STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA COMMUNITY: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA COMMUNITY (EIN 54-0674170)
Tax period
2019-01-01 to 2019-12-31
Filed
2020-11-16
IRS object ID
202003219349310045
Schema version
2019v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-11-16T12:48:23-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2019-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN382492570PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DOEREN MAYHEWBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line112060 S W 129TH COURT STE 201AddressLine1Txt
CityMIAMICityNm
State AbbreviationFLStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP331864582ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN540674170EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA COMMUNITYBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlUNIVBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4349642001PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13300 BERKMAR DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityCHARLOTTESVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22901ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonALISON DETUNCQPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENT/CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone4349642003PhoneNum
Signature2020-11-16SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonDOUGLAS J ORTHPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01076394PTIN
Phone3052328272PhoneNum

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address104.11.88.150IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2020-11-16IPDt
IP Tm08:55:59IPTm
IP TimezoneESIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdDA39A3EE5E6B4B0D3255BFEF95601890AFD80709AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdB2EFC313AB4EEA4760135470907D022D8B217834AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-01-07 14:23:13ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerALISON DETUNCQPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13300 BERKMAR DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityCHARLOTTESVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22901ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$47,304,546GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.UVACREDITUNION.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1954FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateVALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTHE MISSION OF THE UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA COMMUNITY CREDIT UNION IS TO 1) ENCOURAGE THRIFT AMONG MEMBERSHIP, THUS CREATING A LENDABLE POOL OF FUNDS 2) MAKE MEMBER LOANS AT A REASONABLE RATE OF INTEREST 3) PAY A FAIR RATE OF RETURN ON MEMBER SAVINGS 4) PROVIDE HELPFUL MEMBER FINANCIAL SERVICE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body15VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent15VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee343TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers14TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$85,165TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$52,622NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$27,348,760PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$29,250,023CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$9,324,059PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$9,329,671CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$6,749,962PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$8,458,333CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$43,422,781PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$47,038,027CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$18,586,077PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$20,686,545CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$17,569,362PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$19,553,014CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$36,155,439PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$40,239,559CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$7,267,342PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$6,798,468CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$954,157,214TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$1,026,121,491TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$860,069,458TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$913,596,830TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$94,087,756NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$112,524,661NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTHE MISSION OF THE UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA COMMUNITY CREDIT UNION, INC. IS TO 1) ENCOURAGE THRIFT AMONG MEMBERSHIP, THUS CREATING A LENDABLE POOL OF FUNDS 2) MAKE MEMBER LOANS AT A REASONABLE RATE OF INTEREST 3) PAY A FAIR RATE OF RETURN ON MEMBER SAVINGS 4) PROVIDE HELPFUL MEMBER FINANCIAL SERVICE.