STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

ST LUKES HOSPITAL INC: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
ST LUKES HOSPITAL INC (EIN 56-0554222)
Tax period
2016-10-01 to 2017-09-30
Filed
2018-08-14
IRS object ID
201812269349300131
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-08-14T08:28:18-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-09-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN560747981PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DIXON HUGHES GOODMAN LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1500 RIDGEFIELD COURTAddressLine1Txt
CityASHEVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28806ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-10-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN560554222EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ST LUKE'S HOSPITAL INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSTLUBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8288943311PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1101 HOSPITAL DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityCOLUMBUSCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28722ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonELIZABETH PRESNELLPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone8288943311PhoneNum
Signature2018-08-14SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonAmy BibbyPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00445891PTIN
Phone8282542254PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerELIZABETH PRESNELLPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1101 HOSPITAL DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityCOLUMBUSCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28722ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$43,808,295GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.saintlukeshospital.comWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1928FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNCLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTHE HOSPITAL PROVIDES INPATIENT, OUTPATIENT, AND EMERGENCY SERVICES TO ITS PATIENTS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body13VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent11VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee373TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers62TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$389,675PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$497,173CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$37,330,235PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$42,892,338CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$246,417PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$259,609CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$157,597PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$159,175CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$38,123,924PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$43,808,295CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$13,773,134PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$14,454,760CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$20,480,617PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$25,883,668CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$34,253,751PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$40,338,428CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$3,870,173PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$3,469,867CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$40,239,331TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$43,366,820TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$9,208,716TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$8,313,815TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$31,030,615NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$35,053,005NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTO PROVIDE QUALITY, PATIENT-FOCUSED HEALTH AND WELLNESS SERVICES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$35,209,692ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$42,932,718RevenueAmt
DescST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL IS COMMITTED TO OPERATE A HEALTH SYSTEM THAT PROVIDES HOSPITAL, ACUTE AND EMERGENCY CARE AND ADVANCED SERVICES SUCH AS ADVANCED REHABILITATIVE SERVICES, RADIOLOGY SERVICES, LAB SERVICES, PAIN MANAGEMENT SERVICES, THERAPY, INTENSIVE OUTPATIENT PSYCHOTHERAPY, INFUSION (ONCOLOGY AND HEMATOLOGY) SERVICES, AND GERIATRIC-PSYCHIATRIC CARE FOR ADULTS 55+ WHO SUFFER FROM DEPRESSION, DEMENTIA, ALZHEIMER'S AND OTHER MENTAL HEALTH DISORDERS, FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE RESIDENTS OF POLK COUNTY AND SURROUNDING COMMUNITIES. COMMITMENT TO THIS MISSION REQUIRES BOTH AN "INVESTMENT IN AND A "PARTNERSHIP WITH" THE COMMUNITY WHICH ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL SERVES. SEE SCHEDULE O FOR CONTINUATION:DURING FY 2016, THE ORGANIZATION HAD APPROXIMATELY 21,000 VISITS. ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL DEFINES AND MEASURES THIS "INVESTMENT IN AND A "PARTNERSHIP WITH" THE COMMUNITY USING THE FOLLOWING CATEGORIES OF COMMUNITY BENEFIT: COMMUNITY BENEFIT PROGRAMS - INCLUDES THE UNREIMBURSED COST OF VARIOUS EDUCATION PROGRAMS, NON-BILLED MEDICAL SERVICES, IN-KIND DONATIONS AND OTHER SERVICES THAT MEET A STRONG COMMUNITY NEED, BUT DO NOT PAY FOR THEMSELVES. EXAMPLES OF THESE COMMUNITY BENEFIT PROGRAMS INCLUDE PERIODIC HEALTHTALK PROGRAMS TO PROVIDE EDUCATION AND UPDATED INFORMATION ON PARTICULAR AND TIMELY HEALTH TOPICS; VARIOUS HEALTH AND CANCER SCREENINGS FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE UNDERINSURED AND UNINSURED; AND FIRST AID AND HAND HYGIENE STATIONS AT VARIOUS COMMUNITY EVENTS AND FESTIVALS. OUR GENEROUS IN-KIND CONTRIBUTIONS TO NUMEROUS POLK COUNTY SOCIAL SERVICES AND CIVIC ENTITIES INCLUDE VOLUNTEER LEADERSHIP ROLES WITH POLK FIT, FRESH, AND FRIENDLY, POLK WELLNESS CENTER, HIGHWOODS APARTMENTS FOR LOW INCOME FAMILIES, MENTAL HEALTH TASK FORCE FOR COMMUNITY HEALTH, THERMAL BELT OUTREACH HEALTH CARE COMMITTEE AND THE POLK COUNTY VISIONING COMMISSION, TO NAME A FEW. CIVIC PARTICIPATION INCLUDES TRYON KIWANIS CLUB, FOOTHILLS CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, TRYON ROTARY CLUB AND THE BLUE RIDGE HUNTER JUMPER ASSOCIATION, AMONG OTHERS. ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL, OUR MEDICAL STAFF AND OUR EMPLOYEES CONTRIBUTE GENEROUSLY TO THE HEALTH, EDUCATION AMD WELL-BEING OF ALL AGES AND CIRCUMSTANCES IN POLK COUNTY.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$35,209,692TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalYes (1)OperateHospitalInd
Audited Financial Stmt AttYes (1)AuditedFinancialStmtAttInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document17IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee373EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members13GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member11IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesYes (1)DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ELIZABETH PRESNELLBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone8288940954PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1101 HOSPITAL DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityCOLUMBUSCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28722ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (20 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
JEAN Shumway
CHAIR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR LINDA GREENSFELDER
VICE CHAIR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
DON Hofmann
TREASURER1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
LAURA Ellington
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL BAUGHMAN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CLARK BENSON
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LARRY WASSONG
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
WARREN CARSON
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BILL JENKS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
James Holleman MD
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$240,294$45,81045.00
MARION MCMILLAN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tommy Melton
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Brian Rosenberg MD
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$1,195,707$74,17945.00
ELIZABETH PRESNELL
CFO45.00Yes (X)$149,839$0$38,955
JAMES BROSS
CEO45.00Yes (X)$106,636$0$9,687
CATHY MOORE
CNO45.00Yes (X)$158,394$0$11,762
DR BELYNDA VESER
PHYSICIAN32.00$205,767$0$46,282Yes (X)
Lynn Crocker
Pharmacy Director40.00$116,074$0$47,794Yes (X)
Kevin Reynolds
Pharmacist40.00$115,810$0$34,756Yes (X)
Ken Shull
FORMER CEO45.00$208,457$0$30,934Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,060,977TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$1,436,001TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$340,159TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K8IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
CAROLINAS HEALTHCARE SYSTEM
PO BOX 32861CHARLOTTENC28232MANAGEMENT CONTRACT$1,652,077
VMAX ASSOCIATION PA
72 ALPINE WAYASHEVILLENC28805ANESTHESIA SERVICES$838,688
RIVERSIDE EMERGENCY
PO BOX 674579DetroitMI48267pHYSICIAN SERVICES$803,448
EMCARE PHYSICIAN SERVICES INC
7032 COLLECTIN CENTER DRIVECHICAGOIL60693PHYSICIAN SERVICES$180,751
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K4CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$413,398GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$83,775AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$497,173TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
PATIENT SERVICE REVENUE621990$42,842,778$42,842,778
OTHER PATIENT SERVICES621990$47,060$47,060
PHYSICAL THERAPY FEES900099$2,500$2,500
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$42,892,338TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$190,955TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$190,955ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$40,380RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$40,380RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$40,380TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$40,380RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$59,666SecuritiesAmt
Other$8,988OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$59,666SecuritiesAmt
Other$8,988OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$68,654TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$68,654ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
CAFETERIA/MEALS900099$66,434$66,434
PURCHASE DISCOUNTS900099$50,518$50,518
VENDING900099$1,843$1,843
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$118,795OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$43,808,295TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$42,932,718RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$378,404ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$648,066TotalAmt
Management And General$648,066ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,314,981TotalAmt
Program Services$9,490,492ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$824,489ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,682,347TotalAmt
Program Services$2,322,055ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$360,292ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$809,366TotalAmt
Program Services$700,652ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$108,714ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$80,683TotalAmt
Management And General$80,683ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,083,981TotalAmt
Program Services$5,490,322ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,593,659ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$932,397TotalAmt
Program Services$596,260ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$336,137ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,455,443TotalAmt
Program Services$1,306,647ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$148,796ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$78,313TotalAmt
Program Services$50,413ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$27,900ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$145,940TotalAmt
Program Services$145,940ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,092,517TotalAmt
Program Services$1,092,517ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$161,442TotalAmt
Program Services$161,442ProgramServicesAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
MEDICAL SUPPLIES$8,764,598$8,764,598
BAD DEBT EXPENSE$5,088,354$5,088,354

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$40,338,428TotalAmt
Program Services$35,209,692ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,128,736ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,313,891BOYAmt
EOY$3,841,123EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,608,590BOYAmt
EOY$6,032,012EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$703,055BOYAmt
EOY$844,350EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$245,691BOYAmt
EOY$190,698EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$30,258,435LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$18,869,291LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,929,406BOYAmt
EOY$11,389,144EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,218,804BOYAmt
EOY$9,022,440EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$548,346BOYAmt
EOY$583,583EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,671,548BOYAmt
EOY$11,463,470EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,239,331BOYAmt
EOY$43,366,820EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,528,899BOYAmt
EOY$3,271,881EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,122,323BOYAmt
EOY$2,914,148EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,557,494BOYAmt
EOY$2,127,786EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,208,716BOYAmt
EOY$8,313,815EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$29,974,083BOYAmt
EOY$33,940,799EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$951,650BOYAmt
EOY$1,007,324EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$104,882BOYAmt
EOY$104,882EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$31,030,615BOYAmt
EOY$35,053,005EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,239,331BOYAmt
EOY$43,366,820EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$3,469,867ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$552,523NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
HospitalYes (X)HospitalInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Volunteers0VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or Management0PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings Members0MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other Organizations0GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact Legislators0DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies Demonstrations0RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesYes (1)OtherActivitiesInd
Other Activities$2,566OtherActivitiesAmt
Total Lobbying Expenditures$2,566TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart II-B, Line 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE HOSPITAL PAID DUES TO AHA AND NCHA, AMOUNTS ALLOCATED FOR LOBBYING ARE ESTIMATED AT: $1,134 FOR NCHA AND $1,432 FOR AHA FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDING SEPTEMBER 30, 2017.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$4,590,716BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$535,226InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$151,729AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$4,974,213EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$4,228,974BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$426,783InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$65,041AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$4,590,716EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$3,694,903BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$637,814ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$103,743InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$4,228,974EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$3,348,197BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$32,351ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$314,355InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$3,694,903EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$2,971,426BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$47,323ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$329,448InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$3,348,197EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.83470BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.07000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.09530TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgYes (1)EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd
Related Org List Sch RYes (1)RelatedOrgListSchRInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$59,433OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$59,433BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$15,831,441OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$8,231,157DepreciationAmt
Book Value$7,600,284BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$442,032OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$401,215DepreciationAmt
Book Value$40,817BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$13,897,222OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$10,236,919DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,660,303BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$28,307OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$28,307BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$11,389,144TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
INTERCOMPANY NOTES RECEIVABLE$11,434,365
ESTIMATED THIRD PARTY SETTLEMENTS$29,105
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$11,463,470TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
THIRD PARTY PAYABLE$2,087,235
CEDRIC SEAMAN CHARITABLE TRUST$40,551
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,127,786TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$39,300,787TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$552,523NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$552,523RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$38,748,264RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$5,060,031OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$5,060,031RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$43,808,295TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$35,278,397TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$35,278,397ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$5,060,031OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$5,060,031ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$40,338,428TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part V, Line 4:THE ORGANIZATION'S ENDOWMENT FUNDS ARE ORGANIZED TO PROVIDE FUNDS FOR GENERAL PURPOSES.
Part X, Line 2:The Hospital, the Foundation, Inc., and SLPN are exempt from income taxes under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Accordingly, no provision for income taxes has been recorded in the accompanying consolidated financial statements. The Professional Building is a for-profit corporation subject to federal and state income taxes. The Hospital and the Affiliates have determined that they do not have any material unrecognized tax benefits or obligations as of September 30, 2017.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:PROVISION FOR UNCOLLECTIBLE ACCOUNTS 5,051,496. REVENUES IN EXPENSES 8,535.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:PROVISION FOR UNCOLLECTIBLE ACCOUNTS 5,051,496. REVENUES IN EXPENSES 8,535.

