STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

PHOENIX HOUSE FOUNDATION INC: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
PHOENIX HOUSE FOUNDATION INC (EIN 23-7013149)
Tax period
2016-07-01 to 2017-06-30
Filed
2018-05-15
IRS object ID
201801359349306425
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-05-15T10:51:44-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Grant Thornton LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1757 Third Avenue 4th floorAddressLine1Txt
CityNew YorkCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10017ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN237013149EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Phoenix House Foundation IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlPHOEBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6465052025PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line150 Jay StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBrooklynCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP11201ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBenjamin R Nordstrom MD PhDPersonNm
Person TitlePresident & CEOPersonTitleTxt
Signature2018-05-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonRebecca ZechaPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00648970PTIN
Phone2125990100PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerAnn BrayPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line150 Jay StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBrooklynCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP11201ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$4,530,787GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
All Affiliates IncludedfalseAllAffiliatesIncludedInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.phoenixhouse.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1968FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNYLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionWe are passionate about healing individuals, families and communities challenged by substance use disorders and related mental health conditions.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body3VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent3VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee112TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers20TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$1,169,171PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$1,296,733CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$675,445PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$0CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$37,062,689PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$553,267CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$2,315,189PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,070,578CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$41,222,494PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$2,920,578CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$7,000,000PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$8,825,000CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,492,515PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,220,214CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$464,779CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$2,920,048PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses-$332,328CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$18,412,563PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$16,712,886CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$22,809,931PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$13,792,308CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$64,612,968TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$63,225,656TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$21,077,775TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$33,215,572TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$43,535,193NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$30,010,084NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionWe are passionate about healing individuals, families and communities challenged by substance use disorders and related mental health conditions.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$11,879,253ExpenseAmt
Grant$8,825,000GrantAmt
DescProgram Support Services:Phoenix House Foundation provides administrative services to its operating affiliates in ten states. These services enable Phoenix House Foundation together with its affiliates to achieve its mission results by operating approximately 114 treatment programs across ten states plus the District of Columbia, serving more than 13,000 men, women and adolescents, safeguarding youth, strengthening families and enabling those trapped in dependency to confront addiction and to achieve and sustain recovery. These expenses are associated with support services for treatment, healthcare, educational and research activities.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$651,647ExpenseAmt
DescResidential Treatment Services:Residential treatment of various duration at Phoenix House provides a route to recovery through individual and group counseling, relapse prevention and vocational training. In addition to counseling, residential programs offer life skill training along with education and job training to help residents prepare for self-sufficient, drug-free lives with purpose and dignity.Phoenix House Foundation provides and allocates administrative costs for its affiliates. These residential expenses represent certain costs associated with the facilities used by its New York operating entity. Approximately 846 residents were provided with residential care and treatment at these facilities.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$61,405ExpenseAmt
DescPreventive and Education Services:There is a wide array of Phoenix House prevention and education programs, ranging from outreach to intervention. Phoenix House is currently developing services to help veterans, active duty personnel and family members who are trying to cope with substance abuse problems, co-occurring disorders and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). These efforts have centered in its New York and New England regions thus far. Over time, Phoenix House's goal is to expand these kinds of services to all of its regions.Phoenix House has been collaborating with leading veteran agencies, PTSD treatment experts and other innovators in the field to ensure that its veterans program and related services provide thoughtful and effective care.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$12,592,305TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (true)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (true)CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (true)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (true)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document74IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee112EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledfalseForm990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Form8282 Filed0Form8282FiledCnt
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Form8899 FiledindfalseForm8899Filedind
Form1098 C FiledfalseForm1098CFiledInd
DAF Excess Business HoldingsfalseDAFExcessBusinessHoldingsInd
Taxable DistributionsfalseTaxableDistributionsInd
Distribution To DonorfalseDistributionToDonorInd
Org Filed In Lieu Of Form1041falseOrgFiledInLieuOfForm1041Ind
