STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

ST JEANS CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
ST JEANS CREDIT UNION (EIN 04-1801520)
Tax period
2019-01-01 to 2019-12-31
Filed
2020-08-03
IRS object ID
202042169349300729
Schema version
2019v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-08-03T15:25:20-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2019-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN042689883PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WOLF & COMPANY PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line199 HIGH STREET 21ST FLOORAddressLine1Txt
CityBOSTONCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02110ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN041801520EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ST JEANS CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSTJEBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7815925420PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1370 HIGHLAND AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CitySALEMCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP01970ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonC DAVID SURFACEPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENT & CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone7815925420PhoneNum
Signature2020-07-22SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonHARRY A KALAJIAN JR CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00464296PTIN
Phone6174399700PhoneNum
Preparation2020-08-03PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address146.115.156.5IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2020-08-03IPDt
IP Tm15:16:17IPTm
IP TimezoneEDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdDA39A3EE5E6B4B0D3255BFEF95601890AFD80709AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id3035F85F9C36F92B25132AD5EF9C80758CB5F135AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2020-11-19 02:30:22ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerC DAVID SURFACEPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1370 HIGHLAND AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CitySALEMCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP01970ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$13,270,557GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.STJEANSCU.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1910FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTHE MISSION OF ST. JEAN'S CREDIT UNION IS TO FULFILL THE NEEDS OF OUR DIVERSE MEMBERSHIP WITH THE UTMOST INTEGRITY AND PRIVACY.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body10VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee83TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers9TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$19,475TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$144,962NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$9,135,547PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$10,371,679CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$632,962PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,863,517CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$944,448PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,035,361CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$10,712,957PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$13,270,557CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$4,178,115PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$4,690,308CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$5,304,271PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$6,414,771CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$9,482,386PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$11,105,079CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,230,571PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,165,478CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$248,810,388TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$269,987,626TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$225,510,123TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$244,543,751TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$23,300,265NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$25,443,875NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionST. JEAN'S CREDIT UNION (THE "CREDIT UNION") IS A STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNION. ITS PRIMARY BUSINESS IS THE ACCEPTANCE OF DEPOSITS AND THE MAKING OF LOANS TO MEMBERS WHO LIVE OR WORK IN THE MASSACHUSETTS COUNTIES OF ESSEX COUNTY, MIDDLESEX COUNTY, SUFFOLK COUNTY AND EMPLOYEES AND FAMILY MEMBERS OF H.P. HOOD, LLC (FAMILY MEMBERS ARE DEFINED AS PARENTS AND SIBLINGS).MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescTHE MAINTENANCE OF MEMBER ACCOUNTS AND PAYMENT OF DIVIDENDS THEREON. THE CREDIT UNION MAINTAINS 31,819 ACCOUNTS AS OF THE CALENDAR YEAR-END.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document6019IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee83EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members10GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1STEPHEN PEDRO CFOBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone9782191027PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1370 HIGHLAND AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CitySALEMCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP01970ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (15 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
C DAVID SURFACE
PRESIDENT/CEO40.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$306,927$0$36,530
IRA NOVOSELSKY
TREASURER/CLERK/DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
LAWRENCE RAUSCH
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICHARD BONNEVIE
ASST. TREASURER2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICHARD DRAGONE
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEPHEN SALVO
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEVEN WALSH
CHAIRMAN2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAUL AMIRAULT
1ST VICE CHAIRMAN2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
TIMOTHY SHEA
2ND VICE CHAIRMAN2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
CAROLINA TRUJILLO
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KATHLEEN DONAHUE
EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT40.00$139,960$0$25,469Yes (X)
KATHRYN MACDONALD
