EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
NC STATE UNIVERSITY
1150 VARISITY DRIVERALEIGHNC27695475188573501(C)(3)$6,000EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
HUMAN CONNECTIONS FUND
3400 SUMNER BLVDRALEIGHNC27616651261123501(C)(3)$5,675COMMUNITY AID ASSISTANCE
TIDELAND EMC
25831 HWY 264 EPANTEGONC25831560993598501(C)(12)$5,316EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
TRI COUNTY EMC
4255 ALT US HWY 117 SDUDLEYNC28333560432086501(C)(12)$5,270EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
PEE DEE EMC
575 US HWY 52 SWADESBORONC28170560123345501(C)(12)$5,266EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE
INSTITUTE OF POLITICAL LEADERSHIP
2 NEW BERN SQUAREGREENSBORONC27408561553715501(C)(3)$5,000POLITICAL LEADERSHIP TRAINING
NCEDA
PO BOX 30934RALEIGHNC27622566093438501(C)(3)$5,000ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ASSISTANCE
NC FOUNDATION FOR SOIL & WATER
5171 GLENWOOD AVERALEIGHNC27612562158494501(C)(3)$5,000AGRICULTURAL ASSISTANCE
NORTH CAROLINA CHAMBER
701 CORPORATE CENTER DR STE 400RALEIGHNC27607560340499501(C)(6)$5,000ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ASSISTANCE
NC FREE ENTERPRISE FOUNDATION INC
PO BOX 12406RALEIGHNC27709561782403501(C)(3)$5,000EDUCATIONAL & CIVIC ASSISTANCE
NC FREE ENTERPRISE FOUNDATION INC
PO BOX 12406RALEIGHNC27709561782403501(C)(3)$5,000EDUCATIONAL & CIVIC ASSISTANCE
NC FREE ENTERPRISE FOUNDATION INC
PO BOX 12406RALEIGHNC27709561782403501(C)(3)$5,000EDUCATIONAL & CIVIC ASSISTANCE
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT PARTNERSHIP
15000 WESTON PARKWAYCARYNC27513464840814501(C)(3)$5,000ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ASSISTANCE
NC EDUCATIONAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND INC
PO BOX 40598RALEIGHNC27603202227646501(C)(3)$5,000EDUCATIONAL CONTRIBUTION
CONSERVATION LEGACY
701 CAMINO DEL RIO 101DURANGOCO81301581552188501(C)(3)$5,000ENVIRONMENTAL OUTREACH
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org35Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org23TotalOtherOrgCnt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (11 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JOSEPH P BRANNAN
EXECUTIVE VP & CEO$1,109,006$0$0$0$0$0$276,801$0$30,423$0$1,416,230$0$0$0
LARK S JAMES
SENIOR VP, FINANCE & CFO$482,404$0$0$0$0$0$125,441$0$29,956$0$637,801$0$0$0
MICHAEL W BURNETTE
SENIOR VP & COO$433,727$0$0$0$0$0$112,144$0$17,909$0$563,780$0$0$0
RICHARD M FEATHERS
SENIOR VP, GENERAL COUNSEL$372,702$0$0$0$0$0$98,849$0$29,146$0$500,697$0$0$0
NELLE P HOTCHKISS
SENIOR VP & COO, NCAEC$345,455$0$0$0$0$0$94,189$0$29,012$0$468,656$0$0$0
CHRISTOPHER W VANLOKEREN
CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER$307,405$0$0$0$0$0$63,273$0$28,782$0$399,460$0$0$0
LEE S RAGSDALE
SENIOR VP, GRID INFRASTRUCTURE & COM$266,976$0$0$0$0$0$76,729$0$28,489$0$372,194$0$0$0
DOUGLAS R BROWNE
VICE PRESIDENT, FINANCE & ACCOUNTING$252,698$0$0$0$0$0$71,654$0$28,324$0$352,676$0$0$0
DIANE C HUIS
SENIOR VP, INNOVATION & BUSINESS DEV$245,525$0$0$0$0$0$69,866$0$28,291$0$343,682$0$0$0
CHARLES E BAYLESS
ASSISTANT SECRETARY/TREASURER$223,932$0$0$0$0$0$61,414$0$16,223$0$301,569$0$0$0
MICHAEL D YOUTH
ASSISTANT SECRETARY/TREASURER$189,715$0$0$0$0$0$38,638$0$15,840$0$244,193$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceEXPLANATION FOR LINE 4B:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationOFFICERS OF THE ORGANIZATION DID NOT RECEIVE ANY RETIREMENT PAYOUTS IN 2020 PER THE TERMS OF COMPANY'S RETIREMENT PLAN.ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPAUL FLYTHEPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionEMPLOYEERelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$209,329TransactionAmt
TransactionSEE SCH OTransactionDesc