Licensed More Than One StatefalseLicensedMoreThanOneStateInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members3GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member3IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsYes (true)ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (true)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (true)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCTStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldFLStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMDStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNJStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonAnthony MarottaPersonNm
Phone6465052025PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line150 Jay StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBrooklynCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP11201ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (20 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
Thomas Jasper
Chairman1.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert M Howe
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Edward D Miller
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Coleen M McGrath
Vice President40.000.00Yes (X)$130,245$0$3,801
Andrew J Kolodny
Chief Medical40.000.00Yes (X)$232,284$0$20,773
Byron S Calamese
Vice President40.000.00Yes (X)$200,687$0$2,822
Jill Nevins
Vice President40.000.00Yes (X)$225,670$0$19,825
Jeffrey Mott
Vice President40.000.00Yes (X)$149,328$0$10,751
Michael D Berkowitz
SVP, Director40.000.00Yes (X)$312,737$0$22,139
Heather Wexell
Vice President40.000.00Yes (X)$126,391$0$15,737
Benjamin R Nordstrom MD PhD
President & CEO40.000.00Yes (X)$219,581$0$4,642
Robert E Wilson
SVP, CFO20.0030.00Yes (X)$259,022$0$2,866
Heidi Goldstein
SVP,Gen Counsel40.000.00Yes (X)$295,770$0$18,152
Ann Bray
President & CEO20.0030.00Yes (X)$614,770$0$4,425
Blaine Atkins
Director IT Applic40.000.00$145,913$0$19,715Yes (X)
Hema Vakaharia
National Director40.000.00$134,593$0$8,811Yes (X)
Philip Fei
Payroll HR Dir.40.000.00$102,532$0$13,866Yes (X)
Richard Dalton
Asst. Controller40.000.00$104,411$0$5,099Yes (X)
Louis Forte
Benefits Director40.000.00$105,159$0$25,305Yes (X)
Mark G White
Former Assistant Secretary0.0040.00$0$153,450$16,386Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$3,359,093TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$153,450TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$215,115TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K17IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (true)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
ADP LLC
One ADP Drive MS-100AugustaGA30909Payroll Service$1,016,843
Grant Thornton LLP
757 Third Ave 4th FloorNew YorkNY10017Auditing$655,094
PMCM LLC
110 Commons CourtChadds FordPA19317Consulting$262,513
Onbrands24 Inc
100 Cummings Center Suite 306LBeverlyMA01915National Call Center$233,010
Nixon Peabody LLP
437 Madison Ave Fl 23New YorkNY10022Legal$223,892
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K9CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$833,723FundraisingAmt
All Other Contributions$463,010AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$1,889NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$1,296,733TotalContributionsAmt
Total Program Service Revenue$0TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$50,294TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$50,294ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$202,500RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$202,500RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$202,500TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$202,500ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$840,833SecuritiesAmt
Other$1,129,896OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$785,170SecuritiesAmt
Other$682,586OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$55,663SecuritiesAmt
Other$447,310OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$502,973TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$502,973ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$142,453FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$833,723ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$142,453FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Communication cost recov624100$776,785$776,785
Misc & other recov affil624100$91,293$91,293
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$868,078OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,920,578TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,623,845ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,825,000TotalAmt
Program Services$8,825,000ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,387,516TotalAmt
Management And General$3,257,346ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$130,170FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,765,222TotalAmt
Program Services$124,552ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,585,049ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$55,621FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$83,693TotalAmt
Program Services$3,555ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$79,405ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$733FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$522,197TotalAmt
Program Services$10,182ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$502,827ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$9,188FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$461,586TotalAmt
Program Services$11,045ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$442,328ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$8,213FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,836,158TotalAmt
Program Services$23,825ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,631,788ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$180,545FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$216,170TotalAmt
Management And General$216,170ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$33,768TotalAmt
Management And General$33,768ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$79,853TotalAmt
Management And General$79,853ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$531,025TotalAmt
Program Services$268ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$530,757ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$344,046TotalAmt
Management And General$334,046ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$10,000FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$302,626TotalAmt
Program Services$5,842ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$249,996ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$46,788FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$477,732TotalAmt
Management And General$476,820ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$912FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$198,482TotalAmt
Management And General$198,482ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$207,655TotalAmt
Program Services$2,490ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$205,047ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$118FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$121,820TotalAmt
Program Services$430ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$107,341ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$14,049FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$527,366TotalAmt
Management And General$527,366ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,163,000TotalAmt
Program Services$2,163,000ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,879,123TotalAmt
Program Services$1,421,021ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$458,102ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$90,775TotalAmt
Management And General$90,775ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Forgiveness of affiliate debt$539,573$539,573
Chargebacks to Affil and Other$286,095$276,558$1,095$8,442
Support Services$41,405$41,405
Admin cost allocated to affil-$10,209,000-$10,209,000

