STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL: Form 990, tax year 2018

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL (EIN 46-4249555)
Tax period
2018-01-01 to 2018-12-31
Filed
2019-08-15
IRS object ID
201912279349302851
Schema version
2018v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2019-08-15T14:49:00-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2018-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN822624857PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1GRAY & GRAY AND ASSOCIATES CPAS PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11 MAIN STREET SUITE 101AddressLine1Txt
CityCANTONCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP136171277ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2018-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN464249555EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1GOUVERNEUR HOSPITALBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlGOUVBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3152871000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line177 WEST BARNEY STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityGOUVERNEURCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP13642ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonERIC BURCHPersonNm
Person TitleCOOPersonTitleTxt
Phone3152871000PhoneNum
Signature2019-08-13SignatureDt

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJOHN J GRAY JR CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00076464PTIN
Phone3153862925PhoneNum
Preparation2019-08-13PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address167.68.16.49IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2019-08-15IPDt
IP Tm14:49:00IPTm
IP TimezoneCDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id45E859579D235099797C2829F05D4FE7DFFF4FF6AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdFD35D3361013BECD5074789C6704DD616CC57F25AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2018TaxYr
Build TS2019-02-21 02:37:17ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerERIC BURCHPrincipalOfficerNm
Gross Receipts$23,837,080GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.GVNRHOSPITAL.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2013FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNYLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionOUR MISSION IS TO PROVIDE SKILLED, COMPASSIONATE, COST-EFFECTIVE CARE THAT PROMOTES WELLNESS AND MEETS THE COMMUNITY'S HEALTHCARE NEEDS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body11VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee254TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers4TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$19,490NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$77,149PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$519,308CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$18,347,130PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$21,223,585CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$34,695PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$34,456CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,958,650PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,733,716CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$20,417,624PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$23,511,065CYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$12,250,672PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$13,392,481CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$8,322,595PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$9,139,405CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$20,573,267PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$22,531,886CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$155,643PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$979,179CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$12,847,542TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$14,515,079TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$8,795,533TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$8,921,591TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$4,052,009NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$5,593,488NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionOUR MISSION IS TO PROVIDE SKILLED, COMPASSIONATE, COST-EFFECTIVE CARE THAT PROMOTES WELLNESS AND MEETS THE COMMUNITY'S HEALTHCARE NEEDS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcYes (true)SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$12,677,390ExpenseAmt
Revenue$33,583,594RevenueAmt
DescGOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL HAS A TOTAL OF 25 LICENSED BEDS, COMPRISED OF SWING, ALC, AND MED-SURG WHICH IN 2018 INCLUDED DETOX. IN 2018, THERE WERE TOTAL PATIENT DAYS OF 4,284, 304 OBSERVATION CASES AND 708 DISCHARGES.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$2,023,764ExpenseAmt
Revenue$8,276,528RevenueAmt
DescIN 2018, THE ER VISITS INCREASED APPROXIMATELY 4.79% FROM 9,371 IN 2017 TO 9,820 IN 2018.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$1,221,321ExpenseAmt
Revenue$1,263,497RevenueAmt
DescTHERE WAS A DECLINE IN THE USE OF THE HOSPITAL CLINICS. THERE WERE 9,277 VISITS IN 2018, COMPARED TO 9,664 IN 2017, ROUGHLY A 4% DECREASE.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$944,743ExpenseAmt
Revenue$2,002,482RevenueAmt
DescTHERE WAS STEADY GROWTH IN SURGERIES PERFORMED IN 2018. THERE WERE 704 SURGERIES IN 2018, COMPARED TO 642 IN 2017, ROUGHLY AN 10% INCREASE.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$944,743TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$2,002,482TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$16,867,218TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (true)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (true)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalYes (true)OperateHospitalInd
Audited Financial Stmt AttYes (true)AuditedFinancialStmtAttInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntYes (true)BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document60IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee254EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Form8899 FiledindfalseForm8899Filedind
Form1098 C FiledfalseForm1098CFiledInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members11GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (true)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (true)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKELLY CICCHINELLIPersonNm
Phone3152871000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line177 WEST BARNEY STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityGOUVERNEURCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP13642ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (19 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
MICHAEL BURGESS
CHAIRPERSON1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MEGAN WHITTON
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CAROLYN PISTOLESI
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROGER COOK DVM
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANDREW LEONARD
VICE CHAIR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
LAUREN FRENCH
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANDREW WILLIAMS MD
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK BRACKETT
SECRETARY/TR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHRISTINE BETRUS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KURT HALLIDAY
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RYAN SCHERMERHORN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID BENDER CEO
CEO40.00Yes (X)$256,619$0$20,189
KELLY CICCHINELLI
CONTROLLER32.00Yes (X)$0$108,863$21,68718.00
ERIC BURCH
COO8.00$0$282,634$14,15450.00Yes (X)
NICOLE L WEBER MD
PHYSICIAN40.00$380,715$0$14,134Yes (X)
ALICE LOVING MD
ANESTHESIOLO40.00$325,951$0$29,143Yes (X)
ISMENE N MARAVEGIAS MD
PHYSICIAN40.00$253,361$0$22,338Yes (X)
RICHARD CORCORAN RPA
PHYSICIAN AS40.00$150,666$0$22,483Yes (X)
MICHAEL A KIGER RPA
PHYSICIAN AS40.00$138,393$0$15,731Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,505,705TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$391,497TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$159,859TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K12IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
CANTON-POTSDAM HOSPITAL
50 LEROY STREETPOTSDAMNY13676STAFFING$2,299,318
DELPHI HOSPITALIST SERVICES LLC
1160 CHILI AVE SUITE 200ROCHESTERNY14624HOSPITALIST$903,160
THE PIKE COMPANY INC
1 CIRCLE STEETROCHESTERNY14607CONTRACTOR$358,556
ENI MECHANICAL INC
39 SOUTH GORDON STREETGOUVERNEURNY13642CONTRACTOR$259,073
NCC SYSTEMS INC
25646 NYS TR3WATERTOWNNY13601CONTRACTOR$112,755
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K5CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$519,308AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$519,308TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
NET PATIENT REVENUE623000$20,270,163$20,270,163
VAP GRANT623000$953,422$953,422
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$21,223,585TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$40,028TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$40,028ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$221,551RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$289,437RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real-$67,886RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$67,886TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$67,886ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$29,656SecuritiesAmt
Other$1,350OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$36,578SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$6,922SecuritiesAmt
Other$1,350OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$5,572TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$5,572ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
CPH BILLABLE$922,886$922,886
340B PROGRAM$497,414$497,414
OTHER$379,986$379,986

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,316TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,316RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,801,602OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$23,511,065TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$23,025,187RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion-$33,430ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$471,364TotalAmt
Program Services$353,523ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$117,841ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,662,828TotalAmt
Program Services$7,247,121ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,415,707ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$368,520TotalAmt
Program Services$276,390ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$92,130ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,171,635TotalAmt
Program Services$1,628,726ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$542,909ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$718,134TotalAmt
Program Services$538,601ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$179,533ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$106,588TotalAmt
Management And General$106,588ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$54,686TotalAmt
Management And General$54,686ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,309TotalAmt
Management And General$4,309ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$48,026TotalAmt
Program Services$36,019ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$12,007ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$398,015TotalAmt
Program Services$331,881ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$66,134ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$33,351TotalAmt
Program Services$25,013ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,338ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,354TotalAmt
Program Services$14,515ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,839ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$158,734TotalAmt
Program Services$119,050ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$39,684ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,156,304TotalAmt
Program Services$964,174ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$192,130ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$270,747TotalAmt
Program Services$225,759ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$44,988ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
PURCHASED SERVICES$3,678,123$2,758,592$919,531
SUPPLIES$1,483,405$1,112,554$370,851
EQUIPMENT RENTAL$992,227$800,859$191,368
MISCELLANEOUS$314,374$235,781$78,593

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$421,162TotalAmt
Program Services$198,660ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$222,502ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,531,886TotalAmt
Program Services$16,867,218ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,664,668ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$200,618BOYAmt
EOY$926,842EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$552,113BOYAmt
EOY$1,026,775EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,679,338BOYAmt
EOY$2,489,308EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$373,848BOYAmt
EOY$427,859EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$137,841BOYAmt
EOY$186,714EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$10,986,628LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$3,755,699LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,204,386BOYAmt
EOY$7,230,929EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$735,518BOYAmt
EOY$546,506EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,963,880BOYAmt
EOY$1,680,146EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,847,542BOYAmt
EOY$14,515,079EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,275,015BOYAmt
EOY$1,421,980EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,649BOYAmt
EOY$404,206EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,507,869BOYAmt
EOY$7,095,405EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,795,533BOYAmt
EOY$8,921,591EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,517,320BOYAmt
EOY$4,047,126EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,032,317BOYAmt
EOY$43,990EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,502,372BOYAmt
EOY$1,502,372EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,052,009BOYAmt
EOY$5,593,488EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,847,542BOYAmt
EOY$14,515,079EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$979,179ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$562,300OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
HospitalYes (X)HospitalInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
VolunteersfalseVolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or ManagementfalsePaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media AdvertisementsfalseMediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings MembersfalseMailingsMembersInd
Publications Or BroadcastfalsePublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other OrganizationsfalseGrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact LegislatorsfalseDirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies DemonstrationsfalseRalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesYes (true)OtherActivitiesInd
Other Activities$18,738OtherActivitiesAmt
Total Lobbying Expenditures$18,738TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c3falseNotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE C, PART IVFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationGOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL, THROUGH ITS MEMBERSHIP OR FEES PAID IN 2018 TO THE FOLLOWING ORGANIZATIONS, INCURRED 18,738 IN LOBBYING EXPENSES: 4,719: IROQUOIS HEALTHCARE ALLIANCE-FEDERAL AND STATE ADVOCACY 6,012: HANYS ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP DUES-FEDERAL AND STATE ADVOCACY 8,007: AMERICAN HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP DUES-FEDERAL AND STATE ADVOCACYExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$2,534,689BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$626,520InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$1,908,169EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$2,412,779BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$121,910InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$2,534,689EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,637,555BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,806,389ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$38,244InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,069,409OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$2,412,779EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,672,801BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$61,715ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$35,323InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$61,638OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$1,637,555EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$54,334BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,878,461ContributionsAmt
Other Expenditures$217,009OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$42,985AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$1,672,801EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.72000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.28000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$647,398OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$647,398BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,829,463OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$864,013DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,965,450BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,372,998OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,891,686DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,481,312BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$136,769OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$136,769BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$7,230,929TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
FUNDS HELD IN TRUST BY OTHERS$991,136
OTHER NOTES AND LOANS REC (NET)$405,951
DUE FROM AFFILIATES$283,059
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$1,680,146TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ASSET RETIREMENT OBLIGATION$4,053,393
DUE TO AFFILIATES$2,581,608
EST THIRD-PARTY PAYOR SETTLEMENTS$460,404
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$7,095,405TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$23,780,261TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$289,437OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$289,437RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$23,490,824RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$20,241OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$20,241RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$23,511,065TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$22,821,323TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$289,437OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$289,437ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$22,531,886ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$22,531,886TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 2, PART V, LINE 4THE ORGANIZATION USES THE INCOME FROM THE ENDOWMENT FUNDS FOR GENERAL OPERATING PURPOSES AND LAWFUL PURPOSES AT THE DISCRETION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 3, PART XTHE SYSTEM AND ITS AFFILIATES ARE NOT-FOR-PROFIT CORPORATIONS AS DESCRIBED IN SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (THE CODE) AND ARE EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES ON RELATED INCOME PURSUANT TO SECTION 501(A) OF THE CODE. THE SYSTEM AND AFFILIATES RECOGNIZE THE EFFECT OF INCOME TAX POSITIONS ONLY IF THOSE POSITIONS ARE MORE LIKELY THAN NOT OF BEING SUSTAINED. RECOGNIZED INCOME TAX POSITIONS ARE MEASURED AT THE LARGEST AMOUNT THAT IS GREATER THAN FIFTY PERCENT LIKELY OF BEING REALIZED UPON SETTLEMENT. CHANGES IN RECOGNITION IN MEASUREMENT ARE REFLECTED IN THE PERIOD IN WHICH THE CHANGE IN JUDGMENT OCCURS. THE SYSTEM AND AFFILIATES DID NOT RECOGNIZE THE EFFECT OF ANY UNCERTAIN INCOME TAX POSITIONS IN EITHER 2018 OR 2017. ON DECEMBER 22, 2017, THE PRESIDENT SIGNED INTO LAW H.R. 1, ORIGINALLY KNOWN AS THE TAX CUTS AND JOBS ACT. THE NEW LAW (PUBLIC LAW NO. 115-97) INCLUDES SUBSTANTIAL CHANGES TO THE TAXATION OF INDIVIDUALS, BUSINESSES, MULTINATIONAL ENTERPRISES AND OTHERS. IN ADDITION TO MANY GENERALLY APPLICABLE PROVISIONS, THE LAW CONTAINS SEVERAL SPECIFIC PROVISIONS THAT RESULT IN CHANGES TO THE TAX TREATMENT OF TAX-EXEMPT ORGANIZATIONS AND THEIR DONORS. THE SYSTEM HAS REVIEWED THESE PROVISIONS AND THE POTENTIAL IMPACT AND CONCLUDED THE ENACTMENT OF H.R. 1 DOES NOT HAVE A MATERIAL EFFECT ON THE OPERATIONS OF THE ORGANIZATION.
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 2DRENT EXPENSES 289,437
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 4BNON OPERATING GAINS/LOSSES 20,241
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 2DRENT EXPENSES 289,437

