STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

MAINE COMMUNITY HEALTH OPTIONS: Form 990, tax year 2024

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
MAINE COMMUNITY HEALTH OPTIONS (EIN 45-3416923)
Tax period
2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31
Filed
2025-11-17
IRS object ID
202503219349303360
Schema version
2024v5.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2025-11-17T08:34:50-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2024-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN135565207PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KPMG LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line160 SOUTH STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityBOSTONCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02111ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2024-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN453416923EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MAINE COMMUNITY HEALTH OPTIONSBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlMAINBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2074023330PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line160 PINELAND DRIVE AUBURN HALL 301AddressLine1Txt
CityNEW GLOUCESTERCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04260ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJOANNE LAUTERBACHPersonNm
Person TitleCHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERPersonTitleTxt
Phone2073302390PhoneNum
Signature2025-11-13SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr0IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonSTEPHANIE LONCZAKPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01880207PTIN
Phone6179881000PhoneNum
Preparation2025-11-11PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2024TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerKEVIN LEWISPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line160 PINELAND DRIVE AUBURN HALL 301AddressLine1Txt
CityNEW GLOUCESTERCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04260ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$303,838,628GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.HEALTHOPTIONS.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2011FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMELegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PARTNER WITH MAINE PEOPLE, BUSINESSES, AND HEALTH PROFESSIONALS TO PROVIDE AFFORDABLE, HIGH-QUALITY BENEFITS THAT PROMOTE HEALTH AND WELLBEING.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body17VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent17VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee214TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers17TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$54,007TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$45,470NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$304,268,082PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$301,937,399CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,030,280PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,900,576CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$62,625PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$306,360,987PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$303,837,975CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$289,242,539PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$295,641,854CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$24,255,467PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$23,357,500CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$17,493,897PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$18,143,119CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$330,991,903PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$337,142,473CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$24,630,916PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$33,304,498CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$157,104,410TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$124,258,026TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$66,398,006TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$78,774,314TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$90,706,404NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$45,483,712NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionSEE SCHEDULE OMissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescTHE ORGANIZATION WAS ESTABLISHED AND OPERATES AS A CONSUMER-OPERATED AND ORIENTED PLAN ("CO-OP") IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE PROVISIONS OF SECTION 1322 OF THE PATIENT PROTECTION AND AFFORDABLE CARE ACT. AS A CONSUMER-GOVERNED NONPROFIT HEALTH INSURANCE ISSUER, THE ORGANIZATION: (1) PARTNERS WITH MEMBERS, BUSINESSES, AND HEALTH PROFESSIONALS TO PROVIDE AFFORDABLE, HIGH-QUALITY BENEFITS THAT PROMOTE HEALTH AND WELLBEING, (2) CREATES AND DEVELOPS INNOVATIVE FORMS OF HEALTHCARE DELIVERY FOR THE PURPOSE OF CREATING BETTER HEALTHCARE VALUE THROUGH IMPROVED HEALTH OUTCOMES AT LOWER COST, AND (3) PROMOTES THE HEALTH OF THE PEOPLE OF MAINE AND EDUCATES THE PUBLIC ABOUT HEALTH, HEALTHCARE, AND RELATED TOPICS.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building Equipment0ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document1852IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee214EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Licensed More Than One StateYes (1)LicensedMoreThanOneStateInd
State Required Reserves$100,000StateRequiredReservesAmt
Reserves Maintained$100,000ReservesMaintainedAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members17GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member17IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMEStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JOANNE LAUTERBACHBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2073302390PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line160 PINELAND DRIVE AUBURN HALL SUITEAddressLine1Txt
CityNEW GLOUCESTERCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04260ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (27 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
JEFF NORRIS
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
HOLLY KORDA
CHAIR (THRU 12/2024)2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
REBECCA SWANSON CONRAD
VICE CHAIR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ASHER KRAMER
TREASURER2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JUDIANN FERRETTI SMITH
SECRETARY (THRU 12/2024)2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAUL ANDREWS
DIRECTOR (THRU 12/2024)2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LISA BARD LEVINE
DIRECTOR (AS OF 1/2024)2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LESLIE CLARK
DIRECTOR (THRU 12/2024)2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEROD CRONKITE
DIRECTOR (THRU 12/2024)2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHERYL GREANEY
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JIM HARRISON
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RALPH JOHNSON
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR ROBERT LORENZO
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CORY MCKENNA
DIRECTOR (THRU 12/2024)2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LAURIE REED
DIRECTOR (AS OF 1/2024)2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SHARON REISHUS
DIRECTOR (THRU 12/2024)2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANDY TOMLINSON
DIRECTOR (AS OF 1/2024)2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KEVIN LEWIS
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER40.00$420,144$0$36,512Yes (X)
LORI W TISHLER MD MPH
CHIEF MEDICAL OFFICER40.00$389,066$0$57,321Yes (X)
WILLIAM KILBRETH
CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER40.00$277,858$0$55,053Yes (X)
JOANNE LAUTERBACH
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER40.00$285,377$0$18,428Yes (X)
DAVID L STUART
CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER (THRU 9/6/24)40.00$219,060$0$42,832Yes (X)
HEATHER L BOUFFARD
DIRECTOR MARKETING/COMMUNICATIONS40.00$211,518$0$38,416Yes (X)
KIRK MIKLAVIC
VP HUMAN RESOURCES40.00$195,434$0$42,357Yes (X)
GRAYSON STUNTZ
DIRECTOR INFO TECHNOLOGY40.00$185,996$0$12,375Yes (X)
DEBORAH S YOLIN RALEY
VP CLINICAL OPS (THRU 9/2/24)40.00$174,383$0$40,063Yes (X)
JACQUELYN HEDLUND
SENIOR MEDICAL DIRECTOR40.00$172,525$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,531,361TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$343,357TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K46IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
UST HEALTHPROOF INC
5 POLARIS WAYALISO VIEJOCA92656CLAIMS PLATFORM VENDOR$3,202,149
TIERPOINT
12444 POWERSCOURT DRIVE SUITE 450ST LOUISMO63131IT SOLUTIONS$997,232
INOVALON INC
4321 COLLINGTON ROADBOWIEMD20716SOFTWARE TECHNOLOGY$797,299
SALESFORCECOM INC
PO BOX 203141DALLASTX753203141SOFTWARE TECHNOLOGY$645,325
HEALTHEDGE SOFTWARE INC