Schedule H IRS990ScheduleH

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Financial Assistance PolicyYes (1)FinancialAssistancePolicyInd
Written PolicyYes (1)WrittenPolicyInd
All Hospitals PolicyYes (X)AllHospitalsPolicyInd
FPG Reference Free CareYes (1)FPGReferenceFreeCareInd
Percent200Yes (X)Percent200Ind
FPG Reference Discounted CareYes (1)FPGReferenceDiscountedCareInd
Percent300Yes (X)Percent300Ind
Free Care Medically IndigentYes (1)FreeCareMedicallyIndigentInd
Financial Assistance BudgetYes (1)FinancialAssistanceBudgetInd
Expenses Exceed Budget0ExpensesExceedBudgetInd
Annual Community Bnft ReportYes (1)AnnualCommunityBnftReportInd
Report Publically AvailableYes (1)ReportPublicallyAvailableInd

Financial Assistance At Cost Typ FinancialAssistanceAtCostTyp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$672,677TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$672,677NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.01910TotalExpensePct

Unreimbursed Medicaid UnreimbursedMedicaidGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$2,517,832TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$1,353,154DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$1,164,678NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.03300TotalExpensePct

Total Financial Assistance Typ TotalFinancialAssistanceTyp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$3,190,509TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$1,353,154DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$1,837,355NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.05210TotalExpensePct

Community Health Services CommunityHealthServicesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$10,817TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$10,817NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00030TotalExpensePct

Health Professions Education HealthProfessionsEducationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$215,328TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$215,328NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00610TotalExpensePct

Subsidized Health Services SubsidizedHealthServicesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$4,132,249TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$3,281,026DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$851,223NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.02410TotalExpensePct

Cash And In Kind Contributions CashAndInKindContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$708TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$708NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00000TotalExpensePct

Total Other Benefits TotalOtherBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$4,359,102TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$3,281,026DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$1,078,076NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.03050TotalExpensePct

Total Community Benefits TotalCommunityBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$7,549,611TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$4,634,180DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$2,915,431NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.08260TotalExpensePct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bad Debt Expense Reported0BadDebtExpenseReportedInd
Bad Debt Expense$5,051,496BadDebtExpenseAmt
Bad Debt Expense Attributable$1,449,393BadDebtExpenseAttributableAmt
Reimbursed By Medicare$8,683,254ReimbursedByMedicareAmt
Cost Of Care Reimbursed By Medcr$12,403,938CostOfCareReimbursedByMedcrAmt
Medicare Surplus Or Shortfall-$3,720,684MedicareSurplusOrShortfallAmt

Costing Methodology Used CostingMethodologyUsedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cost To Charge RatioYes (X)CostToChargeRatioInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Debt Collection PolicyYes (1)WrittenDebtCollectionPolicyInd
Financial Assistance PrvsnYes (1)FinancialAssistancePrvsnInd
Hospital Facilities1HospitalFacilitiesCnt

Hospital Facilities HospitalFacilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility1FacilityNum

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ST LUKE'S HOSPITALBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1101 HOSPITAL DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityCOLUMBUSCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28722ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Licensed HospitalYes (X)LicensedHospitalInd
General Medical And SurgicalYes (X)GeneralMedicalAndSurgicalInd
Critical Access HospitalYes (X)CriticalAccessHospitalInd
Emergency Room24 HrsYes (X)EmergencyRoom24HrsInd

Hospital Fclty Policies Prctc HospitalFcltyPoliciesPrctcGrp

Hospital Facility Name HospitalFacilityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ST LUKE'S HOSPITAL INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility1FacilityNum
First Licensed CY Or PY0FirstLicensedCYOrPYInd
Tax Exempt Hospital CY Or PY0TaxExemptHospitalCYOrPYInd
CHNA ConductedYes (1)CHNAConductedInd
Community DefinitionYes (X)CommunityDefinitionInd
Community DemographicsYes (X)CommunityDemographicsInd
How Data ObtainedYes (X)HowDataObtainedInd
Community Health NeedsYes (X)CommunityHealthNeedsInd
Other Health IssuesYes (X)OtherHealthIssuesInd
Community Hlth Needs Id ProcessYes (X)CommunityHlthNeedsIdProcessInd
Consulting ProcessYes (X)ConsultingProcessInd
CHNA Conducted15CHNAConductedYr
Take Into Account Others InputYes (1)TakeIntoAccountOthersInputInd
CHNA Conducted With Other Fclts0CHNAConductedWithOtherFcltsInd
CHNA Conducted With Non FcltsYes (1)CHNAConductedWithNonFcltsInd
CHNA Report Widely AvailableYes (1)CHNAReportWidelyAvailableInd
Rpt Available On Own WebsiteYes (X)RptAvailableOnOwnWebsiteInd
Own Website URLSEE PART V SUPPLEMENTAL INFORMATIONOwnWebsiteURLTxt
Paper Copy Public InspectionYes (X)PaperCopyPublicInspectionInd
Rpt Available Thru Other MethodYes (X)RptAvailableThruOtherMethodInd
Implementation Strategy AdoptYes (1)ImplementationStrategyAdoptInd
Implementation Strategy Adpt12ImplementationStrategyAdptYr
Strategy Posted WebsiteYes (1)StrategyPostedWebsiteInd
Strategy Website URLhttp://www.saintlukeshospital.com/docs/CHIP.pdfStrategyWebsiteURLTxt
Organization Incur Excise Tax0OrganizationIncurExciseTaxInd
Elig Criteria ExplainedYes (1)EligCriteriaExplainedInd
FPG Family Incm Lmt Free DscntYes (X)FPGFamilyIncmLmtFreeDscntInd
FPG Family Incm Lmt Free Care200.000000000000FPGFamilyIncmLmtFreeCarePct
FPG Family Incm Lmt Dscnt Care300.000000000000FPGFamilyIncmLmtDscntCarePct
Income Level CriteriaYes (X)IncomeLevelCriteriaInd
Asset Level CriteriaYes (X)AssetLevelCriteriaInd
Underinsurance Stat CriteriaYes (X)UnderinsuranceStatCriteriaInd
Explained BasisYes (1)ExplainedBasisInd
App Financial Asst ExplnYes (1)AppFinancialAsstExplnInd
Described InfoYes (X)DescribedInfoInd
Described Suprt DocYes (X)DescribedSuprtDocInd
Provided Hospital ContactYes (X)ProvidedHospitalContactInd
Includes Publicity MeasuresYes (1)IncludesPublicityMeasuresInd
FAP Available On WebsiteYes (X)FAPAvailableOnWebsiteInd
FAP Available On Website URLhttp://www.saintlukeshospital.com/getpage.php?name=financial-assistance&subFAPAvailableOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP App Available On WebsiteYes (X)FAPAppAvailableOnWebsiteInd
FAP App Available On Website URLhttp://www.saintlukeshospital.com/getpage.php?name=financial-assistance&subFAPAppAvailableOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP Summary On WebsiteYes (X)FAPSummaryOnWebsiteInd
FAP Summary On Website URLhttp://www.saintlukeshospital.com/getpage.php?name=financial-assistance&subFAPSummaryOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP Avlbl On Request No ChargeYes (X)FAPAvlblOnRequestNoChargeInd
FAP App Avlbl On Request No ChrgYes (X)FAPAppAvlblOnRequestNoChrgInd
FAP Sum Avlbl On Request No ChrgYes (X)FAPSumAvlblOnRequestNoChrgInd
Notified FAP Copy Bill DisplayYes (X)NotifiedFAPCopyBillDisplayInd
FAP TranslatedYes (X)FAPTranslatedInd
FAP Actions On NonpaymentYes (1)FAPActionsOnNonpaymentInd
Permit No ActionsYes (X)PermitNoActionsInd
Collection Activities0CollectionActivitiesInd
Provided Written NoticeYes (X)ProvidedWrittenNoticeInd
Made Effort Orally NotifyYes (X)MadeEffortOrallyNotifyInd
Processed FAP ApplicationYes (X)ProcessedFAPApplicationInd
Nondis Emergency Care PolicyYes (1)NondisEmergencyCarePolicyInd
Look Back Medicare PrivateYes (X)LookBackMedicarePrivateInd
Amounts Generally Billed0AmountsGenerallyBilledInd
Gross Charges0GrossChargesInd

