STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

OGLETHORPE UNIVERSITY INC: Form 990, tax year 2018

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
OGLETHORPE UNIVERSITY INC (EIN 58-0568698)
Tax period
2018-07-01 to 2019-06-30
Filed
2020-05-11
IRS object ID
202031329349300428
Schema version
2018v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-05-11T10:03:17-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2019-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN580692043PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MAULDIN & JENKINS LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1200 GALLERIA PKWY SE STE 1700AddressLine1Txt
CityATLANTACityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP303395946ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2018-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN580568698EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1OGLETHORPE UNIVERSITY INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlOGLEBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4042611441PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14484 PEACHTREE ROAD NEAddressLine1Txt
CityATLANTACityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30319ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPETER D STOBIEPersonNm
Person TitleCFO, VP FOR BUSINESS/FINANCEPersonTitleTxt
Phone4043648322PhoneNum
Signature2020-05-01SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMARY JO ALEXANDERPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00002534PTIN
Phone7709558600PhoneNum
Preparation2020-05-01PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address50.192.51.169IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2020-05-01IPDt
IP Tm16:40:23IPTm
IP TimezoneEDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id2421D3F73B308AA5F8DA8A144E2F4C6CF0A10295AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdA1C8BEC12500B3FA45123022F586758C0A3006EBAtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2018TaxYr
Build TS2020-09-23 17:36:50ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerLAWRENCE SCHALLPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14484 PEACHTREE ROAD NEAddressLine1Txt
CityATLANTACityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30319ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$71,045,414GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.OGLETHORPE.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1835FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateGALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionINSTITUTION OF HIGHER EDUCATIONActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body47VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent46VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee513TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers200TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$4,010TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$16,890,026PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$2,848,358CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$50,394,110PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$54,581,354CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,098,728PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,381,647CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$350,249PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$42,824CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$69,733,113PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$58,854,183CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$24,898,597PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$27,181,312CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$13,734,249PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$14,831,999CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$19,159PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$874,282CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$14,064,337PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$14,677,348CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$52,716,342PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$56,690,659CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$17,016,771PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,163,524CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$118,167,100TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$119,774,341TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$19,131,838TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$19,435,024TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$99,035,262NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$100,339,317NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionOGLETHORPE UNIVERSITY PROVIDES A SUPERIOR EDUCATION IN WHICH LIBERAL ARTS AND SCIENCES AND PROFESSIONAL PROGRAMS COMPLEMENT EACH OTHER IN A SMALL-COLLEGE ENVIRONMENT WITHIN A DYNAMIC URBAN SETTING. OGLETHORPE'S PROGRAMS EMPHASIZE INTELLECTUAL CURIOSITY, CLOSE COLLABORATION AMONG FACULTY AND STUDENTS, AND ENGAGED LEARNING IN RELEVANT FIELD EXPERIENCES. OGLETHORPE EDUCATES STUDENTS TO BE CITIZENS IN A GLOBAL WORLD, READIES THEM FOR RESPONSIBLE LEADERSHIP, AND EMPOWERS THEM TO PURSUE MEANINGFUL LIVES AND PRODUCTIVE CAREERS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$39,535,000ExpenseAmt
Grant$27,181,312GrantAmt
Revenue$45,389,617RevenueAmt
DescINSTRUCTION - THE COST OF OFFERING THE ACADEMIC PROGRAMS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$7,389,056ExpenseAmt
Revenue$7,970,014RevenueAmt
DescSTUDENT SERVICES - THE COSTS OF EXTRACURRICULAR AND STUDENT-ORIENTED SERVICES AND PROGRAMS DESIGNED TO ENHANCE THE LEARNING ENVIRONMENT.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$3,755,344ExpenseAmt
Revenue$1,221,723RevenueAmt
DescAUXILIARY SERVICES, THE COSTS OF ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATED WITH THE SUPPORT OF THE CAMPUS AND RESIDENTIAL COMMUNITY.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$50,679,400TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (1)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionYes (1)DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document81IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee513EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members47GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member46IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldGAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PETER D STOBIE VP FOR BUSINESS AND FINANCEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone4043648322PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14484 PEACHTREE ROAD NEAddressLine1Txt
CityATLANTACityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30319ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (54 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
DR LAWRENCE M SCHALL
PRESIDENT/EX-OFFICIO60.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$375,941$0$51,340
MRS JOSEYLN BUTLER BAKER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR CAMERON M BREADY
VICE CHAIR2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR M JOHN BRETON III
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR RICARDO C CARVALHO
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR ANIL T CHERIYAN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR L THOMAS CLEMENTS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR MARK DELONG
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR NORMAN P FINDLEY
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR KEVIN D FITZPATRICK JR
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR D AUSTIN GILLIS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MRS DIANNE GLENNIE
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR J CLEVELAND HILL
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR H THEODORE HEINTZ JR
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR JAMES V HARTLAGE JR
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR JOE LAWRENCE
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR DAVID M LEONARD
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR JAMES W LEWIS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MRS BELLE TURNER LYNCH
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR J RUSSELL MAGBEE JR
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MS KIMBERLY MENEGHEL
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR BOB T NANCE
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR CEMAL OZGORKEY
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR CODY L PARTIN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR DAVID R PASS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MS ANITA PATTERSON
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MS S TAMMY PEARSON
SECRETARY2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR ROBERT E REISER
TREASURER2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR CLIFFORD ROBINSON
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR BRIAN C SASS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR JOSEPH P SHELTON
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR WILLIAM O SHROPSHIRE
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR TIMOTHY P TASSOPOULOS
CHAIR2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR NEIL TOFSKY
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MRS TRISHANDA TREADWELL
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
REV DR G GILMAN WATSON
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR CHARLES T WHITE
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR JAMES WILLIAMS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR JAMES WINESTOCK
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR KEVIN A WOOLF
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MS MEREDETH LACKEY
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR JASON LEWIS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR JOSEPH LUKE
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR MILFORD MCGUIRT
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR MOHIT RAMANI
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR TIMOTHY ROBERSON
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR MIKE SUCO
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR NORMAN MCKAY
VP FOR BUSINESS AND FINANC40.00Yes (X)$156,151$0$22,714
DR GLENN SHARFMAN
PROVOST AND VP ACADEMIC AF40.00$184,304$0$30,708Yes (X)
MS ROBYN FURNESS-FALLIN
VP DEVELOPMENT & ALUMNI RE40.00$194,314$0$32,302Yes (X)
MS LUCY LEUSCH
VP ENROLLMENT & FINANCIAL40.00$146,613$0$23,296Yes (X)
MS MICHELLE T HALL
VP, CAMPUS LIFE40.00$136,349$0$11,150Yes (X)
MR MICHAEL K RULISON
PROFESSOR, PHYSICS40.00$116,593$0$20,193Yes (X)
MR MARK BERGER
CONTROLLER40.00$112,217$0$17,333Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,422,482TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$209,036TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K7IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
BRASFIELD & GORRIE LLC
2999 CIRCLE 75 PARKWAYATLANTAGA30339CONSTRUCTION SERVICES$11,695,602
ARAMARK DINING SERVICES
4484 PEACHTREE ROADATLANTAGA30319FOOD SERVICES$2,199,305
NATIONAL MANAGEMENT RESOURCES
113 CORPORATE PARK EAST DRLAGRANGEGA30241PHYSICAL PLANT/MAINT SERVICES$1,396,315
TSA
2050 WEST SAM HOUSTON PARKWAY NORTHHOUSTONTX77043IT EQUIPMENT/SERVICES$775,132
COOPER CARRY
191 PEACHTREE STREET NE STE 2400ATLANTAGA30303ARCHITECTURAL/CONSTRUCTION SERVICES$773,849
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K19CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$2,848,358AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$387,893NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$2,848,358TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION AND FEES611310$44,949,133$44,949,133
ROOM AND BOARD611310$7,970,014$7,970,014
AUXILIARY AND FACILITY SERVICES611310$1,221,723$1,221,723
LEAD ABROAD PROGRAM611310$440,484$440,484
