MCLEOD COOPERATIVE POWER ASSOCIATION: Form 990, tax year 2018
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- MCLEOD COOPERATIVE POWER ASSOCIATION (EIN 41-0403745)
- Tax period
- 2018-01-01 to 2018-12-31
- Filed
- 2019-08-06
- IRS object ID
- 201902189349300215
- Schema version
- 2018v3.1
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2019-08-06T08:55:40-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2018-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 450250958 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | EIDE BAILLY LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 4310 17TH AVE S PO BOX 2545 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | FARGO | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | ND | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 581082545 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2018-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 410403745 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | McLeod Cooperative Power Association | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | MCLE | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 3208643148 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO Box 70 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Glencoe | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 553360070 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | Carrie L Buckley | PersonNm |
| Person Title | General Manager | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 3208643148 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2019-08-05 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | DEB NELSON CPA | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P01264758 | PTIN |
| Phone | 7012398500 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2019-08-05 | PreparationDt |
Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation
IP Address IPAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| I Pv4 Address | 199.247.45.22 | IPv4AddressTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IP | 2019-08-05 | IPDt |
| IP Tm | 14:27:21 | IPTm |
| IP Timezone | CD | IPTimezoneCd |
| Filing License Type | P | FilingLicenseTypeCd |
| At Submission Creation Device Id | 66CC91E6B7F11C4783FFFA5645E675327CB67316 | AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId |
| At Submission Filing Device Id | 3F1B4C4A1C1F32CA3CD03C05270CE62742EA9E6E | AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2018 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2019-02-21 02:37:17Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | Keith Peterson | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO Box 70 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Glencoe | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 553360070 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $21,100,239 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | www.mcleodcoop.com | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1935 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | MN | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | To enhance the quality of life for our members and customers through effective solutions. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 9 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 9 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 30 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 0 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $72,678 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $65,118 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $20,737,083 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $20,815,722 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $240,334 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $230,595 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $0 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $0 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $20,977,417 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $21,046,317 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $968,077 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $1,153,149 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $3,230,982 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $3,301,146 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $16,496,349 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $16,299,743 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $20,695,408 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $20,754,038 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $282,009 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $292,279 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $67,508,435 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $71,927,291 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $39,430,064 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $42,941,592 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $28,078,371 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $28,985,699 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | To deliver energy and other services that will improve the quality of life for our customers, and to maximize customer satisfaction by delivering those services in the most friendly, safe, reliable and competitive manner possible. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Desc | Provided electric service to an average of 6,784 accounts in 2018. We had an increase of 15 miles of line during 2018. The cooperative has 1,911 miles of distribution line as of December 31, 2018. | Desc |
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | 0 | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | Yes (1) | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | 0 | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | Yes (1) | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (1) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | Yes (1) | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Transaction With Control Ent | 0 | TransactionWithControlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 70 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 30 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Members And Shr Gross Income | $20,773,125 | MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt |
| Other Sources Gross Income | $465,994 | OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 9 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 9 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (1) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | 0 | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Carrie L Buckley | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 3208643148 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1231 Ford Ave | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Glencoe | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 553360070 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part VII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (14 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Keith Peterson | |||||||
| President | 4.20 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $7,214 | $0 | $0 | |
| Doug Kirtz | |||||||
| Secretary Treasurer | 2.70 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $4,174 | $0 | $0 | |
| Joel Griebie | |||||||
| Vice President | 6.50 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $7,511 | $0 | $0 | |
| Gerald Roepke | |||||||
| Asst. Secretary Treasurer | 3.50 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $3,642 | $0 | $0 | |
| Oria Brinkmeier | |||||||
| Director | 6.80 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $7,049 | $0 | $0 | |
| David Resch | |||||||
| Director | 2.80 | Yes (X) | $3,291 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Allan Duesterhoeft | |||||||
| Director | 4.10 | Yes (X) | $5,259 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Gary Burdorf | |||||||
| Director | 4.90 | Yes (X) | $6,674 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Randy Hlavka | |||||||
| Director | 9.20 | Yes (X) | $7,081 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Carrie L Buckley | |||||||
| General Manager | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $188,181 | $0 | $105,951 | ||
| Susan Noyes | |||||||
| Manager of Finance | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $80,101 | $0 | $44,832 | ||
| Daniel Schade | |||||||
| Operations Manager | 40.00 | $110,899 | $0 | $124,828 | Yes (X) | ||
| Craig Marti | |||||||
| Line Foreman | 40.00 | $102,856 | $0 | $49,111 | Yes (X) | ||
| Darrel Beste | |||||||
| Engineering Manager | 40.00 | $101,050 | $0 | $3,533 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $634,982 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $328,255 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 4 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (2 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Burnham Companies | |||||
| PO Box 1677 | Monticello | MN | 553621677 | Tree Trimming Service | $389,097 |
| MP Nexlevel LLC | |||||
| 500 Co Rd 37 East | Maple Lake | MN | 55358 | Electrical Line Boring | $334,074 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 2 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sale of Electricity | 221000 | $20,108,815 | $20,108,815 | |
| Capital Credits | 221000 | $432,071 | $432,071 | |
| Sale of Load Management Equipment | 221000 | $119,520 | $119,520 | |
| Other Supporting Revenue | 517000 | $82,638 | $82,638 | |
| Nonmember Like Services | 517000 | $57,660 | $57,660 |
Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $15,018 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $15,018 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $20,815,722 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $284,517 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $284,517 | ExclusionAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $53,922 | OtherAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | -$53,922 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | -$53,922 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | -$53,922 | ExclusionAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $21,046,317 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $20,743,044 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $72,678 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $230,595 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part IX | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd |
Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,153,149 | TotalAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $621,895 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,979,313 | TotalAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $522,291 | TotalAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $177,647 | TotalAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,239,583 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,785,949 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt |
|---|---|
| UBIT Tax | $5,685 |
| Cost of Power | $12,302,379 |
| Distribution | $2,045,139 |
| Administrative & Genera | $1,168,712 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | -$2,247,704 | TotalAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $20,754,038 | TotalAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $883,989 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,559,779 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,632,322 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,930,364 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,530,480 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,188,118 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $822,776 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $844,263 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $879,160 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,477,056 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $57,653,283 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $15,252,367 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $41,952,821 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $42,400,916 | EOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $17,751,340 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $20,464,908 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $55,547 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $61,887 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $67,508,435 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $71,927,291 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,124,978 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,995,071 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $354,518 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $513,007 | EOYAmt |
Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $18,567 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $20,010 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $33,983,966 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $38,349,389 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $948,035 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,064,115 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $39,430,064 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $42,941,592 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Org Does Not Follow SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind |
Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $28,078,371 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $28,985,699 | EOYAmt |
Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $28,078,371 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $28,985,699 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $67,508,435 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $71,927,291 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $292,279 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $615,049 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Agent Trustee Etc | 0 | AgentTrusteeEtcInd |
| Incl Escrow Custodial Acct Liab | Yes (1) | InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd |
| Explanation Provided | Yes (X) | ExplanationProvidedInd |
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $234,518 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $234,518 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,184,943 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $594,365 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $590,578 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $55,520,878 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $14,658,002 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $40,862,876 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $712,944 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $712,944 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $42,400,916 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt | Method ValuationMethodValuationCd |
|---|---|---|
| Patronage Capital | $11,608,450 | C |
| Investment in Assoc. Companies | $8,550,988 | C |
| Investment in Economic Development Project | $305,470 | C |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Program Rltd | $20,464,908 | TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| Customer Deposits | $107,390 |
| Accumulated Provision for Pension & Benefits | $491,725 |
| Other Regulatory Liability | $465,000 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $1,064,115 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $20,928,691 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Revenue | $17,461 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $17,461 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $20,911,230 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $135,087 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $135,087 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $21,046,317 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $19,481,369 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | -$119,520 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | -$119,520 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $19,600,889 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $1,153,149 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $1,153,149 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $20,754,038 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Part IV, Line 2b: | The members of the Cooperative can elect to round up their monthly electric bill to the next dollar. These funds collected from the membership are held in a Cooperative account until they are released to the McLeod Cooperative Power Trust. These funds are transferred directly to the McLeod Cooperative Power Trust periodically throughout the year. Funds that exist at the end of year are a result of a timing difference in the receipt of the funds and the release of them to the McLeod Cooperative Power Trust. For the year ended December 31, 2018 the account held $20,010. |
| Part X, Line 2: | The Cooperative is exempt from income taxes under Section 501(c)(12). The Cooperative is annually required to file a Return of Organization Exempt from Income Tax (Form 990) with the IRS. The Cooperative files an Exempt Organization Business Income Tax Return (Form 990-T) with the IRS to report its unrelated business taxable income. The Cooperative evaluates its tax positions that have been taken or are expected to be taken on income tax returns to determine if an accrual is necessary for uncertain tax positions. As of December 31, 2018 and 2017, the unrecognized tax benefit accrual was zero. The Cooperative will recognize future accrued interest and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits in income tax expense if incurred. |
| Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments: | Heartland Book Income 17,461. |
| Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments: | Heartland K-1 Tax Income 15,567. Sale of Load Management Equipment 119,520. |
| Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments: | Sale of Load Management Equipment -119,520. |
| Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments: | Patronage Capital Credits Allocated During Current Year 1,153,149. |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carrie L Buckley | ||||||||||||||
| General Manager | $183,081 | $0 | $100 | $0 | $5,000 | $0 | $76,103 | $0 | $34,077 | $0 | $298,361 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Daniel Schade | ||||||||||||||
| Operations Manager | $110,799 | $0 | $100 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $91,735 | $0 | $35,616 | $0 | $238,250 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Craig Marti | ||||||||||||||
| Line Foreman | $102,756 | $0 | $100 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $20,822 | $0 | $30,313 | $0 | $153,991 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Schedule J, Part II, column C, Deferred Compensation: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Included in other compensation is the estimated current year increase in the actuarial value of the defined benefit plan. These amounts do not represent any current year contributions to the plan. They are estimates of the increase in the actuarial value of the plans received from the NRECA. The current year expense and the increase in actuarial value for each employee is reflected in the Schedule O statement for Form 990, Part VII, column F. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6 | The members are all the same class. The organization is a member owned electric cooperative. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7a | The service territory is divided into districts. Members from that district elect their director to represent them. Directors serve a three year term. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7b | If changes are made to the by-laws, the changes will be voted on by the members at the annual meeting. Each member has one vote. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 8b | There are no committees with authority to act on behalf of the Board of Directors. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11b | The Form 990 was reviewed by the Cooperative's CEO & CFO prior to being presented, reviewed, and approved by the Board of Directors before filing with the IRS. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12c | When obtaining quotes or bids for purchases or contract work, it is management's responsibility to ensure that there are no violations to this policy. The conflict of interest policy applies to the directors, officers and key employees of McLeod Cooperative Power Association, and any related individuals to the directors, officers, or key employees. It is the responsibility of the interested party to disclose any conflicts of interest. The Board interprets and enforces the conflict of interest policy. If it is determined that the policy is not being followed the individual not following the policy may be sanctioned, disqualified, and/or dismissed. In the event that a conflict may occur the interested parties abstain from voting. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15 | The General Manager's compensation is reviewed and approved by the Board of Directors. Other officers and employees are reviewed by the General Manager and approved by the Board of Directors. The Board uses comparability data and substantiates their decision in board minutes. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19 | The governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements are made available upon request. |
| Form 990, Part VII, Section A, Column (F) | Included in column "f", estimated amount of other compensation, is the estimated annual increase in the actuarial value of the defined benefit plan and are not current expenses of the Cooperative. The estimated increase was as follows: Carrie L. Buckley is $66,927 Susan Noyes $9,084 Daniel Schade $86,045 Craig Marti $16,147 Darrel Beste $0 The current year expense for this defined benefit plan was as follows: Carrie L. Buckley is $38,465 Susan Noyes $18,276 Daniel Schade $22,968 Craig Marti $18,609 Darrel Beste $0 |
| Form 990, Part IX, Statement of Functional Expenses, Line 24e | The labor, pension, other employee benefits, and payroll taxes reported on lines 5-10 are already included in distribution expense, administrative & general expense and customer expense. Therefore, these amounts are being subtracted out as an other deduction on line 24e in the amount of $(3,301,146). |
| Form 990, Part XI, line 9: | Patronage Capital Retirements -539,994. Heartland K-1 Tax Income -15,567. Heartland Book Income 17,461. Patronage Capital Credits Allocated During Current Year 1,153,149. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp
Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | McLeod Cooperative Power Trust | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1231 Ford Ave PO Box 70 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Glencoe | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 553360070 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 421620470 | EIN |
| Primary Activities | Charitable Purposes | PrimaryActivitiesTxt |
| Legal Domicile State | MN | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Exempt Code Section | 501(c)(3) | ExemptCodeSectionTxt |
| Public Charity Status | Line 7 | PublicCharityStatusTxt |
Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | McLeod Cooperative Power Association | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Controlled Organization | 0 | ControlledOrganizationInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | 0 | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | 0 | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | 0 | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Div Related Organization | 0 | DivRelatedOrganizationInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | 0 | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | 0 | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | 0 | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | Yes (1) | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | Yes (1) | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | Yes (1) | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | Yes (1) | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | 0 | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | Yes (1) | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | 0 | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | 0 | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |