STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN HEALTH PLAN: Form 990, tax year 2018

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN HEALTH PLAN (EIN 38-2356288)
Tax period
2018-01-01 to 2018-12-31
Filed
2019-11-13
IRS object ID
201933179349307163
Schema version
2018v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2019-11-13T15:18:07-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2018-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN383133790PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ANDREWS HOOPER PAVLIK PLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14295 OKEMOS RD STE 200AddressLine1Txt
CityOKEMOSCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP488646201ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2018-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN382356288EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PHYSICIANS HEALTH PLANBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlPHYSBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5173648400PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 30377AddressLine1Txt
CityLANSINGCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48909ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDENNIS REESEPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENT & CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone5173648400PhoneNum
Signature2019-11-04SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJULIE M PFEIFLEPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00751307PTIN
Phone5177060800PhoneNum
Preparation2019-11-04PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address167.68.16.49IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2019-11-13IPDt
IP Tm15:18:07IPTm
IP TimezoneCSIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id7F8DA1CA24E96FDB236727D7A786CEDCD9823B05AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdA42E0CF4B0CFABFAFDAD50D00CF409967B1ADB50AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2018TaxYr
Build TS2020-03-31 21:24:44ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJAMES F DOVERPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11215 E MICHIGAN AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityLANSINGCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48912ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$207,770,735GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.PHPMICHIGAN.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1980FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPHYSICIANS HEALTH PLAN'S MISSION IS TO IMPROVE THE HEALTH STATUS OF ITS MEMBERS BY FACILITATING QUALITY, COMPASSIONATE, ACCESSIBLE, COST EFFECTIVE HEALTHCARE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body11VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent8VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee122TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$192,156,736PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$201,613,791CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$7,491,045PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$4,385,644CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$19,107PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$58,701CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$199,666,888PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$206,058,136CYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$170,435,625PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$177,567,791CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,182,541PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,790,113CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$11,459,399PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$13,076,720CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$189,077,565PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$199,434,624CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$10,589,323PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$6,623,512CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$92,056,926TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$95,848,627TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$33,134,026TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$34,784,726TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$58,922,900NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$61,063,901NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionPHYSICIANS HEALTH PLAN'S MISSION IS TO IMPROVE THE HEALTH STATUS OF ITS MEMBERS BY FACILITATING QUALITY, COMPASSIONATE, ACCESSIBLE, COST EFFECTIVE HEALTHCARE.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$192,038,322ExpenseAmt
Revenue$201,672,492RevenueAmt
DescPHYSICIANS HEALTH PLAN (PHP) IS OWNED BY SPARROW HEALTH SYSTEM (SPARROW) AND HOLDS A CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY AS AN HMO IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN. PHP IS PRIMARILY A COMMERCIAL HMO AND ALSO OPERATES THREE SUBSIDIARIES, PHP INSURANCE COMPANY (PHPIC), A COMMERCIAL INSURANCE COMPANY, PHP MEDICARE (PHPMA), A MICHIGAN MEDICARE PLAN, AND PHP SERVICE COMPANY A THIRD PARTY ADMINISTRATOR. ALL STAFFING FUNCTIONS AND REPORTING ARE ACCOMPLISHED THROUGH THE USE OF THE SAME STAFF AS PHP. UNLESS SPECIFICALLY NOTED, ALL REFERENCES TO PHP APPLY TO PHP, PHPIC, AND PHPMA. PHPS SERVICE AREA INCLUDES THE MICHIGAN COUNTIES OF INGHAM, EATON, CLINTON, SHIAWASSEE, MONTCALM, GRATIOT, IONIA, JACKSON, HILLSDALE AND PORTIONS OF ISABELLA, SAGINAW, WASHTENAW, AND LENAWEE. PHPIC OFFERS PRODUCTS ACROSS MICHIGAN. AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2018, THERE WERE APPROXIMATELY 34,300 ENROLLEES IN PHPS COMMERCIAL HMO, 16,500 IN TPA, 4,700 IN PHPIC, AND 0 ENROLLEES IN PHPMA. PHP CONTRACTS DIRECTLY WITH PHYSICIANS HEALTH NETWORK (PHN), A WHOLLY-OWNED SUBSIDIARY OF SHS. THE PHP NETWORK IS APPROXIMATELY 792 PRIMARY CARE PHYSICIANS, 1,314 SPECIALTY CARE PHYSICIANS, 568 ALLIED HEALTH PROFESSIONALS, AND 506 ORGANIZATIONAL PROVIDERS THAT INCLUDE 31 HOSPITALS. PHP CONTRACTS WITH VARIOUS HDNS WHO PROVIDE HEALTHCARE SERVICES TO MEMBERS. PHPS COMMITMENT IS TO DEVELOP AND DELIVER QUALITY MANAGED CARE PRODUCTS AT REASONABLE COSTS FOR ITS MEMBERS. PHPS SUCCESS IN MANAGING HEALTH CARE IS DUE IN PART TO THE EXTENSIVE NETWORK OF PARTICIPATING PROVIDERS IN THE HDN NETWORK. THE HMO/HDN CONTRACTUAL ARRANGEMENTS ALLOW PHP TO ARRANGE FOR HEALTHCARE TO PATIENTS COVERED BY THE STATE OF MICHIGANS MEDICAID BENEFIT PLAN. THIS ARRANGEMENT ALLOWS THE MEMBERS TO ACCESS A WIDE VARIETY OF INDEPENDENT PROVIDERS WITHIN EACH HDN INCLUDING PHYSICIANS, HOSPITALS, PHARMACIES, SKILLED NURSING FACILITIES, AND ALLIED HEALTH PROFESSIONALS. PHP MEMBERS MAY ALSO RECEIVE CARE FOR SERVICES FROM A NONPARTICIPATING PROVIDER IF SUCH REFERRAL IS RECOMMENDED BY AN HDN PARTICIPATING PHYSICIAN AND THE SERVICE REQUIRED FOR TREATMENT, AS DETERMINED BY HDN, IS NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN THE HDNS NETWORK. PHP OFFERS A VARIETY OF HEALTHCARE PROGRAMS, OR PRODUCTS TO GROUPS AND INDIVIDUALS. PHP OFFERS CHOICES THAT PROVIDE COVERAGE WITHIN THE NETWORK OF CONTRACTED HDN PROVIDERS, LIMITED COVERAGE OUTSIDE OF THE PHP NETWORK, VARIOUS LEVELS OF DEDUCTIBLES, CO-PAYMENTS, AND COVERAGE LIMITS, ALL OF WHICH ARE DESIGNED TO BE RESPONSIVE TO CUSTOMER NEEDS. PHP MEASURES THE QUALITY OF CARE PROVIDED TO ITS ENROLLEES THROUGH ANNUAL REVIEW OF INDICATORS SUCH AS: - DISEASE MANAGEMENT PROGRAM PARTICIPATION AND OUTCOMES. - QUALITY OF CARE CONCERNS. - HEDIS MEASURES THE HEALTH PLAN EFFECTIVENESS DATA AND INFORMATION SET (HEDIS) IS A GROUP OF NATIONALLY RECOGNIZED MEASURES OF HEALTH PLANS PERFORMANCE IN A VARIETY OF CLINICAL AND NON-CLINICAL AREAS. PHP USES THE EFFECTIVENESS OF CARE MEASURES TO DETERMINE PROGRESS AND IMPROVEMENT IN AREAS SUCH AS: DIABETES, ASTHMA, DEPRESSION AND FOLLOW-UP AFTER MENTAL HEALTH ADMISSIONS, BREAST AND CERVICAL CANCER SCREENING, USE OF BETA-BLOCKERS AFTER HEART ATTACKS, CHILD AND ADOLESCENT IMMUNIZATIONS, CHOLESTEROL MANAGEMENT, CONTROLLING HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE, SMOKING CESSATION, PRENATAL AND POSTPARTUM CARE, AND TREATMENT OF CHILDHOOD RESPIRATORY INFECTIONS. PHP MEASURES THE QUALITY OF SERVICE PROVIDED TO ITS ENROLLEES BY THE REVIEW OF PERFORMANCE MEASURES RELATED TO: - ACCESS AND AVAILABILITY OF PROVIDERS, - ENROLLEE COMPLAINTS AND APPEALS, - CUSTOMER SERVICE TELEPHONE ACCESS PERFORMANCE, AND - MEMBER ASSESSMENT: THE CONSUMER ASSESSMENT OF HEALTHCARE PROVIDERS AND SYSTEMS (CAHPS) SURVEY GIVES A GENERAL INDICATION OF HOW WELL THE ORGANIZATION MEETS MEMBERS EXPECTATIONS. THE PHP QI PROGRAM IS ULTIMATELY ACCOUNTABLE TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. IN 2018 PHP RECEIVED FULL ACCREDITATION STATUS FROM URAC FOR BOTH HEALTH PLAN ACCREDITATION AND HEALTH PLAN ACCREDITATION WITH HEALTH INSURANCE MARKETPLACE. URAC ACCREDITATION SIGNIFIES AN ISSUER HAS UNDERGONE AND PASSED A RIGOROUS AND INDEPENDENT REVIEW OF ITS OPERATION, INCLUDING THE QUALITY OF CARE AND LEVEL OF SERVICE PROVIDED TO ENROLLEES. ACCREDITATION HEALTH PLAN STANDARDS INCORPORATE MARKET TRENDS AND ADDRESS MAJOR POLICY ISSUES WHILE ALIGNING WITH CORE REQUIREMENTS FOUND IN THE AFFORDABLE CARE ACT. PHP HAS BEEN ACCREDITED BY URAC UNDER THE HEALTH PLAN STANDARDS SINCE 2012. THE CURRENT ACCREDITATION IS EFFECTIVE THROUGH JULY 1, 2021 AT WHICH TIME REACCREDITATION WILL OCCUR.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$192,038,322TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (true)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document195IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee122EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members11GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member8IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDENNIS REESEPersonNm
Phone5173648400PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11400 E MICHIGAN AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityLANSINGCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48909ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (24 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
DENNIS SWAN
PRES/CEO - S1.0040.00Yes (X)$0$979,797$221,221
PAULA REICHLE
DIRECTOR1.0040.00Yes (X)$0$512,290$102,116
DENNIS REESE
PRESIDENT &40.005.00Yes (X)$0$334,297$48,604Yes (X)
DAVID KAUFMAN DO
DIRECTOR1.0040.00Yes (X)$0$1,392$0
JAMES BUTLER III
BOARD CHAIR1.001.00Yes (X)$0$1,392$0Yes (X)
TIMOTHY HODGE DO
DIRECTOR1.003.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DIANA RODRIGUEZ ALGRA
BOARD VICE C1.001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THOMAS HOFMAN PHD
TREASURER/SE1.001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
DEBORAH MUCHMORE
DIRECTOR1.001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MERRITTA PROCTOR
DIRECTOR1.002.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SHALIMAR MAYNARD
DIRECTOR1.001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES TISCHLER
DIRECTOR1.001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRITTANY BOGAN
DIRECTOR1.003.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
APRIL CLOBES
DIRECTOR (PA1.001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PETER GRAHAM MD
MEDICAL DIRE5.0040.00$0$306,968$59,136Yes (X)
GEORGE SCHNEIDER
CFO/COO40.005.00$0$291,518$36,499Yes (X)
SCOTT NORMAN
VP OF SALES40.005.00$0$274,762$40,735Yes (X)
SUSAN ARMBRUSTER
DIRECTOR OF40.005.00$213,471$0$28,740Yes (X)
PAULA HOWARD
SENIOR SALES40.005.00$159,316$0$33,408Yes (X)
ANN HUNT-FUGATE RPH
MGR CLINICAL40.005.00$150,764$0$13,064Yes (X)
NICHOLAS D'ISA
DIR LEGAL/CO40.005.00$144,084$0$22,712Yes (X)
JOY WAHAWISAN
CLINICAL ANA40.005.00$126,154$0$30,471Yes (X)
MARK BRETT
FORMER DIREC0.0040.00$0$544,977$123,034Yes (X)
DAWN SPRINGER MD
FORMER DIREC0.0040.00$0$230,796$33,945Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$793,789TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$3,478,189TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$793,685TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K16IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (true)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmtAddress Line2ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine2Txt
TRIZETTO
1085 MORRIS AVENUEUNIONNJ07083HEALTHCARE IT$4,354,026
ZELIS HEALTHCARE
6875 SHILOH RD EALPHARETTAGA300058403COST CONT & CIR$1,042,457
CHANGE HEALTHCARE INC
3055 LEBANON PIKENASHVILLETN37214COST CONT & CIR$835,068
MILLIMAN
15800 BLUEMOUND RD SUITE 100BROOKFIELDWI53005MGMT CONSULTING$794,351
SOFTHEON
1500 STONY BROOK RDSTONY BROOKNY117944600HEALTHCARE IT$263,377CEWITT RD PARK
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K13CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPREPAID HEALTHCAREDesc
Business621990BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$201,613,791TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$201,613,791RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$201,613,791TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,140,335TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,140,335ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$3,957,908SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,712,599SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,245,309SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,245,309TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,245,309ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER REVENUEDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$58,701TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$58,701RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$58,701OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$206,058,136TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$201,672,492RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$4,385,644ExclusionAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$177,567,791TotalAmt
Program Services$177,567,791ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,077,022TotalAmt
Program Services$815,306ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$261,716ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,154,760TotalAmt
Program Services$4,659,153ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,495,607ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$344,286TotalAmt
Program Services$260,625ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$83,661ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$774,733TotalAmt
Program Services$586,473ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$188,260ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$439,312TotalAmt
Program Services$332,559ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$106,753ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,616,158TotalAmt
Management And General$3,616,158ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$69,592TotalAmt
Program Services$52,681ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$16,911ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$152,787TotalAmt
Program Services$152,787ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$102,092TotalAmt
Management And General$102,092ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,957,146TotalAmt
Program Services$1,957,146ProgramServicesAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$597,400TotalAmt
Program Services$452,232ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$145,168ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$475,778TotalAmt
Program Services$360,164ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$115,614ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$497,298TotalAmt
Program Services$376,455ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$120,843ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$137,338TotalAmt
Management And General$137,338ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$89,358TotalAmt
Management And General$89,358ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,752TotalAmt
Management And General$2,752ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,706,904TotalAmt
Program Services$1,706,904ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$68,860TotalAmt
Program Services$68,860ProgramServicesAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
BROKER COMMISSONS$2,022,613$2,022,613
MISCELLANEOUS$880,546$666,573$213,973
ADMINISTRATIVE EXPENSES$700,098$700,098

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$199,434,624TotalAmt
Program Services$192,038,322ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,396,302ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$46,765,765BOYAmt
EOY$49,545,947EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,177,591BOYAmt
EOY$8,671,065EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,604,841BOYAmt
EOY$1,760,497EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$17,862,454LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$11,801,272LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,942,209BOYAmt
EOY$6,061,182EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,241,788BOYAmt
EOY$13,920,530EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,083,852BOYAmt
EOY$14,743,721EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$240,880BOYAmt
EOY$1,145,685EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$92,056,926BOYAmt
EOY$95,848,627EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,827,629BOYAmt
EOY$30,319,683EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,240,998BOYAmt
EOY$1,707,393EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,065,399BOYAmt
EOY$2,757,650EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,134,026BOYAmt
EOY$34,784,726EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$58,922,900BOYAmt
EOY$61,063,901EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$58,922,900BOYAmt
EOY$61,063,901EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$92,056,926BOYAmt
EOY$95,848,627EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$6,623,512ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$4,482,511NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consol And Sep Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$4,297,975BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$314,065ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$48,873InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$15,000GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$4,548,167EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$3,986,792BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$114,433ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$211,750InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$15,000GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$4,297,975EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$3,707,924BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$191,313ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$102,555InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$15,000GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$3,986,792EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$3,411,165BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$361,583ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$49,824InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$15,000GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$3,707,924EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$3,184,706BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$200,566ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$40,893InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$15,000GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$3,411,165EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY1.00000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgYes (true)EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd
Related Org List Sch RYes (true)RelatedOrgListSchRInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$455,895OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$455,895BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,276,388OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,897,424DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,378,964BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$11,130,171OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$7,903,848DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,226,323BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$6,061,182TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
INVESTMENT IN PHP INSURANCE COMPANY$13,493,178C
INVESTMENT IN PHP SERVICE COMPANY$1,250,543C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$14,743,721TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescRELATED PARTY PAYABLEDesc
Amt$2,757,650Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,757,650TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$199,192,792TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$4,482,511NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$1,384,690OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$3,097,821RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$202,290,613RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$102,092InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$3,665,431OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$3,767,523RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$206,058,136TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$197,051,791TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$1,389,596OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$1,389,596ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$195,662,195ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$102,092InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$3,670,337OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$3,772,429ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$199,434,624TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 2, PART V, LINE 4PHP DOES NOT HOLD ENDOWMENTS. THE ENDOWMENTS ARE HELD BY SPARROW CLINTON HOSPITAL AND SPARROW FOUNDATION. SPARROW HEALTH SYSTEM IS THE SOLE MEMBER OF PHP, SPARROW CLINTON HOSPITAL, AND SPARROW FOUNDATION. THE ENDOWMENTS ARE MAINTAINED TO PROVIDE A PERMANENT SOURCE OF INCOME, WITH THE STIPULATION THE PRINCIPAL IS KEPT INTACT IN PERPETUITY AND THE INCOME GENERATED FROM INVESTMENTS OF THE ENDOWMENT FUNDS CAN BE USED FOR THE PURPOSE ESTABLISHED BY THE ENDOWMENT.
