STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

CENTRAL FLORIDA ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CENTRAL FLORIDA ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 59-0188973)
Tax period
2017-01-01 to 2017-12-31
Filed
2018-06-19
IRS object ID
201811709349300006
Schema version
2017v2.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-06-19T08:30:16-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN582475857PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NICHOLS CAULEY & ASSOCIATES LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11300 BELLEVUE AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityDUBLINCityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP310214152ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN590188973EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CENTRAL FLORIDA ELECTRICBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCENTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8002271302PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 9AddressLine1Txt
CityCHIEFLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationFLStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP326440009ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonEDDIE F THOMASPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone3524932511PhoneNum
Signature2018-05-25SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonCAL BRANTLEY CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00636393PTIN
Phone4782751163PhoneNum
Preparation2018-05-24PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDANIEL M CAMPBELLPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 1145AddressLine1Txt
CityCHIEFLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationFLStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP32644ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$65,069,809GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.CFEC.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1939FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateFLLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSee Schedule OActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee93TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$66,331,862PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$64,016,114CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$140,041PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$29,687CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$4,500PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$4,500CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$66,476,403PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$64,050,301CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$1,274,506PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$1,064,761CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,522,610PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,270,275CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$60,662,151PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$60,560,861CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$63,459,267PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$62,895,897CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$3,017,136PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$1,154,404CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$126,266,555TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$129,210,669TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$78,654,634TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$79,746,737TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$47,611,921NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$49,463,932NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionSEE SCHEDULE OMissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescSALE OF ELECTRICITY TO APPROXIMATELY 25,000+ COOPERATIVE MEMBERS.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document35IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee93EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$63,191,925MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$257,838OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention Policy0DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EDDIE F THOMAS CFOBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone3524932511PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line111491 NW 50TH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityCHIEFLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationFLStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP32626ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (18 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
RANDY MIKELL
TRUSTEE/VICE-PRESIDENT5.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$24,347$0$0
KYLE QUINCEY
TRUSTEE5.00Yes (X)$35,041$0$0
TONY WEEKS
TRUSTEE4.00Yes (X)$31,102$0$0
DONALD LANE
TRUSTEE5.00Yes (X)$28,346$0$0
THELMA MCCAIN DECD 03052017
TRUSTEE/PRESIDENT4.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$1,215$0$0
ALAN MIKELL
TRUSTEE/SECRETARY-TREASURER7.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$29,287$0$0
KENNETH O'STEEN
TRUSTEE4.00Yes (X)$36,363$0$0
CARL ROOF SR
TRUSTEE4.00Yes (X)$17,488$0$0
BARBARA TOWNSEND
TRUSTEE/PRESIDENT6.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$19,611$0$0
JAMES MCCAIN
TRUSTEE4.00Yes (X)$7,738$0$0
DANIEL M CAMPBELL
EXECUTIVE VP/GENERAL MANAG40.00Yes (X)$243,839$0$102,957
EDDIE F THOMAS
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER40.00Yes (X)$171,410$0$44,559
BEN DAWSON
CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER40.00Yes (X)$161,350$0$65,556
GEORGE BUCKNER
CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER40.00Yes (X)$108,753$0$40,002
KIMBERLY BAXLEY
MANAGER OF HR40.00$52,785$0$567Yes (X)
KEVIN M BADGE
MANAGER OF HR40.00$57,558$0$6,522Yes (X)
STEVEN STUDSTILL
SUPERVISOR56.00$121,284$0$47,588Yes (X)
RANDY VOGEL
MANAGER OF OPERATIONS40.00$105,248$0$91,995Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,252,765TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$399,746TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K6IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
THE DAVEY TREE EXPERTS CO
PO BOX 709KENTOH442400709MAINTENANCE$1,605,845
MUSGROVE CONSTRUCTION INC
PO BOX 825124PHILADELPHIAPA191825124CONTRACTOR$1,395,604
ABC PROFESSIONAL TREE SERVICE
201 FLINT RIDGE ROADWEBSERTX77598MAINTENANCE$1,163,952
