AMERICAN BOARD OF SURGERY: Form 990, tax year 2018
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- AMERICAN BOARD OF SURGERY (EIN 23-1352007)
- Tax period
- 2018-07-01 to 2019-06-30
- Filed
- 2020-04-29
- IRS object ID
- 202001209349300110
- Schema version
- 2018v3.1
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2020-04-29T13:22:16-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2019-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 231980475 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | KREISCHER MILLER | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 100 WITMER ROAD SUITE 350 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | HORSHAM | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | PA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 190442369 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2018-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 231352007 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | THE AMERICAN BOARD OF SURGERY INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | AMER | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 2155684000 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1617 JOHN F KENNEDY BLVD NO 860 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | PHILADELPHIA | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | PA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 191031847 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | JO BUYSKE | PersonNm |
| Person Title | PRESIDENT AND CEO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 2155684000 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2020-04-20 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | CHRISTOPHER M PEKULA | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00734965 | PTIN |
| Phone | 2154414600 | PhoneNum |
Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation
IP Address IPAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| I Pv4 Address | 64.55.30.226 | IPv4AddressTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IP | 2020-04-20 | IPDt |
| IP Tm | 08:32:51 | IPTm |
| IP Timezone | ED | IPTimezoneCd |
| Filing License Type | P | FilingLicenseTypeCd |
| At Submission Creation Device Id | B6CE273AE17BE2F31834128D835D85405F3F7F7A | AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId |
| At Submission Filing Device Id | 53E9ECDD8749ACF5AA2CFEC8BBAA20E901D428B8 | AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2018 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2020-09-23 17:36:50Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | JO BUYSKE MD | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1617 JOHN F KENNEDY BLVD NO 860 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | PHILADELPHIA | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | PA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 191031847 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $13,673,645 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | WWW.ABSURGERY.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1937 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | PA | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | ADMINISTRATION OF CERTIFICATION, RECERTIFICATION AND CONTINUOUS CERTIFICATION EXAMS AND ASSESSMENTS IN GENERAL SURGERY, AS WELL AS SPECIALTY AREAS OF SURGICAL CRITICAL CARE, PEDIATRIC SURGERY, HAND SURGERY, COMPLEX GENERAL SURGICAL ONCOLOGY, VASCULAR SURGERY, AND HOSPICE AND PALLIATIVE CARE. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 39 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 36 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 31 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 375 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $9,238,978 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $8,312,692 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $1,148,128 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $506,455 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $292,887 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $236,462 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $10,679,993 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $9,055,609 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $74,304 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $6,653,076 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $5,206,433 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $5,050,665 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $5,166,287 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $11,778,045 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $10,372,720 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$1,098,052 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | -$1,317,111 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $19,566,365 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $16,809,817 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $10,605,883 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $9,272,149 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $8,960,482 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $7,537,668 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | SEE SCHEDULE O | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | Yes (1) | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | Yes (1) | SignificantChangeInd |
