STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

BARRON ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
BARRON ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE (EIN 39-0150875)
Tax period
2019-01-01 to 2019-12-31
Filed
2020-11-11
IRS object ID
202003169349304035
Schema version
2019v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-11-11T14:05:50-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2019-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN410746749PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12689 COMMERCE DRIVE NW SUITE 201AddressLine1Txt
CityROCHESTERCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55901ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN390150875EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BARRON ELECTRIC COOPERATIVEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlBARRBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7155373171PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 40AddressLine1Txt
CityBARRONCityNm
State AbbreviationWIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP54812ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDALLAS SLOANPersonNm
Person TitleGENERAL MANAGERPersonTitleTxt
Phone7155373171PhoneNum
Signature2020-11-05SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonCRAIG POPENHAGENPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01587689PTIN
Phone5072802300PhoneNum
Preparation2020-11-05PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address67.137.57.251IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2020-11-05IPDt
IP Tm14:20:59IPTm
IP TimezoneCSIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id5EFF1F494B3DA8391D990115EEB363BA3BAD0377AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdAFC456E44E71D2BE4375B17F3D3D960B8395F1E4AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2021-04-22 16:20:28ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDALLAS SLOANPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 40AddressLine1Txt
CityBARRONCityNm
State AbbreviationWIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP54812ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$40,492,645GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressBARRONELECTRIC.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1937FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateWILegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE RELIABLE ELECTRIC ENERGY AND RELATED SERVICES TO MEMBERS UNDER COOPERATIVE PRINCIPLES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee46TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$316TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$41,717,597PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$39,225,240CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$45,686PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$39,854CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$2,221PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,213,748CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$41,765,504PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$40,478,842CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$2,382,972PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$2,436,232CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$448,544PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$441,924CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$38,933,988PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$37,600,686CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$41,765,504PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$40,478,842CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$0PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$0CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$78,081,334TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$79,829,578TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$40,799,552TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$40,896,618TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$37,281,782NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$38,932,960NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionBARRON ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE IS A MEMBER-OWNED BUSINESS THAT SAFELY PROVIDES ENERGY, PRODUCTS, AND SERVICES TO IMPROVE THE QUALITY OF LIFE IN THE AREA WE SERVE.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescTHE COOPERATIVE SOLD 332,558,829 KWH OF ELECTRICITY TO MEMBERS DURING 2019. IN CONNECTION WITH THE COOPERATIVE'S MISSION, THE COOPERATIVE CONTINUES TO PROVIDE RELIABLE, COMPETITIVELY PRICED ENERGY AND RELATED SERVICES TO CUSTOMERS ON A NOT-FOR-PROFIT BASIS AND MAXIMUM VALUES TO MEMBERS CONSISTENT WITH THE WISE USE OF RESOURCES AND TECHNOLOGY.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document34IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee46EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$39,225,240MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$1,198,562OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DALLAS SLOANBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone7155373171PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11456 E LA SALLE AVEAddressLine1Txt
CityBARRONCityNm
State AbbreviationWIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP54812ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (16 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
DALLAS SLOAN
GENERAL MANAGER40.00Yes (X)$195,011$0$99,714
MANDY STRAW
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE40.00$98,849$0$69,093Yes (X)
NATE STEINES
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS40.00$103,607$0$61,905Yes (X)
JEFFREY NELSON
LINE SUPERINTENDENT40.00$108,303$0$61,297Yes (X)
JEFF SANDO
LINEMAN40.00$100,689$0$66,907Yes (X)
JEFFREY SECRAW
LINEMAN40.00$101,282$0$65,007Yes (X)