VP OF COMPLIANCE40.00$107,290$0$15,799Yes (X)
NICOLE MARKEE
VP OF IT40.00$110,225$0$24,952Yes (X)
JAMES METCALF
VP CONSUMER LENDING40.00$119,766$0$9,508Yes (X)
STEPHEN PEDRO
CFO40.00$124,932$0$29,266Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$909,100TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$141,524TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K6IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
NEWGROUND INTERNATIONAL INC
PO BOX 6228CORAL STREAMIL601976228NEW REVERE BUILDING GENERAL CONTRACTOR$3,320,090
SYNERGENT
PO BOX 1236PORTLANDME04104CORE DATA PROVIDER$746,394
DIEBOLD INC
PO BOX 643543PITTSBURGHPA152643543ATM/EQUIPMENT$152,253
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
INTEREST ON LOANS522100$9,101,692$9,101,692
MEMBERS SERVICE FEES522100$1,269,987$1,250,512$19,475
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$10,371,679TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$737,096TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$737,096ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$8,912RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$8,912RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$8,912TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$8,912RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$1,126,421OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$1,126,421OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,126,421TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,126,421ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
INTERCHARGE INCOME900099$674,938$674,938
MISC INCOME900099$194,381$194,381
LOAN SERVICING FEE522100$118,242$118,242

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$38,888TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$38,888RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,026,449OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$13,270,557TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$11,387,565RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$19,475UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,863,517ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$306,347TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,216,105TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$400,406TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$482,371TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$285,079TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,065TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$50,400TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,227TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$307,664TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$991,386TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$809,399TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,550TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$39,100TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,562,100TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$305,018TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,033TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
OTHER EXPENSES$984,415
EDUCATION & PROMOTIONS$142,584
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$105,012
EQUIPMENT$54,818

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,105,079TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,379,713BOYAmt
EOY$3,349,943EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,169,742BOYAmt
EOY$13,113,968EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$207,009,031BOYAmt
EOY$220,445,612EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$184,119BOYAmt
EOY$263,027EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$11,576,538LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$3,108,219LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,743,232BOYAmt
EOY$8,468,319EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,673,701BOYAmt
EOY$7,532,226EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,723,000BOYAmt
EOY$10,057,103EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,927,850BOYAmt
EOY$6,757,428EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$248,810,388BOYAmt
EOY$269,987,626EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$175,705BOYAmt
EOY$286,678EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$685,052BOYAmt
EOY$844,213EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,553,637BOYAmt
EOY$17,233,382EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$205,095,729BOYAmt
EOY$226,179,478EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$225,510,123BOYAmt
EOY$244,543,751EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,300,265BOYAmt
EOY$25,443,875EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,300,265BOYAmt
EOY$25,443,875EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$248,810,388BOYAmt
EOY$269,987,626EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,165,478ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$21,868NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,624,042OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,624,042BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,846,219OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$430,632DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,415,587BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$896,616OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$382,666DepreciationAmt
Book Value$513,950BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,874,225OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,294,921DepreciationAmt
Book Value$579,304BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,335,436OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$4,335,436BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$8,468,319TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
SHARES AND DEPOSITS$224,939,615
OTHER LIABILITIES$1,239,863
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$226,179,478TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$13,270,557TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$13,270,557RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$13,270,557TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$11,105,079TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$11,105,079ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$11,105,079TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 2B:MORTGAGE ESCROW ACCOUNTS ARE HELD FOR THE PAYMENT OF REAL ESTATE TAXES FOR MUNICIPALITIES.
PART X, LINE 2:THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT, BY STATUTE, FROM FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES ON INCOME UNDER THE PROVISIONS OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND MASSACHUSETTS STATUTES. TAX POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN, INCLUDING THE POSITION THAT THE CREDIT UNION QUALIFIES AS A TAX EXEMPT ENTITY, ARE REQUIRED TO BE EVALUATED TO DETERMINE WHETHER THE TAX POSITIONS ARE "MORE-LIKELY-THAN-NOT" TO BE UPHELD UNDER REGULATORY REVIEW. TAX POSITIONS NOT DEEMED TO MEET THE MORE-LIKELY-THAN-NOT THRESHOLD WOULD BE ACCRUED AND DISCLOSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE CREDIT UNION HAS EVALUATED ITS TAX POSITIONS AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2019 AND 2018 AND HAS DETERMINED THAT THERE ARE NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT QUALIFY FOR EITHER RECOGNITION OR DISCLOSURE. CURRENTLY TAX YEARS FROM 2016 THROUGH PRESENT ARE OPEN AND SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION BY TAXING AUTHORITIES.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
C DAVID SURFACE
PRESIDENT/CEO$248,755$0$31,933$0$26,239$0$19,000$0$17,530$0$343,457$0$0$0
KATHLEEN DONAHUE
EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT$129,630$0$3,450$0$6,880$0$8,987$0$16,482$0$165,429$0$0$0
STEPHEN PEDRO
CFO$121,600$0$3,100$0$232$0$8,105$0$21,161$0$154,198$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 4BFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE CREDIT UNION PROVIDES TO ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES DEFERRED COMPENSATION BENEFITS UNDER SECTION 457(F) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. THESE BENEFITS ARE INTENDED FOR CERTAIN MEMBERS OF A SELECT GROUP OF MANAGEMENT OR HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES. PARTICIPANTS RECEIVE AN ANNUAL ALLOCATION FROM THE CREDIT UNION EQUAL TO 8% OF ANNUAL SALARY FOR THE YEAR OF CONTRIBUTION. ALL SUCH AMOUNTS ALLOCATED TO THE PARTICIPANT SHALL BE DEFERRED FOR PAYMENT TO THE PARTICIPANT ON OR AFTER THE PARTICIPANT'S RETIREMENT DATE. AT DECEMBER 31, 2019 AND 2018, THE 457(F) PLAN HAD CUMULATIVE BALANCES OF $319,052 AND $237,625 RESPECTIVELY.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6CLASSES OF MEMBERS OR STOCKHOLDERS PERSONS WHO MEET THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE ORGANIZATION'S FIELD OF MEMBERSHIP WHO HOLD AT LEAST ONE SHARE OF THE CAPITAL
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AELECTION OF MEMBERS AND THEIR RIGHTS - EACH MEMBER HAS A VOTE AT THE ELECTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BDECISIONS SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF MEMBERS ANY CHANGES TO THE INCORPORATING DOCUMENTS, I.E BYLAWS ARE APPROVED BY MEMBERSHIP
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE 990 WILL BE REVIEWED BY CEO, CFO AND DIRECTORS. DUE TO FILING DEADLINES, THE 990 MAY BE REVIEWED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS SUBSEQUENT TO FILING. THE REVIEW IS DOCUMENTED IN THE MINUTES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CPOLICY IS REVIEWED ANNUALLY WITH THE BOARD AND EMPLOYEES. WRITTEN ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS ARE SIGNED ON AN ANNUAL BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15FORM 990, PART VI, LINE 15A COMPENSATION PROCESS FOR TOP OFFICIAL CEO'S COMPENSATION IS DETERMINED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, EXECUTIVE COMITTEE. WAGE AND SALARY PLAN INTRODUCED IN 2013. JOB DESCRIPTIONS WERE UPDATED. A SALARY SURVEY WAS CONDUCTED BY AN INDEPENDENT COMPANY. ALL POSITIONS WERE EVALUATED. POSITIONS WITHIN THE CREDIT UNION HAVE BEEN ASSIGNED A RANK. SALARY RANGES WERE ESTABLISHED FOR EACH RANK. COMPENSATION IS BASED ON CURRENT AND RELATED EXPERIENCE. FORM 990, PART VI, LINE 15B CEO'S COMPENSATION IS DETERMINED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. SENIOR MANAGEMENT IS DETERMINED BY INCREASE SET FORTH FOR STAFF AND APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. SALARY SURVEYS, INDUSTRY TRENDS AND EARNINGS ARE ALL TAKEN INTO CONSIDERATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19GOVERNING DOCUMENTS ARE POSTED IN THE LOBBY AT BRANCH LOCATIONS AND ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. THE INFORMATION IS UPDATED ON A MONTHLY BASIS AFTER THE BOARD MEETS.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CTHE ORGANIZATION DID NOT CHANGE EITHER ITS OVERSIGHT PROCESS OR SELECTION PROCESS DURING THE TAX YEAR.