STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

WALSH COLLEGE OF ACCOUNTANCY AND BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
WALSH COLLEGE OF ACCOUNTANCY AND BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION (EIN 38-1308480)
Tax period
2019-09-01 to 2020-08-31
Filed
2021-06-11
IRS object ID
202141629349300009
Schema version
2019v5.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-06-11T07:45:49-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-08-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN381357951PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PLANTE & MORAN PLLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12601 CAMBRIDGE CT SUITE 500AddressLine1Txt
CityAUBURN HILLSCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48326ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-09-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN381308480EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WALSH COLLEGE OF ACCOUNTANCY & BUSINESSBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2ADMINISTRATIONBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlWALSBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2486898282PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13838 LIVERNOIS RDAddressLine1Txt
CityTROYCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48083ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonHELEN C KIEBA-TOLKSDORFPersonNm
Person TitleVP CFO & TREASURERPersonTitleTxt
Phone2486898282PhoneNum
Signature2021-04-12SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLYNNE HUISMANNPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00053811PTIN
Phone2483757100PhoneNum
Preparation2021-04-12PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMICHAEL LEVENSPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13838 LIVERNOIS RDAddressLine1Txt
CityTROYCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48083ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$51,740,674GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.WALSHCOLLEGE.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1922FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionWALSH COLLEGE PROVIDES A TRANSFORMATIVE BUSINESS EDUCATION THAT COMBINES (CONTINUED ON SCH O) THEORY, APPLICATION, AND PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE TO PREPARE GRADUATES FOR SUCCESSFUL CAREERS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body24VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent22VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee353TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers22TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$10,925TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$992,607PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$1,268,118CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$23,652,210PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$22,519,757CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$509,448PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$506,201CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$478,857PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$296,993CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$25,633,122PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$24,591,069CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$688,255PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$1,118,950CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$16,107,842PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$17,019,535CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,027,229CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$10,454,982PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$10,456,677CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$27,251,079PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$28,595,162CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$1,617,957PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$4,004,093CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$67,430,996TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$67,204,250TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$20,187,425TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$22,797,178TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$47,243,571NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$44,407,072NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionWALSH PROVIDES A TRANSFORMATIVE BUSINESS EDUCATION THAT COMBINES THEORY, APPLICATION, AND PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE TO PREPARE GRADUATES FOR SUCCESSFUL CAREERS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$14,081,070ExpenseAmt
Revenue$22,519,562RevenueAmt
DescWALSH PROVIDES A TRANSFORMATIVE BUSINESS EDUCATION THAT COMBINES THEORY, APPLICATION, AND PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE TO PREPARE GRADUATES FOR SUCCESSFUL CAREERS. WALSH'S INTERNATIONALLY AND NATIONALLY RANKED PROGRAMS INCLUDE HANDS-ON CURRICULUM DELIVERED IN SMALL CLASS SETTINGS, BOTH ONGROUND AND ONLINE, BY ACADEMIC FACULTY WITH REAL-WORLD EXPERIENCES. MORE THAN 2,500 STUDENTS WERE ENROLLED FOR FY 2019-2020.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$2,405,733ExpenseAmt
DescSTUDENT SERVICESWALSH PROVIDES STUDENTS A STRONG NETWORK OF SUPPORT INCLUDING ADMISSIONS AND ACADEMIC ADVISING, FINANCIAL AID, VETERAN SERVICES, STUDENT LIFE, ACADEMIC TUTORING, AND CAREER SERVICES. SUPPORT BEGINS WITH ENROLLMENT SPECIALISTS AT THE FIRST ADMISSIONS INQUIRY AND CONTINUES BEYOND GRADUATION WITH OUR EXTENSIVE RANGE OF CAREER SERVICES.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$928,300ExpenseAmt
Grant$928,300GrantAmt
DescSCHOLARSHIPSA VARIETY OF SCHOLARSHIPS ARE AVAILABLE TO INCOMING UNDERGRADUATE AND GRADUATE STUDENTS AND INCLUDE ACADEMIC AWARDS, COMMUNITY COLLEGE EXCELLENCE AWARDS, AND MULTICULTURAL AWARDS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$828,280ExpenseAmt
Grant$190,650GrantAmt
Revenue$195RevenueAmt
DescTHE WALSH LIBRARY COLLECTION CONSISTS OF APPROXIMATELY 26,000 VOLUMES TOTALLY FOCUSED TO SUPPORT THE BUSINESS PROGRAMS OFFERED AT WALSH. IN ADDITION, THERE ARE OVER 62,000 E-BOOKS AND 119 ONLINE DATABASES.CARES ACT ADDITIONS OF 190,650ALL STUDENTS THAT WERE CURRENTLY ENROLLED IN CLASSES WITH A COMPLETED FAFSA ON FILE WITH FINANCIAL AID WERE ELIGIBLE FOR THE INITIAL CARES ACT: HIGHER EDUCATION EMERGENCY RELIEF FUND STUDENT PAYMENT. STUDENTS WITH AN EFC OF 5500 OR LOWER ON THEIR FAFSA WERE DEEMED TO HAVE A HIGHER FINANCIAL NEED AND WERE ALLOCATED A LARGER PAYMENT THAN THOSE WITH A SCORE HIGHER THAN 5500.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$828,280TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$190,650TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$195TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$18,243,383TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntYes (1)BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (1)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document25IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee353EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members24GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member22IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HELEN KIEBA-TOLKSDORFBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2486898282PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13838 LIVERNOIS ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityTROYCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48083ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (38 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
MARSHA KELLIHER
PRESIDENT AND CEO - PART YEAR39.001.00Yes (X)$326,119$0$32,576
MICHAEL RINKUS
EXEC VP AND CAO - PART YEAR40.000.00Yes (X)$233,598$0$38,531
RICHARD BERSCHBACK
FACULTY40.000.00$218,409$0$37,531Yes (X)
MICHAEL LEVENS
PRESIDENT AND CEO39.001.00Yes (X)$209,542$0$34,060
DAVE SCHIPPERS
FACULTY40.000.00$212,693$0$14,410Yes (X)
ANN SAURBIER
FACULTY40.000.00$185,327$0$40,360Yes (X)
MARLA SCAFE
FACULTY40.000.00$188,642$0$35,029Yes (X)
HELEN KIEBA-TOLKSDORF
VP, CFO AND TREASURER39.001.00Yes (X)$202,294$0$18,959
ELIZABETH BARNES
VP, CHIEF HR OFFICER40.000.00Yes (X)$186,219$0$34,750
SUSAN FOLEY
VP, CHIEF DEVELOPMENT OFFICER39.001.00Yes (X)$194,795$0$24,709
JOHN MOORE
FACULTY40.000.00$190,853$0$24,471Yes (X)
PATRICIA SWANSON
VP, MARKETING AND ENROLLMENT40.000.00Yes (X)$157,315$0$32,751
EDWARD D CALLAGHAN PHD
TRUSTEE - PART YEAR4.500.00$16,640$0$0Yes (X)
MICHAEL J PLOTZKE
TRUSTEE/CHAIR0.300.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
DAVID J PETOSKEY
TRUSTEE/VICE-CHAIR0.300.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
GERALD SCHAFER
TRUSTEE/INTERIM PRESIDENT AND CEO39.001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
A MARK ZEFFIRO
TRUSTEE0.300.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
ALAN J KAUFMAN
TRUSTEE0.300.30$0$0$0Yes (X)
BARBARA J MAHONE
TRUSTEE0.300.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
BETTY S CHU MD
TRUSTEE0.300.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
BRIAN PILARSKI
TRUSTEE0.300.30$0$0$0Yes (X)
DAVID C LEWIS
TRUSTEE0.300.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
DAVID GIRODAT
TRUSTEE0.300.30$0$0$0Yes (X)
DENNIS HARDER
TRUSTEE0.300.30$0$0$0Yes (X)
DOUG SLOCUM
TRUSTEE0.300.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
JACKIE BUCHANAN
TRUSTEE0.300.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
KATHLEEN M KOSMATKA
TRUSTEE0.300.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
LOUIS C SCHMIDT JR
TRUSTEE0.300.30$0$0$0Yes (X)
MADHAVA REDDY
TRUSTEE0.300.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
MICHAEL A SEMANCO
TRUSTEE0.300.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
MICHAEL DAVENPORT
TRUSTEE0.300.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
MICHELE HONOMICHL
TRUSTEE0.300.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
MICHELLE ACCIAVATTI
TRUSTEE0.300.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
SHIRLEY E GOFRANK
TRUSTEE - PART YEAR0.300.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
THOMAS W PROCTOR
TRUSTEE0.300.30$0$0$0Yes (X)
TOM WALSH
TRUSTEE0.300.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
VAN E CONWAY
TRUSTEE0.300.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
WILLIAM C RONEY III
TRUSTEE0.300.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,522,446TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$368,137TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K32IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
CARETECH
901 WILSHIRE DR SUITE 100TROYMI48084IT SYSTEMS SUPPORT$1,978,191
EAB GLOBAL INC
2445 M STREET NWWASHINGTONDC20037ENROLLMENT SERVICES$806,828
MEDIA GENESIS INC
1441 E MAPLE RD SUITE 200TROYMI48083MARKETING$574,396
THE YAFFE GROUP
26100 AMERICAN DR SUITE 401SOUTHFIELDMI48034MARKETING$446,165
KOSCH FOOD SERVICE
324 EAST STREETROCHESTER HILLSMI48307FOOD SERVICE$298,013
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K16CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Related Organizations$840,304RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$427,814GovernmentGrantsAmt
Total Contributions$1,268,118TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION AND FEES611600$22,451,700$22,451,700
BOOKSTORE COMMISSIONS611600$67,862$67,862
LIBRARY REVENUE611600$195$195
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$22,519,757TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$420,812TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$10,925UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$409,887ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$296,993RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$296,993RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$296,993TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$296,993ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$27,234,759SecuritiesAmt
Other$235OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$27,149,605SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$85,154SecuritiesAmt
Other$235OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$85,389TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$85,389ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$24,591,069TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$22,519,757RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$10,925UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$792,269ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,118,950TotalAmt
Program Services$1,118,950ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,784,272TotalAmt
Program Services$406,591ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,157,984ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$219,697FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,469,555TotalAmt
Program Services$9,547,342ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,406,750ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$515,463FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$135,601TotalAmt
Program Services$95,640ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$39,961ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,685,713TotalAmt
Program Services$1,998,427ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$556,114ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$131,172FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$944,394TotalAmt
Program Services$715,810ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$176,819ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$51,765FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$207,503TotalAmt
Management And General$207,503ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$238,141TotalAmt
Management And General$238,141ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,153,453TotalAmt
Program Services$173,257ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$967,303ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$12,893FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,048,098TotalAmt
Program Services$25,640ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,012,114ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$10,344FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$384,399TotalAmt
Program Services$124,427ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$217,367ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$42,605FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,927,936TotalAmt
Program Services$963,968ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$963,968ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,997,610TotalAmt
Program Services$672,026ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,319,592ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,992FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$255,504TotalAmt
Program Services$212,411ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$37,285ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,808FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$49,461TotalAmt
Program Services$17,388ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$31,727ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$346FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$245,478TotalAmt
Management And General$245,478ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,817,451TotalAmt
Program Services$1,632,071ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$159,936ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$25,444FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$188,585TotalAmt
Management And General$188,585ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
LIBRARY SERVICES$288,017$288,017
RECRUITING$233,421$12,903$220,518
BAD DEBT EXPENSE$65,694$2,571$63,123
SPECIAL EVENTS$56,877$32,678$18,499$5,700

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$299,049TotalAmt
Program Services$203,266ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$95,783ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,595,162TotalAmt
Program Services$18,243,383ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,324,550ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,027,229FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$997,303BOYAmt
EOY$3,403,411EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,246,617BOYAmt
EOY$1,480,344EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,305BOYAmt
EOY$208,698EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$259,278BOYAmt
EOY$283,404EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$779,483BOYAmt
EOY$814,922EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$54,732,260LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$22,431,551LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,650,408BOYAmt
EOY$32,300,709EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,423,700BOYAmt
EOY$24,618,323EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,051,737BOYAmt
EOY$4,094,439EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,002,165BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$67,430,996BOYAmt
EOY$67,204,250EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$883,097BOYAmt
EOY$921,594EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$526,625BOYAmt
EOY$430,144EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,837,800BOYAmt
EOY$12,419,532EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$2,755,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,939,903BOYAmt
EOY$6,270,908EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,187,425BOYAmt
EOY$22,797,178EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$45,375,094BOYAmt
EOY$42,584,219EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,868,477BOYAmt
EOY$1,822,853EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$47,243,571BOYAmt
EOY$44,407,072EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$67,430,996BOYAmt
EOY$67,204,250EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$4,004,093ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$1,916,347NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$748,753OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,000,000BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$42,243InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$957,757OtherExpendituresAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,000,000BeginningYearBalanceAmt
End Year Balance$1,000,000EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,000,000BeginningYearBalanceAmt
End Year Balance$1,000,000EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,000,000BeginningYearBalanceAmt
End Year Balance$1,000,000EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.00000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.00000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.00000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Related OrgYes (1)EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,133,312OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$3,133,312BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$37,380,809OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$12,052,378DepreciationAmt
Book Value$25,328,431BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$8,760,905OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$6,943,119DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,817,786BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,457,234OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,436,054DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,021,180BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$32,300,709TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescALTERNATIVE INVESTMENTSDesc
Book Value$4,094,439BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$4,094,439TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ACCRUED PENSION$6,113,968
OTHER LONG TERM LIABILITIES$156,940
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$6,270,908TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$25,617,928TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$1,902,601NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$801,311OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$2,703,912RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$22,914,016RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$1,677,053OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$1,677,053RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$24,591,069TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$27,698,336TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$31,474OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$31,474ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$27,666,862ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$928,300OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$928,300ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$28,595,162TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART V, LINE 4:THE COLLEGE HAS A TOTAL OF 85 ENDOWMENTS, WHICH ARE HELD BY THE FOUNDATION. 74 OF THESE ENDOWMENTS ARE FOR UNDERGRADUATE AND GRADUATE SCHOLARSHIPS. THE REMAINING ENDOWMENTS PROVIDE TUTORING, SUPPORT FOR ACCOUNTING FUNDAMENTALS AND STUDENT GOVERNMENT, AND AN AWARD FOR ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:FOUNDATION REVENUE - SEPARATE 990 FILED 801,311.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:PENSION INCOME 748,753. SCHOLARSHIPS 928,300.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:INTEREST EXPENSE RECORDED AS UNREALIZED 26,782. FOUNDATION EXPENSES - SEPARATE 990 FILED 4,692.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:SCHOLARSHIPS 928,300.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3WALSH'S NONDISCRIMINATORY POLICY IS ON ALL STUDENT APPLICATIONS, COLLEGE PUBLICATIONS, AND IS POSTED ON THE WEBSITE.
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6WALSH RECEIVED FEDERAL PELL GRANTS AND FEDERAL SUPPLEMENTAL EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY GRANTS, BASED UPON STUDENT ELIGIBILITY, FROM THE FEDERAL DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION. THE INSTITUTION ALSO RECEIVED GRANTS FROM THE STATE OF MICHIGAN BASED UPON STUDENT ELIGIBILITY. THESE FUNDS ARE USED TO ASSIST STUDENTS WITH THEIR COST OF ATTENDANCE.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionCENTRAL AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN - ANTIGUA & BARBUDA, ARUBA, BAHAMAS,RegionTxt
Offices0OfficesCnt
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Type Of Activities ConductedINVESTMENTSTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Specific Services ProvidedN/ASpecificServicesProvidedTxt
Region Total Expenditures$615,270RegionTotalExpendituresAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continuation Total Office0ContinuationTotalOfficeCnt
Continuation Total Employee0ContinuationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$615,270SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$615,270TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (1)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipYes (1)ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART III ACCOUNTING METHOD:FormAndLineReferenceDesc

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDescNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceDescNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmt
SCHOLARSHIPS302$928,300CASHN/A
CARES ACT GRANT821$190,650CASHN/A$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSCHOLARSHIPS ARE APPLIED DIRECTLY TO INSTITUTIONAL CHARGES. DIRECT COSTS INCURRED TO SUPPORT THE PRIMARY FUNCTIONS OF WALSH COLLEGE ARE SPECIFICALLY IDENTIFIED TO THE BENEFITING ACTIVITY. RESTRICTED FUNDS, INCLUDING FEDERAL AWARDS, ARE RECORDED IN SEPARATE FUNDS AND DIRECT EXPENDITURES OF THESE PROGRAMS ARE RESTRICTED TO THE EXCLUSIVE PURPOSE OF THE AWARD. ALL SPONSORED PROJECTS ARE INCLUDED IN THE DIRECT COST BASE. INDIRECT COSTS ARE ALLOCATED PROPORTIONALLY AS PRESCRIBED IN OMB CIRCULAR A-21. ANY UNDER RECOVERY OF INDIRECT COSTS FROM ANY SPONSORED ACTIVITY IS NOT CHARGED TO ANY OTHER SPONSORED PROJECT EITHER DIRECTLY OR INDIRECTLY.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (12 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
MARSHA KELLIHER
PRESIDENT AND CEO - PART YEAR$314,308$0$0$0$11,811$0$22,400$0$10,176$0$358,695$0$0$0
MICHAEL RINKUS
EXEC VP AND CAO - PART YEAR$194,428$0$0$0$39,170$0$18,060$0$20,471$0$272,129$0$0$0
RICHARD BERSCHBACK
FACULTY$131,643$0$0$0$86,766$0$17,459$0$20,072$0$255,940$0$0$0
MICHAEL LEVENS
PRESIDENT AND CEO$123,969$0$0$0$85,573$0$16,790$0$17,270$0$243,602$0$0$0
DAVE SCHIPPERS
FACULTY$116,111$0$3,450$0$93,132$0$12,742$0$1,668$0$227,103$0$0$0
ANN SAURBIER
FACULTY$103,864$0$0$0$81,463$0$15,147$0$25,213$0$225,687$0$0$0
MARLA SCAFE
FACULTY$139,579$0$0$0$49,063$0$14,943$0$20,086$0$223,671$0$0$0
HELEN KIEBA-TOLKSDORF
VP, CFO AND TREASURER$198,386$0$0$0$3,908$0$16,007$0$2,952$0$221,253$0$0$0
ELIZABETH BARNES
VP, CHIEF HR OFFICER$184,499$0$0$0$1,720$0$14,760$0$19,990$0$220,969$0$0$0
SUSAN FOLEY
VP, CHIEF DEVELOPMENT OFFICER$191,926$0$0$0$2,869$0$15,354$0$9,355$0$219,504$0$0$0
JOHN MOORE
FACULTY$104,903$0$0$0$85,950$0$15,268$0$9,203$0$215,324$0$0$0
PATRICIA SWANSON
VP, MARKETING AND ENROLLMENT$156,770$0$0$0$545$0$12,542$0$20,209$0$190,066$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 1AFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationHEALTH CLUB DUES ARE PAID FOR DIRECTLY BY WALSH TO THE HEALTH CLUB FOR ALL OFFICERS WHO ARE ALSO FULL TIME EMPLOYEES OF THE COLLEGE AND ARE INCLUDED IN THEIR W-2'S. WALSH'S PRESIDENT AND CHIEF DEVELOPMENT OFFICER ARE PROVIDED WITH A SOCIAL CLUB MEMBERSHIP FOR CONDUCTING BUSINESS MEETINGS. THE DUES ARE NOT INCLUDED IN TAXABLE INCOME AS ALL USE IS FOR BUSINESS PURPOSES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MICHIGAN FINANCE AUTHORITYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN800596186BondIssuerEIN
CUSIPNONEAVAILCUSIPNum
Bond Issued2014-08-27BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$14,230,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeSEE SUPPLEMENTAL INFO IN PART VIPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$1,731,000RetiredAmt
Total Proceeds$14,230,000TotalProceedsAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$128,128IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$14,101,872OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Substantial Completion2015SubstantialCompletionYr