UTILITY LINES CONSTRUCTION
PO BOX 825124PHILADELPHIAPA191827464CONTRACTOR$530,151
PROGRESSIVE SOLUTIONS
PO BOX 1130MARSHALLAR726501130CONTRACTOR$256,920
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K12CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Sale of Energy221000$63,286,816$63,286,816
Qualified Pole Rental221000$729,298$729,298
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$64,016,114TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$158,447TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$158,447ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$4,500RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$4,500RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,500TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$4,500ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$890,748SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,018,407SecuritiesAmt
Other$1,101OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$127,659SecuritiesAmt
Other-$1,101OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$128,760TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$128,760RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$64,050,301TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$63,158,056RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$892,245ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,064,761TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,252,764TotalAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,511TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,245,177TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,589,992TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
COST OF POWER$37,963,473
DISTRIBUTION - MAINTENA$6,298,380
DISTRIBUTION - OPERATIO$4,345,059
CONSUMER ACCOUNTS$2,857,584

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,261,196TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$62,895,897TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,659,130BOYAmt
EOY$1,742,894EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20BOYAmt
EOY$1,025EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,274,163BOYAmt
EOY$6,150,561EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$562,428EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,029,086BOYAmt
EOY$1,274,280EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,888,599BOYAmt
EOY$1,659,932EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$149,186,538LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$46,481,289LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$99,488,249BOYAmt
EOY$102,705,249EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,927,308BOYAmt
EOY$15,114,300EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$126,266,555BOYAmt
EOY$129,210,669EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,241,457BOYAmt
EOY$7,902,388EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,544,920BOYAmt
EOY$1,530,382EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,064,294BOYAmt
EOY$51,271,590EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$3,500,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,803,963BOYAmt
EOY$15,542,377EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$78,654,634BOYAmt
EOY$79,746,737EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$127,480BOYAmt
EOY$128,770EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,425BOYAmt
EOY$9,425EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$47,475,016BOYAmt
EOY$49,325,737EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$47,611,921BOYAmt
EOY$49,463,932EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$126,266,555BOYAmt
EOY$129,210,669EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$1,154,404ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$697,607OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,058,862OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,058,862BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$11,043,873OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,210,973DepreciationAmt
Book Value$7,832,900BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$8,335,824OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,575,945DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,759,879BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$128,747,979OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$37,694,371DepreciationAmt
Book Value$91,053,608BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$102,705,249TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (10 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - SEMINOLE ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC.$11,866,704C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NRUCFC$582,544C
CAPITAL TERM CERTIFICATES - NRUCFC$1,087,435C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NATIONAL RURAL TELECOMMUNICATIONS COOPERATIVE$22,696C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - TRI-COUNTY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE$12,505C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - COBANK$219,361C
COOPERATIVE RESPONSE CENTER, INC.$12,500C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - GRESCO$863,769C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - FEDERATED$446,686C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - SEDC$100C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$15,114,300TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ACCRUED POSTRETIREMENT BENEFITS OBLIGATION$12,270,685
CONSUMER DEPOSITS$3,271,692