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$16,712,886TotalAmt
Program Services$12,592,305ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,655,802ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$464,779FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$845BOYAmt
EOY$727EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$39,492,981BOYAmt
EOY$24,994,870EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$32,100BOYAmt
EOY$100,000EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$1,800EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$936,666BOYAmt
EOY$2,069,464EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$46,050,788LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$25,700,201LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,868,161BOYAmt
EOY$20,350,587EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,931,330BOYAmt
EOY$3,485,045EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,350,885BOYAmt
EOY$12,223,163EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$64,612,968BOYAmt
EOY$63,225,656EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,999,113BOYAmt
EOY$4,309,097EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$143,866BOYAmt
EOY$41,905EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,000,000BOYAmt
EOY$25,000,000EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,000,000BOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,934,796BOYAmt
EOY$3,864,570EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,077,775BOYAmt
EOY$33,215,572EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$37,480,632BOYAmt
EOY$24,641,189EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,062,823BOYAmt
EOY$1,852,157EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,991,738BOYAmt
EOY$3,516,738EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,535,193BOYAmt
EOY$30,010,084EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$64,612,968BOYAmt
EOY$63,225,656EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$13,792,308ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$501,248NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$317,121DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$551,170OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,212,036CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,837,620CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,087,516CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,169,171CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,296,733CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$10,603,076TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,212,036CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,837,620CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,087,516CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,169,171CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,296,733CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$10,603,076TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$104,955SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$10,498,121PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,018,294CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,029,441CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$916,687CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$836,916CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$252,794CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$4,054,132TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,555,739CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,219,452CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,573,034CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,736,307CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,010,531CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$10,095,063TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$24,752,271TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$16,855,377GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.42410PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.42060PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form4720 Filed Section4955 TaxfalseForm4720FiledSection4955TaxInd
Correction MadefalseCorrectionMadeInd

Total Direct Lobbying TotalDirectLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Affiliated Group Total$29,105AffiliatedGroupTotalAmt

Total Lobbying Expend TotalLobbyingExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Affiliated Group Total$29,105AffiliatedGroupTotalAmt

Other Exempt Purpose Expend OtherExemptPurposeExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$16,633,033FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt
Affiliated Group Total$126,631,675AffiliatedGroupTotalAmt

Total Exempt Purpose Expend TotalExemptPurposeExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$16,633,033FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt
Affiliated Group Total$126,660,780AffiliatedGroupTotalAmt

Lobbying Nontaxable Amount LobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$981,652FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt
Affiliated Group Total$1,000,000AffiliatedGroupTotalAmt

Grassroots Nontaxable GrassrootsNontaxableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$245,413FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt
Affiliated Group Total$250,000AffiliatedGroupTotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form4720 FiledfalseForm4720FiledInd

Avg Lobbying Nontaxable Amount AvgLobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$1,000,000CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$1,000,000CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$1,000,000CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$1,000,000CurrentYearAmt
Total$4,000,000TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Lobbying Ceiling$6,000,000LobbyingCeilingAmt

Avg Total Lobbying Expend AvgTotalLobbyingExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$88,115CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$88,732CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$63,505CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$29,105CurrentYearAmt
Total$269,457TotalAmt

Avg Grassroots Nontaxable AvgGrassrootsNontaxableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$250,000CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$250,000CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$500,000CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$250,000CurrentYearAmt
Total$1,250,000TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grassroots Ceiling$1,875,000GrassrootsCeilingAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee EtcfalseAgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (true)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$4,047,878BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$587,348InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$823,287OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$3,811,939EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$3,837,368BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,421,363ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$147,658InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$2,063,195OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$4,047,878EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$4,257,545BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$157,777InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$262,400OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$3,837,368EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$4,063,708BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$696,730InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$502,893OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$4,257,545EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$3,708,157BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$10,493ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$564,754InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$219,696OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$4,063,708EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.99000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.01000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd
Related Org List Sch RfalseRelatedOrgListSchRInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$754,428OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$754,428BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,538,595OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,538,595DepreciationAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$24,366,294OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$7,862,040DepreciationAmt
Book Value$16,504,254BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$18,293,357OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$15,201,452DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,091,905BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$98,114OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$98,114DepreciationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$20,350,587TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Asset Held for Sale$6,000,000
Due from affiliates advances from parent$6,221,975
Other$1,188
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$12,223,163TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Cond Asset purs FASB 143 Asset Retir Obl$3,164,570
Notes payable due to Affiliate$700,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$3,864,570TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$11,234,009TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$501,248NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$397,206DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Revenue$7,494,830OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$8,393,284RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$2,840,725RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$79,853InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$79,853RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$2,920,578TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$24,759,118TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$80,085DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Other Expenses Included$8,046,000OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$8,126,085ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$16,633,033ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$79,853InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$79,853ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$16,712,886TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part IV, Line 2b: Explanation of escrow account liabilityAgency funds consist principally of amounts received from government agencies, clients and others attributable and payable to specific individuals in both Phoenix House Foundation and its New York Affiliate's programs. Unexpended funds are to be returned to the respective agencies, clients or grantors.
Part V, Line 4: Intended uses of the endowment fund.Phoenix House Foundation adopted investment and spending policies for endowment assets that attempt to provide a predictable stream of funding to programs supported by its endowment while seeking to maintain the purchasing power of the endowment assets. This policy permits the use of 5.5% annually of the average endowment investment portfolio's fair value based on its total return over the previous 20 quarters.
Part X : FIN48 FootnotePhoenix House Foundation, Inc. financial information is reported in the consolidated financial statements of its parent, Phoenix House. The following FIN 48 footnote is from the Phoenix House and Affiliates ("PH&A") consolidated financial statements.PH&A follows guidance that clarifies the accounting for uncertainty in tax positions taken or expected to be taken in a tax return, including issues relating to financial statement recognition and measurement. This guidance provides that the tax effects from an uncertain tax position can only be recognized in the financial statements if the position is "more-likely-than-not" to be sustained if the position were to be challenged by a taxing authority. The assessment of the tax position is based solely on the technical merits of the position, without regard to the likelihood that the tax position may be challenged.PH&A is exempt from federal income tax under IRC section 501(c)(3), though it is subject to tax on income unrelated to its exempt purpose, unless that income is otherwise excluded by the Code. PH&A has processes presently in place to ensure the maintenance of its tax-exempt status; to identify and report unrelated income; to determine its filing and tax obligations in jurisdictions, for which it was nexus; and to identify and evaluate other matters that may be considered tax positions. PH&A has determined that there are no material uncertain tax positions that require recognition or disclosure in the consolidated financial statements.Part X- Other LiabilitiesConditional Asset Retirement Obligations are legal obligations associated with the retirement of long-lived assets. These include costs associated with the eventual remediation and abatement of asbestos utilized within the construction of certain of its facilities, and were initially recorded at fair value along with the related assets by the same amount as the liability.
Part XI, Line 2d: Other revenue amounts included in F/S but not included on form 990Admin. Costs Allocated to Affiliates $8046000 Change in int of net assets of affiliate $-551170
Part XII, Line 2d: Other expenses and losses per audited F/SAdmin. Costs paid by Affiliates $8046000

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agrmt Prof Fundraising ActyfalseAgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1Fashion Award EventEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$976,176GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$833,723CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$142,453GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$110,278RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$32,175FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Total$976,176GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$833,723CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$142,453GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$110,278RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$32,175FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$142,453DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
Phoenix Houses of Long Island
PO Box 3001BrentwoodNY11717112307925501(c)(3)$5,300,000$0Support SA prevention & treatment
Phoenix Houses of New York
50 Jay StreetBrooklynNY11201133020608501(c)(3)$3,525,000$0Support SA prevention & treatment
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org2Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceGrantmaker's Description of How Grants are UsedFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Foundation granted the funds to its affiliates to support its work providing substance abuse treatment and prevention services. The grantees are required to report residential census and outpatient visit volumes on a monthly basis to the Foundation. In addition, the grantees report monthly financial data showing how the grants were used.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd
Rebuttable Presumption ProcfalseRebuttablePresumptionProcInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (11 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Andrew J Kolodny
Chief Medical$207,219$25,065$13,390$7,383$253,057
Ann Bray
President & CEO$490,000$51,270$1,979$2,446$619,195$73,500
Benjamin R Nordstrom MD PhD
President & CEO$219,379$202$2,857$1,785$224,223
Blaine Atkins
Director IT Applic$145,082$831$9,288$10,427$165,628
Byron S Calamese
Vice President$200,513$174$2,822$203,509
Heidi Goldstein
SVP,Gen Counsel$264,656$31,114$18,152$313,922
Jeffrey Mott
Vice President$143,538$5,790$8,793$1,958$160,079
Jill Nevins
Vice President$216,517$9,153$13,344$6,481$245,495
Mark G White
Former Assistant Secretary$146,708$6,742$9,300$7,086$169,836
Michael D Berkowitz
SVP, Director$270,208$15,029$15,900$6,239$334,876$27,500
Robert E Wilson
SVP, CFO$213,492$45,530$2,866$261,888

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart III, Additional InformationFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTermination dates for officers terminated during the tax year:Jeffrey Mott 3/31/2017Jill Nevins 1/3/2017Andrew Kolodny 10/31/2016ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 4: Description of Significant Changes to Organizational DocumentsOn April 11, 2016, a new corporation, named "Phoenix House," was incorporated in the State of Minnesota. Phoenix House is a nonprofit corporation which on September 29, 2017 was granted recognition of its federal tax exempt status as an organization described in Internal Revenue Code 501(C)(3) effective retroactively to its formation on April 11, 2016.As of July 1, 2016, Phoenix House became the sole corporate member of the following affiliated organizations: Phoenix House Foundation, Inc., Phoenix Houses of California, Inc., Phoenix Houses of New York, Inc., Phoenix Houses of New England, Inc., Phoenix Houses of Texas, Inc., Phoenix Programs of Florida, Inc., and Phoenix Houses of the Mid-Atlantic, Inc. Phoenix House Foundation, Inc. remains the sole corporate member of the American Council for Drug Education, Inc., Center on Addiction and the Family, Inc., and Phoenix Houses of New Jersey, Inc.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b: Form 990 Review ProcessPhoenix House Finance and Accounting staff prepare the 990, which is reviewed by the Corporate Controller, General Counsel and Grant Thornton, LLP. The completed return is distributed to the organization's Board of Directors.The Chief Executive Officer signs the return, and then it is e-filed.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c: Explanation of Monitoring and Enforcement of ConflictsOn an annual basis all officers and directors are required to complete a conflict of interest questionnaire. The board of directors (or committee thereof) directly reviews all transactions presenting any potential conflict of interest, or the appearance thereof, and enforces the policy by approving such transactions only if they do not present a conflict or are independently determined to be fair, reasonable, and in the best interests of the organization.Any director or officer with an interest in the transaction at issue may not participate in or attempt to influence the boards (or committees) deliberations or decision. Prior to entering into such a transaction, the board (or committee) also considers alternative transactions to the extent available.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a: Compensation Review & Approval Process - CEO, Top ManagementThe compensation of the CEO is benchmarked by a consultant and reviewed (without participation by the person compensated) for reasonableness by the organization's board (or a committee thereof), and recorded in minutes.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15b: Compensation Review and Approval Process for Officers and Key EmployeesThe compensation of officers is benchmarked by a consultant and reviewed (without participation by the person compensated) for reasonableness by the organization's board (or a committee thereof), and recorded in minutes.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19: Other Organization Documents Publicly AvailableThis organization includes its financial results in the Phoenix House and Affiliates Consolidated Financial Statements, which are made available to the public. Other corporate documents are available only at the discretion of management unless required by law.
Other Changes In Net Assets Or Fund Balances - Other DecreasesChange in ben. interest of net assets of affiliate = -$551170

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Phoenix House Riverwalk LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line150 Jay StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBrooklynCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP11201ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN822005918EIN
Primary ActivitiesReal Estate HoldingPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateNYLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$319,010TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$20,131,941EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Phoenix House Foundation IncBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (15 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACd
Phoenix Houses of New York Inc
50 Jay StreetBrooklynNY11201812902832Substance abuse treatment and prevention.NY501(c)(3)7Phoenix Housefalse
Phoenix Houses of Long Island Inc
PO Box 3001BrentwoodNY117013001112307925Substance abuse treatment and preventionNY501(c)(3)7PHNYfalse
Center on Addiction and the Family Inc
50 Jay StreetBrooklynNY11201133132463Substance abuse treatment and preventionNY501(c)(3)7PHFYes (true)
Phoenix Houses of Texas Inc
2345 Reagan StreetDallasTX752193225133810073Substance abuse treatment and preventionTX501(c)(3)7Phoenix Housefalse
Phoenix Programs of Florida Inc
510 Vonderburg Drive 301BrandonFL33511593172948Substance abuse treatment and preventionFL501(c)(3)7Phoenix Housefalse
Phoenix Houses of California Inc
11600 Eldridge AvenueLake View TerraceCA913426506943015376Substance abuse treatment and preventionCA501(c)(3)7Phoenix Housefalse
Phoenix House Orange County Inc
11600 Eldridge AvenueLake View TerraceCA913426506222268070Substance abuse treatment and preventionCA501(c)(3)7PHCfalse
Phoenix Houses of Los Angeles Inc
11600 Eldridge AvenueLake View TerraceCA913426506237084897Substance abuse treatment and preventionCA501(c)(3)7PHCfalse
Phoenix House San Diego Inc
11600 Eldridge AvenueLake View TerraceCA913426506954092861Substance abuse treatment and preventionCA501(c)(3)7PHCfalse
Phoenix Houses of New England Inc
99 Wayland Ave 100ProvidenceRI029064313050315625Substance abuse treatment and preventionRI501(c)(3)7Phoenix Housefalse
The American Council for Drug Education
50 Jay StreetBrooklynNY11201132904583Substance abuse treatment and preventionNY501(c)(3)7PHFYes (true)
Phoenix Houses of New Jersey Inc
50 Jay StreetBrooklynNY11201237409564Substance abuse treatment and preventionNJ501(c)(3)7PHFYes (true)
Phoenix Houses of the Mid-Atlantic Inc
521 N Quincy StreetArlingtonVA22203540805530Substance abuse treatment and prevention.VA501(c)(3)7Phoenix Housefalse
Phoenix House Mid-Atlantic PropMgt
521 N Quincy StreetArlingtonVA22203541835296Strategic Planning and Management services.VA501(c)(3)12-III FIPHMAfalse
Phoenix House
50 Jay StreetBrooklynNY11201812902832Substance abuse treatment and preventionMN501(c)(3)10falseN/A
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsYes (true)ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgYes (true)LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgYes (true)LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (true)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgYes (true)TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1The American Council for Drug EducationBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transaction TyperTransactionTypeTxt
Involved$539,573InvolvedAmt
Method Of Amount DeterminationCostMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt