STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

CENTRAL COLLEGE: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CENTRAL COLLEGE (EIN 42-0680344)
Tax period
2017-07-01 to 2018-06-30
Filed
2019-05-01
IRS object ID
201921219349301227
Schema version
2017v2.3
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2019-05-01T14:09:06-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2018-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN421029744PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TDT CPAS AND ADVISORS PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11245 JORDAN CREEK PKWY SUITE 100AddressLine1Txt
CityWEST DES MOINESCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP502662300ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN420680344EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CENTRAL COLLEGEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCENTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6416285274PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1812 UNIVERSITYAddressLine1Txt
CityPELLACityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP50219ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSHERYL KAMERICKPersonNm
Person TitleASST. TREAS & CONTRPersonTitleTxt
Phone6416285274PhoneNum
Signature2019-05-01SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonCOURTNEY L DERONDE CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01245662PTIN
Phone5156575800PhoneNum
Preparation2019-05-01PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address167.68.16.49IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2019-05-01IPDt
IP Tm14:09:06IPTm
IP TimezoneCDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id639E43D7064DA110D86365B3D40C5518D435221FAtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdD2F705A398D6AF19439BBC7DE7582ED00AD21ACBAtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2019-02-21 02:37:17ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMARK PUTNAMPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1812 UNIVERSITYAddressLine1Txt
CityPELLACityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP50219ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$67,633,361GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.CENTRAL.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1853FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateIALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionCENTRAL COLLEGE IS A RESIDENTIAL LIBERAL ARTS COLLEGE DEDICATED TO HELPING STUDENTS DISCOVER AND DEVELOP THEIR GREATEST POTENTIAL.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body35VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent35VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1674TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers1TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$831,257TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$4,707,525PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$5,640,991CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$57,135,449PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$58,246,951CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$3,675,381PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$3,641,295CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$59,052PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$42,441CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$65,577,407PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$67,571,678CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$24,211,368PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$25,401,784CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$23,527,733PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$23,772,426CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$2,731,468CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$21,830,751PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$22,103,816CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$69,569,852PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$71,278,026CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$3,992,445PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$3,706,348CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$186,156,341TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$187,395,705TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$72,955,610TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$74,426,724TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$113,200,731NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$112,968,981NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionCENTRAL COLLEGE IS A RESIDENTIAL LIBERAL ARTS COLLEGE DEDICATED TO HELPING STUDENTS DISCOVER AND DEVELOP THEIR GREATEST POTENTIAL. GUIDED BY ITS ECUMENICAL CHRISTIAN TRADITION, THE COLLEGE COMMUNITY ENGAGES IN VIGOROUS, OPEN INQUIRY IN PURSUIT OF ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE. THE COLLEGE NURTURES THE DEVELOPMENT OF THE MIND, WHILE FOSTERING SPIRITUAL AND EMOTIONAL MATURITY AND PHYSICAL WELL-BEING. CENTRAL INTEGRATES CAREER PREPARATION WITH THE DEVELOPMENT OF VALUES ESSENTIAL TO RESPONSIBLE CITIZENSHIP, EMPOWERING GRADUATES FOR EFFECTIVE SERVICE IN LOCAL, NATIONAL, AND INTERNATIONAL COMMUNITIES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$44,094,663ExpenseAmt
Grant$25,401,784GrantAmt
Revenue$42,866,047RevenueAmt
DescPROVIDED EDUCATIONAL SERVICES RELATED TO CLASSROOM TEACHING, LABORATORY EXPERIENCES, AND PROGRAM SERVICE TO 1,174 STUDENTS, INCLUDING 1,073 RECEIVING INSTITUTIONAL FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$9,748,080ExpenseAmt
Revenue$13,162,273RevenueAmt
DescPROVIDED ROOM AND BOARD ON A RESIDENTIAL CAMPUS TO 1128 STUDENTS LIVING IN RESIDENTIAL UNITS AND 1131 STUDENTS WITH BOARD CONTRACTS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$9,172,723ExpenseAmt
Revenue$599,853RevenueAmt
DescEXPENSES RELATED TO PROVIDING PERSONAL SERVICES AND ACTIVITIES FOR STUDENTS AT A RESIDENTIAL COLLEGE, INCLUDING COUNSELING, EXTRA-CURRICULAR ACTIVITIES, ADMISSIONS, WELLNESS, AND STUDENT GOVERNMENT.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$1,619,736ExpenseAmt
Revenue$1,618,778RevenueAmt
DescGOVERNMENT-SPONSORED TRIO PROGRAMS - EXPENSES OF FEDERAL GRANT PROGRAMDesc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$1,619,736TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$1,618,778TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$64,635,202TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (true)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (true)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonYes (true)GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
Info In Schedule O Part VYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVInd
IRP Document3475IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1674EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountYes (true)ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Foreign CountrySPForeignCountryCd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members35GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member35IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressYes (true)OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSHERYL KAMERICKPersonNm
Phone6416285274PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1812 UNIVERSITYAddressLine1Txt
CityPELLACityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP50219ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (44 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
BERNADETTE ALLEN
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
PETER CARTWRIGHT
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
DANIEL DE COOK
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
TEJ DHAWAN
VICE CHAIR0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
JULIE FISHER
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
SHAYLA FROM
SECRETARY0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
JAMES GRIFFITH
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
DENNIS HANSON
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARTIN HEEREMA
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES ISRAEL
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
BARBARA KNIFF-MCCULLA
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
THOMAS KOOS
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
KEVIN KORVER
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
J LANIER LITTLE
CHAIRMAN1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
SOPHIE MATHONNET-VANDER WELL
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHARLES MORRIS
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEFFREY OLIVER
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
KARIN PETERSON
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
BARBARA PETTITT
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
WILLIAM RANKIN
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICK RYAN
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN SCHMIDT
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
KATHLEEN SIKKEMA
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEVE SIKKINK
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
DONNA SMITH
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
HARRY SMITH
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT THOMPSON
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
DEANNA VER STEEG
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
JUDITH VOGEL
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARY WORSTELL
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
JASON ANDRINGA
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROGER BROWN
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL MAIN
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
JANA RIEKER
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARKAY WINSTON
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK PUTNAM
PRESIDENT40.00$276,016$0$49,628Yes (X)
THOMAS JOHNSON
VP FINANCE &40.00$175,630$0$37,420Yes (X)
SHERYL KAMERICK
ASST. TREAS40.00$84,717$0$9,170Yes (X)
MARY STREY
VP ACADEMICS40.00$180,403$0$57,241Yes (X)
CAROL WILLIAMSON
VP ENROLLMEN40.00$125,909$0$30,311Yes (X)
SUNNY EIGHMY
VP ALUMNI &40.00$122,780$0$12,550Yes (X)
PEGGY FITCH
VP STUDENT S40.00$107,034$0$28,463Yes (X)
ROBERT FRANKS
FACULTY40.00$106,957$0$10,630Yes (X)
JEFF MCMARTIN
COACH40.00$103,811$0$28,276Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,283,257TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$263,689TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K8IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
WEITZ
5901 THORNTON AVEDES MOINESIA50321CONTRACTOR$3,134,618
LMC INSURANCE & RISK MANAGEMENT
4200 UNIVERSITY STE 200WEST DES MOINESIA50266INSURANCE$527,351
ROYALL
1920 E PARHAM RDRICHMONDVA23228CONSULTANT$428,344
EAGLE ELECTRIC
760 218TH PLPELLAIA50219ELECTRICAL$383,194
ELLUCIAN INC
62578 COLLECTIONS CENTERCHICAGOIL60693SOFTWARE$310,402
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K25CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$5,640,991AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$366,083NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$5,640,991TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
TUITION611600$42,866,047$42,866,047
AUXILIARY611600$12,331,016$12,331,016
GOVT TRIO611600$1,618,778$1,618,778
AUXILIARY722320$831,257$831,257
EDUCATIONAL611600$599,853$599,853
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$58,246,951TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,641,295TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$3,641,295ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$104,124RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$61,683RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$42,441RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$42,441TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$42,441ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$67,571,678TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$57,415,694RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$831,257UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$3,683,736ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,401,784TotalAmt
Program Services$25,401,784ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,363,574TotalAmt
Program Services$570,062ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$643,155ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$150,357FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,477,693TotalAmt
Program Services$14,889,200ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,383,454ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,205,039FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,251,262TotalAmt
Program Services$1,059,460ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$110,708ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$81,094FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,393,350TotalAmt
Program Services$2,073,354ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$210,071ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$109,925FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,286,547TotalAmt
Program Services$1,103,840ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$98,758ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$83,949FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$958,700TotalAmt
Program Services$728,177ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$154,601ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$75,922FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$140,743TotalAmt
Management And General$140,743ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$80,570TotalAmt
Management And General$80,570ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$596,468TotalAmt
Program Services$17,783ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$578,685FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,230,724TotalAmt
Program Services$1,760,756ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$182,514ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$287,454FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$600,287TotalAmt
Program Services$210,887ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$389,400ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$859,842TotalAmt
Program Services$851,748ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,094ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$924,271TotalAmt
Program Services$808,120ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$82,360ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$33,791FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$205,205TotalAmt
Program Services$81,258ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$59,194ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$64,753FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,586,482TotalAmt
Program Services$1,581,714ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,783ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$985FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,125,276TotalAmt
Program Services$4,020,437ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$77,483ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$27,356FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
OPERATIONAL MAINTENANCE$3,333,050$3,233,539$69,202$30,309
FOOD$1,865,942$1,865,942
OTHER$1,709,913$1,490,798$217,266$1,849
TRIO$1,619,736$1,619,736

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,266,607TotalAmt
Program Services$1,266,607ProgramServicesAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$71,278,026TotalAmt
Program Services$64,635,202ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,911,356ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,731,468FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$906,285BOYAmt
EOY$646,822EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,498,561BOYAmt
EOY$1,130,894EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,720,377BOYAmt
EOY$2,690,345EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$921,062BOYAmt
EOY$820,365EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,551,028BOYAmt
EOY$3,817,894EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$264,728BOYAmt
EOY$266,300EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$516,856BOYAmt
EOY$415,031EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$176,763,445LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$81,537,995LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$95,918,066BOYAmt
EOY$95,225,450EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$45,843,260BOYAmt
EOY$44,174,015EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$32,648,529BOYAmt
EOY$37,841,000EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$367,589BOYAmt
EOY$367,589EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$186,156,341BOYAmt
EOY$187,395,705EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,560,102BOYAmt
EOY$4,526,494EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$361,957BOYAmt
EOY$517,938EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$44,996,312BOYAmt
EOY$45,023,729EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,026,874BOYAmt
EOY$21,464,214EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,010,365BOYAmt
EOY$2,894,349EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$72,955,610BOYAmt
EOY$74,426,724EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$52,070,684BOYAmt
EOY$50,240,337EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,799,153BOYAmt
EOY$12,179,249EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,330,894BOYAmt
EOY$50,549,395EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$113,200,731BOYAmt
EOY$112,968,981EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$186,156,341BOYAmt
EOY$187,395,705EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$3,706,348ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$3,474,598NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Assets Included$367,589AssetsIncludedAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Collection Used Pub ExhibitionYes (X)CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd
Coll Used Scholarly RsrchYes (X)CollUsedScholarlyRsrchInd
Collection Used PreservationYes (X)CollectionUsedPreservationInd
Coll Used Loan Or Exch ProgYes (X)CollUsedLoanOrExchProgInd
Solicited Assets SalefalseSolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$76,453,480BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,012,032ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$7,045,740InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,549,466GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,950,534OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$81,011,252EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$71,347,418BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$858,114ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$7,772,472InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,527,935GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,996,589OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$76,453,480EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$78,540,803BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$906,269ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$2,441,490InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,517,858GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$4,140,306OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$71,347,418EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$79,887,626BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,220,021ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$933,156InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,504,609GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,995,391OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$78,540,803EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$71,067,325BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,292,161ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$10,928,140InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,458,338GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,941,662OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$79,887,626EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.29000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.64000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.07000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,842,946OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$6,842,946BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$144,487,382OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$58,148,250DepreciationAmt
Book Value$86,339,132BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$24,954,132OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$23,389,745DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,564,387BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$478,985OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$478,985BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$95,225,450TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (9 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PRIVATE EQUITY$10,969,912F
REAL ESTATE$9,670,153F
HEDGE FUNDS$8,568,382F
CF PRIVATE EQUITY$3,060,461F
CO MINGLED FUNDS$2,260,776F
REAL ASSETS$1,831,624F
CF REAL ASSETS$1,409,524F
PELLA CINEMA$70,000F
OTHER REAL ASSETS$168F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$37,841,000TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
US GOVT GRANT REFUNDABLE$2,228,980
ANNUITIES PAYABLE$665,369
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,894,349TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$45,706,175TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$3,474,598NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$61,683OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$3,536,281RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$42,169,894RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$25,401,784OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$25,401,784RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$67,571,678TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$45,937,925TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$61,683OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$61,683ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$45,876,242ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$25,401,784OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$25,401,784ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$71,278,026TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 2, PART III, LINE 4PAINTINGS AND INDIAN JEWELRY COLLECTION USED IN ACADEMIC CLASSES, PUBLIC DISPLAY ON CAMPUS AND LOANED TO OTHER NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATIONS WITH NO FEE.
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 2, PART V, LINE 4INTENDED USE OF THE ENDOWMENT FUNDS IS TO FUND EDUCATIONAL SCHOLARSHIPS AND AWARDS FOR CENTRAL COLLEGE STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND SUPPORT FOR ENDOWED CHAIRS, AND ADDITIONAL SPECIAL PROJECTS FOR FACULTY MEMBERS AND THE MUSIC DEPARTMENT.
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 3, PART XTHE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE HAS DETERMINED THAT THE COLLEGE IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAX UNDER SECTION 501C3 OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. THE COLLEGE IS ALSO EXEMPT FROM STATE INCOME TAX. HOWEVER, ANY UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME MAY BE SUBJECT TO TAXATION. THE COLLEGE FOLLOWS THE ACCOUNTING STANDARDS FOR CONTINGENCIES IN EVALUATING CERTAIN UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS. THIS GUIDANCE PRESCRIBES RECOGNITION THRESHOLD PRINCIPLES FOR THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT RECOGNITION OF TAX POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN ON A TAX RETURN THAT ARE NOT CERTAIN TO BE REALIZED. NO LIABILITY HAS BEEN RECOGNIZED BY THE COLLEGE FOR UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS AS OF JUNE 30, 2018 AND 2017. THE COLLEGE'S TAX RETURNS ARE SUBJECT TO REVIEW AND EXAMINATION BY FEDERAL AND STATE AUTHORITIES. THE TAX RETURN FOR FISCAL YEARS 2015 AND THEREAFTER ARE OPEN TO EXAMINATION BY FEDERAL AND STATE AUTHORITIES.
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 2DRENTAL EXPENSES 61,683
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 4BFINANCIAL AID 25,401,784
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 2DRENTAL EXPENSES 61,683
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 4BFINANCIAL AID 25,401,784

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (true)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, LINE 3CENTRAL COLLEGE ADMITS STUDENTS ON THE BASIS OF ACADEMIC QUALIFICATIONS WITHOUT REGARD TO ETHNICITY, RACE, NATURAL ORIGIN, ANCESTORY, COLOR, SOCIO-ECONOMIC CLASS, CREED, RELIGION, PHILOSOPHICAL BELIEF, MARITAL STATUS, DISABILITY, PHYSICAL APPEARANCE, SEX, AGE, SEXUAL ORIENTATION, GENDER EXPRESSION AND IDENTITY, AND ORGANIZATIONAL AFFILIATIONS. CENTRAL COLLEGE STUDENTS HAVE EQUAL RIGHTS, PRIVILEGES, AND RESPONSIBILITIES UNLESS SPECIFICALLY RESTRICTED BY COLLEGE DISCIPLINARY ACTION.
SCHEDULE E, LINE 6CENTRAL COLLEGE RECEIVES TITLE IV FINANCIAL AID FOR STUDENTS FROM THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCUATION: PELL GRANT, SEOG, CWSP, TEACHER EDUCATION GRANTS/LOANS, AND STAFFORD DIRECT LOANS.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (2 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
EUROPE & UK46PROGRAM SERVICESEDUCATIONAL$1,417,863
MEXICO18PROGRAM SERVICESEDUCATIONAL$272,979
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices5SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees14SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Total Office5TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee14TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$1,690,842SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$1,690,842TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpfalseTransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipfalseForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CofalsePassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipfalseForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE F, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 2CENTRAL COLLEGE EMPLOYEES REVIEW COMPLIANCE FOR ALL EXPENDITURES MADE OUTSIDE THE UNITED STATES.
SCHEDULE F, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 3EUROPE & UK 1,417,863 0 MEXICO 272,979 0

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
INSTITUTIONAL AID1073$23,852,318
ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIPS336$1,549,466

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE I, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCENTRAL COLLEGE EMPLOYEES ANNUALLY REVIEW COMPLIANCE FOR ALL FEDERAL, STATE, AND PRIVATE GRANTS RECEIVED. IN ADDITION, CENTRAL COLLEGE IS REQUIRED TO PARTICIPATE AND FILE THE FEDERAL SINGLE AUDIT OF FINANCIAL AID PERFORMED BY OUR EXTERNAL AUDIT FIRM.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
MARK PUTNAM
PRESIDENT$246,597$29,419$26,000$23,628$325,644
THOMAS JOHNSON
VP FINANCE & TREAS$157,106$18,524$18,700$18,720$213,050
MARY STREY
VP ACADEMICS$179,865$538$19,400$37,841$237,644
CAROL WILLIAMSON
VP ENROLLMENT$125,909$30,311$156,220

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE J, PART IIIFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCENTRAL COLLEGE OWNED PROPERTY IS PROVIDED TO THE PRESIDENT. THE PROPERTY IS USED FOR MANY COLLEGE FUNCTIONS, MEALS, AND RECEPTIONS INVOLVING FACULTY, STAFF, STUDENTS, DONORS, AND THE GENERAL PUBLIC THROUGHOUT THE YEAR. THERE IS NO PRIVATE RESIDENCE FOR THE FAMILY. AS PART OF A CONTRACTUAL AGREEMENT, THE PRESIDENT IS REQUIRED TO LIVE ON THE PROPERTY AND HOST EVENTS LISED ABOVE. SOCIAL CLUB DUES ARE PAID BY THE COLLEGE AND ARE USED FOR BUSINESS PURPOSES ONLY. MEETS MONTHLY WITH THE DES MOINES AREA PARTNERSHIP ORGANIZATION AND DONORS IN THE AREA. TRAVEL FOR COMPANIONS: PRESIDENT'S WIFE TRAVELS FOR BONA FIED BUSINESS TRIPS ONLY FOR REQUIRED CONFERENCES AND MEETINGS WITH DONORS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1IOWA HIGHER EDUCATION LOAN AUTHORITBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN421235696BondIssuerEIN
CUSIP4624605AOCUSIPNum
Bond Issued2016-12-20BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$45,730,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeSEE PART VIPurposeDesc
DefeasedfalseDefeasedInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool FinancingfalsePoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Total Proceeds$46,633,798TotalProceedsAmt
Capitalized Interest$1,323,629CapitalizedInterestAmt
Refunding Escrow$32,010,385RefundingEscrowAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$740,851IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$12,091,123OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Unspent$467,810UnspentAmt
Substantial Completion2011SubstantialCompletionYr
Current RefundingYes (true)CurrentRefundingInd
Advance RefundingYes (true)AdvanceRefundingInd
Final Allocation MadefalseFinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (true)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed PropertyfalseOwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease ArrangementsfalseAnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropfalseMgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research AgreementsfalseAnyResearchAgreementsInd
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestfalseBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed PropfalseChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (true)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T FiledfalseForm8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due YetYes (true)RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To RebateYes (true)ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate DuefalseNoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate IssuefalseVariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And RecfalseHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GICfalseGrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds InvestedfalseGrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsYes (true)WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (true)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE K - ADDITIONAL INFORMATIONFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationIOWA HIGHER EDUCATION LOAN AUTHORITY PART I, LINE A, COLUMN (F) REFUND PRIOR ISSUES (06/29/05), (06/14/12), (07/02/14) PART II, LINE 3, COLUMN (A) THE TOTAL PROCEEDS DO NOT AFREE TO THE ISSUE PRICE IN PART I, COLUMN (E) DUE TO INVESTMENT EARNINGS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Grnt Asst Bnft Interested Prsn GrntAsstBnftInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship With OrgDEPENDENT WAIVERRelationshipWithOrgTxt
Cash Grant$61,830CashGrantAmt
Type Of AssistanceNONCASHTypeOfAssistanceTxt
Assistance PurposeTUITION WAIVERAssistancePurposeTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution27ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$357,333NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFAIR VALUEMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
DescGRAND PIANODesc
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$8,750NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFAIR VALUEMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (true)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE M, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 32BFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCENTRAL COLLEGE USES US BANCORP TO PROCESS AND SELL DONATED SECURITIES. DONORS TRANSFER SECURITIES TO CENTRAL'S BROKERAGE ACCOUNT. SECURITIES ARE THEN SOLD IMMEDIATELY PER BOARD POLICY AND FUNDS ARE DEPOSITED INTO THE COLLEGE'S CHECKING ACCOUNT AT US BANK.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990 - ORGANIZATION'S MISSIONCENTRAL COLLEGE IS A RESIDENTIAL LIBERAL ARTS COLLEGE DEDICATED TO HELPING STUDENTS DISCOVER AND DEVELOP THEIR GREATEST POTENTIAL. GUIDED BY ITS ECUMENICAL CHRISTIAN TRADITION, THE COLLEGE COMMUNITY ENGAGES IN VIGOROUS, OPEN INQUIRY IN PURSUIT OF ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE. THE COLLEGE NURTURES THE DEVELOPMENT OF THE MIND, WHILE FOSTERING SPIRITUAL AND EMOTIONAL MATURITY AND PHYSICAL WELL-BEING. CENTRAL INTEGRATES CAREER PREPARATION WITH THE DEVELOPMENT OF VALUES ESSENTIAL TO RESPONSIBLE CITIZENSHIP, EMPOWERING GRADUATES FOR EFFECTIVE SERVICE IN LOCAL, NATIONAL, AND INTERNATIONAL COMMUNITIES.
FORM 990, PAGE 2, PART III, LINE 4DGOVERNMENT-SPONSORED TRIO PROGRAMS - EXPENSES OF FEDERAL GRANT PROGRAM
FORM 990, PART V, LINE 4BSPAIN, AUSTRIA, MEXICO, GREAT BRITAIN (UK)
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 9CHARLES MORRIS 812 UNIVERSITY PELLA, IA 50219
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11BFORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY THE GOVERNANCE BOARD OF THE COLLEGE BEFORE FILING.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12CCONFLICT OF INTEREST DOCUMENT IS COMPLETED EACH YEAR AND MONITORED BY THE TREASURER'S OFFICE.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15APRESIDENT'S SALARY IS REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMPENSATION COMMITTEE.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15BSALARIES OF KEY EMPLOYEES AND OFFICERS ARE APPROVED BY DIRECT REPORTS. ALL SALARIES ARE MONITORED BY THE BUSINESS OFFICE MONTHLY.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST