STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

SINGING RIVER ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE: Form 990, tax year 2018

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SINGING RIVER ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE (EIN 64-0239641)
Tax period
2018-01-01 to 2018-12-31
Filed
2019-09-12
IRS object ID
201902559349300740
Schema version
2018v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2019-09-12T11:38:50-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2018-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN631035228PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Jackson Thornton & Co PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 96AddressLine1Txt
CityMontgomeryCityNm
State AbbreviationALStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP361010096ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2018-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN640239641EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Singing River Electric CooperativeBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSINGBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6019474211PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line111187 Old 63 South PO Box 767AddressLine1Txt
CityLucedaleCityNm
State AbbreviationMSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP39452ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBrian HugheyPersonNm
Person TitleGeneral Manager & CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6019474211PhoneNum
Signature2019-09-04SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonPatrick CooperPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00856177PTIN
Phone3348347660PhoneNum
Preparation2019-08-23PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address142.154.130.164IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2019-09-04IPDt
IP Tm08:42:18IPTm
IP TimezoneCDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdDA39A3EE5E6B4B0D3255BFEF95601890AFD80709AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id6C9B1A35775087DBDB8A6D25ECA509C7F6C27838AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2018TaxYr
Build TS2019-02-21 02:37:17ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerBrian HugheyPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line111187 Old 63 South PO Box 767AddressLine1Txt
CityLucedaleCityNm
State AbbreviationMSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP39452ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$167,394,948GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website Addresswww.singingriver.comWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1938FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMSLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTo provide safe and reliable electric service at the lowest possible cost while promoting energy efficiency and enhancing the lives of the members and communities we serve.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body10VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent10VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee197TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$151,059,846PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$163,775,628CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$874,325PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,081,126CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$2,222,806PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$2,335,246CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$154,156,977PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$167,192,000CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$19,887PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$18,244CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$9,348,956PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$11,499,756CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$862,510PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,068,175CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$143,925,624PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$154,605,825CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$154,156,977PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$167,192,000CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$0PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$0CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$369,798,456TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$380,038,243TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$182,838,135TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$183,961,355TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$186,960,321NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$196,076,888NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTo provide safe and reliable electric service at the lowest possible cost while promoting energy efficiency and enhancing the lives of the members and communities we serve.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescSinging River Electric Cooperative is an electric distribution cooperative that provided 74,349 services to its members in southeast Mississippi and southwest Alabama in 2018. Singing River Electric maintained distribution lines in Jackson, George, Greene, Harrison, Perry, Stone and Wayne counties in Mississippi as well as Mobile and Washington counties in Alabama. Utilizing its 7,418 miles of electric distribution lines, Singing River Electric sold 1,409,035,732 kilowatt hours of electric energy to its members.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document90IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee197EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$158,823,096MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$6,202,149OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members10GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member10IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Tammy HultzBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6019474211PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line111187 Old 63 SouthAddressLine1Txt
CityLucedaleCityNm
State AbbreviationMSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP39452ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (18 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Kristal Sisson
Director6.00Yes (X)$26,323$0$0
Travis Baxter
Director/Vice President4.00Yes (X)$25,446$0$0
Cary Williams
Director/Treasurer4.00Yes (X)$24,518$0$0
Howard Davis
Director/President6.00Yes (X)$17,585$0$0
Roy Grafe
Director6.00Yes (X)$18,087$0$0
Ralph Hicks
Director4.00Yes (X)$25,498$0$0
Edward Thornton
Director/Secretary5.00Yes (X)$19,135$0$0
Robert Steele
Director6.00Yes (X)$17,281$0$0
Mark LaSalle
Director5.00Yes (X)$9,704$0$0
Ronald Wilson
Director5.00Yes (X)$9,579$0$0
Michael R Smith
General Manager & CEO6.00$258,039$0$7,270Yes (X)
Tammy Y Hultz
Manager of Accounting & Finance55.00$159,260$0$87,631Yes (X)
Brian K Hughey
General Manager & CEO60.00$204,195$0$164,397Yes (X)
James Chipley
Serviceman63.00$130,703$0$95,370Yes (X)
Robert B Fairley
Serviceman60.00$123,756$0$30,604Yes (X)
Grady R Williams
Gautier District Manager50.00$135,759$0$98,461Yes (X)
William T Davis
Manager of Engineering42.00$128,500$0$138,892Yes (X)
James D Miller
Manager of IT40.00$127,171$0$65,337Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,460,539TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$687,962TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K31IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Treeline Services LLC
126 Strickland RoadLucedaleMS39452Right of Way Services$2,514,557
Cambium Tree Care & Preservation Inc
7613 Bienville BoulevardOcean SpringsMS39564Right of Way Services$2,376,225
Chain Electric
1308 1/2 W Pine StreetHattiesburgMS39403Construction Services$1,570,322
NISC
P O Box 1147MandanND58554Software Services$349,683
Postmaster Lucedale
209 Cox StreetLucedaleMS39452Postal Services$287,243
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K8CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Sales of Electricity221000$158,823,097$158,823,097
Patronage Capital221000$4,952,531$4,952,531
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$163,775,628TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,187,424TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,187,424ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$2,334,741PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$2,334,741PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,334,741TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,334,741ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$95,242OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$201,540OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$106,298OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$106,298TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$106,298ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$1,913GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$1,408CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$505TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$505RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$167,192,000TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$163,776,133RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$3,415,867ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,244TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,499,756TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,068,175TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,257,581TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,298,686TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
Cost of Power$113,629,592
Dist Exp-Maintenance$10,133,656
Admin & Gen Expenses$6,216,257
Consumer Accounts Exp$5,619,224

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,450,829TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$167,192,000TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,828,362BOYAmt
EOY$28,971,879EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,032,000BOYAmt
EOY$17,953,000EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,315,765BOYAmt
EOY$12,051,833EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,520,802BOYAmt
EOY$764,223EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,666,283BOYAmt
EOY$4,168,156EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,121,828BOYAmt
EOY$3,433,034EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$340,761,788LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$97,349,533LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$237,487,792BOYAmt
EOY$243,412,255EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$65,440,996BOYAmt
EOY$68,867,514EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$384,628BOYAmt
EOY$416,349EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$369,798,456BOYAmt
EOY$380,038,243EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,992,010BOYAmt
EOY$12,394,917EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$147,078,275BOYAmt
EOY$149,185,164EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,767,850BOYAmt
EOY$22,381,274EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$182,838,135BOYAmt
EOY$183,961,355EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$295,350BOYAmt
EOY$297,385EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$186,664,971BOYAmt
EOY$195,779,503EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$186,960,321BOYAmt
EOY$196,076,888EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$369,798,456BOYAmt
EOY$380,038,243EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$0ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$9,116,567OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,608,882OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,608,882BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$338,152,906OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$97,349,533DepreciationAmt
Book Value$240,803,373BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$243,412,255TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
Patronage Capital - Cooperative Energy$62,758,775C
Capital Term Certificates$2,106,014C
Other Investments in Associated Organizations$4,002,725C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$68,867,514TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Accumulated post-retirement benefit obligation$14,437,089
Def compensation/ Def Credit Power Cost$1,602,961
Current portion of FAS 106 maturities$643,327
Customer deposits$5,697,897
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$22,381,274TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$167,192,000TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$167,192,000RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$167,192,000TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$155,692,244TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$155,692,244ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$11,499,756OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$11,499,756ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$167,192,000TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part X, Line 2:Income taxes - The Cooperative is exempt from income taxes under Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(12). Management has evaluated the Cooperative's tax positions and concluded that the Cooperative has taken no uncertain tax positions that require adjustment to the financial statements.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Margins assigned/assignable to members 11,499,756.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Michael R Smith
General Manager & CEO$175,782$0$0$0$82,257$0$0$0$7,270$0$265,309$0$81,670$0
Tammy Y Hultz
Manager of Accounting & Finance$157,722$0$0$0$1,538$0$69,925$0$17,706$0$246,891$0$0$0
Brian K Hughey
General Manager & CEO$202,058$0$0$0$2,137$0$145,136$0$19,261$0$368,592$0$0$0
James Chipley
Serviceman$130,056$0$0$0$647$0$79,205$0$16,165$0$226,073$0$0$0
Robert B Fairley
Serviceman$122,654$0$0$0$1,102$0$15,474$0$15,130$0$154,360$0$0$0
Grady R Williams
Gautier District Manager$133,714$0$0$0$2,045$0$91,356$0$7,105$0$234,220$0$0$0
William T Davis
Manager of Engineering$126,466$0$0$0$2,034$0$120,205$0$18,687$0$267,392$0$0$0
James D Miller
Manager of IT$124,820$0$0$0$2,351$0$49,321$0$16,016$0$192,508$0$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6The Cooperative is a not-for-profit membership organization whose members have identical voting rights and are assigned margins in accordance with the organization's bylaws.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aThe members of the Cooperative may elect one or more members of the governing body at the annual meeting.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7bThe business and affairs of the organization are managed by the Board of Directors which exercises all of the powers of the organization except such as are by law, or by the Certificate of Incorporation of the organization, or by the bylaws conferred upon or reserved to the members. The organization's bylaws include certain provisions in which a majority of the membership would need to approve such transactions. An example would be decisions to sell, lease, or otherwise dispose of more than ten percent of the organization's property.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe Manager of Accounting & Finance and the General Manager & CEO reviewed a completed copy of the Form 990. The Form 990 was then presented to and reviewed with the board of directors at a board meeting prior to filing the form with the Internal Revenue Service. The presentation of the form to the directors is reflected in the board minutes. The General Manager & CEO then signed the e-file authorization form allowing the Form 990 to be electronically filed with the Internal Revenue Service.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cThe Cooperative has a board policy named the "Board of Directors and Officers Code of Ethics." The policy includes a certification of compliance, and each board member and officer signs the certificate annually to state they have read and fully understood the "Board of Directors and Officers Code of Ethics and recognize that he/she is subject to the code.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15The Cooperative has a board policy that is named the "General Manager and CEO Evaluation and Compensation." A committee from the Board of Directors completes an evaluation regarding the General Manager & CEO's performance. The compensation is compared to national, state, and regional compensation for other general managers of similar size to the Cooperative. The General Manager & CEO uses comparable compensation data when reviewing and evaluating the compensation of the other employees.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The Cooperative allows the public to inspect a copy of the bylaws, financial statements, and conflict of interest policy at the main office. Information such as membership guide, rate schedules, and bylaws can also be found on www.singingriver.com.
Form 990, Part X, Line 4The instructions to the 2018 Form 990 indicate that organizations exempt under Section 501(c)(12) should report "patronage dividends paid" to their members in Part IX, Line 4 of the Form 990. The Cooperative has interpreted the words "patronage dividends paid" in the instructions to mean margins that are assigned or assignable to the members. The Cooperative assigns the net margins to its members each year. Therefore, the amount listed in Part IX, Line 4 represents the net margins assignable to the members for the calendar year ended December 31, 2018.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Change in Memberships 2,035. Actuarial Gain 91,011. Retirement of Capital Credits -3,215,460. Capital Credits Unclaimed 739,225. Net Margins Assigned/Assignable to Members 11,499,756.
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2cThe filing organization did not change its processes of oversight and selection for the year ended December 31, 2018.