STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

PRESQUE ISLE ELECTRIC & GAS CO-OP: Form 990, tax year 2024

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
PRESQUE ISLE ELECTRIC & GAS CO-OP (EIN 38-0941545)
Tax period
2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31
Filed
2025-11-06
IRS object ID
202503109349301925
Schema version
2024v5.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2025-11-06T10:23:42-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2024-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Eide Bailly LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14585 Coleman St Ste 200AddressLine1Txt
CityBismarckCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP58503ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2024-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN380941545EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Presque Isle Electric & Gas Co-opBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlPRESBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9897338515PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1Po Box 308AddressLine1Txt
CityOnawayCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP49765ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonAllan BergPersonNm
Person TitlePresident & CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone9897338515PhoneNum
Signature2025-11-04SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (1)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLisa Chaffee CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00193453PTIN
Phone7012551091PhoneNum
Preparation2025-10-23PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2024TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerAllan BergPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1Po Box 308AddressLine1Txt
CityOnawayCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP49765ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$70,460,367GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website Addresswww.pieg.comWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1937FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTo provide energy and other services to sustain and improve the quality of life for our members through the use of a cooperative business structure.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee123TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$1,126,354PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$1,126,354CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$60,679,105PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$69,208,608CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income-$1,125,437PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income-$666,413CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$14,783PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$25,523CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$60,694,805PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$69,694,072CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$2,718,905PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$6,718,463CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$11,523,112PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$12,092,614CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$49,370,080PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$53,823,834CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$63,612,097PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$72,634,911CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$2,917,292PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$2,940,839CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$219,484,162TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$240,193,551TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$168,291,549TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$185,248,192TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$51,192,613NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$54,945,359NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTo provide energy and other services to sustain and improve the quality of life for our members through the use of a cooperative business structure.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescThe Presque Isle Electric & Gas Co-op served 35,392 electric members and 13,531 natural gas members.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (1)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document47IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee123EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$68,724,003MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$619,160OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonAllan BergPersonNm
Phone9897338515PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 308AddressLine1Txt
CityOnawayCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP49765ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (18 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Allan Berg
President & CEO (As of May 2024)50.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$216,045$0$13,990
John Brown
Vice Chairman/Chairman/Director14.00Yes (X)$14,240$0$0
Sandra Borowicz
Secretary/Chairman15.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$14,480$0$0
Sally Knopf
Director/Secretary7.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$12,320$0$0
Brentt Lucas
Treasurer12.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$14,280$0$0
Daryl Peterson
Director/Vice Chairman7.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$12,390$0$0
Christopher Nagel
Director4.20Yes (X)$14,210$0$0
Gerald Smigelski
Director (As of Nov 2024)4.50Yes (X)$920$0$0
Kurt Krajniak
Director7.30Yes (X)$13,740$0$0
Raymond Wozniak
Director9.00Yes (X)$11,850$0$0
Thomas Sobeck
President & CEO (Until June 2024)45.00Yes (X)$192,780$0$28,068
Randy Stempky
CFO45.00Yes (X)$121,637$0$70,665
Richard Kieliszewski
Director Info Tech(Until Aug 2024)50.40$157,110$0$13,439Yes (X)
Thomas Lupu
Working Foreman56.50$180,620$0$37,035Yes (X)
Thomas Pauly
Class A Lineman56.70$177,596$0$42,714Yes (X)
Kenniston Butler
Working Foreman53.70$173,801$0$43,227Yes (X)
Jason Tribisondi
Class A Lineman51.60$161,793$0$10,691Yes (X)
Donald Lalonde
Staking Engineer52.00$160,938$0$21,214Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,650,750TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$281,043TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K34IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
B&M Ashman Inc
8455 Ronda DECantonMI48187Construction$12,306,279
Northern Utility Contractors Inc
12970 Robins Ridge RdCharlevoixMI49720Drop Construction$2,147,291
Conexon LLC
2001 Grand Blvd Ste 700Kansas CityMO64108Construction Management$1,851,237
Thunder Bay Tree Service
1172 Halley RoadAlpenaMI49707Tree Trimming$624,642
Kent Power
7800 Childsdale Ave NERockfordMI49341Construction$469,828
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K9CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$1,126,354GovernmentGrantsAmt
Total Contributions$1,126,354TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Electric & Gas Sales221000$60,583,958$60,583,958
Broadband Services517000$4,437,128$4,437,128
Capital Credits221000$2,848,308$2,848,308
Other Member Services221000$599,026$599,026

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$740,188TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$740,188RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$69,208,608TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$46,385TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$46,385ExclusionAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$712,798OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$712,798OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$712,798TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$712,798ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$79,020GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$53,497CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$25,523TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$25,523RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$69,694,072TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$69,234,131RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion-$666,413ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,718,463TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$933,331TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,405,820TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$986,289TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$767,174TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,923,369TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,801,667TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
Cost of Energy$28,479,172
Distribution - Ops & Ma$9,164,714
Administrative and Gene$4,172,045
Customers Accounts & Se$3,552,324

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total-$7,269,457TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$72,634,911TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$208,996BOYAmt
EOY$625,157EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,081,755BOYAmt
EOY$3,226,397EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,476,997BOYAmt
EOY$8,533,804EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,175,199BOYAmt
EOY$13,324,349EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$295,118BOYAmt
EOY$573,735EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$270,681,591LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$89,812,516LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$159,510,220BOYAmt
EOY$180,869,075EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,657,871BOYAmt
EOY$2,813,747EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,078,006BOYAmt
EOY$30,227,287EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$219,484,162BOYAmt
EOY$240,193,551EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,054,351BOYAmt
EOY$8,217,575EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$501,801BOYAmt
EOY$512,688EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,384BOYAmt
EOY$4,469EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$140,733,265BOYAmt
EOY$151,953,368EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,055,338BOYAmt
EOY$21,869,838EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,943,410BOYAmt
EOY$2,690,254EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$168,291,549BOYAmt
EOY$185,248,192EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$325,255BOYAmt
EOY$332,540EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,867,358BOYAmt
EOY$54,612,819EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$51,192,613BOYAmt
EOY$54,945,359EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$219,484,162BOYAmt
EOY$240,193,551EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$2,940,839ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$6,693,585OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$953,225OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$953,225BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$22,758,706OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,394,772DepreciationAmt
Book Value$19,363,934BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$220,845,837OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$86,417,744DepreciationAmt
Book Value$134,428,093BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$26,123,823OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$26,123,823BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$180,869,075TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Investments in Associated Organizations$28,965,995
Investment in Subsidiary$1,261,292
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$30,227,287TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Deferred Credits$1,829,600
Accrued post-retirement Benefits$788,968
Patronage Capital Payable$71,686
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,690,254TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$69,694,072TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$69,694,072RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$69,694,072TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$65,916,448TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$65,916,448ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$6,718,463OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$6,718,463ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$72,634,911TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part IV, Line 2b:The members of the Cooperative can elect to round up their monthly electric bill to the next dollar. These funds collected from the membership are held in a Cooperative account until they are disbursed directly to the Community First Fund on a monthly basis. Funds that exist at the beginning and end of year are a result of a timing difference in the collection of these funds and the disbursement of the funds. The amounts held were $4,469 and $3,384 for the years ending December 31, 2024 and December 31, 2023.
Part X, Line 2:The Company evaluates its tax positions that have been taken or are expected to be taken on income tax returns to determine if an accrual is necessary for uncertain tax positions. As of December 31, 2024 and 2023, the unrecognized tax benefits accrual was zero. The Company will recognize future accrued interest and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits in income tax expense if incurred.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Patronage Capital Credits Allocated for Current Year 6,718,463.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Allan Berg
President & CEO (As of May 2024)$213,618$0$0$0$2,427$0$0$0$16,032$0$232,077$0$0$0
Thomas Sobeck
President & CEO (Until June 2024)$188,090$0$0$0$4,690$0$19,252$0$10,334$0$222,366$0$0$0
Thomas Pauly
Class A Lineman$177,308$0$0$0$288$0$10,457$0$34,051$0$222,104$0$0$0
Thomas Lupu
Working Foreman$179,734$0$60$0$826$0$10,791$0$28,038$0$219,449$0$0$0
Kenniston Butler
Working Foreman$173,296$0$30$0$475$0$10,969$0$34,118$0$218,888$0$0$0
Randy Stempky
CFO$119,966$0$0$0$1,671$0$32,633$0$39,657$0$193,927$0$0$0
Donald Lalonde
Staking Engineer$160,082$0$30$0$826$0$10,093$0$12,915$0$183,946$0$0$0
Jason Tribisondi
Class A Lineman$161,678$0$0$0$115$0$10,498$0$1,986$0$174,277$0$0$0
Richard Kieliszewski
Director Info Tech(Until Aug 2024)$156,456$0$0$0$654$0$13,218$0$1,313$0$171,641$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule J, Part II, Column C:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCompensation of Officers, Directors, Key Employee, Highest Compensated Employees: Included in other compensation for the CFO is the estimated current year increase in the actuarial value of the defined benefit plan. These amounts do not represent any current year contributions to the plan. They are estimates of the increase in the actuarial value of the plans received from the NRECA. The current year expense and the increase in actuarial value for each employee are reflected in the statement for Form 990, Part VII, Column f.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (13 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1aThe Fiber to Home committee is the only committee that has the authorization to make decisions on behalf of the board. This committee has the authority to make decisions regarding construction details and financing for the Fiber to Home operations. There are no other committees that can act on behalf of the governing board.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6There is only one class of members. Each member receives one vote. Each member vote carries the same weight.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aThe members of the Cooperative elect the governing board.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7b1) Members elect the board of directors. 2) Members can remove a board director by two-thirds vote. 3) Amendments to bylaws are approved by the members or two-thirds vote of the board of directors.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe Form 990 is reviewed by the CEO, CFO and the governing Board of Directors prior to filing with the IRS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cAnnually, the Board and key management officers must review the conflict of interest policy and submit a certification and disclosure form to the Board Chairman and CEO. Any potential conflicts are disclosed to the disinterested board members. The disinterested board members deliberate and vote regarding the transaction outside the presence and voting of the interested person. The deliberation is noted in the board minutes. If an individual has an actual conflict of interest they have thirty day to resolve the conflict or they are removed from the Board.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15The Board conducts an evaluation of the CEO's compensation using the NRECA national compensation survey. The CFO's compensation is determined by the CEO who then presents it the Board for approval. The deliberation is documented in the executive session minutes.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The organization made its governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements available to the public during the tax year.
Form 990, Part VII, Section A, Column (F)Compensation of Officers for the CFO: Included in column "F", estimated amount of other compensation, is the estimated annual increase in the actuarial value of the defined benefit plan. The estimated increase is $11,941 for Randy Stempky. This amount is an estimates in the increase of the value of the plan and are not current year expenses of the Cooperative. The current year expense for this defined benefit plan was $7,999 for Randy.
Form 990, Part VII, Section A, Column (A)Allan Berg served as Chairman of the board until April 2024, and was hired as President & CEO in May 2024.
Form 990, Part IX, Line 4The Cooperative has interpreted the instructions to Part IX, Line 4, to mean patronage capital allocated for the year, rather than patronage capital retired. This is consistent with the Bylaws of the Cooperative.
Form 990, Part IX, Line 24e:The labor, pension and payroll taxes reported on lines 5-10 are already included in distribution expense, administrative & general expense and customer expense. Therefore, these amounts are being subtracted out as an other deduction on line 24e in the amount of $(12,092,614).
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Retirement of capital credits -32,163. Patronage Allocation 6,718,463. Change in Memberships 7,285.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Presque Isle Electric & Gas Communities First FundBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 308AddressLine1Txt
CityOnawayCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP49765ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN383375631EIN
Primary ActivitiesCharitablePrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(c)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity Status7PublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Presque Isle Electric & Gas Co-opBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Presque Isle Aurora Gas AssetsBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 308AddressLine1Txt
CityOnawayCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP49765ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN382514732EIN
Primary ActivitiesGas AssetsPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Presque Isle Gas & Electric Co-opBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Entity TypeCEntityTypeTxt
Share Of Total Income$256,575ShareOfTotalIncomeAmt
Share Of EOY Assets$1,647,600ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt
Ownership1.00000OwnershipPct
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationYes (1)DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (1)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
Presque Isle Aurora Gas Assets
K$240,479Cost
Presque Isle Aurora Gas Assets
F$1,000,000Board Resolution