STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

TAYLOR ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
TAYLOR ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 75-0597925)
Tax period
2017-01-01 to 2017-12-31
Filed
2018-11-13
IRS object ID
201833179349301513
Schema version
2017v2.3
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-11-13T08:35:37-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN750882037PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BOLINGER SEGARS GILBERT AND MOSS LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18215 NASHVILLE AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityLUBBOCKCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79423ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN750597925EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TAYLOR ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlTAYLBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3257938500PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 250AddressLine1Txt
CityMERKELCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79536ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonNANCY BRISCOPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone3257938500PhoneNum
Signature2018-11-05SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonWILLIAM M MILLERPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00439459PTIN
Phone8067473806PhoneNum
Preparation2018-11-05PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address65.182.80.152IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2018-11-05IPDt
IP Tm11:45:41IPTm
IP TimezoneCSIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id42ED200D52007B62D8CC0AE4B3D86240094B8D48AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id587A88673713A033F58E04FDF6801CBB1F7DD2F2AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2019-02-21 02:37:17ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerRYAN BARTLETTPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 250AddressLine1Txt
CityMERKELCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79536ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$44,293,291GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.TAYLORELECTRIC.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1939FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE ELECTRIC POWER TO RURAL AREAS AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body7VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee90TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$60,443TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$39,226,074PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$43,574,370CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,357,989PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$341,995CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue-$262,169PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$263,893CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$40,321,894PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$44,180,258CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$62,230CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$1,016,027PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$4,870,660CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$5,982,417PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$6,770,515CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$33,212,138PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$32,941,657CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$40,210,582PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$44,645,062CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$111,312PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$464,804CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$137,831,968TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$139,309,463TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$83,795,631TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$81,646,400TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$54,036,337NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$57,663,063NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionNONEMissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDING ELECTRIC ENERGY TO OUR MEMBERS - 17,573 ACTIVE SERVICES WERE PROVIDED POWER AT YEAR END AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document115IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee90EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$43,291,422MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$1,670,627OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members7GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NANCY BRISCO CFOBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone3257938500PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1226 CR 287AddressLine1Txt
CityMERKELCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79536ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (14 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
CECIL DAVIS
CHAIRMAN3.20Yes (X)Yes (X)$20,000$0$0
LELAND ROBINSON
VICE CHAIRMAN2.10Yes (X)Yes (X)$19,000$0$0
PARKS THOMAS
SECRETARY/TREASURER2.40Yes (X)Yes (X)$19,000$0$0
GARLAND CARTER
DIRECTOR3.40Yes (X)$19,000$0$0
DAVID MCFALL
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$19,000$0$0
RICHARD PETREE
DIRECTOR3.10Yes (X)$23,000$0$0
KATHRYN RAINEY
DIRECTOR3.70Yes (X)$19,000$0$0
RYAN BARTLETT
PRESIDENT/CEO58.00Yes (X)$189,441$0$63,725
NANCY BRISCO
CFO50.00Yes (X)$164,023$0$69,891
LANCE MAEDA
DIRECTOR OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY40.00$138,972$0$76,380Yes (X)
DAVID THOMAS
CONSTRUCTION OPERATIONS MANAGER40.00$132,997$0$113,926Yes (X)
KEN WELLS
DIRECTOR OF BUSINESS DEVELEOPMENT40.00$125,975$0$124,788Yes (X)
SEAN KRAUSE
DIRECTOR OF ENGINEERING40.00$112,182$0$20,131Yes (X)
ROBERT STEPHENS
WORKING FOREMAN48.00$103,983$0$62,320Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,105,573TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$531,161TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K9IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
LOWER COLORADO RIVER AUTHORITY
PO BOX 301142DALLASTX75303SUBSTATION CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTORS$1,352,528
ABB INC
PO BOX 88868CHICAGOIL60695CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTORS$568,558
ANIXTER INC
PO BOX 842584DALLASTX75284METER CONTRACTORS$173,861
PRIMARY UTILITY SERVICES LLC
4231 CR 230SNYDERTX79549CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTORS$154,588
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K4CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALES OF ELECTRICITY221000$41,734,949$41,734,949
PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS221000$1,408,238$1,408,238
SERVICE FEES221000$369,212$369,212
OTHER PROGRAM REVENUE221000$55,233$55,233
TRANSMISSION ACCESS221000$6,738$6,738
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$43,574,370TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$168,142TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$168,142ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$58,100RealAmt
Personal$175,000PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$22,406RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$35,694RealAmt
Personal$175,000PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$210,694TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$207,179RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$3,515ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$178,289OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$4,436OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$173,853OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$173,853TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$173,853ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$67,537GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$86,191CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$18,654TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$18,654RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