RANDY COOK
PRESIDENT5.00Yes (X)$14,900$0$0Yes (X)
TIM KESSLER
DIRECTOR5.50$11,484$0$0Yes (X)
SCOTT WARWICK
SECRETARY5.00Yes (X)$11,411$0$0Yes (X)
LARRY KUHL
DIRECTOR4.50$11,352$0$0Yes (X)
RICHARD BOL
DIRECTOR5.00$10,820$0$0Yes (X)
MICHAEL BAKER
VICE PRESIDENT5.00Yes (X)$10,228$0$0Yes (X)
ARLYN HELM
TREASURER3.50Yes (X)$8,649$0$0Yes (X)
SELMER E NELSON
DIRECTOR3.50$8,214$0$0Yes (X)
PATRICIA MANDEL
DIRECTOR4.50$8,050$0$0Yes (X)
LYNN PETERSON
DIRECTOR - RETIRED3.00$1,050$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$803,899TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$423,923TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K18IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
ZIELIE'S TREE SERVICE INC
PO BOX 307BRUCEWI54819TREE TRIMMING$922,931
PUSH INC
PO BOX 72RICE LAKEWI54868PLOW URD SERVICES$548,490
B&M UTILITIES
2124 5TH AVECHETEKWI54728LOCATING SERVICES$111,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescSALE OF POWERDesc
Business221000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$39,225,240TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$39,225,240RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$39,225,240TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$38,404TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$38,404ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$26,989RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$26,989RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$26,989TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$26,989ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$3,450OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$2,000OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$1,450OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,450TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,450ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$12,119GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$11,803CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$316TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$316UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescCAPITAL CREDITSDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$1,186,443TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,186,443RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,186,443OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$40,478,842TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$40,411,683RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$316UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$66,843ExclusionAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,436,232TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$441,924TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,388,290TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,176,597TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
COST OF POWER$26,679,944
DISTRIBUTION MAINTENANC$2,254,282
ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERA$1,717,619
DISTRIBUTION OPERATIONS$1,239,169

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,144,785TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$40,478,842TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$524,759BOYAmt
EOY$242,556EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,383BOYAmt
EOY$785EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,199,940BOYAmt
EOY$4,044,947EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$131,523BOYAmt
EOY$105,789EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$255,276BOYAmt
EOY$286,678EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$183,109BOYAmt
EOY$172,864EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$93,165,598LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$37,831,372LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,689,467BOYAmt
EOY$55,334,226EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,290,346BOYAmt
EOY$18,919,884EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$804,531BOYAmt
EOY$721,849EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$78,081,334BOYAmt
EOY$79,829,578EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,616,402BOYAmt
EOY$2,673,005EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,695,963BOYAmt
EOY$34,302,197EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,487,187BOYAmt
EOY$3,921,416EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,799,552BOYAmt
EOY$40,896,618EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$37,281,782BOYAmt
EOY$38,932,960EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$37,281,782BOYAmt
EOY$38,932,960EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$78,081,334BOYAmt
EOY$79,829,578EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$0ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$1,651,178OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$853,987OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$853,987BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,633,916OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,273,171DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,360,745BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$87,677,695OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$36,558,201DepreciationAmt
Book Value$51,119,494BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$55,334,226TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
INVESTMENT IN ASSOCIATED ORGANIZATION - PATRONAGE$17,553,814C
INVESTMENT IN ASSOCIATED ORGANIZATION - NON GENERAL$1,052,388C
INVESTEMENT IN ECONOMIC DEVELPMENT PROJECTS$279,225C
OTHER INVESTMENTS$34,457C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$18,919,884TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (7 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
CUSTOMER DEPOSITS$282,521
ACCRUED INTEREST$173,033
ACCRUED PAYROLL$161,636
