STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

FIRST CITY CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
FIRST CITY CREDIT UNION (EIN 95-1679662)
Tax period
2017-01-01 to 2017-12-31
Filed
2018-11-15
IRS object ID
201803199349316595
Schema version
2017v2.3
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-11-15T16:51:54-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN420714325PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RSM US LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1801 NICOLLET MALL SUITE 1100AddressLine1Txt
CityMINNEAPOLISCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55402ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN951679662EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1FIRST CITY CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlFIRSBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2134823477PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1717 WEST TEMPLE STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityLOS ANGELESCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP90012ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonLOURDES RUANOPersonNm
Person TitleSVP/CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERPersonTitleTxt
Phone2134823477PhoneNum
Signature2018-11-13SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonGERALD B KISSELLPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00092658PTIN
Phone6123324300PhoneNum

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address108.171.131.189IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2018-11-13IPDt
IP Tm16:07:32IPTm
IP TimezoneCSIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdBAAA55F19712D57DA335EB0D2886131656817A04AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdC0F43978DBA0C0105C9EC865D2B1B55C6AA9D490AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2019-02-21 02:37:17ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJAMES MILLERPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1717 WEST TEMPLE STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityLOS ANGELESCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP90012ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$25,731,362GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.FIRSTCITYCU.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1937FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE A HIGH QUALITY OF FINANCIAL SERVICES TO OUR MEMBERSHIP BASE IN A MANNER THAT ALLOWS COMPETITIVE PRODUCTS AND SERVICES AS WELL AS SAFETY AND SOUNDNESS OF MEMBER ASSETS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body7VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee144TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers7TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$462,699TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$86,920NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$19,989,311PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$21,692,165CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,725,027PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$3,639,354CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$114,104PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$311,039CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$22,828,442PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$25,642,558CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$994,391PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$1,185,880CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,414,734PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,716,515CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$11,222,686PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$12,409,416CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$20,631,811PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$22,311,811CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$2,196,631PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$3,330,747CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$606,855,893TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$649,580,367TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$538,947,715TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$579,332,316TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$67,908,178NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$70,248,051NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionFIRST CITY CREDIT UNION EXISTS TO SERVE ITS MEMBERS. THE CREDIT UNION IS COMMITTED TO OFFER A BROAD RANGE OF QUALITY FINANCIAL SERVICES, DELIVERED AND PRICED TO PROVIDE GOOD VALUE. THE CREDIT UNION SHALL MAINTAIN FINANCIALLY SOUND AND ETHICAL PRACTICES TO MERIT CONFIDENCE AND TRUST.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescRETAIL LENDING: FIRST CITY CREDIT UNION PROVIDES A FULL RANGE OF RETAIL LENDING PRODUCTS TO ITS MEMBERS, INCLUDING NEW AND USED AUTO FINANCING, REAL ESTATE MORTGAGES, UNSECURED LOANS, HOME EQUITY LINES OF CREDIT AND OTHER RETAIL CREDIT. WE ARE AMONG THE LEADING CREDIT UNIONS IN THE COUNTRY IN TERMS OF OUR RELATIVE CONCENTRATION OF SUCCESSFUL AUTO LENDING PRODUCTS, WHICH REPRESENT 70% OF OUR TOTAL LOANS. WE CONTINUE TO DEVELOP OUR LENDING CAPABILITIES AS A RELIABLE SOURCE OF CREDIT IN THE CHALLENGING ECONOMIC CONDITIONS OF THE PAST YEAR. AT 12/31/2017 FCCU HAD 54,893 MEMBERS AND 25,947 LOANS OUTSTANDING WITH A TOTAL BALANCE OF $320,543,788.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescDEPOSITS: FIRST CITY CREDIT UNION PROVIDES A FULL RANGE OF RETAIL DEPOSIT PRODUCTS TO ITS MEMBERS TO PROVIDE A SAFE AND INSURED INVESTMENT VEHICLE TO HELP FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT. THIS INCLUDES BOTH FIXED TERM CERTIFICATES OF DEPOSIT AND NON-MATURING DEPOSITS, SUCH AS MONEY MARKET ACCOUNTS. WE ALSO PROVIDE A FULL RANGE OF CHECKING ACCOUNT PRODUCTS THAT ALLOW OUR MEMBERS TO MANAGE THEIR DAY-TO-DAY FINANCES EFFECTIVELY THROUGH SUCH SERVICES AS DIRECT DEPOSIT OF PAYROLL AND ON-LINE BILL PAYMENT. OUR NETWORK OF 7 BRANCHES PROVIDE EASY ACCESS TO OUR DEPOSIT AS WELL AS OTHERS PRODUCTS. AT 12/31/2017 FCCU HAD 100,869 SHARES WITH A TOTAL DEPOSIT BALANCE OF $569,444,533.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescCARD SERVICES: FIRST CITY CREDIT UNION PROVIDES CREDIT CARDS AND DEBIT CARDS TO ITS MEMBERS. THESE PROVIDE THEM THE CASH MANAGEMENT TOOLS NECESSARY FOR MUCH OF THE ONGOING PURCHASES AND BILL PAYMENTS ON A DAILY BASIS. THEY ALSO PROVIDE THE ABILITY TO MANAGE FINANCES WITH A VARIETY OF OPTIONS, E.G., DEFERRING PAYMENTS UNTIL CASH IS AVAILABLE TO PAY OR MAKING PURCHASES WITH A DIRECT DEBIT WHEN PHYSICAL CHECKS ARE NOT ACCEPTED BY A MERCHANT.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document8703IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee144EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members7GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TRAM NGUYENBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2134823477PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1717 WEST TEMPLE STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityLOS ANGELESCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP90012ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (19 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
WILLA J GLOVER
CHAIR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
BARBARA OLIVER
VICE CHAIR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOSEPH R MILLNER JR
TREASURER1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL D STEINBERGER
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES D LIKENS
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN S BENEDICT
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARISA LOPEZ
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CARROL LEAONARD
DIRECTOR (END JUNE 2017)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT CIULIK
DIRECTOR (END AUGUST 2017)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TERRY O'STEEN
PRESIDENT/CEO (RETIRED JAN 6, 2017)40.00Yes (X)$42,071$0$4,215
JAMES MILLER
CEO40.00Yes (X)$527,573$0$23,837
LOURDES RUANO
SVP/CFO40.00Yes (X)$151,956$0$24,086
TRAM NGUYEN
VP OF FINANCIAL SERVICES40.00$139,931$0$12,469Yes (X)
QAMAR NOORY
VP OF INFORMATION SYSTEMS40.00$149,601$0$13,863Yes (X)
DAVID WONG
VP OF MARKETING40.00$140,715$0$12,966Yes (X)
MARY RUBIO
VP OF HUMAN RESOURCES40.00$118,181$0$12,085Yes (X)
SCOTT HOLLAND
VP OF LENDING40.00$121,340$0$24,953Yes (X)
STEVEN GILNER
COO (RETIRED)40.00Yes (X)$110,729$0$6,136
MICHAEL WILKINS
COO40.00Yes (X)$80,189$0$17,828
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,582,286TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$152,438TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K10IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
DIGITAL INSIGHT CORPORATION
1300 SEAPORT BLVD 300REDWOOD CITYCA94063WEBSITE$739,178
FINANCIAL TECHNOLOGY SOLUTIONS
406 E HUNTINGTON DR 100MONROVIACA91016ATM SERVICE$333,882
JACK HENRY & ASSOCIATES INC
663 WEST HWY 60MONETTMO65708IN-HOUSE SYSTEM$292,271
PLATINUM SECURITY INC
1640 S SEPULVEDA BLVDLOS ANGELESCA90025GUARD SERVICE$230,571
BUSINESS DATA INC
321 NO OAK STREETINGLEWOODCA90302MAILING HOUSE$207,341
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K15CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
LOAN INCOME522100$14,825,469$14,825,469
FEES & SERVICE CHARGES INCOME522100$6,327,177$6,000,466$326,711
INSURANCE COMMISSIONS522100$539,519$403,531$135,988
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$21,692,165TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,639,354TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$3,639,354ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$218,815RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$88,804RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$130,011RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$130,011TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$130,011ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescCREDIT MERGER ADJUSTMENTDesc
Business522100BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$181,028TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$181,028RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$181,028OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$25,642,558TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$21,410,494RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$462,699UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$3,769,365ExclusionAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,185,880TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$993,930TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,123,803TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$178,086TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$889,641TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$531,055TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$197,890TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$64,008TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,866TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$456,934TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$366,238TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,697,119TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,363,815TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,459,598TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$38,911TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$97,352TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$734,802TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,980TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$2,772,932
VISA$1,075,072
LOAN SERVICE$851,165
ATM EXPENSE$839,924

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$364,810TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,311,811TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,348,129BOYAmt
EOY$6,636,646EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,480,456BOYAmt
EOY$1,695,792EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$293,273,921BOYAmt
EOY$317,819,556EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$756,177BOYAmt
EOY$885,754EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$17,910,898LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$13,360,688LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,666,736BOYAmt
EOY$4,550,210EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$293,155,554BOYAmt
EOY$310,424,550EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$137,814BOYAmt
EOY$117,564EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,037,106BOYAmt
EOY$7,450,295EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$606,855,893BOYAmt
EOY$649,580,367EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,904,668BOYAmt
EOY$3,652,499EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$535,043,047BOYAmt
EOY$575,679,817EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$538,947,715BOYAmt
EOY$579,332,316EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$67,908,178BOYAmt
EOY$70,248,051EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$67,908,178BOYAmt
EOY$70,248,051EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$606,855,893BOYAmt
EOY$649,580,367EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$3,330,747ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$990,874NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,000,000OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,000,000BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,557,598OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,456,326DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,101,272BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,690,975OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,543,693DepreciationAmt
Book Value$147,282BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$9,662,325OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$8,360,669DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,301,656BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$4,550,210TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
CERTIFICATES OF DEPOSIT$38,948,000F
WESCORP/MONEY MARKET$4,599,078F
AVAILABLE FOR SALE SECURITIES$175,280,239F
HELD TO MATURITY SECURITIES$58,916,050C
SHORT TERM INVESTMENTS$32,681,183C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$310,424,550TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
MEMBER SHARES$569,444,533
UNFUNDED INVESTMENT PAYABLE$6,235,284
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$575,679,817TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$25,642,558TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$25,642,558RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$25,642,558TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$22,311,811TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$22,311,811ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$22,311,811TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART X, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationMANAGEMENT HAS ASSESSED THE CREDIT UNION'S ACTIVITIES AND ANY POTENTIAL FEDERAL OR STATE INCOME TAX LIABILITY AND DETERMINED THAT THE CREDIT UNION HAS NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT QUALIFY FOR EITHER RECOGNITION OR DISCLOSURE IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. ADDITIONALLY, NO INTEREST AND PENALTIES HAVE BEEN RECORDED IN THE ACCOMPANYING FINANCIAL STATEMENTS RELATED TO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS. CURRENTLY, THE 2016, 2015, AND 2014 FEDERAL INCOME TAX RETURNS ARE OPEN FOR EXAMINATION BY THE IRS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (5 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JAMES MILLER
CEO$470,650$0$50,000$0$6,923$0$6,558$0$19,791$0$553,922$0$0$0
LOURDES RUANO
SVP/CFO$131,223$0$20,000$0$733$0$4,180$0$21,282$0$177,418$0$0$0
TRAM NGUYEN
VP OF FINANCIAL SERVICES$129,406$0$7,500$0$3,025$0$4,819$0$9,380$0$154,130$0$0$0
QAMAR NOORY
VP OF INFORMATION SYSTEMS$138,512$0$8,000$0$3,089$0$5,584$0$9,563$0$164,748$0$0$0
DAVID WONG
VP OF MARKETING$132,139$0$7,500$0$1,076$0$5,316$0$8,986$0$155,017$0$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE CREDIT UNION'S MEMBERS HAVE RIGHTS TO ELECT THE MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY. THE CREDIT UNION'S MEMBERS ALSO RECEIVE A SHARE OF THE ORGANIZATION'S PROFITS IN THE FORM OF CASH DIVIDENDS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AMEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION HAVE THE RIGHT TO ELECT ONE OR MORE MEMBERS OF THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING BODY, WHETHER PERIODICALLY, OR AS VACANCIES ARISE, OR OTHERWISE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BMEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION HAVE THE RIGHT TO APPROVE THE GOVERNING BODY'S ELECTION AND REMOVAL OF MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY, AS WELL AS OTHER MATTERS THAT ARE SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF MEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION AS THEY OCCUR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BFORM 990 IS REVIEWED IN DETAIL BY THE CONTROLLER AND CFO, FOCUSING ON BACK-UP SUPPORTING DETAIL AS NEEDED PRIOR TO ITS FILING. A COPY IS PROVIDED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS PRIOR TO FILING WITH THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CKEY EMPLOYEE ACTIVITIES ARE MONITORED BY OUR AUDIT DEPARTMENT ON A REGULAR BASIS. THIS IS DONE THROUGH THE USE OF REPORTS, SYSTEMS, AUDITS, ETC. IN ADDITION, EACH MANAGER MONITORS THE ACTIVITY OF THEIR STAFF MEMBERS TO ENSURE BEST PRACTICES AND ELIMINATE THE ABILITY FOR BEHAVIOR THAT CONFLICTS WITH THE CREDIT UNION'S CODE OF CONDUCT.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15FIRST CITY PARTICIPATES IN SEVERAL INDUSTRY-RELATED COMPENSATION SURVEYS EVERY YEAR. DATA FROM THE SURVEYS IS THEN REVIEWED AND ANALYZED, BASED ON FACTORS SUCH AS REGION, AREA, "COMPARABLE" PAY DATA, AND RANGE ARE DETERMINED FOR EACH POSITION. WITH MIDPOINT REPRESENTING MARKET SALARY FOR AN EXPERIENCED INCUMBENT, WE DETERMINE PLACEMENT WITHIN THE EMPLOYEES WITH COMPARABLE EXPERIENCE AND RESPONSIBILITY OF POSITION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE AT ALL LOCATIONS FOR VIEWING AND ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST FOR THE SAME PERIOD OF DISCLOSURE AS SET FORTH IN SECTION 6104(D).