STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

PENNSYLVANIA EMPLOYEES BENEFIT: Form 990, tax year 2018

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
PENNSYLVANIA EMPLOYEES BENEFIT (EIN 52-1588740)
Tax period
2018-07-01 to 2019-06-30
Filed
2020-07-14
IRS object ID
202011969349304306
Schema version
2018v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-07-14T16:00:00-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2019-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2018-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN521588740EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PENNSYLVANIA EMPLOYEES BENEFIT TRUST FUNDBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlPENNBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7175657318PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1150 South 43rd StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityHarrisburgCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP17111ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJohn CromerPersonNm
Person TitleAccounting ManagerPersonTitleTxt
Phone7175657307PhoneNum
Signature2020-07-14SignatureDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address173.163.158.209IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2018TaxYr
Build TS2020-09-23 17:36:50ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerKathryn FarleyPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1150 South 43rd StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityHarrisburgCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP17111ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$1,210,968,315GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website Addresspebtf.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization OtherYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationOtherInd
Other Organization DscNon-profitOtherOrganizationDsc
Formation1988FormationYr
Legal Domicile StatePALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTrust for the provision of employee benefits to employees of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body18VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent18VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee129TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers18TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$1,083,447,779PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$1,110,154,402CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$4,752,452PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$10,461,359CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$1,088,200,231PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$1,120,615,761CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$979,848,133PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$984,776,154CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,072,212PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,034,400CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$37,583,270PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$36,759,342CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$1,024,503,615PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$1,028,569,896CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$63,696,616PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$92,045,865CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$638,772,945TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$734,797,344TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$103,435,436TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$103,336,935TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$535,337,509NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$631,460,409NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTrust for the provision of medical, surgical, hospital, and supplemental benefits to employees of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and associated agencies, as well as their dependents and retirees.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescTo provide medical, surgical, hospital, and supplemental benefits to employees of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania as well as other participants. Benefits provided to approximately 71,400 contracts or 169,000 covered lives.Desc
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$0TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$0TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$0TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$0TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document10IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee129EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members18GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member18IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower Policy0WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKathryn FarleyPersonNm
Phone7175657215PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1150 South 43rd StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityHarrisburgCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP17111ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (25 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
David Fillman
Chairman0.250Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael Newsome
Secretary0.250Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Teresa Miller
Board Member0.250Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dave Henderson
Board Member0.250Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dominic Sgro
Board Member0.250Yes (X)$0$0$0
Erika Swaney
Board Member0.250Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jay Gasdaska
Board Member0.250Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jennifer Swails
Board Member0.250Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jessica Altman
Board Member0.250Yes (X)$0$0$0
Matt Yarnell
Board Member0.250Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael Bodinsky
Board Member0.250Yes (X)$0$0$0
Natalie Sabadish
Board Member0.250Yes (X)$0$0$0
Richard Caponi
Board Member0.250Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tara Long
Board Member0.250Yes (X)$0$0$0
V Reid Walsh
Board Member0.250Yes (X)$0$0$0
Stephen Catanese
Board Member0.250Yes (X)$0$0$0
Wendell Young IV
Board Member0.250Yes (X)$0$0$0
William Einhorn
Board Member0.250Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kathryn Farley
Executive Director/CEO400Yes (X)$283,473$0$25,434
Nancy Murphy
COO400$203,014$0$22,725Yes (X)
Bruce Shearer
CIO400$180,302$0$21,696Yes (X)
Gerald Anastasio
Dir of Human Resources400$132,950$0$19,262Yes (X)
John-Marc Blanche
Network Manager400$119,072$0$18,547Yes (X)
Christy Leo
Dir of Communications400$115,017$0$18,420Yes (X)
Swapna Dighe
Dir of Application Development400$109,075$0$18,037Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,142,903TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$144,121TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K12IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtAddress Line2ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine2TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Willis Towers Watson
1500 Market StCentre Square EastPhiladelphiaPA19102Actuarial services$557,893
Kennedy Printing Company Inc
5534 Baltimore AvenuePhiladelphiaPA19143Printing and mailing$457,005
Standish Mellon Asset Management
500 Grant StreetPittsburghPA15258Investment management$411,663
HR Best Practices
PO Box 2400WayneNJ074701095 form production$383,160
Ballard Spahr LLP
1735 Market Street51st FloorPhiladelphiaPA19103Legal services$264,018
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K11CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Total Contributions$0TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Employer contributions524292$989,443,721$989,443,721$0$0
Participant contributions524292$119,300,302$119,300,302$0$0

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,410,379TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,410,379RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$1,110,154,402TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$11,047,591TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$11,047,591ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$89,766,322SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$90,352,554SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$586,232SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$586,232TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion-$586,232ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$0OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,120,615,761TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,110,154,402RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$10,461,359ExclusionAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$984,776,154TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$512,952TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,734,563TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,373,383TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$413,502TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$403,084TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$90,953TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$855,002TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$628,430TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$852,873TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$452,908TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,786TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,563,314TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$200,668TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
Retention expense (admin)$26,703,881
Mental health/substance abuse$4,177,696
Dues, subscriptions, licenses$698,539
Disease management$77,745

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$30,463TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,028,569,896TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$369,733,383BOYAmt
EOY$403,233,972EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$120,689,952BOYAmt
EOY$110,375,997EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$320,030BOYAmt
EOY$284,916EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$38,203,441LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$36,217,906LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,791,331BOYAmt
EOY$1,985,535EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$144,238,249BOYAmt
EOY$218,916,924EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$638,772,945BOYAmt
EOY$734,797,344EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,491,436BOYAmt
EOY$28,332,935EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$74,944,000BOYAmt
EOY$75,004,000EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$103,435,436BOYAmt
EOY$103,336,935EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$535,337,509BOYAmt
EOY$631,460,409EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$535,337,509BOYAmt
EOY$631,460,409EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$638,772,945BOYAmt
EOY$734,797,344EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$92,045,865ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$3,707,365NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Investment Expense$0InvestmentExpenseAmt
Prior Period Adjustments$0PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$369,670OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$0DepreciationAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$391,930OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$366,811DepreciationAmt
Book Value$25,119BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$563,504OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$563,504DepreciationAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$37,248,007OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$35,287,591DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,960,416BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$1,985,535TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescEstimated health claims incurred but not reportedDesc
Amt$75,004,000Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$75,004,000TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$1,124,323,126TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$3,707,365NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Recoveries Prior Year Grants$0RecoveriesPriorYearGrantsAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$3,707,365RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$1,120,615,761RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$0OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$1,120,615,761TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$1,028,569,896TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Prior Year Adjustments$0PriorYearAdjustmentsAmt
Losses Reported$0LossesReportedAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$1,028,569,896ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$0OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$1,028,569,896TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule D, Part X, Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationEstimated health claims incurred but not reportedExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Kathryn Farley
Executive Director/CEO$240,932$0$0$0$42,541$0$12,967$0$12,467$0$308,907$0$0$0
Nancy Murphy
COO$175,805$0$0$0$27,209$0$10,258$0$12,467$0$225,739$0$0$0
Bruce Shearer
CIO$155,112$0$0$0$25,190$0$9,229$0$12,467$0$201,998$0$0$0
Gerald Anastasio
Dir of Human Resources$122,817$0$0$0$10,133$0$6,795$0$12,467$0$152,212$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule J, Part I, Line 1aFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationGross-up for Kathryn Farley for the current year totaled $10,286.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11bThe form 990 is reviewed by the Controller and an outside accounting firm before being filed with the IRS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cThe conflict of interest policy is monitored and enforced as an integral part of the Pennsylvania Employees Benefit Trust Fund (PEBTF) corporate compliance program. As such, the corporate compliance office in conjunction with the corporate compliance committee has the primary responsibility for monitoring and enforcement of this policy. In addition, on an annual basis, the Human Resources department requires each employee to sign a conflict of interest statement which provides documentation of any actual or perceived conflict as well as reiterating the PEBTF's policy regarding conflicts of interest.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15The process for determining compensation of the CEO is a process that includes the Compensation Committee of the Board of Directors, the Chair of the Finance Committee, and the Chair of the Board. (1) Independent salary survey information is provided to the Compensation Committee by the Director of Human Resources. (2) A formal review of the CEO is performed by the Chair of the Board comparing performance expectations to the actual performance for the year. (3) A performance increase is recommended by the Compensation Committee for an appropriate increase taking the salary survey range and performance into account. (4) In the eventthe CEO's salary falls significantly outside the independent salary survey range, either on the high or low side, additional information is sought prior to the development of the increase amount. The process of determining compensation for the other officers and key employees of the organization is performed by the CEO using the steps outlined above.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19PEBTF's governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements are not generally made available to the public. However, if there is a written request for the above information, the request is reviewed by the CEO with assistance from corporate counsel, and a determination is made and rendered in writing to the requestor.
Form 990, Part XI, Line 9Change in benefit obligations of $369,670.

Reasonable Cause Explanation ReasonableCauseExplanation

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ExplanationForm 8868 was timely filed providing a six month extension of the due date to May 15, 2020. On April 10, 2020, the IRS announced that filings on extension to May 15, 2020 would be automatically extended to July 15, 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.ExplanationTxt