CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN: Form 990, tax year 2024
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN (EIN 38-1543701)
- Tax period
- 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31
- Filed
- 2025-11-19
- IRS object ID
- 202503239349300530
- Schema version
- 2024v5.2
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2025-11-19T10:24:04-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2024-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 994260840 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | DOEREN MAYHEW | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 8785 SW 165TH AVENUE SUITE 303 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | MIAMI | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | FL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 33193 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2024-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 381543701 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | KALSEE CREDIT UNION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | KALS | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 2693827800 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 5220 LOVERS LANE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | PORTAGE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MI | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 49002 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | STEVE SHUNKWILER | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CFO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 2693827807 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2025-11-19 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr | 0 | IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | AUBREY CLEGG | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P01076395 | PTIN |
| Phone | 3052328272 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2025-11-19 | PreparationDt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2024 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2025-03-06 01:10:19Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Change | Yes (X) | AddressChangeInd |
| Principal Officer | MATT LAHMAN | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 5220 LOVERS LANE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | PORTAGE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MI | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 49002 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $19,119,292 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Group Exemption | 1359 | GroupExemptionNum |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | WWW.KALSEE.COM | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1954 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | MI | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | PROVIDE MEMBERSHIP WITH SAVINGS, CHECKING, CLUB, MONEY MARKET, HEALTH SAVINGS, IRAS, CERTIFICATES OF DEPOSIT AND A BROAD ARRAY OF LOANS TO SATISFY OUR MEMBERS' FINANCIAL WELLNESS. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 7 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 7 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 123 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 8 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $345,486 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $15,565,386 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $17,530,395 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $1,689,068 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $1,243,411 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $275,463 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $345,486 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $17,529,917 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $19,119,292 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $6,032,306 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $6,445,784 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $10,077,630 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $11,439,015 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $16,109,936 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $17,884,799 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $1,419,981 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $1,234,493 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $275,464,551 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $277,482,700 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $254,847,649 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $253,977,278 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $20,616,902 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $23,505,422 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | TO BUILD RELATIONSHIPS AND CULTIVATE FINANCIAL WELLNESS, EMPOWERING PEOPLE TO FOCUS ON WHAT MATTERS. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Desc | PROVIDE MEMBERS WITH SAVINGS, CHECKING, CLUBS, MONEY MARKET, HEALTH SAVINGS, IRA AND CERTIFICATE OF DEPOSITS ACCOUNTS WITH AGGREGATE DEPOSIT BALANCES THAT APPROXIMATED $245,960,000 AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2024. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | PROVIDE MEMBERS WITH CREDIT CARD, VEHICLE, REAL ESTATE, UNSECURED, BUSINESS AND LINE OF CREDIT LOANS WITH AGGREGATE LOAN BALANCES THAT APPROXIMATED $197,833,000 AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2024. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | OFFER ATM & DEBIT CARD, CHECK CASHING, WIRE TRANSFER, COURTESY PAY, MONEY ORDERS, CASHIER CHECKS, ELECTRONIC BANKING, FINANCIAL COUNSELING, INVESTMENT AND INSURANCE PROGRAMS TO ALL ELIGIBLE MEMBERS. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | 0 | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | 0 | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | Yes (1) | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 5053 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 123 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 7 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 7 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (1) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | 0 | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | 0 | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | 0 | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | STEVEN SHUNKWILER | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 2693827800 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 5220 LOVERS LANE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | PORTAGE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MI | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 49002 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (14 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | OfficerOfficerInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DAVID STUUT | |||||||
| BOARD CHAIR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JOSEPH MARTIN | |||||||
| VICE CHAIRMAN | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JODI K MILKS | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| BRIAN SACKETT | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| BEN DANIELSON | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| RUDY CALLEN | |||||||
| BOARD TREASURER | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MICHELLE SHINEVARE | |||||||
| BOARD SECRETARY | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ERIK NORD | |||||||
| ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| RODNEY MASON | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MATTHEW LAHMAN | |||||||
| CEO | 40.00 | $270,259 | $0 | $45,635 | Yes (X) | ||
| SHELDON FAWORSKI | |||||||
| COO | 40.00 | $156,099 | $0 | $40,280 | Yes (X) | ||
| STEVEN SHUNKWILER | |||||||
| CFO | 40.00 | $127,411 | $0 | $27,622 | Yes (X) | ||
| RICHARD BAKER | |||||||
| VP OF LENDING | 40.00 | $141,476 | $0 | $11,178 | Yes (X) | ||
| CARRIE BOISONAULT | |||||||
| VP MARKETING & BUSINESS DE | 40.00 | $118,992 | $0 | $9,844 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $814,237 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $134,559 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 5 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PSCU | |||||
| 560 CARILLON PARKWAY | ST PETERSBURG | FL | 33716 | ATM/DEBIT/CREDIT PROCESSING | $662,823 |
| CU ANSWERS | |||||
| 6000 28TH ST SE STE 100 | GRAND RAPIDS | MI | 49546 | CORE DATA PROCESSOR | $652,183 |
| AUNALYTICS | |||||
| 460 STULL ST SUITE 200 | SOUTH BEND | IN | 46601 | IT INFASTRUCTURE | $462,424 |
| VISA INTERNATIONAL | |||||
| PO BOX 742233 | LOS ANGELES | CA | 90074 | CREDIT/DEBIT CARD BRANDING | $234,325 |
| CORNELIUS | |||||
| 1302 ANDERSON RD | CLAWSON | MI | 48017 | IT INFASTRUCTURE | $188,832 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 5 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| LOAN INTEREST | 522100 | $12,342,745 | $12,342,745 |
| FEES/CHARGES | 522100 | $5,187,650 | $5,187,650 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $17,530,395 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $1,243,411 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,243,411 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | FINANCE AND INSURANCE | Desc |
| Business | 520000 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $345,486 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $345,486 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $345,486 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $19,119,292 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $17,530,395 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $345,486 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,243,411 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part IX | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $667,306 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,256,739 | TotalAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $212,564 | TotalAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $931,974 | TotalAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $377,201 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $7,884 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $98,567 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $373,616 | TotalAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $336,957 | TotalAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $789,169 | TotalAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,388,668 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $330,557 | TotalAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $106,836 | TotalAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $40,762 | TotalAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,089,746 | TotalAmt |
Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $18,001 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $382,321 | TotalAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $60,668 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt |
|---|---|
| LOAN SERVICING | $1,448,190 |
| PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS | $1,346,972 |
| ATM EXPENSE | $635,360 |
| VISA/PLASTIC CARD EXPEN | $454,878 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $529,863 | TotalAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $17,884,799 | TotalAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,929,962 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,012,542 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,088,567 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,930,570 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $558,825 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $798,730 | EOYAmt |
Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,595,681 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,667,196 | EOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $196,450,953 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $206,487,236 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,376,236 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,475,582 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $13,587,586 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $2,233,339 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,763,864 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $11,354,247 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $43,035,607 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $39,888,401 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,955,052 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,368,754 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,709,804 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,499,442 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $275,464,551 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $277,482,700 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,637,609 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,017,007 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,000,000 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,000,000 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $245,210,040 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $245,960,271 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $254,847,649 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $253,977,278 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Org Does Not Follow FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind |
Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $20,616,902 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $23,505,422 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $20,616,902 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $23,505,422 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $275,464,551 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $277,482,700 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $1,234,493 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $1,889,284 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Prior Period Adjustments | -$235,257 | PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $3,384,688 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $3,384,688 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $7,572,869 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,014,720 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $6,558,149 | BookValueAmt |
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $160,024 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $93,687 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $66,337 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $2,470,005 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,124,932 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $1,345,073 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $11,354,247 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | MEMBER SHARES | Desc |
| Amt | $245,960,271 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $245,960,271 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $19,119,292 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $0 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $19,119,292 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $19,119,292 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $17,884,799 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $17,884,799 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $17,884,799 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART X, LINE 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT, BY STATUTE (IRC SECTION 501(C)(14)), FROM FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Club Dues Or Fees | Yes (X) | ClubDuesOrFeesInd |
| Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss | Yes (1) | WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd |
| Substantiation Required | Yes (1) | SubstantiationRequiredInd |
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | Yes (1) | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MATTHEW LAHMAN | ||||||||||||||
| CEO | $220,241 | $0 | $34,562 | $0 | $15,456 | $0 | $21,133 | $0 | $24,502 | $0 | $315,894 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| SHELDON FAWORSKI | ||||||||||||||
| COO | $133,414 | $0 | $16,088 | $0 | $6,597 | $0 | $12,714 | $0 | $27,566 | $0 | $196,379 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| STEVEN SHUNKWILER | ||||||||||||||
| CFO | $122,313 | $0 | $4,822 | $0 | $276 | $0 | $3,422 | $0 | $24,200 | $0 | $155,033 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| RICHARD BAKER | ||||||||||||||
| VP OF LENDING | $119,853 | $0 | $13,548 | $0 | $8,075 | $0 | $9,945 | $0 | $1,233 | $0 | $152,654 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART I, LINE 1A | SAM'S CLUB MEMBERSHIP WITH 8 CARDS FOR THE MANAGEMENT TEAM. BRONSON ATHLETIC CLUB MEMBERSHIP, HEALTH CLUB MEMBERSHIP FOR MATT LAHMAN, PRESIDENT AND CEO. |
| PART I, LINE 4B | MATTHEW LAHMAN PARTICIPATED IN A SPLIT DOLLAR COLLATERAL INSURANCE SUPPLEMENTAL RETIREMENT PLAN. THE LOAN RELATED TO THIS PLAN IS REPORTED IN SCHEDULE L. |
Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL
Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp (2 entries)
| Relationship With OrgRelationshipWithOrgTxt | Loan PurposeLoanPurposeTxt | Loan From OrganizationLoanFromOrganizationInd | Original PrincipalOriginalPrincipalAmt | Balance DueBalanceDueAmt | DefaultDefaultInd | Board Or Committee ApprovalBoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd | Written AgreementWrittenAgreementInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RUDY CALLEN | |||||||
| FORMER CEO AND CURRENT MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS | SPLIT DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE | Yes (X) | $500,000 | $637,454 | 0 | Yes (1) | Yes (1) |
| MATTHEW LAHMAN | |||||||
| CEO | SPLIT DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE | Yes (X) | $950,000 | $1,029,742 | 0 | Yes (1) | Yes (1) |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Balance Due | $1,667,196 | TotalBalanceDueAmt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCH L, PART II | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | THE CREDIT UNION PROVIDES SUPPLEMENTAL RETIREMENT BENEFITS THROUGH AN ARRANGEMENT REFERRED TO AS A "COLLATERAL ASSIGNED SPLIT DOLLAR." ALTHOUGH THE IRS REQUIRES REPORTING IN PART II AS A LOAN TO AN INTERESTED PARTY, THIS IS NOT AN ACTUAL LOAN. THERE IS NO TRANSFER OF FUNDS TO THE PARTICIPANTS NOR AN OBLIGATION TO REPAY THE FUNDS. INSTEAD THE CREDIT UNION RECOVERS ANY OUTLAYS, PLUS INTEREST, FROM THE UNDERLYING POLICY. THAT IS, THE CREDIT UNION DEPOSITS FUNDS DIRECTLY INTO A LIFE INSURANCE POLICY TO ENSURE REPAYMENT. AT SPECIFIED TIMES, THE PARTICIPANTS MAY BORROW FUNDS FROM THE CASH SURRENDER VALUE OF THE POLICY TO SUPPLEMENT RETIREMENT INCOME. THE BORROWINGS ARE MONITORED TO ENSURE THE POLICY WILL PAY A DEATH BENEFIT AT LEAST SUFFICIENT TO COVER THE CREDIT UNION'S OUTLAYS PLUS INTEREST. ANY REMAINING DEATH BENEFITS ARE DIVIDED BETWEEN THE CREDIT UNION AND THE PARTICIPANT'S BENEFICIARIES AS AGREED UPON. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6 | THE CREDIT UNION HAS A SINGLE CLASS OF MEMBERS WITH EQUAL RIGHTS OF OWNERSHIP, GOVERNANCE AND VOTING. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7A | BOARD MEMBERS ARE NOMINATED AND THEN ELECTED BY MAIL VOTE BY THE MEMBERSHIP. RESULTS OF THE MAIL VOTE ARE ANNOUNCED AT THE ANNUAL MEETING. EACH BOARD MEMBER IS ELECTED FOR A 3 YEAR TERM. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7B | MEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION HAVE THE RIGHT TO APPROVE THE GOVERNING BODY'S ELECTION AND REMOVAL OF MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY, AS WELL AS OTHER MATTERS THAT ARE SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF MEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION AS THEY OCCUR. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | FORM 990 IS THOROUGHLY REVIEWED BY THE CEO AND CFO PRIOR TO FILING. MANAGEMENT PROVIDES THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS WITH A SUMMARY OF THE 990 COMPLETION PROCESS EACH YEAR. A COMPLETE COPY OF THE 990 IS MADE AVAILABLE TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS UPON THEIR REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE IS MADE UP OF SELECTED MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THE COMMITTEE USES COMPENSATION SURVEYS TO APPROVE COMPENSATION FOR THE CEO. THE LAST COMPENSATION REVIEW FOR THE CEO WAS PERFORMED IN 2024. KEY EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION IS DETERMINED BY REVIEWS CONDUCTED BY THE CEO AND HUMAN RESOURCES AND ARE APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THE LAST COMPENSATION REVIEW FOR KEY EMPLOYEES WAS PERFORMED IN 2024. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | MONTHLY FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE POSTED IN THE CREDIT UNION'S LOBBIES. THE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST AT THE MAIN OFFICE. |
| FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24E | MAINTENANCE 438,070. FRAUD/FORGERIES/OVERDRAFT LOSSES 96,386. MISCELLANEOUS -4,593. |
| FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2B: | AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE ON A FISCAL YEAR END AND TAX REPORTING IS REQUIRED ON A CALENDAR YEAR END. THERE ARE NO REVENUE OR EXPENSE ITEMS REPORTED IN THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS THAT ARE NOT REPORTED IN FORM 990. |
| FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C | THERE WERE NO CHANGES IN THE PROCESS OF THE COMMITTEE THAT ASSUMES RESPONSIBILITY OF THE OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT AND SELECTION OF THE INDEPENDENT AUDITOR. |