STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

ENDEAVOR HEALTH MEDICAL GROUP: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
ENDEAVOR HEALTH MEDICAL GROUP (EIN 36-3738206)
Tax period
2017-10-01 to 2018-09-30
Filed
2019-08-13
IRS object ID
201912259349301841
Schema version
2017v2.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2019-08-13T15:30:47-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2018-09-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Deloitte Tax LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line150 South Sixth Street Suite 2800AddressLine1Txt
CityMinneapolisCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55402ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-10-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN363738206EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice AssociatesBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlNORTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8475702000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11301 Central StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityEvanstonCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60201ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBrian M SchoenPersonNm
Person TitleBoard TreasurerPersonTitleTxt
Signature2019-08-13SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonAnne FultonPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00941863PTIN
Phone6123974000PhoneNum
Preparation2019-08-07PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2019-02-21 02:37:17ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Joseph GolbusBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11301 Central StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityEvanstonCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60201ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$550,670,798GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addressnorthshore.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1990FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionNorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice Associates follows the mission of NorthShore University HealthSystem to "preserve and improve human life."ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body21VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent0VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$92,708,723PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$89,626,960CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$448,670,014PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$461,043,838CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$0PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$0CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$541,378,737PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$550,670,798CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$5,746,516PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$5,968,813CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$409,603,921PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$425,766,178CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$120,492,469PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$118,833,063CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$535,842,906PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$550,568,054CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$5,535,831PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$102,744CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$418,971,723TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$414,163,209TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$43,826,608TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$38,915,350TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$375,145,115NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$375,247,859NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionSee Schedule OMissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$508,229,611ExpenseAmt
Grant$5,968,813GrantAmt
Revenue$461,043,838RevenueAmt
DescSee Schedule ODesc
Total Program Service Expenses$508,229,611TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (true)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsfalseTempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (true)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (true)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document0IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OfYes (true)Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members21GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member0IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (true)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyfalseForm990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOfalseCompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldILStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Jeff BiesczatBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone8475705798PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11301 Central StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityEvanstonCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60201ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (37 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
Theodore Mazzone
Board Chairman and Physician4.038.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$109,645$801,718$40,848
Karen L Kaul
Board Vice Chairman and Physician20.021.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$399,839$420,438$50,396
Michael S Caplan
Board Past Chairman and Physician8.033.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$123,672$645,172$26,695
Joseph Golbus
President and Physician41.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$969,887$1,030,455$84,170
Illham Algayed
Director and Physician41.00.0Yes (X)$254,035$0$32,355
Julian E Bailes
Director and Physician16.025.0Yes (X)$632,541$1,083,000$33,360
Carl Buccellato
Director and Physician37.04.0Yes (X)$712,392$71,304$33,361
Ervin (Woody) Denham
Director and Physician38.03.0Yes (X)$782,078$94,178$33,362
Robert R Edelman
Director and Physician3.038.0Yes (X)$242,264$926,414$84,626
Bernard G Ewigman
Director and Physician1.00.0Yes (X)$0$449,252$127,638
Neil Freedman
Director and Physician35.06.0Yes (X)$498,905$74,333$49,603
Gerald P Gallagher
Director1.042.0Yes (X)$0$1,617,998$456,152
Morris S Kharasch
Director and Physician34.08.0Yes (X)$398,511$67,495$47,825
Jason L Koh
Director and Physician20.021.0Yes (X)$933,731$635,568$52,710
Demetrius (Jim) Maraganore
Director and Physician11.030.0Yes (X)$160,556$521,505$48,595
Frederick E Miller
Director and Physician2.040.0Yes (X)$27,305$500,880$41,216
Mark R Neaman
Director1.042.0Yes (X)$0$4,250,435$34,788
Sharon Robinson
Director and Physician41.00.0Yes (X)$279,576$0$21,935
Jorge Saucedo
Director and Physician31.010.0Yes (X)$608,970$220,000$52,225
Richard K Silver
Director and Physician6.035.0Yes (X)$145,371$838,006$45,035
David Soo
Director and Physician29.012.0Yes (X)$318,466$122,299$30,863
Joseph Szokol
Director and Physician16.025.0Yes (X)$484,924$425,002$50,973
Mark S Talamonti
Director and Physician10.032.0Yes (X)$307,991$1,087,078$47,672
Katharine Yao
Director and Physician41.00.0Yes (X)$448,785$7,500$24,493
Patricia Leonard
Board Secretary41.00.0Yes (X)$341,882$361,400$62,052
Brian M Schoen
Board Treasurer1.040.0Yes (X)$0$402,530$40,470
Tyler Bauer
Vice President, Medical Group36.04.0$171,542$58,234$26,012Yes (X)
Kelly Eiden
Vice President, Medical Group40.00.0$215,579$55,900$26,604Yes (X)
Deborah L Kirkorsky
Vice President, Medical Group40.00.0$243,605$63,100$27,362Yes (X)
Cory Tabachow
Vice President, Medical Group40.00.0$207,654$37,800$48,091Yes (X)
Mark Kevin Bowen
Physician37.03.0$1,392,420$93,743$49,982Yes (X)
Shakeel A Chowdhry
Physician40.00.0$1,536,441$0$33,837Yes (X)
Gregg Menaker
Physician40.00.0$1,460,763$0$55,264Yes (X)
Michael Joseph Musacchio Jr
Physician40.00.0$1,386,096$0$55,210Yes (X)
Noam Y Stadlan
Physician39.01.0$1,385,574$31,662$57,782Yes (X)
Marsha J Miller
Former Board Secretary0.040.0$10,820$151,677$31,609Yes (X)
Thomas A Victor
Former Board Chairman40.00.0$323,436$0$45,014Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$17,515,256TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$17,146,076TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$2,110,185TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K966IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (true)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Conifer Health Solutions
2960 Professional DriveSpringfieldIL62703Patient Billing Services$20,337,146
Optuminsight
PO Box 84019ChicagoIL60659Claims Management Services$498,560
Stericycle Communication Solutions Inc
4010 Commercial AvenueNorthbrookIL60062Answering Services$483,584
Press Ganey Associates Inc
PO Box 88335MilwaukeeWI53288Consulting Services$363,522
UpToDate Inc
230 Third AvenueWalthamMA02451Information Technology Services$333,750
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K15CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Related Organizations$89,626,960RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Total Contributions$89,626,960TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Patient Revenue621110$350,877,424$350,877,424
Medicare and Medicaid Revenue621110$110,166,414$110,166,414

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$461,043,838TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$0OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$550,670,798TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$461,043,838RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,968,813TotalAmt
Program Services$5,968,813ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,583,483TotalAmt
Program Services$9,076,905ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,506,578ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,212,469TotalAmt
Program Services$15,168,836ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$43,633ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$351,912,599TotalAmt
Program Services$340,052,752ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$11,859,847ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$29,842,090TotalAmt
Program Services$27,999,352ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,842,738ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,215,537TotalAmt
Program Services$17,464,694ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$750,843ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,687,122TotalAmt
Management And General$21,687,122ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,509TotalAmt
Management And General$28,509ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,136,017TotalAmt
Program Services$8,696,487ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$439,530ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$74,787TotalAmt
Management And General$74,787ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,667,527TotalAmt
Program Services$2,086,828ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$580,699ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$821,626TotalAmt
Program Services$779,871ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$41,755ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$34,708,551TotalAmt
Program Services$34,708,551ProgramServicesAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$380,154TotalAmt
Program Services$315,612ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$64,542ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,764,808TotalAmt
Program Services$1,684,823ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$79,985ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,212,997TotalAmt
Program Services$649,770ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,563,227ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,563,644TotalAmt
Program Services$23,563,644ProgramServicesAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Medical Supplies$19,962,968$19,962,968
Dues and Subscriptions$1,774,648$1,774,648
Sales Tax$49,705$49,705

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$550,568,054TotalAmt
Program Services$508,229,611ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$42,338,443ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,052,472BOYAmt
EOY$3,550,895EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$58,441,256BOYAmt
EOY$45,745,785EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$500,000BOYAmt
EOY$500,000EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$29,003,290LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$13,877,318LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$42,386,708BOYAmt
EOY$15,125,972EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$314,591,287BOYAmt
EOY$349,240,557EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$418,971,723BOYAmt
EOY$414,163,209EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,014,755BOYAmt
EOY$38,103,497EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$811,853BOYAmt
EOY$811,853EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,826,608BOYAmt
EOY$38,915,350EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$375,145,115BOYAmt
EOY$375,247,859EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$375,145,115BOYAmt
EOY$375,247,859EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$418,971,723BOYAmt
EOY$414,163,209EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$102,744ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supporting Organization509a3Yes (X)SupportingOrganization509a3Ind
Supporting Org Type1Yes (X)SupportingOrgType1Ind
Supported Organizations1SupportedOrganizationsCnt

Supported Org Information SupportedOrgInformationGrp

Supported Organization Name SupportedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NorthShore University HealthSystemBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN362167060EIN
Organization Type3OrganizationTypeCd
Governing Document ListedYes (true)GoverningDocumentListedInd
Support$508,229,611SupportAmt
Other Support$0OtherSupportAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supported Organizations Total1SupportedOrganizationsTotalCnt
Support Sum$508,229,611SupportSumAmt
Other Support Sum$0OtherSupportSumAmt

Form990 Sch A Supporting Org Form990SchASupportingOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Listed By Name Governing DocYes (true)ListedByNameGoverningDocInd
Suprt Org No IRS DeterminationfalseSuprtOrgNoIRSDeterminationInd
Supported Org Section C456falseSupportedOrgSectionC456Ind
Supported Org Not Organized USfalseSupportedOrgNotOrganizedUSInd
Organization Change Suprt OrgfalseOrganizationChangeSuprtOrgInd
Support Non Supported OrgfalseSupportNonSupportedOrgInd
Payment Substantial ContribtrfalsePaymentSubstantialContribtrInd
Loan Disqualified PersonfalseLoanDisqualifiedPersonInd
Controlled Disqualified PrsnfalseControlledDisqualifiedPrsnInd
Disqualified Prsn Controll IntfalseDisqualifiedPrsnControllIntInd
Disqualified Prsn Ownr IntfalseDisqualifiedPrsnOwnrIntInd
Excess Business Holdings RulesfalseExcessBusinessHoldingsRulesInd
Contribution ControllerfalseContributionControllerInd
Contribution FamilyfalseContributionFamilyInd
Contribution35 ControlledfalseContribution35ControlledInd

Form990 Sch A Type1 Suprt Org Form990SchAType1SuprtOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Power Appoint Majority Dir TrstYes (true)PowerAppointMajorityDirTrstInd
Operate Benefit Non Suprt OrgfalseOperateBenefitNonSuprtOrgInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
VolunteersfalseVolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or ManagementfalsePaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media AdvertisementsfalseMediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings MembersfalseMailingsMembersInd
Publications Or BroadcastfalsePublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other OrganizationsfalseGrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact LegislatorsfalseDirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies DemonstrationsfalseRalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesYes (true)OtherActivitiesInd
Other Activities$68,188OtherActivitiesAmt
Total Lobbying Expenditures$68,188TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c3falseNotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule C, Part II-B, Line 1 DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE LOBBYING ACTIVITYNorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice Associates (FPA) and its employees are members of various organizations that advocate on legal and policy issues that affect healthcare. A portion of the annual membership dues paid by FPA to these organizations are attributable to lobbying activities.
Schedule C, Part II-B, Line 1 DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE LOBBYING ACTIVITYNorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice Associates (FPA) and its employees are members of various organizations that advocate on legal and policy issues that affect healthcare. A portion of the annual membership dues paid by FPA to these organizations are attributable to lobbying activities.

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,041,010OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$372,319DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,668,691BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$13,895,133OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,583,450DepreciationAmt
Book Value$8,311,683BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$13,067,147OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$7,921,549DepreciationAmt
Book Value$5,145,598BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$15,125,972TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescDue from AffiliatesDesc
Book Value$349,240,557BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$349,240,557TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescInvestment-NPA IncDesc
Amt$811,853Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$811,853TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$544,714,735TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$544,714,735RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$5,956,063OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$5,956,063RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$550,670,798TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$544,611,991TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$544,611,991ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$5,956,063OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$5,956,063ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$550,568,054TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2 FIN 48 (ASC 740) footnoteThe Corporation and its related affiliates, except for NorthShore Physician Associates, Inc. (NPA) and Community Care Partners, LLC (CCP), known as NorthShore Exempt Group, have been determined to qualify as a tax-exempt organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC). Most of the income received by NorthShore Exempt Group is exempt from taxation under Section 501(a) of the IRC as income related to the mission of the organization. Accordingly, there is no material provision for income tax for these entities. Some of the income received by exempt entities is subject to taxation as unrelated business income. NorthShore and its subsidiaries file federal income tax returns and returns for various states in the U.S. ASC 740, Income Taxes, requires that realization of an uncertain income tax position is more likely than not (i.e., greater than 50% likelihood of receiving a benefit) before it is recognized in the financial statements as the amount most likely to be realized assuming a review by tax authorities having all relevant information and applying current conventions. This interpretation also clarifies the financial statement classification of tax-related penalties and interest and sets forth new disclosures regarding unrecognized tax benefits. No amount was recorded for the years ended September 30, 2018 or 2017. For the year ended September 30, 2018, the Corporation has a net operating loss carryforward of $8,642,741, which generated assets of $2,463,613. These assets are offset by a valuation allowance of $1,020,271. For the year ended September 30, 2017, the Corporation has a net operating loss carryforward of $9,493,513, which generated assets of $3,823,037. These assets are offset by a valuation allowance of $2,379,695.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4(b) Other revenues in form 990 not in audited financial statementsInternal support - 3989047 Internal support - 180823 Internal support - 1786193
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4(b) Other expenses in form 990 not in audited financial statementsInternal support - 3989047 Internal support - 180823 Internal support - 1786193

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (7 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
Central America and the Caribbean00Program ServicesMedical Conferences$5,992
Central America and the Caribbean00Program ServicesMedical Services$1,638
East Asia and the Pacific00Program ServicesMedical Conferences$13,484
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)00Program ServicesMedical Conferences$31,670
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)00Program ServicesMedical Supplies$4,975
North America (Canada & Mexico only)00Program ServicesMedical Conferences$16,754
North America (Canada & Mexico only)00Program ServicesMedical Supplies$20,303
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continuation Total Office0ContinuationTotalOfficeCnt
Continuation Total Employee0ContinuationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$94,816SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$94,816TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpfalseTransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipfalseForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CofalsePassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipfalseForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
NorthShore University HealthSystem
1301 Central StreetEvanstonIL60201362167060501(c)(3)$5,956,063General Support
Cancer Wellness Center
215 Revere DriveNorthbrookIL60062363604463501(c)(3)$7,500General Support
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org2Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2 Procedures for monitoring use of grant funds.FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationNorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice Associates (FPA) provides cash assistance to organizations that help support the NorthShore University HealthSystem (NorthShore) mission to "preserve and improve human life." Requests to support an outside organization must be reviewed and approved by the Community Relations Department and NorthShore management to ensure the organization is aligned with NorthShore's and FPA's mission and charitable purpose. FPA also provides cash support to NorthShore. Support to NorthShore is monitored through the FPA budget and reporting procedures for the consolidated financial statements.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgYes (true)CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgYes (true)CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (37 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Theodore Mazzone
Board Chairman and Physician$68,538$734,718$0$67,000$41,107$0$1,449$15,534$2,036$21,829$113,130$839,081$0$0
Karen L Kaul
Board Vice Chairman and Physician$281,337$320,438$100,000$100,000$18,502$0$7,940$9,043$15,621$17,792$423,400$447,273$0$0
Michael S Caplan
Board Past Chairman and Physician$109,378$562,172$0$83,000$14,294$0$2,766$14,217$1,582$8,130$128,020$667,519$0$0
Joseph Golbus
President and Physician$759,659$0$0$877,900$210,228$152,555$56,753$0$27,417$0$1,054,057$1,030,455$313,217$0
Illham Algayed
Director and Physician$189,972$0$17,553$0$46,510$0$15,979$0$16,376$0$286,390$0$0$0
Julian E Bailes
Director and Physician$589,914$1,000,000$0$83,000$42,627$0$6,301$10,682$6,076$10,301$644,918$1,103,983$0$0
Carl Buccellato
Director and Physician$519,775$53,625$155,675$0$36,942$17,679$15,395$1,588$14,846$1,532$742,633$74,424$0$0
Ervin (Woody) Denham
Director and Physician$597,136$56,678$141,772$37,500$43,170$0$15,511$1,472$14,959$1,420$812,548$97,070$0$0
Robert R Edelman
Director and Physician$35,423$826,414$150,000$100,000$56,841$0$2,805$65,441$673$15,707$245,742$1,007,562$0$0
Bernard G Ewigman
Director and Physician$0$440,952$0$8,300$0$0$0$59,345$0$68,293$0$576,890$0$0
Neil Freedman
Director and Physician$405,435$64,980$70,927$9,353$22,543$0$14,637$2,346$28,114$4,506$541,656$81,185$0$0
Gerald P Gallagher
Director$0$742,097$0$870,000$0$5,901$0$422,077$0$34,075$0$2,074,150$0$293,566
Morris S Kharasch
Director and Physician$290,469$59,995$99,655$7,500$8,387$0$14,076$2,907$25,562$5,280$438,149$75,682$0$0
Jason L Koh
Director and Physician$489,696$560,568$439,423$75,000$4,612$0$7,918$9,065$16,658$19,069$958,307$663,702$0$0
Demetrius (Jim) Maraganore
Director and Physician$148,181$459,005$0$62,500$12,375$0$4,145$12,838$7,715$23,897$172,416$558,240$0$0
Frederick E Miller
Director and Physician$16,415$450,880$0$50,000$10,890$0$597$16,386$851$23,382$28,753$540,648$0$0
Mark R Neaman
Director$0$1,261,480$0$1,997,300$0$991,655$0$16,983$0$17,805$0$4,285,223$0$772,225
Sharon Robinson
Director and Physician$236,700$0$9,000$0$33,876$0$16,983$0$4,952$0$301,511$0$0$0
Jorge Saucedo
Director and Physician$589,864$200,000$11,694$20,000$7,412$0$12,683$4,300$26,318$8,924$647,971$233,224$0$0
Richard K Silver
Director and Physician$117,945$755,006$0$83,000$27,426$0$2,295$14,688$3,790$24,262$151,456$876,956$0$0
David Soo
Director and Physician$260,394$112,470$18,153$7,000$39,919$2,829$11,860$5,123$9,693$4,187$340,019$131,609$0$0
Joseph Szokol
Director and Physician$215,997$350,002$250,000$75,000$18,927$0$6,481$10,502$12,971$21,019$504,376$456,523$0$0
Mark S Talamonti
Director and Physician$282,844$937,078$0$150,000$25,147$0$3,938$13,045$7,115$23,574$319,044$1,123,697$0$0
Katharine Yao
Director and Physician$446,178$0$0$7,500$2,607$0$16,983$0$7,510$0$473,278$7,500$0$0
Patricia Leonard
Board Secretary$335,087$0$0$361,400$6,795$0$35,992$0$26,060$0$403,934$361,400$130,267$0
Brian M Schoen
Board Treasurer$0$303,835$0$93,200$0$5,495$0$16,983$0$23,487$0$443,000$0$0
Tyler Bauer
Vice President, Medical Group$171,085$21,405$0$36,200$457$629$12,846$1,607$10,274$1,285$194,662$61,126$0$0
Kelly Eiden
Vice President, Medical Group$214,886$0$0$55,900$693$0$16,983$0$9,621$0$242,183$55,900$0$0
Deborah L Kirkorsky
Vice President, Medical Group$242,084$0$0$63,100$1,521$0$16,983$0$10,379$0$270,967$63,100$0$0
Cory Tabachow
Vice President, Medical Group$207,034$0$0$37,800$620$0$15,440$0$32,651$0$255,745$37,800$0$0
Mark Kevin Bowen
Physician$1,367,262$93,743$0$0$25,158$0$15,893$1,090$30,882$2,117$1,439,195$96,950$0$0
Shakeel A Chowdhry
Physician$914,188$0$619,193$0$3,060$0$16,983$0$16,854$0$1,570,278$0$0$0
Gregg Menaker
Physician$1,346,372$0$107,353$0$7,038$0$16,983$0$38,281$0$1,516,027$0$0$0
Michael Joseph Musacchio Jr
Physician$1,002,906$0$380,528$0$2,662$0$16,983$0$38,227$0$1,441,306$0$0$0
Noam Y Stadlan
Physician$1,042,970$24,995$322,196$6,667$20,408$0$16,586$397$39,844$955$1,442,004$33,014$0$0
Marsha J Miller
Former Board Secretary$0$108,142$0$43,000$10,820$535$0$10,221$0$21,388$10,820$183,286$0$0
Thomas A Victor
Former Board Chairman$201,148$0$93,068$0$29,220$0$16,983$0$28,031$0$368,450$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule J, Part I, Line 3 Arrangement used to establish the top management official's compensationThe President of NorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice Associates is included in the compensation review of NorthShore University HealthSystem. A detailed compensation review of the top 17 executives, including the Chief Executive Officer, is conducted annually. Market data is collected and assessed by an external independent compensation consultant who specializes in compensation consulting within the healthcare industry. The work product from this study is reviewed separately with Board-retained legal counsel. Market data for base and variable compensation is assessed annually for local, regional and national hospitals, integrated delivery systems, and academic medical centers. A detailed total compensation market review is conducted every two years. The market assessment includes assessing job content in order to make appropriate market data comparisons. Specific recommendations are then reviewed, discussed and approved as appropriate with the Compensation Committee of the Board, in session with legal counsel present, in advance of implementation. A detailed compensation review of the 13 Clinical Chairs is also conducted annually. Market data is collected and assessed by an external independent compensation consultant who specializes in compensation consulting for physicians within the healthcare industry. The work product from this study is reviewed separately with Board-retained legal counsel. Market compensation data for each physician's specialized area of training is assessed annually. A detailed total compensation and Fair Market Value review is conducted every two years. Specific recommendations are then reviewed, discussed and approved as appropriate with the Compensation Committee of the Board, in session with legal counsel present, in advance of implementation.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 4b Supplemental nonqualified retirement planThe following individuals participated in a supplemental nonqualified retirement plan and accrued the following benefits: Joseph Golbus, President, NorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice Associates - $329,492, Mark R Neaman, Executive Chairman, NorthShore University HealthSystem - $949,348, Gerald P Gallagher, President and Chief Executive Officer, NorthShore University HealthSystem - $357,442.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 5a Compensation contingent on revenues of the organizationCertain physicians receive bonuses based on a percentage of their individual collections. The revenues are received by NorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice Associates.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 6a Compensation contingent on net earnings of the organizationCertain physicians receive bonuses based on their individual net earnings or the net earnings of their practice group. The net earnings are received by NorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice Associates.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (2 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
Jacqueline D David
Family Member - Theodore Mazzone$153,382Employmentfalse
Roberta Frigerio
Family Member - Demetrius (Jim) Maraganore$118,851Employmentfalse

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part III, Line 1 Organization's MissionNorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice Associates follows the mission of NorthShore University HealthSystem (NorthShore). The core mission of NorthShore University HealthSystem is to "preserve and improve human life." This mission will be achieved through the provision of superior clinical care, academic excellence, and innovative research. NorthShore is a not-for-profit organization principally formed to provide quality healthcare services for the communities it serves. The delivery of healthcare services is provided in a wide range of inpatient and ambulatory healthcare settings, community-wide, employing modern technology and expertise. Support for qualified patients who may not be able to pay the entire cost of their care is a part of the organization's commitment. In support of its primary mission of patient care, the organization engages in a wide range of academic activities in medical education and research. This statement recognizes the Board of Directors' responsibility to maintain the organization's viability to meet its long-term commitment to the communities it serves. It further recognizes the responsibility to maintain technologically current assets for this purpose. This includes the cultivation and development of our physicians, graduate medical students, employees, physical plant, equipment and other resources to assure orderly growth of our services.
Form 990, Part III, Line 4a Program Service Description - Patient CareNorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice Associates (FPA) is being operated exclusively for charitable, educational, and scientific purposes within the meaning of section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. FPA conducts health care and health care related activities which support and benefit the operation of NorthShore University HealthSystem (NorthShore). NorthShore is a comprehensive, fully integrated, healthcare delivery system that serves the Chicago region. NorthShore includes four Hospitals: Evanston Hospital, Glenbrook Hospital, Highland Park Hospital, and Skokie Hospital. NorthShore is the sole corporate member of FPA, and the NorthShore President and Chief Executive Officer is a member of the Board of Directors of FPA. In order to increase the efficiency and quality of health care NorthShore provides, FPA was organized to serve as an integral part of its health care mission and activities. FPA represents more than 900 physicians with over 130 offices in virtually every specialty all on staff at the hospitals of NorthShore. FPA physicians provide professional health care services for patients of NorthShore, as well as conduct medical education and research activities on behalf of NorthShore.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15 Process to Establish Compensation of Top Official and Other EmployeesThe President and officers of NorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice Associates are included in the compensation review of NorthShore University HealthSystem. A detailed compensation review of the top 17 executives, including the Chief Executive Officer, is conducted annually. Market data is collected and assessed by an external independent compensation consultant who specializes in compensation consulting within the healthcare industry. The work product from this study is reviewed separately with Board-retained legal counsel. Market data for base and variable compensation is assessed annually for local, regional and national hospitals, integrated delivery systems, and academic medical centers. A detailed total compensation market review is conducted every two years. The market assessment includes assessing job content in order to make appropriate market data comparisons. Specific recommendations are then reviewed, discussed and approved as appropriate with the Compensation Committee of the Board, in session with legal counsel present, in advance of implementation. A detailed compensation review of the 13 Clinical Chairs is also conducted annually. Market data is collected and assessed by an external independent compensation consultant who specializes in compensation consulting for physicians within the healthcare industry. The work product from this study is reviewed separately with Board-retained legal counsel. Market compensation data for each physician's specialized area of training is assessed annually. A detailed total compensation and Fair Market Value review is conducted every two years. Specific recommendations are then reviewed, discussed and approved as appropriate with the Compensation Committee of the Board, in session with legal counsel present, in advance of implementation.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 2 Family/business relationships amongst interested personsIllham Algayed, Julian E Bailes, Tyler Bauer, Carl Buccellato, Michael S Caplan, Ervin (Woody) Denham, Robert R Edelman, Kelly Eiden, Neil Freedman, Gerald P Gallagher, Joseph Golbus, Karen L Kaul, Morris S Kharasch, Deborah L Kirkorsky, Jason L Koh, Patricia Leonard, Demetrius (Jim) Maraganore, Theodore Mazzone, Frederick E Miller, Mark R Neaman, Sharon Robinson, Jorge Saucedo, Brian M Schoen, Richard K Silver, David Soo, Joseph Szokol, Cory Tabachow, Mark S Talamonti, Katharine Yao - Business relationship, Morris S Kharasch, Theodore Mazzone, Mark R Neaman, Brian M Schoen, Mark S Talamonti - Business relationship, Ervin (Woody) Denham, Karen L Kaul, Deborah L Kirkorsky - Business relationship
Form 990, Part VI, Line 6 Classes of members or stockholdersThe sole member of NorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice Associates is NorthShore University HealthSystem, a not-for-profit corporation.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7a Members or stockholders electing members of governing bodyThe Board of Directors of NorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice Associates is appointed by NorthShore University HealthSystem.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7b Decisions requiring approval by members or stockholdersThe election of the NorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice Associates (FPA) Chairman of the Board, the Vice Chairman, and the President are subject to the approval of NorthShore University HealthSystem (NorthShore). In addition, the compensation of the FPA officers must be approved by NorthShore. Any amendments to the FPA bylaws must also be approved by NorthShore.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b Review of form 990 by governing bodyThe NorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice Associates Form 990 was reviewed by executive management and an outside accounting firm prior to filing.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c Conflict of interest policyNorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice Associates follows the Conflict of Interest Policy and procedures of NorthShore University HealthSystem. All officers, directors and key employees are required to report any potential or actual conflicts of interest as they arise, promptly and in writing, to the Chief Compliance Officer. In addition, on an annual basis, the Chief Compliance Officer requires all officers, directors, and key employees to complete, sign and return a Conflict of Interest Disclosure Statement requiring information about any and all potential or actual conflicts. Timely and accurate completion of the Statement is mandatory, and completed Statements must be returned to the Chief Compliance Officer within 15 days. Any disclosures included on the Statements are reviewed and acted upon as necessary by the Chief Compliance Officer and the Corporate Compliance Committee.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19 Required documents available to the publicThe NorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice Associates (FPA) governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements are available to the public upon request. The FPA financial statements are also available to the public through the Illinois Attorney General's Office website as part of the state tax return filings.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
NorthShore University HealthSystem
1301 Central StreetEvanstonIL60201362167060HealthcareIL501(c)(3)3NAfalse
Radiation Medicine Institute
1301 Central StreetEvanstonIL60201363815543HealthcareIL501(c)(3)Type INorthShore University HealthSystemYes (true)

Id Related Org Txbl Partnership IdRelatedOrgTxblPartnershipGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtPredominant Income TypePredominantIncomeTypeTxt
Ravine Way Surgery Center LLC
2401 Ravine WayGlenviewIL60025201245279HealthcareILNAN/A
HPMOB Limited Partnership
1301 Central StreetEvanstonIL60201363497502HealthcareILNAN/A

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtEntity TypeEntityTypeTxtShare Of Total IncomeShareOfTotalIncomeAmtShare Of EOY AssetsShareOfEOYAssetsAmtOwnershipOwnershipPctControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndLegal Domicile Foreign CountryLegalDomicileForeignCountryCd
NorthShore Physician Associates Inc
1301 Central StreetEvanstonIL60201363648026HealthcareILNorthShore University HealthSystem Faculty Practice AssociatesC Corporation$405,987$11,246,9311Yes (true)
Community Care Partners LLC
1301 Central StreetEvanstonIL60201471374487HealthcareILNorthShore Physician Associates IncC Corporation-$468,528$01Yes (true)
NorthShore Physician Associates Value Based Care LLC
1301 Central StreetEvanstonIL60201822268872HealthcareILNorthShore Physician Associates IncC Corporation$0$01Yes (true)
NorthShore University HealthSystem Insurance International
980419452InsuranceNAC CorporationfalseCJ
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesfalseSharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingfalsePaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (true)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgYes (true)TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (8 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
NorthShore University HealthSystem
B$5,956,063FMV
NorthShore University HealthSystem
C$89,626,960FMV
NorthShore University HealthSystem
K$21,419,219FMV
NorthShore University HealthSystem
P$23,593,921Cost
NorthShore University HealthSystem
Q$58,445,474Cost
NorthShore University HealthSystem
R$448,370,162FMV
NorthShore University HealthSystem
S$426,831,988FMV
NorthShore Physician Associates Inc
S$35,149,433FMV