STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

RIPPOWAM CISQUA SCHOOL INC: Form 990, tax year 2018

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
RIPPOWAM CISQUA SCHOOL INC (EIN 13-1740435)
Tax period
2018-07-01 to 2019-06-30
Filed
2020-07-09
IRS object ID
202011919349301826
Schema version
2018v3.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-07-09T15:40:27-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2019-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN271728945PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PKF O'Connor Davies LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1500 Mamaroneck AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityHarrisonCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP105281633ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2018-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN131740435EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1The Rippowam Cisqua School IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlRIPPBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9142441261PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1439 Cantitoe StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBedfordCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10506ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPeter FruendPersonNm
Person TitleChairPersonTitleTxt
Phone9142441261PhoneNum
Signature2020-07-09SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonGarrett M HigginsPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00543209PTIN
Phone9143818900PhoneNum

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address24.190.81.239IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2020-07-09IPDt
IP Tm15:40:21IPTm
IP TimezoneEDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdDA39A3EE5E6B4B0D3255BFEF95601890AFD80709AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id9616F4B14A694591D1E716C270910E6FA5556DA3AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2018TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerPeter FruendPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1439 Cantitoe StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBedfordCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10506ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$24,662,231GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.rcsny.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1919FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNYLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPrivate preparatory school for grades pre-kindergarten through grade 9.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body20VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent20VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee164TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers100TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$33,053TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$23,488NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$3,037,859PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$1,524,508CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$15,324,427PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$14,627,167CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$462,737PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$690,773CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue-$19,024PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$651,378CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$18,805,999PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$17,493,826CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$3,479,895PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$3,606,190CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$10,597,807PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$10,530,357CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,567,780CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$7,045,014PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$6,805,747CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$21,122,716PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$20,942,294CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$2,316,717PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$3,448,468CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$58,622,131TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$53,822,463TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$28,396,630TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$27,674,248TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$30,225,501NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$26,148,215NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionRippowam Cisqua School creates independent thinkers, confident communicators, and engaged leaders who respect and contribute meaningfully to a diverse and increasingly complex global society.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$17,436,190ExpenseAmt
Grant$3,606,190GrantAmt
Revenue$14,627,167RevenueAmt
DescPrivate preparatory school of approximately 400 students for grades pre-kindergarten through grade nine.Rippowam Cisqua School believes that learning is a shared experience, the responsibility of both students and teachers. We urge active student involvement and seek to provide a rich curriculum in academics, arts, and athletics for children of different abilities and learning styles. Our approach to learning incorporates experimentation, simulation, and collective and individual problem solving, as well as traditional lecture, discussion, and skill development techniques - all toward the goal of attaining excellence. [See continuation on Schedule O]Students are challenged to demonstrate their competence in a variety of subjects, with emphasis placed on the written word, throughout their school career. The process by which children arrive at a final product is an important part of their education.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$17,436,190TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (1)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document27IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee164EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members20GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member20IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDeborah HurrellPersonNm
Phone9142441261PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1439 Cantitoe StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBedfordCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10506ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (28 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Peter B Fruend
Chair2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Whitney Brown
Vice Chair2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Charles E Buckley
Treasurer2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ben Harris
Secretary2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sonja Bartlett
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jonathan Childs
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Anne Citrin
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kelly Coles
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Nancy Dwyer Eaves
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Margot Fooshee
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Abby Gerry
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Harry Grand
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Stuart Kovensky
Trustee (thru 05/20/19)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Richard Mugler
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bryce O'Brien
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Christopher H Pachios
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Will Reeve
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Charlene Ryan
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sara Slocum
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Daniel van Starrenburg
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Page Vincent
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Colm MacMahon
Head of School40.00Yes (X)$237,821$0$120,043
Deborah A Hurrell
Asst. Head of Sch., Finance Director40.00Yes (X)$201,145$0$41,179
Matthew Hall
Head of Upper School40.00$131,255$0$102,457Yes (X)
Ryan Smith
Director of Advancement40.00$124,442$0$83,994Yes (X)
Frank Lutz
Buildings and Grounds Manager40.00$122,312$0$33,324Yes (X)
Penelope Jennings
Head of Lower School thru June 201840.00$115,260$0$46,399Yes (X)
Kathryn Perry
Teacher40.00$110,097$0$10,298Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,042,332TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$437,694TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K9IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Consigli Construction NY LLC
199 West Road Suite 100Pleasant ValleyNY12569Construction$1,542,875
Sage Dining Services Inc
1402 York Road Suite 100LuthervilleMD21093Food Service$827,580
IBS Direct
36-06 43rd AvenueLong Island CityNY11101Cleaning Service$362,831
Kaye Media Partners LLC
12 Peggy LaneMahopacNY10541Marketing$110,000
ACIS
343 Congress Street Suite 3100BostonMA02210Educational Tours$106,879
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K5CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$237,554FundraisingAmt
Government Grants$119,661GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$1,167,293AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$36,140NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$1,524,508TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Student Tuition & Fees611600$14,302,718$14,302,718
After School Programs611600$257,018$257,018
Summer Camp Programs611600$67,431$67,431
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$14,627,167TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$420,942TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$3,108UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$417,834ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$126,371RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$126,371RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$126,371TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$126,371ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$7,158,565SecuritiesAmt
Other$15,295OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$6,904,029SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$254,536SecuritiesAmt
Other$15,295OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$269,831TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$29,945UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$239,886ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$731,222FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$237,554ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$248,811FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$482,411TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$482,411ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$11,683GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$0GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$11,683TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$11,683ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$12,510GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$15,565CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$3,055TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$3,055ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Transport Fees900099$21,800$21,800
Rebates900099$7,756$7,756
Bad Debt Recovery900099$4,412$4,412
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$33,968OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$17,493,826TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$14,627,167RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$33,053UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,309,098ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,606,190TotalAmt
Program Services$3,606,190ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$515,556TotalAmt
Program Services$411,993ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$58,192ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$45,371FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,075,901TotalAmt
Program Services$6,471,713ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$901,392ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$702,796FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$398,466TotalAmt
Program Services$318,423ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$44,976ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$35,067FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$912,495TotalAmt
Program Services$729,195ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$102,996ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$80,304FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$627,939TotalAmt
Program Services$501,801ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$70,877ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$55,261FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,011TotalAmt
Management And General$25,011ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$73,735TotalAmt
Management And General$73,735ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$40,307TotalAmt
Management And General$40,307ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$83,480TotalAmt
Program Services$65,774ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,290ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$8,416FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$246,495TotalAmt
Program Services$218,418ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$28,077FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$107,595TotalAmt
Program Services$32,281ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$60,664ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$14,650FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$222,337TotalAmt
Program Services$177,674ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$25,096ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$19,567FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,052,191TotalAmt
Program Services$840,829ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$118,764ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$92,598FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,474TotalAmt
Management And General$14,868ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$606FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,305TotalAmt
Management And General$9,305ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$51,409TotalAmt
Program Services$41,083ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,612ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,714FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,641,866TotalAmt
Program Services$1,312,052ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$185,322ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$144,492FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$287,738TotalAmt
Program Services$230,959ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$31,904ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$24,875FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Repairs & Maintenance$1,001,140$800,033$113,002$88,105
Dining Hall$820,276$719,337$100,939
Instructional Expense$690,017$690,017
Bad Debt Expense$154,941$154,941

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$282,430TotalAmt
Program Services$113,477ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$48,011ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$120,942FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$20,942,294TotalAmt
Program Services$17,436,190ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,938,324ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,567,780FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,555,407BOYAmt
EOY$949,679EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,511,258BOYAmt
EOY$7,117,776EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,272,708BOYAmt
EOY$2,102,031EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,289,518BOYAmt
EOY$1,495,363EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,325BOYAmt
EOY$28,365EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$100,804BOYAmt
EOY$8,796EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$29,135BOYAmt
EOY$24,900EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$55,231,251LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$16,139,932LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$39,521,463BOYAmt
EOY$39,091,319EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,664,171BOYAmt
EOY$2,298,003EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,637,342BOYAmt
EOY$706,231EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$58,622,131BOYAmt
EOY$53,822,463EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,622,526BOYAmt
EOY$1,626,831EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,000BOYAmt
EOY$67,100EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,874,752BOYAmt
EOY$1,659,609EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,724,181BOYAmt
EOY$23,234,851EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,817BOYAmt
EOY$39,282EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,103,354BOYAmt
EOY$1,046,575EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,396,630BOYAmt
EOY$27,674,248EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,283,707BOYAmt
EOY$22,571,903EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,942,499BOYAmt
EOY$2,577,017EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$999,295BOYAmt
EOY$999,295EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,225,501BOYAmt
EOY$26,148,215EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$58,622,131BOYAmt
EOY$53,822,463EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$3,448,468ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$685,597NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$56,779OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Collection Used Pub ExhibitionYes (X)CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd
Solicited Assets Sale0SolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$11,727,837BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,250ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$10,119InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$2,500,307OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$9,219,661EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$18,020,812BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,050ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$906,989InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$7,202,014OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$11,727,837EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$17,528,341BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$16,990ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,663,805InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,188,324OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$18,020,812EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$20,419,455BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$43,355ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$721,159InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$2,213,310OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$17,528,341EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$21,334,200BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$30,327ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$149,764InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,094,836OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$20,419,455EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.69850BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.10840PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.19310TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,110,710OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$3,110,710BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$47,358,215OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$12,856,770DepreciationAmt
Book Value$34,501,445BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,369,660OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,998,608DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,371,052BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$392,666OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$284,554DepreciationAmt
Book Value$108,112BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$39,091,319TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Post-retirement benefits$1,040,575
Enrollment deposits$6,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,046,575TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$13,217,604TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$685,597NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$15,565OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$670,032RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$13,887,636RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$3,606,190OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$3,606,190RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$17,493,826TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$17,294,890TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$15,565OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$15,565ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$17,279,325ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$3,662,969OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$3,662,969ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$20,942,294TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part III, Line 1a:The School collects historical materials that were acquired through contributions and are not recognized as assets in the Statements of Financial Position. Contributed collection items are not reflected in the financial statements. Purchases of collection items are recorded as decreases in unrestricted net assets in the year in which the items are acquired, or as decreases in temporarily or permanently restricted net assets if the assets used to purchase the items are restricted by donors. Proceeds from deaccessions or insurance recoveries are reflected as increases in the appropriate net asset classes. The School's collections are maintained for public exhibition and education in furtherance of the School's mission rather than for financial gain. Collections are valuable assets of the School and are protected, kept unencumbered, cared for, and preserved. As a matter of policy, the proceeds of items in collections that are sold are used to acquire other items for collections.
Part V, Line 4:The intended uses of the endowment funds are to support financial aid, faculty salaries, and general operating expenses.
Part X, Line 2:The School recognizes the effect of income tax positions only if those positions are more likely than not to be sustained. Management has determined that the School had no uncertain tax positions that would require financial statement recognition or disclosure. The School is no longer subject to examinations by the applicable taxing jurisdictions for years prior to June 30, 2016.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Cost of Goods Sold reported on Part VIII, Line 10b 15,565.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Scholarships and Financial Aid reported on Part IX, Line 2 3,606,190.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Cost of Goods Sold reported on Part VIII, Line 10b 15,565.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Scholarships and Financial Aid reported on Part IX, Line 2 3,606,190. Actuarial Post Retirement Benefit Adjustment reported on Part XI, Line 9 56,779.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp Recs0MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships Recs0MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3Publishes a statement of racially non-discriminatory policy in the New York Times and on the school's website.
Schedule E, Part I, Line 4There is an optional check box on our student application to track ethnicity. This question is not required to apply to the School, and we don't maintain a complete or accurate record of racial composition of the student body. Information collected is used for reporting purposes to the NYS Dept. of Education. We do not track or record ethnicity for faculty or staff.
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6The Rippowam Cisqua School receives government financial assistance. The School's right to such aid has never been suspended or revoked.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionCentral America and the CaribbeanRegionTxt
Offices0OfficesCnt
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Type Of Activities ConductedInvestmentsTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Region Total Expenditures$518,541RegionTotalExpendituresAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continuation Total Office0ContinuationTotalOfficeCnt
Continuation Total Employee0ContinuationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$518,541SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$518,541TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (1)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipYes (1)ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part IV, Line 1:The organization is not required to file Form 926 because it does not meet the applicable filing threshold requirement.
Part IV, Line 3:The organization is not required to file Form 5471 because it does not meet the applicable threshold ownership or other filing requirements.

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1Imagine Benefit AuctionEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$968,776GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$237,554CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$731,222GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$55,659RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$75,663FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Entertainment Event1$42,293EntertainmentEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$75,196OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Total$968,776GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$237,554CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$731,222GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$55,659RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$75,663FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Entertainment Total Events$42,293EntertainmentTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$75,196OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$248,811DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary$482,411NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeNeed-based financial aidGrantTypeTxt
Recipient127RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$3,606,190CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationFinancial Assistance is available for students from Pre-Kindergarten through Grade Nine, and is given on the basis of need and the availability of funds. Our tuition assistance grants, given to more than 20% of our students, vary in amount, and reflect the socio-economic diversity that is represented in the communities that surround our School. Grants are made to students who qualify for aid strictly on the basis of the family's demonstrated financial need. There are no awards made on the basis of the student's academic, athletic, or other abilities. The award is a direct reduction of tuition, no cash is given to recipients.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation Required0SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (1)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Colm MacMahon
Head of School$237,641$0$0$0$180$0$11,500$0$108,543$0$357,864$0$0$0
Deborah A Hurrell
Asst. Head of Sch., Finance Director$172,545$0$0$0$28,600$0$25,666$0$15,513$0$242,324$0$0$0
Matthew Hall
Head of Upper School$131,167$0$0$0$88$0$0$0$102,457$0$233,712$0$0$0
Ryan Smith
Director of Advancement$124,375$0$0$0$67$0$7,459$0$76,535$0$208,436$0$0$0
Frank Lutz
Buildings and Grounds Manager$122,195$0$0$0$117$0$6,364$0$26,960$0$155,636$0$0$0
Penelope Jennings
Head of Lower School thru June 2018$80,231$0$0$0$35,029$0$4,144$0$42,255$0$161,659$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1aThe Rippowam Cisqua School, Inc. provided residence for personal use, valued at $36,000, to the following officers and employees as a non-taxable benefit: Colm MacMahon, Head of School Matthew Hall, Head of Upper School Penelope Jennings, Head of Lower School Ryan Smith, Director of Advancement
Part I, Line 4aPursuant to the terms and conditions of Penelope Jennings', Head of Lower School, severance agreement, she received a severance payment of $35,000 from the school in 2018. The payment was treated as taxable compensation to the recipient.
Schedule J, Part II, Column D:Colm MacMahon, Matthew Hall, and Ryan Smith received tuition remission from the organization for their children that attend Rippowam Cisqua School, which is also being reported in Column D. In 2018, Colm MacMahon received $39,400, Matthew Hall received $39,400 and Ryan Smith received $40,175 in family tuition remission.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Westchester County Local Development CorporationBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN455135576BondIssuerEIN
Bond Issued2016-06-28BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$25,000,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeNew Project for Reconstruction and Renovations; Refunding Series 1999 BondsPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$1,430,162RetiredAmt
Total Proceeds$25,017,331TotalProceedsAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$234,398IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Capital Expenditures$18,552,803CapitalExpendituresAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$6,144,046OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Substantial Completion2017SubstantialCompletionYr
Refunding Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable Bonds0RefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (1)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropYes (1)MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Engage Bond Counsel Contracts0EngageBondCounselContractsInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Private Bus Use By Others0.00000PrivateBusUseByOthersPct
Private Bus Concerning UBI0.00000PrivateBusConcerningUBIPct
Total Private Business Use0.00000TotalPrivateBusinessUsePct
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond Remdtd0ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due Yet0RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To Rebate0ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate DueYes (1)NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate Issue0VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor Reqs0WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective Action0ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule K, Part II, Line 3:The total proceeds do not agree to the issue price in Part I, Col. (e) due to investment earnings.
Schedule K, Part II, Line 11:The bond proceeds were used to currently refund a prior issue.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonColm MacMahonPersonNm
Relationship With OrgOfficer of the SchoolRelationshipWithOrgTxt
Loan PurposePersonal LoanLoanPurposeTxt
Loan From OrganizationYes (X)LoanFromOrganizationInd
Original Principal$59,488OriginalPrincipalAmt
Balance Due$28,365BalanceDueAmt
Default0DefaultInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (1)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Written Agreement0WrittenAgreementInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$28,365TotalBalanceDueAmt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution4ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$36,140NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesAvg. Selling PriceMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received0Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC Gifts0ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Column (b):FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe organization is reporting the number of contributors.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe School has its Form 990 prepared by an outside accounting firm and has established the following review process to ensure that the information reported is complete and accurate. After the Form 990 has been prepared, the Finance Committee reviews and approves the full Form 990. A public disclosure copy of the form is then electronically sent to the board. After the return is sent to the board, it is filed with the Internal Revenue Service.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cEach Director, Officer, and Key Employee shall annually sign and submit to the Secretary of the School a statement which affirms such person: (a) has received a copy of the Conflict of Interest Policy, (b) has read and understands the Policy, and (c) has agreed to comply with the Policy. Prior to a Director's initial election to the Board, or an Officer or Key Employee's employment at the School, and thereafter on an annual basis, all Directors, Officers, and Key Employees shall disclose in writing to the Secretary of the School: (i) Any entity of which such person or a Relative of such person is an officer, director, trustee, member, owner, or employee and with which the School has a relationship, (ii) Any Financial Interest such person may have in any School, organization, partnership or other entity which provides professional or other goods or services to School for a fee or other compensation, and (iii) Any position or other material relationship such Director, Officer, Key Employee, or Relative of such person, may have with any not-for-profit School with which the School has a business relationship. A copy of each disclosure statement shall be kept in School's files and made available to any Director, Officer, or Key Employee upon request. Any Related Party shall disclose in good faith all material facts of his or her Financial Interest to the Chair of the Board and the appropriate Committee. All transactions, agreements or any other arrangements between the School and a Related Party, and any other transactions which may involve a potential conflict of interest, shall be reviewed by the Independent Directors of the Board. All Related Parties with a Financial Interest shall leave the room in which such deliberations are conducted. However, Related Parties are not prohibited from providing information regarding the transaction to the Board prior to the Board's deliberations. No Director or Officer shall vote, act, or attempt to influence improperly the deliberations on any matter in which he or she has been determined by the Board to have a Financial Interest. Any attempt to vote, act, or improperly influence deliberations by a Related Party on any matter with which such person has a Financial Interest may be grounds for disciplinary action, including possible removal from the Board or termination from the School. The Independent Directors of the Board will determine whether the contemplated Related Party Transaction is fair, reasonable, and in the best interests of the School at the time of such determination. The School will not enter into any Related Party Transaction unless it is determined to be fair, reasonable and in the best interest of the School at the time of such determination.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15The Compensation Committee is provided comparable data derived from the NAIS DASL program using similar local schools in the area for the compensation determination and review of Senior Administration. Deliberations and decisions regarding the compensation review process and approval are documented in the board minutes. The compensation review process was last undertaken in fiscal year 2019.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The School's 990 is posted on guidestar.org. In addition, the governing documents, conflict of interest policy, financial statements, and Form 990 are available upon request.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Actuarial Post Retirement Benefit Adjustment 56,779.
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2c:The school has an audit committee that assumes the responsibility for overseeing the audit and selecting the independent auditor. This process has not changed from previous years.