Schedule H IRS990ScheduleH

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Financial Assistance PolicyYes (true)FinancialAssistancePolicyInd
Written PolicyYes (true)WrittenPolicyInd
All Hospitals PolicyYes (X)AllHospitalsPolicyInd
FPG Reference Free CareYes (true)FPGReferenceFreeCareInd

Free Care Oth Percentage FreeCareOthPercentageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
OtherYes (X)OtherInd
Free Care Other2.010000000000FreeCareOtherPct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
FPG Reference Discounted CareYes (true)FPGReferenceDiscountedCareInd
Percent300Yes (X)Percent300Ind
Free Care Medically IndigentYes (true)FreeCareMedicallyIndigentInd
Financial Assistance BudgetYes (true)FinancialAssistanceBudgetInd
Expenses Exceed BudgetfalseExpensesExceedBudgetInd
Annual Community Bnft ReportYes (true)AnnualCommunityBnftReportInd
Report Publically AvailableYes (true)ReportPublicallyAvailableInd

Financial Assistance At Cost Typ FinancialAssistanceAtCostTyp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$31,449TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue-$1,889DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$33,338NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00150TotalExpensePct

Unreimbursed Medicaid UnreimbursedMedicaidGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$6,822,704TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$3,604,680DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$3,218,024NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.14280TotalExpensePct

Total Financial Assistance Typ TotalFinancialAssistanceTyp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$6,854,153TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$3,602,791DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$3,251,362NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.14430TotalExpensePct

Community Health Services CommunityHealthServicesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$15,362TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$15,362NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00070TotalExpensePct

Health Professions Education HealthProfessionsEducationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$56,350TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$56,350NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00250TotalExpensePct

Cash And In Kind Contributions CashAndInKindContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$437TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$437NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt

Total Other Benefits TotalOtherBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$72,149TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$72,149NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00320TotalExpensePct

Total Community Benefits TotalCommunityBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$6,926,302TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$3,602,791DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$3,323,511NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.14750TotalExpensePct

Workforce Development WorkforceDevelopmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$8,185TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$8,185NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00040TotalExpensePct

Total Communtity Building Acty TotalCommuntityBuildingActyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$8,185TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$8,185NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00040TotalExpensePct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bad Debt Expense ReportedYes (true)BadDebtExpenseReportedInd
Bad Debt Expense$1,061,625BadDebtExpenseAmt
Bad Debt Expense Attributable$125,259BadDebtExpenseAttributableAmt
Reimbursed By Medicare$4,834,299ReimbursedByMedicareAmt
Cost Of Care Reimbursed By Medcr$6,792,093CostOfCareReimbursedByMedcrAmt
Medicare Surplus Or Shortfall-$1,957,794MedicareSurplusOrShortfallAmt

Costing Methodology Used CostingMethodologyUsedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cost To Charge RatioYes (X)CostToChargeRatioInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Debt Collection PolicyYes (true)WrittenDebtCollectionPolicyInd
Financial Assistance PrvsnYes (true)FinancialAssistancePrvsnInd
Hospital Facilities1HospitalFacilitiesCnt

Hospital Facilities HospitalFacilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility1FacilityNum

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1GOUVERNEUR HOSPITALBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line177 WEST BARNEY STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityGOUVERNEURCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP13642ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Website AddressWW.GVNRHOSPITAL.ORG/ABOUT-OUR-HOSPITALWebsiteAddressTxt
Licensed HospitalYes (X)LicensedHospitalInd
General Medical And SurgicalYes (X)GeneralMedicalAndSurgicalInd
Critical Access HospitalYes (X)CriticalAccessHospitalInd
Emergency Room24 HrsYes (X)EmergencyRoom24HrsInd

Hospital Fclty Policies Prctc HospitalFcltyPoliciesPrctcGrp

Hospital Facility Name HospitalFacilityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1GOUVERNEUR HOSPITALBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility1FacilityNum
First Licensed CY Or PYfalseFirstLicensedCYOrPYInd
Tax Exempt Hospital CY Or PYfalseTaxExemptHospitalCYOrPYInd
CHNA ConductedYes (true)CHNAConductedInd
Community DefinitionYes (X)CommunityDefinitionInd
Community DemographicsYes (X)CommunityDemographicsInd
Existing ResourcesYes (X)ExistingResourcesInd
How Data ObtainedYes (X)HowDataObtainedInd
Community Health NeedsYes (X)CommunityHealthNeedsInd
Other Health IssuesYes (X)OtherHealthIssuesInd
Community Hlth Needs Id ProcessYes (X)CommunityHlthNeedsIdProcessInd
Consulting ProcessYes (X)ConsultingProcessInd
Prior CHNA ImpactYes (X)PriorCHNAImpactInd
OtherYes (X)OtherInd
CHNA Conducted16CHNAConductedYr
Take Into Account Others InputYes (true)TakeIntoAccountOthersInputInd
CHNA Conducted With Other FcltsYes (true)CHNAConductedWithOtherFcltsInd
CHNA Conducted With Non FcltsYes (true)CHNAConductedWithNonFcltsInd
CHNA Report Widely AvailableYes (true)CHNAReportWidelyAvailableInd
Rpt Available On Own WebsiteYes (X)RptAvailableOnOwnWebsiteInd
Own Website URLWW.GVNRHOSPITAL.ORG/ABOUT-OUR-HOSPITALOwnWebsiteURLTxt
Implementation Strategy AdoptYes (true)ImplementationStrategyAdoptInd
Implementation Strategy Adpt16ImplementationStrategyAdptYr
Strategy Posted WebsiteYes (true)StrategyPostedWebsiteInd
Strategy Website URLWWW.GVNRHOSPITAL.ORG/ABOUT-OUR-HOSPITAStrategyWebsiteURLTxt
Strategy AttachedfalseStrategyAttachedInd
Organization Incur Excise TaxfalseOrganizationIncurExciseTaxInd
Elig Criteria ExplainedYes (true)EligCriteriaExplainedInd
FPG Family Incm Lmt Free DscntYes (X)FPGFamilyIncmLmtFreeDscntInd
FPG Family Incm Lmt Free Care201.000000000000FPGFamilyIncmLmtFreeCarePct
FPG Family Incm Lmt Dscnt Care300.000000000000FPGFamilyIncmLmtDscntCarePct
Explained BasisYes (true)ExplainedBasisInd
App Financial Asst ExplnYes (true)AppFinancialAsstExplnInd
Described InfoYes (X)DescribedInfoInd
Described Suprt DocYes (X)DescribedSuprtDocInd
Provided Hospital ContactYes (X)ProvidedHospitalContactInd
Includes Publicity MeasuresYes (true)IncludesPublicityMeasuresInd
FAP Available On WebsiteYes (X)FAPAvailableOnWebsiteInd
FAP Available On Website URLWWW.GVNRHOSPITAL.ORG/ABOUT-OUR-HOSPITAFAPAvailableOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP App Available On WebsiteYes (X)FAPAppAvailableOnWebsiteInd
FAP App Available On Website URLWWW.GVNRHOSPITAL.ORG/ABOUT-OUR-HOSPITAFAPAppAvailableOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP Summary On WebsiteYes (X)FAPSummaryOnWebsiteInd
FAP Summary On Website URLWWW.GVNRHOSPITAL.ORG/ABOUT-OUR-HOSPITAFAPSummaryOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP Avlbl On Request No ChargeYes (X)FAPAvlblOnRequestNoChargeInd
FAP App Avlbl On Request No ChrgYes (X)FAPAppAvlblOnRequestNoChrgInd
FAP Sum Avlbl On Request No ChrgYes (X)FAPSumAvlblOnRequestNoChrgInd
Notified FAP Copy Bill DisplayYes (X)NotifiedFAPCopyBillDisplayInd
FAP Actions On NonpaymentYes (true)FAPActionsOnNonpaymentInd
Permit Report To Credit AgencyYes (X)PermitReportToCreditAgencyInd
Permit Legal Judicial ProcessYes (X)PermitLegalJudicialProcessInd
Collection ActivitiesfalseCollectionActivitiesInd
Provided Written NoticeYes (X)ProvidedWrittenNoticeInd
Made Effort Orally NotifyYes (X)MadeEffortOrallyNotifyInd
Nondis Emergency Care PolicyYes (true)NondisEmergencyCarePolicyInd
Look Back MedicareYes (X)LookBackMedicareInd
Amounts Generally BilledfalseAmountsGenerallyBilledInd
Gross ChargesfalseGrossChargesInd