Sharing Of Revenues0SharingOfRevenuesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE L, PART IV, COLUMN D:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE INDIVIDUALS WHO SERVE AS THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE ENTITY ARE ALSO DIRECTORS, OFFICERS OR KEY EMPLOYEES OF NCEMC'S MEMBER COOPERATIVES AND MAY BE DIRECTORS OF RELATED ENTITIES. NCEMC DOES NOT PROVIDE ANY COMPENSATION TO ITS DIRECTORS. IN ADDITION NCEMC DOES NOT DIRECTLY COMPENSATE NOR HAS IT UNDERTAKEN ANY SINGLE TRANSACTION IN EXCESS OF $10,000 OR A SERIES OF TRANSACTIONS IN EXCESS OF $100,000 TO ANY INTERESTED PERSON, INCLUDING CURRENT AND FORMER OFFICERS, DIRECTORS AND FAMILY MEMBERS OF CURRENT AND FORMER OFFICERS, DIRECTORS OR KEY EMPLOYEES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE COMPANY IS A MEMBER-OWNED GENERATION AND TRANSMISSION ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE OWNED BY 25 NORTH CAROLINA ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE COMPANY'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS IS COMPRISED OF 50 DIRECTORS REPRESENTING THE GENERAL MANAGER OR CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER FROM EACH OF THE 25 MEMBERS AND 25 DIRECTORS SELECTED FROM THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FROM EACH OF THE 25 MEMBERS. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ELECTS THE OFFICERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BDECISIONS BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ARE SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF A MAJORITY OF THE BOARD MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE 2020 FORM 990 WAS DISCUSSED AT THE COMPANY'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING IN APRIL, 2021 AND THE FORM IS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE COMPANY HAS A CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IN PLACE FOR ALL STAFF AND MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS IN 2020. DIRECTORS, OFFICERS AND SENIOR MANAGEMENT ARE REQUIRED TO ANNUALLY DISCLOSE, VIA A WRITTEN QUESTIONNAIRE, ANY CONFLICTS OF INTEREST.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15COMPENSATION OF THE COMPANY'S CEO IS REVIEWED ANNUALLY BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS A COMPENSATION AMOUNT TO THE FULL BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THE FULL BOARD OF DIRECTORS VOTES ON THE COMPENSATION. COMPENSATION FOR OTHER OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES IS DETERMINED THROUGH ANNUAL PERFORMANCE REVIEWS AND PERIODIC INDUSTRY EVALUATIONS. COMPENSATION IS BASED ON BOTH QUALITATIVE AND QUANTITATIVE FACTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19NCEMC'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE ON THE NORTH CAROLINA SECRETARY OF STATE'S WEBSITE. ALL OTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:POST RETIREMENT BENEFITS ADJUSTMENT -647,908.
FORM 990, SCH L, PART IV, COLUMN DBUSINESS TRANSACTIONS INVOLVING INTERESTED PERSONS: PAUL FLYTHE, AN EMPLOYEE OF THE COMPANY, IS THE SPOUSE OF A CURRENT DIRECTOR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
NORTH CAROLINA ASSOCIATION OF ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES INC
3400 SUMNER BOULEVARDRALEIGHNC27616561189186MEMBER SERVICESNC501(C)(6)N/ANO0
HUMAN CONNECTIONS FOUNDATION INC
3400 SUMNER BOULEVARDRALEIGHNC27616651261123DISTRIBUTES RELIEF FUNDSNC501(C)(3)NONO0

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdEntity TypeEntityTypeTxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtShare Of Total IncomeShareOfTotalIncomeAmtShare Of EOY AssetsShareOfEOYAssetsAmtOwnershipOwnershipPct
THE TARHEEL ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP ASSOCIATION
3400 SUMNER BOULEVARDRALEIGHNC27616560575465MATERIAL AND EQUIPMENT SALESNCN/AC0
NCEMC SOLAR ONE LLC
3400 SUMNER BOULEVARDRALEIGHNC27616471520849SOLAR ENERGY ACTIVITYNCC0NCEMC$1,000$1,0001.00000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (5 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
NORTH CAROLINA ASSOCIATION OF ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES
L$417,855COST ALLOCATION
NORTH CAROLINA ASSOCIATION OF ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES
N$106,417COST ALLOCATION
NORTH CAROLINA ASSOCIATION OF ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES
O$5,301,482COST ALLOCATION
TARHEEL ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP ASSOCIATION
O$3,096,470COST ALLOCATION
TARHEEL ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP ASSOCIATION
L$77,300COST ALLOCATION