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$54,581,354TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$855,080TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$855,080ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$12,717,491SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$12,190,924SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$526,567SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$526,567TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$526,567ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$4,317GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$307CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,010TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$4,010UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMISCELLANEOUSDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$38,814TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$38,814ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$38,814OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$58,854,183TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$54,581,354RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$4,010UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,420,461ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,181,312TotalAmt
Program Services$27,181,312ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$831,394TotalAmt
Program Services$306,057ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$312,878ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$212,459FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,420,707TotalAmt
Program Services$9,342,138ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,724,527ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$354,042FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$540,716TotalAmt
Program Services$492,052ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$48,664ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,185,539TotalAmt
Program Services$1,019,564ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$94,843ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$71,132FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$853,643TotalAmt
Program Services$691,713ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$153,656ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$8,274FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,272TotalAmt
Management And General$19,272ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$73,500TotalAmt
Management And General$73,500ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$200,405TotalAmt
Management And General$200,405ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,822,550TotalAmt
Program Services$1,439,814ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$382,736ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,131,904TotalAmt
Program Services$908,919ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$209,402ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$13,583FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,065,643TotalAmt
Program Services$1,001,704ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$63,939ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$694,265TotalAmt
Program Services$624,838ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$20,828ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$48,599FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$231,422TotalAmt
Program Services$157,367ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$18,514ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$55,541FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$622,390TotalAmt
Program Services$510,360ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$112,030ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,629,759TotalAmt
Program Services$2,062,649ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$567,110ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$281,465TotalAmt
Program Services$233,616ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$47,849ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
FOOD SERVICES$2,345,617$2,271,855$48,874$24,888
RECRUITMENT EXPENSE$1,188,777$1,117,450$59,439$11,888
REPAIRS AND MAINTENANCE$824,608$32,984$783,378$8,246
INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIALS$233,458$221,785$11,673

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,312,313TotalAmt
Program Services$1,063,223ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$183,460ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$65,630FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$56,690,659TotalAmt
Program Services$50,679,400ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,136,977ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$874,282FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,917,110BOYAmt
EOY$272,813EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,490,735BOYAmt
EOY$6,983,433EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$558,987BOYAmt
EOY$535,701EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$38,554EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$370,800BOYAmt
EOY$414,843EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$114,140,269LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$37,283,042LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$60,424,779BOYAmt
EOY$76,857,227EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$34,144,321BOYAmt
EOY$33,771,077EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$761,553BOYAmt
EOY$829,905EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$142,993BOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$355,822BOYAmt
EOY$70,788EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$118,167,100BOYAmt
EOY$119,774,341EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,896,967BOYAmt
EOY$4,476,249EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,595,301BOYAmt
EOY$2,678,445EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,440,000BOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$10,971,069EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,199,570BOYAmt
EOY$1,309,261EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,131,838BOYAmt
EOY$19,435,024EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$63,203,573BOYAmt
EOY$74,548,120EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,532,092BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,299,597BOYAmt
EOY$25,791,197EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$99,035,262BOYAmt
EOY$100,339,317EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$118,167,100BOYAmt
EOY$119,774,341EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,163,524ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$859,469NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Revenues Included$332,600RevenuesIncludedAmt
Assets Included$5,180,080AssetsIncludedAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Collection Used Pub ExhibitionYes (X)CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd
Coll Used Scholarly RsrchYes (X)CollUsedScholarlyRsrchInd
Collection Used PreservationYes (X)CollectionUsedPreservationInd
Coll Used Loan Or Exch ProgYes (X)CollUsedLoanOrExchProgInd
Solicited Assets Sale0SolicitedAssetsSaleInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct Liab0InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$33,885,630BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$794,042ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$350,854InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,385,490OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$33,645,036EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$31,724,904BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,002,500ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,535,098InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,376,872OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$33,885,630EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$30,301,222BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$164,195ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,651,297InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,391,810OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$31,724,904EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$31,005,750BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,015,991ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$582,966InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,137,553OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$30,301,222EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$20,803,099BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$11,143,347ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$65,046InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$875,650OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$31,005,750EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.42310BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.57690PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (1)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,931,700OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$4,931,700BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$93,446,634OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$30,521,575DepreciationAmt
Book Value$62,925,059BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,581,855OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$6,761,467DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,820,388BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,180,080OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$5,180,080BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$76,857,227TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ADVANCES FROM FEDERAL GOVERNMENT$477,893
EARLY RETIREMENT LIABILITIES$169,984
ACCRUED VACATION LIABILITIES$397,289
OTHER LIABILITIES$264,095
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,309,261TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$30,813,709TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$859,469NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$859,469RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$31,673,178RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$27,181,005OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$27,181,005RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$58,854,183TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$29,509,654TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$307OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$307ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$29,509,347ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$27,181,312OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$27,181,312ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$56,690,659TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART III, LINE 4:OGLETHORPE UNIVERSITY MUSEUM OF ART (OUMA) PERMANENT COLLECTION CURRENTLY NUMBERS MORE THAN 800 WORKS OF ART SPANNING OVER SEVEN CENTURIES. THE COLLECTION BOASTS PARTICULAR STRENGTH IN TWO DIVERSE AREAS - JAPANESE PORCELAIN RANGING FROM THE LATE 17TH CENTURY TO THE EARLY 20TH CENTURY AS WELL AS WORKS ON PAPER AND PAINTINGS FROM THE VARIOUS SCHOOLS OF 19TH AND EARLY 20TH CENTURY FRANCE. NOTABLE ARTISTS IN THIS SECOND AREA OF STRENGTH INCLUDE BOUDIN, RENOIR, PISSARRO, LUCE, SOMM, HUET, GUYS, MAUFRA, DELACROIX, COURBET, AND MATISSE. THE COLLECTION OF NOTABLE AMERICAN ARTISTS INCLUDES WORKS OF ART BY CORNOYER, SAUSSY, WEBB, TOLLIVER, BEARDEN, O'KELLY, AND AUDUBON. THE COLLECTIONS ARE MAINTAINED FOR ACADEMIC RESEARCH AS WELL AS PUBLIC EXHIBITION AND EDUCATION IN FURTHERANCE OF SUPPORT OF THE LIBERAL ARTS MANDATE OF THE UNIVERSITY, COMMUNITY OUTREACH, AND PUBLIC SERVICE. THE WORKS OF ART IN THE PERMANENT COLLECTION HAVE BECOME PART OF OGLETHORPE UNIVERSITY'S ENDOWMENT. AS SUCH THEY ARE A SIGNIFICANT INVESTMENT, CULTURAL ASSET, AND ALSO SUPPORT THE CURRICULAR GOALS OF THE UNIVERSITY. GOALS OF ACADEMIC SUPPORT ARE FURTHER MET THROUGH THE SKYLIGHT STUDY CENTER. OUMA OFFERS GALLERY ASSISTANT INTERNSHIPS, INDEPENDENT STUDY, AND WORK STUDY OPPORTUNITIES FOR STUDENTS AND ACTIVELY SUPPORTS STUDENT NETWORKING IN THE MUSEUM FIELD. OUMA STAFF COLLABORATIVELY PLAN WITH OU FACULTY TO ALLOW FOR DIRECT COURSE AND EXHIBITION DEVELOPMENT, GIVING STUDENTS AN IMMERSIVE EXPERIENCE WHICH IS BOTH SCHOLARLY AND PRACTICAL. OUMA IS A RARE ASSET ON CAMPUS, HELPING THE UNIVERSITY IN FULFILLING ITS GOAL TO PROVIDE A SUPERIOR LIBERAL ARTS EDUCATION.
PART V, LINE 4:OGLETHORPE UNIVERSITY'S ENDOWMENT CONSISTS OF APPROXIMATELY 125 INDIVIDUAL FUNDS ESTABLISHED FOR A VARIETY OF PURPOSES.
PART X, LINE 2:THE UNIVERSITY QUALIFIES AS A TAX-EXEMPT ORGANIZATION AS DESCRIBED IN INTERNAL REVENUE CODE SECTION 501(C)(3) AND HAS BEEN CLASSIFIED BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE AS OTHER THAN A PRIVATE UNIVERSITY. HOWEVER, INCOME FROM CERTAIN ACTIVITIES NOT DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE UNIVERSITY'S TAX-EXEMPT PURPOSE IS SUBJECT TO TAXATION AS UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME. IN THE OPINION OF MANAGEMENT, THE UNIVERSITY HAD NO SIGNIFICANT UNRELATED BUSINESS TAXABLE INCOME DURING 2018, 2017, AND 2016. ACCORDINGLY, NO PROVISION OR BENEFIT FOR FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES HAS BEEN RECORDED IN THE ACCOMPANYING FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE UNIVERSITY BELIEVES THAT IT HAS APPROPRIATE SUPPORT FOR ANY TAX POSITIONS TAKEN, AND AS SUCH DOES NOT HAVE ANY UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT ARE MATERIAL TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RECLASS OF STUDENT ASSISTANCE TO FUNCTIONAL EXPENSE 27,181,312. RECLASS OF COGS FROM EXPENSE -307.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RECALSS OF COGS TO REVENUE 307.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RECLASS OF STUDENT ASSISTANCE EXPENSE FROM REVENUE 27,181,312.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid Rcvd0GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeACADEMIC SCHOLARSHIPSGrantTypeTxt
Recipient1227RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$27,181,312CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSCHOLARSHIPS GIVEN ARE A COMBINATION OF MERIT AID AND NEED-BASED AID. MERIT BASED SCHOLARSHIPS RECOGNIZE ACHIEVEMENT IN ACADEMICS AND THE POTENTIAL TO CONTRIBUTE TO CAMPUS LIFE. OVER 80% OF APPLICANTS TO THE UNIVERSITY TYPICALLY QUALIFY FOR SOME SORT OF MERIT AWARD. NEED-BASED AWARDS ARE AVAILABLE TO FULL-TIME STUDENTS WHO DEMONSTRATE NEED AS DETERMINED BY THE FAFSA OR INTERNATIONAL STUDENT AID APPLICATION. THESE AWARDS ARE GRANTED IN CONJUNCTION WITH FEDERAL, STATE, PRIVATE OR INSTITUTIONAL ASSISTANCE AND CANNOT EXCEED STUDENT'S FINANCIAL NEED. THESE AWARDS ARE DETERMINED ANNUALLY BASED ON FAFSA DATA AND THE RESULTS OF THE STUDENT AID APPLICATIONS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (5 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
DR LAWRENCE M SCHALL
PRESIDENT/EX-OFFICIO$325,441$0$32,500$0$18,000$0$34,750$0$16,590$0$427,281$0$0$0
MR NORMAN MCKAY
VP FOR BUSINESS AND FINANC$156,151$0$0$0$0$0$11,217$0$11,497$0$178,865$0$0$0
DR GLENN SHARFMAN
PROVOST AND VP ACADEMIC AF$184,304$0$0$0$0$0$13,389$0$17,319$0$215,012$0$0$0
MS ROBYN FURNESS-FALLIN
VP DEVELOPMENT & ALUMNI RE$194,314$0$0$0$0$0$14,112$0$18,190$0$226,616$0$0$0
MS LUCY LEUSCH
VP ENROLLMENT & FINANCIAL$146,613$0$0$0$0$0$10,567$0$12,729$0$169,909$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 1ATHE PRESIDENT HAS USE OF A UNIVERSITY OWNED RESIDENCE AS A CONDITION OF HIS EMPLOYMENT TO PERFORM HIS DUTIES INTEGRALLY RELATED TO HIS RESPONSIBILITIES. THE UNIVERSITY PAYS FOR THE PRESIDENT'S HEALTH CLUB DUES.
PART I, LINE 4B457F PLAN: DR. LAWRENCE SCHALL CONTRIBUTED $15,500
PART I, LINE 7LAWRENCE SCHALL RECEIVED A BONUS APPROVED BY THE BOARD FOR $32,500.

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Works Of Art WorksOfArtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution4ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$332,600NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesQUALIFIED APPRAISALMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution6ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$55,293NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received7Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (1)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, COLUMN (B):NUMBER OF CONTRIBUTORS
PART I, LINE 32B:THE ORGANIZATION USES THIRD PARTIES TO SELL NON CASH CONTRIBUTIONS SUCH AS DONATIONS OF STOCK.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BPRIOR TO FORM 990 BEING FILED, A COPY IS MADE AVAILABLE TO ALL MEMBERS OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES, AND THE AUDIT COMMITTEE REVIEWS FORM 990, APPROVES, AND RECOMMENDS APPROVAL BY THE FULL BOARD. ALSO PRIOR TO FILING AND PRIOR TO THE FULL BOARD APPROVING THE FORM 990, A PUBLIC INSPECTION VERSION OF FORM 990 IS MADE AVAILABLE TO ALL MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. THE NAMES AND ADDRESSES OF CONTRIBUTORS ARE OMMITTED FROM SCHEDULE B IN THE PUBLIC INSPECTION VERSION, OTHERWISE IT IS IDENTICAL TO THE FILED VERSION OF FORM 990.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CALL BOARD MEMBERS ARE ASKED TO ANNUALLY SIGN A CONFLICT OF INTEREST AGREEMENT. BOARD MEMBERS ARE ASKED TO DISCLOSE ANY CONFLICTS. CONFLICTS THAT DO ARISE ARE USUALLY RESOLVED BY ASKING A BOARD MEMBER TO RECUSE FROM VOTING OR SOME OTHER ARRANGEMENT DETERMINED BY THE BOARD CHAIR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES APPROVE THE CABINET POSITION SALARIES WHICH INCLUDES POSITIONS SUCH AS THE PRESIDENT AND VICE PRESIDENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY AND KEY EMPLOYEES. SALARIES ARE COMPARED TO INDEPENDENT DATA AT NACUBO.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19OGLETHORPE UNIVERSITY DOES NOT MAKE ANY OF THESE DOCUMENTS PUBLIC. THE FINANCIAL INFORMATION CAN BE OBTAINED THROUGH THE FORM 990. THE FORM 990 IS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST AT OGLETHORPE UNIVERSITY.
PART XII, LINE 2CNO CHANGES HAVE BEEN MADE TO THE PROCESS OF AUDITOR SELECTION, NOR REVIEW OF AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.