STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

GIVENS ESTATES INC: Form 990, tax year 2024

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
GIVENS ESTATES INC (EIN 51-0199312)
Tax period
2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31
Filed
2025-11-13
IRS object ID
202503179349309285
Schema version
2024v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2025-11-13T15:26:46+00:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2024-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN440160260PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Forvis Mazars LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1500 Ridgefield CourtAddressLine1Txt
CityAshevilleCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28806ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2024-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN510199312EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE GIVENS ESTATES INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlGIVEBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8282744800PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12360 SWEETEN CREEK ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityAshevilleCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28803ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKevin SchwabPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone8282744800PhoneNum
Signature2025-11-13SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (true)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonAmy BibbyPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00445891PTIN
Phone8282542254PhoneNum
Preparation2025-11-13PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2024TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Kevin SchwabBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12360 SWEETEN CREEK ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityAshevilleCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28803ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$103,433,109GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.givensestates.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1975FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNCLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionVISION STATEMENT: EXPANDING THE POSSIBILITIES FOR AGINGActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body28VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent28VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee595TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers140TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$2,062,465PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$3,107,362CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$74,604,869PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$82,693,125CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,585,902PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$8,652,017CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$740,320PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$8,990,716CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$79,993,556PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$103,443,220CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$2,015,930PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$1,435,152CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$33,944,016PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$38,827,823CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$32,948,996PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$42,346,438CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$68,908,942PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$82,609,413CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$11,084,614PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$20,833,807CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$383,968,447TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$416,171,400TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$282,343,762TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$292,795,542TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$101,624,685NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$123,375,858NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionIMPROVING LIVES THROUGH COMMUNITIES, SERVICES, AND OUTREACH CORE VALUES OUR CORE VALUES ARE COMMITMENT, CARING, COURAGE AND COLLABORATION.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$73,156,369ExpenseAmt
Grant$1,435,152GrantAmt
Revenue$82,693,125RevenueAmt
DescGivens Life Ministries serves as the outreach and community impact arm of Givens Communities, extending the organization's mission beyond its campuses to older adults and families across Western North Carolina. In addition to providing housing, support, and health and wellness services for approximately 1,450 seniors across four campuses, Givens Life Ministries reaches thousands of additional individuals annually through community-based programs that promote health, independence, and dignity for people of all economic levels. Through partnerships and charitable support, the ministry offers a broad range of services, including wellness and health education, medication assistance, nutritious meal sites, diabetes and chronic disease management programs, and a community nurse who helps lower-income residents navigate the healthcare system. This work is supported through philanthropic contributions, endowment earnings, and operating revenues, ensuring that Givens' commitment to compassionate service, wellness, and aging with dignity extends well beyond its residential communities.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$73,156,369TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (true)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsYes (true)ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsfalseDonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document63IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee595EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members28GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member28IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (true)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersfalsePoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VentureYes (true)InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Written Policy Or ProcedureYes (true)WrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ALLEN SQUIRESBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone8282744800PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12360 SWEETEN CREEK ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityAshevilleCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28803ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (44 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Adam K Ennis
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Alfred J Whitesides Jr
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Alisa J Brown
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Charles L Frederick
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Charles Pine
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Connie B Martin
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
David C Whilden
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Donna A Broadwell
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Doris P Loomis Esq
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Kelli R Brown
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Margaret A Kuhn
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
F Patrick McGuire
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
G Edward Towson II
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gerald H Meyer
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Horace S Jennings
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Joseph P McGuire
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Judy L Phillips
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kemper W Brown Sr
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kenneth W Swayze Jr
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Larry B Harris
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Murphy Horne Fletcher
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rebekah M Lowe
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Karen L Easter Bayne
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Mary W Brown
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev R Keith Turman
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Robert E Shepherd
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev W Mark Ralls
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert C Roberts
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert M McKown
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Russell Moxley
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sarah-Ann Smith
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Suzanne E Landis
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Suzanne M Sutherland
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
William Mance
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Allen Squires
CFO40.01.0$406,158$0$33,203Yes (X)
Kevin Schwab
CEO40.01.0$500,175$0$87,060Yes (X)
Scott Farkas
COO40.0$240,573$0$50,852Yes (X)
Ken Kramer
Executive Director - Givens Highland Farms40.0$218,970$0$56,130Yes (X)
Kirsten Cone
Executive Director - GE40.0$166,327$0$20,124Yes (X)
Brian Guengerich
VP Development40.0$160,776$0$30,275Yes (X)
Christian Grunder
VP HR40.0$168,854$0$34,139Yes (X)
David Kerestes
Controller40.0$162,868$0$33,803Yes (X)
Neal Lail
VP Marketing40.0$204,733$0$7,080Yes (X)
Ricky Foor
VP IT40.0$160,365$0$30,210Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,389,799TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$382,876TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K36IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Frank L Blum Construction
PO Box 4153WinstonSalemNC27115Construction$21,683,728
US Foodservice
PO Box 602292CharlotteNC28260Food Service$2,422,403
Functional Pathways
10133 Sherill BlvdKnoxvilleTN379323347Therapy$1,573,255
Katalyst
PO Box 896983CharlotteNC282896983Software$795,155
RLPS II
250 Valleybrook DriveLancasterPA17601Architecture$635,380
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K48CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$3,107,362AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$17,277NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$3,107,362TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Residential Revenue623000$53,703,064$53,703,064
Long-term Care Revenue623000$17,373,952$17,373,952
Assisted Living Revenue623000$4,665,289$4,665,289
Food Services Revenue623000$4,036,902$4,036,902
Other Resident Revenue623000$2,614,813$2,614,813

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$299,105TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$299,105RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$82,693,125TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,237,689TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$3,237,689ExclusionAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,404,217SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$10,111OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,404,217SecuritiesAmt
Other$10,111OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$5,414,328TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$5,414,328ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Hurricane Insurance Proceeds900099$7,500,000$7,500,000
Miscellaneous Revenue900099$1,490,716$1,490,716

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$8,990,716OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$103,443,220TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$82,693,125RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$17,642,733ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,123,613TotalAmt
Program Services$1,123,613ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$311,539TotalAmt
Program Services$311,539ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,532,203TotalAmt
Management And General$1,532,203ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$29,979,493TotalAmt
Program Services$25,655,726ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,323,767ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$992,111TotalAmt
Program Services$807,742ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$184,369ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,195,035TotalAmt
Program Services$3,415,451ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$779,584ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,128,981TotalAmt
Program Services$1,733,342ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$395,639ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,356TotalAmt
Management And General$23,356ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,031TotalAmt
Management And General$2,031ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,614,369TotalAmt
Program Services$3,560,883ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$53,486ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,473,279TotalAmt
Program Services$116,847ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,356,432ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,944,549TotalAmt
Program Services$3,731,016ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$213,533ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,311,006TotalAmt
Program Services$1,311,006ProgramServicesAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,177,215TotalAmt
Program Services$4,177,215ProgramServicesAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$184,909TotalAmt
Program Services$176,824ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,085ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,904,816TotalAmt
Program Services$2,904,816ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,824,975TotalAmt
Program Services$10,824,975ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$781,778TotalAmt
Program Services$292,133ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$489,645ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
Hurricane Expenses$9,114,326$9,114,326
FOOD EXPENSE$2,419,160$2,419,160
MEDICAL SUPPLIES$645,757$645,757
BAD DEBT$302,205$302,205

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$622,707TotalAmt
Program Services$531,793ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$90,914ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$82,609,413TotalAmt
Program Services$73,156,369ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,453,044ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$502,995BOYAmt
EOY$332,330EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,051,222BOYAmt
EOY$46,326,172EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$380,930BOYAmt
EOY$307,780EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,406,907BOYAmt
EOY$17,895,752EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,165,470BOYAmt
EOY$1,099,300EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$345,316,926LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$103,355,205LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$227,196,419BOYAmt
EOY$241,961,721EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$116,413,627BOYAmt
EOY$106,327,379EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,365,069BOYAmt
EOY$455,023EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,485,808BOYAmt
EOY$1,465,943EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$383,968,447BOYAmt
EOY$416,171,400EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,077,163BOYAmt
EOY$18,911,922EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$163,737,954BOYAmt
EOY$172,265,070EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$87,796,177BOYAmt
EOY$84,480,741EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,916,130BOYAmt
EOY$14,879,449EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,816,338BOYAmt
EOY$2,258,360EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$282,343,762BOYAmt
EOY$292,795,542EOYAmt

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$89,809,400BOYAmt
EOY$109,434,032EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,815,285BOYAmt
EOY$13,941,826EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$101,624,685BOYAmt
EOY$123,375,858EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$383,968,447BOYAmt
EOY$416,171,400EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$20,833,807ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$917,366NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,880,633CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$9,826,588CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$5,397,462CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,062,465CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,107,362CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$23,274,510TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$59,683,429CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$58,597,853CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$66,572,356CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$74,604,869CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$82,693,125CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$342,151,632TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Non Unrlt Bus GrossReceiptsNonUnrltBusGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$380,409CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$380,042CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$399,165CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$740,320CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$8,990,716CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$10,890,652TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft509 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl509 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$62,944,471CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$68,804,483CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$72,368,983CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$77,407,654CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$94,791,203CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$376,316,794TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$134,691CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$11,000CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$113,952CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$205,895CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$289,162CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$754,700TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$0CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$0CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$134,691CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$11,000CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$113,952CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$205,895CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$289,162CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$754,700TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$375,562,094PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,026,436CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$929,137CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,341,051CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,805,049CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,237,689CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$8,339,362TotalAmt

Post1975 UBTI Post1975UBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,026,436CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$929,137CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,341,051CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,805,049CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,237,689CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$8,339,362TotalAmt