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$15,542,377TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$65,226,893TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$1,176,592OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$1,176,592RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$64,050,301RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$64,050,301TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$61,824,616TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included-$6,520OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported-$6,520ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$61,831,136ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$1,064,761OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$1,064,761ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$62,895,897TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part X, Line 2:UNDER ACCOUNTING STANDARDS CODIFICATIONS (ASC) SECTION 740-10, INCOME TAX UNCERTAINTIES, IT IS THE POLICY OF MANAGEMENT TO EVALUATE ITS TAX POSITIONS ON AN ONGOING BASIS AND TO DISCLOSE ANY SUCH POSITIONS IT BELIEVES WOULD HAVE A MATERIAL IMPACT ON THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND RELATED NOTES. MANAGEMENT ALSO BELIEVES THAT NO SUCH REQUIRED DISCLOSURES CURRENTLY EXIST.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED DIFFERENCE BETWEEN BOOK/TAX 1,086,857. HOMEGUARD EXPENSES NETTED AGAINST REVENUE -6,520. DIFFERENCE IN BOOK/TAX LOSS ON SALE OF PROGRAM RELATED INVESTMENT 96,255.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:HOME GUARD EXPENSE NETTED AGAINST REVENUE -6,520.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS 1,064,761.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (5 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
DANIEL M CAMPBELL
EXECUTIVE VP/GENERAL MANAG$232,447$0$1,793$0$9,599$0$77,910$0$25,047$0$346,796$0$0$0
EDDIE F THOMAS
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER$155,684$0$5,319$0$10,407$0$42,502$0$2,057$0$215,969$0$0$0
BEN DAWSON
CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER$154,844$0$5,373$0$1,133$0$36,742$0$28,814$0$226,906$0$0$0
STEVEN STUDSTILL
SUPERVISOR$119,915$0$711$0$658$0$22,083$0$25,505$0$168,872$0$0$0
RANDY VOGEL
MANAGER OF OPERATIONS$98,094$0$4,410$0$2,744$0$66,328$0$25,667$0$197,243$0$0$0

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (4 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
SEMINOLE ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC
DIRECTOR$40,835,128PURCHASED POWERRANDY MIKELL, TONY WEEKS, AND DANIEL M. CAMPBELL ARE MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF SEMINOLE ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC. AND ARE LISTED IN PART VII OF FORM 990.0
APPLIED TECHNOLOGY SOLUTIONS INCSOUTHEASTERN DATA COOPERATIVE
DIRECTOR$296,773IT SUPPORTEDDIE F. THOMAS WAS A MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF APPLIED TECHNOLOGY SOLUTIONS, INC. (ATS) AND IS LISTED IN PART VII OF FORM 990. SOUTHEASTERN DATA COOPERATIVE ACQUIRED ATS DURING 2017. SUBSEQUENT TO THE ACQUISITION DATE, DANIEL M. CAMPBELL HAS SERVED ON THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.0
FLORIDA RURAL SELF INSURED FUND
DIRECTOR$108,707INSURANCEDANIEL M. CAMPBELL IS A MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF FLORIDA RURAL SELF INSURED FUND AND IS LISTED IN PART VII OF FORM 990.0
NATIONAL RURAL UTILITIES COOPERATIVE FINANCE CORPORATION (NRUCFC)
DIRECTOR$1,284,114FINANCIAL SERVICESDANIEL M. CAMPBELL IS A MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF NRUCFC AND IS LISTED IN PART VII OF FORM 990.0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (12 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part I, Line 1CENTRAL FLORIDA ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC. (CFEC) IS A COMMUNITY ORIENTED,MEMBER-OWNED COOPERATIVE THAT PROVIDES RELIABLE SERVICE TO ITS MEMBERS-OWNERS AT THE LOWEST RATE POSSIBLE, WHILE BEING FISCALLY AND ENVIRONMENTALLY RESPONSIBLE. TO BE THE FINEST EXAMPLE OF AN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE WHERE EXCELLENT SERVICE, COMPETITIVE RATES AND CONCERN FOR THE CONSUMER, COMMUNITY AND ENVIRONMENT GUIDE OUR EVERY ACTION.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6THE BYLAWS STATE THAT FOR A PERSON/ENTITY TO RECEIVE SERVICE THE PERSON/ENTITY HAS TO BE A MEMBER OF THE COOPERATIVE. EACH MEMBER RECEIVES ONE VOTE. A MEMBER MAY HAVE MULTIPLE ELECTRIC ACCOUNTS, BUT ONLY ONE MEMBERSHIP IS ALLOWED. THE COOPERATIVE HAS ONLY ONE CLASS OF MEMBERS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aCFEC MEMBERS ELECT THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES (MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY).
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7bTHE BOARD OF TRUSTEES IS ELECTED BY THE MEMBERS. THE MEMBERS MUST ALSO APPROVE ANY CHANGES TO THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION OR THE BYLAWS AND ANY DECISIONS BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES WHERE PREVIOUS AUTHORITY HAS NOT BEEN GRANTED BY THE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bTHE EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT/GENERAL MANAGER AND THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER REVIEW THE FORM 990 IN DETAIL. A COPY OF THE FORM 990 IS PRESENTED TO THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES BEFORE FILING AND APPROVED. THE FORM 990 IS PREPARED BY AN INDEPENDENT PUBLIC ACCOUNTING FIRM.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cCFEC HAS A WRITTEN CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. THE POLICY IS MONITORED CONSTANTLY AND REPRESENTATIONS ARE OBTAINED ON AN ANNUAL BASIS EVIDENCING COMPLIANCE WITH THE POLICY BY TRUSTEES AND EMPLOYEES.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15AN OUTSIDE INDEPENDENT CONSULTANT PREPARES A SALARY SURVEY ANNUALLY. THE SURVEY IS USED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES TO DETERMINE COMPENSATION FOR THE EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT/GENERAL MANAGER. THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES REVIEWS THE GENERAL MANAGER'S PERFORMANCE ON AN ANNUAL BASIS. THE EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT/GENERAL MANAGER USES THE SALARY SURVEY TO SET COMPENSATION FOR OTHER EMPLOYEES OF CFEC.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE FOR REVIEW BY CFEC'S MEMBERS AT ITS HEADQUARTERS OFFICE. DOCUMENTS, POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE AFTER THE REQUEST IS MADE.
Form 990, Part IX, line 24eADMINISTRATIVE AND GENERAL 2,188,496. ALL OTHER EXPENSES 72,700.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4THE AMOUNT REPORTED ON LINE 4 REPRESENTS THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIREMENTS REPORTED IN THE AUDITED STATEMENT OF CHANGES IN EQUITIES FOR THE YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2017 ($1,064,761).
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:OTHER COMPREHENSIVE LOSS -486,795. ADDITIONAL BOOK PATRONAGE CAPITAL INCOME ALLOCATION 1,086,857. TAX LOSS IN EXCESS OF BOOK LOSS ON SALE OF PROGRAM RELATED INVESTMENT 96,255. MEMBERSHIPS ISSUED, NET 1,290.
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2c:THERE HAVE BEEN NO SIGNIFICANT CHANGES IN THE OVERSIGHT AND SELECTION PROCESSES IN THE PAST YEAR.