STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

FARMERS ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC OF NEW MEXICO: Form 990, tax year 2018

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
FARMERS ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC OF NEW MEXICO (EIN 85-0036237)
Tax period
2018-01-01 to 2018-12-31
Filed
2019-11-01
IRS object ID
201903059349301860
Schema version
2018v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2019-11-01T14:37:53-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2018-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN750882037PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BOLINGER SEGARS GILBERT AND MOSS LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18215 NASHVILLE AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityLUBBOCKCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79423ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2018-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN850036237EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1FARMERS ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2OF NEW MEXICOBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlFARMBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5757624466PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 550AddressLine1Txt
CityCLOVISCityNm
State AbbreviationNMStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP881020550ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonLANCE R ADKINSPersonNm
Person TitleGENERAL MANAGERPersonTitleTxt
Phone5757624466PhoneNum
Signature2019-10-31SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonWILLIAM M MILLERPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00439459PTIN
Phone8067473806PhoneNum
Preparation2019-10-22PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address65.182.80.152IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2019-10-31IPDt
IP Tm17:28:26IPTm
IP TimezoneCDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id2EBFA2265763A01132BE48D36E167D9476E1DDEBAtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id587A88673713A033F58E04FDF6801CBB1F7DD2F2AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2018TaxYr
Build TS2020-03-31 21:24:44ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerLANCE R ADKINSPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 550AddressLine1Txt
CityCLOVISCityNm
State AbbreviationNMStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP881020550ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$38,327,411GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.FECNM.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1937FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNMLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE QUALITY AND RELIABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body7VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee59TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$36,142,706PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$37,722,196CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$803,288PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$594,719CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$6,117PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$10,496CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$36,952,111PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$38,327,411CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$12,200PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$15,579CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$3,054,049PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$3,582,295CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$4,522,335PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$4,397,264CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$28,559,579PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$29,867,232CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$36,148,163PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$37,862,370CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$803,948PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$465,041CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$106,517,367TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$116,718,648TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$57,471,312TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$64,100,423TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$49,046,055NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$52,618,225NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionNONEMissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDING ELECTRIC ENERGY TO OUR MEMBERS - 15,659 ACTIVE SERVICES AT YEAR END WERE PROVIDED ELECTRICITY ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document37IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee59EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$37,896,058MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$693,930OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members7GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SUZETTE HOWARD ACCOUNTING MANAGERBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5757624466PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13701 NORTH THORNTON STAddressLine1Txt
CityCLOVISCityNm
State AbbreviationNMStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP881020550ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (12 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
MICHAEL B WEST
PRESIDENT3.200.30Yes (X)Yes (X)$3,304$0$0
GEORGE DODGE JR
VICE PRESIDENT3.500.30Yes (X)Yes (X)$3,929$0$0
DONNIE BIDEGAIN
SECRETARY/TREASURER2.800.30Yes (X)Yes (X)$2,929$0$0
ERNEST RILEY
TRUSTEE8.200.30Yes (X)$6,620$0$0
PAUL QUINTANA
TRUSTEE4.400.30Yes (X)$5,773$0$0
WILLIAM TATE
TRUSTEE2.300.30Yes (X)$3,205$0$0
JOHN PAT WOODS
TRUSTEE2.400.30Yes (X)$2,282$0$0
LANCE R ADKINS
GENERAL MANAGER50.00Yes (X)$156,688$0$89,136
THOMAS J MOORE
DIRECTOR OF MEMBER SERVICE45.00Yes (X)$101,309$0$69,763
SUZETTE HOWARD
ACCOUNTING MANAGER45.00Yes (X)$90,642$0$58,635
LOY K MINTON
LINEMAN45.00$108,643$0$64,279Yes (X)
TYLER L CABELDUE
LINEMAN45.00$103,273$0$46,978Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$588,597TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$328,791TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K5IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
R & R LINE SERVICES
6022 QUAY ROADSAN JONNM88434LINE CONSTRUCTION$1,023,535
COOKE ELECTRICAL
1000 N FOREST STREETAMARILLOTX79106LINE CONSTRUCTION$181,289
SGS ENGINEERING LLC
401 50TH STREETLUBBOCKTX79404ENGINEERING SERVICES$172,283
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALES OF ELECTRICITY221000$37,043,283$37,043,283
POWER SUPPLY REVENUE - WFEC221000$468,881$468,881
PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS221000$145,323$145,323
SERVICE FEES221000$64,709$64,709
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$37,722,196TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$594,719TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$594,719ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
MISCELLANEOUS REVENUE221000$6,128$6,128
POLE ATTACHMENT INCOME221000$4,368$4,368
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$10,496OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$38,327,411TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$37,728,324RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$599,087ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,579TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,582,295TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$594,215TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,374,534TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$651,058TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$571,624TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$205,833TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,199,005TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,291,005TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER$21,655,932
DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE$1,670,012
ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE$466,751
CONSUMER EXPENSE$439,614

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$144,913TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$37,862,370TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$586,432BOYAmt
EOY$400,461EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,530,832BOYAmt
EOY$9,553,006EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,865,049BOYAmt
EOY$3,277,571EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$726BOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,511,612BOYAmt
EOY$3,163,799EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,423,269BOYAmt
EOY$1,602,925EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$126,222,544LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$43,186,610LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$80,013,888BOYAmt
EOY$83,035,934EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,110,675BOYAmt
EOY$1,024,103EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,241,821BOYAmt
EOY$13,749,156EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$233,063BOYAmt
EOY$911,693EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$106,517,367BOYAmt
EOY$116,718,648EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,260,250BOYAmt
EOY$5,171,577EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,933,285BOYAmt
EOY$55,544,320EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,277,777BOYAmt
EOY$3,384,526EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,471,312BOYAmt
EOY$64,100,423EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,046,055BOYAmt
EOY$52,618,225EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,046,055BOYAmt
EOY$52,618,225EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$106,517,367BOYAmt
EOY$116,718,648EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$465,041ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Prior Period Adjustments$992,690PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$2,114,439OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit Committee0AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$675,902OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$675,902BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,772,651OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$998,820DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,773,831BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$117,578,099OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$42,187,790DepreciationAmt
Book Value$75,390,309BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,195,892OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$5,195,892BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$83,035,934TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (10 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
CFC - MEDIUM TERM NOTES$2,750,000C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - OTHERS$190,775C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - CFC$269,485C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - FEDERATED$297,607C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - WFEC$112,933C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - COBANK$19,094C
CFC - CAPITAL TERM CERTIFICATES$751,521C
INVESTMENTS IN OTHER ASSOCIATED ORGANIZATIONS$5,386C
MEMBERSHIPS - OTHER$3,710C
MEMBERSHIPS - WFEC$9,348,645C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$13,749,156TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
CONSUMER DEPOSITS$235,940
DEFERRED CREDITS$2,515,508
ACCRUED OPERATING TAXES$633,078
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$3,384,526TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$38,320,244TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$38,320,244RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$7,167OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$7,167RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$38,327,411TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$34,272,908TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$34,272,908ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$3,589,462OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$3,589,462ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$37,862,370TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE HAS ADOPTED THE "UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS" PROVISIONS OF ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES GENERALLY ACCEPTED IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. THE PRIMARY TAX POSITION OF THE COOPERATIVE IS ITS FILING STATUS AS A TAX EXEMPT ENTITY. THE COOPERATIVE DETERMINED THAT IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THAT ITS TAX POSITION WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE(IRS), OR OTHER STATE TAXING AUTHORITY AND THAT ALL TAX BENEFITS ARE LIKELY TO BE REALIZED UPON SETTLEMENT WITH TAXING AUTHORITIES.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:EXPENSES RECORDED IN NON-OPERATING MARGINS RECLASSED TO EXPENSE ON FORM 990 7,167.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:EXPENSES RECORDED IN NON-OPERATING MARGINS RECLASSED TO EXPENSE ON FORM 990 7,167. PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED 3,582,295.
PART IX:THE AMOUNT OF OTHER ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 15 DOES NOT EQUAL OR EXCEED 5% OF THE TOTAL ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 16, COLUMN B. CONSEQUENTLY, IN ACCORDANCE WITH IRS INSTRUCTIONS, SCHEDULE D, PART IX HAS BEEN LEFT BLANK. PART XII, LINE 4B: FOR THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID OR ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED AS AN INCREASE IN EQUITY AND NOT AS AN EXPENSE. THEREFORE, NET INCOME PER THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IS REPORTED GROSS OF THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS THAT ARE EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED AT THE TIME THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PREPARED. HOWEVER, BECAUSE THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS IS ONE ASPECT OF HOW THE COOPERATIVE FULFILLS ITS TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE OF OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4 AS "BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS". PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE ALLOCATED ON A PATRONAGE BASIS AND DONE SO PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION AS PROVIDED FOR IN THE "NON-PROFIT OPERATION" ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
LANCE R ADKINS
GENERAL MANAGER$150,561$0$1,015$0$5,112$0$63,070$0$26,066$0$245,824$0$0$0
THOMAS J MOORE
DIRECTOR OF MEMBER SERVICE$97,769$0$325$0$3,215$0$42,592$0$27,171$0$171,072$0$0$0
LOY K MINTON
LINEMAN$102,052$0$325$0$6,266$0$45,486$0$18,793$0$172,922$0$0$0
TYLER L CABELDUE
LINEMAN$98,316$0$271$0$4,686$0$28,773$0$18,205$0$150,251$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II, COLUMN C:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationINCLUDED IN THIS AMOUNT IS THE INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF BENEFITS PAYABLE UNDER A DEFINED BENEFIT RETIREMENT PLAN. THE CONTRIBUTION RATE FOR PARTICIPANTS IN THE NRECA R&S DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN ARE THE SAME FOR ALL INDIVIDUALS IN THIS MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN. THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR EACH PARTICIPANT, HOWEVER, VARIES WITH AGE. IN OTHER WORDS, THE OLDER A PLAN PARTICIPANT IS, THE GREATER THE INCREASE IN THAT INDIVIDUAL'S CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE, ALL OTHER THINGS BEING EQUAL. BECAUSE THIS RELATES TO A MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN, CASH CONTRIBUTION TO THE PLAN IN LIEU OF THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE ARE EXPENSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. LANCE R. ADKINS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 61,556 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 1,514 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 63,070 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (61,556) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 52,467 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 53,981 THOMAS J. MOORE: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 41,587 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 1,005 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 42,592 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (41,587) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 34,412 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 35,417 LOY K. MINTON: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 44,435 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 1,051 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 45,486 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (44,435) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 35,955 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 37,006 TYLER L. CABELDUE: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 27,935 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 838 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 28,773 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (27,935) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 27,682 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 28,520ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (19 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE COOPERATIVE WAS FORMED BY THE MEMBERS TO PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE VOTE ON THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. ELECTIONS ARE DONE ON A ONE MEMBER ONE VOTE BASIS BY DISTRICT.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE FOLLOWING ACTS REQUIRE APPROVAL OF THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE: 1. DISSOLUTION/LIQUIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE 2. MERGER OR CONSOLIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH ANOTHER ORGANIZATION 3. DISPOSAL OF A SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S ASSETS 4. AMENDMENT TO THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION 5. AMENDMENT TO THE BYLAWS
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHE COOPERATIVE HAS NO COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY. THEREFORE, AND PURSUANT TO FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE QUESTION HAS BEEN ANSWERED "NO".
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BMANAGEMENT PRESENTED A COPY OF THE FORM 990 TO THE BOARD FOR DISCUSSION AND REVIEW PRIOR TO FILING. THE DISCUSSION AND REVIEW WAS PERFORMED AT THE BOARD MEETING IMMEDIATELY BEFORE THE FILING OF THE FORM 990.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CEACH TRUSTEE SHALL ANNUALLY SIGN A STATEMENT WHICH AFFIRMS SUCH PERSON: A.) HAS RECEIVED A COPY OF THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY B.) HAS READ AND UNDERSTANDS THE POLICY C.) HAS AGREED TO COMPLY WITH THE POLICY
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES USE A COMPENSATION SURVEY WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE GENERAL MANAGER. THE SURVEY SHOWS COMPARATIVE SALARIES FOR GENERAL MANAGERS FROM COOPERATIVES LOCATED IN NEW MEXICO AND THE NATION. THE GENERAL MANAGER USES A COMPENSATION SURVEY WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S OTHER EMPLOYEES MEETING THE DEFINITION OF OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES, IF ANY. THE SURVEY INCLUDES SALARIES FROM SIMILAR COOPERATIVES THROUGHOUT NEW MEXICO AND THE NATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE COOPERATIVE MAILS AN ANNUAL REPORT TO ALL MEMBERS. INCLUDED IN THE REPORT IS A COPY OF THE THE AUDITED BALANCE SHEET AND INCOME STATEMENT. THE COOPERATIVE WILL PROVIDE A COMPLETE COPY OF THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND GOVERNING DOCUMENTS TO ANY MEMBER WHO MAKES A WRITTEN REQUEST FOR A COPY OF ANY SUCH DOCUMENT. THE MEMBER SHALL MAKE A REQUEST FOR INFORMATION AND/OR DOCUMENTS BY SUBMITTING A "MEMBER INFORMATION REQUEST" FORM. THIS PROCEDURE IS CONSISTENT WITH COOPERATIVE POLICY VII-1. THE BYLAWS, FINANCIAL INFORMATION AND A COPY OF THE FORM 990 CAN BE FOUND ON THE COOPERATIVE'S WEBSITE WWW.FECNM.ORG.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN F:IN ORDER TO PROVIDE RETIREMENT BENEFITS TO ITS EMPLOYEES, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN UNDER SECTION 401(K) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PALN ARE MADE PURSUANT TO THE PLAN DOCUMENT. ADDITIONALLY, THE COOPERATIVE PARTICIPATES IN A MULTI-EMPLOYER DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN. CONTRIBUTIONS TO THIS PLAN ARE BASED ON THE FULL FUNDING LIMITATION OF SUCH PLAN. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS FOR BOTH PLANS ARE AVAILABLE TO PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING OFFICERS, MEETING THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS OF SUCH PLANS. THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES HEALTH AND LIFE INSURANCE TO ALL ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES THROUGH A QUALIFIED PLAN. THE AMOUNTS REPORTED ON PART VII, COLUMN (F) FOR THE OFFICERS IS COMPRISED OF ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN, THE TOTAL AMOUNT CONTRIBUTED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO THE DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN AND INSURANCE PAID ON BEHALF OF AND FOR THEIR BENEFIT.
FORM 990, PART VIII, LINE 2C:PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS RESULT FROM THE PURCHASE OF WHOLESALE POWER FROM A GENERATION & TRANSMISSION COOPERATIVE. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALSO RESULT FROM THE PAYMENT OF INTEREST FROM COOPERATIVE BANKS AND THE PURCHASE OF SUPPLIES AND SERVICES FROM OTHER COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS. THE EXPENSES ASSOCIATED WITH PURCHASES FROM AND PAYMENTS TO SUCH COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS ARE A DIRECT COMPONENT OF COST OF THE ELECTRIC SERVICE PROVIDED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO ITS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VIII, LINE 2B:THE COOPERATIVE AND WESTERN FARMERS ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE (WFEC), A RURAL ELECTRIC GENERATION AND TRANSMISSION COOPERATIVE, HAVE ENTERED INTO A WHOLESALE POWER CONTRACT WHERE WFEC WILL PROVIDE THE COOPERATIVE WITH ELECTRIC POWER. AS PART OF THE AGREEMENT THE COOPERATIVE MUST CONTRIBUTE EQUITY TO WFEC IN A MANNER AND AMOUNT SUCH THAT, AS OF JUNE 1, 2026, THE COOPERATIVE HAS CONTRIBUTED EQUITY TO WFEC COMPARABLE TO THE AMOUNT OF EQUITY CONTRIBUTED TO WFEC BY PRIOR EXISTING MEMBERS. THE PURPOSE OF THE CONTRIBUTION IS TO OBTAIN A POWER SUPPLY IN ORDER TO MEET THE TERMS OF THE WHOLESALE PURCHASE CONTRACT. PURUSANT TO APPROVAL BY THE NEW MEXICO PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION, THE EQUITY CONTRIBUTION IS RECOVERED MONTHLY FROM THE MEMBERS THROUGH THE SALE OF ELECTRICITY.
FORM 990, PART IX:THE ACCOUNTING RECORDS OF THE COOPERATIVE ARE MAINTAINED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE RUS UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS (USOA) AS PRESCRIBED FOR RURAL UTILITIES SERVICE (RUS) ELECTRIC BORROWERS. THE USOA DOES NOT RECORD EXPENSES IN THE GENERAL EXPENSE CATEGORIES PROVIDED ON PART IX LINES 1 - 23. THE COOPERATIVE SEPARETLY REPORTS SALARIES AND WAGES, EMPLOYEE BENEFITS AND PAYROLL TAXES THAT ARE ALLOCATED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THEIR ACCOUNTING SYSTEM, BUT OTHER EXPENSES THAT ARE DESCRIBED IN LINES 1 - 23 ARE REPORTED ON LINE 24 UNDER THE EXPENSE CATEGORIES REQUIRED BY THE USOA.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINES 5-7:SALARIES AND WAGES ARE ALLOCATED TO ASSET, LIABILITY, AND EXPENSE ACCOUNTS BASED ON THE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM DESCRIBED ABOVE. THE FOLLOWING SCHEDULE RECONCILES AMOUNTS REPORTED ON LINES 5-7 TO TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID: TOTAL PER LINES 5-7 $ 2,968,749 LESS: TRUSTEE FEES REPORTED ON FORMS 1099-MISC (28,042) LESS: EMPLOYEE OFFICER BENEFITS INCLUDED IN LINE 5 (217,534) PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES ALLOCATED TO NONOPERATING 3,813 PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED DIRECTLY TO PLANT 650,308 PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED/EXPENSED INDIRECTLY THROUGH CLEARING & OTHER ACCOUNTS 234,128 TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND OR PAID $ 3,611,422
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24:ADMINISTRATIVE AND GENERAL EXPENSE IS COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL $ 614,093 OFFICE SUPPLIES 100,675 OUTSIDE SERVICES EMPLOYED 48,572 REGULATORY COMMISSION 188,120 MISCELLANEOUS GENERAL 161,361 ASSOCIATION DUES 99,333 CAPITAL CREDIT 20,887 TRUSTEES 60,196 ADVERTISING 30,797 RENTS 800 MAINTENANCE OF GENERAL PLANT 56,051 DUPLICATE CHARGES (CREDIT) (38,401) TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXP PER FINANCIAL STATEMENTS $ 1,342,484 LESS: RECLASS OF TRUSTEE FEES TO PART IX, LINE 5 (28,042) LESS: RECLASS OF LABOR TO PART IX, LINES 5 & 7 (528,334) LESS: RECLASS OF BENEFITS TO PART IX, LINES 8-10 (319,357) TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE PER FORM 990, PART IX $ 466,751
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4:PURSUANT TO THE FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO THE MEMBERS (HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AS "PATRONS") SHOULD BE REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4. THE PHRASE "PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID" REFERS TO THE PROCESS, SUBSEQUENT TO YEAR-END, BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE ALLOCATES PATRONAGE CAPITAL TO AND, THEREFORE, OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS. THE COOPERATIVE'S TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE IS TO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY TO ITS PATRONS AND TO DO SO ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS. TAX LAW DEFINES "OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS" AS SUBORDINATION OF CAPITAL, DEMOCRATIC CONTROL, AND OPERATION AT COST. THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS (ALSO REFERRED TO AS ALLOCATIONS OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL) TO ITS PATRONS. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE CONSIDERED PAID IF THE ALLOCATION IS MADE (1) PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION, (2) FROM THE MARGINS PRODUCED FROM THE TRANSACTIONS DONE WITH OR FOR PATRONS, AND (3) IN A FAIR AND EQUITABLE MANNER ON THE BASIS OF PATRONAGE (I.E. PURCHASES). ADDITIONALLY, THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS SHOULD BE MADE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME PERIOD AFTER THE CLOSE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S YEAR-END OF DECEMBER 31. EACH ONE OF THESE REQUIREMENTS FOR A TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND IS PROVIDED FOR IN THE NON-PROFIT OPERATION ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS. THE AMOUNT REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4 REPRESENTS THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL THAT IS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE PATRONS RESULTING FROM THEIR PURCHASE OF ELECTRICITY FROM THE COOPERATIVE FOR THE 2018 CALENDAR YEAR. BECAUSE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE THE PROCESS BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS AND THEREBY A KEY COMPONENT TO ACCOMPLISHING ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS REPORTED SUCH AMOUNTS AS AN EXPENSE FOR FORM 990 REPORTING. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE NOT AN EXPENSE FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS PREPARED IN ACCORDANCE WITH GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES, HOWEVER.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24E:OTHER EXPENSES IS COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: SALES $ 30,302 TRANSMISSION 106,694 MISCELLANEOUS AND OTHER DEDUCTIONS 7,917 TOTAL OTHER EXPENSES PER FORM 990, LINE 24E $ 144,913
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 1:ALL GRANTS, SPONSORSHIPS AND/OR DONATIONS ARE MADE TO NON-PROFIT AND CIVIC ORGANIZATIONS THAT ARE LOCATED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S SERVICE AREA, AND ARE INTENDED TO IMPROVE THE COMMUNITIES IN WHICH OUR MEMBERS RESIDE. EACH GRANT, SPONSORSHIP AND/OR DONATION MADE DURING THE YEAR WAS BELOW THE REPORTING THRESHOLD OF SCHEDULE I, PART II.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED 3,582,295. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED - TOTAL -1,487,424. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED - DISCOUNT 19,568.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THE BOARD AS A WHOLE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR OVERSEEING THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDIT AND SELECTING THE INDEPENDENT FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDITOR. PROCEDURAL CHANGES DID NOT OCCUR DURING THE YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1FARMERS ELECTRIC EDUCATION FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 550AddressLine1Txt
CityCLOVISCityNm
State AbbreviationNMStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP881020550ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN850348498EIN
Primary ActivitiesTO PROVIDE COLLEGE SCHOLARSHIPS TO ACTIVE MEMBERS AND THEIR FAMILY.PrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateNMLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(C)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity StatusPFPublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1FARMERS ELECTRIC COOPERATVIE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
FARMERS ELECTIC EDUCATION FOUNDATION
N$0N/A - LESS THAN $50,000
FARMERS ELECTIC EDUCATION FOUNDATION
O$0N/A - LESS THAN $50,000