30 CORPORATE DRIVEBURLINGTONMA01803SOFTWARE TECHNOLOGY$628,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K53CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPREMIUM REVENUEDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$301,937,399TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$301,937,399RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$301,937,399TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,901,229TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$54,007UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,847,222ExclusionAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$653OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$653OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$653TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$653ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$303,837,975TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$301,937,399RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$54,007UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,846,569ExclusionAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$295,641,854TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,591,504TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,444,916TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$429,388TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,787,024TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,104,668TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$635,023TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$292,051TotalAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$60,250TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$189,946TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,609,703TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,009,186TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$950,210TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,092,008TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$51,474TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$73,979TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$96,634TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$521,807TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
GOVERNMENT MANDATED FEE$7,366,109
DUES, ASSOC. AND MEMBER$194,739

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$337,142,473TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,677,808BOYAmt
EOY$5,574,744EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,255,770BOYAmt
EOY$126,002EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,588,869BOYAmt
EOY$9,508,610EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$111,605,737BOYAmt
EOY$100,270,907EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,976,226BOYAmt
EOY$8,777,763EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$157,104,410BOYAmt
EOY$124,258,026EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$39,366,091BOYAmt
EOY$41,838,204EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,031,915BOYAmt
EOY$36,936,110EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$66,398,006BOYAmt
EOY$78,774,314EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$90,706,404BOYAmt
EOY$45,483,712EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$90,706,404BOYAmt
EOY$45,483,712EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$157,104,410BOYAmt
EOY$124,258,026EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$33,304,498ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$11,918,194OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting OtherYes (X)MethodOfAccountingOtherInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$0TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
INVESTMENT INCOME DUE AND ACCRUED$623,351
AMOUNTS RECOVERABLE FROM REINSURERS$8,154,412
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$8,777,763TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
UNPAID CLAIMS AND CLAIM ADJUSTMENT EXPENSES$32,989,629
UNEARNED PREMIUMS$3,946,481
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$36,936,110TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$255,656,183TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$1,050,031OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$1,050,031RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$254,606,152RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$189,946InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$49,041,877OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$49,231,823RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$303,837,975TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$299,720,906TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included-$38,281,652OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported-$38,281,652ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$338,002,558ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$189,946InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included-$1,050,031OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt-$860,085ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$337,142,473TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:EXPLANATION: MAINE COMMUNITY HEALTH OPTIONS HAS BEEN RECOGNIZED BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE AS AN ORGANIZATION DESCRIBED IN INTERNAL REVENUE CODE SECTION 501(C)(29) AND IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501(A) OF THE CODE. ACCORDINGLY NO PROVISION FOR INCOME TAXES HAS BEEN MADE IN THE ACCOMPANYING FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE ORGANIZATION FOLLOWS THE PROVISIONS OF ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES AS PROVIDED FOR IN THE INCOME TAXES TOPIC OF THE FASB ACCOUNTING STANDARDS CODIFICATION, WHICH CLARIFIES THE CRITERIA THAT AN INDIVIDUAL TAX POSITION MUST BE RECOGNIZED IN AN ENTITY'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. IT ALSO PRESCRIBES A RECOGNITION THRESHOLD OF MORE LIKELY THAN NOT, AND A MEASUREMENT ATTRIBUTE FOR ALL TAX POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN ON A TAX RETURN, IN ORDER FOR THOSE TAX POSITIONS TO BE RECOGNIZED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THERE WAS NO CUMULATIVE EFFECT ON THE ORGANIZATION'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS RELATED TO FOLLOWING THESE PROVISIONS, AND NO INTEREST OR PENALTIES RELATED TO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS WERE ACCRUED. THE ORGANIZATION IS CURRENTLY OPEN TO AUDIT UNDER THE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE AND STATE TAXING AUTHORITIES FOR THE YEARS ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2020 THROUGH 2023.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:CONTRA-PREMIUMS AND REINSURANCE PREMIUMS
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:OTHER REIMBURSEMENTS AND REBATES
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:OTHER REIMBURSEMENTS AND REBATES INCREASE IN RESERVES FOR ACCIDENTS AND HEALTH INSURANCE CONTRACTS
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:CONTRA-PREMIUMS AND REINSURANCE PREMIUMS

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (10 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
KEVIN LEWIS
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER$420,144$0$0$0$0$0$13,800$0$22,712$0$456,656$0$0$0
LORI W TISHLER MD MPH
CHIEF MEDICAL OFFICER$389,066$0$0$0$0$0$13,800$0$43,521$0$446,387$0$0$0
WILLIAM KILBRETH
CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER$277,858$0$0$0$0$0$11,343$0$43,710$0$332,911$0$0$0
JOANNE LAUTERBACH
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER$285,377$0$0$0$0$0$11,385$0$7,043$0$303,805$0$0$0
DAVID L STUART
CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER (THRU 9/6/24$219,060$0$0$0$0$0$9,106$0$33,726$0$261,892$0$0$0
HEATHER L BOUFFARD
DIRECTOR MARKETING/COMMUNICATIONS$210,018$0$1,500$0$0$0$8,548$0$29,868$0$249,934$0$0$0
KIRK MIKLAVIC
VP HUMAN RESOURCES$193,934$0$1,500$0$0$0$8,124$0$34,233$0$237,791$0$0$0
DEBORAH S YOLIN RALEY
VP CLINICAL OPS (THRU 9/2/24)$174,383$0$0$0$0$0$6,710$0$33,353$0$214,446$0$0$0
GRAYSON STUNTZ
DIRECTOR INFO TECHNOLOGY$184,496$0$1,500$0$0$0$7,425$0$4,950$0$198,371$0$0$0
JACQUELYN HEDLUND
SENIOR MEDICAL DIRECTOR$171,025$0$1,500$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$172,525$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 7FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCERTAIN INDIVIDUALS RECEIVED A NON-FIXED BONUS PAYMENT. THESE PAYMENTS WERE DISCRETIONARY AND REQUIRED BOARD APPROVAL.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART III, LINE 1THE ORGANIZATION WAS ESTABLISHED AND OPERATES AS A CONSUMER-OPERATED AND ORIENTED PLAN ("CO-OP") IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE PROVISIONS OF SECTION 1322 OF THE PATIENT PROTECTION AND AFFORDABLE CARE ACT. AS A CONSUMER-GOVERNED NONPROFIT HEALTH INSURANCE ISSUER, THE ORGANIZATION: (1) PARTNERS WITH MEMBERS, BUSINESSES, AND HEALTH PROFESSIONALS TO PROVIDE AFFORDABLE, HIGH-QUALITY BENEFITS THAT PROMOTE HEALTH AND WELLBEING, (2) CREATES AND DEVELOPS INNOVATIVE FORMS OF HEALTHCARE DELIVERY FOR THE PURPOSE OF CREATING BETTER HEALTHCARE VALUE THROUGH IMPROVED HEALTH OUTCOMES AT LOWER COST, AND (3) PROMOTES THE HEALTH OF THE PEOPLE OF MAINE AND EDUCATES THE PUBLIC ABOUT HEALTH, HEALTHCARE, AND RELATED TOPICS. FORM 990, PART V, LINE 13: MCHO IS LICENSED TO ISSUE QUALIFIED HEALTH PLANS IN THE FOLLOWING STATES: ME, NH MCHO MAINTAINS AND REPORTS THE FULL AMOUNT OF RESERVES REQUIRED BY MAINE AND NEW HAMPSHIRE STATE LAW OF $100,000 AND $0, RESPECTIVELY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6EXPLANATION: THIS CORPORATION HAS ONE CLASS OF MEMBERS CONSISTING OF ALL INDIVIDUALS COVERED UNDER HEALTH INSURANCE POLICIES ISSUED BY THE CORPORATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AEXPLANATION: EACH MEMBER 18 YEARS AND OLDER SHALL HAVE A SINGLE VOTE. ALL DECISIONS OF THE MEMBERS SHALL BE BY A MAJORITY VOTE. THE MEMBERS SHALL BE LISTED ON A SCHEDULE THAT SHALL BE MAINTAINED WITH THIS CORPORATION'S OTHER BOOKS AND RECORDS. THE MEMBERS SHALL HAVE THE SOLE AND EXCLUSIVE POWER AND AUTHORITY: TO AMEND THIS CORPORATION'S ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION; TO ELECT OR REMOVE DIRECTORS OF THIS CORPORATION; AND TO APPROVE THE MERGER, CONSOLIDATION, DISSOLUTION, OR SALE OF ALL OR SUBSTANTIALLY ALL OF THE ASSETS OF THIS CORPORATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BEXPLANATION: EACH MEMBER 18 YEARS AND OLDER SHALL HAVE A SINGLE VOTE. ALL DECISIONS OF THE MEMBERS SHALL BE BY A MAJORITY VOTE. THE MEMBERS SHALL BE LISTED ON A SCHEDULE THAT SHALL BE MAINTAINED WITH THIS CORPORATION'S OTHER BOOKS AND RECORDS. THE MEMBERS SHALL HAVE THE SOLE AND EXCLUSIVE POWER AND AUTHORITY: TO AMEND THIS CORPORATION'S ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION; TO ELECT OR REMOVE DIRECTORS OF THIS CORPORATION; AND TO APPROVE THE MERGER, CONSOLIDATION, DISSOLUTION, OR SALE OF ALL OR SUBSTANTIALLY ALL OF THE ASSETS OF THIS CORPORATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BEXPLANATION: A COPY OF THE FORM 990 IS PROVIDED TO BOARD MEMBERS FOR REVIEW AND APPROVAL PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CEXPLANATION: WHEN OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS START, THEY ARE REQUIRED TO SIGN A CONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENT AND REPORTING FORM INDICATING THAT THEY DO NOT HAVE ANY CONFLICTS OF INTEREST OR ANY POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. ANY POTENTIAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST IS REVIEWED BY THE COMPLIANCE DEPARTMENT AND OUTSIDE COUNSEL, IF NECESSARY, TO DETERMINE IF SUCH CONFLICT WOULD PROHIBIT THE INDIVIDUAL FROM PERFORMING THEIR OFFICER OR BOARD DUTIES. THEY ARE THEN REQUIRED TO RECERTIFY ANNUALLY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15EXPLANATION: NUMEROUS LEVELS OF OVERSIGHT WERE INVOLVED IN SETTING BOTH CEO AND OFFICERS' COMPENSATION FOR MAINE COMMUNITY HEALTH OPTIONS. FIRST AND FOREMOST, THE FORMATION BOARD OF MCHO WAS CRITICALLY INVOLVED IN THE DECISION ABOUT THE COMPENSATION OF THE CEO. SALARIES OF CEOS OF OTHER NON-PROFIT INSURANCE ORGANIZATIONS WERE PROVIDED TO THE BOARD AND THE CEO SALARY WAS APPROVED. ONCE APPROVED BY THE BOARD, CMS REVIEWED THE SALARY FOR REASONABLENESS AND ADEQUATE COMPARABILITY PRIOR TO EXECUTION OF THE LETTER OF AGREEMENT. ON AN ANNUAL BASIS, COMPENSATION CHANGES FOR THE CEO ARE RECOMMENDED BY HUMAN RESOURCES UTILIZING VARIOUS MARKET COMPENSATION TOOLS. ANY COMPENSATION CHANGES ARE DISCUSSED AND ULTIMATELY APPROVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. TO DETERMINE SALARIES FOR THE REMAINING OFFICERS OF MCHO, THE CEO AND THE VICE PRESIDENT, HUMAN RESOURCES UTILIZED VARIOUS MARKET COMPENSATION TOOLS TO DETERMINE COMPARABLE SALARIES BASED ON WHAT WOULD BE PAID FOR SERVICES PERFORMED BY AN OFFICER FOR LIKE ENTERPRISES UNDER LIKE CIRCUMSTANCES. WHEN AN OFFICER SUBSEQUENTLY LEAVES THEIR POSITION, THE SALARY OF THE NEWLY HIRED INDIVIDUAL IS DETERMINED BY HUMAN RESOURCES AND THE CEO UTILIZING VAROUS MARKET COMPENSATION TOOLS. ALL COMPENSATION DECISIONS ARE DOCUMENTED.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19EXPLANATION: MCHO WILL MAKE ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICIES AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC IN PRINT UPON REQUEST. MCHO'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE MADE PUBLIC WITH THE MAINE BUREAU OF INSURANCE AND THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF INSURANCE COMMISSIONERS AS WELL AS THROUGH FORM 990.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:CHANGE IN NONADMITTED ASSETS -1,157,968. INCREASE IN RESERVES FOR ACCIDENTS/HEALTH CONTRACTS -10,760,226.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 1:MAINE COMMUNITY HEALTH OPTIONS PREPARED ITS 2024 AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS USING THE STATUTORY BASIS, WHICH IS A COMPREHENSIVE METHOD OTHER THAN U.S. GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES (GAAP).
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:EXPLANATION: THIS PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1COMMUNITY OPTIONS LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 1121AddressLine1Txt
CityLEWISTONCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04243ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN301244131EIN
Primary ActivitiesLICENSED RESIDENT PRODUCER AGENCYPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMELegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$31,655TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$98,863EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MAINE COMMUNITY HEALTH OPTIONSBusinessNameLine1Txt