Supplemental Information SupplementalInformationGrp (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FACILITY 1, GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL - PART V, LINE 3EGOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL'S CHNA IDENTIFIED CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND MANAGEMENT AND MENTAL, EMOTIONAL, AND BEHAVIORAL (MEB) HEALTH AS THE TWO HIGHEST PRIORITY AREAS NEEDING TO BE ADDRESSED.
FACILITY 1, GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL - PART V, LINE 3JPLEASE REFERENCE THE ABOVE REQUIRED DESCRIPTIONS, PART V SECTION B, LINES 5 AND 11.
FACILITY 1, GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL - PART V, LINE 5GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL'S (GH) MOST RECENT CHNA WAS CONDUCTED BY ITS NEW YORK STATE DSRIP PPS, ADIRONDACK HEALTH INSTITUTE, AS WELL AS ITS LOCAL PARTNERS, THE ST. LAWRENCE COUNTY PUBLIC HEALTH DEPARTMENT AND THE ST. LAWRENCE HEALTH INSTITUTE. GH PARTICIPATES AT THE BOARD LEVEL ON THE ST. LAWRENCE HEALTH INITIATIVE, A NOT-FOR-PROFIT ORGANIZATION COORDINATING HEALTH ASSESSMENT AMONG ALL AREA HEALTH FACILITIES. THIS ORGANIZATION AND OUR DSRIP PPS PROVIDE FORMAL ONGOING COORDINATION OF NEEDS ASSESSMENT AND PROGRAMMING. THE CHNA WAS COMPLETED IN 2016 AND TAKES INTO ACCOUNT INPUT FROM PERSONS REPRESENTING THE COMMUNITY PRIMARILY THROUGH A TELEPHONE AND WEB SURVEY CONDUCTED IN THE SUMMER OF 2016 WITH 679 RESPONDENT RESIDENTS OF THE THREE-COUNTY REGION OF ST. LAWRENCE, LEWIS, AND JEFFERSON. GH ALSO SEEKS INPUT FORMALLY THROUGH AN ANNUAL FORUM WITH COMMUNITY LEADERS FROM ALL ACROSS OUR PRIMARY AND SECONDARY SERVICE AREAS, FREQUENT MEETINGS WITH PUBLIC HEALTH OFFICIALS, LOCAL COLLEGE PRESIDENTS, THE LEADERS OF OTHER AREA HEALTH FACILITIES, AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS. ADDITIONAL INPUT WAS GATHERED FROM HOSPITAL AND HOSPITAL SYSTEM BOARD MEMBERS REPRESENTING PUBLIC HEALTH, DENTISTRY, HOSPICE AND PALLIATIVE CARE, VETERINARY HEALTH, AREA COLLEGES, AND AREA BUSINESSES. IN 2014, GH BECAME AFFILIATED WITH THE ST. LAWRENCE HEALTH SYSTEM PARTNERING WITH CANTON-POTSDAM HOSPITAL. THE COMMUNITY SERVICE INITIATIVES ARE COLLABORATED WITHIN AND TOGETHER UNDER THIS UMBRELLA SYSTEM. IN 2018, THE FOUR-YEAR CYCLE CONCLUDED AND STATUS REPORTS WERE SENT TO THE NYS DOH FOR FINAL SUBMISSION OF COMPLIANCE/SUCCESSES AND CHALLENGES. CURRENTLY, THE NEW CHNA IS UNDER WAY BY THE NEW YORK STATE DSRIP PPS, ADIRONDACK HEALTH INSTITUTE AND THE FORT DRUM REGIONAL HEALTH PLANNING ORGANIZATION (FDRHPO), ALONG WITH THE LOCAL PARTNERS, ST. LAWRENCE COUNTY PUBLIC HEALTH DEPARTMENT AND THE HEALTH INITIATIVE FOR THE NEXT 3 YEARS- IMPACTING THE CURRENT (NEW) FOUR-YEAR CYCLE.
FACILITY 1, GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL - PART V, LINE 6APLEASE SEE LINE 5 EXPLANATION ABOVE. GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL IS AFFILIATED WITH CANTON-POTSDAM HOSPITAL, AND COMPLETED THE CHNA WITH THE ENTITIES NOTED ABOVE.
FACILITY 1, GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL - PART V, LINE 6B2. NEEDS ASSESSMENT: PLEASE REFERENCE THE ABOVE REQUIRED DESCRIPTIONS, PART V SECTION B, LINES 5 AND 11. 3. PATIENT EDUCATION OF ELIGIBILITY FOR ASSISTANCE: THE ORGANIZATION CONSPICUOUSLY POSTS ITS FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE POLICY IN EACH REGISTRATION/RECEPTION AREA. PATIENTS ARE ENCOURAGED TO APPLY FOR ASSISTANCE AND GIVEN CONTACT INFORMATION AT THESE AREAS. IN ADDITION, ANY PATIENT THAT IS UNINSURED AND ADMITTED TO THE HOSPITAL FOR CARE IS PHYSICALLY VISITED BY A FINANCIAL COUNSELOR, AND AN EXPLANATION OF OUR PROGRAM IS MADE ALONG WITH AN APPLICATION. PATIENTS REQUESTING ASSISTANCE IN THE COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION ARE GIVEN SUCH. ANY INFORMATION REQUIRED FOR APPLICATION FOR THE NYS MEDICAID APPLICATION PROCESS IS COLLECTED BY OUR FINANCIAL CASE MANAGERS AND COMMUNICATED TO THE APPROPRIATE CASE MANAGERS AT OUR COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES FOR DETERMINATION OF MEDICAID ELIGIBILITY 4.COMMUNITY INFORMATION: GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL IS LOCATED IN ST. LAWRENCE COUNTY IN UPSTATE NEW YORK. ST. LAWRENCE COUNTY, THE LARGEST COUNTY IN NEW YORK, IS LOCATED IN THE NORTHERNMOST REACHES OF THE STATE BORDERING ON THE ST. LAWRENCE RIVER AND CANADA. IT IS A RURAL ENVIRONMENT CONSISTING OF 2,685 SQUARE MILES WITH A POPULATION OF APPROXIMATELY 112,000 RESIDENTS. GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL'S PRIMARY SERVICE AREA INCLUDES APPROXIMATELY 58,000 PEOPLE LIVING IN THE COMMUNITIES OF CANTON, HERMON, RICHVILLE, DEKALB JCT., ANTWERP AND SECONDARY SERVICE DEFINED BY THE TOWNS OF EDWARDS, HARRISVILLE AND INDIAN RIVER. THE SECONDARY SERVICE AREA FOR THE HOSPITAL IS PREDOMINANTLY THE REMAINING COMMUNITIES WITHIN ST. LAWRENCE COUNTY WITH SOME RESIDENTS OF THE WESTERN JEFFERSON COUNTY AREA BEING SERVED. 5. PROMOTION OF COMMUNITY HEALTH: GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL HELD MANY COMMUNITY ACTIVITIES TO HELP PROMOTE THE HEALTH OF THE COMMUNITY. SOME OF THESE ACTIVITIES INCLUDE BLOOD DRIVES, SCHOOL EDUCATION ACTIVITIES, BREAST CANCER WALKS, AND LUNCH & LEARNS. THE COMMUNITY LUNCH & LEARNS HELD BY GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL HAD APPROXIMATELY 206 PEOPLE IN ATTENDANCE AND SPOKE TO VARIOUS HEALTH RELATED RISKS AND HOW TO MANAGE THEM. GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL HAD 35 STUDENTS FROM MULTIPLE COLLEGES AND BOCES PROGRAMS SHADOW EMPLOYEES. GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL HELD A "LET'S NOT MEET BY ACCIDENT" PROGRAM FOR 72 STUDENTS TO EDUCATE YOUNG DRIVERS ON THE DANGERS OF DWI AND TEXTING WHILE DRIVING. THE HOSPITAL ALSO WORKS WITH THE LOCAL POLICE DEPARTMENT EACH YEAR AND DOES A PROGRAM CALLED OPERATION SAFE CHILD WHERE YOUNG CHILDREN CAN ATTEND AND HAVE A PHOTO ID PLACED ON RECORD. 6.AFFILIATED HEALTH CARE SYSTEM: ST. LAWRENCE HEALTH SYSTEM, FORMED DECEMBER 5, 2013, IS OPERATED EXCLUSIVELY FOR THE SOLE CHARITABLE PURPOSE OF BENEFITING AND SUPPORTING GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL, CANTON-POTSDAM HOSPITAL AND OTHER CORPORATIONS. AMONG OTHER BENEFITS, THE HEALTH SYSTEM MAY PROVIDE ADVICE AND ASSISTANCE CONCERNING LONG AND SHORT-RANGE PLANNING FOR, AND MONITOR AND PROVIDE ADVICE AND ASSISTANCE TO HELP COORDINATE THE ACTIVITIES OF THE SUPPORTED ORGANIZATION IN ELIMINATING DUPLICATIVE FUNCTIONS; PROVIDE MANAGEMENT CONSULTING ASSISTANCE TO THE SUPPORTED ORGANIZATION TO FURTHER IMPROVE AND ADVANCE HEALTH SERVICES TO THE RESIDENTS OF NEW YORK STATE AND COOPERATE WITH THE SUPPORTING ORGANIZATIONS IN CARRYING OUT THEIR CHARITABLE PURPOSES. 7.STATE FILING OF COMMUNITY BENEFIT REPORT: OUR COMMUNITY BENEFIT REPORT IS FILED ANNUALLY WITH NEW YORK STATE.
FACILITY 1, GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL - PART V, LINE 11GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL'S CHNA IDENTIFIED CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND MANAGEMENT AND MENTAL, EMOTIONAL, AND BEHAVIORAL (MEB) HEALTH AS THE TWO HIGHEST PRIORITY AREAS NEEDING TO BE ADDRESSED. WITHIN THESE AREAS, CHILD AND ADOLESCENT OBESITY, HEART FAILURE, DIABETES, AND COPD WERE IDENTIFIED AS THE MOST PRESSING NEEDS IN CHRONIC DISEASE MANAGEMENT; SUBSTANCE ABUSE AND SUICIDE PREVENTION WERE IDENTIFIED AS TOP NEEDS IN THE MEB HEALTH CATEGORY. THESE PRIORITY AREAS DOVETAIL WITH THE HOSPITAL'S STRATEGIC PLAN, THE PRIORITIES OF THE NEW YORK STATE DSRIP PPS PARTNERS IN A NINE-COUNTY NORTHERN NEW YORK REGION THAT ENCOMPASSES ST. LAWRENCE COUNTY, THE PRIORITIES OF THE NEW YORK STATE HEALTHCARE REDESIGN COMMISSION, THE PRIORITIES OF THE NEW YORK STATE PREVENTION AGENDA, AND THE GOALS OF THE AFFORDABLE CARE ACT TO INCREASE ACCESS, REDUCE COSTS, AND IMPROVE QUALITY. SPECIFIC GOALS AND METRICS HAD BEEN IDENTIFIED AND THE HOSPITAL'S OUTREACH PROGRAMS WERE DESIGNED TO ADDRESS THESE. A FULL AND FINAL REPORT OF THE FOUR-YEAR CYCLE (2014-2018) WAS SUBMITTED TO THE NYS DOH VIA THE HEALTH COMMERCE WEBSITE/PORTAL. OVER THE COURSE OF 2018, GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL FURTHER ENGAGED IN THE OPIOID EPIDEMIC WHEREBY INITIATING THE NYS DOH/OASIS WAIVER FOR THE IMPLEMENTATION OF A MEDICAL DETOXIFICATION SHORT-STAY PROGRAM (<96 HOURS) AND SUBMITTED FOR A CERTIFICATE OF NEED (CON) FOR THE OPENING OF AN OUTPATIENT SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER (SUD) OUTPATIENT COUNSELING UNIT. EXPANSION OF SERVICES LINES INTO THE THREE OUTPATIENT HEALTH CENTERS HAS INCORPORATED THE BEHAVIORAL HEALTH COMPONENT AND THE CON FOR THESE HEALTH CENTERS ARE PENDING APPROVAL.

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART III, LINE 2 - BAD DEBT EXPENSE METHODOLOGYTHIS COST REPRESENTS BAD DEBT EXPENSE INCLUDED IN THE HOSPITAL'S AUDITED F/S.
PART III, LINE 3 BAD DEBT EXPENSE, PATIENTS ELIGIBLE FOR ASSISTANCECOST OF CHARITY CARE AS REPORTED ON THE FACILITY'S ICR.
BAD DEBT EXPENSE FOOTNOTE TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTSAT DECEMBER 31, 2018 AND 2017, SIGNIFICANT CONCENTRATIONS OF PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE ARE AS FOLLOWS: 2018 2017 MEDICARE 29% 27% MEDICAID 18 18 COMMERCIAL CARRIERS AND MEDICARE AND MEDICAID MANAGED CARE AND OTHER THIRD PARTY PAYORS 45 45 NO-FAULT AND WORKERS COMPENSATION 1 3 PRIVATE PAY 7 7 ===== ===== 100% 100%
PART III, LINE 9B - COLLECTION PRACTICES EXPLANATIONPART III, SECTION B, LINE 8: COSTS REPORTED ON LINE 6 INCLUDE TOTAL INPATIENT COSTS (ROUTINE, ANCILLARY AND CAPITAL), OBSERVATION COSTS, OUTPATIENT COSTS AND SWING BED COSTS FROM THE MCR COST REPORT (WORKSHEET D-1: PART II AND PART IV; WORKSHEET D: PART V; WORKSHEET E-2 AND WORKSHEET D-3). PART III SECTION C, LINE 9B - THE ORGANIZATION APPLIES THE SAME COLLECTION PRINCIPLES TO AMOUNTS DUE FROM PATIENTS WHO HAVE QUALIFIED FOR PERCENTAGE DISCOUNTS BUT STILL HAVE A RESPONSIBILITY FOR A PORTION OF THEIR BILL BASED UPON THE SLIDING FEE SCHEDULE. NO SEPARATE DISTINCTION IS MADE FOR THE APPLICATION OF OUR COLLECTION PROCESSES IN THOSE CASES

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
DAVID BENDER CEO
CEO$256,619$12,354$7,835$276,808
ERIC BURCH
COO$282,634$13,146$1,008$296,788
NICOLE L WEBER MD
PHYSICIAN$380,715$13,750$384$394,849
ALICE LOVING MD
ANESTHESIOLOGIST$325,951$13,750$15,393$355,094
ISMENE N MARAVEGIAS MD
PHYSICIAN$253,361$4,340$17,998$275,699
RICHARD CORCORAN RPA
PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT$150,666$7,564$14,919$173,149
MICHAEL A KIGER RPA
PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT$138,393$6,645$9,086$154,124

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSEE PART V BELOWPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Sharing Of RevenuesfalseSharingOfRevenuesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE L, PART VFormAndLineReferenceDesc
Explanation1.GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST: MICHAEL BURGESS, BOARD MEMBER FOR GH, IS ALSO VICE PRESIDENT OF PLANNING AND TREASURY AT KPH HEALTH SERVICES. KPH HEALTH SERVICES MAKES PAYMENTS TO GH FOR THE 340B PROGRAM. 497,414 IN PAYMENTS WERE MADE IN 2018. 2.MARK BRACKETT, BOARD MEMBER FOR GH, IS A BOARD MEMBER OF KINNEY DRUGS FOUNDATION. KINNEY DRUGS DONATED 50,000 TO GH. 3.ANDREW LEONARD, BOARD MEMBER FOR GH, IS ALSO THE PRESIDENT OF ENI MECHANICAL INC. IN 2018, ENI MECHANICAL WAS PAID 259,072 FOR SERVICES. 4.ANDREW WILLIAMS MD, IS A BOARD MEMBER OF GH AND IS ALSO ON THE BOARD FOR THE COMMUNITY HEALTH CENTER OF THE NORTH COUNTRY. DR. WILLIAMS IS ALSO AN EMPLOYEE OF CANTON-POTSDAM HOSPITAL, AN AFFILIATED HOSPITAL OF GH. IN 2018, THE COMMUNITY HEALTH CENTER PAID RENT FOR SPACE AT GH IN THE AMOUNT OF 118,125.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PAGE 2, PART III, LINE 2THE HOSPITAL ADDED AN INPATIENT DETOX SERVICE LINE IN 2018 AS A SCATTER BED PROGRAM WITHIN OUR MED/SURG UNIT.
FORM 990, PAGE 2, PART III, LINE 4DTHERE WAS STEADY GROWTH IN SURGERIES PERFORMED IN 2018. THERE WERE 704 SURGERIES IN 2018, COMPARED TO 642 IN 2017, ROUGHLY AN 10% INCREASE.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 6ST. LAWRENCE HEALTH SYSTEM, INC. IS A SOLE MEMBER.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7AST. LAWRENCE HEALTH SYSTEM, INC. IS A SOLE MEMBER, AND HAS THE ABILITY TO APPOINT MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7BTHE MEMBERS SHALL HAVE THE FOLLOWING POWERS WITH REGARD TO THE CORPORATION: -APPOINT THE MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. -APPOINT AND REMOVE THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER. -APPROVE THE ADOPTION AND AMENDMENT OF BYLAWS. -APPROVE THE ANNUAL OPERATING AND CAPITAL BUDGETS. -APPROVE STRATEGIC PLANS. -APPROVE AND INITIATE THE FILING OF CERTIFICATE OF NEED APPLICATIONS. -REVIEW AND APPROVE THE ANNUAL AUDIT OF THE CORPORATION AND ANY SUBSIDIARY CORPORATIONS. -APPROVE THE DISSOLUTION OF THE CORPORATION. -APPROVE THE SALE, LEASE, MORTGAGE OR ENCUMBRANCE OF ANY ASSET OTHER THAN ANY SALE, LEASE OR MORTGAGE WHICH IS PART OF AN APPROVED BUDGET. -APPROVE THE SALE OR TRANSFER OF ALL OR SUBSTANTIALLY ALL OF THE ASSETS OF THE CORPORATIONS. -APPROVE ANY MERGER, BUSINESS CONSOLIDATION, ACQUISITION OR JOINT VENTURE. -APPROVE THE PURCHASE OR SALE OF PHYSICIAN PRACTICES OTHER THAN ANY PURCHASE OR SALE WHICH IS PART OF AN APPROVED BUDGET. -APPROVE AND MAY INITIATE THE COMMENCEMENT AND SETTLEMENT OF LITIGATION. -APPROVE ANY FILING OF BANKRUPTCY PETITION. -APPROVE THE INCURRENCE OF ANY DEBT OTHER THAN DEBT WHICH IS INCURRED IN THE ORDINARY COURSE OF BUSINESS AND WHICH IS NOT INCONSISTENT WITH AN APPROVED BUDGET. -APPROVE NEW CLINICAL PROGRAMS OR THE TERMINATION OF EXISTING CLINICAL PROGRAMS OTHER THAN ANY ACTION WHICH IS PART OF AN APPROVED BUDGET. -APPROVE ANY OF THE FOLLOWING AGREEMENTS: (I) MANAGEMENT SERVICES AGREEMENTS OTHER THAN ANY AGREEMENT WHICH IS PART OF AN APPROVED BUDGET. (II) CONTRACTS WITH A PHYSICIAN OR A PHYSICIAN GROUP. (III) AGREEMENTS FOR THE OUTSOURCING OF A GOUVERNEUR HOSPITAL SERVICE OR FUNCTION. (IV) COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENTS, AND (V) ANY AGREEMENTS TO PARTICIPATE IN A RISK BEARING ARRANGEMENT SUCH AS AN ACCOUNTABLE CARE ORGANIZATION OR A BUNDLED PAYMENT ARRANGEMENT. -INITIATE, NEGOTIATE, AND APPROVE MANAGED CARE AGREEMENTS WITH MANAGED CARE ORGANIZATIONS AND OTHER PAYORS OTHER THAN ANY AGREEMENT WHICH IS PART OF AN APPROVED BUDGET. -DEVELOP INTEGRATED SERVICES AND MANDATE PARTICIPATION IN SUCH SERVICES (E.G., FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT, LEGAL, QUALITY ASSURANCE, RISK MANAGEMENT, CONTRACTING, AND RECRUITMENT) -REQUIRE THE GUARANTEE OF LOANS THROUGH AN OBLIGATED GROUP STRUCTURE THAT WILL SUPPORT ACCESS TO CAPITAL AND INCLUDE DEBT SERVICES.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11BTHE 990 IS EMAILED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR THEIR REVIEW PRIOR TO THE FILING OF THE RETURN.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12CON AN ANNUAL BASIS, OFFICERS, DIRECTORS, AND KEY EMPLOYEES ARE REQUIRED TO COMPLETE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENT. COMPLIANCE WITH THIS REQUIREMENT IS MONITORED BY THE HOSPITAL ADMINISTRATION.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15ATHE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER IS EVALUATED BY THE ST. LAWRENCE HEALTH SYSTEM CEO. HOSPITAL SENIOR LEADERSHIP IS EVALUATED BY THE HOSPITAL'S CEO. YAFFE AND COMPANY PROVIDES EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION DATA FOR CRITICAL ACCESS HOSPITALS WHICH IS UTILIZED BY THE ST. LAWRENCE HEALTH SYSTEM CEO TO DETERMINE APPROPRIATE COMPENSATION FOR THE HOSPITAL'S CEO. THE SAME DATA IS UTILIZED BY THE HOSPITAL'S CEO TO DETERMINE APPROPRIATE COMPENSATION FOR THE HOSPITAL'S SENIOR LEADERSHIP.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15BTHE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER IS EVALUATED BY THE ST. LAWRENCE HEALTH SYSTEM CEO. HOSPITAL SENIOR LEADERSHIP IS EVALUATED BY THE HOSPITAL'S CEO. YAFFE AND COMPANY PROVIDES EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION DATA FOR CRITICAL ACCESS HOSPITALS WHICH IS UTILIZED BY THE ST. LAWRENCE HEALTH SYSTEM CEO TO DETERMINE APPROPRIATE COMPENSATION FOR THE HOSPITAL'S CEO. THE SAME DATA IS UTILIZED BY THE HOSPITAL'S CEO TO DETERMINE APPROPRIATE COMPENSATION FOR THE HOSPITAL'S SENIOR LEADERSHIP.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19THE HOSPITAL MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND FINANCIAL STATEMENT AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9CONTRIBUTIONS FOR CAPITAL ACQUISITIONS 598,928 NET ASSETS REALEASED FROM RESTRICTIONS FOR CAPITAL 570,084 NET ASSETS RELEASED FROM RESTRICTIONS -570,084 CHANGE IN FAIR VALUE OF FUNDS HELD IN TRUST BY OTH -56,436 CHANGE IN NET UNREALIZED GAIN ON INVESTMENTS -35,091 TRANSFER TO ST.LAWRENCE HEALTH SYSTEM 54,899 TOTAL 562,300

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
CANTON-POTSDAM HOSPITAL
50 LEROY STREETPOTSDAMNY13676161012691HOSPITALNY501C3SLHSYes (true)
ST LAWRENCE HEALTH SYSTEM INC
50 LEROY STREETPOTSDAMNY13676464259168HEALTHCARENY501C3NAfalse
CANTON-POTSDAM MEDICAL PRACTICE PL
50 LEROY STREETPOTSDAMNY13676460714367CLINICNY501C3SLHSYes (true)
CANTON-POTSDAM HOSPITAL FOUNDATION
50 LEROY STREETPOTSDAMNY13676161279472FOUNDATIONNY501C3SLHSYes (true)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesfalseSharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingfalsePaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (7 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
CANTON-POTSDAM HOSPITAL FOUNDATION
M$127,530CASH EXCHANGED
CANTON-POTSDAM HOSPITAL
I$922,886FMV
CANTON-POTSDAM HOSPITAL
J$55,575FMV
SLHS
K$154,742FMV
SLHS
P$475,768FMV
SLHS
C$358,050CASH EXCHANGED
CANTON-POTSDAM HOSPITAL
K$1,249,209FMV