STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

MALONE UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2018

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
MALONE UNIVERSITY (EIN 34-0737794)
Tax period
2018-07-01 to 2019-06-30
Filed
2020-05-14
IRS object ID
202001359349303420
Schema version
2018v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-05-14T15:00:19-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2019-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BKD LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1200 E Main St Suite 700AddressLine1Txt
CityFort WayneCityNm
State AbbreviationINStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP46802ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2018-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN340737794EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MALONE UNIVERSITYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% KATIE ROBBINS CFOInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlMALOBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3304718100PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12600 CLEVELAND AVE NWAddressLine1Txt
CityCANTONCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44709ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDR DAVID KINGPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENTPersonTitleTxt
Phone3304718100PhoneNum
Signature2019-11-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonAnne E WhitePreparerPersonNm
PTINP01708202PTIN
Phone2604604000PhoneNum

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address167.68.126.162IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Federal Original Submission Id35027420201355000009FederalOriginalSubmissionId
Federal Original Submission Id2020-05-14FederalOriginalSubmissionIdDt
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdC9F2138D12F7D343057C8214CDBDB0735A7DCED9AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id4054C3EF14AA7DF352A59B9CFDC0CB34D463127CAtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2018TaxYr
Build TS2020-09-23 17:36:50ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDAVID A KINGPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12600 CLEVELAND AVE NWAddressLine1Txt
CityCANTONCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44709ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$56,700,355GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.MALONE.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1899FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateOHLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTHE UNIVERSITY IS COMMITTED TO INTELLECTUAL ENRICHMENT IN THE CONTEXT OF CHRISTIAN FAITH THAT PRODUCES GRADUATES WITH A LOVE OF TRUTH AND MATURE FAITH.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body28VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent24VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee972TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers24TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$4,898,270PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$3,872,613CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$43,822,801PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$44,552,467CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$3,105,756PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$336,260CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$63,598PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$70,285CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$51,890,425PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$48,831,625CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$18,562,850PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$19,073,701CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$17,791,342PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$18,136,486CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$899,377CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$14,275,471PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$14,727,653CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$50,629,663PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$51,937,840CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,260,762PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$3,106,215CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$69,334,457TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$67,670,129TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$21,214,966TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$22,146,241TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$48,119,491NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$45,523,888NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTHE MISSION OF MALONE UNIVERSITY IS TO PROVIDE STUDENTS WITH AN EDUCATION BASED ON BIBLICAL FAITH IN ORDER TO DEVELOP MEN AND WOMEN IN INTELLECTUAL MATURITY, WISDOM, AND CHRISTIAN FAITH WHO ARE COMMITTED TO SERVING THE CHURCH, COMMUNITY, AND THE WORLD.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$36,598,461ExpenseAmt
Grant$19,033,276GrantAmt
Revenue$39,296,709RevenueAmt
DescTRADITIONAL UNDERGRADUATE - MALONE'S CHRISTIAN LIBERAL ARTS APPROACH IS WIDELY RECOGNIZED TODAY AS PRODUCING EXCEPTIONAL GRADUATES PREPARED FOR ALL ASPECTS OF LIFE. OUR INTENT IS THAT STUDENTS ATTAIN THE WISDOM, KNOWLEDGE, AND SKILLS NECESSARY TO SERVE, ENGAGE, AND TRANSFORM THE COMMUNITIES IN WHICH THEY LIVE AND WORK. UNDERGRADUATE EDUCATIONAL GOALS ARE: (1) UNDERSTAND AND CRITICALLY ENGAGE THOSE BODIES OF KNOWLEDGE AND CULTURAL INFLUENCES THAT HAVE SHAPED THE WORLD; (2) UNDERSTAND THE BIBLICAL, HISTORICAL, AND THEOLOGICAL FOUNDATIONS OF THE CHRISTIAN FAITH; (3) THINK CRITICALLY AND CREATIVELY AND COMMUNICATE EFFECTIVELY IN MULTIPLE CONTEXTS; (4) ATTAIN EXPERTISE IN AT LEAST ONE PROFESSION OR ACADEMIC DISCIPLINE AND LAY THE FOUNDATION FOR MEANINGFUL WORK OR FURTHER STUDIES AT THE GRADUATE LEVEL; AND (5) EXPLORE THE IMPLICATION OF THE CHRISTIAN FAITH FOR ALL AREAS OF LIVING, INCLUDING INTELLECTUAL, SPIRITUAL, AND COMMUNITY PURSUITS. THE UNIVERSITY IS COMPRISED OF ONE COLLEGE AND THREE SCHOOLS, OFFERING 51 UNDERGRADUATE MAJORS, 47 MINORS, AND 7 PRE-PROFESSIONAL PROGRAMS. FALL 2018 TRADITIONAL UNDERGRADUATE FTE ENROLLMENT WAS 1,074, WITH A STUDENT TO FACULTY RATIO OF 11.9 TO 1. RESIDENT HEADCOUNT WAS 728 AND COMMUTER HEADCOUNT WAS 578.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$1,614,399ExpenseAmt
Revenue$828,375RevenueAmt
DescNON-TRADITIONAL UNDERGRADUATE: CONTINUING STUDIES - MALONE UNIVERSITY OFFERS TWO DEGREE COMPLETION OPTIONS TO ADULT LEARNERS WITH PRIOR UNDERGRADUATE COURSEWORK: MGMT (MALONE MANAGEMENT PROGRAM), AND BSNDC (BACHELOR OF SCIENCE IN NURSING DEGREE COMPLETION). STUDENTS ARE ABLE TO COMPLETE THEIR DEGREES IN AS LITTLE AS 14 MONTHS. MMP - TWO MAJORS WERE OFFERED: (1) ORGANIZATIONAL MANAGEMENT, PREPARES FOR ACTIVE LEADERSHIP ROLES IN CORPORATE, GOVERNMENT AND NON-PROFIT ENVIRONMENTS; (2) HEALTH SERVICE MANAGEMENT, GAIN AN IN-DEPTH UNDERSTANDING OF HEALTH CARE SYSTEMS, LEGAL ISSUES RELATED TO CARE AND CONSUMER HEALTH CHOICES. FALL 2018 MGMT FTE ENROLLMENT WAS 53; HEADCOUNT WAS 84. BSNDC - REGISTERED NURSES WITH A NURSING DIPLOMA OR ASSOCIATE DEGREE CAN EARN THEIR BSN DEGREE. MALONE NURSING DEGREES ARE ESTEEMED FOR PROVIDING THE KNOWLEDGE, SKILLS AND COMPASSION NEEDED TO DELIVER EXCEPTIONAL CARE AND INSPIRED LEADERSHIP. FALL 2018 BSNDC FTE ENROLLMENT WAS 19; HEADCOUNT WAS 26.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$5,852,260ExpenseAmt
Grant$40,425GrantAmt
Revenue$4,497,668RevenueAmt
DescGRADUATE STUDIES - MALONE UNIVERSITY HAS DEVELOPED GRADUATE PROGRAM AND WORKSHOPS TO MEET THE NEEDS OF PROFESSIONALS DESIRING TO ADVANCE THEIR KNOWLEDGE AND SKILLS IN A FAITH-BASED ENVIRONMENT. THE FOLLOWING AREAS OF STUDY ARE OFFERED: BUSINESS (MBA), EDUCATION (MAED), EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP (MSEL), NURSING (MSN), COUNSELING (MAED), AND ORGANIZATIONAL LEADERSHIP (MAOL). FALL 2018 FTE GRADUATE ENROLLMENT WAS 288; HEADCOUNT WAS 396. IN ADDITION, MALONE UNIVERSITY OFFERS OPTIONS FOR EDUCATION AND BUSINESS PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT THROUGH WORKSHOPS AND CERTIFICATE PROGRAMS.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$44,065,120TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonYes (true)GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (true)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document60IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee972EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members28GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member24IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyfalseForm990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldOHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKATIE ROBBINS CFOPersonNm
Phone3304718100PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12600 CLEVELAND AVE NWAddressLine1Txt
CityCANTONCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44709ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (34 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerInd
PAMELA BURCH
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MATTHEW CHESNES
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
THOMAS CRAWFORD
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
RONALD CROCK
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARCIE CURRY
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
SUSAN GRABOWSKI
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
KEVIN HAMMONS
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
SHARI HANSEN
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
FLANVIS JOHNSON II
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
EDWARD KAPRALY
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
TERRY MAGRO
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRIAN MILLER
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
LEON MILLER
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
RHONDA MITCHELL
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARTHA MOONEY
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID MUNGO
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID MURRAY
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
RODNEY NEUENSCHWANDER
CHAIR2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
LYNN PIERCE
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK ROSE
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRENDA SMITH
SECRETARY2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
MATTHEW SUTTER
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
LYNDON THOMAS
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ALICE WILLIAMS
TREASURER2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
LAMAR WYSE
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MERVIN YODER
VICE CHAIR2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
JANET WEIR CREIGHTON
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID A KING
PRESIDENT50.00.0Yes (X)$231,812$0$33,520Yes (X)
KATIE ROBBINS BEGAN 0419
VP FINANCE & BUSINESS AFFAIR50.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
ELAINE ARICK LEFT 0119
VP FINANCE50.00.0$101,998$0$17,670Yes (X)
DAVID PHINNEY LEFT 0619
PROVOST50.00.0$122,414$0$18,242Yes (X)
MARK SEYMOUR
VP ENROLLMENT50.00.0$140,982$0$1,951Yes (X)
BARBARA BEUSCHER LEFT 1119
VP ADVANCEMENT50.00.0$128,091$0$18,020Yes (X)
TIM BRYAN
VP MARKETING & COMMUNICATIONS50.00.0$131,530$0$8,624Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$856,827TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$98,027TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K6IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
AVI FOOD SYSTEMS
2590 ELM RD NEWARRENOH44483FOOD SERVICES$2,914,489
TREE OF LIFE BOOKSTORES INC
1500 S WESTERN AVEMARIONIN46953BOOKSTORE$600,998
WENGER EXCAVATING INC
26 N COCHRAN STDALTONOH44618EXCAVATING$1,013,702
RUFFALO NOEL LEVITZ
1025 KIRKWOOD PARKWAY SWCEDAR RAPIDSIA52404ENROLLMENT SERVICES$490,632
LEARNING HOUSE INC
427 SOUTH FOURTH ST SUITE 300LOUISVILLEKY40202STUDENT RECRUITMENT$421,627
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K10CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$292,277GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$3,580,336AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$1,298,023NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$3,872,613TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION, FEES, ETC611710$37,135,157$37,135,157
AUXILIARY REVENUE900099$7,181,711$7,181,711
PARKING FEES812930$58,892$58,892
TESTING SERVICES900099$22,400$22,400
TRANSCRIPT FEES900099$17,141$17,141

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$137,166TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$137,166RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$44,552,467TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$711,692TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$711,692ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$7,493,298SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$7,868,730SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$375,432SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$375,432TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$375,432ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$0FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$0FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$0GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$0GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$70,285GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$0CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$70,285TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$70,285RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$0OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$48,831,625TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$44,622,752RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$336,260ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,073,701TotalAmt
Program Services$19,073,701ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$949,805TotalAmt
Program Services$200,540ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$616,243ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$133,022FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$53,066TotalAmt
Program Services$53,066ProgramServicesAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,907,986TotalAmt
Program Services$9,923,950ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,578,525ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$405,511FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$78,491TotalAmt
Program Services$57,357ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$18,086ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,048FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,130,193TotalAmt
Program Services$2,287,372ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$721,266ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$121,555FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,016,945TotalAmt
Program Services$743,127ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$234,327ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$39,491FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$91,108TotalAmt
Management And General$91,108ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$46,069TotalAmt
Management And General$46,069ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$112,693TotalAmt
Management And General$112,693ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$85,075TotalAmt
Management And General$85,075ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,051,857TotalAmt
Program Services$614,974ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$403,984ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$32,899FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,139,355TotalAmt
Program Services$610,206ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$468,313ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$60,836FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$507,592TotalAmt
Program Services$239,118ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$235,438ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$33,036FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$871,328TotalAmt
Program Services$681,635ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$189,693ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,710,360TotalAmt
Program Services$1,004,830ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$705,530ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$832,090TotalAmt
Program Services$766,468ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$41,277ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$24,345FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$122,627TotalAmt
Program Services$71,715ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$41,775ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$9,137FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$855,396TotalAmt
Program Services$855,396ProgramServicesAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,495,092TotalAmt
Program Services$2,478,661ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$16,431ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$162,292TotalAmt
Program Services$97,525ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$64,767ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
BAD DEBT$104,181$104,181
OTHER EDUCATION EXPENSE$337,676$303,341$34,335
OTHER AUXILIARY$3,236,979$3,236,979
DUES/MEMBERSHIPS$140,373$57,737$78,196$4,440

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$825,510TotalAmt
Program Services$603,241ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$190,212ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$32,057FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$51,937,840TotalAmt
Program Services$44,065,120ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,973,343ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$899,377FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,135BOYAmt
EOY$9,000EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,609,740BOYAmt
EOY$7,360,060EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$415,441BOYAmt
EOY$539,004EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,527,452BOYAmt
EOY$1,593,065EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,789,520BOYAmt
EOY$1,565,036EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,431,827BOYAmt
EOY$1,431,582EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$95,474,267LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$56,000,620LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,506,326BOYAmt
EOY$39,473,647EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,725,337BOYAmt
EOY$14,347,313EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,319,679BOYAmt
EOY$1,351,422EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$69,334,457BOYAmt
EOY$67,670,129EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,109,687BOYAmt
EOY$2,057,124EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,619,004BOYAmt
EOY$3,757,239EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,301,891BOYAmt
EOY$11,931,029EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,184,384BOYAmt
EOY$4,400,849EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,214,966BOYAmt
EOY$22,146,241EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,166,381BOYAmt
EOY$18,416,533EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,933,979BOYAmt
EOY$27,107,355EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,019,131BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$48,119,491BOYAmt
EOY$45,523,888EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$69,334,457BOYAmt
EOY$67,670,129EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$3,106,215ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$520,780NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$10,168OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$21,082,611BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$142,535ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$846,767InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$537,240GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$407,621OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$45,075AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$21,081,977EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$20,220,336BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$383,323ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,656,498InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,070,441GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$46,221OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$60,884AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$21,082,611EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$19,670,784BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$222,757ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,769,680InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$989,062GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$392,715OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$61,108AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$20,220,336EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$19,533,427BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$470,635ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$294,682InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$485,910GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$84,916OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$57,134AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$19,670,784EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$20,063,429BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$531,143ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$328,751InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,038,081GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$296,024OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$55,791AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$19,533,427EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.00950BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.84010PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.15040TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,146,345OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,146,345BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$54,992,659OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$24,247,300DepreciationAmt
Book Value$30,745,359BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Leasehold ImprovementsLeaseholdImprovementsGrp

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$19,862,871OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$18,207,327DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,655,544BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$18,472,392OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$13,545,993DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,926,399BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$39,473,647TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt
Total Liability$0TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$30,278,704TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$520,780NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$520,780RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$29,757,924RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$19,073,701OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$19,073,701RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$48,831,625TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$32,864,139TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$32,864,139ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$19,073,701OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$19,073,701ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$51,937,840TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PART V, LINE 4MALONE UNIVERSITY HAS A POLICY OF APPROPRIATING FOR EXPENDITURE EACH YEAR 5% OF ITS INVESTED ENDOWMENT FUND'S AVERAGE FAIR VALUE OVER THE PRIOR THREE YEARS. A DIVERSIFIED ASSET ALLOCATION IS TARGETED THAT PLACES A GREATER EMPHASIS ON EQUITY-BASED INVESTMENTS. APPROPRIATIONS ARE USED PRIMARILY TO FUND SCHOLARSHIPS, AND FOR THE RENOVATION OF BUILDINGS AND EQUIPMENT REPLACEMENT.
ASC 740 FOOTNOTEMANAGEMENT HAS EVALUATED THEIR INCOME TAX POSITIONS UNDER THE GUIDANCE INCLUDED IN ASC 740. BASED ON THEIR REVIEW, MANAGEMENT HAS NOT IDENTIFIED ANY MATERIAL UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS TO BE RECORDED OR DISCLOSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.
PART XI AND PART XII, LINE 4BFINANCIAL AID 18,572,973 OUTSIDE SCHOLARSHIPS 500,728 TOTAL: $19,073,701

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (true)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3THIS INFORMATION IS PROVIDED IN WRITTEN FORM IN THE UNIVERSITY CATALOG, ON ALL ADMISSIONS DOCUMENTS AND OTHER DOCUMENTS DISSEMINATED THROUGHOUT THE CAMPUS. IT IS ALSO LISTED ON ALL EMPLOYMENT ADVERTISEMENTS AND ON THE MALONE.EDU WEBSITE THAT ARE CARRIED LIVE.
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6AMALONE UNIVERSITY RECEIVES FEDERAL STUDENT AID (FSA) FUNDS FOR DISBURSEMENT TO CURRENTLY ENROLLED STUDENTS UNDER THE TITLE IV PROGRAM. QUALIFIED STUDENTS MAY ALSO APPLY FOR AND RECEIVE FINANCIAL AID THROUGH THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, THE DEPARTMENT OF VETERAN'S AFFAIRS, AND THE CORPORATION FOR NATIONAL AND COMMUNITY SERVICE (AMERICORPS). STATE FINANCIAL AID IS DETERMINED BY THE STUDENT'S RESIDENT STATUS. STATE GRANTS (NON-STUDENT) ARE APPLIED FOR BY THE UNIVERSITY BASED ON EDUCATION AND TEACHING PROGRAMS OFFERED.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeSCHOLARSHIPSGrantTypeTxt
Recipient1663RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$19,073,701CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE I, PART I, LINE 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationGRANTS AND SCHOLARSHIPS ARE MONITORED FOR APPROPRIATE USE BY VALIDATING REGISTRATION AND SATISFACTORY PROGRESS TOWARDS COMPLETION OF EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Personal ServicesYes (X)PersonalServicesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDAVID A KINGPersonNm
TitlePRESIDENTTitleTxt
Base Compensation Filing Org$189,812BaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Compensation Based On Rltd Orgs$0CompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt
Bonus Filing Organization$0BonusFilingOrganizationAmount
Bonus Related Organizations$0BonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt
Other Compensation Filing Org$42,000OtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Other Compensation Rltd Orgs$0OtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Deferred Compensation Flng Org$16,936DeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt
Deferred Comp Rltd Orgs$0DeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Filing Org$16,584NontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Rltd Orgs$0NontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt
Total Compensation Filing Org$265,332TotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Total Compensation Rltd Orgs$0TotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 1ADR. KING, THE ORGANIZATION'S PRESIDENT, RECEIVES TRAVEL FOR COMPANIONS AND CLUB DUES IN ORDER TO FACILITATE MEETINGS WITH PROSPECTIVE DONORS. THIS IS FOR BUSINESS USE ONLY AND IS SUFFICIENTLY DOCUMENTED. IT IS NON-TAXABLE. THE PRESIDENT LIVES IN A UNIVERSITY OWNED HOUSE. THE FAIR MARKET VALUE OF THE HOUSING IS VALUED AT $42,000 PER YEAR. THIS BENEFIT DOES NOT MEET THE IRC SECT. 119 EXCLUSION AND, AS SUCH, IS INCLUDED AS TAXABLE COMPENSATION ON HIS W-2. CLEANING SERVICES FOR THE PRESIDENT'S RESIDENCE VALUED AT $2,700 ARE INCLUDED IN THE HOUSING ALLOWANCE HE RECEIVES.
SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 4BDR. DAVID KING PARTICIPATES IN A 457(F) PLAN. DURING 2018, THERE WAS A $15,000 CONTRIBUTION TO THE PLAN BUT NO PAYOUTS. THE CONTRIBUTION IS PROPERLY REPORTED IN COLUMN (C) ON PT. II.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Grnt Asst Bnft Interested Prsn GrntAsstBnftInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cash Grant$54,110CashGrantAmt
Type Of AssistanceSCHOLARSHIPSTypeOfAssistanceTxt
Assistance PurposeSCHOLARSHIPSAssistancePurposeTxt

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (2 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
JASON WYSE
SON OF LAMAR WYSE$53,066COMPENSATIONfalse
SUBSTANTIAL CONTRIBUTOR
SUBSTANTIAL CONTRIBUTOR$1,013,702INDEPENDENT CONTRACTORfalse

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Works Of ArtWorksOfArtGrp
Art Historical TreasuresArtHistoricalTreasuresGrp
Art Fractional InterestArtFractionalInterestGrp
Books And PublicationsBooksAndPublicationsGrp
Clothing And Household GoodsClothingAndHouseholdGoodsGrp
Cars And Other VehiclesCarsAndOtherVehiclesGrp
Boats And PlanesBoatsAndPlanesGrp
Intellectual PropertyIntellectualPropertyGrp

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution4ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$1,282,193NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities Closely Held StockSecuritiesCloselyHeldStockGrp
Secur Prtnrshp Trust IntrstsSecurPrtnrshpTrustIntrstsGrp
Securities MiscellaneousSecuritiesMiscellaneousGrp
Qualified Contrib Hist StructQualifiedContribHistStructGrp
Qualified Contrib OtherQualifiedContribOtherGrp
Real Estate ResidentialRealEstateResidentialGrp
Real Estate CommercialRealEstateCommercialGrp
Real Estate OtherRealEstateOtherGrp
CollectiblesCollectiblesGrp
Food InventoryFoodInventoryGrp
Drugs And Medical SuppliesDrugsAndMedicalSuppliesGrp
TaxidermyTaxidermyGrp
Historical ArtifactsHistoricalArtifactsGrp
Scientific SpecimensScientificSpecimensGrp
Archaeological ArtifactsArchaeologicalArtifactsGrp

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp (3 entries)

Non Cash CheckboxNonCashCheckboxIndDescDescContributionContributionCntNoncash Contributions Rpt F990NoncashContributionsRptF990AmtMethod Of Determining RevenuesMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
Yes (X)TRAVEL2$7,019FMV
Yes (X)SUPPLIES2$5,072FMV
Yes (X)BITCOIN1$3,739FMV
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsfalseReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedfalseThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 1BDAVID KING IS A PAID EMPLOYEE OF THE UNIVERSITY, AND, AS SUCH, IS CONSIDERED A NON-INDEPENDENT BOARD MEMBER. RHONDA MITCHELL, ALICE WILLIAMS, AND LAMAR WYSE ARE CONSIDERED NON-INDEPENDENT BOARD MEMBERS DUE TO TRANSACTIONS REPORTED ON SCHEDULE L. FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B A DRAFT FORM 990 WAS REVIEWED IN DETAIL WITH AUDIT & FINANCE COMMITTEE. THE AUDIT & FINANCE COMMITTEE RECOMMENDED APPROVAL OF THE FORM 990 BY THE FULL BOARD OF TRUSTEES. THE APPROVED COPY OF THE FORM 990 WAS MADE AVAILABLE TO ALL BOARD MEMBERS THROUGH ELECTRONIC MAIL. SCHEDULE B WAS REDACTED IN THE EMAILED VERSION WITH A HARD COPY MADE AVAILABLE TO THE BOARD IN THE FINANCE OFFICE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD REVIEWS ALL CONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENTS OF FAMILY AND BUSINESS DISCLOSURE LETTERS RETURNED TO MALONE WHERE A CONFLICT IS DISCLOSED. THE ANNUAL CONFLICT OF DISCLOSURE STATEMENTS ARE SUBMITTED TO, AND REVIEWED BY, THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. IN ADDITION, THE EXECUTIVE STAFF IS RESPONSIBLE FOR MONITORING ANY POSSIBLE CONFLICT TRANSACTION THAT ARISES TO ENSURE THAT ALL TRANSACTIONS REPRESENT ARM'S LENGTH, FAIR MARKET VALUE FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE ORGANIZATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15ACOMPENSATION STUDIES FOR THE ORGANIZATION'S PRESIDENT ARE RESEARCHED AND PREPARED BY THE HR DIRECTOR. THAT INFORMATION IS SUBMITTED TO THE PRESIDENTIAL REVIEW AND COMPENSATION COMMITTEE (PRCC) AT THE OCTOBER BOARD MEETING FOR THEIR REVIEW AND APPROVAL. THE COMMITTEE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR APPLYING TERMS AND PROCESSES OF THE EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION AND INTERMEDIATE SANCTIONS AS OUTLINED ABOVE TO FOLLOW THE REBUTTAL PRESUMPTION OF REASONABLENESS TEST.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15BTHE PROCESS FOR DETERMINING COMPENSATION FOR THE ORGANIZATION'S OFFICERS, AND KEY EMPLOYEES IS PREPARED BY THE HR DIRECTOR AND THE INFORMATION IS SUBMITTED TO THE PRESIDENT FOR HIS/HER REVIEW AND APPROVAL. THE HR DIRECTOR USES CUPA REPORTS TO DETERMINE THE APPROPRIATE SALARIES AT THE VICE-PRESIDENTIAL AND ADMINISTRATOR LEVEL. THE PROVOST REVIEWS THE SALARIES OF DEANS AND KEY FACULTY MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19MALONE UNIVERSITY MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST AND APPLICABLE DOCUMENT COPIES ARE SENT TO THE REQUESTER FREE OF CHARGE.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9CHANGE IN VALUE OF BENEFICIAL INTERESTS -$10,168