INTERNET SERVICE REVENUE517000$44,733$44,733
AIR EVAC REVENUE524298$15,710$15,710
POLE ATTACHMENT INCOME221000$7,942$7,942

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,468TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$3,468RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$71,853OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$44,180,258TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$43,766,363RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$60,443UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$353,452ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$62,230TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,870,660TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$625,080TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,658,193TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$908,797TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,282,724TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$295,721TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,772,723TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,641,892TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER$20,553,743
ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE$1,458,584
CONSUMER EXPENSE$801,239
DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE$411,840

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,301,636TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$44,645,062TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXInd

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,374,927BOYAmt
EOY$3,708,879EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$361,000BOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,841,829BOYAmt
EOY$3,253,307EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,258BOYAmt
EOY$1,530EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,022,509BOYAmt
EOY$2,865,637EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$146,865,732LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$45,294,905LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$97,433,215BOYAmt
EOY$101,570,827EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,475,985BOYAmt
EOY$27,668,540EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,315,245BOYAmt
EOY$240,743EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$137,831,968BOYAmt
EOY$139,309,463EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,592,913BOYAmt
EOY$3,418,188EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$102,757EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$77,681,472BOYAmt
EOY$76,028,777EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,521,246BOYAmt
EOY$2,096,678EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$83,795,631BOYAmt
EOY$81,646,400EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$110,420BOYAmt
EOY$111,555EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$310,323BOYAmt
EOY$141,446EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$53,615,594BOYAmt
EOY$57,410,062EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,036,337BOYAmt
EOY$57,663,063EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$137,831,968BOYAmt
EOY$139,309,463EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$464,804ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$4,091,530OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit Committee0AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,072,956OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,072,956BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$7,913,997OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,281,604DepreciationAmt
Book Value$5,632,393BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$135,358,962OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$42,826,315DepreciationAmt
Book Value$92,532,647BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$344,796InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,175,021OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$186,986DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,332,831BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$101,570,827TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (11 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - GSEC$21,105,142C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - TEC$879,413C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NISC$56,911C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - CFC$3,208,310C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NRTC$4,499C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - SEDC$107,611C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - CRC$7,096C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - FEDERATED$31,326C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - OTHER$9,794C
CASH SURRENDER VALUE OF EMPLOYEE INS$58,438C
MEMBER CAPITAL SECURITIES$2,200,000C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$27,668,540TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ACCRUED OPERATING TAXES$71,984
CUSTOMER DEPOSITS$1,133,722
ACCUMULATED PROVISION FOR PENSIONS/BENEFITS$238,136
DEFERRED CREDITS - UNCLAIMED CAPITAL CREDITS$554,635
DEFERRED CREDITS - OTHER$98,201
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,096,678TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$43,417,048TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$43,417,048RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$763,210OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$763,210RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$44,180,258TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$39,011,192TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$39,011,192ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$5,633,870OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$5,633,870ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$44,645,062TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 2B:PURSUANT TO SECTION 74.3013 OF THE TEXAS PROPERTY CODE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND WITH AMOUNTS DESIGNATED UNCLAIMED UNDER STATE LAW. THE AMOUNTS DEPOSITED INTO THE RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND ARE APPROVED BY THE STATE OF TEXAS AND CAN ONLY BE USED FOR SCHOLARSHIPS TO ENABLE STUDENTS FROM RURAL AREAS TO ATTEND COLLEGE, TECHNICAL SCHOOL OR OTHER POST SECONDARY EDUCATION INSTITUTION. ANY AMOUNTS SO DEPOSITED INTO THE RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND ARE STILL PAYABLE TO THE PERSON TO WHOM THE ORIGINAL PAYMENT WAS MADE BUT UNCLAIMED. ALSO PURSUANT TO SECTION 74.3013 OF THE TEXAS PROPERTY CODE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED AN ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT FUND WITH AMOUNTS DESIGNATED UNCLAIMED UNDER STATE LAW. THE AMOUNTS DEPOSITED INTO THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT FUND ARE APPROVED BY THE STATE OF TEXAS AND CAN ONLY BE USED FOR THE STIMULATION AND IMPROVEMENT OF BUSINESS AND COMMERCIAL ACTIVITY FOR ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT IN RURAL COMMUNITIES. ANY AMOUNTS SO DEPOSITED INTO THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT FUND ARE STILL PAYABLE TO THE PERSON TO WHOM THE ORIGINAL PAYMENT WAS MADE BUT UNCLAIMED. ALSO PURSUANT TO SECTION 74.3013 OF THE TEXAS PROPERTY CODE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED AN ENERGY EFFICIENCY ASSISTANCE FUND WITH AMOUNTS DESIGNATED UNCLAIMED UNDER STATE LAW. THE AMOUNTS DEPOSITED INTO THE ENERGY EFFICIENCY ASSISTANCE FUND ARE APPROVED BY THE STATE OF TEXAS AND CAN ONLY BE USED TO ASSIST MEMBERS OF AN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE IN REDUCING THEIR ENERGY CONSUMPTION AND ELECTRICITY BILLS. ANY AMOUNTS SO DEPOSITED INTO THE ENERGY EFFICIENCY ASSISTANCE FUND ARE STILL PAYABLE TO THE PERSON TO WHOM THE ORIGINAL PAYMENT WAS MADE BUT UNCLAIMED.