Supplemental Information SupplementalInformationGrp (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL, INC.Part V, Section B, Line 5: MARKETING/PUBLIC RELATIONS DIRECTOR REPRESENTED ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL WITH WNC HEALTHY IMPACT FOR COLLABORATING/GENERATING/ANALYZING DEMOGRAPHIC AND HEALTH DATA. THE DIRECTOR ALSO SERVES ON BOARD OF POLK COUNTY'S LOCAL HEALTH COALITION, POLK FIT, FRESH, FRIENDLY. WE COLLABORATED WITH RUTHERFORD-POLK-MCDOWELL HEALTH DISTRICT TO ORGANIZE A COMMUNITY HEALTH FORUM AND DEVELOPED CHIP FROM THOSE RESULTS.
ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL, INC.Part V, Section B, Line 6a: THE HOSPITAL MADE THE CHNA AVAILABLE TO THE LOCAL NEWS MEDIA/NEWSLETTERS.
ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL, INC.Part V, Section B, Line 6b: WESTERN HEALTH NETWORK COALITION
ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL, INC.Part V, Section B, Line 7d: http://www.saintlukeshospital.com/docs/Health_Assessment_Polk_County_9-6-13.pdf
ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL, INC.Part V, Section B, Line 11: IN REVIEWING DATA AND COMMUNITY CONCERNS, WE SELECTED SEVERAL HEALTH CONCERNS THAT WE HAVE THE CAPABILITY/RESOURCES TO AFFECT. A VARIETY OF DATA AND INFORMATION WAS COLLECTED FOR THE CHNA. THE PROCESS INCLUDED REVIEW AND ANALYSIS OF:1) SECONDARY, QUANTITATIVE STATISTICAL DATA;2) PRIMARY, QUALITATIVE COMMUNITY FEEDBACK;3) CURRENT COMMUNITY HEALTH RESOURCES AND ST. LUKE'S SPECIFIC ASSETS. TO SELECT PRIORITIES AND RELATED STRATEGIES THAT WE HAD CAPACITY TO IMPROVE, THE FOLLOWING CRITERIA WERE CONSIDERED:- DATA AND COMMUNITY INDICATES AN IMPORTANT NEED IN THE COMMUNITY- ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL AND PARTNER-PROVIDERS HAVE CAPACITY TO MAKE AN IMPACT- ADDRESSING A SELECTED ISSUE HOLDS POTENTIAL TO AFFECT OTHER HEALTH CONDITIONS- STRATEGIES ALIGN WITH ST. LUKE'S CAPACITY AND MISSION

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (12 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 7:THE ORGANIZATION UTILIZED THE IRS WORKSHEETS TO DETERMINE THE COST TO CHARGE RATIO
Part I, Line 7g:OPERATION OF EMERGENCY DEPARTMENT AT A LOSS FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COMMUNITY
Part I, Ln 7 Col(f):THE TOTAL EXPENSE ON FORM 990 PART XI, LN 25 CONTAINS A BAD DEBT EXPENSE OF 5,051,496 THAT HAS BEEN REMOVED FOR THE CALCULATION OF CHARITY CARE PERCENTAGE.
Part II, Community Building Activities:*COMMUNITY BENEFIT PROGRAMS-INCLUDES THE UNREIMBURSED COST OF VARIOUS EDUCATION PROGRAMS, NON-BILLED MEDICAL SERVICES, IN-KIND DONATIONS AND OTHER SERVICES THAT MEET A STRONG COMMUNITY NEED, BUT DO NOT PAY FOR THEMSELVES. EXAMPLES OF THESE COMMUNITY BENEFIT PROGRAMS INCLUDE PERIODIC HEALTHTALK PROGRAMS TO PROVIDE EDUCATION AND UPDATED INFORMATION ON PARTICULAR AND TIMELY HEALTH TOPICS; VARIOUS HEALTH AND CANCER SCREENINGS FOR THE COMMUNITY, SCHOOLS, CHURCHES; AND FIRST AID AND HAND HYGIENE STATIONS AT VARIOUS COMMUNITY EVENTS AND FESTIVALS.OUR GENEROUS IN-KIND CONTRIBUTIONS TO NUMEROUS POLK COUNTY SOCIAL SERVICES AND CIVIC ENTITIES INCLUDE VOLUNTEER LEADERSHIP ROLES WITH POLK FIT, FRESH, FRIENDLY, POLK COUNTY WELLNESS COALITION, POLK WELLNESS CENTER, HIGHWOODS APARTMENTS FOR LOW INCOME FAMILIES, THERMAL BELT OUTREACH HEALTH CARE COMMITTEE AND THE POLK COUNTY VISIONING COMMISSION, TO NAME A FEW. CIVIC PARTICIPATION INCLUDES TRYON KIWANIS CLUB, FOOTHILLS CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, TRYON ROTARY CLUB AND THE BLUE RIDGE HUNTER JUMPER ASSOCIATION, AMONG OTHERS.
Part III, Line 4:THE PATIENT FINANCIAL ADVISOR REVIEWED THE FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE SPREADSHEETS FOR THE 2016 TAX PERIOD AND TOOK INTO ACCOUNT ALL ACCOUNTS THAT LEFT PATIENT RESPONSIBILITY. THE ACCOUNTS WERE THEN REVIEWED TO SEE IF THE PATIENT PAID OR IF THE ACCOUNTS CYCLED TO BAD DEBT.THE ORGANIZATION HAS ESTIMATED THAT A PORTION OF ITS BAD DEBTS COULD HAVE POTENTIALLY QUALIFIED FOR FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE UNDER ITS FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE POLICY. THE ORGANIZATION ESTIMATES APPROXIMATELY 33% OF ITS BAD DEBT REPRESENTS CHARITY CARE.
Part III, Line 8:AN INTERNAL COST-TO-CHARGE RATIO WAS USED TO COMPUTE MEDICARE ALLOCABLE COSTS OF CARE ON PART III, LN 6 AND IS USED IN THE ORGANIZATIONS COST REPORT. THE ORGANIZATION DOES NOT CURRENTLY CLASSIFY ANY OF ITS SHORTFALL AS COMMUNITY BENEFIT.
Part III, Line 9b:THE ORGANIZATION APPLIES THE SAME PROCEDURE TO ALL ACCOUNTS WHICH PROVIDE FOR THE MAILING OF TWO STATEMENTS, TWO LETTERS, AND TWO PHONE CALLS PRIOR TO MOVING THE ACCOUNT TO THE COLLECTION PROCESS.
Part VI, Line 2:EVERY FOUR YEARS THE STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA REQUIRES EVERY LOCAL HEALTH DEPARTMENT AND NORTH CAROLINA HEALTHY CAROLINIANS PARTNERSHIPS TO CONDUCT A COMMUNITY HEALTH ASSESSMENT. A COMMUNITY HEALTH ASSESSMENT IS A PROCESS THAT ALLOWS THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMUNITY AND STAKEHOLDERS TO GAIN A BETTER UNDERSTANDING OF THE COUNTY'S HEALTH NEEDS AND CONCERNS.FOR SEVERAL YEARS, ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL HAS COLLABORATED WITH WNC HEALTHY IMPACT FOR A COMPREHENSIVE COMMUNITY HEALTH ASSESSMENT (CHA). USING AVAILABLE DATA AND A CROSS-SECTION OF COUNTY RESIDENTS, WE SURVEY MEMBERS OF THE COMMUNITY REGARDING THEIR PERCEIVED HEALTHCARE NEEDS AND DISPARITIES. WE UTILIZE NC DATA AND HOST A HEALTH FORUM EVERY THREE YEARS DURING WHICH WE PRESENT THE SURVEY FINDINGS TO THE COMMUNITY. THE CHA IS PRESENTED DURING A PUBLIC MEETING, PRESENTED TO OUR BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS, INCLUDED ON WEBSITES AND PUBLISHED IN AREA NEWS MEDIA. THE HEALTH FORUM HELPS TO BRING PEOPLE WITH DIVERSE BACKGROUNDS AND DEMOGRAPHICS TO THE TABLE TO REACH CONSENSUS ON POLK COUNTY'S TOP HEALTHCARE NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED AND WORK TOGETHER TO CREATE SOLUTIONS. FROM THE DATA, PUBLIC MEETING AND THE HOSPITAL'S STRATEGIC PLAN, WE CREATED A COMMUNITY HEALTH IMPROVEMENT PLAN IN CONJUNCTION WITH OUR LOCAL HEALTH DEPARTMENT.
Part VI, Line 3:ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL ADVISES ALL UNDERINSURED/UNINSURED PATIENTS THRU VERBAL OR WRITTEN NOTIFICATION OF ASSISTANCE OFFERED BY OUR PATIENT FINANCIAL COUNSELOR TO ASSESS ANY POSSIBLE THIRD PARTY ASSISTANCE THROUGH FEDERAL, STATE, LOCAL GOVERNMENT PROGRAMS OR FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE. ALL PATIENT INFORMATION PACKETS GIVEN TO INPATIENT AND OUTPATIENT PATIENTS INCLUDE AN INFORMATION SHEET WITH DETAILED DIRECTIONS ON FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE PROCESSES AND HOW TO CONTACT THE SLH FINANCIAL COUNSELOR. THE INFORMATION INCLUDES DETAILED DESCRIPTIONS OF THE PAPERWORK REQUIRED AND APPROPRIATE TIMEFRAMES TO COMPLETE FULL APPLICATIONS. ALL STATEMENTS DIRECT PATIENTS TO CONTACT CUSTOMER SERVICE FOR FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE OPTIONS. THE ED REGISTRATION EMPLOYEE ASKS UNINSURED PATIENTS TO COMPLETE A FLOW SHEET WHICH IS GIVEN TO THE PATIENT FINANCIAL COUNSELOR TO REVIEW FOR THIRD PARTY PROGRAMS OR FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE. INFORMATION IS ALSO AVAILABLE ON THE HOSPITAL'S WEBSITE.
Part VI, Line 4:ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL IS A FEDERALLY DESIGNATED CRITICAL ACCESS HOSPITAL THAT PROVIDES A WIDE RANGE OF ACUTE CARE SERVICES, 24/7 EMERGENCY CARE, GERIATRIC-PSYCHIATRIC INPATIENT AND INTENSIVE OUTPATIENT CARE, ADVANCED ORTHOPEDIC AND REHAB SERVICES, AND GENERAL SURGERY. THE 35-BED HOSPITAL IS LOCATED IN WESTERN NORTH CAROLINA AT THE FOOT OF THE BLUE RIDGE MOUNTAINS RIGHT AT THE NC/SC STATE LINE. THE PRIVATE, NOT-FOR-PROFIT COMMUNITY HOSPITAL PROVIDES PRIMARY AND ACUTE HEALTHCARE SERVICES TO POLK COUNTY AND UPSTATE SOUTH CAROLINA. ST. LUKE'S IS SITUATED 40 MILES SOUTHEAST OF ASHEVILLE, NC, AND 25 MILES NORTH OF SPARTANBURG, SC. POLK COUNTY IS A WELL-KNOWN AFFLUENT RETIREMENT COMMUNITY, WITH SEVERAL INDEPENDENT AND ASSISTED LIVING COMMUNITIES THAT ALSO PROVIDE NURSING HOME CARE, REHAB, PERSONAL CARE AND TRAVEL, LEISURE AND ENTERTAINMENT OPPORTUNITIES. ACCORDING TO ISOTHERMAL PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION, THE STATE DATA CENTER PROJECTS THAT ALMOST 38 PERCENT OF THE REGION'S POPULATION WILL BE AGED 50 OR OLDER IN 2015. THIS TREND IS EVEN MORE PRONOUNCED IN POLK COUNTY--WHICH HAS BECOME A MAJOR RETIREMENT DESTINATION--WHERE THE PERCENTAGE OF THE POPULATION AGED 50 AND OLDER IS PROJECTED TO GROW TO 46.5 PERCENT BY 2015.THE REGION HAS PROVEN TO BE AN ATTRACTIVE DESTINATION FOR RETIREES. THIS IS PARTICULARLY TRUE FOR POLK COUNTY AND RUTHERFORD COUNTY (ESPECIALLY AROUND LAKE LURE). RETIREE ATTRACTION HAS BROUGHT NEW SOURCES OF WEALTH, DEMAND FOR HOUSING, AND POTENTIAL ENTREPRENEURS TO THE REGION. WHILE THERE ARE A NUMBER OF SMALL INDUSTRIAL PLANTS IN THE AREA, INCLUDING MILLIKEN AND TIMKEN, THE INDUSTRIAL BASE IS LIMITED. ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL IS CURRENTLY THE SECOND LARGEST PRIVATE EMPLOYER IN POLK COUNTY AVERAGING 325 EMPLOYEES. THE POLK COUNTY SCHOOL SYSTEM IS THE COUNTY'S LARGEST WITH MORE THAN 450 FULL-TIME EMPLOYEES.CURRENTLY, ST. LUKE'S SERVICE AREA ENCOMPASSES ALL OF POLK COUNTY (POPULATION-19,461). - PRIMARY SERVICE AREA --COLUMBUS AND TRYON (POP. 12,965)- SECONDARY SERVICE AREA-NORTH --SALUDA AND MILL SPRING (POP. 6,496)- SECONDARY SERVICE AREA-SOUTH -- LANDRUM AND CAMPOBELLO, SC, (POP. 17,780)ST. LUKE'S TOTAL SERVICE AREA POPULATION IS 37,241, OF WHICH 55 PERCENT ARE COVERED BY MEDICARE, 26 PERCENT AS PRIVATE PAY, AND 19 PERCENT DESCRIBED AS MEDICAID/SELF-PAY.RESIDENTS 65 AND OLDER COMPRISE 23.4 PERCENT OF THE POPULATION IN POLK COUNTY. THE LARGEST POPULATION GROUPS ARE THE 35-54 AND 55-74 YEAR OLDS, MAKING UP 26 PERCENT AND 24 PERCENT RESPECTIVELY. MEDIAN HOUSEHOLD INCOME IS $38,184, AND THE PERCENT OF POVERTY FOR POLK COUNTY IS 11.2 PERCENT, BELOW NC AND US RATES.
Part VI, Line 5:ST. LUKE'S HOSPITAL IS THE ONLY HOSPITAL IN OUR PRIMARY SERVICE AREA. WE ARE THE SAFETY-NET FOR OUR CITIZENS, WITH 24/7 EMERGENCY SERVICES FOR PHYSICAL INJURIES AND ILLNESSES AS WELL AS MENTAL HEALTH PATIENTS. IN FISCAL YEAR 2015, ST. LUKE'S PROVIDED $4.1 MILLION IN COMMUNITY CARE. WE ARE INVOLVED IN SERVICE TO OUR COMMUNITY THROUGH SPECIAL EVENTS, HEALTH FAIRS AND SCREENINGS, AND OUTREACH EDUCATION.IN THE EVENT OF SURPLUS FUNDS THE ORGANIZATION USES THE MAJORITY OF THESE AMOUNTS TO INVEST IN EDUCATION AND TRAINING OF CLINICAL AND NON CLINICAL STAFF, TUITION ASSISTANCE, WEBINARS, NURSING EDUCATION GRANTS, AND REINVESTMENT IN CAPITAL PROJECTS SUCH AS TECHNOLOGY WHICH WILL ENHANCE AND IMPROVE QUALITY OF CARE.
Part VI, Line 7, Reports Filed With StatesNC

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
James Holleman MD
TRUSTEE$0$212,261$0$28,033$0$0$0$29,585$0$16,225$0$286,104$0$0
Brian Rosenberg MD
TRUSTEE$0$694,168$0$481,259$0$20,280$0$51,895$0$22,284$0$1,269,886$0$0
ELIZABETH PRESNELL
CFO$119,727$0$23,599$0$6,513$0$12,664$0$26,291$0$188,794$0$0$0
CATHY MOORE
CNO$104,000$0$30,394$0$24,000$0$9,552$0$2,210$0$170,156$0$0$0
DR BELYNDA VESER
PHYSICIAN$205,767$0$0$0$0$0$16,801$0$29,481$0$252,049$0$0$0
Lynn Crocker
Pharmacy Director$116,074$0$0$0$0$0$24,000$0$23,794$0$163,868$0$0$0
Kevin Reynolds
Pharmacist$115,810$0$0$0$0$0$23,998$0$10,758$0$150,566$0$0$0
Ken Shull
FORMER CEO$140,763$0$62,620$0$5,074$0$27,895$0$3,039$0$239,391$0$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL BE COMPOSED OF THE CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD WHO SHALL ACT AS CHAIRMAN OF THE COMMITTEE, THE VICE-CHAIRMAN, THE SECRETARY, THE TREASURER AND THE CHIEF OF THE MEDICAL STAFF. WHEN THE BOARD IS NOT IN SESSION, THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL HAVE THE POWER AND AUTHORITY OF THE BOARD TO TRANSACT ALL REGULAR BUSINESS OF THE CORPORATION, SUBJECT TO ANY PRIOR LIMITATIONS IMPOSED BY THE BOARD OR BY STATUTE. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL NOT TAKE ANY ACTION THAT CONFLICTS WITH ESTABLISHED POLICIES OF THE BOARD AND IT SHALL DEFER, WHEN POSSIBLE, ALL MATTERS OF MAJOR IMPORTANCE TO THE BOARD.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 3EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2008, THE HOSPITAL AND AFFILIATES ENTERED INTO A TEN-YEAR MANAGEMENT SERVICES AGREEMENT (THE MSA) WITH THE CHARLOTTE-MECKLENBURG HOSPITAL AUTHORITY WHICH DOES BUSINESS AS CAROLINAS HEALTHCARE SYSTEM (CHS) TO MANAGE THE HOSPITAL AND AFFILIATES ON A DAY-TO-DAY BASIS. THE TERMS OF THE MSA CALL FOR THE HOSPITAL AND AFFILIATES TO PAY CHS AN ANNUAL MANAGEMENT FEE. IN ADDITION, CHS IS REQUIRED TO FURNISH THE HOSPITAL AND AFFILIATES A CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER, CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, AND A CHIEF NURSING OFFICER. THE HOSPITAL AND AFFILIATES REIMBURSE CHS THE SALARY AND BENEFITS COST OF THESE INDIVIDUALS. THE ORGANIZATION IS UTILIZING PART VII AND SCHEDULE J OF THE FORM 990 TO REPORT THE COMPENSATION PAID TO THE CEO AND ASSISTANT VICE PRESIDENT OF FINANCEE BY THE MANAGEMENT FOR SERVICES PROVIDED TO THE FILING ORGANIZATION. THE COMPENSATION HAS BEEN REPORTED IN THE FILING ORGANIZATION'S COMPENSATION COLUMNS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bTHE FINANCE COMMITTEE HAD A MEETING TO COMPLETE A COMPREHENSIVE REVIEW OF THE FORM 990. THE ORGANIZATION HELD A FULL BOARD MEETING, WHERE THE FINANCE COMMITTEE PRESENTED THE FORM 990 TO THE ENTIRE BOARD. A COPY OF THE FORM 990 WAS MADE AVAILABLE TO EACH VOTING BOARD MEMBER FOR REVIEW PRIOR TO THE MEETING. ADDITIONALLY, EACH MEMBER RECEIVED A COPY OF THE 990 AT THE BOARD MEETING. AFTER A QUESTION & ANSWER PERIOD, THE VOTING BOARD VOTED TO APPROVE THE FORM 990 AS PRESENTED. THE ORGANIZATION'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPROVES THE 990 ANNUALLY PRIOR TO SUBMISSION.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cOFFICERS, DIRECTORS OR TRUSTEES, AND KEY EMPLOYEES ARE REQUIRED TO SIGN A CONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENT UPON HIRE OR APPOINTMENT. THE CONFLICTS OF INTEREST STATEMENT IS SIGNED ANNUALLY. THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS EXPLAINED DURING NEW EMPLOYEE ORIENTATION AND ALTHOUGH ALL EMPLOYEES ARE NOT TO SIGN THE STATEMENT THE EMPLOYEES ARE ENCOURAGED TO REPORT CONFLICT OF INTEREST ISSUES.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15CAROLINAS HEALTHCARE SYSTEM HAS AN APPROVED COMPENSATION COMMITTEE THAT RETAINS INDEPENDENT EXPERTS TO DESIGN COMPLETE COMPENSATION PACKAGES. THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE REVIEWS COMPARABILITY DATA, REVIEWS EXECUTIVE OFFICERS' PERFORMANCE AND RECOMMENDATIONS FOR SENIOR OFFICERS. EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION IS APPROVED AND AN OFFICIAL REPORT IS GIVEN TO THE BOARD ALONG WITH DOCUMENTATION IN THE MINUTES OF MEETINGS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 18RECENT FILINGS OF THE FORM 990 ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST AT THE ORGANIZATION'S ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE. IN ADDITION, RECENT FILINGS OF THE FORM 990 ARE AVAILABLE ONLINE AT WWW.GUIDESTAR.ORG.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19PHOTOCOPIES OF THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON WRITTEN REQUEST AT THE ORGANIZATION'S ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE.
Form 990, Part IX, line 11gCONTRACT LABOR: Program service expenses 1,333,619. Management and general expenses 847,112. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 2,180,731. OTHER PURCHASED SERVICES: Program service expenses 2,410,617. Management and general expenses 1,746,547. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 4,157,164. PURCHASED SERVICES: Program service expenses 1,746,086. Management and general expenses 0. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 1,746,086.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
ST LUKE'S HEALTH CARE INC
101 HOSPITAL DRIVECOLUMBUSNC28722561423318CONTROLLING ENTITYNC501(c)(3)PFN/A0
ST LUKE'S FOUNDATION INC
101 HOSPITAL DRIVECOLUMBUSNC28722561757097RAISES FUNDS TO HELP SUPPORT ST. LUKE'S HOSPITALNC501(c)(3)Line 70ST LUKE'S HEALTHCARE INC
ST LUKE'S PHYSICIAN NETWORK INC
101 HOSPITAL DRIVECOLUMBUSNC28722263082073PROVIDE HEALTH CARE SERVICES TO THE CITIZENS OF POLK COUNTY, NCNC501(c)(3)Line 30ST LUKE'S HEALTHCARE INC

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ST LUKE'S PROFESSIONAL BUILDING INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1101 HOSPITAL DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityCOLUMBUSCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28722ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN561423404EIN
Primary ActivitiesRENTAL REAL ESTATEPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateNCLegalDomicileStateCd
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd
Entity TypeCEntityTypeTxt
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsYes (1)ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (1)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (1)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgYes (1)TransferFromOtherOrgInd