MAGNOLIA ELECTRIC POWER ASSOCIATION: Form 990, tax year 2017
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- MAGNOLIA ELECTRIC POWER ASSOCIATION (EIN 64-0195613)
- Tax period
- 2017-01-01 to 2017-12-31
- Filed
- 2018-11-13
- IRS object ID
- 201813179349303846
- Schema version
- 2017v2.3
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2018-11-13T12:10:31-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2017-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 640751580 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | WILSON & BIGGS PLLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO BOX 930 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | RIDGELAND | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MS | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 39158 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2017-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 640195613 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | MAGNOLIA ELECTRIC POWER ASSOCIATION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | MAGN | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 6016844011 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO BOX 747 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | MCCOMB | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MS | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 39648 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | DARRELL SMITH | PersonNm |
| Person Title | GENERAL MANAGER | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 6016844011 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2018-11-09 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (true) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | GEORGE M BIGGS JR | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00912499 | PTIN |
| Phone | 6019572001 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2018-11-13 | PreparationDt |
Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation
IP Address IPAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| I Pv4 Address | 167.68.16.49 | IPv4AddressTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IP | 2018-11-13 | IPDt |
| IP Tm | 12:10:31 | IPTm |
| IP Timezone | CS | IPTimezoneCd |
| Filing License Type | P | FilingLicenseTypeCd |
| At Submission Creation Device Id | 898C1895B8F201315E3AD013D20E33E4FB790411 | AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId |
| At Submission Filing Device Id | 6E8EC3EDC36FF2470D1B29C0F469CE90217A4D49 | AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2017 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2019-02-21 02:37:17Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | DARRELL SMITH | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO BOX 747 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | MCCOMB | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MS | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 39648 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $73,203,004 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | false | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | WWW.MAGNOLIAEPA.COM | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1938 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | MS | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | MEMBER OWNED ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 9 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 9 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 105 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $75,513,418 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $70,373,574 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $845,948 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $987,971 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $1,665,182 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $1,588,042 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $78,024,548 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $72,949,587 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $6,722,599 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $1,727,129 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $560,056 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $905,633 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $70,913,630 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $70,311,891 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $78,196,285 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $72,944,653 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$171,737 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $4,934 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $170,292,237 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $174,262,015 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $73,708,155 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $74,445,444 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $96,584,082 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $99,816,571 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | MEMBER OWNED ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | false | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | false | SignificantChangeInd |
| Desc | PROVISION OF ELECTRIC POWER TO MEMBERS. | Desc |
| Described In Section501c3 | false | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | false | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | false | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | false | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | false | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | false | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | false | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | false | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | false | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (true) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | false | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | false | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | Yes (true) | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (true) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (true) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | false | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | false | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | false | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | false | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | false | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | false | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | false | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | false | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | false | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | false | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | false | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | false | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | false | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | false | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | false | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | false | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | false | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | false | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | false | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | false | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | false | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | false | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | false | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | false | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 19 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Employee | 105 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (true) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | false | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | false | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | false | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | false | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | false | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Members And Shr Gross Income | $69,547,883 | MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt |
| Other Sources Gross Income | $2,571,079 | OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt |
| Indoor Tanning Services | false | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 9 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 9 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | Yes (true) | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | false | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | false | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | false | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (true) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (true) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (true) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (true) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (true) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | false | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | false | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (true) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (true) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (true) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (true) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | false | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | false | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | false | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | false | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | TONY NETTLES | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 6016844011 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO BOX 747 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | MCCOMB | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MS | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 39649 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (13 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DENNIS WILSON | |||||||
| VICE PRESIDE | 11.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $9,950 | $0 | $2,603 | |
| ODELL MCKENZIE | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 11.00 | Yes (X) | $9,500 | $0 | $5,907 | ||
| BRUCE MCCAFFERY | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 11.00 | Yes (X) | $9,250 | $0 | $5,907 | ||
| JERRY L SISCO | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 10.00 | Yes (X) | $9,000 | $0 | $7,938 | ||
| SCOTT SMITH | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 10.50 | Yes (X) | $9,000 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JOHN L MCCABE | |||||||
| SEC.-TREA. | 8.50 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $8,700 | $0 | $5,907 | |
| HOLLIS ALFORD | |||||||
| PRESIDENT | 8.50 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $8,600 | $0 | $0 | |
| CARL FULLER | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 11.00 | Yes (X) | $7,750 | $0 | $7,938 | ||
| PAT ARD | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 10.50 | Yes (X) | $7,650 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DARRELL SMITH | |||||||
| GENERAL MANA | 60.00 | Yes (X) | $291,339 | $0 | $53,425 | ||
| TONY NETTLES | |||||||
| MANAGER-ADMI | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $105,388 | $0 | $22,433 | ||
| AARON ACHORD | |||||||
| MANAGER-ENG | 40.00 | $157,540 | $0 | $34,025 | Yes (X) | ||
| TERRY JACKSON | |||||||
| LINEMAN | 40.00 | $103,886 | $0 | $21,997 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $737,553 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $168,080 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 4 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | false | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (true) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | false | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KINCO LLC | |||||
| 63226 COMMERCIAL STREET | ROSELAND | LA | 70456 | LINE CONSTRUCT. | $2,139,890 |
| DEVINEY CONSTRUCTION CO | |||||
| PO BOX 22679 | JACKSON | MS | 39205 | RIGHT-OF-WAY | $1,278,626 |
| BARNES ROW SERVICES INC | |||||
| 2100 SMITHBURG ROAD | OSYKA | MS | 39657 | RIGHT-OF WAY | $1,068,271 |
| PIKE ELECTRIC CORPORATION | |||||
| PO BOX 1000 | MEMPHIS | TN | 381480517 | LINE CONSTRUC | $987,488 |
| ASPLUNDH TREE EXPERT CO | |||||
| PO BOX 532729 | ATLANTA | GA | 303532729 | RIGHT-OF WAY | $430,497 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 7 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | ExclusionExclusionAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MEMBERSHIP REVENUES | 221000 | $69,547,883 | $69,547,883 | |
| POLE RENTAL | 221000 | $825,691 | $825,691 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $70,373,574 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $946,713 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $946,713 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $241,269 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $53,406 | OtherAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $253,417 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | -$12,148 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $53,406 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $41,258 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $41,258 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | ExclusionExclusionAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PATRONAGE CAPITAL CREDITS | 221000 | $1,589,850 | $1,589,850 | |
| SCM BETA PARTNERSHIP I | 900099 | -$734 | -$734 | |
| SCM ALTERNATIVE INCOME I | 900099 | -$1,074 | -$1,074 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $1,588,042 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $72,949,587 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $71,137,733 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,811,854 | ExclusionAmt |
Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,727,129 | TotalAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $588,185 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $317,448 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $22,606 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $29,677 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $55,496 | TotalAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $80,088 | TotalAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,030,373 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $6,168,820 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt |
|---|---|
| COST OF POWER | $49,326,307 |
| DISTRIBUTION - MAINTENANC | $6,486,547 |
| DISTRIBUTION - OPERATIONS | $2,713,365 |
| ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL | $1,729,240 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,669,372 | TotalAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $72,944,653 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $0 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $0 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,861,574 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,312,274 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,949,186 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,472,431 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $716,576 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $644,269 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $742,025 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $441,841 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $185,553,466 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $60,379,807 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $122,791,113 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $125,173,659 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,510,489 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,925,709 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $36,721,274 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $37,291,832 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $170,292,237 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $174,262,015 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,711,423 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,876,672 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $55,811,832 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $57,356,972 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,184,900 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,211,800 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $73,708,155 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $74,445,444 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Org Does Not Follow SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind |
Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $96,584,082 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $99,816,571 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $96,584,082 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $99,816,571 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $170,292,237 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $174,262,015 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $4,934 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $335,411 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $2,892,144 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | false | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (true) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (true) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | false | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $185,553,466 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $60,379,807 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $125,173,659 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $125,173,659 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt |
|---|---|
| PATRONAGE CAPITAL | $31,895,484 |
| UNBILLED REVENUE | $5,135,942 |
| REDLEG NOTES RECEIVABLE | $260,406 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Other Assets | $37,291,832 | TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | POST RETIREMENT BENEFIT OBLIGATION | Desc |
| Amt | $8,211,800 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $8,211,800 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $72,889,157 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | -$6,894 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | -$6,894 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $72,896,051 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $55,496 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | -$1,960 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $53,536 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $72,949,587 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $71,162,028 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $71,162,028 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $55,496 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $1,727,129 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $1,782,625 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $72,944,653 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| SCHEDULE D, PAGE 3, PART X | THE ASSOCIATION IS EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAX UNDER SECTION 501(C)(12) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND IS ALSO EXEMPT FROM STATE INCOME TAX. ACCOUNTING RULES PRESCRIBE WHEN TO RECOGNIZE AND HOW TO MEASURE THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT EFFECT, IF ANY, OF INCOME TAX POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN ON INCOME TAX RETURNS INCLUDING THE POSITION THAT THE ASSOCIATION WILL CONTINUE TO QUALIFY AS A TAX EXEMPT ORGANIZATION. MANAGEMENT EVALUATES THE LIKELIHOOD THAT, UPON EXAMINATION BY RELEVANT TAXING JURISDICTIONS, THOSE INCOME TAX POSITIONS WOULD BE SUSTAINED. BASED ON THAT EVALUATION, IF IT WERE MORE THAN 50% PROBABLE THAT A MATERIAL AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX WOULD BE IMPOSED ON THE ASSOCIATION UPON EXAMINATION BY RELEVANT TAXING AUTHORITIES, A LIABILITY WOULD BE RECOGNIZED IN THE BALANCE SHEETS ALONG WITH ANY INTEREST AND PENALTIES THAT WOULD RESULT FROM THAT ASSESSMENT. SHOULD ANY PENALTIES AND INTEREST BE INCURRED, THE ASSOCIATION'S POLICY WOULD BE TO RECOGNIZE THEM AS OPERATING EXPENSES. BASED ON MANAGEMENT'S EVALUATION, NO LIABILITIES OR PENALTIES AND INTEREST WERE REQUIRED TO BE RECORDED FOR UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS. YEARS THAT REMAIN SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE AND THE MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2017 WERE 2014 - 2017. |
| SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 4B | PARTNERSHIP/TRUST LOSSES -1,960 |
| SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 4B | MARGINS ALLOCATED TO MEMBERS 1,727,129 |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | false | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | false | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | false | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (2 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DARRELL SMITH | ||||
| GENERAL MANAGER | $291,339 | $40,532 | $12,893 | $344,764 |
| AARON ACHORD | ||||
| MANAGER-ENG & OPER. | $157,540 | $22,681 | $11,344 | $191,565 |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990 | PART IX, LINE 4, BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS THE 1,727,129 SHOWN ON THIS LINE REPRESENTS MARGINS ALLOCATED TO MEMBERS FOR 2017. ACTUAL RETIREMENTS OF CAPITAL CREDITS FOR 2017 WERE 2,351,993. PART IX, COMPENSATION THE ORGANIZATION IS REQUIRED TO FOLLOW REGULATORY ACCOUNTING PROCEDURES PRESCRIBED BY THE RURAL UTILTIES SERVICE ( USDA). COMPENSATION IS CAPITALIZED TO PLANT AS WELL AS BEING ALLOCATED TO VARIOUS EXPENSE ACCOUNTS. ALL COMPENSATION FOR OFFICERS AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES HAS BEEN PRESENTED. COMPENSATION FOR OTHER EMPLOYEES IS PRESENTED IN THE ASSET AND EXPENSE CATEGORIES WHERE IT WAS RECORDED UNDER GAAP. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 2 | JOHN MCCABE DENNIS WILSON OFFICER/DIR OFFICER/DIR BUSINESS RELATIONSHIP |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 6 | YES. ORGANIZATION OPERATES AS COOPERATIVE. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7A | ALL OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ARE ELECTED BY THE MEMBERSHIP. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7B | AT THE ANNUAL MEETING, THE MEMBERSHIP RATIFIES THE DECISIONS OF THE BOARD. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11B | THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS REVIEW A DRAFT OF THE 990 PRIOR TO ITS SUBMISSION. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12C | ANNUALLY, THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ARE ASKED TO DOCUMENT ANY INTERESTS THAT COULD GIVE RISE TO CONFLICTS. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15A | BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPROVES THE GENERAL MANAGERS COMPENSATION. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19 | THE ORGANIZATION DOES NOT MAKE ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY OR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC. HOWEVER, THIS INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE TO THE MEMBERSHIP UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9 | INCREASE IN MEMBERSHIPS 5,240 DONATED CAPITAL DURING THE YEAR 726,310 AMORTIZATION OF ACTUARIAL LOSS 131,100 MARGINS ALLOCATED TO MEMBERS 1,727,129 PARTNERSHIP/TRUST LOSSES 1,960 ACTUARIAL GAIN 2,652,398 RETIREMENT OF CAPITAL CREDITS -2,351,993 0 ACTUARIAL LOSS 0 TOTAL 2,892,144 |