Refunding Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable Bonds0RefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (1)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop0MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond Remdtd0ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due Yet0RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To Rebate0ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate DueYes (1)NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate IssueYes (1)VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And RecYes (1)HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd

Hedge Provider Name HedgeProviderName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JP MORGAN CHASEBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2BANKBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Term Of Hedge1.000000000000TermOfHedgePct
Superintegrated Hedge0SuperintegratedHedgeInd
Hedge Terminated0HedgeTerminatedInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor Reqs0WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (1)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
DATE REBATE COMPUTATION PERFORMEDISSUER NAME: MICHIGAN FINANCE AUTHORITY DATE THE REBATE COMPUTATION WAS PERFORMED: 01/27/2020
SCH. K, PART I:SCH K, PART I, BOND ISSUE "A", COLUMN F: REFINANCE ON 8/27/14 THE SERIES 2010 BONDS, ISSUED ON APRIL 30, 2010 TO BUILD A 33,100 SQUARE FOOT ADDITION TO THE EXISTING BUILDING AND RENOVATE 20,500 SQUARE FEET OF EXISTING BUILDING SPACE FOR A TOTAL OF 53,600 SQUARE FEET.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CARETECHBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionOWNER - MADHAVA REDDY IS A BOARD MEMBERRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$1,996,091TransactionAmt
TransactionCARETECH IS PAID FOR PROVIDING IT SUPPORT SERVICES; THE COLLEGE'S CONTRACT WITH CARETECH PRECEDED MR. REDDY'S OWNERSHIP IN THE COMPANY.TransactionDesc
Sharing Of Revenues0SharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY ALL OFFICERS OF THE COLLEGE AND THEN BY THE AUDIT AND RISK MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AND SENT TO THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. THE FINAL 990 IS THEN POSTED TO AN INTERNAL BOARD SITE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTRUSTEES, OFFICERS, EXECUTIVE AND SELECTIVE KEY ADMINISTRATORS ARE REQUIRED TO FILE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENT ANNUALLY AND EVERY TIME THERE IS A DECISION UNDER CONSIDERATION IN WHICH SUCH A PERSON MAY HAVE AN INTEREST. IF A CONFLICT IS DISCOVERED, THE PERSON WITH THE CONFLICT WILL REMOVE THEMSELF FROM THE ROOM DURING ANY DISCUSSION AND RECUSE THEMSELF FROM ANY MOTION, VOTE OR PROPOSAL.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE COMPENSATION OF THE OFFICERS IS APPROVED BY THE GOVERNANCE AND COMPENSATION COMMITTEE & BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. THE COMPENSATION IS EITHER SET BY WRITTEN CONTRACT AND/OR ANNUALLY BASED ON COMPENSATION SURVEYS AND/OR INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT. THIS PROCESS WAS LAST PERFORMED IN 2020.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC THROUGH WRITTEN OR VERBAL REQUESTS.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN (D): HOURS WORKED FOR RELATED ORGANIZATIONBOARD MEMBER EDWARD CALLAGHAN IS AN ADJUNCT FACULTY MEMBER WHO TAUGHT CLASSES DURING THE YEAR. THE COMPENSATION SHOWN IN PART VII IS FOR HIS SERVICES AS A FACULTY MEMBER RATHER THAN AS A BOARD MEMBER.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN (B): HOURS WORKED FOR RELATED ORGANIZATIONTHE OFFICERS LISTED ON PART VII OF FORM 990 EACH SPEND 1 HOUR PER WEEK WORKING FOR THE WALSH COLLEGE FOUNDATION, A RELATED ORGANIZATION.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN (D): HOURS WORKED FOR RELATED ORGANIZATIONMICHAEL LEVENS IS LISTED AS THE CURRENT PRESIDENT & CEO, A ROLE THAT BEGAN IN AUGUST 2020. THE COMPENSATION SHOWN IN PART VII IS FOR HIS SERVICES AS A FACULTY MEMBER IN CALENDAR YEAR 2019.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:PENSION ADJUSTMENT -748,753.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C - OVERSIGHT OF AUDIT:THE ORGANIZATION HAS A COMMITTEE THAT ASSUMES RESPONSIBILITY FOR OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT. THIS PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE WALSH COLLEGE FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13838 LIVERNOISAddressLine1Txt
CityTROYCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48083ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN200664128EIN
Primary ActivitiesRAISE FUNDS FOR SCHOLARSHIPS AND GENERAL SUPPORT OF WALSH COLLEGEPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(C)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity Status7PublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WALSH COLLEGEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WALSH COLLEGE FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transaction TypeCTransactionTypeTxt
Involved$840,304InvolvedAmt
Method Of Amount DeterminationCASH TRANSACTIONMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt