STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 34-4316639)
Tax period
2019-01-01 to 2019-12-31
Filed
2020-07-13
IRS object ID
202001959349304200
Schema version
2019v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-07-13T17:01:42-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2019-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN363163136PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1LWG CPAS & ADVISORSBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11776 N MERIDIAN ST STE 500AddressLine1Txt
CityINDIANAPOLISCityNm
State AbbreviationINStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP46202ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN344316639EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlNORTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4406472133PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1350 STUMP PIKE ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityATTICACityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44807ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKRISTINE DAWSONPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone4406472133PhoneNum
Signature2020-06-30SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonBRIAN D CHERRYPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01355823PTIN
Phone3176344747PhoneNum

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address68.39.87.89IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2020-06-30IPDt
IP Tm10:58:29IPTm
IP TimezoneUSIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdD0C38AB60C307D73A90E817C68D67340FB0F463DAtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdD0C38AB60C307D73A90E817C68D67340FB0F463DAtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2021-04-22 16:20:28ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerKRISTINE DAWSONPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1350 STUMP PIKE ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityATTICACityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44807ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$26,213,927GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressNCELEC.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1936FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateOHLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY AND RELATED SERVICES TO MEMBERS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee40TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$153TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$26,912,364PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$26,049,985CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$46,703PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$67,641CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$3,475CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$26,959,067PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$26,114,151CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$24,695,124PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$24,398,816CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$24,695,124PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$24,398,816CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$2,263,943PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$1,715,335CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$69,207,346TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$71,136,625TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$38,235,423TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$39,863,039TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$30,971,923NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$31,273,586NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO PROVIDE OUR MEMBER-OWNERS WITH HIGHLY RELIABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE, SUPERIOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND INNOVATIVE ENERGY SOLUTIONS AT COMPETITIVE PRICES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$24,398,816ExpenseAmt
Revenue$25,973,793RevenueAmt
DescPROVIDE ELECTRICITY AND RELATED SERVICES TO MEMBERS.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$24,398,816TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J Required0ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntYes (1)BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document49IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee40EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$26,049,985MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$64,166OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention Policy0DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldOHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KRISTINE DAWSONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone4406472133PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1350 STEMP PIKE ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityATTICACityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44807ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (11 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
KEVIN BISHOP
SECRETARY5.10Yes (X)Yes (X)$10,600$0$0
RODNEY P SNAVELY
VICE PRESIDENT4.60Yes (X)Yes (X)$9,950$0$0
RONALD P FRISCH
TRUSTEE4.80Yes (X)$9,325$0$0
DENNIS W SCHINDLER
TRUSTEE5.50Yes (X)$9,700$0$0
STEVE J SEITZ
TREASURER4.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$8,975$0$0
NICHOLAS W WAGNER IV
TRUSTEE7.80Yes (X)$10,375$0$0
DUANE FRANKART
PRESIDENT7.80Yes (X)Yes (X)$17,775$0$0
DAVID GREEN
TRUSTEE3.70Yes (X)$7,000$0$0
MICHAEL P SCHERGER
TRUSTEE4.10Yes (X)$7,600$0$0
EDWARD VANHOOSE
GENERAL MANAGER45.00Yes (X)$94,495$0$41,791
KRISTINE DAWSON
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE & ACCOUNTING45.00Yes (X)$30,164$0$5,377
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$215,959TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$47,168TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 K0TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
SPENCER'S TREE & LANDSCAPE
4291 KING ROADBUCYRUSOH44820TREE TRIMMING$143,527
BUCKEYE BORING AND EXCAVATING LLC
5688 STATE HWY 231SYCAMOREOH44882CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTOR$141,858
VAUGHN INDUSTRIES
1204 E FINDLEY STREETCAREYOH43316ENGINEERING$122,989
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
RESIDENTIAL SALES221000$16,383,318$16,383,318
COMMERCIAL SALES - LARGE221000$4,548,708$4,548,708
COMMERCIAL SALES- SMALL221000$3,307,156$3,307,156
PATRONAGE CAPITAL CREDITS900001$836,625$836,625
PUBLIC REVENUES221000$671,612$671,612

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$302,566TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$302,566RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$26,049,985TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$140,205TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$140,205ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$27,212OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$99,776OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$72,564OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$72,564TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$72,564RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
MERCHANDISING REVENUE900099$153$153
MISC REVENUE/EXP221000-$3,628-$3,628
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total-$3,475OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$26,114,151TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$25,973,793RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$153UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$140,205ExclusionAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,362,946TotalAmt
Program Services$1,362,946ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,332,799TotalAmt
Program Services$2,332,799ProgramServicesAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
PURCHASED POWER$14,895,110$14,895,110
OPERATIONS EXPENSE$1,684,970$1,684,970
GENERAL AND ADMINISTRAT$1,445,239$1,445,239
CUSTOMER ACCOUNTS EXPEN$895,381$895,381

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,782,371TotalAmt
Program Services$1,782,371ProgramServicesAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$24,398,816TotalAmt
Program Services$24,398,816ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$270,157BOYAmt
EOY$1,246,493EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$360,551BOYAmt
EOY$642,480EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,115,606BOYAmt
EOY$2,219,014EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,372BOYAmt
EOY$8,176EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$648,800BOYAmt
EOY$454,996EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,009,662BOYAmt
EOY$871,835EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$76,970,139LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$24,904,415LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,475,780BOYAmt
EOY$52,065,724EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,319,418BOYAmt
EOY$13,627,907EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$69,207,346BOYAmt
EOY$71,136,625EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,162,395BOYAmt
EOY$3,123,467EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,348,289BOYAmt
EOY$34,229,064EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,724,739BOYAmt
EOY$2,510,508EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$38,235,423BOYAmt
EOY$39,863,039EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$80,980BOYAmt
EOY$80,980EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,890,943BOYAmt
EOY$31,192,606EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,971,923BOYAmt
EOY$31,273,586EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$69,207,346BOYAmt
EOY$71,136,625EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$1,715,335ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$1,413,672OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$210,718OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$210,718BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,708,125OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,720,945DepreciationAmt
Book Value$987,180BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$74,051,296OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$23,183,470DepreciationAmt
Book Value$50,867,826BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$52,065,724TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (10 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PATRONAGE CAPITAL FROM ASSOCIATED C$11,627,712C
INVESTMENTS TO CAPITAL CERTIFICATES$639,186C
OTHER INVESTMENTS IN ASSOC ORG - BU$1,191,765C
INVESTMENT IN NCAD$1,000C
INVESTMENT IN FESCO$1,000C
OTHER INVESTMENTS IN ASSOC ORG$50C
INVESTMENT IN HEARTLAND LLC$165,129C
INVESTMENT IN COBANK$1,100C
INVESTMENT IN ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT$865C
INVESTMENTS-OTH SECS(DETAIL)-990$100C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$13,627,907TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ACCUMULATED PROVISION FOR PENSIONS$1,063,342
ACCUMULATED PROVISION FOR DEFERRED$185,311
CUSTOMER DEPOSITS$318,485
ACCRUED EMPLOYEES LEAVE - VACATION$891,374
DEFERRED CAPITAL CREDIT RETIREMENT$51,996
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,510,508TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$26,114,151TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$26,114,151RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$26,114,151TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$24,398,816TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$24,398,816ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$24,398,816TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART X, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE COOPERATIVE BELIEVES THEY ARE NOT TAKING ANY UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (3 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
EDWARD VANHOOSE
SEE BELOW$14,895,1100
DENNIS SCHINDLER
SEE BELOW$112,6410
NICK WAGNER
SEE BELOW$112,6410

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE L, PART IV, LINE 1MR. VANHOOSE IS THE GENERAL MANAGER OF THE COOPERATIVE AND DIRECTOR FOR BUCKEYE POWER. NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE HAS AN AGREEMENT TO PURCHASE POWER FROM BUCKEYE POWER.
SCHEDULE L, PART IV, LINE 2MR. SCHINDLER IS BOTH A DIRECTOR FOR THE COOPERATIVE AND WAS A DIRECTOR FOR THE STATEWIDE ORGANIZATION, OHIO RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, UNTIL JULY 2019. THE COOPERATIVE PAYS ANNUAL DUES FOR TRAINING AND OTHER SERVICES PROVIDED BY THE STATEWIDE ORGANIZATION.
SCHEDULE L, PART IV, LINE 3MR. WAGNER IS BOTH A DIRECTOR FOR THE COOPERATIVE AND A DIRECTOR FOR THE STATEWIDE ORGANIZATION, OHIO RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, BEGINNING IN AUGUST 2019 TO PRESENT. THE COOPERATIVE PAYS ANNUAL DUES FOR TRAINING AND OTHER SERVICES PROVIDED BY THE STATEWIDE ORGANIZATION.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE EACH HAVE A VOTE AT THE ANNUAL MEETING TO ELECT DIRECTORS AND VOTE ON PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERSHIP ELECTS BOARD MEMBERS AT THE ANNUAL MEETING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE EXAMINATION AND DISCUSSION OF EACH YEAR'S FORM 990 IS PLACED ON THE AGENDA OF THE REGULAR BOARD MEETING. THE 990 IS THOROUGHLY REVIEWED. NECESSARY CHANGES, IF ANY, ARE APPROVED BY MANAGEMENT AND COMMUNICATED TO THE BOARD.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTRUSTEES ARE REQUIRED ANNUALLY TO DISCLOSE ALL INTEREST THAT COULD GIVE RISE TO CONFLICT. EACH TRUSTEE COMPLETES AND SIGNS A QUESTIONNAIRE ADDRESSING CONFLICTS OF INTEREST AND BUSINESS RELATIONSHIPS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION LEVELS ARE REVIEWED ANNUALLY USING INDUSTRY SURVEY DATA.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 18RECORDS ARE MADE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19BYLAWS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE AT THE ANNUAL MEETING. THIS INFORMATION IS ALSO AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART VII, LINE 10EDWARD VANHOOSE'S SALARY IS ALLOCATED AMONG TWO ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES. TAXABLE WAGES ALLOCATED TO LORAIN-MEDINA RURAL ELECTRIC (EIN # 34-0365430) ARE $154,175 AND OTHER BENEFITS ALLOCATED ARE $68,184. TAXABLE WAGES ALLOCATED TO NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRIC ARE $94,495 AND OTHER BENEFITS ALLOCATED ARE $41,791. LORAIN-MEDINA RURAL ELECTRIC AND NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRIC ARE NOT RELATED ENTITIES BUT SHARE THE SERVICES OF EDWARD VANHOOSE, GENERAL MANAGER.
FORM 990, PART VII, LINE 11KRISTINE DAWSON'S SALARY IS ALLOCATED AMONG TWO ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES. TAXABLE WAGES ALLOCATED TO LORAIN-MEDINA RURAL ELECTRIC (EIN # 34-0365430) ARE $49,214 AND OTHER BENEFITS ALLOCATED ARE $8,332. TAXABLE WAGES ALLOCATED TO NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRIC ARE $30,164 AND OTHER BENEFITS ALLOCATED ARE $5,377. LORAIN-MEDINA RURAL ELECTRIC AND NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRIC ARE NOT RELATED ENTITIES BUT THEY SHARE THE SERVICES OF KRISTINE DAWSON, DIRECTOR OF FINANCE AND ACCOUNTING.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:PATRONAGE RETIREMENTS -770,461. UNRECOGNIZED POSTRETIREMENT BENEFIT COST -662,749. ESCHEAT & CC RETURNS/RE-WRITES 19,520. CHANGE IN MEMBERSHIPS 60. ADJUSTMENTS -42.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CTHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ASSUME RESPONSIBILITY FOR OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT OF ITS FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND SELECTION OF AN INDEPENDENT AUDITOR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1FEDERATED ENERGY SERVICES COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 475AddressLine1Txt
CityATTICACityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44807ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN341851918EIN
Primary ActivitiesSERVICE MANAGEMENTPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateOHLegalDomicileStateCd
Entity TypeCEntityTypeTxt
Ownership0.50000OwnershipPct
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1FEDERATED ENERGY SERVICES COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transaction TypeOTransactionTypeTxt
Involved$471,399InvolvedAmt
Method Of Amount DeterminationSEE SUPPLEMENTAL EXPLANATIONSMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceFORM 990, SCHEDULE R, PART V, LINE 1OFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationEDWARD VANHOOSE, GENERAL MANAGER, AND KRISTINE DAWSON, DIRECTOR OF FINANCE AND ACCOUNTING - WAGES AND BENEFITS ARE ALLOCATED AMONG NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRIC AND LORAIN-MEDINA RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES. WAGES AND BENEFITS ARE PAID BY FESCO. LORAIN-MEDINA RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE AND NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRIC PAY FESCO FOR EMPLOYEE WAGES AND BENEFITS. FESCO RECONCILES ANY AMOUNTS OWED BETWEEN THE TWO COOPERATIVES FOR THE WAGES AND BENEFITS.ExplanationTxt