STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

MEMBERS COOPERATIVE CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
MEMBERS COOPERATIVE CREDIT UNION (EIN 41-0195345)
Tax period
2019-01-01 to 2019-12-31
Filed
2020-11-05
IRS object ID
202023109349300537
Schema version
2019v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-11-05T09:12:02-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2019-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN410746749PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1109 N MAIN STREET SUITE 200AddressLine1Txt
CityAUSTINCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55912ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN410195345EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MEMBERS COOPERATIVE CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlMEMBBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2186258500PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14628 MIKE COLALILLO DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityDULUTHCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55807ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonRALPH HAMANNPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone2186258500PhoneNum
Signature2020-10-20SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonTANYA MEDGAARDENPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01717240PTIN
Phone5074347000PhoneNum
Preparation2020-10-20PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address67.137.57.251IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2020-10-20IPDt
IP Tm15:51:05IPTm
IP TimezoneCDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdDA39A3EE5E6B4B0D3255BFEF95601890AFD80709AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id7592AC715573C48FEBDB1D9F8033ACF6A371561DAtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2021-04-22 16:20:28ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerTAMMY HEIKKINENPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14628 MIKE COLALILLO DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityDULUTHCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55807ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$44,315,563GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.MEMBERSCCU.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization OtherYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationOtherInd
Other Organization DscCREDIT UNIONOtherOrganizationDsc
Formation1936FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMNLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO CONDUCT THE ORDINARY AND NECESSARY BUSINESS OF A CREDIT UNION INVOLVING THE RECEIVING OF SAVINGS OF MEMBERS AND LENDING MONEY TO MEMBERS FOR PROVIDENT PURPOSES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee274TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers1TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$271,905TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$35,383,106PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$39,142,355CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,421,541PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,608,041CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$239,034PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$484,976CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$38,043,681PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$41,235,372CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$220,329PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$188,469CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$4,355,457PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$6,206,494CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$12,604,322PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$13,770,062CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$15,840,441PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$14,858,158CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$33,020,549PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$35,023,183CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$5,023,132PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$6,212,189CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$738,388,167TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$796,073,008TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$649,204,594TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$700,677,246TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$89,183,573NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$95,395,762NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTO BE THE PRIMARY, POSITIVE FINANCIAL INFLUENCE IN THE LIFE OF OUR OWNER/MEMBER.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcYes (1)SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangeYes (1)SignificantChangeInd
DescDIVIDENDS AND INTEREST OF $6.2 MILLION WERE PAID TO MEMBERS IN 2019 ON 117,969 DEPOSIT ACCOUNTS. WE STRIVE TO OFFER COMPETITVE RATES TO OUR MEMBERS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Desc37,742 LOANS TOTALING OVER $625.8 MILLION WERE ACTIVE FOR CONSUMER, MORTGAGE AND COMMERCIAL LOANS TO MEMBERS. OUR GOAL IS TO OFFER LOANS AT REASONABLE RATES TO OUR MEMBERS AND TO PROVIDE INDIRECT LOANS TO CUSTOMERS OF AUTO DEALERSHIPS IN THE AREA AT COMPETITIVE RATES.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescAVAILABILITY OF 13 OF OUR OWN ATM'S AS WELL AS A LARGE NETWORK OF ATM'S NATION AND WORLD WIDE TO OUR MEMBERS AND NON-MEMBERS. WE WANT TO OFFER CONVENIENCE TO OUR MEMBERS AFTER HOURS AND AWAY FROM HOME.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document9982IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee274EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTAMMY HEIKKINENPersonNm
Phone2186258500PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14628 MIKE COLALILLO DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityDULUTHCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55807ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (21 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
RUSS SALGY
CHAIR3.30Yes (X)Yes (X)$4,256$0$0
JOHN GILBERT
DIRECTOR2.80Yes (X)$3,571$0$0
ADELE HARTWICK
DIRECTOR2.50Yes (X)$3,284$0$0
DIANNE CARLSON
DIRECTOR2.30Yes (X)$2,941$0$0
TIM CAROLINE
BOARD SECRETARY2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$2,646$0$0
GERALD TELKER
DIRECTOR1.40Yes (X)$1,816$0$0
DORIS DAHL
VICE-CHAIR1.20Yes (X)Yes (X)$1,528$0$0
DAVID VUKELICH
DIRECTOR0.80Yes (X)$1,040$0$0
ANDREW JOE ADDY
DIRECTOR0.30Yes (X)$438$0$0
TESS DANDREA
DIRECTOR1.20Yes (X)$0$0$0
TAMMY HEIKKINEN
PRESIDENT/CEO55.00Yes (X)$590,971$0$58,969
RALPH HAMANN
CFO/CHRO50.00Yes (X)$265,087$0$48,962
JANET VOLD
CIO/COO50.00$305,605$0$29,007Yes (X)
SIMONE SURI
GENERAL COUNSEL45.00$233,215$0$44,286Yes (X)
STEPHAN GLONCHAK
CHIEF LENDING OFFICER45.00$242,791$0$24,689Yes (X)
RYANNE BATTAGLIA
CMO45.00$184,347$0$18,876Yes (X)
CORY STENSON
MORTGAGE MANAGER45.00$131,411$0$23,173Yes (X)
SARAH WHITING
ATTORNEY45.00$112,795$0$13,708Yes (X)
NEIL SAMPLE
VP COMMERCIAL LENDING45.00$108,421$0$12,148Yes (X)
KATHERINE STROMBERG
VP BRANCH OPERATIONS45.00$103,824$0$12,118Yes (X)
ANDY JONESON
IT MANAGER45.00$105,519$0$9,301Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,405,506TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$295,237TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K11IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
FISERV
75 REMITTANCE DRIVE DEPT 1649CHICAGOIL60675ANNUAL SOFTWARE MAINTENANCE$477,621
OSCAR J BOLDT CONSTRUCTION
1001 TALL PINE LANECLOQUETMN55720CONSTRUCTION LABOR$351,247
NU SOURCE FINANCIAL LLC
9749 HAMILTON ROADEDEN PRAIRIEMN55344ITM SOFTWARE LICENSE$249,722
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
LOAN INTEREST INCOME522100$29,458,184$29,458,184
FEE INCOME522100$7,885,698$7,613,793$271,905
OTHER OPERATING INCOME524298$1,798,473$1,798,473
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$39,142,355TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,718,023TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,718,023ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$2,970,209OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$3,080,191OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$109,982OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$109,982TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$109,982ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescGAIN ON 457 (B) & BOLI INVESTMENTDesc
Business525100BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$484,976TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$484,976RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$484,976OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$41,235,372TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$39,355,426RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$271,905UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,608,041ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$188,469TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,206,494TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,068,325TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,909,109TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$750,527TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,227,634TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,814,467TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,172TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$108,722TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$471,351TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,810,296TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,581,375TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$60,747TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$229,469TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$457,771TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,608,388TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
LOAN SERVICING EXPENSE$3,514,742
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$2,752,019
PROFESSIONAL & OUTSIDE$798,948
MISCELLANEOUS OPERATING$463,158

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$35,023,183TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$38,458,195BOYAmt
EOY$45,169,307EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,994,000BOYAmt
EOY$13,044,000EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$99,602BOYAmt
EOY$51,662EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,986,299BOYAmt
EOY$8,860,222EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$582,037,027BOYAmt
EOY$613,325,100EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$675,535BOYAmt
EOY$675,064EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$44,813,132LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$13,753,971LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,211,955BOYAmt
EOY$31,059,161EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,981,100BOYAmt
EOY$32,949,492EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,361,226BOYAmt
EOY$7,648,327EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$31,583,228BOYAmt
EOY$43,290,673EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$738,388,167BOYAmt
EOY$796,073,008EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,044,371BOYAmt
EOY$7,264,947EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,500,000BOYAmt
EOY$17,500,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$624,660,223BOYAmt
EOY$675,912,299EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$649,204,594BOYAmt
EOY$700,677,246EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$89,183,573BOYAmt
EOY$95,395,762EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$89,183,573BOYAmt
EOY$95,395,762EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$738,388,167BOYAmt
EOY$796,073,008EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$6,212,189ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,808,007OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$5,808,007BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$25,357,071OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,904,900DepreciationAmt
Book Value$21,452,171BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$875,373OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$322,500DepreciationAmt
Book Value$552,873BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$12,756,892OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$9,526,571DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,230,321BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$15,789OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$15,789BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$31,059,161TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (7 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
ACCRUED INTEREST$2,227,154
FORECLOSED AND REPOSSESSED ASSETS$1,505,395
OTHER ASSETS$22,610,816
LOANS HELD FOR SALE$3,432,742
INTANGIBLE ASSETS$191,460
457(B) PLAN$1,009,527
BOLI INVESTMENTS$12,313,579
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$43,290,673TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
SHARE SAVINGS$148,732,007
SHARE DRAFTS$114,673,078
MONEY MARKET$162,658,995
IRA DEPOSITS$56,704,973
SHARE & IRA CERTIFICATES$171,217,229
NON MEMBER DEPOSITS$21,926,017
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$675,912,299TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$41,235,374TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$41,235,374RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$2OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$2RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$41,235,372TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$35,023,184TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$1OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$1ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$35,023,183ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$35,023,183TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT, BY IRC 501(C)(14), FROM FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES. THE CREDIT UNION HAS FILED TAX RETURNS FOR POTENTIAL TAXABLE ACTIVITIES, REMITTING, AND RECOGNIZING AS EXPENSE, FEDERAL AND STATE TAX RELATED ESTIMATE PAYMENTS, AS APPLICABLE. INCOME TAXES INCURRED, OR REFUNDS THEREOF, HAVE NOT BEEN MATERIAL TO DATE TO THE ENTITY. THE TAXING AUTHORITIES HAVE THE ABILITY TO ASSESS TAXES, PENALTIES, AND INTEREST FOR ANY YEARS FOR WHICH NO TAX RETURN WAS FILED. IN THE OPINION OF MANAGEMENT, ANY LIABILITY RESULTING FROM TAXING AUTHORITIES IMPOSING INCOME TAXES ON THE NET TAXABLE INCOME FROM ACTIVITIES DEEMED TO BE UNRELATED TO THE CREDIT UNION'S EXEMPT PURPOSE IS NOT EXPECTED TO HAVE A MATERIAL EFFECT ON THE CREDIT UNION'S FINANCIAL POSITION OR RESULTS OF OPERATIONS. THE CREDIT UNION HAS EVALUATED ITS TAX POSITIONS AND DETERMINED NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS EXIST AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2019 AND 2018. THE CREDIT UNION'S 2016 THROUGH 2018 TAX YEARS ARE OPEN FOR EXAMINATION BY FEDERAL AND STATE TAXING AUTHORITIES.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:ROUNDING -2.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:ROUNDING 1.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (4 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
GRANDMAS MARATHON-DULUTH INC
PO BOX 16234DULUTHMN55816411573627501(C)(3)$60,000RACE SPONSOR
UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA REGENTS
NW 5960 PO BOX 1450MINNEAPOLISMN554855960416007513STATE GOVERNMENT$10,000SPONSOR UMD ATHLETICS
ENTREPRENEUER FUND
202 W SUPERIOR ST STE 311DULUTHMN55802363566632501(C)(3)$25,000ENVEST CAPITAL CAMPAIGN
DULUTH AIRSHOW
2110 W 1ST STDULUTHMN55806391647421501(C)(3)$15,000BONG P-38 FUND
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org4Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE CREDIT UNION HAS A CONTRACT DEFINING THE TERMS OF THE SPONSORSHIP.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
TAMMY HEIKKINEN
PRESIDENT/CEO$447,606$0$109,900$0$33,465$0$28,000$0$30,969$0$649,940$0$0$0
RALPH HAMANN
CFO/CHRO$210,301$0$37,600$0$17,186$0$22,640$0$26,322$0$314,049$0$0$0
JANET VOLD
CIO/COO$237,274$0$45,100$0$23,231$0$26,464$0$2,543$0$334,612$0$0$0
SIMONE SURI
GENERAL COUNSEL$184,252$0$33,940$0$15,023$0$19,807$0$24,479$0$277,501$0$0$0
STEPHAN GLONCHAK
CHIEF LENDING OFFICER$197,546$0$33,940$0$11,305$0$23,269$0$1,420$0$267,480$0$0$0
RYANNE BATTAGLIA
CMO$160,216$0$15,600$0$8,531$0$17,572$0$1,304$0$203,223$0$0$0
CORY STENSON
MORTGAGE MANAGER$130,621$0$700$0$90$0$13,320$0$9,853$0$154,584$0$0$0

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp (4 entries)

Relationship With OrgRelationshipWithOrgTxtLoan PurposeLoanPurposeTxtLoan From OrganizationLoanFromOrganizationIndOriginal PrincipalOriginalPrincipalAmtBalance DueBalanceDueAmtDefaultDefaultIndBoard Or Committee ApprovalBoardOrCommitteeApprovalIndWritten AgreementWrittenAgreementInd
TAMMY HEIKKINEN
CEOSPLIT-DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE UNDER REG 1.7872-15Yes (X)$4,575,000$5,796,3060Yes (1)Yes (1)
JANET VOLD
VP OPERATIONS/ITSPLIT-DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE UNDER REG 1.7872-15Yes (X)$600,000$600,5400Yes (1)Yes (1)
RALPH HAMANN
VP HR/FINANCE/CFOSPLIT-DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE UNDER REG 1.7872-15Yes (X)$900,000$842,2770Yes (1)Yes (1)
TIMOTHY SMITH
FORMER CEOSPLIT-DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE UNDER REG 1.7872-15Yes (X)$2,100,000$1,621,0990Yes (1)Yes (1)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$8,860,222TotalBalanceDueAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE L, PART IIFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationNOTED THESE TO BE A NON-RECOURSE PLAN THAT IS RECORDED ON THE BALANCE SHEET AT THE LOWER OF LOAN BALANCE OR CASH SURRENDER VALUE. BECAUSE THE CASH SURRENDER VALUE WAS LOWER, WE REPORTED THAT AMOUNT FOR BALANCE SHEET PURPOSES. HOWEVER, THE ACTUAL LOAN BALANCES ARE AS FOLLOWS:TAMMY HEIKKINEN - $6,829,195JANET VOLD - $667,611RALPH HAMANN - $998,407TIMOTHY SMITH - $2,372,802ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART III, LINE 2PARTNERING WITH TRIAD FINANCIAL SERVICES INC. TO DIVERSIFY LENDING PORTFOLIO.
FORM 990, PART III, LINE 3LIMIT RELATIONSHIPS WITH AUTO DEALERS IN PROXIMITY TO FIELD OF MEMBERSHIP.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6SUBSTANTIALLY ALL CUSTOMERS OF THE CREDIT UNION ARE MEMBERS. EACH MEMBER HAS EQUAL VOTING RIGHTS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERSHIP ELECTS THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THERE IS ONE CLASS OF MEMBERSHIP.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE MEMBERSHIP MUST APPROVE CHANGES TO THE BY-LAWS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER WILL PRESENT THE FORM 990 TO THE CEO AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS PRIOR TO ITS FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CCONFLICT OF INTEREST MUST BE DISCLOSED PURSUANT TO THE POLICY. SUCH DISCLOSURES MUST BE MADE IN WRITING TO THE COMPLIANCE OFFICER. THE COMPLIANCE OFFICER MUST RETAIN THOSE DISCLOSURES. THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS REVIEWED ANNUALLY BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND EACH BOARD MEMBER ATTESTS THAT THEY UNDERSTAND AND AGREE TO ADHERE TO THE POLICY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15CEO COMPENSATION IS BASED ON A RANGE PROVIDED BY BURNS-FAZZI-BROCK AND APPROVED BY BOARD. VICE PRESIDENTS AND GENERAL COUNSEL ARE ALSO BASED ON RANGES PROVIDED BY BURNS-FAZZI BROCK AND APPROVED BY CEO. THE CEO REVIEWS SALARY SURVEY RESULTS FROM DOHERTY EMPLOYER SERVICES BASED ON JOB DESCRIPTIONS OF OTHER OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES. SALARY SURVEYS ARE USED TO DETERMINE SALARY RANGE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE TO THE MEMBERSHIP. A MONTHLY BALANCE SHEET IS POSTED IN LOBBY OF PRIMARY BRANCHES. THE ANNUAL REPORT IS POSTED ON THE CU'S WEBSITE. ALSO, QUARTERLY REPORTS ARE AVAILABLE ON THE NCUA WEBSITE. THE CU DOES NOT MAKE ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS OR CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THE SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE ASSUMES RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE OVERSIGHT OF THE INDEPENDENT AUDIT OF THE CREDIT UNION'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND ASSUMES RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE SELECTION OF THE INDEPENDENT AUDITOR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MEMBER DIRECT INSURANCE AGENCYBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1101 14TH STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityCLOQUETCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55720ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN463985484EIN
Primary ActivitiesINSURANCEPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMNLegalDomicileStateCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MEMBERS COOPERATIVE CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MEMBERS COOPERATIVE CREDIT UNION COMMUNITY YOUTH FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1101 14TH STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityCLOQUETCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55720ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN270603827EIN
Primary ActivitiesCHARITABLE AND EDUCATIONAL PURPOSESPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMNLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(C)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity StatusPFPublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MEMBERS COOPERATIVE CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1LAKEHEAD FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1101 14TH STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityCLOQUETCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55720ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN411542100EIN
Primary ActivitiesCREDIT UNION SERVICE ORGANIZATIONPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMNLegalDomicileStateCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MEMBERS COOPERATIVE CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Entity TypeCEntityTypeTxt
Ownership1.00000OwnershipPct
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NO TRANSACTIONS OVER 50000BusinessNameLine1Txt