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescDURING 2019, UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA COMMUNITY CREDIT UNION, INC., A STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNION LOCATED IN CENTRAL VIRGINIA, PROVIDED FINANCIAL SERVICES TO MEMBERS WHO LIVE, WORK, OR ATTEND SCHOOL IN THE CITY OF CHARLOTTESVILLE AND THE SURROUNDING COUNTIES OF ALBEMARLE, FLUVANNA, GREENE, LOUISA, MADISON, NELSON, FAUQUIER, RAPPAHANNOCK, CULPEPER, AND ORANGE. THE CREDIT UNION CONTINUED TO FULFILL ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE BY PROVIDING CREDIT AT FAIR AND REASONABLE RATES OF INTEREST, OFFERING COMPETITIVE SHARE DEPOSIT PRODUCTS, AND PROVIDING MEMBERS WITH THE OPPORTUNITY TO IMPROVE THEIR ECONOMIC CONDITION. AS OF THE END OF 2019, THE CREDIT UNION SERVED 70,908 MEMBERS.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document19733IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee343EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members15GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member15IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldVAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPETER HOLMANPersonNm
Phone4349642015PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13300 BERKMAR DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityCHARLOTTESVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22901ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (20 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
JEFFREY C MOSCICKI
CHAIRPERSON1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
AURIE W SCHWARTING
V. CHAIRPERSON1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHARLES T GILLET
BOD TREASURER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAMELA W HIGGINS
BOD SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROB W FREER
BOD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LISA P HEUCHERT
BOD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARIE C MELTON
BOD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICHARD L WOOD
BOD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BENJAMIN MCCARTNEY
BOD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KENNETH EADES
BOD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
J BARRETT JONES
BOD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
A DETUNCQ
CEO/PRESIDENT40.00$533,134$0$30,677Yes (X)
K O'NEIL
COO40.00$272,333$0$34,620Yes (X)
PETER HOLMAN
CFO40.00$216,682$0$30,770Yes (X)
D ESWORTHY
SVP LENDING AND RETAIL DEL40.00$176,607$0$17,640Yes (X)
L ROBINSON
SVP ADMINISTRATION40.00$202,995$0$20,047Yes (X)
MARGO JONES
MORTGAGE LOAN OFFICER40.00$213,873$0$28,582Yes (X)
C SWIGERT
VP OF HUMAN RESOURCES40.00$165,478$0$23,873Yes (X)
E DUNSTAN
SVP BUSINESS BANKING40.00$172,801$0$25,537Yes (X)
P TURNER
FORMER CFO40.00$702,460$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,656,363TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$211,746TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K24IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
FIS
11601 N ROOSEVELT BLVDST PETERSBURGFL33716DEBIT/CREDIT CARD PROCESSING$1,277,513
Q2EBANKING
PO BOX 205970DALLASTX75320ONLINE/MOBILE BANKING$1,225,299
FISERV
PO BOX 934057ATLANTAGA311934057OPERATING SYSTEM SOFTWARE$720,785
PWCAMPBELL
109 ZETA DRIVEPITTSBURGPA15238DESIGN/ARCHITECT & CONSTRUCTION$611,058
DIEBOLD
PO BOX 643543PITTSBURGPA152643543DRIVE THRU, CASH RECYCLER, ATM/ITM PURCH$327,913
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K16CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
INTEREST ON LOANS522100$24,236,434$24,236,434
FEES/CHARGES/OTHER522100$4,928,424$4,928,424
UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME900099$85,165$85,165
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$29,250,023TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$9,329,671TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$9,329,671RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$307,913RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$266,519RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$41,394RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$41,394TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$41,394RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER INCOMEDesc