Net Income From Other UBI NetIncomeFromOtherUBIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years-$84CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Total-$84TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$0CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$0CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$63,970,823CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$69,733,620CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$73,710,034CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$79,212,703CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$98,028,892CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$384,656,072TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.97636PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.98061PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.02InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.02InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
VolunteersfalseVolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or ManagementfalsePaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media AdvertisementsfalseMediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings MembersfalseMailingsMembersInd
Publications Or BroadcastfalsePublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other OrganizationsfalseGrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact LegislatorsfalseDirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies DemonstrationsfalseRalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesYes (true)OtherActivitiesInd
Other Activities$1,411OtherActivitiesAmt
Total Lobbying Expenditures$1,411TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c3falseNotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule C, Part II-B, Line 1 DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE LOBBYING ACTIVITYFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe organization pays dues to Leading Age and Leading Age NC. Approximately $1,411 were used for lobbying purposes.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Protection Natural HabitatYes (X)ProtectionNaturalHabitatInd
Total Easements4TotalEasementsCnt
Total Acreage1.94TotalAcreageCnt
Historic Strctr Easements Aftr4HistoricStrctrEasementsAftrCnt
States Easements Held1StatesEasementsHeldCnt
Written Policy MonitoringYes (true)WrittenPolicyMonitoringInd
Section170h Rqr StsfdYes (true)Section170hRqrStsfdInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,666,004OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$10,666,004BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$295,341,323OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$84,925,036DepreciationAmt
Book Value$210,416,287BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$24,060,438OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$16,461,054DepreciationAmt
Book Value$7,599,384BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$15,249,161OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,969,115DepreciationAmt
Book Value$13,280,046BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$241,961,721TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Federal Income Taxes
Advance Admission Deposits$2,183,184
Bond Interest Payable$75,176
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,258,360TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$104,049,047TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$917,366NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$917,366RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$103,131,681RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$311,539OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$311,539RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$103,443,220TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$82,297,874TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$82,297,874ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$311,539OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$311,539ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$82,609,413TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule D, Part X, Line 2 FIN 48 (ASC 740) footnoteFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Company is exempt from federal income taxes under Section 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue code; accordingly, the accompanying consolidated financial statements do not reflect a provision or liability for federal and state income taxes. The Company has determined that it does not have any material unrecognized tax benefits or obligations as of December 31, 2024.ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
Four Seasons Foundation
211 N Main StHendersonvilleNC28792475508988501(c)(3)$10,000Tree of Lights Event Platinum Sponsorship
Asheville Symphony
27 College Pl Ste 100AshevilleNC28801566060772501(c)(3)$15,000Symphony in the Park Event Title Sponsorship
Haywood Street Community Development
PO Box 2982AshevilleNC28802852431526501(c)(3)$10,000General support for community development for vulnerable populations including seniors
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org3Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeResident AssistanceGrantTypeTxt
Recipient30RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$311,539CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2 Procedures for monitoring use of grant fundsFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationGRANTS TO INDIVIDUALS: SOCIAL WORKERS IDENTIFY RESIDENTS WITH FINANCIAL OR OTHER NEEDS AND REQUEST ASSISTANCE. THESE REQUESTS ARE REVIEWED BY MANAGERS TO ENSURE THAT THE INDIVIDUALS SELECTED MEET THE REQUIREMENTS APPROVED BY GIVENS ESTATES AND LIFEMINISTRIES FOR ASSISTANCE. GRANTS TO ORGANIZATIONS: MANAGEMENTS REVIEWS THESE GRANTS TO DETERMINE THAT THEY ARE CONSISTENT WITH GIVENS ESTATES' MISSION BEFORE THE GRANTS ARE APPROVED AND AWARDED.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (10 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Allen Squires
CFO$341,523$0$43,432$0$21,203$0$17,903$0$15,300$0$439,361$0$0$0
Kevin Schwab
CEO$450,810$0$48,537$0$828$0$63,708$0$23,352$0$587,235$0$0$0
Scott Farkas
COO$235,853$0$4,396$0$324$0$27,500$0$23,352$0$291,425$0$0$0
Kirsten Cone
Executive Director - GE$165,082$0$840$0$405$0$0$0$20,124$0$186,451$0$0$0
Ken Kramer
Executive Director - Givens Highland Farms$202,072$0$16,070$0$828$0$32,778$0$23,352$0$275,100$0$0$0
Brian Guengerich
VP Development$145,476$0$14,940$0$360$0$6,923$0$23,352$0$191,051$0$0$0
Christian Grunder
VP HR$164,740$0$3,790$0$324$0$10,787$0$23,352$0$202,993$0$0$0
David Kerestes
Controller$161,313$0$1,015$0$540$0$10,451$0$23,352$0$196,671$0$0$0
Neal Lail
VP Marketing$185,595$0$17,590$0$1,548$0$0$0$7,080$0$211,813$0$0$0
Ricky Foor
VP IT$156,735$0$3,090$0$540$0$5,168$0$25,042$0$190,575$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule J, Part I, Line 1a Tax indemnification and gross-up paymentsOfficers receive a bonus to pay for taxes associated with the 162 life insurance plan.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 1a Housing allowance or residence for personal useThe Minister receives a housing allowance.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 4b Supplemental nonqualified retirement planThe individuals below received the following amounts in 457(f) plans. -Kevin Schwab: $45,900 -Allen Squires: $2,530 -Scott Farkas: $12,500 -Ken Kramer: $20,000

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingIndCUSIPCUSIPNum
PUBLIC FINANCE AUTHORITY
A2738661242017-04-05$52,980,000REFUNDING BONDS - SERIES 2017falsefalsefalse
Public Finance Authority
B2738661242021-10-06$54,216,248Retirement Facilities Revenue Bonds - Series 2021falsefalsefalse74444vbb5

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintIndCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYr
A$15,010,000$52,721,348$258,652$52,721,348Yes (true)Yes (true)Yes (true)Yes (true)
B$54,261,424$804,487falsefalsefalsefalse$53,411,7612024

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndEngage Bond Counsel ContractsEngageBondCounselContractsIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndEngage Bond Counsel ResearchEngageBondCounselResearchIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctPrivate Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropPctRemedial Action TakenRemedialActionTakenIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
Afalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse000.0falsefalse0falsefalse
Bfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse000.0falsefalse0falseYes (true)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndTerm Of HedgeTermOfHedgePctSuperintegrated HedgeSuperintegratedHedgeIndHedge TerminatedHedgeTerminatedIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndTerm Of GICTermOfGICPctRegulatory Safe Harbor StsfdRegulatorySafeHarborStsfdIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
AfalsefalsefalseYes (true)falsefalse0falsefalsefalse0falsefalsefalse
Bfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse0falsefalsefalse0falsefalseYes (true)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (true)
BYes (true)

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule K, Part IV, Line 2c COLUMN AIssuer name: PUBLIC FINANCE AUTHORITY The calculation for computing no rebate due was performed on 03/31/2022
Schedule K, Part V Different Procedures to Undertake Corrective ActionIssuer name: Public Finance Authority Difference Between schedule K part I proceeds of issuance and schedule k part II line 3 is due to interest earned.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 1a Delegate broad authority to a committeeTHE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL CONSIST OF THE CHAIRPERSON, VICE CHAIRPERSON, SECRETARY AND TREASURER OF THE CORPORATION AND THE CHAIRPERSON OF SUCH STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE BOARD AS THE BOARD MAY FROM TIME TO TIME DESIGNATE AS BEING ADDITIONAL MEMBERS OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. EXCEPT AS TO SUCH POWERS AS THE BOARD MAY EXPRESSLY RESERVE TO ITSELF BY FORMAL RESOLUTION, THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL EXERCISE THE POWERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS WHEN THE BOARD IS NOT IN SESSION IN ACCORDANCE WITH AND AS LIMITED BY THE POLICIES AND BUDGETS ESTABLISHED BY THE ENTIRE BOARD. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE'S ACTIONS SHALL BE REPORTED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AT THE NEXT REGULAR OR SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 2 Family/business relationships amongst interested personsJoe McGuire, Doris Loomis and Murphy Fletcher - Business relationship
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7a Members or stockholders electing members of governing bodyTHE AFFAIRS OF THE CORPORATION SHALL BE MANAGED BY ITS BOARD OF DIRECTORS, WHICH SHALL CONSIST OF A MINIMUM OF TWENTY FOUR PERSONS IN NUMBER FROM TIME TO TIME AND WHO SHALL BE APPROVED BY THE WESTERN NORTH CAROLINA ANNUAL CONFERENCE OF THE UNITED METHODIST CHURCH.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b Review of form 990 by governing bodyTHE FORM 990 WAS REVIEWED BY MANAGEMENT AND THE AUDIT COMMITTEE. THE RETURN WAS DISTRIBUTED TO BOARD MEMBERS PRIOR TO FILING AND REVIEWED AT A SUBSEQUENT MEETING.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c Conflict of interest policyTHE BOARD IS REQUIRED TO SIGN A CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ANNUALLY. WHEN AN INDIVIDUAL BECOMES AWARE OF A NEW CONFLICT, HE OR SHE MUST FILL OUT ANOTHER CONFLICT OF INTEREST FORM. IF A BOARD MEMBER DOES HAVE A CONFLICT, HE OR SHE SHOULD ACKNOWLEDGE THE CONFLICT AND EXCUSE THEMSELVES FROM DISCUSSING OR VOTING ON AN ISSUE WHERE THERE IS A CONFLICT. IF ANYONE BECOMES AWARE OF A BOARD MEMBER NOT ACKNOWLEDGING A CONFLICT, WE MAKE THE BOARD CHAIRPERSON AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND ACT ACCORDINGLY.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a Process to establish compensation of top management officialTHE GIVENS ESTATES HAS DEVELOPED AN EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION POLICY THAT PROVIDES A BROAD-BASED FOUNDATION FOR A FAIR, REASONABLE, AND COMPETITIVE COMPENSATION PACKAGE FOR THE EXECUTIVE LEADERSHIP. THE COMPENSATION PACKAGES ARE DETERMINED ANNUALLY COMMENSURATE WITH THEIR PERFORMANCE EVALUATIONS. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REVIEWS JOB PERFORMANCE AND COMPARATIVE COMPENSATION MARKET DATA TO MAKE RECOMMENDATIONS TO THE FULL BOARD FOR APPROVAL. OUTSIDE INDEPENDENT CONSULTANTS ARE ENGAGED TO ENSURE REASONABLENESS OF THE COMPENSATION PACKAGES.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15b Process to establish compensation of other employeesTHE GIVENS ESTATES HAS DEVELOPED AN EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION POLICY THAT PROVIDES A BROAD-BASED FOUNDATION FOR A FAIR, REASONABLE, AND COMPETITIVE COMPENSATION PACKAGE FOR THE EXECUTIVE LEADERSHIP. THE COMPENSATION PACKAGES ARE DETERMINED ANNUALLY COMMENSURATE WITH THEIR PERFORMANCE EVALUATIONS. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REVIEWS JOB PERFORMANCE AND COMPARATIVE COMPENSATION MARKET DATA TO MAKE RECOMMENDATIONS TO THE FULL BOARD FOR APPROVAL. OUTSIDE INDEPENDENT CONSULTANTS ARE ENGAGED TO ENSURE REASONABLENESS OF THE COMPENSATION PACKAGES.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19 Required documents available to the publicTHE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ARE MADE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE. THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE POSTED ON EMMA WEBSITE AND GUIDESTAR WEBSITE AS WELL.
Form 990, Part VIII, Line 2f Other Program Service RevenueLife Ministries Revenue - Total Revenue: 299105, Related or Exempt Function Revenue: 299105, Unrelated Business Revenue: , Revenue Excluded from Tax Under Sections 512, 513, or 514: ;
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2c Change of oversight process or selection processThe process has not changed since the prior year.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdTotal IncomeTotalIncomeAmtEnd Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
LIFEMINISTRIES OUTREACH LLC
2360 SWEETEN CREEK RDAshevilleNC28803202098413EDUCATING LOW-INCOME SENIORS TO ACCESS NEEDED HEALTH AND AGING SERVICESNC$299,000$722,993Givens Estates Inc
GIVENS HIGHLAND FARMS LLC
2360 Sweeten CreekAshevilleNC28806460962122Senior Living and CareNC$31,727,211$131,229,453Givens Estates Inc
Givens Gerber Park II LLC
2360 Sweeten CreekAshevilleNC28803364851537Senior Living and CareNC$2,784,502$12,872,905Givens Estates Inc
Givens Choice
2360 Sweeten Creek RoadAshevilleNC28803home careNC$1,180,515$5,589,346Givens Estates Inc
GERBER PARK OF ASHEVILLE LLC
2360 SWEETEN CREEK ROADASHEVILLENC28803471832794Real Estate - RentalNC$2-$279Givens Estates Inc

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1GIVENS AFFORDABLE COMMUNITIES INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12360 Sweeten CreekAddressLine1Txt
CityAshevilleCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28803ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN364784099EIN
Primary ActivitiesTo Assist in Certain Activities for Givens EstatesPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateNCLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(c)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity StatusType IIPublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Givens Estates IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (true)ControlledOrganizationInd

Id Related Org Txbl Partnership IdRelatedOrgTxblPartnershipGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdPredominant Income TypePredominantIncomeTypeTxtDisproportionate AllocationsDisproportionateAllocationsIndGeneral Or Managing PartnerGeneralOrManagingPartnerIndOwnershipOwnershipPctShare Of Total IncomeShareOfTotalIncomeAmtShare Of EOY AssetsShareOfEOYAssetsAmt
Gerber Park of Asheville III
2360 Sweeten Creek RoadAshevilleNC28803510199312Real Estate - RentalNCExcludedfalseYes (true)0.49
THE SENIOR RESIDENCS AT LAKE JUNALUSKA LP
2360 SWEETEN CREEK ROADAshevilleNC28803Senior Living and CareNCExcludedfalseYes (true)0.9999-$243,271$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (true)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Givens Affordable HousingBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transaction TypeRTransactionTypeTxt
Involved$947,721InvolvedAmt
Method Of Amount DeterminationCostMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt