WHATCOM EDUCATIONAL CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2019
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- WHATCOM EDUCATIONAL CREDIT UNION (EIN 91-0712539)
- Tax period
- 2019-01-01 to 2019-12-31
- Filed
- 2020-11-12
- IRS object ID
- 202023179349308557
- Schema version
- 2019v5.1
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2020-11-12T16:25:13-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2019-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 410746749 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 20 EAST THOMAS ROAD SUITE 2300 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | PHOENIX | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | AZ | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 85012 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2019-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 910712539 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | WHATCOM EDUCATIONAL CREDIT UNION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | WHAT | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 3606761168 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 21 BELLWETHER WAY NO 111 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | BELLINGHAM | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | WA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 98225 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | NICK HODSON | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 3607567716 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2020-11-12 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | MARY C GREEN | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00447183 | PTIN |
| Phone | 6022662248 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2020-11-12 | PreparationDt |
Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation
IP Address IPAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| I Pv4 Address | 67.137.57.251 | IPv4AddressTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IP | 2020-11-12 | IPDt |
| IP Tm | 16:01:43 | IPTm |
| IP Timezone | MS | IPTimezoneCd |
| Filing License Type | P | FilingLicenseTypeCd |
| At Submission Creation Device Id | 94307BE716D664C10DC46CE445DCF2BF31E531AB | AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId |
| At Submission Filing Device Id | 02CA234FBCA38BC040217BAD4488B34B52AF085C | AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2019 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2022-01-07 14:23:13Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | JENNIFER KUTCHER | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 21 BELLWETHER WAY NO 111 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | BELLINGHAM | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | WA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 98225 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $86,945,648 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | WWW.WECU.COM | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1936 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | WA | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | OUR MISSION IS TO MAKE A MEANINGFUL DIFFERENCE IN THE LIVES OF OUR MEMBERS. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 9 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 9 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 483 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 12 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $75,315,415 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $83,190,686 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $3,701,602 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $2,907,994 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $1,985,971 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $814,686 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $81,002,988 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $86,913,366 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $233,095 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $228,842 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $7,451,477 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $9,201,355 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $31,333,682 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $33,821,312 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $28,012,656 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $28,930,541 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $67,030,910 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $72,182,050 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $13,972,078 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $14,731,316 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $1,608,031,120 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $1,712,782,397 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $1,363,703,611 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $1,453,723,572 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $244,327,509 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $259,058,825 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | WHATCOM EDUCATIONAL CREDIT UNION (WECU) IS A NOT-FOR-PROFIT FINANCIAL COOPERATIVE WHERE MEMBERS ARE ENCOURAGED TO SAVE AND BORROW RESPONSIBLY AT FAIR AND COMPETITIVE RATES, IMPROVING THEIR FINANCIAL WELL-BEING AND STANDARD OF LIVING. THIS STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNION IS A MEMBER OF THE NATIONAL CREDIT UNION ADMINISTRATION SHARE INSURANCE FUND, AND IS REGULATED BY THE NATIONAL CREDIT UNION ASSOCIATION, AND THE STATE OF WASHINGTON DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS - DIVISION OF CREDIT UNIONS. WECU'S MAIN PRODUCTS ARE CONSUMER LOANS, REAL ESTATE LOANS AND COMMERCIAL LOANS TO MEMBERS, WHICH ARE PRIMARILY FUNDED BY DEPOSITS FROM MEMBERS. FINANCIAL EDUCATION AND COMMUNITY SERVICE ARE ALSO AN INTEGRAL PART OF WECU'S OPERATIONS AND SPIRIT OF SERVICE. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Desc | CONSUMER LOANS (CREDIT CARDS, AUTO, PERSONAL AND OTHER TYPES):WECU OFFERS SEVERAL TYPES OF CREDIT CARDS TO MEMBERS. EACH CARD INCLUDES BENEFITS SUCH AS CASH BACK ON PURCHASES, NO ANNUAL FEE, LOW FIXED INTEREST RATE, TRAVEL ACCIDENT INSURANCE AND OPTIONAL PAYMENT PROTECTION. AT THE END OF 2019, WECU HAD 28,784 CREDIT CARDS OUTSTANDING WITH OVER $151 MILLION IN CREDIT LIMITS.ALONG WITH CREDIT CARD LOANS, WECU OFFERS AUTO, BOAT, RV, TIMELINE AND OTHER CONSUMER LOANS. WECU ALSO OFFERS A CREDIT BUILDER LOAN SOLUTION FOR AUTO LOANS TO ASSIST MEMBERS WITH ESTABLISHING AND/OR BUILDING CREDIT ACTIVITY. WE HAVE VERY COMPETITIVE RATES AND OFTEN FUND VERY SMALL LOANS THAT OTHER FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS WOULD NOT. IN THIS CAPACITY, WECU FILLS A CRITICAL ROLE IN THE MICRO-LENDING ECONOMY. IN 2019, WE GRANTED 13,933 CONSUMER LOANS (EXCLUDING CREDIT CARDS) TO OUR MEMBERS, TOTALING OVER $599 MILLION. WECU ALSO PROVIDES ACCESS TO FINANCIAL COUNSELING FREE OF CHARGE TO MEMBERS. THIS SERVICE CAN PROVIDE DIRECTION AND SUPPORT TO ANY OF OUR MEMBERS WHO NEED HELP MANAGING THEIR DEBT AND GETTING THEIR PERSONAL FINANCES BACK ON TRACK. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | REAL ESTATE LOANS:WECU OFFERS RESIDENTIAL REAL ESTATE LOANS WITH VERY COMPETITIVE RATES AND LOW FEES. WECU ALSO OFFERS MEMBER EDUCATION SEMINARS RELATED TO BUYING A HOME. AT THE END OF 2019, WECU HAD 4,672 RESIDENTIAL MORTGAGE LOANS OUTSTANDING, TOTALING OVER $643 MILLION. THE AVERAGE BALANCE OF A RESIDENTIAL FIRST MORTGAGE LOANS BEING SERVICED BY WECU IS APPROXIMATELY $137,659. WECU ALSO PARTICIPATES IN THE HOME$TART PROGRAM THROUGH THE FEDERAL HOME LOAN BANK OF DES MOINES. THE PROGRAM HELPS FAMILIES EARNING UP TO 80% OF THE AREA'S MEDIAN INCOME PURCHASE A HOME BY PROVIDING GRANTS WHICH MAY BE USED FOR DOWN PAYMENTS, CLOSING COSTS, OR REHABILITATION OF AN OWNER-OCCUPIED HOUSING UNIT. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | BUSINESS LOANS: WECU OFFERS SEVERAL TYPES OF BUSINESS LOANS - COMMERCIAL REAL ESTATE, LINES OF CREDIT, COMMERCIAL TERM LOANS, LAND/LOT LOANS AND OTHERS. WECU ALSO FACILITATES BUSINESS LOANS THROUGH THE SBA 504 LOAN PROGRAM. AT THE END OF 2019, WECU'S MEMBER BUSINESS LOAN PORTFOLIO CONSISTED OF 898 LOANS FOR A TOTAL OF $341 MILLION. WECU HAS SEEN A STEADY GROWTH IN OUR MEMBER BUSINESS LOAN PORTFOLIO SINCE ITS INCEPTION IN MAY 2001. THIS GROWTH SERVES AS EVIDENCE OF THE NEED FOR A LOCAL FINANCIAL INSTITUTION OFFERING BUSINESS LOANS WITH LOW FEES AND COMPETITIVE RATES. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | CHECKING ACCOUNTS AND DEBIT CARDSCHECKING ACCOUNTS AT WECU OFFER MAXIMUM CONVENIENCE WITH NO OR FEW FEES. WE HAVE A VARIETY OF CHECKING ACCOUNT OPTIONS, INCLUDING NO FEE ACCOUNTS AND INTEREST BEARING ACCOUNTS. CHECKING ACCOUNTS ARE MADE MORE CONVENIENT WITH MOBILE BANKING, MOBILE DEPOSIT CAPTURE, DEPOSIT TAKING ATMS, VISA DEBIT CARD, AROUND THE CLOCK ACCESS WITH ONLINE BANKING, DIRECT DEPOSIT AND AUTOMATIC PAYMENTS. OVERDRAFT PROTECTION IS ALSO AVAILABLE ON ALL CHECKING ACCOUNTS. WITH OUR VISA DEBIT CARD, MEMBERS HAVE ACCESS TO CHECKING ACCOUNT FUNDS ELECTRONICALLY AND CAN ALSO USE MORE THAN 25,000 SURCHARGE-FREE ATMS THROUGHOUT THE UNITED STATES AND CANADA. AT THE END OF 2019, THERE WERE 76,841 OPEN CHECKING ACCOUNTS AND 78,667 OPEN PERSONAL AND BUSINESS VISA DEBIT CARDS. WECU TRULY STRIVES TO MEET THE NEEDS OF THE UNDERSERVED. OUR CREDIT UNION HAS BEEN DESIGNATED AS A "LOW INCOME CREDIT UNION" (LICU), RECOGNIZING THAT OVER 50% OF THE CREDIT UNION MEMBERSHIP ARE PART OF LOW-INCOME HOUSEHOLDS.COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENTWHILE TECHNICALLY NOT A CHARTERED SERVICE, WECU IS COMMITTED TO COMMUNITY SERVICE AND PROVIDES SUPPORT TO A LARGE NUMBER OF LOCAL EDUCATIONAL, HEALTH AND COMMUNITY CONCERNS.WECU IS A MAJOR PARTNER WITH THE OPPORTUNITY COUNCIL, THE AREA'S COMMUNITY ACTION AGENCY. PROJECTS INCLUDE FREQUENT FREE FINANCIAL EDUCATION PRESENTATIONS, PRODUCTION OF FREE FINANCIAL EDUCATION POSTERS AND BROCHURES PROMOTING FREE TAX FILING ASSISTANCE IN PARTNERSHIP WITH AARP. WECU'S SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY COORDINATOR IS A CUNA CERTIFIED CREDIT UNION FINANCIAL COUNSELOR AND PROVIDES FREE COMMUNITY PRESENTATIONS TO VARIOUS GROUPS.TEAM WECU, COMPRISED OF CREDIT UNION STAFF AND BOARD MEMBERS, WAS ESTABLISHED TO ENCOURAGE VOLUNTEERISM IN THE COMMUNITY. IN 2019, 189 EMPLOYEES AND BOARD MEMBERS VOLUNTEERED 394 TIMES AT 29 EVENTS IN WHATCOM COUNTY. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | 0 | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | Yes (1) | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | Yes (1) | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | 0 | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (1) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | Yes (1) | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | Yes (1) | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 51159 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Employee | 483 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 9 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 9 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | 0 | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | Yes (1) | LocalChaptersInd |
| Policies Reference Chapters | Yes (1) | PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | NICK HODSON | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 3606761168 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 21 BELLWETHER WAY SUITE 111 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | BELLINGHAM | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | WA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 98225 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (24 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JENNIFER E KUTCHER | ||||||||
| PRESIDENT/CEO/TREASURER | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $620,438 | $0 | $74,602 | |||
| JEFFREY R DYKSTRA | ||||||||
| EVP | 45.00 | $406,860 | $0 | $61,832 | Yes (X) | |||
| JACK INGRAM | ||||||||
| CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER | 45.00 | $299,148 | $0 | $56,226 | Yes (X) | |||
| CYNTHIA CHASE KLEIN | ||||||||
| CHIEF HUMAN RESOURCES OFFICER | 45.00 | $260,884 | $0 | $53,054 | Yes (X) | |||
| NICHOLAS A HODSON | ||||||||
| CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | 45.00 | Yes (X) | $253,939 | $0 | $53,888 | |||
| ERYNNE MARIA HALLOCK | ||||||||
| VP, RETAIL DELIVERY | 45.00 | $229,518 | $0 | $49,868 | Yes (X) | |||
| MATTHEW HENRY BERENDSEN | ||||||||
| VP, LENDING | 45.00 | $232,462 | $0 | $46,694 | Yes (X) | |||
| KENT D BOUMA | ||||||||
| VP, BUSINESS BANKING | 45.00 | $220,616 | $0 | $47,279 | Yes (X) | |||
| DAVID PIERCE JONES | ||||||||
| CHIEF MARKETING OFFICER | 45.00 | $215,921 | $0 | $32,502 | Yes (X) | |||
| GRANT DYKSTRA | ||||||||
| BANKING SENIOR LOAN OFFICER | 40.00 | $176,102 | $0 | $43,432 | Yes (X) | |||
| MICHAEL PETER YEEND | ||||||||
| CREDIT ANALYSIS TEAM LEADER | 40.00 | $173,545 | $0 | $36,716 | Yes (X) | |||
| DAVID DODGE | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR, IT INFRASTRUCTURE | 40.00 | $161,578 | $0 | $32,732 | Yes (X) | |||
| AARON HEATH WHITSON | ||||||||
| BANKING CREDIT ADMINISTRATOR | 40.00 | $160,275 | $0 | $33,445 | Yes (X) | |||
| TIMOTHY A COOK | ||||||||
| SENIOR SYSTEMS ADMINISTRATOR | 40.00 | $159,440 | $0 | $22,061 | Yes (X) | |||
| GABRIEL MAST | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 4.00 | $1,655 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| DAVID WASCHKE | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 4.00 | $1,481 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| ASHOK KHANNA | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 4.00 | $1,426 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| BRUCE BURPEE | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR (RESIGNED 2019) | 4.00 | $1,188 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| DALE ZENDER | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 4.00 | $1,150 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| CAROL LAGER | ||||||||
| CHAIR | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $1,145 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| HARTE BRESSLER | ||||||||
| VICE-CHAIR | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| KRISTI LEWIS TYRAN | ||||||||
| SECRETARY | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| CATHIE OBERG | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 4.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| MARGO HAMMOND | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 4.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $3,578,771 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $644,331 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 41 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CONNECTION | |||||
| ROUTE 101A 730 MILFORD RD | MERRIMACK | NH | 03054 | COMPUTER HARDWARE & SOFTWARE SERVICES | $2,961,256 |
| FISERV | |||||
| 75 REMITTANCE DR STE 1698 | CHICAGO | IL | 60675 | CORE SYSTEM SOFTWARE SERVICES | $2,729,542 |
| JACK HENRY & ASSOCIATES (JHA) | |||||
| 663 W HWY 60 PO BOX 609 | MONETT | MO | 65708 | VISA CARD PROCESSOR | $971,890 |
| EN POINTE TECHNOLOGIES SALES LLC | |||||
| 18701 S FIGUEROA ST | GARDENA | CA | 90248 | COMPUTER HARDWARE & SOFTWARE SERVICES | $685,485 |
| NCUA | |||||
| 1775 DUKE STREET | ALEXANDRIA | VA | 223143428 | MEMBER INSURANCE SERVICES | $661,823 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 40 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| INTEREST ON LOANS TO MEMBERS | 522100 | $62,958,116 | $62,958,116 |
| INTERCHANGE INCOME | 522100 | $9,491,013 | $9,491,013 |
| SERVICE CHARGES AND FEES | 522100 | $9,310,429 | $9,310,429 |
| GAIN ON SALE OF LOANS | 522100 | $904,714 | $904,714 |
| LOAN SERVICING INCOME | 522100 | $526,414 | $526,414 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $83,190,686 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $2,940,276 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $2,940,276 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $45,000 | RealAmt |
Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $0 | RealAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $45,000 | RealAmt |
Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $45,000 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $45,000 | ExclusionAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $32,282 | OtherAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | -$32,282 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | -$32,282 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | -$32,282 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | OTHER INCOME | Desc |
| Business | 900099 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $769,686 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $769,686 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $769,686 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $86,913,366 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $83,190,686 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $3,722,680 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $201,961 | TotalAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $26,881 | TotalAmt |
Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $9,201,355 | TotalAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,223,778 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $21,562,027 | TotalAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,379,397 | TotalAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,682,526 | TotalAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,973,584 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $82,414 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $217,137 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $20,000 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,616,198 | TotalAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $899,857 | TotalAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,188,151 | TotalAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,393,080 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,057,498 | TotalAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $239,520 | TotalAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $311,285 | TotalAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $30,043 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,879,367 | TotalAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $12,833 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt |
|---|---|
| PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS | $6,653,448 |
| CREDIT CARD EXPENSES | $3,787,984 |
| ATM EXPENSES | $1,222,202 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,319,524 | TotalAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $72,182,050 | TotalAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $26,344,298 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $29,765,822 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $94,475,103 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $112,034,670 | EOYAmt |
Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,316,824 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $11,642,744 | EOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,372,509,421 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,477,228,904 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,855,090 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,491,804 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $61,708,961 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $23,819,463 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $36,674,630 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $37,889,498 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,287,925 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,242,721 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $38,622,210 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $14,167,800 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $20,945,619 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $21,318,434 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,608,031,120 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,712,782,397 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $24,677,405 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $22,539,766 | EOYAmt |
Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,686,201 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,418,890 | EOYAmt |
Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $1,000,000 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,337,340,005 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,427,764,916 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,363,703,611 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,453,723,572 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Org Does Not Follow FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind |
Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $244,327,509 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $259,058,825 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $244,327,509 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $259,058,825 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,608,031,120 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,712,782,397 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $14,731,316 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Political Expenditures | $15,000 | PoliticalExpendituresAmt |
| Internal Funds Contributed | $15,000 | InternalFundsContributedAmt |
| Total Exempt Function Expend | $15,000 | TotalExemptFunctionExpendAmt |
| Form1120 POL Filed | Yes (1) | Form1120POLFiledInd |
Section527 Political Org Section527PoliticalOrgGrp
Organization Business Name OrganizationBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | NORTHWEST CREDIT UNION ASSOCIATION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 18000 INTERNATIONAL BLVD SUITE 35 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SEATAC | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | WA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 98188 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 910460483 | EIN |
| Paid Internal Funds | $15,000 | PaidInternalFundsAmt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I-A, LINE 1: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | CONTRIBUTIONS ARE MADE TO POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (PAC) AND OTHER LOBBYING EFFORTS THROUGH ANNUAL PAYMENTS TO THE NORTHWEST CREDIT UNION ASSOCIATION (NWCUA). NWCUA SUGGESTS A DONATION TO THESE EFFORTS THROUGH A VOLUNTARY "FAIR-SHARE" CONTRIBUTION FOR ALL STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Agent Trustee Etc | 0 | AgentTrusteeEtcInd |
| Incl Escrow Custodial Acct Liab | Yes (1) | InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd |
| Explanation Provided | Yes (X) | ExplanationProvidedInd |
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $12,289,071 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $12,289,071 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $27,467,632 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $9,569,895 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $17,897,737 | BookValueAmt |
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $540,111 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $522,890 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $17,221 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $20,557,327 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $13,726,678 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $6,830,649 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $854,820 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $854,820 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $37,889,498 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| MEMBERS' SHARE AND SAVINGS ACCOUNT | $1,427,410,861 |
| ACCRUED PENSIONS AND PROFIT SHARING | $354,055 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $1,427,764,916 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $86,913,366 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $0 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $86,913,366 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $86,913,366 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $72,182,050 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $72,182,050 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $72,182,050 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART IV, LINE 2B: | MONEY RECEIVED WITH MORTGAGE PAYMENTS THAT IS HELD IN ESCROW FOR REAL ESTATE TAXES. |
| PART X, LINE 2: | THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT, UNDER INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (IRC) 501(C)(14), FROM FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES. CERTAIN PRODUCTS AND SERVICES PROVIDED BY STATE CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS HAVE BEEN DEEMED BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS) TO BE UNRELATED TO THE SPECIFIC ENTITY'S EXEMPT PURPOSE. IN THE OPINION OF MANAGEMENT, ANY LIABILITY RESULTING FROM TAXING AUTHORITIES IMPOSING INCOME TAXES ON THE NET TAXABLE INCOME FROM ACTIVITIES POTENTIALLY DEEMED TO BE UNRELATED TO THE CREDIT UNION'S EXEMPT PURPOSE IS NOT EXPECTED TO HAVE A MATERIAL EFFECT ON THE CREDIT UNION'S FINANCIAL POSITION OR RESULTS OF OPERATIONS. THE CREDIT UNION EVALUATED ITS TAX POSITIONS AND DETERMINED NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS EXIST AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2019 AND 2018. THE CREDIT UNION'S 2016 THROUGH 2018 TAX YEARS ARE OPEN FOR EXAMINATION BY FEDERAL AND STATE TAXING AUTHORITIES. |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable (6 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | Recipient EINRecipientEIN | IRC SectionIRCSectionDesc | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt | Purpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BTC FOUNDATION | |||||||
| 3028 LINDBERGH AVENUE | BELLINGHAM | WA | 98225 | 911658027 | 501(C)(3) | $15,000 | EDUCATION GRANT |
| WHATCOM COMMUNITY COLLEGE | |||||||
| 237 W KELLOGG RD | BELLINGHAM | WA | 98226 | 943064448 | 501(C)(3) | $35,000 | EDUCATION GRANT |
| WHATCOM DREAM | |||||||
| PO BOX 29945 | BELLINGHAM | WA | 98228 | 743086597 | 501(C)(3) | $15,000 | EDUCATION GRANT |
| LHAQ-TEMISH FOUNDATION | |||||||
| 2665 KWINA RD | BELLINGHAM | WA | 98226 | 911836621 | 501(C)(3) | $12,500 | EDUCATION GRANT |
| OPPORTUNITY COUNCIL | |||||||
| 1419 CORNWALL AVENUE | BELLINGHAM | WA | 98225 | 910787820 | 501(C)(3) | $12,500 | EDUCATION GRANT |
| BELLINGHAM ARTS ACADEMY FOR YOUTH | |||||||
| 1059 N STATE ST | BELLINGHAM | WA | 98225 | 383868071 | 501(C)(3) | $15,000 | EDUCATION GRANT |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 6 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
| Total Other Org | 0 | TotalOtherOrgCnt |
Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Type | SCHOLARSHIPS | GrantTypeTxt |
| Recipient | 24 | RecipientCnt |
| Cash Grant | $26,000 | CashGrantAmt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART I, LINE 2: | WHATCOM EDUCATIONAL CREDIT UNION PROVIDES GRANT FUNDING ONLY TO LOCAL, REPUTABLE ORGANIZATIONS WHO HAVE A VERIFIED PURPOSE AND PRESENCE IN THE COMMUNITY. |
| SCHEDULE I, PART III | WHATCOM EDUCATIONAL CREDIT UNION PROVIDES SCHOLARSHIP FUNDING TO LOCAL SECONDARY EDUCATION INSTITUTIONS. THE FUNDS ARE PROVIDED TO SCHOOL SCHOLARSHIP FOUNDATIONS WHO THEN DETERMINE THE MOST DESERVING RECIPIENTS. |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Travel For Companions | Yes (X) | TravelForCompanionsInd |
| Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss | Yes (1) | WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd |
| Substantiation Required | Yes (1) | SubstantiationRequiredInd |
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | Yes (1) | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (14 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JENNIFER E KUTCHER | ||||||||||||||
| PRESIDENT/CEO/TREASURER | $477,439 | $0 | $104,707 | $0 | $38,292 | $0 | $49,800 | $0 | $24,802 | $0 | $695,040 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JEFFREY R DYKSTRA | ||||||||||||||
| EVP | $281,831 | $0 | $45,648 | $0 | $79,381 | $0 | $36,406 | $0 | $25,426 | $0 | $468,692 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JACK INGRAM | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER | $251,925 | $0 | $42,491 | $0 | $4,732 | $0 | $30,800 | $0 | $25,426 | $0 | $355,374 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| CYNTHIA CHASE KLEIN | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF HUMAN RESOURCES OFFICER | $209,859 | $0 | $35,405 | $0 | $15,620 | $0 | $27,628 | $0 | $25,426 | $0 | $313,938 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| NICHOLAS A HODSON | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | $231,500 | $0 | $21,845 | $0 | $594 | $0 | $28,462 | $0 | $25,426 | $0 | $307,827 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| ERYNNE MARIA HALLOCK | ||||||||||||||
| VP, RETAIL DELIVERY | $184,831 | $0 | $31,971 | $0 | $12,716 | $0 | $24,442 | $0 | $25,426 | $0 | $279,386 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MATTHEW HENRY BERENDSEN | ||||||||||||||
| VP, LENDING | $159,181 | $0 | $28,765 | $0 | $44,516 | $0 | $21,268 | $0 | $25,426 | $0 | $279,156 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| KENT D BOUMA | ||||||||||||||
| VP, BUSINESS BANKING | $162,017 | $0 | $28,542 | $0 | $30,057 | $0 | $21,853 | $0 | $25,426 | $0 | $267,895 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| DAVID PIERCE JONES | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF MARKETING OFFICER | $179,598 | $0 | $30,870 | $0 | $5,453 | $0 | $23,151 | $0 | $9,351 | $0 | $248,423 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| GRANT DYKSTRA | ||||||||||||||
| BANKING SENIOR LOAN OFFICER | $130,903 | $0 | $24,687 | $0 | $20,512 | $0 | $18,006 | $0 | $25,426 | $0 | $219,534 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MICHAEL PETER YEEND | ||||||||||||||
| CREDIT ANALYSIS TEAM LEADER | $147,401 | $0 | $14,241 | $0 | $11,903 | $0 | $18,276 | $0 | $18,440 | $0 | $210,261 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| DAVID DODGE | ||||||||||||||
| DIRECTOR, IT INFRASTRUCTURE | $143,758 | $0 | $13,430 | $0 | $4,390 | $0 | $17,453 | $0 | $15,279 | $0 | $194,310 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| AARON HEATH WHITSON | ||||||||||||||
| BANKING CREDIT ADMINISTRATOR | $134,494 | $0 | $12,732 | $0 | $13,049 | $0 | $16,545 | $0 | $16,900 | $0 | $193,720 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| TIMOTHY A COOK | ||||||||||||||
| SENIOR SYSTEMS ADMINISTRATOR | $105,766 | $0 | $9,781 | $0 | $43,893 | $0 | $12,710 | $0 | $9,351 | $0 | $181,501 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART I, LINE 1A | THE CREDIT UNION PROVIDES PAYMENT FOR TRAVEL FOR COMPANIONS FOR MEMBERS OF MANAGEMENT AND BOARD MEMBERS. THIS IS INCLUDED IN TAXABLE INCOME. |
| PART I, LINE 4B | THE CREDIT UNION MADE NO CONTRIBUTIONS OR DISTRIBUTIONS TO/FROM A 457(F) PLAN DURING THE YEAR. IN 2019, THE CREDIT UNION GRANTED LOANS FOR LIFE INSURANCE PREMIUM PAYMENTS TO A KEY EMPLOYEE. THE LOANS ARE COLLATERALIZED BY THE ASSIGNMENT OF THE CASH SURRENDER VALUE OF THE RESPECTIVE LIFE INSURANCE POLICIES. THE POLICIES ARE OWNED BY THE EMPLOYEE AND THEY HAVE SOLE CONTROL OVER THE LISTED BENEFICIARIES. THE LOANS ACCRUE INTEREST AND ARE WITH FULL RECOURSE. |
Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL
Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | JENNIFER KUTCHER | PersonNm |
| Relationship With Org | CEO | RelationshipWithOrgTxt |
| Loan Purpose | SPLIT DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE LOAN | LoanPurposeTxt |
| Loan From Organization | Yes (X) | LoanFromOrganizationInd |
| Original Principal | $11,073,912 | OriginalPrincipalAmt |
| Balance Due | $11,642,744 | BalanceDueAmt |
| Default | 0 | DefaultInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (1) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Written Agreement | Yes (1) | WrittenAgreementInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Balance Due | $11,642,744 | TotalBalanceDueAmt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6 | MEMBERSHIP IS OPEN TO ANYONE WHO LIVES, WORKS, WORSHIPS OR ATTENDS SCHOOL IN WASHINGTON, AND RELATIVES OF ALL MEMBERS. THE CREDIT UNION'S MEMBERS RECEIVE A SHARE OF THE ORGANIZATION'S PROFITS OR EXCESS DUES IN THE FORM OF CASH DIVIDENDS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7A | MEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION HAVE THE RIGHT TO ELECT MEMBERS OF THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING BODY. ELECTIONS ARE HELD ANNUALLY OR AS VACANCIES ARISE. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8B | THE CREDIT UNION DOES NOT HAVE ANY COMMITTEES THAT HAVE AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE FORM 990 IS PREPARED BY THE ORGANIZATION'S PUBLIC ACCOUNTING FIRM BASED ON INFORMATION PROVIDED BY MANAGEMENT. ONCE THE DRAFT IS AVAILABLE, IT IS REVIEWED BY MANAGEMENT AND ANY CHANGES INCORPORATED INTO THE FILING. ONCE THIS DETAILED REVIEW IS COMPLETE, THE DRAFT OF THE FORM 990 IS PRESENTED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR THEIR REVIEW AND COMMENTS PRIOR TO FILING WITH THE IRS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | WECU'S CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY FOCUSES ON DEFINING AND PREVENTING CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. BEFORE ENGAGING IN ANY ACTIVITY, TRANSACTION, OR BEFORE ENTERING INTO ANY RELATIONSHIP THAT MIGHT GIVE RISE TO A CONFLICT OF INTEREST, EMPLOYEES MUST SEEK REVIEW FROM THEIR MANAGERS, THE INTERNAL AUDITOR, OR THE HUMAN RESOURCES DEPTARTMENT. WECU'S HUMAN RESOURCES DEPARTMENT, STAFF LIAISON, AND INTERNAL AUDITOR ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR ENSURING THAT NO CONFLICT OF INTERESTS OCCUR THAT COULD HAVE A NEGATIVE EFFECT ON WECU. IF ANYONE SUSPECTS A CONFLICT OF INTEREST, IT IS REPORTED TO MANAGEMENT, THE STAFF LIAISON, THE HUMAN RESOURCES DEPARTMENT, OR THE INTERNAL AUDITOR. WECU HAS VARIOUS ANNUAL REVIEWS AND CONTROLS IN PLACE TO MONITOR SITUATIONS IN WHICH A CONFLICT OF INTEREST MIGHT ARISE, WHICH ARE PERFORMED BY MANAGEMENT, OR OUR INTERNAL AUDITOR. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | COMPENSATION FOR THE PRESIDENT/CEO IS DETERMINED BY THE DETAILS OF THE EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT SET FORTH BETWEEN THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND THE PRESIDENT/CEO AND PROVIDED FOR IN THE ANNUAL WECU CEO COMPENSATION & PERFORMANCE PLAN. THE BOARD WORKS WITH AN INDEPENDENT CONSULTANT WHO UTILIZES NATIONAL SURVEYS AND OTHER DATA TO HELP INFORM THE COMPENSATION OUTLINED IN THE PLAN. THE CREDIT UNION HAS ENGAGED AN INDEPENDENT CONSULTANT TO ENSURE THAT PAY RATES FOR OTHER OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES ARE COMPETITIVE WITHIN THE MARKETPLACE. THE CONSULTANT UTILIZES A NUMBER OF COMPENSATION SURVEYS TO HELP DETERMINE THE OVERALL SALARY STRUCTURE OF THE ORGANIZATION. COMPENSATION DECISIONS ARE DOCUMENTED IN THE PERSONNEL FILE. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | WECU HAS A MEMBER RIGHTS POLICY IN WHICH WE OUTLINE HOW OUR MEMBERS CAN REQUEST AND RECEIVE CREDIT UNION CORPORATE RECORDS, WHICH INCLUDE OUR ARTICLES AND BYLAWS, MINUTES OF OUR MEMBERSHIP MEETINGS, FINANCIAL REPORTS, CODE OF ETHICS AND BOARD GOVERNANCE POLICIES. A MEMBER REQUEST MUST BE SUBMITTED IN WRITING TO THE CREDIT UNION AND SPECIFICALLY IDENTIFY THE DISCLOSABLE RECORDS REQUESTED. THE CREDIT UNION MAY REQUIRE THE MEMBER TO SIGN A CONFIDENTIALITY AGREEMENT TO PROTECT THE CREDIT UNION FROM UNAUTHORIZED DISCLOSURE OF CERTAIN PROPRIETARY INFORMATION. IF ANY DOCUMENTS CONTAIN MEMBER INFORMATION, IT WILL BE EXPUNGED FROM THE DOCUMENT BEFORE BEING PROVIDED TO THE PUBLIC. |