| Desc | COSTS INCURRED IN ADMINISTERING EXAMINATIONS FOR CANDIDATES SEEKING CERTIFICATION AND RECERTIFICATION BY THE BOARD AND IN ISSUING CERTIFICATES OF QUALIFICATION TO ALL CANDIDATES MEETING THE BOARD'S REQUIREMENTS. ALL EXPENSES AND REVENUES ARE INCURRED OR GENERATED FOR THIS PURPOSE. DURING FISCAL YEAR JUNE 30,2019, THERE WERE 14,150 INDIVIDUALS WHO TOOK AN EXAMINATION, INCLUDING 10,289 SURGERY RESIDENTS TAKING THEIR IN-TRAINING EXAMINATIONS. 1,667 INDIVIDUALS OBTAINED CERTIFICATION, 162 WERE RE-CERTIFIED AND 2,166 ENTERED INTO THE NEW CONTINUOUS CERTIFICATION ASSESSMENT IN GENERAL SURGERY. THE TYPES OF EXAMINATIONS INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING: QUALIFYING, RECERTIFICATION, VASCULAR SURGERY, SURGICAL PRINCIPLES, SURGICAL CRITICAL CARE, PEDIATRIC SURGERY, HAND SURGERY, COMPLEX GENERAL SURGICAL ONCOLOGY, AND HOSPICE AND PALLIATIVE CARE. | Desc |
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | 0 | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | 0 | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (1) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | Yes (1) | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Transaction With Control Ent | Yes (1) | TransactionWithControlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 42 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 31 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 39 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 36 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | JO BUYSKE MD PRESIDENT CEO | PersonNm |
| Phone | 2155684000 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1617 JOHN F KENNEDY BLVD STE 860 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | PHILADELPHIA | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | PA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 191031847 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (48 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Average Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRt | OfficerOfficerInd | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd | Former Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ANNE G RIZZO MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $2,750 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| BRUCE A PERLER MD | ||||||||||
| ASSOCIATE EXECUTIVE DIRECT | 20.00 | Yes (X) | $232,300 | $0 | $6,969 | 0.50 | ||||
| DAI H CHUNG MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $2,900 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| DAVID A SPAIN MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $2,150 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| DAVID R FARLEY MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| DEV M DESAI MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $2,900 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| GEORGE A SAROSI MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| JO BUYSKE MD | ||||||||||
| SECRETARY/TREASURER,EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, TREASU | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $754,648 | $0 | $32,240 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | |||
| JOHN D MELLINGER MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $2,000 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| K CRAIG KENT MD | ||||||||||
| VICE-CHAIR | 7.00 | Yes (X) | $2,000 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| KENJI INABA MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| LEE L SWANSTROM MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $2,000 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| M ASHRAF MANSOUR MBBS | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| M TIMOTHY NELSON MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $2,500 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| MARJORIE J ARCA MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $4,000 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| MARK L WELTON MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $2,000 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| MARK MALANGONI MD | ||||||||||
| ASSOCIATE EXECUTIVE DIRECT | 32.00 | Yes (X) | $405,811 | $101,453 | $36,976 | 8.00 | ||||
| MARK S ALLEN MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $2,000 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| MARWAN S ABOULIJOUD MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| MARY T HAWN MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $2,650 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| NANCY D PERRIER MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| O JOE HINES MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $2,750 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| REID B ADAMS MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $2,000 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| ROBERT D FANELLI MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| ROXIE M ALBRECHT MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| RUSSELL S BERMAN MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| SPENCE M TAYLOR MD | ||||||||||
| CHAIR | 7.00 | Yes (X) | $2,150 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| TYLER G HUGHES MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $2,500 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| VIVIAN GAHTAN MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $2,000 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| WILLIAM C CHAPMAN MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $2,650 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| DOUGLAS C BARNHART MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| HERBERT CHEN MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| DANIEL L DENT MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| AMY J GOLDBERG MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| ANNE C LARKIN MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| JOSHUA MV MAMMEN MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| REBECCA M MINTER MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| MICHAEL W NEUMEISTER MD | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| JOHN H STEWART IV MD MBA | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||||
| ANDREW JONES PHD | ||||||||||
| PSYCHOMETRICIAN | 40.00 | $168,965 | $0 | $21,896 | Yes (X) | |||||
| GABRIEL L BEVILACQUA ESQ | ||||||||||
| GENERAL COUNSEL | 20.00 | $165,885 | $0 | $22,339 | 5.00 | Yes (X) | ||||
| JESSICA A SCHREADER | ||||||||||
| COO | 38.00 | $145,282 | $7,647 | $33,215 | 2.00 | Yes (X) | ||||
| ALEX MINKOVSKY | ||||||||||
| SENIOR SOFTWARE ENGINEER | 40.00 | $110,140 | $0 | $17,835 | Yes (X) | |||||
| JAMES F FIORE | ||||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF IT | 40.00 | $149,960 | $0 | $31,398 | Yes (X) | |||||
| JASON KOPP | ||||||||||
| PSYCHOMETRICIAN | 40.00 | $111,777 | $0 | $23,802 | Yes (X) | |||||
| MARNI GRAMBAU | ||||||||||
| EXAM DEVELOPMENT MANAGER | 40.00 | $113,293 | $0 | $17,409 | Yes (X) | |||||
| CHRIS TUCCI | ||||||||||
| SENIOR SYSTEMS ENGINEER | 40.00 | $101,647 | $0 | $16,821 | Yes (X) | |||||
| FRANK R LEWIS JR MD | ||||||||||
| RETIRED | 0.00 | $700,000 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $3,203,608 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $109,100 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $260,900 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 12 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | Yes (1) | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCS PEARSON INC | |||||
| 5601 GREEN VALLEY DRIVE | BLOOMINGTON | MN | 55437 | TESTING ADMIN FEES | $803,170 |
| ECG MANAGEMENT CONSULTANTS LLC | |||||
| PO BOX 74008176 | CHICAGO | IL | 60674 | MANAGEMENT CONSULTING | $226,613 |
| INTERNET TESTING SYSTEMS LLC | |||||
| 3000 CHESTNUT AVENUE SUITE 401 | BALTIMORE | MD | 21211 | IT SERVICES | $221,506 |
| YOUR PART-TIME CONTROLLER | |||||
| 1500 WALNUT STREET SUITE 1200 | PHILADELPHIA | PA | 19102 | ACCOUNTING/BOOKKEEPING/SEARCH FEES | $185,643 |
| ROBERT CAVANAUGH | |||||
| 553 MONRENO AVENUE | LOS ANGELES | CA | 90049 | FINANCIAL CONSULTANT | $175,000 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 5 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| REGISTRATION / EXAM FEES | 611710 | $8,128,460 | $8,128,460 |
| MISCELLNAEOUS EXAMINATION FEES | 611710 | $120,732 | $120,732 |
| PSYCHOMETRIC FEES | 611710 | $63,500 | $63,500 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $8,312,692 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $298,777 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $298,777 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $4,825,714 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $4,618,036 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $207,678 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $207,678 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $207,678 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | PASSTHROUGH REIMBURSEMENT | Desc |
| Business | 611710 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $236,462 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $236,462 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $236,462 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $9,055,609 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $8,549,154 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $506,455 | ExclusionAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,042,801 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,595,750 | TotalAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,175,555 | TotalAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $185,566 | TotalAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $206,761 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $101,427 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $84,801 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $48,007 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $423,716 | TotalAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $406,898 | TotalAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $192,808 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $400,432 | TotalAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,024,280 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $61,755 | TotalAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $53,408 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt |
|---|---|
| EXAMINATION ADMIN FEES | $681,573 |
| DUES | $285,732 |
| BOARD PASSTHROUGHS | $236,551 |
| SEARCH FEES | $135,345 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $29,554 | TotalAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $10,372,720 | TotalAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,469,604 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,395,567 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,286,060 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,610,774 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $69,723 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $84,747 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $1,653,787 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $1,374,950 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $207,011 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $278,837 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,664,492 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $10,425,850 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,855,433 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $14,042 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $14,042 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $19,566,365 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $16,809,817 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,693,207 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $743,827 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $822,700 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $325,400 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,089,976 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,202,922 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,605,883 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,272,149 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind |
Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,960,482 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,537,668 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,960,482 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,537,668 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $19,566,365 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $16,809,817 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | -$1,317,111 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | -$105,703 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Consolidated Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $403,082 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $242,805 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $160,277 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,250,705 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,132,145 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $118,560 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $278,837 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | PENSION PLAN LIABILITY | Desc |
