SYMMES LIFE CARE INC: Form 990, tax year 2023
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- SYMMES LIFE CARE INC (EIN 04-2853296)
- Tax period
- 2023-10-01 to 2024-09-30
- Filed
- 2025-02-13
- IRS object ID
- 202520449349300837
- Schema version
- 2023v6.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2025-02-13T11:38:29-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2024-09-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 410746749 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | TWO INTERNATIONAL PLACE 22ND FLOOR | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | BOSTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 02110 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2023-10-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 042853296 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | SYMMES LIFE CARE INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Business Name Line2 | D/B/A BROOKHAVEN AT LEXINGTON | BusinessNameLine2Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | SYMM | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 7818639660 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1010 WALTHAM STREET 600 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | LEXINGTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 024218052 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | JAMES M FREEHLING | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CEO/PRESIDENT | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 7818639660 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2025-02-07 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr | 0 | IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | LAURA J KENNEY | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00202198 | PTIN |
| Phone | 6177170831 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2025-02-05 | PreparationDt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2023 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2025-03-06 01:10:19Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | BROOKHAVEN AT LEXINGTON | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | JAMES M FREEHLING | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1010 WALTHAM STREET 600 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | LEXINGTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 024218052 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $45,387,679 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | WWW.BROOKHAVENATLEXINGTON.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1984 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | MA | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | TO PROVIDE HOUSING AND HEALTHCARE SERVICES FOR THE ELDERLY | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 17 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 16 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 314 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 57 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $85,563 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $158,219 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $32,043,213 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $33,132,219 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $1,684,600 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $5,842,813 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $18,652 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $24,012 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $33,832,028 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $39,157,263 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $64,190 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $14,206,051 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $15,226,741 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $18,723,069 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $19,118,902 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $32,993,310 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $34,345,643 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $838,718 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $4,811,620 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $202,636,650 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $219,553,466 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $217,772,959 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $216,459,736 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | -$15,136,309 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $3,093,730 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | THE ORGANIZATION PROVIDES HOUSING, MEALS, WELLNESS PROGRAMS, HEALTHCARE, SKILLED NURSING AND OTHER SUPPORT SERVICES TO THE ELDERLY. THE COMMUNITY IS COMPRISED OF 289 INDEPENDENT LIVING UNITS, 49 ASSISTED CARE UNITS, AND A 12 BED MEDICARE LICENSED NURSING FACILITY.BROOKHAVEN HAS A ROBUST SOCIAL ACCOUNTABILITY PROGRAM TO SUPPORT LOCAL COMMUNITY ORGANIZATIONS. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $24,311,655 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $28,800,077 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | THE INDEPENDENT LIVING PROGRAM SUPPORTS RESIDENTS WHO CAN LIVE IN PRIVATE APARTMENTS INDEPENDENTLY IN A SAFE AND HEALTHY MANNER. HOUSING SUPPORT SERVICES INCLUDE HOUSEKEEPING, LINEN SERVICE, ONE MEAL PER DAY AND AN EMERGENCY CALL SYSTEM. ALL SUPPORTIVE PROGRAMMING ENDEAVORS TO INCORPORATE A WHOLE PERSON WELLNESS APPROACH, I.E. EACH PROGRAM INCLUDES ONE OR MORE OF THE SIX DIMENSIONS OF WELLNESS: PHYSICAL, SOCIAL, VOCATIONAL, EMOTIONAL, INTELLECTUAL AND SPIRITUAL. HEALTHCARE SUPPORT SERVICES INCLUDE AN HOUR PER DAY OF ASSISTANCE WITH DAILY LIVING AS NEEDED BY A PERSONAL CARE ASSISTANT, ON-SITE DOCTOR'S OFFICE HOURS, SUPPORT GROUPS AND PROBLEM SOLVING AROUND ISSUES OF AGING. AT THE FISCAL YEAR-END, THERE WERE 383 WITHIN THIS PROGRAM. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $3,286,587 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $3,180,175 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | THE ASSISTED CARE PROGRAM PROVIDES HOUSING AND SUPPORT SERVICES TO RESIDENTS WITH MILD COGNITIVE AND/OR PHYSICAL IMPAIRMENT WHO CAN NOT LIVE INDEPENDENTLY. ALL THE BENEFITS AND PROGRAMMING OF INDEPENDENT LIVING ARE AVAILABLE TO RESIDENTS IN ASSISTED CARE. ADDITIONAL SERVICES INCLUDE THREE MEALS A DAY, BOOKING OF APPOINTMENTS AND TRANSPORTATION, CARE PLANNING, AND MEDICATION MANAGEMENT. THE UNIT IS STAFFED BY A PERSONAL CARE ASSISTANT 24 HOURS PER DAY. A NURSE IS AVAILABLE 24 HOURS PER DAY AND IS RESPONSIBLE FOR INDIVIDUAL CARE PLANNING AND ONGOING MEDICAL CONSULTATION. AT THE FISCAL-YEAR END THERE WERE 41 WITHIN THIS PROGRAM. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $1,949,521 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $837,475 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | THE SKILLED NURSING FACILITY PROVIDES PRIVATE AND SEMI-PRIVATE ROOM & BOARD ACCOMMODATIONS AND THREE MEALS PER DAY. ALL THE BENEFITS AND PROGRAMMING OF INDEPENDENT LIVING AND ASSISTED CARE ARE AVAILABLE TO RESIDENTS OF THE HEALTH CENTER. ADDITIONAL BENEFITS IN THE HEALTH CENTER INCLUDE 24 HOUR PER DAY SKILLED NURSING CARE, SOCIAL SERVICES, RESTORATIVE THERAPIES, THERAPEUTIC MEALS, ON-SITE ANCILLARY SERVICES, SUCH AS PODIATRY AND LABORATORY SERVICES AND PHYSICIAN SERVICES. ACTIVITIES PROGRAMMING IS BOTH INDIVIDUALIZED AND GROUP ORIENTED. AT THE FISCAL YEAR-END THERE WERE 11 WITHIN THIS PROGRAM. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Expenses | $29,547,763 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | Yes (1) | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | Yes (1) | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | 0 | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 104 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 314 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 17 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 16 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | MA | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | ERIN FINN | PersonNm |
| Phone | 7813720139 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1010 WALTHAM STREET SUITE 600 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | LEXINGTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 024218052 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (27 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JAMES M FREEHLING | ||||||||
| CEO/PRESIDENT | 40.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $417,831 | $0 | $37,643 | ||
| PAMELA MCNAMARA | ||||||||
| CHAIR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| CHERIE NOE MD | ||||||||
| VICE CHAIR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JAMIE KATZ | ||||||||
| VICE CHAIR - LEFT BOARD IN FEB. 2024 | 3.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| NORMAN COHEN | ||||||||
| SECRETARY | 3.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ERIC SCHWARTZ | ||||||||
| TREASURER | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| CLEVELAND COATS JR | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ROBERT COHEN | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| RALPH DUNHAM | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| GERALD HARRIS MD | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JAMES HOYTE | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ANN HRUBY | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE - LEFT BOARD IN DEC. 2023 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JEANNE KRIEGER | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| PETER LEE | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| WALTER LEUTZ PHD | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| PAMELA MILLER | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| BURT M PERLMUTTER MD | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| PATRICIA R PERRY | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE - LEFT BOARD IN FEB. 2024 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| RODERIC ROLETT | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JAMES SHAW | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ERIN FINN | ||||||||
| SVP/CFO | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $238,585 | $0 | $13,354 | |||
| SUSANNA KIRKPATRICK | ||||||||
| EVP/COO | 40.00 | $277,595 | $0 | $25,145 | Yes (X) | |||
| JOSEPHINE CRONIN | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF NURSING | 40.00 | $163,802 | $0 | $9,194 | Yes (X) | |||
| CHRISTOPHER MONTI | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF DINING SERVICE | 40.00 | $145,220 | $0 | $9,181 | Yes (X) | |||
| VANESSA VEGA | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF ANDOVER ASSISTED CARE | 40.00 | $136,477 | $0 | $8,860 | Yes (X) | |||
| KRISTEN KENNEY | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF MARKETING | 40.00 | $137,293 | $0 | $4,416 | Yes (X) | |||
| MICHAEL BRENNAN | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF PLANT MAINTENANCE | 40.00 | $145,444 | $0 | $29,542 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $1,662,247 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $137,335 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 19 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CACCAVARO CONSTRUCTION INC | |||||
| 5 CRESCENT AVE UNIT 6 | WOBURN | MA | 01810 | CONTRACTOR | $1,636,604 |
| 4M BUILDING SOLUTIONS | |||||
| PO BOX 870784 | KANSAS CITY | MO | 64187 | CONTRACTOR | $1,244,307 |
| TW DALABON | |||||
| PO BOX 296 | NORTH QUINCY | MA | 02171 | CONTRACTOR | $505,279 |
| AMERGIS HEALTHCARE STAFFING INC | |||||
| 12558 COLLECTIONS CENTER DRIVE | CHICAGO | IL | 60693 | CONTRACTOR | $396,474 |
| SECURITAS SECURITY SERVICES | |||||
| PO BOX 403412 | ATLANTA | GA | 30384 | SECURITY CONTRACTOR | $289,365 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 17 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| All Other Contributions | $158,219 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $158,219 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | ExclusionExclusionAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| RESIDENT REVENUE | 623000 | $32,207,626 | $31,880,854 | $326,772 |
| HEALTH CENTER REVENUE | 623000 | $845,093 | $837,475 | $7,618 |
| APPLICATION FEES | 623000 | $79,500 | $79,500 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $33,132,219 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $2,502,645 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $2,502,645 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $3,350 | RealAmt |
Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $0 | RealAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $3,350 | RealAmt |
Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $3,350 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $3,350 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $7,297,543 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $2,154,801 | OtherAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $3,694,747 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $2,417,429 | OtherAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $3,602,796 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | -$262,628 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $3,340,168 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $3,340,168 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Sales Of Inventory | $138,138 | GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt |
| Cost Of Goods Sold | $118,240 | CostOfGoodsSoldAmt |
Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $19,898 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $19,898 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | OTHER REVENUE | Desc |
| Business | 623000 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $764 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $764 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $764 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $39,157,263 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $32,817,727 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $6,181,317 | ExclusionAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,138,780 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $1,138,780 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $11,107,668 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $9,838,419 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,269,249 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $351,034 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $351,034 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,773,598 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,540,995 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $232,603 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $855,661 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $715,312 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $140,349 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $35,707 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $35,707 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $100,166 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $100,166 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $18,000 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $18,000 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $667,385 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $480,536 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $186,849 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $64,663 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $64,663 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,141,271 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $548,219 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $593,052 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,959,791 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,959,791 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $36,556 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $12,546 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $24,010 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $371,498 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $371,498 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $7,540,480 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $7,540,480 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $994,452 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $994,452 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt |
|---|---|---|
| FOOD | $2,016,002 | $2,016,002 |
| HOUSEKEEPING, LAUNDRY | $1,551,601 | $1,551,601 |
| MAINTENANCE CONTRACTS | $1,212,800 | $1,212,800 |
| RESIDENT ACTIVITIES | $206,778 | $206,778 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $201,752 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $201,752 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $34,345,643 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $29,547,763 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $4,797,880 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,691,987 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,432,365 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,391,849 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $11,745,180 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $15,046 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $79,740 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $41,483 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $42,675 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $570,083 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $440,705 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $199,182,825 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $92,285,511 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $110,200,626 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $106,897,314 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $71,901,306 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $90,820,730 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $824,270 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,094,757 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $202,636,650 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $219,553,466 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,799,892 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,378,157 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $204,688,417 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $204,446,929 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,284,650 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,634,650 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $217,772,959 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $216,459,736 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | -$16,958,951 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $994,112 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,822,642 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,099,618 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | -$15,136,309 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,093,730 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $202,636,650 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $219,553,466 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $4,811,620 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $13,418,419 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Publicly Supported Org509a2 | Yes (X) | PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind |
Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $335,151 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $84,635 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $97,252 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $85,563 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $158,219 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $760,820 | TotalAmt |
Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $25,039,170 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $27,767,011 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $29,712,092 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $31,879,489 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $32,935,967 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $147,333,729 | TotalAmt |
Gross Receipts Non Unrlt Bus GrossReceiptsNonUnrltBusGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $277,851 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $158,099 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $214,947 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $301,354 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $334,390 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $1,286,641 | TotalAmt |
Total509 Total509Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $25,652,172 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $28,009,745 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $30,024,291 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $32,266,406 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $33,428,576 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $149,381,190 | TotalAmt |
Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $650 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $2,950 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $800 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $1,850 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $1,600 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $7,850 | TotalAmt |
Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $650 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $2,950 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $800 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $1,850 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $1,600 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $7,850 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Support Total509 | $149,373,340 | PublicSupportTotal509Amt |
Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $921,077 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $875,898 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $1,352,678 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $2,026,056 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $2,505,995 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $7,681,704 | TotalAmt |
Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $921,077 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $875,898 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $1,352,678 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $2,026,056 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $2,505,995 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $7,681,704 | TotalAmt |
Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $783 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $350 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $392 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $769 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $764 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $3,058 | TotalAmt |
Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $26,574,032 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $28,885,993 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $31,377,361 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $34,293,231 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $35,935,335 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $157,065,952 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Support CY509 | 0.95100 | PublicSupportCY509Pct |
| Public Support PY509 | 0.95490 | PublicSupportPY509Pct |
| Investment Income CY | 0.04890 | InvestmentIncomeCYPct |
| Investment Income PY | 0.04500 | InvestmentIncomePYPct |
| Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509 | Yes (X) | ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind |
Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE A, PART III, LINE 12, EXPLANATION OF OTHER INCOME: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | OTHER REVENUE - 2019 AMOUNT: $ 783. 2020 AMOUNT: $ 350. 2021 AMOUNT: $ 392. 2022 AMOUNT: $ 769. 2023 AMOUNT: $ 764. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Volunteers | 0 | VolunteersInd |
| Paid Staff Or Management | 0 | PaidStaffOrManagementInd |
| Media Advertisements | 0 | MediaAdvertisementsInd |
| Mailings Members | 0 | MailingsMembersInd |
| Publications Or Broadcast | 0 | PublicationsOrBroadcastInd |
| Grants Other Organizations | Yes (1) | GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Grants Other Organizations | $1,932 | GrantsOtherOrganizationsAmt |
| Direct Contact Legislators | 0 | DirectContactLegislatorsInd |
| Rallies Demonstrations | 0 | RalliesDemonstrationsInd |
| Other Activities | 0 | OtherActivitiesInd |
| Total Lobbying Expenditures | $1,932 | TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt |
| Not Described Section501c3 | 0 | NotDescribedSection501c3Ind |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART II-B, LINE 1F | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | BROOKHAVEN CONTRIBUTES ANNUALLY TO LEADING AGE, A NON-PROFIT SENIOR LIVING SOCIETY. LEADING AGE ASSISTS SENIOR SERVICE ORGANIZATIONS BY PROVIDING EDUCATION AND ADVOCACY SUPPORT THAT PROMOTES EXCELLENCE IN THE DELIVERY OF CHRONIC OR LONG-TERM CARE SERVICES. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $1,822,642 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $158,220 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $167,966 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Grants Or Scholarships | $49,209 | GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt |
| End Year Balance | $2,099,619 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $1,749,020 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $85,563 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $52,249 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Grants Or Scholarships | $64,190 | GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt |
| End Year Balance | $1,822,642 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $1,648,564 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $97,252 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $44,785 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Grants Or Scholarships | $41,581 | GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt |
| End Year Balance | $1,749,020 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $1,572,123 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $57,662 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $31,220 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Grants Or Scholarships | $12,441 | GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt |
| End Year Balance | $1,648,564 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $1,533,096 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $39,308 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $33,791 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Grants Or Scholarships | $34,072 | GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt |
| End Year Balance | $1,572,123 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Board Designated Balance EOY | 0.00000 | BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct |
| Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY | 0.00000 | PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Term Endowment Balance EOY | 1.00000 | TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Endowments Held Unrelated Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd |
| Endowments Held Related Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd |
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $5,561,151 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $5,561,151 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $181,229,118 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $85,954,875 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $95,274,243 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $10,463,625 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $5,511,930 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $4,951,695 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,928,931 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $818,706 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $1,110,225 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $106,897,314 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $52,956,550 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $13,418,419 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Other Revenue | $380,868 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $13,799,287 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $39,157,263 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $39,157,263 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $34,726,511 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $380,868 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $380,868 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $34,345,643 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $34,345,643 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART V, LINE 4: | SYMMES LIFE, INC. DBA BROOKHAVEN AT LEXINGTON HAS FOUR PURPOSE RESTRICTED FUNDS. THE FUNDS CONSIST OF THE BENEVOLENCE FUND, NATURE TRAIL FUND, BROOKHAVEN FUND, AND THE SCHOLARSHIP FUND. THE BENEVOLENCE FUND EXISTS FOR THE PURPOSE OF SUPPORTING RESIDENTS WHO HAVE DEPLETED THEIR FUNDS. THE NATURE TRAIL FUND IS USED TO MAINTAIN OUTDOOR TRAILS FOR RESIDENT USE. THE SCHOLARSHIP FUND WAS ESTABLISHED FOR EMPLOYEE PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT. THE BROOKHAVEN FUND WAS ESTABLISHED TO SUPPORT INNOVATIVE PROGRAMS AND SERVICES, SPECIALTY EQUIPMENT AND OTHER "EXTRAS" THAT MAY NOT BE IN THE BUDGET BUT ARE OF SPECIAL INTEREST TO RESIDENTS. THIS FUND IS UTILIZED BY RESIDENT GROUPS WHO WISH TO RAISE FUNDS FOR A SPECIFIC PURPOSE DESIGNED TO ENHANCE THE COMMUNITY. EACH RESIDENT INITIATIVE REQUIRES THE APPROVAL OF THE DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE. |
| PART X, LINE 2: | BROOKHAVEN HAS BEEN GRANTED EXEMPT STATUS RELATIVE TO FEDERAL AND STATE CORPORATE INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND APPLICABLE STATE CODES. BROOKHAVEN FOLLOWS THE GUIDANCE IN THE INCOME TAX STANDARD REGARDING THE RECOGNITION AND MEASUREMENT OF UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS. THE GUIDANCE CLARIFIES THE ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES RECOGNIZED IN AN ENTITY'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE GUIDANCE FURTHER PRESCRIBES RECOGNITION AND MEASUREMENT OF TAX PROVISIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN ON A TAX RETURN THAT ARE NOT CERTAIN TO BE REALIZED. THE APPLICATION OF THIS STANDARD HAS NO IMPACT ON BROOKHAVEN'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. BROOKHAVEN'S TAX RETURNS ARE SUBJECT TO REVIEW AND EXAMINATION BY FEDERAL AND STATE AUTHORITIES. |
| PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | COST OF GOODS SOLD NETTED AGAINST INVENTORY SALES 118,240. LOSS ON DISPOSAL OF PROPERTY AND EQUIPMENT 262,628. |
| PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | COST OF GOODS SOLD NETTED AGAINST INVENTORY SALES 118,240. LOSS ON DISPOSAL OF PROPERTY AND EQUIPMENT 262,628. |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Form990 Of Other Organizations | Yes (X) | Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | 0 | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JAMES M FREEHLING | ||||||||||||||
| CEO/PRESIDENT | $417,831 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $15,675 | $0 | $21,968 | $0 | $455,474 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| SUSANNA KIRKPATRICK | ||||||||||||||
| EVP/COO | $277,595 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $12,962 | $0 | $12,183 | $0 | $302,740 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| ERIN FINN | ||||||||||||||
| SVP/CFO | $238,585 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $11,003 | $0 | $2,351 | $0 | $251,939 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MICHAEL BRENNAN | ||||||||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF PLANT MAINTENANCE | $145,444 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $7,151 | $0 | $22,391 | $0 | $174,986 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JOSEPHINE CRONIN | ||||||||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF NURSING | $163,802 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $7,691 | $0 | $1,503 | $0 | $172,996 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| CHRISTOPHER MONTI | ||||||||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF DINING SERVICE | $145,220 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $6,830 | $0 | $2,351 | $0 | $154,401 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 1A | THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL CONSIST OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE CORPORATION, AND THE FOUR ELECTED OFFICERS OF THE CORPORATION. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL POSSESS AND MAY EXERCISE ALL OF THE POWERS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES IN THE MANAGEMENT OF THE CORPORATION AND THE DIRECTION OF ITS AFFAIRS BETWEEN MEETINGS OF THE BOARD, SUBJECT TO ANY LIMITATIONS IMPOSED ON THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE BY LAW, THE ARTICLES OF ORGANIZATION, THE BYLAWS, OR BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. THE BOARD SHALL HAVE THE POWER TO RESCIND ANY VOTE OR ACTION OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE, BUT NO SUCH RESCISSION SHALL HAVE RETROACTIVE EFFECT OR INVALIDATE ACTION ALREADY TAKEN IN RELIANCE ON SUCH VOTE OR ACTION. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL MEET AS OFTEN AS MAY BE NECESSARY TO MEET ITS RESPONSIBILITIES, MEETINGS TO BE CALLED BY THE CHAIR OR THE PRESIDENT OF THE CORPORATION. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE FORM 990 WAS PREPARED BY AN INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTING FIRM WITH INFORMATION PROVIDED BY MANAGEMENT AND THEN A DRAFT WAS REVIEWED BY THE ORGANIZATION'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS PRIOR TO BEING SUBMITTED TO THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | THE POLICY AND PROCEDURE ON CONFLICTS OF INTEREST AND DISCLOSURE OF CERTAIN INTERESTS COVERS ALL TRUSTEES. ALL NEW TRUSTEES ARE REQUIRED TO REVIEW THIS POLICY AND PROCEDURE AND ACKNOWLEDGE IN WRITING THAT THEY HAVE DONE SO. ANNUALLY, ALL TRUSTEES ARE REQUIRED TO REVIEW THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND COMPLETE A DISCLOSURE FORM IDENTIFYING ANY SITUATION HE/SHE BELIEVES COULD GIVE RISE TO A CONFLICT. THE BOARD CHAIR WILL BE INFORMED OF ALL DISCLOSED POTENTIAL CONFLICTS. PRIOR TO ANY BOARD/COMMITTEE ACTION ON A CONTRACT OR TRANSACTION INVOLVING A CONFLICT OF INTEREST, A TRUSTEE HAVING A CONFLICT OF INTEREST SHALL DISCLOSE ALL FACTS MATERIAL TO THE CONFLICT TO THE BOARD CHAIR WHO SHALL DETERMINE WHETHER A CONFLICT OF INTEREST EXISTS. TRUSTEES WITH A CONFLICT OF INTEREST WILL NOT PARTICIPATE IN OR BE PERMITTED TO HEAR THE BOARD/COMMITTEE'S DISCUSSION OF THE MATTER EXCEPT TO DISCLOSE MATERIAL FACTS AND TO RESPOND TO QUESTIONS; IF A VOTE IS INVOLVED, THE TRUSTEE SHALL NOT VOTE AND SHALL NOT BE PRESENT IN THE ROOM WHEN THE VOTE IS TAKEN. RESPONSIBLE PERSONS WHO ARE NOT MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OR WHO HAVE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST WITH RESPECT TO A CONTRACT OR TRANSACTION THAT IS NOT THE SUBJECT OF BOARD/COMMITTEE ACTION, SHALL DISCLOSE ANY CONFLICT OF INTEREST TO THE CHAIR. THE RESPONSIBLE PERSON SHALL REFRAIN FROM ANY ACTION THAT MAY AFFECT THE ORGANIZATION'S PARTICIPATION IN SUCH CONTRACT OR TRANSACTION. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | BROOKHAVEN ACQUIRED INDUSTRY SURVEY DATA COMPLETED BY AN EXTERNAL CONSULTANT FOR THE CEO/PRESIDENT ROLE IN 2024 ON BEHALF OF BROOKHAVEN'S EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE. THE SURVEY FINDINGS WERE REPORTED TO BROOKHAVEN'S EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE. THE CEO/PRESIDENT COMPLETED A SELF-EVALUATION OF HIS PERFORMANCE WHICH WAS PROVIDED TO MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES ALONG WITH THE ANNUAL PERFORMANCE EVALUATION FORM WHICH THEY WERE ASKED TO COMPLETE. COMPLETED PERFORMANCE EVALUATIONS WERE RETURNED TO THE CHAIR OF THE EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE. THE RESULTS OF THE WAGE AND BENEFITS SURVEY AND PERFORMANCE EVALUATION WERE SUMMARIZED AND DISCUSSED WITH THE EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE WHO VOTED TO RECOMMEND THE ANNUAL PAY ADJUSTMENT FOR THE CEO/PRESIDENT. THE FULL BOARD OF TRUSTEES VOTED TO ACCEPT THE RECOMMENDATION. THE DELIBERATIONS AND FINAL DECISION WERE TIMELY DOCUMENTED IN THE MINUTES. FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15B: BROOKHAVEN ACQUIRED INDUSTRY SURVEY DATA COMPLETED BY AN EXTERNAL CONSULTANT FOR THE CEO/PRESIDENT. THE SURVEY FINDINGS WERE REPORTED TO THE EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE. THE CEO/PRESIDENT COMPLETED A PERFORMANCE EVALUATION FOR THE EVP/COO, SVP/CFO AND VP/CHRO. THE CEO/PRESIDENT SHARED THE RESULTS OF THE PERFORMANCE EVALUATIONS WITH THE EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE AND RECOMMENDED PAY ADJUSTMENTS FOR THESE POSITIONS BASED ON THE PERFORMANCE EVALUATION AND WAGE AND SALARY SURVEY DATA. THE DELIBERATIONS AND FINAL DECISIONS WERE TIMELY DOCUMENTED IN THE MINUTES REGARDING COMPLETION OF SALARY REVIEWS. THE PROCESS DESCRIBED HERE WAS LAST COMPLETED IN 2024. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE MAINTAINED IN A PUBLIC ROOM. RESIDENTS RECEIVE A COPY YEARLY. THE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. |