ACCRUED GROSS REVENUE TAX$91,308
ACCRUED VACATION$329,372
OTHER CURRENT LIABILITIES$137,772
DEFERRED LIABILITIES$2,745,774
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$3,921,416TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$44,046,138TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$3,569,620OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$3,569,620RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$40,476,518RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$2,324OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$2,324RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$40,478,842TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$41,308,279TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$3,267,993OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$3,267,993ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$38,040,286ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$2,438,556OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$2,438,556ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$40,478,842TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE IS EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501(C)(12) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (IRC). ACCORDINGLY, NO PROVISION FOR INCOME TAXES AT DECEMBER 31, 2019 AND NOVEMBER 30, 2018. THE COOPERATIVE AND ITS SUBSIDIARY EVALUATED THEIR TAX POSITIONS AND DETERMINED THAT THERE ARE NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2019 AND 2018.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:DECEMBER 2018 REVENUE IN FINANCIAL STATEMENTS THAT COVER 13 MONTHS 3,569,620.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RELCASSIFIED EXPENSES 2,324.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:DECEMBER 2018 EXPENSES IN FINANCIAL STATEMENTS THAT COVER 13 MONTHS 3,267,993.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RELCASSIFIED EXPENSES 2,324. PATRONAGE DVIDENDS ALLOCATED 2,436,232.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
DALLAS SLOAN
GENERAL MANAGER$195,011$0$0$0$0$0$75,956$0$23,758$0$294,725$0$0$0
MANDY STRAW
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE$98,849$0$0$0$0$0$46,405$0$22,688$0$167,942$0$0$0
NATE STEINES
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS$103,607$0$0$0$0$0$39,165$0$22,740$0$165,512$0$0$0
JEFFREY NELSON
LINE SUPERINTENDENT$108,303$0$0$0$0$0$42,545$0$18,752$0$169,600$0$0$0
JEFF SANDO
LINEMAN$100,689$0$0$0$0$0$44,477$0$22,430$0$167,596$0$0$0
JEFFREY SECRAW
LINEMAN$101,282$0$0$0$0$0$42,577$0$22,430$0$166,289$0$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6ORGANIZATION IS A MEMBER COOPERATIVE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AMEMBERS NOMINATE ONE OR MORE CANDIDATES FOR A DIRECTOR POSITION FOR EACH DISTRICT OF THE COOPERATIVE. MEMBERS LECT THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AT THE MEETING OF THE MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BEACH MEMBER SHALL BE ENTITLED TO ONE VOTE UPON EACH MATTER SUBMITTED TO A VOTE AT A MEETING OF THE MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE 990 IS REVIEWED BY THE GENERAL MANAGER AND FINANCE MANAGER BEFORE IT IS SIGNED AND FILED. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS IS GIVEN A COPY OF THE FORM 990 TO REVIEW BEFORE IT WAS FILED.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CA COPY OF THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY WAS GIVEN TO EACH CURRENT EMPLOYEE AND DIRECTOR AS WELL AS EACH NEW EMPLOYEE AND DIRECTOR THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS A SELF-POLICING POLICY IN WHICH IT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF EACH EMPLOYEE/DIRECTOR TO COME FORWARD WITH ANY POTENTIAL CONFLICTS WHENEVER THEY OCCUR THE WHISTLEBLOWER POLICY SUPPORTS THE ENFORCEMENT OF THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY BY ENCOURAGING ALL EMPLOYEES AND DIRECTORS TO REPORT CONFLICTS OF INTEREST AND OTHER QUESTIONABLE BEHAVIOR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS USES COMPARABILITY DATA PROVIDED BY NRECA TO DETERMINE THE COMPENSATION OF THE GENERAL MANAGER. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS DETERMINES THE GENERAL MANGER'S COMPENSATION AND REPORTS IT TO THE EXECUTIVE SECRETARY VIA MINUTES FROM THE BOARD DIRECTOR CONFIDENTIAL CLOSED SESSION. THE GENERAL MANAGER APPROVES THE COMPENSATION OF ALL OTHER EMPLOYEES. THE GENERAL MANAGER USES BOTH COMPARABILITY DATA PROVIDED BY NRECA AND DATA FROM THE MOST CURRENT WAGE STUDY PERFORMED AT BARRON ELECTRIC BY AN OUTSIDE INDEPENDENT CONSULTANT, TO DETERMINE COMPENSATION. INDIVIDUAL COMPENSATION IS DETERMINED BY THE GENERAL MANAGER. COMPENSATION AS A WHOLE IS APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. INDIVIDUAL COMPENSATION IS REPORTED BY A DOCUMENT SIGNED BY THE GENERAL MANAGER.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19DOCUMENTATION IS AVAILABLE UPON WRITTEN REQUEST TO THE ATTENTION OF THE GENERAL MANAGER.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:RETIREMENT OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL -801,406. PATRONAGE DIVIDEND ALLOCATED 2,436,232. PATRONAGE REFUNDS 16,352.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CTHERE HAVE BEEN NO CHANGES TO THE OVERSIGHT PROCESS.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4THE IRS INSTRUCTIONS STATE THAT PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID BY SECTION 501(C)(12) ORGANIZATIONS TO THEIR MEMBERS SHOULD BE REPORTED ON LINE 4. THE ORGANIZATION HAS INTERPRETED PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO MEAN PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED FOR THE CURRENT YEAR. SINCE THIS ALLOCATION IS NOT AN EXPENSE UNDER GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES (GAAP), THIS HAS RESULTED IN A RECONCILING ITEM TO NET ASSETS IN PART XI, ON PAGE 12 OF THE FORM 990.