| Amt | $8,202,922 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $8,202,922 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $11,043,636 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | -$105,703 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Other Revenue | $2,141,737 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $2,036,034 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $9,007,602 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $48,007 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $48,007 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $9,055,609 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $12,069,481 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $1,744,768 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $1,744,768 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $10,324,713 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $48,007 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $48,007 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $10,372,720 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART X, LINE 2: | THE BOARD IS A NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATION WHICH HAS BEEN DETERMINED BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS) TO BE EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501 (C)(6) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (IRC). SCORE IS A NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATION WHICH HAS BEEN DETERMINED BY THE IRS TO BE EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501 (C)(4) OF THE IRC. THE BOARD ACCOUNTS FOR UNCERTAINTIES IN INCOME TAXES IN ACCORDANCE WITH AUTHORITATIVE GUIDANCE, WHICH PRESCRIBES A RECOGNITION THRESHOLD OF MORE-LIKELY-THAN-NOT TO BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY THE APPROPRIATE TAXING AUTHORITY. MEASUREMENT OF THE TAX UNCERTAINTY OCCURS IF THE RECOGNITION THRESHOLD HAS BEEN MET. THE BOARD'S POLICY IS TO RECOGNIZE INTEREST RELATED TO UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS IN INTEREST EXPENSE AND PENALTIES IN OPERATING EXPENSES. MANAGEMENT DETERMINED THAT THERE WERE NO TAX UNCERTAINTIES THAT MET THE RECOGNITION THRESHOLD FOR THE YEARS ENDED JUNE 30, 2019 AND 2018. THE BOARD'S FEDERAL INCOME TAX RETURNS FOR 2018, 2017, AND 2016 REMAIN SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION BY THE IRS. |
| PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | ELIMINATION OF SCORE RELATED-ENTITY REVENUE 2,141,737. |
| PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | ELIMINATION OF SCORE RELATED-ENTITY EXPENSES 1,744,768. |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | Yes (1) | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BRUCE A PERLER MD | ||||||||||||||
| ASSOCIATE EXECUTIVE DIRECT | $232,300 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $6,969 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $239,269 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JO BUYSKE MD | ||||||||||||||
| SECRETARY/TREASURER,EXECUTIVE DIRECT | $754,648 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $19,250 | $0 | $12,990 | $0 | $786,888 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MARK MALANGONI MD | ||||||||||||||
| ASSOCIATE EXECUTIVE DIRECT | $405,811 | $101,453 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $19,250 | $0 | $17,726 | $0 | $442,787 | $101,453 | $0 | $0 |
| ANDREW JONES PHD | ||||||||||||||
| PSYCHOMETRICIAN | $166,440 | $0 | $2,525 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $11,828 | $0 | $10,068 | $0 | $190,861 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| GABRIEL L BEVILACQUA ESQ | ||||||||||||||
| GENERAL COUNSEL | $165,885 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $11,612 | $0 | $10,727 | $0 | $188,224 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JESSICA A SCHREADER | ||||||||||||||
| COO | $142,966 | $7,525 | $2,316 | $122 | $0 | $0 | $10,705 | $0 | $22,510 | $0 | $178,497 | $7,647 | $0 | $0 |
| JAMES F FIORE | ||||||||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF IT | $147,538 | $0 | $2,422 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $10,497 | $0 | $20,901 | $0 | $181,358 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| FRANK R LEWIS JR MD | ||||||||||||||
| RETIRED | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $700,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $700,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART I, LINE 4A | FRANK LEWIS, MD SEVERANCE OF $1,400,000 TO BE PAID IN 2 INCREMENTAL PAYMENTS OF $700,000 EACH FEBRUARY 2018 AND JANUARY 2019. |
| PART I, LINE 7 | THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE, AS PART OF ITS RESPONSIBILITIES IN SETTING COMPENSATION, ANNUALLY AWARDS BONUSES ON A DISCRETIONARY BASIS RELYING ON A VARIETY OF FACTORS WHILE MAINTAINING THE INTEGRITY OF THE COMPENSATION SETTING PROCESS. |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART III, LINE 1, DESCRIPTION OF ORGANIZATION MISSION: | THE AMERICAN BOARD OF SURGERY'S MISSION IS TO SERVE THE PUBLIC AND THE SPECIALTY OF SURGERY BY PROVIDING LEADERSHIP IN SURGICAL EDUCATION AND PRACTICE, BY PROMOTING EXCELLENCE THROUGH RIGOROUS EVALUATION AND EXAMINATION, AND BY PROMOTING THE HIGHEST STANDARDS FOR PROFESSIONALISM, LIFELONG LEARNING, AND THE CONTINUOUS CERTIFICATION OF SURGEONS IN PRACTICE. THE ABS WAS FOUNDED IN 1937 TO PROVIDE BOARD CERTIFICATION TO INDIVIDUALS WHO HAVE MET A DEFINED STANDARD OF EDUCATION, TRAINING AND KNOWLEDGE IN THE FIELD OF SURGERY. SURGEONS CERTIFIED BY THE ABS, KNOWN AS DIPLOMATES, HAVE COMPLETED AT LEAST 5 YEARS OF RESIDENCY TRAINING FOLLOWING MEDICAL SCHOOL, MET ALL ABS TRAINING REQUIREMENTS, AND SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETED THE ABS EXAMINATION PROCESS. ONCE CERTIFIED, ABS DIPLOMATES MUST COMPLETE CONTINUING EDUCATION AND ASSESSMENT ACTIVITIES, IN A PROCESS NOW KNOWN AS CONTINUOUS CERTIFICATION. BOARD CERTIFICATION BY THE ABS IS A VOLUNTARY PROCESS THAT DEMONSTRATES A SURGEON'S COMMITMENT TO PROFESSIONALISM, LIFELONG LEARNING, AND QUALITY PATIENT CARE. THE ABS OFFERS BOARD CERTIFICATION IN SURGERY (GENERAL SURGERY), VASCULAR SURGERY, PEDIATRIC SURGERY, SURGICAL CRITICAL CARE, COMPLEX GENERAL SURGICAL ONCOLOGY, HAND SURGERY, AND HOSPICE AND PALLIATIVE MEDICINE. |
| FORM 990, PART III, LINE 2 | DURING THE FALL OF 2018 THE ABS INTRODUCED THEIR CONTINUOUS CERTIFICATION PROGRAM TO REPLACE THE EXISTING RECERTIFICATION PROGRAM. AS PART OF THIS CHANGE IN PROGRAM, AN ONLINE ASSESSMENT PROCESS WAS INTRODUCED TO REPLACE THE TRADITIONAL RECERTIFICATION EXAM. THE NEW ABS CONTINUOUS CERTIFICATION PROGRAM HAS BEEN DESIGNED TO PROVIDE FLEXIBLE, HIGH-QUALITY, PRACTICE-RELATED LEARNING AND ASSESSMENT TO SUPPORT SURGEONS IN THEIR PRACTICE. DIPLOMATES WILL USE THE NEW ASSESSMENT PROCESS TO DEMONSTRATE THEIR SURGICAL KNOWLEDGE ON A CONTINUAL BASIS. THE ASSESSMENTS FOCUS ON THE LATEST AND MOST IMPORTANT DEVELOPMENTS IN PRACTICE TO ASSIST DIPLOMATES IN STAYING UP TO DATE. ONCE A DIPLOMATE REGISTERS FOR THEIR FIRST ASSESSMENT, THEY ARE ENROLLED IN THE CONTINUOUS CERTIFICATION PROGRAM. AS OF THE FALL OF 2019 (FY20) THE ABS WILL NO LONGER ISSUE 10-YEAR CERTIFICATES FOR GENERAL SURGERY, VASCULAR SURGERY, PEDIATRIC SURGERY OR SURGICAL CRITICAL CARE. |
| FORM 990, PART III, LINE 3 | DURING THE FALL OF 2018 THE ABS INTRODUCED THEIR CONTINUOUS CERTIFICATION PROGRAM TO REPLACE THE EXISTING RECERTIFICATION PROGRAM. AS PART OF THIS CHANGE IN PROGRAM, AN ONLINE ASSESSMENT PROCESS WAS INTRODUCED TO REPLACE THE TRADITIONAL RECERTIFICATION EXAM. THE NEW ABS CONTINUOUS CERTIFICATION PROGRAM HAS BEEN DESIGNED TO PROVIDE FLEXIBLE, HIGH-QUALITY, PRACTICE-RELATED LEARNING AND ASSESSMENT TO SUPPORT SURGEONS IN THEIR PRACTICE. DIPLOMATES WILL USE THE NEW ASSESSMENT PROCESS TO DEMONSTRATE THEIR SURGICAL KNOWLEDGE ON A CONTINUAL BASIS. THE ASSESSMENTS FOCUS ON THE LATEST AND MOST IMPORTANT DEVELOPMENTS IN PRACTICE TO ASSIST DIPLOMATES IN STAYING UP TO DATE. ONCE A DIPLOMATE REGISTERS FOR THEIR FIRST ASSESSMENT, THEY ARE ENROLLED IN THE CONTINUOUS CERTIFICATION PROGRAM. AS OF THE FALL OF 2019 (FY20) THE ABS WILL NO LONGER ISSUE 10-YEAR CERTIFICATES FOR GENERAL SURGERY, VASCULAR SURGERY, PEDIATRIC SURGERY OR SURGICAL CRITICAL CARE. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE ORGANIZATION HAS AN INDEPENDENT CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTING FIRM PREPARE THE FORM 990. THE FORM IS THEN REVIEWED BY THE ORGANIZATION'S CONTROLLER AND EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND ANY NEEDED CHANGES OR UPDATES ARE COMMUNICATED BACK TO THE ACCOUNTING FIRM. ALL BOARD MEMBERS RECEIVE COPIES OF THE FORM 990 BEFORE THE RETURN IS FILED WITH THE IRS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | THE ORGANIZATION HAS ALL DIRECTORS SIGN A DISCLOSURE FORM ANNUALLY ATTESTING TO THE FACT THAT THEY EACH HAVE READ, UNDERSTOOD, AND AGREED TO ABIDE BY THE ORGANIZATION'S CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. ALL NEW DIRECTORS WILL BE REQUIRED TO SIGN THE SAME ATTESTATION UPON THEIR JOINING THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. IN ADDITION, ANY DIRECTOR, OFFICER, EMPLOYEE, MEMBER OR COMMITTEE MEMBER HAVING AN INTEREST IN A CONTRACT OR OTHER TRANSACTION PRESENTED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OR A COMMITTEE THEREOF FOR AUTHORIZATION, APPROVAL, OR RATIFICATION SHALL GIVE PROMPT, FULL, AND FRANK DISCLOSURE OF HIS OR HER INTEREST TO THE BOARD OR COMMITTEE PRIOR TO ITS ACTING ON SUCH CONTRACT OR TRANSACTION. THE BOARD OR COMMITTEE SHALL GATHER COMPARABILITY DATA REGARDING A POSSIBLE CONFLICT TO MAKE DETERMINATIONS REGARDING THE FAIRNESS AND REASONABLENESS OF THE TRANSACTION. THE INTERESTED PARTY MAY MAKE A PRESENTATION TO THE BOARD OR COMMITTEE CONCERNING THE TRANSACTION OR ARRANGEMENT AND THE INTERESTED PARTY'S INTEREST IN THE TRANSACTION OR ARRANGEMENT. THE BOARD OR COMMITTEE SHALL THEN DISCUSS THE TRANSACTION OR ARRANGEMENT WITHOUT THE INTERESTED PARTY PRESENT, INCLUDING THE DATA GATHERED ABOUT POSSIBLE MORE ADVANTAGEOUS TRANSACTIONS OR ARRANGEMENTS. IF A MORE ADVANTAGEOUS TRANSACTION OR ARRANGEMENT IS NOT REASONABLY POSSIBLE UNDER CIRCUMSTANCES NOT PRODUCING A CONFLICT OF INTEREST, THE BOARD OR COMMITTEE SHALL DETERMINE BY A MAJORITY VOTE OF THE DISINTERESTED DIRECTORS WHETHER THE TRANSACTION OR ARRANGEMENT IS IN THE CORPORATION'S BEST INTEREST, FOR ITS OWN BENEFIT, AND WHETHER IT IS FAIR AND REASONABLE IN CONFORMITY WITH THIS DETERMINATION, IT SHALL MAKE ITS DECISION AS TO WHETHER TO ENTER INTO THE TRANSACTION OR ARRANGEMENT. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | THE ABS USES THE ASSOCIATION OF AMERICAN MEDICAL COLLEGES (AAMC) "REPORT ON MEDICAL SCHOOL FACULTY SALARIES" AS THE STANDARD FOR DETERMINING APPROPRIATE COMPENSATION FOR PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE, SINCE THIS IS THE LOCALE FROM WHICH SUCH INDIVIDUALS HAVE TO BE RECRUITED. THIS REPORT PROVIDES THE MOST COMPREHENSIVE DATA AVAILABLE ON MEDICAL FACULTY SALARIES AND IS UPDATED AND REPUBLISHED YEARLY. THE DATA REFLECTS REPORTING FROM ALL 133 ACCREDITED MEDICAL SCHOOLS IN THE UNITED STATES, AND FROM NEARLY 100,000 FACULTY MEMBERS. THE AAMC REPORT CATEGORIZES MEDICAL SCHOOL FACULTY SALARIES BY GEOGRAPHIC REGION, TYPE OF MEDICAL SCHOOL, ACADEMIC RANK, AND MEDICAL SPECIALTY. FOR COMPARATIVE PURPOSES WE USE THE AVERAGE OF PUBLIC, PRIVATE AND NORTHEASTERN MEDICAL SCHOOLS FOR THE SPECIALTY OF GENERAL SURGERY. THE ACADEMIC RANK OF PROFESSOR IS CONSIDERED EQUIVALENT TO ASSISTANT EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, DIVISION HEAD IS CONSIDERED EQUIVALENT TO ASSOCIATE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, AND DEPARTMENT CHAIR IS CONSIDERED EQUIVALENT TO EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR. THE MEDIAN AND MEAN FIGURES ARE AVERAGED FOR EACH POSITION. THESE FIGURES ARE COMPARED OVER FIVE OR MORE YEARS TO ESTABLISH AVERAGE RATES OF INCREASE PER YEAR. THE ABOVE DATA IS PREPARED BY THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR (ED) YEARLY AND IS PRESENTED TO THE FINANCE COMMITTEE AT THE JUNE ANNUAL MEETING IN TABULAR FORM WHICH ALLOWS COMPARISON AMONG ALL OF THE ABOVE VARIABLES. THE ED THEN RECUSES THEIRSELF FROM THE ROOM, AND THE COMMITTEE DISCUSSES THE DATA AND ARRIVES AT FINAL DECISIONS REGARDING THE COMPENSATION OF THE PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVES FOR THE SUCCEEDING YEAR. THE AAMC REPORT IS GENERALLY PUBLISHED IN JANUARY OF A GIVEN YEAR AND IS BASED ON SALARIES REPORTED FOR THE PRIOR ACADEMIC YEAR. THE IMPLEMENTATION OF THESE BY ABS IS THEREFORE AT LEAST ONE YEAR BEHIND THE OBSERVED STANDARDS TO WHICH THEY ARE BEING COMPARED. DISCUSSIONS OF COMPENSATION AT THE BOARD LEVEL ARE DOCUMENTED IN BOARD MINUTES. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C | FINANCE COMMITTEE IS TO OVERSEE THE SELECTION OF AUDITORS AND REVIEW OF AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp
Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | SURGICAL COUNCIL ON RESIDENT EDUCATION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1617 JFK BLVD SUITE 860 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | PHILADELPHIA | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | PA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 19103 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 453248734 | EIN |
| Primary Activities | PROVIDING RESIDENTS AND SURGERY PROGRAMS WITH EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS | PrimaryActivitiesTxt |
| Legal Domicile State | PA | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Exempt Code Section | 501(C)(4) | ExemptCodeSectionTxt |
Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | THE AMERICAN BOARD OF SURGERY INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Controlled Organization | Yes (1) | ControlledOrganizationInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | 0 | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | 0 | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | 0 | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Div Related Organization | 0 | DivRelatedOrganizationInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | 0 | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | 0 | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | 0 | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | 0 | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | 0 | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | Yes (1) | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | Yes (1) | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | 0 | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | Yes (1) | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | 0 | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | 0 | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |
Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp
Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | SURGICAL COUNCIL ON RESIDENT EDUCATION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Transaction Type | O | TransactionTypeTxt |
| Involved | $821,094 | InvolvedAmt |
| Method Of Amount Determination | COST | MethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt |