STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

ARAB ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
ARAB ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 63-0264087)
Tax period
2019-07-01 to 2020-06-30
Filed
2020-11-12
IRS object ID
202013179349306631
Schema version
2019v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-11-12T14:43:00-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN631035228PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Jackson Thornton & Co PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 96AddressLine1Txt
CityMontgomeryCityNm
State AbbreviationALStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP361010096ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN630264087EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Arab Electric Cooperative IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlARABBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2565863196PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 770AddressLine1Txt
CityArabCityNm
State AbbreviationALStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP35016ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonStacey WhitePersonNm
Person TitleInterim General ManagerPersonTitleTxt
Phone2565863196PhoneNum
Signature2020-11-11SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonPatrick CooperPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00856177PTIN
Phone3348347660PhoneNum
Preparation2020-11-04PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address142.154.130.164IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2020-11-11IPDt
IP Tm14:29:43IPTm
IP TimezoneCSIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdDA39A3EE5E6B4B0D3255BFEF95601890AFD80709AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id6C9B1A35775087DBDB8A6D25ECA509C7F6C27838AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-01-07 14:23:13ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerStacey WhitePrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 770AddressLine1Txt
CityArabCityNm
State AbbreviationALStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP35016ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$35,739,277GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressN/AWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1947FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateALLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionThe Cooperative's most significant activities include the sale of electricity and electric services to members.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee40TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$35,775,858PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$34,441,097CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$200,046PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$135,783CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$638,635PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,162,397CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$36,614,539PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$35,739,277CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$918,677PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$988,608CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$274,804PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$152,766CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$35,421,058PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$34,597,903CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$36,614,539PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$35,739,277CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$0PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$0CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$45,128,702TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$48,085,427TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$9,333,548TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$9,165,147TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$35,795,154NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$38,920,280NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionNoneMissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescArab Electric Cooperative, Inc. now serves 12,998 residential accounts, 186 small commercial accounts, 2,401 large commercial accounts as well as 153 lighting accounts, with the total number of accounts being 15,738. Arab Electric Cooperative, Inc. has 1,237 miles of distribution line that delivers power purchased from Tennessee Valley Authority to its members.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J Required0ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document25IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee40EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$34,441,097MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$135,782OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest Policy0ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Whistleblower Policy0WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention Policy0DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Arab Electric CooperativeBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2565863196PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1331S Brindlee Mt PkwyAddressLine1Txt
CityArabCityNm
State AbbreviationALStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP35016ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (13 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerInd
Bill Strickland
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$6,000$0$0
Christopher Hemphill
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$2,500$0$0
Charles S Whisenant
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$4,000$0$0
Charlie Griffin
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$6,000$0$0
Dianne Prestridge
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$6,000$0$0
Janet Bright
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$6,000$0$0
Nathan Clark
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$2,500$0$0
Tyler Barnes
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$2,500$0$0
Mark Holmes
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$4,000$0$0
Roger Head
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$4,000$0$0
Ty Smith
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$6,000$0$0
Charles W Whisenant
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$6,000$0$0
Stacey White
General Manager40.00$66,458$0$30,808Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$121,958TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$30,808TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K1IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 K0TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Corbit Power & Lights
203 Pecan StreetAlbertvilleAL35950Electrical contractors & right of way cl$1,590,239
Asplundh Tree Expert
PO Box 532829 Suite HAtlantaGA303532729Right of Way Clearing$487,478
Osmose Utilities
PO Box 117284AtlantaGA30368Pole inspection & repair$185,072
Central Service Association
PO Box 3480TupeloMS38803IT and Software Support$161,771
Transformer Maintenance & Service Inc
PO Box 189Newton GroveNC28366Transformer/Equipment Repair$149,982
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K8CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescSales of ElectricityDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$34,441,097TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$34,441,097RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$34,441,097TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$135,783TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$135,783ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$662,024PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$662,024PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$662,024TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$662,024ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescExtraordinary RevenueDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$500,373TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$500,373ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$500,373OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$35,739,277TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$34,441,097RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,298,180ExclusionAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$988,608TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$152,766TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,857TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,884,142TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
Cost of Power$25,363,622
Administrative & Genera$2,767,395
Distribution-Maintenanc$1,980,067
Taxes$1,587,735

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,007,085TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$35,739,277TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,878,717BOYAmt
EOY$10,110,196EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,810,061BOYAmt
EOY$2,245,654EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,227,183BOYAmt
EOY$1,238,500EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$723,523BOYAmt
EOY$815,002EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,768,922BOYAmt
EOY$3,512,661EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$51,998,010LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$24,668,795LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,385,095BOYAmt
EOY$27,329,215EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$940,195BOYAmt
EOY$945,599EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$395,006BOYAmt
EOY$1,888,600EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$45,128,702BOYAmt
EOY$48,085,427EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,198,991BOYAmt
EOY$4,556,021EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,134,557BOYAmt
EOY$4,609,126EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,333,548BOYAmt
EOY$9,165,147EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,795,154BOYAmt
EOY$38,920,280EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,795,154BOYAmt
EOY$38,920,280EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$45,128,702BOYAmt
EOY$48,085,427EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$0ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Prior Period Adjustments$1,921,184PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$1,203,942OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$411,448OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$411,448BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$51,586,562OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$24,668,795DepreciationAmt
Book Value$26,917,767BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$27,329,215TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
TVA Advances$1,249,044
Customer Deposits$2,928,092
Paycheck Protection Program Loan - COVID 19$431,990
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$4,609,126TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$35,739,277TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$35,739,277RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$35,739,277TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$34,750,669TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$34,750,669ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$988,608OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$988,608ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$35,739,277TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part X, Line 2:The Cooperative is exempt from income taxes under Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(12). Management evaluated the Cooperative's tax positions and concluded that the Cooperative had taken no uncertain tax positions that require adjustment to the financial statements.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Margins allocated to members 988,608.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6Arab Electric Cooperative is a not-for-profit membership organization whose members have identical voting rights and are assigned margins in accordance with the organization's bylaws.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aArab Electric Cooperative's governing body consists of nine directors that are elected by the membership of the cooperative. Each directors serves a three year term and represents a certain district within the territory served by the cooperative. The terms are staggered in order for the cooperative to only have three directors up for election in any one year.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7bThe membership must approve decisions that involve substantial transfers of cooperative assets, amendments to the cooperative's bylaws, as well as other decisions requiring approval of the membership by law, the articles of incorporation, and/or the cooperative's bylaws.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe Form 990 is distributed to the Board for review before it is signed by the General Manager.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15Salaries for both the organization's officers, as well as the top management official, are determined by the Executive Committee of the Board. These salaries are also determined by examining compensation of others in the industry and by the use of performance measures.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19These documents are available upon request at the Cooperative's office in Arab, Alabama.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Change in Memberships 660. Benefits allocated to members 988,608. Utility Tax Refund 214,674.
Form 990, Part IX, Line 4The instructions to the Form 990 indicate that organizations exempt under Section 501(c)(12) should report "patronage dividends paid" to their members in Part IX, Line 4 of the Form 990. Arab Electric Cooperative has interpreted the words "patronage dividends paid" in the instructions to mean margins that are assigned or assignable to the members. Arab Electric Cooperative assigns the net margins to its members each year. The amount listed in Part IX, Line 4 represents the net margins assigned to the members for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2020.