STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

CHERRY-TODD ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CHERRY-TODD ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 46-0252750)
Tax period
2019-01-01 to 2019-12-31
Filed
2020-07-14
IRS object ID
202031969349303213
Schema version
2019v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-07-14T12:58:09-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2019-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EIDE BAILLY LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1200 E 10TH ST STE 500AddressLine1Txt
CitySIOUX FALLSCityNm
State AbbreviationSDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP571046375ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN460252750EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CHERRY TODD ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCHERBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6058564416PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 169AddressLine1Txt
CityMISSIONCityNm
State AbbreviationSDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP57555ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTIMOTHY W GRABLANDERPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6058564416PhoneNum
Signature2020-07-10SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLAURIE HANSONPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00851848PTIN
Phone6053391999PhoneNum
Preparation2020-07-10PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address67.130.171.59IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2020-07-10IPDt
IP Tm10:59:52IPTm
IP TimezoneCDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdDA39A3EE5E6B4B0D3255BFEF95601890AFD80709AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdF7BA031C655DF5D2BE7843B8A6CBF62E51E7FB61AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2021-04-22 16:20:28ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerTIMOTHY W GRABLANDERPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 169AddressLine1Txt
CityMISSIONCityNm
State AbbreviationSDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP57555ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$15,276,725GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.CHERRY-TODD.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1948FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateSDLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO SELL AND DISTRIBUTE ELECTRICITY TO MEMBERS IN A SAFE, RELIABLE, COST EFFECTIVE MANNER.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body7VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee25TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$15,367,315PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$14,804,531CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$282,983PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$383,758CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,608PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$11,360CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$15,651,906PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$15,176,929CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$1,645,519PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$538,084CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$657,607PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$773,102CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$13,348,780PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$13,865,743CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$15,651,906PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$15,176,929CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$0PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$0CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$49,180,297TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$53,567,636TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$30,333,008TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$34,867,324TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$18,847,289NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$18,700,312NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE PURPOSE IS TO DISTRIBUTE ELECTRICITY TO MEMBERS IN A SAFE, RELIABLE, COST EFFECTIVE MANNER.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescCHERRY-TODD ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC. IS A MEMBER OWNED COOPERATIVE. THE PURPOSE IS TO SELL AND DISTRIBUTE ELECTRICITY TO ITS MEMBERS. ANY MARGINS WILL BE RETURNED TO THE MEMBERS AT A TIME DETERMINED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. DURING 2019 APPROXIMATELY 3,541 MEMBERS WERE SERVED WITH 5,936 SITES.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document17IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee25EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$14,504,894MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$383,758OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members7GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THERESA BENDABusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6058564416PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1625 WEST SECOND STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityMISSIONCityNm
State AbbreviationSDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP57555ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (13 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
NOAH TUCKER
DIRECTOR/PRESIDENT (STARTING 9/2019)1.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$5,500$0$0
JUSTIN BRICKNER
VICE PRESIDENT1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$7,838$0$0
SHAWN BORDEAUX
PRESIDENT/SECRETARY (STARTING 9/2019)1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$5,637$0$0
WHITNEY MEEK
TREASURER1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$4,950$0$0
DAN VALBURG
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$3,713$0$0
DAVID ASSMAN
SECRETARY (UNTIL 9/2019)1.00Yes (X)$3,025$0$0
KATHLEEN WOODEN KNIFE
DIRECTOR (UNTIL 9/2019)1.00Yes (X)$275$0$0
BYRON STOLZENBURG
DIRECTOR (UNTIL 12/2019)1.00Yes (X)$2,475$0$0
WAYNE FREDERICK
DIRECTOR (STARTING 9/2019)1.00Yes (X)$1,512$0$0
GLEN YELLOW EAGLE
DIRECTOR (STARTING 9/2019)1.00Yes (X)$2,750$0$0
TIMOTHY W GRABLANDER
CEO40.00Yes (X)$166,708$0$79,927
DAVID PIPER
AREA FOREMAN40.00$141,254$0$59,213Yes (X)
DARRELL SCOTT
LINEMAN40.00$100,275$0$33,272Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$445,912TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$172,412TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K3IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
BESLER INC
PO BOX 1527RAPID CITYSD577091527CONSTRUCTION OF SUBSTATION$794,611
RUSHMORE ELECTRIC POWER COOP
PO BOX 2414RAPID CITYSD577092414ENGINEERING$327,857
NISC
PO BOX 1147MANDANND58554SOFTWARE/BILLING SERVICES$105,048
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
ELECTRIC SALES221000$14,416,458$14,416,458
CAPITAL CREDITS221000$388,073$388,073
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$14,804,531TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$353,518TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$353,518ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$30,240OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$30,240OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$30,240TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$30,240ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$88,436GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$99,796CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$11,360TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$11,360RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$15,176,929TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$14,793,171RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$383,758ExclusionAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$538,084TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$281,216TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$430,572TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,871TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,602TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$55,841TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$92,596TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$95,431TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$148,643TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$32,513TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,478TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,125,886TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,537,209TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER$7,389,922
DISTRIBUTION - OPERATIO$1,868,626
DISTRIBUTION - MAINTENA$610,929
CUSTOMER ACCOUNTS$542,634

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$399,876TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,176,929TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$202,703BOYAmt
EOY$564,622EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,951,658BOYAmt
EOY$6,262,074EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,339,534BOYAmt
EOY$1,340,977EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,202,670BOYAmt
EOY$1,113,172EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$378,529BOYAmt
EOY$302,060EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$55,857,189LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$20,009,965LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,974,169BOYAmt
EOY$35,847,224EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,901,689BOYAmt
EOY$7,874,974EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$229,345BOYAmt
EOY$262,533EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,180,297BOYAmt
EOY$53,567,636EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,318,746BOYAmt
EOY$1,407,863EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,082,520BOYAmt
EOY$1,429,426EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,799,742BOYAmt
EOY$31,889,235EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$132,000BOYAmt
EOY$140,800EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,333,008BOYAmt
EOY$34,867,324EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,847,289BOYAmt
EOY$18,700,312EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,847,289BOYAmt
EOY$18,700,312EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,180,297BOYAmt
EOY$53,567,636EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$0ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$146,977OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$47,488OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$47,488BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,148,149OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$401,876DepreciationAmt
Book Value$746,273BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,912,804OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,634,413DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,278,391BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$50,748,748OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$16,973,676DepreciationAmt
Book Value$33,775,072BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$35,847,224TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
RUSHMORE ELECTRIC POWER COOPERATIVE, INC.$7,080,836C
NATIONAL RURAL UTILTIES CFC$317,326C
FEDERATED RURAL ELECTRIC INSURANCE$144,503C
RURAL ELECTRIC SUPPLY COOPERATIVE$138,384C
OTHER PATRONAGE INVESTMENTS$142,610C
OTHER INVESTMENTS$51,315C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$7,874,974TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescCUSTOMER DEPOSITSDesc
Amt$140,800Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$140,800TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$15,176,929TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$15,176,929RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$15,176,929TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$14,638,845TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$14,638,845ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$538,084OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$538,084ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$15,176,929TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE IS EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501 (C) (12) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND IS ANNUALLY REQUIRED TO FILE A RETURN OF ORGANIZATION EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAX (FORM 990) WITH THE IRS. THE COOPERATIVE BELIEVES IT HAS APPROPRIATE SUPPORT FOR ANY TAX POSITIONS TAKEN AFFECTING ITS ANNUAL FILING REQUIREMENTS, AND AS SUCH, DOES NOT HAVE ANY UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT ARE MATERIAL TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE COOPERATIVE WOULD RECOGNIZE FUTURE ACCRUED INTEREST AND PENALTIES RELATED TO UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS IN INCOME TAX EXPENSE IF SUCH INTEREST AND PENALTIES ARE INCURRED.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:ALLOCATION OF 2019 MARGAIN TO MEMBERS IN 2020 538,084.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (2 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
TIMOTHY W GRABLANDER
CEO$146,910$0$0$0$19,798$0$49,027$0$33,436$0$249,171$0$0$0
DAVID PIPER
AREA FOREMAN$140,328$0$0$0$926$0$17,404$0$45,868$0$204,526$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMN CINCLUDED IN THE AMOUNT REPORTED IN COLUMN C IS $44,401 FOR THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN FOR TIMOTHY W. GRABLANDER. ACTUAL COOPERATIVE CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN WERE $38,771.
SCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMN CINCLUDED IN THE AMOUNT REPORTED IN COLUMN C IS $13,308 FOR THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN FOR DAVID PIPER. ACTUAL COOPERATIVE CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN WERE $6,424.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6CHERRY-TODD ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC. IS A MEMBER OWNED COOPERATIVE. IN ORDER TO RECEIVE ELECTRICAL SERVICE FROM CHERRY-TODD ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC. A CONSUMER HAS TO PAY A MEMBERSHIP FEE OF $5.00 PER SINGLE OR JOINT MEMBERSHIP. THERE IS ONLY ONE CLASS OF MEMBERSHIP. THE MEMBERS RECEIVE AN ALLOCATION OF MARGINS YEARLY BASED ON REVENUE OF KWH CONSUMPTION. THE ALLOCATION IS RETIRED AND PAID TO THE MEMBER AT THE DISCRETION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF CHERRY-TODD ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ACHERRY-TODD ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC. IS A MEMBER OWNED COOPERATIVE. THE BYLAWS PROVIDE AN ELECTION BE HELD ANNUALLY FOR THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS' POSITIONS THAT ARE EXPIRING. THE BALLOTING FOR THE ELECTION IS HELD DURING THE ANNUAL MEETING. THEREFORE, THE REPRESENTATION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS IS DECIDED BY THE VOTES OF THE MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHERE ARE NO COMMITTEES WITH BOARD AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BOARD.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BCHERRY-TODD ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC. PROVIDES EACH MEMBER OF THE GOVERNING BOARD WITH A COMPLETE ELECTRONIC AND PAPER COPY, SOLICITING COMMENTS AND ANY SUGGESTED CHANGES, WHICH ARE TO BE MADE BEFORE FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE GOVERNING BOARD INTERPRETS AND ENFORCES THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. EACH OFFICIAL MUST ANNUALLY COMPLETE AND SIGN THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST CERTIFICATION AND DISCLOSURE FORM AND DELIVER THE COMPLETED AND SIGNED FORM TO THE PRESIDENT OR MANAGER. UPON RECEIVING OR DISCOVERING ANY INFORMATION OR FACT THAT COULD IMPACT A DIRECTOR'S COMPLIANCE WITH THIS POLICY, THE BOARD MUST (A) PROVIDE THE DIRECTOR AN OPPORTUNITY TO COMMENT ORALLY AND IN WRITING REGARDING THE INFORMATION OR FACT, AND AN OPPORTUNITY TO BE REPRESENTED BY LEGAL COUNSEL, AND (B) DETERMINE WHETHER THE DIRECTOR COMPLIES WITH THIS POLICY. IF THE BOARD DETERMINES THAT A DIRECTOR DOES NOT COMPLY WITH THIS POLICY, THEN (A) THE BOARD MUST PROVIDE THE DIRECTOR AN OPPORTUNITY TO COMPLY WITHIN THIRTY DAYS; AND (B) IF THE DIRECTOR DOES NOT COMPLY WITH THIS POLICY WITHIN 30 DAYS, THEN AS ALLOWED BY THE POLICY, THE BOARD MUST SANCTION, DISQUALIFY, AND/OR REMOVE THE DIRECTOR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15ATHE GOVERNING BOARD REVIEWS STATE AND NATIONAL COMPENSATION DATA. THE DATA IS THOROUGHLY REVIEWED AND DELIBERATED BY THE INDEPENDENT PERSONS. ALSO THE DELIBERATION AND DECISION IS CONTEMPORANEOUSLY SUSTANTIATED BY RECORDING IT IN BOARD MINUTES. THIS IS USUALLY DONE ON AN ANNUAL BASIS AND WAS COMPLETED IN 2019.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19UPON REQUEST ANYONE MAY REVIEW CHERRY-TODD ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC. GOVERNING DOCUMENTS PLUS THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, AND FORM 990. WHEN AN INDIVIDUAL BECOMES A MEMBER OF CHERRY-TODD ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC., HE OR SHE IS GIVEN A COPY OF THE BY-LAWS. AT A MEMBERSHIP MEETING HELD ANNUALLY THE MEMBERS ARE PROVIDED A FINANCIAL REPORT. THE MEMBERS OF CHERRY-TODD ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC. ARE ALSO PROVIDED A MONTHLY FINANCIALS AND STATISTICAL REPORT THROUGH THE "COOPERATIVE CONNECTIONS" MAGAZINE.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:RETIREMENT OF CAPITAL CREDITS -685,606. CHANGE IN MEMBERSHIPS 545. ALLOCATION OF 2019 MARGIN TO MEMBERS IN 2020 538,084.