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 2DHICA INCOME/ EXPENSE RECLASS 1,419,158 OTHER -34,468
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 4BREINSURANCE 1,084,666 RISK ADJ INCOME/EXPENSE RECLASS 2,330,820 CHANGE IN NON-ADMITTED ASSETS 249,945
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 2DHICA INCOME/EXPENSE RECLASS 1,419,158 PENSION NON-OPERATING -29,562
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 4BRISK ADJ/EXPENSE RECLASS 2,330,820 MISCELLANEOUS 58,702 REINSURANCE 1,084,666 STATUTORY/GAAP DIFFERENCE 196,149

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (true)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (13 entries)

TitleTitleTxtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount
DENNIS SWAN
PRES/CEO - SHS$927,328$52,469$172,836$48,385$1,201,018
PAULA REICHLE
DIRECTOR$487,496$24,794$54,240$47,876$614,406
DENNIS REESE
PRESIDENT & CEO$326,567$7,580$16,350$32,254$382,901$150
PETER GRAHAM MD
MEDICAL DIRECTOR$304,522$2,446$24,200$34,936$366,104
GEORGE SCHNEIDER
CFO/COO$289,362$2,156$15,461$21,038$328,017
SCOTT NORMAN
VP OF SALES$249,463$299$8,250$32,485$315,497$25,000
SUSAN ARMBRUSTER
DIRECTOR OF OPER.$212,167$1,304$6,424$22,316$242,211
PAULA HOWARD
SENIOR SALES REP$86,499$204$15,374$18,034$192,724$72,613
ANN HUNT-FUGATE RPH
MGR CLINICAL PHARM$148,456$2,308$13,064$163,828
NICHOLAS D'ISA
DIR LEGAL/COMPLIANCE$143,824$260$8,197$14,515$166,796
JOY WAHAWISAN
CLINICAL ANALYTICS$125,871$83$7,617$22,854$156,625$200
MARK BRETT
FORMER DIRECTOR$540,963$4,014$82,423$40,611$668,011
DAWN SPRINGER MD
FORMER DIRECTOR$191,136$1,447$16,820$17,125$264,741$38,213

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE J, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 1ACERTAIN BOARD MEMBERS- AND EXECUTIVES' MICHIGAN ATHLETIC CLUB DUES ARE PAID BY THE ENTITY. THESE AMOUNTS ARE CONSIDERED TAXABLE COMPENSATION.
SCHEDULE J, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 3SPARROW HEALTH SYSTEM IS THE SOLE MEMBER OF PHYSICIAN HEALTH PLAN. SPARROW HEALTH SYSTEM IS AN INTEGRATED NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATION THAT INCLUDES A NUMBER OF NON-PROFIT ENTITIES. THE METHODS SELECTED FOR DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE CEO/EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR ARE METHODS WHICH ARE BEING USED BY ALL SPARROW HEALTH SYSTEM RELATED ENTITIES.
SCHEDULE J, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 4PAULA REICHLE 0 46,140 0 MARK BRETT 0 50,123 0
SCHEDULE J, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 7COMPENSATION INCLUDES BOTH BASE AND VARIABLE COMPENSATION (NON-FIXED PAYMENTS). IN ACCORDANCE WITH ITS POLICIES, ALL ELEMENTS (BASE, VARIABLE, BENEFITS, AND PREREQUISITES) ARE COMPARED TO MARKET.
SCHEDULE J, PART IIIMARK BRETT AND DAWN SPRINGER ARE FORMER BOARD MEMBERS OF PHYSICIANS HEALTH PLAN. THE BOARD MEMBERS ARE BEING COMPENSATED BY SPARROW HEALTH SYSTEM AND AFFILIATES FOR SERVICES PROVIDED TO SPARROW HEALTH SYSTEM AND AFFILIATES IN POSITIONS OTHER THAN AS BOARD MEMBERS OF PHYSICIANS HEALTH PLAN. THE BOARD MEMBERS ARE NOT BEING COMPENSATED FOR ANY PAST SERVICES PROVIDED TO PHYSICIANS HEALTH PLAN.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990ALL LINES LEFT BLANK ARE NOT APPLICABLE TO THE ORGANIZATION.
FORM 990, PAGE 2, PART III, LINE 4APHYSICIANS HEALTH PLAN (PHP) IS OWNED BY SPARROW HEALTH SYSTEM (SPARROW) AND HOLDS A CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY AS AN HMO IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN. PHP IS PRIMARILY A COMMERCIAL HMO AND ALSO OPERATES THREE SUBSIDIARIES, PHP INSURANCE COMPANY (PHPIC), A COMMERCIAL INSURANCE COMPANY, PHP MEDICARE (PHPMA), A MICHIGAN MEDICARE PLAN, AND PHP SERVICE COMPANY A THIRD PARTY ADMINISTRATOR. ALL STAFFING FUNCTIONS AND REPORTING ARE ACCOMPLISHED THROUGH THE USE OF THE SAME STAFF AS PHP. UNLESS SPECIFICALLY NOTED, ALL REFERENCES TO PHP APPLY TO PHP, PHPIC, AND PHPMA. PHPS SERVICE AREA INCLUDES THE MICHIGAN COUNTIES OF INGHAM, EATON, CLINTON, SHIAWASSEE, MONTCALM, GRATIOT, IONIA, JACKSON, HILLSDALE AND PORTIONS OF ISABELLA, SAGINAW, WASHTENAW, AND LENAWEE. PHPIC OFFERS PRODUCTS ACROSS MICHIGAN. AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2018, THERE WERE APPROXIMATELY 34,300 ENROLLEES IN PHPS COMMERCIAL HMO, 16,500 IN TPA, 4,700 IN PHPIC, AND 0 ENROLLEES IN PHPMA. PHP CONTRACTS DIRECTLY WITH PHYSICIANS HEALTH NETWORK (PHN), A WHOLLY-OWNED SUBSIDIARY OF SHS. THE PHP NETWORK IS APPROXIMATELY 792 PRIMARY CARE PHYSICIANS, 1,314 SPECIALTY CARE PHYSICIANS, 568 ALLIED HEALTH PROFESSIONALS, AND 506 ORGANIZATIONAL PROVIDERS THAT INCLUDE 31 HOSPITALS. PHP CONTRACTS WITH VARIOUS HDNS WHO PROVIDE HEALTHCARE SERVICES TO MEMBERS. PHPS COMMITMENT IS TO DEVELOP AND DELIVER QUALITY MANAGED CARE PRODUCTS AT REASONABLE COSTS FOR ITS MEMBERS. PHPS SUCCESS IN MANAGING HEALTH CARE IS DUE IN PART TO THE EXTENSIVE NETWORK OF PARTICIPATING PROVIDERS IN THE HDN NETWORK. THE HMO/HDN CONTRACTUAL ARRANGEMENTS ALLOW PHP TO ARRANGE FOR HEALTHCARE TO PATIENTS COVERED BY THE STATE OF MICHIGANS MEDICAID BENEFIT PLAN. THIS ARRANGEMENT ALLOWS THE MEMBERS TO ACCESS A WIDE VARIETY OF INDEPENDENT PROVIDERS WITHIN EACH HDN INCLUDING PHYSICIANS, HOSPITALS, PHARMACIES, SKILLED NURSING FACILITIES, AND ALLIED HEALTH PROFESSIONALS. PHP MEMBERS MAY ALSO RECEIVE CARE FOR SERVICES FROM A NONPARTICIPATING PROVIDER IF SUCH REFERRAL IS RECOMMENDED BY AN HDN PARTICIPATING PHYSICIAN AND THE SERVICE REQUIRED FOR TREATMENT, AS DETERMINED BY HDN, IS NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN THE HDNS NETWORK. PHP OFFERS A VARIETY OF HEALTHCARE PROGRAMS, OR PRODUCTS TO GROUPS AND INDIVIDUALS. PHP OFFERS CHOICES THAT PROVIDE COVERAGE WITHIN THE NETWORK OF CONTRACTED HDN PROVIDERS, LIMITED COVERAGE OUTSIDE OF THE PHP NETWORK, VARIOUS LEVELS OF DEDUCTIBLES, CO-PAYMENTS, AND COVERAGE LIMITS, ALL OF WHICH ARE DESIGNED TO BE RESPONSIVE TO CUSTOMER NEEDS. PHP MEASURES THE QUALITY OF CARE PROVIDED TO ITS ENROLLEES THROUGH ANNUAL REVIEW OF INDICATORS SUCH AS: - DISEASE MANAGEMENT PROGRAM PARTICIPATION AND OUTCOMES. - QUALITY OF CARE CONCERNS. - HEDIS MEASURES THE HEALTH PLAN EFFECTIVENESS DATA AND INFORMATION SET (HEDIS) IS A GROUP OF NATIONALLY RECOGNIZED MEASURES OF HEALTH PLANS PERFORMANCE IN A VARIETY OF CLINICAL AND NON-CLINICAL AREAS. PHP USES THE EFFECTIVENESS OF CARE MEASURES TO DETERMINE PROGRESS AND IMPROVEMENT IN AREAS SUCH AS: DIABETES, ASTHMA, DEPRESSION AND FOLLOW-UP AFTER MENTAL HEALTH ADMISSIONS, BREAST AND CERVICAL CANCER SCREENING, USE OF BETA-BLOCKERS AFTER HEART ATTACKS, CHILD AND ADOLESCENT IMMUNIZATIONS, CHOLESTEROL MANAGEMENT, CONTROLLING HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE, SMOKING CESSATION, PRENATAL AND POSTPARTUM CARE, AND TREATMENT OF CHILDHOOD RESPIRATORY INFECTIONS. PHP MEASURES THE QUALITY OF SERVICE PROVIDED TO ITS ENROLLEES BY THE REVIEW OF PERFORMANCE MEASURES RELATED TO: - ACCESS AND AVAILABILITY OF PROVIDERS, - ENROLLEE COMPLAINTS AND APPEALS, - CUSTOMER SERVICE TELEPHONE ACCESS PERFORMANCE, AND - MEMBER ASSESSMENT: THE CONSUMER ASSESSMENT OF HEALTHCARE PROVIDERS AND SYSTEMS (CAHPS) SURVEY GIVES A GENERAL INDICATION OF HOW WELL THE ORGANIZATION MEETS MEMBERS EXPECTATIONS. THE PHP QI PROGRAM IS ULTIMATELY ACCOUNTABLE TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. IN 2018 PHP RECEIVED FULL ACCREDITATION STATUS FROM URAC FOR BOTH HEALTH PLAN ACCREDITATION AND HEALTH PLAN ACCREDITATION WITH HEALTH INSURANCE MARKETPLACE. URAC ACCREDITATION SIGNIFIES AN ISSUER HAS UNDERGONE AND PASSED A RIGOROUS AND INDEPENDENT REVIEW OF ITS OPERATION, INCLUDING THE QUALITY OF CARE AND LEVEL OF SERVICE PROVIDED TO ENROLLEES. ACCREDITATION HEALTH PLAN STANDARDS INCORPORATE MARKET TRENDS AND ADDRESS MAJOR POLICY ISSUES WHILE ALIGNING WITH CORE REQUIREMENTS FOUND IN THE AFFORDABLE CARE ACT. PHP HAS BEEN ACCREDITED BY URAC UNDER THE HEALTH PLAN STANDARDS SINCE 2012. THE CURRENT ACCREDITATION IS EFFECTIVE THROUGH JULY 1, 2021 AT WHICH TIME REACCREDITATION WILL OCCUR.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 6SPARROW HEALTH SYSTEM (SHS) IS THE PARENT AND SOLE MEMBER OF PHYSICIANS HEALTH PLAN AND HAS 100% OWNERSHIP.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7ATHE NON-ENROLLEE MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF PHYSICIANS HEALTH PLAN ARE RATIFIED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF SPARROW HEALTH SYSTEM.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7BTHE NON-ENROLLEE MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF PHYSICIANS HEALTH PLAN ARE RATIFIED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF SPARROW HEALTH SYSTEM. THE DECISIONS OF THE PHYSICIANS HEALTH PLAN BOARD OF DIRECTORS MAY BE SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF SPARROW HEALTH SYSTEM.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11BCOPIES OF THE 2018 FORM 990 ARE REVIEWED BY MANAGEMENT. ONCE MANAGEMENT COMPLETED ITS REVIEW OF THE FORM 990 COPIES WERE PROVIDED AT THE FALL 2019 BOARD MEETING FOR ALL BOARD MEMBERS TO REVIEW AND COMMENT ON.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12C1) CORPORATE COMPLIANCE SENDS OUT THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND QUESTIONNAIRES TO ALL VOTING BOARD MEMBERS AND THE EXECUTIVE TEAM ANNUALLY. 2) ALL DISCLOSURES ARE RECEIVED AND REVIEWED BY CORPORATE COMPLIANCE. 3) ALL DISCLOSURES ARE GIVEN A RESOLUTION CODE AND PRESENTED TO THE CEO AND GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD. 4) ALL BOARD/COMMITTEE LEVEL DISCLOSURES ARE PROVIDED TO THE RESPECTIVE BOARD CHAIR AND EXECUTIVE LIAISON TO ENSURE ISSUES CAN BE ADDRESSED ON A TRANSACTIONAL LEVEL (I.E. IF A VOTE IS REQUIRED ON A TRANSACTION INVOLVING AN INTERESTED PERSON).
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15ATHE PROCESS FOR DETERMINING COMPENSATION FOR THE CEO INVOLVED THE FOLLOWING: UTILIZING THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE, USING INDEPENDENT CONSULTANTS, REVIEWING OTHER SIMILAR ORGANIZATIONS' 990S, USING COMPENSATION SURVEYS, AND FINAL APPROVAL BY THE SPARROW BOARD OF DIRECTORS, AS WELL AS FINALIZING THE SALARY PACKAGE WITH A WRITTEN EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15BTHE PROCESS FOR DETERMINING COMPENSATION FOR OFFICERS OR KEY EMPLOYEES OF THE ORGANIZATION INVOLVED THE FOLLOWING: UTILIZING THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE, USING INDEPENDENT CONSULTANTS, REVIEWING OTHER SIMILAR ORGANIZATIONS' 990S, USING COMPENSATION SURVEYS, AND FINAL APPROVAL BY THE SPARROW BOARD OF DIRECTORS, AS WELL AS FINALIZING THE SALARY PACKAGE WITH A WRITTEN EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19THE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC AS FOLLOWS: THE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS OF PHP ARE SUBMITTED TO THE DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE AND FINANCIAL SERVICES (DIFS). THOSE ARE PUBLICLY AVAILABLE TO INTERESTED PARTIES. THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST IS AVAILABLE THROUGH SPARROW BY REQUESTING THE POLICY FROM THE SPARROW COMPLIANCE OFFICER.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9HICA INCOME/ EXPENSE RECLASS 1,419,158 OTHER -34,468 REINSURANCE -1,084,666 RISK ADJ INCOME/EXPENSE RECLASS -2,330,820 CHANGE IN NON-ADMITTED ASSETS -249,945 HICA INCOME/EXPENSE RECLASS -1,419,158 PENSION NON-OPERATING 29,562 RISK ADJ/EXPENSE RECLASS 2,330,820 MISCELLANEOUS 58,702 REINSURANCE 1,084,666 STATUTORY/GAAP DIFFERENCE 196,149

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (12 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
SPARROW HEALTH SYSTEM
1215 E MICHIGAN AVENUELANSINGMI48912382542859PARENTMI501C312AN/Afalse
PHYSICIANS HEALTH NETWORK
1400 E MICHIGAN AVENUELANSINGMI48912382594856HMOMI501C4Yes (true)SHS
SPARROW FOUNDATION
1215 E MICHIGAN AVENUELANSINGMI48912386100687FUNDRAISEMI501C312BYes (true)SHS
SPARROW COMMUNITY CARE
3315 E MICHIGAN AVENUE STE 4LANSINGMI48912382543305HOME HLTHMI501C310Yes (true)SHS
SPARROW CLINTON HOSPITAL
805 S OAKLAND STREETST JOHNSMI48879381358172HLTH CAREMI501C33Yes (true)SHS
EDWARD W SPARROW HOSPITAL
1215 E MICHIGAN AVENUELANSINGMI48912381360584HLTH CAREMI501C33Yes (true)SHS
SPARROW IONIA HOSPITAL
3565 S STATE RDIONIAMI48846383218134HLTH CAREMI501C33Yes (true)SHS
SPARROW SPECIALTY HOSPITAL
1215 E MICH AVE 8W SPARROW TOWERLANSINGMI48912141885340LT ACUTEMI501C33Yes (true)SHS
SPARROW CLINICAL RESEARCH INSTITUTE
1200 E MICHIGAN AVENUELANSINGMI48912383075242RESEARCHMI501C34Yes (true)SHS
SPARROW CARSON HOSPITAL
406 E ELM STREET PO BOX 879CARSON CITYMI48811381490180HLTH CAREMI501C33Yes (true)SHS
CARSON CITY FOUNDATION
406 E ELM STREET PO BOX 879CARSON CITYMI48811460877509FUNDRAISEMI501C312AYes (true)CCH
PHP MEDICARE
1400 E MICHIGAN AVENUELANSINGMI48912832766121HMOMI501C4Yes (true)PHP

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (7 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
PHP INSURANCE COMPANY
1400 E MICHIGAN AVENUELANSINGMI48912205565219INSURANCEMIN/AYes (true)
PHP SERVICE COMPANY
1400 E MICHIGAN AVENUELANSINGMI48912383344741MED SVSMIN/AYes (true)
SPARROW DEVELOPMENT INC
1215 E MICHIGAN AVENUELANSINGMI48912382595963MED SUPPLMIN/AYes (true)
EAST LANSING ATHLETIC CLUB
2900 HANNAH BLVDEAST LANSINGMI48823382886420HLTH CLUBMIN/AYes (true)
MAC RESTAURANT LLC
2900 HANNAH BLVDEAST LANSINGMI48823205120690RESTAURANTMIN/AYes (true)
CLINTON SERVICES CORPORATION
805 S OAKLANDST JOHNSMI48879382494110SERVICESMIN/AYes (true)
EAST LANSING ATHLETIC CLUB & HSP
1200 E MICHIGAN AVENUE STE 600LANSINGMI48912813131851CONDO ASSOMIN/AYes (true)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (true)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (4 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
PHYSICIANS HEALTH NETWORK
M$162,728,885COST
EDWARD W SPARROW HOSPITAL
Q$13,155,538COST
PHP INSURANCE COMPANY
Q$3,159,435COST
PHP SERVICE COMPANY
Q$1,132,127COST