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501(C)(12) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. MORE THAN 85% OF THE GROSS INCOME IS COLLECTED FROM MEMBERS.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:EXPENSES RECORDED IN NON-OPERATING MARGINS RECLASSED TO EXPENSES 763,210.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:EXPENSES RECORDED IN NON-OPERATING MARGINS RECLASSED TO EXPENSES 763,210. PATRONAGE CAPITAL ASSIGNABLE 4,870,660.
PART IX:THE AMOUNT OF OTHER ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 15 DOES NOT EQUAL OR EXCEED 5% OF THE TOTAL ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 16, COLUMN B. CONSEQUENTLY, IN ACCORDANCE WITH IRS INSTRUCTIONS, SCHEDULE D, PART IX HAS BEEN LEFT BLANK. PART XII, LINE 4B: FOR THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID OR ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED AS AN INCREASE IN EQUITY AND NOT AS AN EXPENSE. THEREFORE, NET INCOME PER THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IS REPORTED GROSS OF THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS THAT ARE EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED AT THE TIME THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PREPARED. HOWEVER, BECAUSE THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS IS ONE ASPECT OF HOW THE COOPERATIVE FULFILLS ITS TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE OF OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4 AS "BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS". PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE ALLOCATED ON A PATRONAGE BASIS AND DONE SO PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION AS PROVIDED FOR IN THE "NON-PROFIT OPERATION" ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records Maintained0GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
DISABILITY RESOURCES INC
PO BOX 1880ABILENETX79604752157839501(C)(3)$5,700CHARITABLE EVENT
HENDRICK MEDICAL CENTER
1900 PINE STABILENETX79601237413284GOVERNMENT$5,900CHARITABLE EVENT
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org1TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationALL GRANTS, SPONSORSHIPS AND/OR DONATIONS ARE MADE TO NON-PROFIT AND CIVIC ORGANIZATIONS THAT ARE LOCATED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S SERVICE AREA, AND ARE INTENDED TO IMPROVE THE COMMUNITIES IN WHICH OUR MEMBERS RESIDE.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
RYAN BARTLETT
PRESIDENT/CEO$181,306$0$5,504$0$2,631$0$28,394$0$35,331$0$253,166$0$0$0
NANCY BRISCO
CFO$150,409$0$10,504$0$3,110$0$50,521$0$19,370$0$233,914$0$0$0
LANCE MAEDA
DIRECTOR OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY$128,575$0$6,304$0$4,093$0$48,178$0$28,202$0$215,352$0$0$0
DAVID THOMAS
CONSTRUCTION OPERATIONS MANAGER$120,802$0$11,349$0$846$0$82,932$0$30,994$0$246,923$0$0$0
KEN WELLS
DIRECTOR OF BUSINESS DEVELEOPMENT$110,424$0$13,150$0$2,401$0$93,749$0$31,039$0$250,763$0$0$0
ROBERT STEPHENS
WORKING FOREMAN$100,898$0$2,759$0$326$0$29,280$0$33,040$0$166,303$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II, COLUMN C:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationINCLUDED IN THIS AMOUNT IS THE INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF BENEFITS PAYABLE UNDER A DEFINED BENEFIT RETIREMENT PLAN. THE CONTRIBUTION RATE FOR PARTICIPANTS IN THE NRECA R&S DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN ARE THE SAME FOR ALL INDIVIDUALS IN THIS MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN. THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR EACH PARTICIPANT, HOWEVER, VARIES WITH AGE, YEARS OF SERVICE AND THE CURRENT INTEREST RATE ENVIRONMENT. IN OTHER WORDS, THE OLDER A PLAN PARTICIPANT IS, THE GREATER THE INCREASE IN THAT INDIVIDUAL'S CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE, ALL OTHER THINGS BEING EQUAL. BECAUSE THIS RELATES TO A MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN, CASH CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN IN LIEU OF THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE ARE EXPENSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. RYAN BARTLETT: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 20,994 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 7,400 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 28,394 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (20,994) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 50,491 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 57,891 NANCY BRISCO: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 44,392 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 6,129 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 50,521 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (44,392) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 41,577 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 47,706 LANCE MAEDA: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 42,910 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 5,268 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 48,178 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (42,910) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 35,946 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 41,214 DAVID THOMAS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 78,132 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,800 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 82,932 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (78,132) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 32,751 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 37,551 KEN WELLS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 89,346 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,403 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 93,749 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (89,346) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 30,042 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 34,445 ROBERT STEPHENS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 26,221 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 3,059 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 29,280 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (26,221) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 20,960 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 24,019ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (19 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 15:ON THE 2017 FORM 990, PART I, LINE 15, THE COOPERATIVE SEPARATELY STATED SALARIES AND WAGES, EMPLOYEE BENEFITS, AND PAYROLL TAXES THAT ARE ALLOCATED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THEIR ACCOUNTING SYSTEM. ON THE 2016 RETURN THE COOPERATIVE DID NOT SEPARATELY STATE THESE EXPENSES. THE 2016 RETURN IS COMPLETE AND ACCURATE, BUT THE COOPERATIVE BELIEVES BY SEPARATELY STATING THESE EXPENSES ON THE 2017 RETURN A READER OF THE FORM 990 WILL BE MORE INFORMED. FUTURE RETURNS FILED BY THE COOPERATIVE WILL SEPARATELY STATE SALARIES AND WAGES, EMPLOYEE BENEFITS, AND PAYROLL TAXES, MAKING THE COMPARISON ON PAGE 1 MORE MEANINGFUL.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE COOPERATIVE WAS FORMED BY THE MEMBERS TO PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE VOTE ON THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. ELECTIONS ARE DONE ON A ONE MEMBER ONE VOTE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE FOLLOWING ACTS REQUIRE APPROVAL OF THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE: 1. DISSOLUTION/LIQUIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE 2. MERGER OR CONSOLIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH ANOTHER ORGANIZATION 3. DISPOSAL OF A SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S ASSETS 4. AMENDMENT TO THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHE COOPERATIVE HAS NO COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY. THEREFORE, AND PURSUANT TO FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE QUESTION HAS BEEN ANSWERED "NO".
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BMANAGEMENT PRESENTED A COPY OF THE FORM 990 TO THE BOARD FOR DISCUSSION AND REVIEW PRIOR TO FILING. THE DISCUSSION AND REVIEW WAS PERFORMED AT THE BOARD MEETING IMMEDIATELY BEFORE FILING THE FORM 990.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CALL NEW EMPLOYEES AND DIRECTORS ARE REQUIRED TO SIGN A CONFLICT OF INTEREST CERTIFICATION WHEN THEY BEGIN EMPLOYMENT WITH THE COOPERATIVE. ALL EMPLOYEES, DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS ARE REQUIRED TO REVIEW AND BE FAMILIAR WITH THE POLICIES OUTLINED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND ARE REQUIRED TO DISCLOSE ANY ACTION OR SITUATION THAT MIGHT VIOLATE THE POLICY TO THE FULL BOARD OF DIRECTORS AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. THE PRESIDENT/CEO REGULARLY MONITORS AND ENFORCES THIS POLICY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS UTILIZE INTERNAL AND/OR EXTERNAL RESOURCES WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION FOR THE PRESIDENT/CEO. THE PRESIDENT/CEO UTILIZES INTERNAL AND/OR EXTERNAL RESOURCES WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE ORGANIZATION'S OTHER EMPLOYEES MEETING THE DEFINITION OF OFFICER OR KEY EMPLOYEE, IF ANY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE COOPERATIVE PROVIDES A SUMMARIZED COPY OF AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE AT THE ANNUAL MEETING. THE COOPERATIVE WILL PROVIDE A COMPLETE COPY OF THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, OR GOVERNING DOCUMENTS TO ANY MEMBER WHO REQUESTS A COPY ANY SUCH DOCUMENT.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN F:IN ORDER TO PROVIDE RETIREMENT BENEFITS TO ITS EMPLOYEES, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN UNDER SECTION 401(K) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN ARE MADE PURSUANT TO THE PLAN DOCUMENT. ADDITIONALLY, THE COOPERATIVE PARTICIPATES IN A MULTI-EMPLOYER DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN. CONTRIBUTIONS TO THIS PLAN ARE BASED ON THE FULL FUNDING LIMITATION OF SUCH PLAN. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS FOR BOTH PLANS ARE AVAILABLE TO PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING OFFICERS AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES, MEETING THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS OF SUCH PLANS. THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES HEALTH AND LIFE INSURANCE TO ALL ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES THROUGH A QUALIFIED PLAN. THE AMOUNTS REPORTED ON PART VII, COLUMN (F) FOR THE OFFICERS AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES IS COMPRISED OF ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN, THE TOTAL AMOUNT CONTRIBUTED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO THE DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN AND INSURANCE PAID ON BEHALF OF AND FOR THEIR BENEFIT. IN ADDITION TO THE ABOVE PENSION PLANS, THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES POST-RETIREMENT HEALTH INSURANCE BENEFITS THROUGH AN UNFUNDED WELFARE BENEFIT PLAN. THE VALUE OF THESE BENEFITS HAS NOT BEEN ESTIMATED.
FORM 990, PART VIII, LINE 2:PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS RESULT FROM THE PURCHASE OF WHOLESALE POWER FROM A GENERATION & TRANSMISSION COOPERATIVE. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALSO RESULT FROM THE PAYMENT OF INTEREST FROM COOPERATIVE BANKS AND THE PURCHASE OF SUPPLIES AND SERVICES FROM OTHER COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS. THE EXPENSES ASSOCIATED WITH PURCHASES FROM AND PAYMENTS TO SUCH COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS ARE A DIRECT COMPONENT OF COST OF THE ELECTRIC SERVICE PROVIDED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO ITS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART IX:THE ACCOUNTING RECORDS OF THE COOPERATIVE ARE MAINTAINED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS (USOA) AS PRESCRIBED BY THE FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION FOR CLASS A AND B ELECTRIC UTILITIES MODIFIED FOR ELECTRIC BORROWERS OF THE NATIONAL RURAL UTILITIES COOPERATIVE FINANCE COOPERATIVE (CFC). THE USOA DOES NOT RECORD EXPENSES IN THE GENERAL EXPENSE CATEGORIES PROVIDED ON PART IX LINES 1 - 23. THE COOPERATIVE SEPARATELY REPORTS SALARIES AND WAGES, EMPLOYEE BENEFITS AND PAYROLL TAXES THAT ARE ALLOCATED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THEIR ACCOUNTING SYSTEM, BUT OTHER EXPENSES THAT ARE DESCRIBED IN LINES 1 - 23 ARE REPORTED ON LINE 24 UNDER THE EXPENSE CATEGORIES REQUIRED BY THE USOA.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINES 5-7:SALARIES AND WAGES ARE ALLOCATED TO ASSET, LIABILITY, AND EXPENSE ACCOUNTS BASED ON THE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM DESCRIBED ABOVE. THE FOLLOWING SCHEDULE RECONCILES AMOUNTS REPORTED ON LINES 5-7 TO TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID: TOTAL PER LINES 5-7 $ 4,283,273 LESS: DIRECTOR FEES REPORTED ON FORM 1099-MISC (138,000) LESS: EMPLOYEE OFFICER BENEFITS INCLUDED IN LINE 5 (133,616) PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES ALLOCATED TO NONOPERATING MARGIN 275,892 PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED DIRECTLY TO PLANT 1,405,087 PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED/EXPENSED INDIRECTLY THROUGH CLEARING AND OTHER ACCOUNTS 565,444 TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID $ 6,258,080
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24E:OTHER EXPENSES IS COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: TAXES $ 93,600 SALES 408,724 OTHER DEDUCTIONS 36,102 FIBER & INTERNET 553,884 AIR EVAC 14,280 ELECTRICIAN 195,046 TOTAL OTHER EXPENSES PER FORM 990, PART IX $ 1,301,636
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4:PURSUANT TO THE FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO THE MEMBERS (HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AS "PATRONS") SHOULD BE REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4. THE PHRASE "PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID" REFERS TO THE PROCESS, SUBSEQUENT TO YEAR-END, BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE ALLOCATES PATRONAGE CAPITAL TO AND, THEREFORE, OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS. THE COOPERATIVE'S TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE IS TO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY TO ITS PATRONS AND TO DO SO ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS. TAX LAW DEFINES "OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS" AS SUBORDINATION OF CAPITAL, DEMOCRATIC CONTROL AND OPERATION AT COST. THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS (ALSO REFERRED TO AS ALLOCATIONS OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL) TO ITS PATRONS. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE CONSIDERED PAID IF THE ALLOCATION IS MADE (1) PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION, (2) FROM THE MARGINS PRODUCED FROM THE TRANSACTIONS DONE WITH OR FOR PATRONS, AND (3) IN A FAIR AND EQUITABLE MANNER ON THE BASIS OF PATRONAGE (I.E. PURCHASES). ADDITIONALLY, THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS SHOULD BE MADE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME PERIOD AFTER THE CLOSE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S YEAR-END OF DECEMBER 31. EACH ONE OF THESE REQUIREMENTS FOR A TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND IS PROVIDED FOR IN THE NON-PROFIT OPERATION ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS. THE AMOUNT REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4 REPRESENTS PATRONAGE CAPITAL THAT IS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE PATRONS RESULTING FROM THEIR PURCHASE OF ELECTRICITY FROM THE COOPERATIVE FOR THE 2017 CALENDAR YEAR. BECAUSE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE THE PROCESS BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS AND THEREBY A KEY COMPONENT TO ACCOMPLISHING ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS REPORTED SUCH AMOUNTS AS AN EXPENSE FOR FORM 990 REPORTING. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE NOT AN EXPENSE FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS PREPARED IN ACCORDANCE WITH GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES, HOWEVER.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24:ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL EXPENSE IS COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL $ 2,119,550 OFFICE SUPPLIES 264,033 OUTSIDE SERVICES 241,383 INJURIES AND DAMAGES 177,056 REGULATORY COMMISSION 70,212 DIRECTORS 156,354 ANNUAL MEETING 137,266 MISCELLANEOUS GENERAL 274,004 WATER HEATER PROGRAM 1,168 MAINTENANCE OF GENERAL PLANT 1,099,536 TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXP PER FINANCIAL STATEMENTS $ 4,540,562 LESS: RECLASS OF DIRECTOR FEES TO PART IX, LINE 5 (138,000) LESS: RECLASS OF LABOR TO PART IX, LINES 5 & 7 (1,780,656) LESS: RECLASS OF BENEFITS TO PART IX, LINES 8-10 (1,163,322) TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE PER FORM 990, PART IX $ 1,458,584
FORM 990, PART X, LINES 12 AND 13:THE COOPERATIVE PREVIOUSLY INCLUDED PROGRAM RELATED INVESTMENTS AS COMPONENTS OF INVESTMENTS - OTHER SECURITIES ON PART X, LINE 12. HOWEVER, FOR THE 2017 CALENDAR YEAR, THE COOPERATIVE BEGAN REPORTING THESE AMOUNTS ON LINE 13 BECAUSE SUCH AMOUNTS ARE DERIVED FROM PROGRAM SERVICE ACTIVITIES. TO INCREASE CONSISTENCY, THESE INVESTMENTS FOR THE 2016 CALENDAR YEAR HAVE BEEN RECLASSED FROM LINE 12 TO LINE 13.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ASSIGNABLE 4,870,660. PATRONAGE CAPITAL REITRED -780,265. NET CHANGE IN MEMBERSHIP 1,135.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THE BOARD AS A WHOLE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR OVERSEEING THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDIT AND SELECTING THE INDEPENDENT FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDITOR. PROCEDURAL CHANGES DID NOT OCCUR DURING THE YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TAYLOR ELECTRIC TRUSTBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 250AddressLine1Txt
CityMERKELCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79536ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN262612715EIN
Primary ActivitiesCHARITYPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(C)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity StatusLINE 10PublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TAYLOR ELECTRIC COOPERATIVEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (3 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
TAYLOR ELECTRIC TRUST
MN/A - LESS THAN $50,000
TAYLOR ELECTRIC TRUST
NN/A - LESS THAN $50,000
TAYLOR ELECTRIC TRUST
ON/A - LESS THAN $50,000