Business522100BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$8,416,939TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$8,416,939RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$8,416,939OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$47,038,027TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$46,952,862RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$85,165UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,118,216TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,536,431TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,264,566TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,650,432TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,116,900TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$41,105TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$140,972TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$182,044TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$925,051TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$883,276TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,655,699TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,185,973TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$979,289TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$431,306TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,453,760TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,541,705TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$1,335,892
LOAN SERVICING$1,129,738
MISC. EXPENSES$512,294
OPERATING FEES$154,910

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$40,239,559TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,235,406BOYAmt
EOY$9,279,942EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$67,063,784BOYAmt
EOY$88,352,781EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$296,397BOYAmt
EOY$1,183,686EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,390,729BOYAmt
EOY$7,900,976EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$487,859,037BOYAmt
EOY$532,071,462EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,857,705BOYAmt
EOY$5,399,003EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$34,882,315LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$15,774,552LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,046,786BOYAmt
EOY$19,107,763EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$338,917,439BOYAmt
EOY$339,980,733EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,489,931BOYAmt
EOY$22,845,145EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$954,157,214BOYAmt
EOY$1,026,121,491EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,567,134BOYAmt
EOY$12,510,840EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,851,733BOYAmt
EOY$8,697,782EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$840,650,591BOYAmt
EOY$892,388,208EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$860,069,458BOYAmt
EOY$913,596,830EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$94,087,756BOYAmt
EOY$112,524,661EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$94,087,756BOYAmt
EOY$112,524,661EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$954,157,214BOYAmt
EOY$1,026,121,491EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$6,798,468ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$11,638,437NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,561,067OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$5,561,067BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$15,651,368OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,619,900DepreciationAmt
Book Value$10,031,468BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$866,811OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$654,731DepreciationAmt
Book Value$212,080BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$12,382,857OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$9,256,553DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,126,304BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$420,212OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$243,368DepreciationAmt
Book Value$176,844BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$19,107,763TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
SHARE DRAFTS$187,470,945
SHARES$346,418,511
MONEY MARKET$154,587,299
IRA SHARES$34,480,261
CERTIFICATES OF DEPOSIT$169,431,192
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$892,388,208TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$47,304,546TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$266,519OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$266,519RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$47,038,027RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$47,038,027TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$40,506,078TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$266,519OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$266,519ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$40,239,559ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$40,239,559TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT FROM MOST FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES. HOWEVER, THE CREDIT UNION'S WHOLLY OWNED CUSO IS SUBJECT TO FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES. THE INCOME TAXES TOPIC OF THE FINANCIAL ACCOUNTING STANDARDS BOARD (FASB) ACCOUNTING STANDARDS CODIFICATION (ASC) CLARIFIES ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES REPORTED IN THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE INTERPRETATION PROVIDES CRITERIA FOR ASSESSMENT OF INDIVIDUAL TAX POSITIONS AND A PROCESS FOR RECOGNITION AND MEASUREMENT OF UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS. TAX POSITIONS ARE EVALUATED ON WHETHER THEY MEET THE "MORE LIKELY THAN NOT" STANDARD FOR SUSTAINABILITY UPON EXAMINATION BY TAX AUTHORITIES. THE CREDIT UNION IS A STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNION AS DEFINED IN THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (IRC) SECTION 501(C)(14). AS SUCH, THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL TAXATION OF INCOME DERIVED FROM THE PERFORMANCE OF ACTIVITIES DIRECTLY RELATED TO ITS EXEMPT PURPOSES. HOWEVER, IRC SECTION 511 IMPOSES A TAX ON THE UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME (UBI) DERIVED BY STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS. UBI MAY ALSO BE SUBJECT TO TAX IN CERTAIN STATES. MANAGEMENT HAS ASSESSED THE CREDIT UNION'S ACTIVITIES AND ANY POTENTIAL FEDERAL OR STATE INCOME TAX LIABILITY AND DETERMINED THAT THE CREDIT UNION HAS NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT QUALIFY FOR EITHER RECOGNITION OR DISCLOSURE IN THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. ADDITIONALLY, NO INTEREST AND PENALTIES HAVE BEEN RECORDED IN THE ACCOMPANYING CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS RELATED TO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS. CURRENTLY, THE 2017, 2016, AND 2015 FEDERAL INCOME TAX RETURNS ARE OPEN FOR EXAMINATION BY THE IRS. THE FILING YEARS OPEN FOR EXAMINATION BY THE STATE, IF APPLICABLE, MAY BE EQUAL TO, GREATER THAN OR LESS THAN THE YEARS OPEN FOR EXAMINATION BY THE IRS.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RENT EXPENSE REPORTED AS A REDUCTION OF REVENUE ON FORM 990 BUT AS AN EXPENSE IN THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS 266,519.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RENT EXPENSE REPORTED AS A REDUCTION OF REVENUE ON FORM 990 BUT AS AN EXPENSE IN THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS 266,519.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (1)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
A DETUNCQ
CEO/PRESIDENT$429,915$0$84,840$0$18,379$0$28,000$0$2,677$0$563,811$0$0$0
K O'NEIL
COO$242,738$0$12,218$0$17,377$0$24,937$0$9,683$0$306,953$0$0$0
PETER HOLMAN
CFO$211,661$0$4,871$0$150$0$21,653$0$9,117$0$247,452$0$0$0
D ESWORTHY
SVP LENDING AND RETAIL DEL$171,626$0$4,931$0$50$0$17,640$0$0$0$194,247$0$0$0
L ROBINSON
SVP ADMINISTRATION$162,838$0$11,109$0$29,048$0$16,731$0$3,316$0$223,042$0$0$0
MARGO JONES
MORTGAGE LOAN OFFICER$30,000$0$183,873$0$0$0$21,763$0$6,819$0$242,455$0$0$0
C SWIGERT
VP OF HUMAN RESOURCES$157,161$0$4,574$0$3,743$0$16,518$0$7,355$0$189,351$0$0$0
E DUNSTAN
SVP BUSINESS BANKING$167,970$0$4,781$0$50$0$17,253$0$8,284$0$198,338$0$0$0
P TURNER
FORMER CFO$0$0$0$0$702,460$0$0$0$0$0$702,460$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINES 4A-BFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationLINE 4A: SERVERANCE: PAMELA TURNER ($73,793) LINE 4B: THE CREDIT UNION PROVIDES NON-QUALIFIED DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLANS FOR CERTAIN MEMBERS OF MANAGEMENT. FOR PURPOSES OF THIS SECTION THE TWO PLANS REPORTED ARE 457(F) PLANS AND SPLIT DOLLAR INSURANCE AGREEMENTS. SPLIT DOLLAR INSURANCE AGREEMENTS INVOLVE METHODS OF PAYING FOR INSURANCE COVERAGE FOR THE EMPLOYEES BY SPLITTING THE ELEMENTS OF A LIFE INSURANCE POLICY. UNDER THE AGREEMENTS, THE EMPLOYEES ARE THE OWNERS OF THE POLICIES AND MAKE COLLATERAL ASSIGNMENTS TO THE CREDIT UNION IN RETURN FOR LOANS EQUAL TO THE AMOUNT OF PREMIUMS PAID ON BEHALF OF THE EMPLOYEES. AT THE TIME OF DEATH, THE LOAN AMOUNT WILL BE REPAID TO THE CREDIT UNION AND THE BALANCE OF THE INSURANCE BENEFIT WILL BE PAID TO THE EMPLOYEES' DESIGNATED BENEFICIARIES. PARTICIPANT IN 457(F): ALISON DETUNCQ, NO PAYOUTS DURING 2019. THE FOLLOWING EXECUTIVES PARTICIPATE IN THE SPLIT DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE PLAN: ALISON DETUNCQ PRESIDENT/CEO KAREN GILLISPIE FORMER VP OPERATIONS LESLIE ROBINSON SVP ADMINISTRATION KEITH O'NEIL COOExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp (4 entries)

Relationship With OrgRelationshipWithOrgTxtLoan PurposeLoanPurposeTxtLoan From OrganizationLoanFromOrganizationIndOriginal PrincipalOriginalPrincipalAmtBalance DueBalanceDueAmtDefaultDefaultIndBoard Or Committee ApprovalBoardOrCommitteeApprovalIndWritten AgreementWrittenAgreementInd
KAREN GILLISPIE
FORMER EXECUTIVE EMPLOYEETO FUND DEFERRED COMPENSATIONYes (X)$160,000$672,8120Yes (1)Yes (1)
LESLIE ROBINSON
EXECUTIVE EMPLOYEETO FUND DEFERRED COMPENSATIONYes (X)$130,000$808,8730Yes (1)Yes (1)
ALISON DETUNCQ
EXECUTIVE EMPLOYEETO FUND DEFERRED COMPENSATIONYes (X)$5,573,323$5,752,8400Yes (1)Yes (1)
KEITH O'NEIL
EXECUTIVE EMPLOYEETO FUND DEFERRED COMPENSATIONYes (X)$225,000$666,4510Yes (1)Yes (1)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$7,900,976TotalBalanceDueAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceFORM 990, SCH L, PART IIFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE CREDIT UNION PROVIDES SUPPLEMENTAL RETIREMENT BENEFITS THROUGH AN ARRANGEMENT REFERRED TO AS A "COLLATERAL ASSIGNED SPLIT DOLLAR." ALTHOUGH THE IRS REQUIRES REPORTING IN PART II AS A LOAN TO AN INTERESTED PARTY, THIS IS NOT AN ACTUAL LOAN. THERE IS NO TRANSFER OF FUNDS TO THE PARTICIPANTS NOR AN OBLIGATION TO REPAY THE FUNDS. INSTEAD THE CREDIT UNION RECOVERS ANY OUTLAYS, PLUS INTEREST, FROM THE UNDERLYING POLICY. THAT IS, THE CREDIT UNION DEPOSITS FUNDS DIRECTLY INTO A LIFE INSURANCE POLICY TO ENSURE REPAYMENT. AT SPECIFIED TIMES, THE PARTICIPANTS MAY BORROW FUNDS FROM THE CASH SURRENDER VALUE OF THE POLICY TO SUPPLEMENT RETIREMENT INCOME. THE BORROWINGS ARE MONITORED TO ENSURE THE POLICY WILL PAY A DEATH BENEFIT AT LEAST SUFFICIENT TO COVER THE CREDIT UNION'S OUTLAYS PLUS INTEREST. ANY REMAINING DEATH BENEFITS ARE DIVIDED BETWEEN THE CREDIT UNION AND THE PARTICIPANT'S BENEFICIARIES AS AGREED UPON.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA COMMUNITY CREDIT UNION IS OWNED BY ITS MEMBERSHIP. EACH MEMBER OWNS ONE SHARE WHICH ENTITLES THAT INDIVIDUAL TO ONE VOTE IN THE ELECTION OF THE CREDIT UNION'S VOLUNTEER BOARD OF DIRECTORS. MEMBERSHIP IS SECURED BY A $5 PAR VALUE WHICH THE MEMEBER MUST MAINTAIN IN HIS OR HER PRIMARY SHARE SAVINGS ACCOUNT. MEMBERSHIP IS OPEN TO ANY PERSON WHO LIVES, WORKS, OR ATTENDS SCHOOL IN THE CITY OF CHARLOTTESVILLE OR THE COUNTIES OF ALBEMARLE, FLUVANNA, GREENE, LOUISA, MADISON, NELSON, OR ORANGE. ANY ONE RELATED TO A CURRENT MEMBER BY BLOOD, MARRIAGE, OR ADOPTION IS ALSO ELIGIBLE TO JOIN.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE UNIVERISTY OF VIRGINIA COMMUNITY CREDIT UNION IS A MEMBER-OWNED FINANCIAL INSTITUTION. EACH MEMBER OWNS ONE SHARE WHICH ENTITLES THAT INDIVIDUAL TO ONE VOTE WHICH MAY BE EXCERCISED ANNUALLY FOR THE ELECTION OF A VOLUNTEER BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BMEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION HAVE THE RIGHT TO APPROVE THE GOVERNING BODY'S ELECTION AND REMOVAL OF MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY, AS WELL AS OTHER MATTERS THAT ARE SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF MEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION AS THEY OCCUR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 WILL BE REVIEWED BY THE SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT WHERE ALL THE DATA USED TO COMPILE THE FORM 990 CAME FROM THE AUDITED FINANCIALS AND WORKPAPERS BY THE EXTERNAL AUDITORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CALL OFFICERS AND DIRECTORS ARE REQUIRED TO COMPLETE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENT ANNUALLY. IF ANY INDIVIDUAL WERE TO REPORT A CONFLICT OF INTEREST, THE SPECIFIC SITUATION WOULD BE REVIEWED AND MANAGED AS DEEMED APPROPRIATE BY THE REMAINING BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE CREDIT UNION RETAINS THE SERVICES OF AN EXTERNAL COMPENSATION CONSULTING FIRM WHICH PROVIDES MARKET AND PEER GROUP COMPENSATION COMPARISON DATA. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS UTILIZES THIS DATA DURING THE PROCESS OF DETERMINING AND APPROVING COMPENSATION FOR THE CREDIT UNION'S CEO. THE CEO IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE CREDIT UNION'S HUMAN RESOURCES DEPARTMENT UTILIZES THIS DATA WHEN DETERMINING AND APPROVING THE COMPENSATION FOR THE CREDIT UNION'S OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE CREDIT UNION'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY HAVE NOT BEEN MADE READILY AVAILABLE TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC. IF WE WERE TO RECEIVE A REQUEST FOR ANY SUCH DOCUMENTS, WE WOULD CAREFULLY CONSIDER THE REQUEST AND RESPOND APPROPRIATELY. THE CREDIT UNION'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE POSTED MONTHLY IN THE BRANCH FACILITIES.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 11GOTHER PROFESSIONAL SERVICS 925,051.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CTHERE WERE NO CHANGES IN THE PROCESS OF THE COMMITTEE THAT ASSUMES RESPONSIBILITY OF THE OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT AND SELECTION OF THE INDEPENDENT AUDITOR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MEMBER OPTIONS LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11936 ARLINGTON BLVDAddressLine1Txt
CityCHARLOTTESVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22901ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN061652426EIN
Primary ActivitiesCONSUMER MORTGAG ORIGINATIONSPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateVALegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$1,722,525TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$4,505,395EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA COMMUNITY CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt