STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

WEST CENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCORPORATED: Form 990, tax year 2018

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
WEST CENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCORPORATED (EIN 46-0225950)
Tax period
2018-01-01 to 2018-12-31
Filed
2019-08-27
IRS object ID
201932399349300623
Schema version
2018v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2019-08-27T08:55:21-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2018-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EIDE BAILLY LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1200 EAST 10TH ST PO BOX 5125AddressLine1Txt
CitySIOUX FALLSCityNm
State AbbreviationSDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP571175125ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2018-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN460225950EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WEST CENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlWESTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6056692472PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 17AddressLine1Txt
CityMURDOCityNm
State AbbreviationSDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP575590017ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJEFF BIRKLANDPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6056692472PhoneNum
Signature2019-08-23SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLAURIE HANSONPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00851848PTIN
Phone6053391999PhoneNum
Preparation2019-08-23PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address199.247.43.183IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2019-08-23IPDt
IP Tm13:20:52IPTm
IP TimezoneCDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdC5ADF3E96DC5FD5E5884512D59AB882B10EDFEC1AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id58563A860C08994041E53A5B7FE60D5BE488C1ACAtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2018TaxYr
Build TS2019-02-21 02:37:17ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMIKE MCQUISTIONPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 17AddressLine1Txt
CityMURDOCityNm
State AbbreviationSDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP575590017ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$18,819,594GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressHTTP://WWW.WCE.COOPWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1949FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateSDLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY TO RURAL AREAS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body10VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent10VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee37TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$17,304,825PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$18,601,484CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$51,120PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$218,110CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$4,712PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$17,360,657PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$18,819,594CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$15,750PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$15,750CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$934,422PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$1,920,353CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$3,493,475PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$3,682,479CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$12,728,416PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$12,880,714CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$17,172,063PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$18,499,296CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$188,594PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$320,298CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$46,707,340TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$48,919,044TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$30,124,368TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$30,699,026TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$16,582,972NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$18,220,018NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY TO RURAL AREAS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDED ELECTRIC SERVICE TO APPROXIMATELY 3,691 MEMBERS AND BUILT 34.71 MILES OF LINES.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document11IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee37EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$17,891,560MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$251,981OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members10GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member10IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JEFF BIRKLANDBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6056692472PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 17AddressLine1Txt
CityMURDOCityNm
State AbbreviationSDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP57559ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (14 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
MIKE MCQUISTION
PRESIDENT10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$10,560$0$0
SHAD RIGGLE
VICE PRESIDENT6.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$14,760$0$0
KENNETH MILLER
SECRETARY-TREASURER7.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$15,320$0$0
RICHARD BENDT
DIRECTOR8.00Yes (X)$12,520$0$0
DAVID J MERTENS
DIRECTOR10.00Yes (X)$15,040$0$0
KEVIN NEUHAUSER
DIRECTOR6.00Yes (X)$13,640$0$0
JIM WILLERT
DIRECTOR5.00Yes (X)$11,400$0$0
MARTY HANSEN
DIRECTOR8.00Yes (X)$17,280$0$0
PAUL PATTERSON
DIRECTOR6.00Yes (X)$13,640$0$0
JIM SMITH
DIRECTOR6.00Yes (X)$16,440$0$0
STEVEN J REED
GENERAL MANAGER/CEO50.00Yes (X)$287,221$0$95,514
JEFF BIRKELAND
CFO/ASSISTANT MANAGER50.00Yes (X)$127,119$0$97,433
SCOTT KITTLESON
OPERATIONS MANAGER50.00$122,199$0$131,522Yes (X)
KIT TALICH
SYSTEM ENGINEER50.00$110,311$0$44,666Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$787,450TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$369,135TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K4IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K0CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALE OF POWER221000$16,782,395$16,782,395
CAPITAL CREDITS221000$1,277,749$1,277,749
OTHER OPERATING221000$557,290$557,290
OTHER NON-OPERATING900099-$15,950-$15,950
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$18,601,484TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$196,055TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$196,055ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$22,055OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$22,055OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$22,055TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$22,055ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$18,819,594TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$18,601,484RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$218,110ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,750TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,920,353TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$683,008TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,353,347TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$443,458TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$202,666TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$972,087TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,652,372TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
COST OF POWER$8,855,932
DISTRIBUTION-OPERATIONS$1,893,848
ADMIN & GENERAL$1,736,347
DISTRIBUTION-MAINTENANC$503,885

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total-$2,733,757TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,499,296TotalAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,915,836BOYAmt
EOY$1,806,280EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,975,566BOYAmt
EOY$1,994,813EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$360,603BOYAmt
EOY$213,086EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,218,090BOYAmt
EOY$1,066,591EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$562,950BOYAmt
EOY$445,414EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$59,614,496LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$26,088,073LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$32,337,793BOYAmt
EOY$33,526,423EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,127,389BOYAmt
EOY$588,229EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$130,454BOYAmt
EOY$143,900EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,078,659BOYAmt
EOY$7,909,214EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$1,225,094EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$46,707,340BOYAmt
EOY$48,919,044EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,259,956BOYAmt
EOY$1,970,205EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$25,897,173BOYAmt
EOY$26,715,176EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$345,310BOYAmt
EOY$345,310EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,621,929BOYAmt
EOY$1,668,335EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,124,368BOYAmt
EOY$30,699,026EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,582,972BOYAmt
EOY$18,220,018EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,582,972BOYAmt
EOY$18,220,018EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$46,707,340BOYAmt
EOY$48,919,044EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$320,298ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$1,316,748OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$87,244OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$87,244BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,430,175OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$895,098DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,535,077BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$56,093,273OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$25,192,975DepreciationAmt
Book Value$30,900,298BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,003,804OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,003,804BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$33,526,423TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
RUSHMORE ELECTRIC POWER COOPERATIVE$6,999,154C
BASIN ELECTRIC POWER COOPERATIVE MEMEBERSHIP$100C
RURAL ELECTRIC SUPPLY COOPERATIVE$21,689C
NATIONAL INFORMATION SOLUTIONS COOPERATIVE$39,537C
FEDERATED RURAL ELECTRIC INSURANCE CORPORATION$235,446C
NATIONAL RURAL UTILITIES COOPERATIVE FINANCE CORPORATION$613,288C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$7,909,214TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
CUSTOMER DEPOSITS$204,660
DEFERRED CREDITS$1,463,675
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,668,335TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$18,819,594TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$18,819,594RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$18,819,594TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$16,578,943TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$16,578,943ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$1,920,353OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$1,920,353ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$18,499,296TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE IS EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501 (C)(12) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND IS ANNUALLY REQUIRED TO FILE A RETURN OF ORGANIZATION EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAX (FORM 990) WITH THE IRS. THE COOPERATIVE BELIEVES IT HAS APPROPRIATE SUPPORT FOR ANY TAX POSITIONS TAKEN AFFECTING ITS ANNUAL FILING REQUIREMENTS, AND AS SUCH, DOES NOT HAVE ANY UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT ARE MATERIAL TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE COOPERATIVE WOULD RECOGNIZE FUTURE ACCRUED INTEREST AND PENALTIES RELATED TO UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS IN INCOME TAX EXPENSE IF SUCH INTEREST AND PENALTIES ARE INCURRED.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:ALLOCATION OF 2018 MARGINS TO MEMBERS IN 2019 1,920,353.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeSCHOLARSHIPSGrantTypeTxt
Recipient21RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$15,750CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationEACH YEAR WEST CENTRAL SUPPORTS CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR AREA STUDENTS BY OFFERING SEVERAL SCHOLARSHIPS TO HIGH SCHOOL SENIORS WHO ARE DEPENDENTS OF COOPERATIVE MEMBERS. THE SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE, CEO, DIRECTOR OF MEMBER SERVICES, AND CFO ARE CHARGED WITH REVIEWING APPLICATIONS AND DETERMINING THE WINNERS BASED ON THEIR MERITS. SCHOLARSHIP DISBURSEMENTS ARE CO-PAYABLE TO THE STUDENT AND THE SCHOOL OF THE STUDENTS CHOICE. SHOULD A STUDENT DECIDE NOT TO ATTEND SCHOOL, THE FUNDS ARE RETURNED TO WEST CENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC. THE PROCESS FOR MONITORING INCLUDES APPROVAL THROUGH THE BUDGET PROCESS BY THE BOARD. THE BOARD IS INFORMED OF THE SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS AND THE AMOUNT GIVEN EACH YEAR.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
STEVEN J REED
GENERAL MANAGER/CEO$205,110$0$0$0$82,111$0$77,355$0$20,119$0$384,695$0$0$0
JEFF BIRKELAND
CFO/ASSISTANT MANAGER$114,379$0$0$0$12,740$0$82,207$0$16,408$0$225,734$0$0$0
SCOTT KITTLESON
OPERATIONS MANAGER$105,388$0$0$0$16,811$0$116,296$0$16,355$0$254,850$0$0$0
KIT TALICH
SYSTEM ENGINEER$99,957$0$0$0$10,354$0$29,439$0$16,268$0$156,018$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMN (C)FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationPART II COLUMN (C) INCLUDES THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE IN THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN FOR ALL PERSONS INCLUDED ON SCHEDULE J. THE ACTUAL CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN FOR EACH RESPECTIVE EMPLOYEE ARE NOT INCLUDIBLE IN COLUMN (C).ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (12 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6CLASS A MEMBERS - ALL MEMBERS WITH LESS THAN A 2 MW LOAD. CLASS B MEMBERS - MEMBERS HAVING A LOAD EQUAL TO OR GREATER THAN 2 MW.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AEACH MEMBER HAS ONE VOTE FOR ELECTION OF BOARD MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BMEMBERS VOTE ON BYLAW CHANGES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BCOMMITTEES MEET AND REPORT TO THE BOARD. THE ENTIRE BOARD ACTS AS A WHOLE. A COMMITTEE CANNOT TAKE ACTION BY ITSELF.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE BOARD WILL REVIEW THE FORM 990 AT A BOARD MEETING PRIOR TO FILING THE 990. BOARD MEMBERS WILL BE GIVEN A COPY OF THE 990 AT THAT TIME.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CALL DIRECTORS AND STAFF ARE COVERED UNDER THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. EITHER MANAGEMENT OR THE BOARD CAN DETERMINE IF THERE IS A CONFLICT OF INTEREST. CONFLICTS ARE REVIEWED AT THE CEO AND BOARD LEVEL. THE RESTRICTIONS ARE IMPOSED ON A CASE BY CASE BASIS AND WILL REMOVE THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD USES NRECA COMPENSATION STUDY AND SDREA WAGE AND SALARY SURVEY TO SET THE CEO'S COMPENSATION. CEO USES NRECA COMPENSATION STUDY AND SDREA WAGE AND SALARY SURVEY TO SET STAFF AND INSIDE EMPLOYEES' WAGES. THIS PROCESS IS DONE BI-ANNUALLY AND WAS LAST UNDERTAKEN IN 2017.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE TO OUR MEMBERS. ALL DOCUMENTS CAN BE VIEWED AT THE COOPERATIVE HEADQUARTERS IN MURDO.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN F, OTHER COMPENSATION:INCLUDED IN OTHER COMPENSATION IS THE ESTIMATED CURRENT YEAR INCREASE OR DECREASE IN THE ACTUARIAL VALUE OF THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN FOR THE GENERAL MANAGER/CEO, CFO, OPERATIONS MANAGER, AND SYSTEM ENGINEER. THE CURRENT YEAR INCREASE OR DECREASE DOES NOT REPRESENT CURRENT YEAR CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN. RATHER, IT IS AN ESTIMATE OF THE INCREASE OR DECREASE IN THE ACTUARIAL VALUE OF THE PLAN AS CALCULATED BY THE PLAN ADMINISTRATOR.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:RETIREMENT OF CAPITAL CREDITS -603,605. ALLOCATION OF 2018 MARGINS TO MEMBERS IN 2019 1,920,353.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24E STATEMENT OF FUNCTIONAL EXPENSES:THE LABOR, PENSION AND PAYROLL TAXES REPORTED ON LINES 6-10 ARE INCLUDED IN DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE, ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL EXPENSE AND CUSTOMER EXPENSE. THEREFORE, LABOR, PENSION AND PAYROLL TAXES ARE SHOWN AS A REDUCTION TO OTHER EXPENSES ON LINE 24E.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4, BENEFITS PAID TO OR FOR MEMBERS:THE COOPERATIVE HAS INTERPRETED THE INSTRUCTIONS TO PART IX, LINE 4, TO MEAN PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED FOR THE YEAR, RATHER THAN PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED. THIS IS CONSISTENT WITH THE BY-LAWS OF THE COOPERATIVE.